Gonzales Named Golden Spikes Award Semifinalist

DURHAM, N.C.For the second consecutive year, Gonzaga University baseball junior Marco Gonzales has been named one of 30 semifinalists for the 2013 Golden Spikes Award announced USA Baseball Tuesday. The award is presented to the nation’s top amateur baseball player.

Gonzales is one of five players that were named a GSA finalist in 2012. Joining him are Mark Appel (Stanford), Kris Bryant (San Diego), D.J. Peterson (New Mexico) and Nick Petree (Missouri State).

The Fort Collins, Colo., native has a stellar year for the Bulldogs both as a pitcher and a hitter. Named the West Coast Conference Co-Player of the Year, the left-handed Gonzales went 7-3 with a 2.80 ERA. Gonzales led the club in starts (16), shutouts (2), innings pitched (106) and strikeouts (96). At the dish Gonzales hit a team-best .311 with two homeruns and 26 RBI.

For more on Gonzales, visit www.gozags.com/marco4poy

In 2007, USA Baseball instituted a new selection and balloting procedure for the most prestigious award in amateur baseball, and it will follow the same model again in 2013. After working closely with sports information directors and amateur baseball media across the country to determine watch lists and the top-performing athletes, a committee voted to determine the 30 semifinalists. A ballot featuring the names and accomplishments of the 30 semifinalists will now be sent to a group of more than 220 voters which will select the three finalists and eventual winner. Beginning today fans will also be able to vote on the 2013 GSA by visiting GoldenSpikesAward.com and selecting their favorite amateur player.

For the third year in a row, the GSA will be awarded live on MLB Network. On Friday, July 19, the three finalists for the award will be at the live presentation, which will air during The Rundown – at 2 p.m. ET – featuring interviews, video highlights and the announcement of the winner. The presentation will also be simulcast live on GoldenSpikesAward.com and USABaseball.com...

Important 2013 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award dates include:...

Tuesday, May 28 -- 30 semifinalists announced, selected by USA Baseball officials, semifinalist voting begins, voters select three

Friday, May 31 -- Deadline to vote for finalists, 5 p.m. ET

Tuesday, June 4 -- Three finalists announced, finalist voting begins, voters to select one

Friday, June 14 -- Deadline to vote for winner, 5 p.m. ET

Friday, July 19 -- Live Golden Spikes Award presentation airing on MLB Network’s The Rundown and simulcast on GoldenSpikesAward.com and USABaseball.com

A complete list of the 30 2013 Golden Spikes Award semifinalists is as follows:

Name, Position, Class, School, Conference

Mark Appel, RHP, Senior, Stanford, Pac-12

Tyler Beede, RHP, Sophomore, Vanderbilt, SEC

David Berg, RHP, Sophomore, UCLA, Pac-12

Alex Bregman, IF, Freshman, Louisiana State, SEC

Kris Bryant, UTIL, Junior, San Diego, West Coast

Kerry Doane, RHP, Senior, East Tennessee State, Atlantic Sun

Hunter Dozier, IF, Senior, Stephen F. Austin, Southland

Kent Emanuel, LHP, Junior, North Carolina, ACC

Thomas Eshelman, RHP, Freshman, Cal State Fullerton, Big West

Zane Evans, C/RHP, Junior, Georgia Tech, ACC

Marco Gonzales, LHP, Junior, Gonzaga, West Coast

Jonathan Gray, RHP, Junior, Oklahoma, Big 12

Eric Jagielo, IF/OF, Junior, Notre Dame, Big East

Mason Katz, IF, Sr, Louisiana State, SEC

Tony Kemp, OF, Junior, Vanderbilt, SEC

Michael Lorenzen, OF/RHP, Junior, Cal State Fullerton, Big West

Kyle McGowin, RHP, Sophomore, Savannah State, Mid-Eastern

Colin Moran, IF, Junior, North Carolina, ACC

Aaron Nola, RHP, Sophomore, Louisiana State, SEC

Justin Parr, OF, Senior, Illinois, Big 10

D.J. Peterson, IF, Junior, New Mexico, Mountain West

Nick Petree, RHP, RS Junior, Missouri State, Missouri Valley

Jimmie Sherfy, RHP , Junior, Oregon, Pac-12

Ryne Stanek, RHP, Junior, Arkansas, SEC

Mike Tauchman, OF, Senior, Bradley, Missouri Valley

Jeff Thompson, RHP, Junior, Louisville, Big East

Trea Turner, IF, Sophomore, NC State, ACC

Bobby Wahl, RHP, Junior, Mississippi, SEC

Jimmy Yezzo, IF, Junior, Delaware, Colonial Athletic

Kevin Ziomek, LHP, Junior, Vanderbilt, SEC

Gonzaga Article Link

Vote For Marco Link