PDA

View Full Version : Your phone rings. It's Mark Few.



TheZagPhish
01-13-2008, 11:40 AM
Few is completely at wit's end not having an effective, consistent answer to hot three-point snipers. Someone gave him your number and he asks you what should the Zags do? How do they seal outside shooters from tip off to final buzzer and still have powerful inside D?

What do you say to Coach Few?

surfmonkey89
01-13-2008, 11:44 AM
I'd say wtf are you calling me for? You're the coach, it's been a problem for ten years, through multiple graduating classes and assistants, so clearly it's systemic.

You get paid the big bucks - figure it out yourself.

roxdoc
01-13-2008, 11:46 AM
Its definetly systemic.:(

thickman1
01-13-2008, 11:47 AM
man to man defense. Or get creative go to a box and 1 or triangle and 2 zone setup highlighting the scoring threats. We're so damn long that if guys simple got their HANDS UP it'd limit passing lanes too! EFFORT!

mgadfly
01-13-2008, 11:57 AM
I say:

Keep doing what you are doing. Your opposition's 3pt FG% is 31.2%, good for 46th in the nation. Your defensive efficiency numbers are nearly as good. You win 80% of your games and have been to the tournament every year for a decade straight. You also have accomplished the creation of a consistently contending program from a mid-major (border line low major conference) when nobody else in the history of the sport has been able to do the same. So, to sum up, you have no problem and are doing better than virtually anyone else. Inferior teams will hit three pointers on you no matter what you try to do to stop it, it is the state of the game having a 3 pt line less than 20 ft from the basket.

ZagNative
01-13-2008, 12:43 PM
Sigh ... mgadfly nails it. Thanks!

ZagSlug
01-13-2008, 12:54 PM
Find that one guy who is hot and is having a career day against you in the 1st half.

Find him on the court and put LG, Ira!, or Downs in his grill.

hondo46
01-13-2008, 01:00 PM
If your phone don't ring--It's Mark.

CarolinaZagFan
01-13-2008, 01:01 PM
I also would say aptp times to give them a different look, go to the 2-3 zone and give Bouldin a break and have Pargo and Gray, LG, or Ira! out front because of their quickness. Also, have Heytvelt down low asa shot blocker since he also is getting his athleticism back. And Micah and Austin on the outside with their length and athleticism could be able to get out and guard the perimeter. I would also like to see us use a triangle and two defense at times against Memphis. They have struggled quite a bit with this this season. Have Pargo hawking Rose and LG, Steven, or Ira! on Chris Douglas Roberts. Along with Micah, Austin, and Heytvelt patrolling the paint.

zag67
01-13-2008, 01:19 PM
Mgadfly is right on. I actually thought that our defense on the 3s and long 2s was better than what happened. I remember multiple times where they were shooting one with hands in there face and they went in. And they were denying the other teams best 3 point shooter the ball.

I feel that you need to know who the other teams best shooters are and then deny them the ball or make sure that if they do have it, you are up in their face. I think that this years team is doing a super job of attacking their shooters. This is by far the best that I have seen over the last few years. But many of our new players are still learning their zone responsibliities and also how fast and good these players are that they are playing against. I think as the year goes on they will keep getting better and better.

Section 116
01-13-2008, 02:13 PM
I believe beginning in the 2008-2009 season the rules committee approved moving the 3-point line back to 20 feet nine inches, a foot farther back than now. Perhaps that will improve GU's three point defense! Although as mgadfly pointed out the Zags are currently 46th in the nation defending the three pointer so things could be worse.

westcoasthoops101
01-13-2008, 02:31 PM
"I'd say wtf are you calling me for? You're the coach, it's been a problem for ten years, through multiple graduating classes and assistants, so clearly it's systemic.

You get paid the big bucks - figure it out yourself."

Haha, definitely agree :lmao:

mgadfly
01-13-2008, 02:53 PM
While I had him on the phone I'd also ask him if he could get me some tickets.

SunDevilGolfZag
01-13-2008, 02:56 PM
Hold your breath until next year when the 3-pt. line gets moved out a foot ;) (oops didn't notice Section 116 post above)

chirguy
01-13-2008, 03:16 PM
It's smart basketball to deny the inside shot and give up the outside shot. If Stanford ahad gone inside consistantly they would have beat Oregon.

If a team is hot outside go man.

BobZag
01-13-2008, 03:21 PM
This will cost you $100,000 wired directly into my bank account, then we'll talk. :D

Butler Guy
01-13-2008, 03:33 PM
....I ask him what he is wearing and whether or not he has ever visited a Turkish prison.

gamagin
01-13-2008, 03:35 PM
B.

ZagNative
01-13-2008, 03:37 PM
....I ask him what he is wearing and whether or not he has ever visited a Turkish prison.
You cannot sleep on Butler Guy! :D And if you're not careful, he'll railroad you off into some link about existentialism....

kjstoph1
01-13-2008, 03:54 PM
Give him Kyle Weaver's phone number.

john montana
01-13-2008, 04:03 PM
I think at times GU does a poor job of identifying the shooters. I have seen our defenders fly out to the wing to get a marginal shooter, leaving the deadeye 3 pt specialist sitting in the corner. That really is my only complaint.

MedZag
01-13-2008, 06:00 PM
What do you say to Coach Few?

"I think you have the wrong number." :lmao:

fedwayzag
01-13-2008, 06:34 PM
I think we let all teams get into their offense to easily. We have good ball pressure defense but the first pass into every teams offense is not denied. I was always taught, one pass away you in denial defense, 2 passes away 1 foot in the key and 3 passes away both feet in the key.

We let teams feel comfortable starting their offense and therefore comfortable shooting the ball. Would love to see the zags push the other teams offense out to the hash mark to the wing first pass. Then I think you would see a real difference.

thickman1
01-13-2008, 06:39 PM
Give him Kyle Weaver's phone number.:lmao:

GoZAGsMang
01-13-2008, 06:46 PM
If you are not getting beat down low - then dont have players sag down so much especially on the shooters. Look at stats and see where you are getting hurt.

We have plenty of depth, why not put more pressure on the team ie. 90ft of Ira, LG, Pargo, Gray, Daye, or Micah. This should tire out their shooters a bit and take them out of their offensive set. Please dont include Pendo in the press -he is a great player but dont think pressing is is forte. We have some really athletic players. Pressing often gets the ball out of the "good" shooters hands and into somebody elses.

Daye seems to give the inbounder fits so use him situationally.

Another thing we could do is to have Bouldin or Pargo post up more on the "shooter".

How about isolating their shooter into a 2 man game - give him more to worry about on defense.

We could also throw in a couple of new defenses-gimick or otherwise. We have plenty of fouls to give so why not try a box and one -if somebody is hot from 3. We could run the diamond variation.

Run, Run, Run, we are deep and have depth. Make the other team tired from chasing. At least try to get the ball up quickly.

Substitute offense for defense toward the end of the half. Put the more defensive team in if we are shooting free throws etc. Then on the other end reverse it.

And if there is a reason to not do any or all of the above- petition to get the line moved back.

I really dont think I am qualified to be doling out advice, but hey you called me.

jim77
01-13-2008, 07:51 PM
First off, I'd tell him to go man to man because we can matchup with most teams.(every team in the WCC) There are a few exceptions...UCLA, NC,Maybe Memphis...we will have to hope these teams are NOT(probably play zone or mix it up) hitting 3's or we could be in trouble. I would go man and tell our guys to pick their man up about 6-8 feet from the 3 point line....especially the known 3 point shooters.(IN Butler's case,the whole team. LOL) Most folks don't even attempt to shoot a 3 from 25(the Butler fellas are the exception) feet unless its uncontested. So that gives their offense player 2 choices...pass or drive to the hoop.(which we protect rather welll these days) The WCC teams know they are not gonna dominate us inside so there ONLY choice is the 3 point line shot....and thats exactly what they shoot. We know its coming yet, we keep seeing opposing teams with wide open looks. We know recruit great athletes...time to use them. Go back and look at the Tenneesse game and watch the harrasment out guards where receiving long before they ever got near the 3 point line. We also have the depth to cover the fouls and fatigue.

Reborn
01-14-2008, 10:09 AM
Actually, the defense is doing fine. We're defending the 3 pt shot pretty well overall. Because Josh was out so long we had to sag off our guys and help in the middle.

If he did call me, looking for my opinion, I think the only suggestion I would have is to let Josh defend one on one more, and especially against teams don't have an outstanding center. And if we're giving up some pts down low, at least they're two pt shots and not 3. We may be able to cut down on say 5-6 pts a game if we do that, and in a few games that'd make the difference.

Even against a team like Memphis I'd have Josh guard their center one on one because he isn't going to kill us they way other guys on that team can. And against a team like Utah who did have a good center, it hurt us to double team him. First Josh did well against the dude. I don't think he scored on Josh. They were obviously killing us from the outside.

I think where we get hurt the most is when we play teams with guards and wings that are quicker then ours (Tennessee).

23dpg
01-14-2008, 10:29 AM
I'd tell him to follow this link for all of his answers.

http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2

CarolinaZagFan
01-14-2008, 10:31 AM
"Please don't include Pendo in the press-I think he's a great player but pressing is not his forte."

Haha nicely done and well-worded as well.

LongIslandZagFan
01-14-2008, 10:41 AM
My only words would be "Don't ask me."

TheZagPhish
01-14-2008, 11:19 AM
My response:

"Um, can I call Coach Giac and get back to ya?"

lothar98zag
01-14-2008, 03:09 PM
Ask him for tickets and then tell him there's a guy named Mike in Sequim that he should call. He seems to know it all.

BobZag
01-14-2008, 06:19 PM
If you are not getting beat down low - then dont have players sag down so much especially on the shooters. Look at stats and see where you are getting hurt.

We have plenty of depth, why not put more pressure on the team ie. 90ft of Ira, LG, Pargo, Gray, Daye, or Micah. This should tire out their shooters a bit and take them out of their offensive set. Please dont include Pendo in the press -he is a great player but dont think pressing is is forte. We have some really athletic players. Pressing often gets the ball out of the "good" shooters hands and into somebody elses.

Daye seems to give the inbounder fits so use him situationally.

Another thing we could do is to have Bouldin or Pargo post up more on the "shooter".

How about isolating their shooter into a 2 man game - give him more to worry about on defense.

We could also throw in a couple of new defenses-gimick or otherwise. We have plenty of fouls to give so why not try a box and one -if somebody is hot from 3. We could run the diamond variation.

Run, Run, Run, we are deep and have depth. Make the other team tired from chasing. At least try to get the ball up quickly.

Substitute offense for defense toward the end of the half. Put the more defensive team in if we are shooting free throws etc. Then on the other end reverse it.

And if there is a reason to not do any or all of the above- petition to get the line moved back.

I really dont think I am qualified to be doling out advice, but hey you called me.

A 5-star answer.

surfmonkey89
01-14-2008, 06:31 PM
I agreed w/ Bob. That's a great answer, and it also addresses the "problem" of having so much depth by turning it into an advantage.

MickMick
01-14-2008, 06:55 PM
I say:

Keep doing what you are doing. Your opposition's 3pt FG% is 31.2%, good for 46th in the nation. Your defensive efficiency numbers are nearly as good. You win 80% of your games and have been to the tournament every year for a decade straight. You also have accomplished the creation of a consistently contending program from a mid-major (border line low major conference) when nobody else in the history of the sport has been able to do the same. So, to sum up, you have no problem and are doing better than virtually anyone else. Inferior teams will hit three pointers on you no matter what you try to do to stop it, it is the state of the game having a 3 pt line less than 20 ft from the basket.

Well said indeed.

The problem with this year's team? Offense.

The Zags have historically managed to shoot there way out of trouble...until recently.

Some want the Zags to put emphasis on defense. I disagree. There is enough energy in the gas tank for the offensively skilled players to score. Ask them to exert equal energy to press and the shooting touch will suffer a penalty. Bring in a specialist like Errol Knight when need be.

Otherwise...spend that energy putting the ball through the hoop. Recruit the kind of players that fit that style.

kitzbuel
01-14-2008, 07:24 PM
http://mediaimages.boxedart.com/TireIron150.gif