Thread: 2011 - 40th Anniversary of St. Al's Shootings

Default 2011 - 40th Anniversary of St. Al's Shootings

Am I correct that 2011 will be the 40th anniversary of the kid that used a sledge hammer and a gun to wreak havoc at St. Al's? I was a freshman at GU and the whole thing seemed surreal at the time. I was at Cataldo cafeteria having lunch with a group of upper-classmen. Nobody could figure out what was happening. I saw nothing and heard nothing, but I think somebody said later that he shot a bullet through the window of Cataldo cafeteria?

I think the shooter's father did an interview with Art Linkletter about how the evil after-effects of LSD caused his kid to go nuts.

I don't really remember many of the details.

Were you there? What did you see?
    Do not go gentle into that good night,
    Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
    Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Default Tragic loss of life at St. Al's

There was more than a bullet shot through the window. The St. Al's janitor lost his life, 4 others were wounded, and the gunman was shot and killed by Spokane police.

This was recapped last year due to another unfortunate, tragic situation involving the St. Al's perpetrator's brother.

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/200...-of-gu-gunman/

Default Wow

Thanks for the link. I think I do remember the janitor being killed and I knew the police killed the kid that did the attack. My parents nearly pulled me from Gonzaga when that happened as they were worried that Spokane was too dangerous for a kid from Central Washington.

How horrible that his younger brother has been involved in a brutal incident as well. Having your big brother shot by the police can't be good for your mental stability, but it was a long time ago.

Whoa. Never heard about this...
    I wear a helmet while internetting.