Gonzales Named To Golden Spikes Award Watch List

DURHAM, N.C.Gonzaga University junior Marco Gonzales was one of 60 collegiate baseball players from across the nation to be named on the USA Baseball’s Golden Spikes Award midseason watch list the organization announced Thursday. The award honors the top amateur baseball player in the country.

Gonzales was recognized on the preseason watch list, making him one of 31 players who appeared on both lists. Also joining Gonzales is Kris Bryant from the University of San Diego to represent the West Coast Conference.

The Fort Collins, Colo., has picked off right where he left off last year when he semifinalist for the Golden Spikes Award. Gonzales, a two-way player, has posted a 6-2 record with a 2.77 ERA in 78 innings. He has one complete game shutout which came against No. 2 University of Arkansas March 1. He has struck out 66 and walked just 16 batters.

At the plate Gonzales has provided a middle of the lineup bat. He is hitting a team-best .333 (46-for-138) with 23 RBI. The lefty has a .390 on base percentage and a .377 slugging percentage.

For more on Gonzales, visit www.GoZags.com/Marco4POY

The watch list will continue to be a “rolling” list until May 28 -- when the 30 semifinalists for the award are announced -- ensuring that athletes can play themselves into consideration for the award. The Golden Spikes Award trophy will be awarded live on MLB Network for the third year in a row, with a live presentation scheduled during The Rundown on Friday, July 19. Through USA Baseball's partnership with MLB Advanced Media (MLBAM), the presentation will also be simulcast with a live stream available from GoldenSpikesAward.com and USABaseball.com.

USA Baseball officials will announce the 30 semifinalists for the 2013 Golden Spikes Award on Tuesday, May 28. The list of 30 will then be sent to a voting body consisting of past USA Baseball National Team coaches and press officers, members of media that closely follow the amateur game, select professional baseball personnel, and current USA Baseball staff, representing a group of more than 200 voters in total.

Other past winners of the Golden Spikes Award include Terry Francona (1980), Will Clark (1985), Robin Ventura (1988), Jason Varitek (1994), J.D. Drew (1997), Mark Prior (2001), Jered Weaver (2004), Tim Lincecum (2006) and David Price (2007).

Important 2013 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award dates include:

Thursday, Feb. 14: 50-man preseason watch list released, shaped by USA Baseball officials and advisors

Thursday, May 2: 60-man midseason watch list released, shaped by USA Baseball officials and advisors

Tuesday, May 28: 30 semifinalists announced, selected by USA Baseball officials; semifinalist voting begins; voters to select three

Friday, May 31: Deadline to vote for finalists, 5 p.m. ET

Tuesday, June 4: Three finalists announced; finalist voting begins; voters to select one

Friday, June 14: Deadline to vote for winner, 5 p.m. ET

Friday, July 19: Live Golden Spikes Award presentation airing on MLB Network's The Rundown...

Gonzaga Article Link includes listing of 60-man watch list