PDA

View Full Version : Our Stock should go up



ZagsGoZags
01-19-2008, 11:08 PM
because 14 teams ranked above us lost on Saturday alone.

arkansas
louisville
illinois state
ohio state
notre dame
kent state
arizona state
miami in florida
pittsburg
mississippi
texas a&m
clemson
ucla
n. carolina

I'm happy for WSU that UCLA lost

and on Thu, these teams above us lost
uconn
marquette
oregon
vandervilt
butler
rhode island
arizona

Ziggy
01-19-2008, 11:19 PM
because 14 teams ranked above us lost on Saturday alone.

arkansas
louisville
illinois state
ohio state
notre dame
kent state
arizona state
miami in florida
pittsburg
mississippi
texas a&m
clemson
ucla
n. carolina

I'm happy for WSU that UCLA lost

and on Thu, these teams above us lost
uconn
marquette
oregon
vandervilt
butler
rhode island
arizona

But, how do those loses affect our RPI?

ZagsGoZags
01-19-2008, 11:47 PM
Good question. I am somewhat new at following basketball, but I sure have Zag fever. Do the top 40 or 45 picks in the NCAA tournament mostly go by the RPI ? or at least correlate strongly?

I was mostly thinking of the ESPN and AP polls, and how they operate. With those two polls I feel certain we will go up a few steps on Monday.

SintoZag
01-20-2008, 08:28 AM
Luckly, I see only one team that beat us. All these losses should help us, there are a lot of other factors at work here. I think losses by teams above us don't do as much good as wins by teams we have played (and beat) and

lawzag
01-20-2008, 08:56 AM
I'm happy for WSU that UCLA lost

and on Thu, these teams above us lost
uconn
marquette
oregon
vandervilt
butler
rhode island
arizona

I'm happy for WSU that UCLA lost too (although I wish they would have lost when WSU played them :( )

But....... I'm very unhappy that Oregon lost to the Fuskies:mad:
Good grief, the Ducks are a WAY better team than UW (even if I don't like Ernie K) I HATE to see UW win!

gu03alum
01-20-2008, 09:32 AM
I'm very unhappy that Oregon lost to the Fuskies:mad:


I agree, but it makes smc's win over the ducks look somewhat unimpressive.

NorthWestZag
01-20-2008, 10:20 AM
lol I think we dropped somehow. Pomeroy has us at #29. Only winning by 10 at home against USD does not help.

If we can stay close against Memphis @ Memphis on Saturday our numbers should improve.

BroncoZAG615
01-20-2008, 10:24 AM
Our RPI should be helped by UConn if they keep doin what they're doing. Right now up on number 13 Marquette 51-32.

ZagNative
01-20-2008, 10:44 AM
I am always a sadder and not very much wiser Zag fan when I take my deficient math background into RPI calculations, but I seem determined to whack myself on the thumb once again here.

KenPom's RPI calculations (http://kenpom.com/rpi.php) do not take into account margin of victory. Our RPI ranking dropped since Friday from 26 to 29.

The Pomeroy Basketball Ratings (http://kenpom.com/rate.php), which do take into account margin of victory and are intended to be predictive, unlike KenPom's RPI calculations, rank us at 25. I don't know where he had us before Saturday's games.

sittingon50
01-20-2008, 08:51 PM
ESPN had the Zags ranked in a 4 way tie for 39th. All 3 of those teams lost.

26-38: 8 of 13 lost, 2 of 'em twice

1-25: 15 lost, 3 of 'em twice.

Zags just need to keep winnin'.

ZagNative
01-20-2008, 09:14 PM
KenPom's RPI calculations (http://kenpom.com/rpi.php) do not take into account margin of victory. Our RPI ranking dropped since Friday from 26 to 29.

The Pomeroy Basketball Ratings (http://kenpom.com/rate.php), which do take into account margin of victory and are intended to be predictive, unlike KenPom's RPI calculations, rank us at 25. I don't know where he had us before Saturday's games.

Through Sunday's games, our KenPom RPI dropped from 29 to 30. Our Pomeroy rating improved from 25 to 22. My little RPI pea brain tells me that Pomeroy likes our chances of winning better than before.

Oh, oh. I just fell into the open door that is KenPom's explanation of RPI and how the NCAA uses it, and my eyes have not yet unglazed and rolled back into their normal position. May you have better luck if you take a peek (http://kenpom.com/blog/index.php/weblog/rpi_help/).

Ziggy
01-20-2008, 10:33 PM
Through Sunday's games, our KenPom RPI dropped from 29 to 30. Our Pomeroy rating improved from 25 to 22. My little RPI pea brain tells me that Pomeroy likes our chances of winning better than before.

Oh, oh. I just fell into the open door that is KenPom's explanation of RPI and how the NCAA uses it, and my eyes have not yet unglazed and rolled back into their normal position. May you have better luck if you take a peek (http://kenpom.com/blog/index.php/weblog/rpi_help/).

At least KenPom's ain't no urban myth, even if it is indigestible, right sister!;)

ZagsGoZags
01-20-2008, 10:53 PM
Do the seedings and chronology of invitations for the first 40 or 45 spots in the NCAA tournament

closely resemble the RPI
or more closely resemble the other Top 25 rankings
or neither. Are they far off both measures?