Zags Learn Boat Rankings For NCAA Championships

Begins May 25 in Sarasota

May 15, 2018

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division I Women’s Rowing Committee has selected the teams that will compete in the 2018 NCAA Division I Women’s Rowing Championships.

The championships will be held May 25-27 at Nathan Benderson Park in Sarasota, Florida with the University of Central Florida serving as host.

The Zags are one of 22 teams in the field. Eleven conferences were awarded automatic qualification and the remaining 11 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the championship field. Gonzaga qualified for the fourth-straight season and fifth time in six years after winning the West Coast Conference title in dominating fashion over the weekend.

GU’s varsity eight boat is seeded number 17, their second varsity eight is seeded number 18, and their varsity four crew is seeded number 16.

Gonzaga finished 19th at the NCAA Championships last season, and the varsity eight and second varsity eight each took 19th, while the varsity four finished 18th.

The Bulldogs won their fourth-straight West Coast Conference Championship with their second-straight three-race sweep on Saturday on Lake Natoma just outside of Sacramento. The Bulldogs claimed their 17th WCC Championship in program history and the performance tied the best in school history, as they swept the varsity eight, second varsity eight, and varsity four races.

Teams qualifying for the championship are required to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers. For the I Eights, II Eights and Fours, all 22 boats will be seeded into four heats.

The following teams were selected:

Automatic Qualifiers:

UCF (American Athletic Conference)
Rhode Island (Atlantic 10 Conference)
Virginia (Atlantic Coast Conference)
Texas (Big 12 Conference)
Ohio State (Big Ten Conference)
Northeastern (Colonial Athletic Conference)
Jacksonville (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)
Navy (Patriot League)
Washington (Pac-12 Conference)
Princeton (The Ivy League)
Gonzaga (West Coast Conference)

At-Large Selections:

Southern California
Washington State

Gonzaga Article Link including a listing of all race seeds