PDA

View Full Version : Andy, Brock, and Meech Scheduled Games today (2/1/08)



ZagNative
02-01-2008, 01:29 AM
Three of the Zags’ Signees have games today, Brock Osweiler, Meech Goodson, and Andy Poling, giving ZN an excuse to stick in some pics! In the order of the times scheduled:

Meech Goodson: Klein-Collins plays at Spring HS, at 5:00 PST, 7:00 Spring time. As far as I know, there is no online radio for this game. If there were, it would likely be found at tsrnsports.com (http://www.tsrnsports.com/Broadcast/Broadcast-Schedule-2007.htm).


Klein-Collins is coming off a big win against Klein-Forest at home, where they won 54-47, after having been beaten at KF earlier in the season. Klein-Collins moved into 25-4, 7-1 in league, and #7 on the MaxPreps Texas State rankings (http://www.maxpreps.com/FanPages/State.mxp/Boys_Varsity_Basketball_Winter_07-08/Texas).

Meech avenges that blocked shot by Toure Murry in the game at Klein-Forest earlier in the year. (Boy, Murry has some seriously skinny long legs!)


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Recruits/2008-01-05MeechvKleinForest2.jpg

Spring is 5-15 overall and 2-5 in conference (http://www.maxpreps.com/FanPages/Matchup.mxp/AreaID-bb4c26e9-e08f-4544-80fc-a24624444fad/Boys_Varsity_Basketball_Winter_07-08/Texas/Team1ID-440703e6-1d2a-4009-bf2d-2cd5fcf2fa51/Team2ID-000218c2-fb21-4b10-b624-f140ac3ad438), so this one should be a gimme for KC, don’t you think?

Last thread on Meech's last game can be found here (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?t=9213&highlight=Meech).

Brock Osweiler: Flathead is scheduled to play at Glacier tonight. The school’s schedule page says 8:00 pm for gametime (7:00 PST), but the radio station’s website (http://www.myhank.com/braves.asp) appears to have it scheduled for 6:00 pm (5:00 PM PST), so I’ll check in at 5:00 and again at 7:00 if it’s not on at 5:00.

But first, here's Brock at a game against Great Falls on December 22, featuring the new "shorn-look":


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Recruits/2007-12-20BrockvGreatFalls.jpg


I thought big things were expected from the Flathead Braves this year, but they’ve had some surprising losses (to this uneducated fan, at least) and are 1-3 in league, 9-3 on the season. They are coming off a loss at Capital of Helena, where they were defeated 65-51 (ouch!). I listened to the game but found my attention wandering as it was clear Flathead was not playing as well as it needed. Brock came away with 13 points in the game, on 6 of 12 FG shooting, making 1 of 3 free throws.

From a HelenaAir.com story about the Helena Capital game:


The Bruins, who are one of the top defensive teams in the state, used a zone to shut down Brock Osweiler for much of the game. Osweiler, who has committed to Gonzaga, had just two points in the first half. He was hampered with foul trouble early, picking up two quick fouls. He got a third when he was given a technical while walking off the court at halftime. Osweiler ended with 13, about 12 below his average.

“One big key, for us was to do an okay job on his first shot,” said Almquist. “We had to make sure he didn’t get offensive rebounds because that is when he is deadly. We did a nice job keeping him off the offensive glass.”


Of the Glacier game tonight, the Daily Interlake (http://www.dailyinterlake.com/articles/2008/02/01/sports/sports03.txt) writes:


The Braves (9-3 overall) are ranked fourth in Class AA, but they’re off to a 1-3 start in conference, rendering tonight’s game important for more than bragging rights.

“We understand — and I’ve told the kids this — it’s the first time ever between Flathead and Glacier in boys’ basketball, and it’s great excitement to have, but at the same time, it’s a conference game, and that’s what gets the priority,” Braves coach Fred Febach said.

The Braves are averaging 57.3 points in conference play while allowing 63.3. The Wolfpack is scoring 57.0 points per Western AA contest while allowing 73.4.

Flathead’s loaded lineup starts with forwards Brock Osweiler and Connor Cavigli, guards Danny Salois and Jake Thiesen, and post Josh Harris. Salois leads the Braves with 3.3 assists per game, followed by Osweiler with 3.0.

The Braves’ entire frontcourt stands at least 6-foot-4, including Osweiler at 6-foot-8. Osweiler is third in Western AA scoring (19 ppg), first in rebounding (13.3 rpg) and first in blocks (2.75 bpg), while Harris averages 6.0 rebounds and 1.75 blocks.

Andy Poling: Westview plays Sunset at home tonight, having lost to Southridge 51-53 last game, moving to 9-9 overall, and 2-1 in conference. Sunset is tied for first in the Metro League at 3-0, 16-2 overall, leading Southridge (3-0, 15-2 overall). Andy’s stats to January 30 and other stuff can be found in this post (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?t=9268).

The game is on the schedule for 7:30 PM today, Feb. 1st at 1360 KUIK.com (http://www.kuik.com/Article.asp?id=549111). I haven’t used that listening link before, so we’ll see if and how it works.


I didn’t find any stories covering the Westview Southridge game, but this one from the previous game vs. Beaverton in the Beaverton Valley Times (http://www.beavertonvalleytimes.com/sports/story.php?story_id=120179911190019100), is interesting in tracking Andy and has a rare pic of him:


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Recruits/2008-01-31AndyvBeaverton.jpg
"BIG MAN BATTLE — Andy Poling of Westview and Killian Fitzpatrick of Beaverton
fight for a rebound in the third quarter of Westview’s 66-53 win at Beaverton High."



Poling, who had 15 points, started the spurt with a tip-in. Moments later, Garrity swished a 3-pointer then added another with 1 minutem 3 seconds left in the first quarter for a 14-5 lead. After a pair of Meehan free throws, Westview held for the last shot and junior point guard Josh Hill buried it from beyond the arc off a Poling assist for a 17-7 lead.

“Andy really distracts a lot of defenses,” Garrity said. “It leaves us open in the perimeter. Then if they close in on us, we feed him inside.”
....
“We’re jelling so well right now,” Poling said. “It was definitely frustrating (early in the season) as we searched for our identity. But the coaches kept us on track. We learned lessons and turned things around.”

BBskorer
02-02-2008, 12:25 AM
http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l310/BBskorer/sports01.jpg

Nice use of the left, Brock. :)

Oz goes for 28 & 23! (http://www.dailyinterlake.com/articles/2008/02/02/sports/sports01.txt)

ZagNative
02-02-2008, 02:55 AM
Very nice find, BBskorer

So, here's how the guys did:

Brock:

Flathead schools Glacier, 81-51
Posted: Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 - 12:19:42 am MST
By CARL HENNELL/The Daily Inter Lake

A packed Glacier High School gym worth $375 in split-the-### winnings saw Flathead’s 6-foot-8 junior Brock Osweiler register 28 points, 23 rebounds, four blocked shots, four assists, two 3-pointers and two slam dunks to help lead the Braves to an 81-51 Western AA victory over the Wolfpack.
wonder what the "split-the-### winnings" reference means....

Today (Saturday, 2/2/08), Flathead plays @ Missoula Hellsgate at 3:30 PST (4:30 Missoula time). The game will again be available for listening on Hank (http://www.myhank.com/braves.asp).
Andy:

From OregonLive.com (http://blog.oregonlive.com/highschool/2008/02/sunset_68_westview_61_final_th.html):

Sunset 68, Westview 61 - Final thoughts
Posted by Tim Brown February 01, 2008 22:03PM

What a great game. It was easily the best we've seen while doing our On Location blog so far this season. You had the crowd and the electricity it provided, you had the former teammate returning against his old team, you had the stars coming to play and you had the clutch buckets that made the game riveting all the way through.
....
Andy Poling was terrific to begin the game. He scored at will down low and had 18 in the first half alone on attempts from inside the arc and free throws. However, Shepard and the Apollos seemed to get inside his head late in the second half and he had trouble scoring with a swarm of defenders around him. In the final minutes, he missed 2 free throws that could have stopped the bleeding, but it seemed as though Westview was already beaten by then. They all but had the contest wrapped up in regulation, but they just couldn't stop the Apollos after they got rolling.

It was nothing short of a good ol' barnburner. Thanks to everybody for logging on tonight, and remember to tune in next week for our Tuesday night edition of the Spotlight Show.


Beaverton Valley Times (http://www.beavertonvalleytimes.com/sports/story.php?story_id=120194048948524300):

ROCK CREEK – The Class 6A boys basketball state playoffs are still more than a month away, but you wouldn't have known it from watching Friday's Sunset vs. Westview contest.

Matched up before a standing-room only crowd of about 2,000 at Westview High School, the two teams battled into overtime before Sunset finally prevailed 68-61.
....
For the No. 8 Wildcats, who lost for the second straight time after starting 2-0, it was all about trying to stay positive after pushing the second-ranked Apollos to the limit.

"Games like this, you just learn lessons and we’ll turn around Wednesday and be a better team," said senior post Andy Poling, who led all scorers with 26 points. "The pieces are falling in -- the games just aren’t turning our way at the end."

The Wildcats certainly had their chances Friday, leading 50-44 on Poling's fast break dunk with 5 minutes, 3 seconds left in regulation, and 56-52 after Garrett Jackson's two foul shots with 51 seconds to go in the fourth quarter.

I listened to the game, and I think I heard the announcers say Andy had 12 rebounds to go with his 26 points and a block. (He averages 3.5 blocks per game.) However, he missed five consecutive free throws at the end of regulation when the game was tied at 56. Too bad. They battled back and forth much of the game, and I thought they were going to win until they went into overtime, when it was pretty much all Sunset. Great game, though.

The Beaverton Valley Times story has this photo of Andy and Michael Holton:


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Recruits/2008-02-01AndySunset.jpg


Next game: Wednesday, Feb. 6, at 7:30 PM at Aloha, 7-11 overall, 1-3 in league. League standings (http://highschoolsports.oregonlive.com/school/portland-westview/boysbasketball/standings/boysbasketball/). The Aloha is on the online schedule for KUIK (http://www.kuik.com/Article.asp?id=549111). The transmission was very good when I listened tonight and the commentary good.

Meech: Klein Collins beat Spring at home 65-50, improving KC's record to 26-4, 8-1 in league. According to Chron.com, Meech had 23 points in the game. I haven't seen a game story yet.


Next game: Friday, Feb. 8, at 5:00 PM (7:00 Texas time) v. Westfield (15-11, 4-4 in district) at home. If there is online radio, it will be at the link posted above for Meech's game v. Spring.

2Zags3Pups
02-02-2008, 08:09 AM
Split the ### is a fund raising tool used by schools. Patrons buy tickets and then they pull a ticket and the winner gets half of the ###, with the other half going to the school (in this case probably the athletics dept.)

ZagNative
02-02-2008, 08:17 AM
Thank you, 2Zags3Pups. That makes sense.

ZagNative
02-02-2008, 08:57 AM
Grant Gibbs: Not mentioned in the title of this thread, I just found a story about Linn-Mar with a mention of Grant in it and so thought I'd add it here, rather than starting a separate thread. From GazetteOnline.com (http://www.gazetteonline.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20080201/SPORTS/489237369/-1/rss02&rssfeed=rss02):
(I added the bolding for emphasis.)


February 01. 2008 11:33PM
Linn-Mar boys top Xavier in overtime
By Jeff Johnson
The Gazette
jeff.johnson@gazettecommunications.com

MARION — With star Grant Gibbs out of the lineup with a broken wrist, the Linn-Mar boys' basketball team is looking for a late-game leader. It found one last night in Zach Bohannon.

The junior forward rescued the Class 4A second-ranked Lions with 12 overtime points that helped them to a 63-61 escape of gutty Cedar Rapids Xavier at the Linn-Mar gym.

"We play to our competition's level," Bohannon said. "We're not like Kennedy and City High, who take it to their opponent the entire game ... That's one of our weaknesses."

But the 6-foot-7 Bohannon is one of their strengths, finishing with a game-high 22 points, With Linn-Mar down by four early in the extra session, Bohannon nailed a 3-pointer from the top of the key, then scored on a traditional three-point play off an offensive rebound to tie the game at 53-53 with 2:10 left.

....

"We were struggling throughout the game," Bohannon said. "I was struggling throughout the game ... They kept finding me in overtime. I felt really comfortable at the line."

Linn-Mar Coach Chris Robertson felt pretty good about someone stepping up in the clutch. This was the second full game his Lions played without Gonzaga recruit Gibbs.

"I think the guys ought to know we're capable (without Gibbs)," Robertson said. "We have to do it differently. We just miss him so much, we miss his leadership on the floor. He's another coach on the floor."

Note that Linn-Mar, even without Grant, is ranked #10 in the nation in MaxPreps National Rankings (http://www.maxpreps.com/FanPages/NationalRankings.mxp/Boys_Varsity_Basketball_Winter_06-07/StartAt-0) ... and look who's right behind them at #11 in the nation!

Heal up soon, Grant!

mtzaga
02-02-2008, 10:50 AM
Nice numbers by Brock, but Glacier is a new school with no seniors on its team. Flathead's big test is on next Tuesday when they play at Missoula Sentinel. Osweiler v. Garland and Henckel.

ZagNative
02-02-2008, 11:17 AM
Thanks, Kingzag! You're absolutely right. This is the link for 07-08 (http://www.maxpreps.com/FanPages/NationalRankings.mxp/Boys_Varsity_Basketball_Winter_07-08). Linn-Mar still ranked pretty high, at #25 in the nation.