PDA

View Full Version : Georgia-Post Game Thoughts



CarolinaZagFan
01-05-2008, 06:25 PM
I just wanted to see what people thought who we're at the game and saw it live. First of all, I'm glad I'm not on the team because I would've whooped Cory Butler's AZZ. Since I got that out of the way, Matt is unbelievable. He is going to carry us to great things this year. If he keeps his hot hand, we'll be tough to beat. Also, lot's of people talk bad about Pargo's play at times, but when he was down, it showed how much we need him. He is the only guard we have that can beat the press, and he too carries us at times. (Oklahoma) We definately need him. Just seeing what other comments you have. Also, we have to FINISH. When we are up on our opponents we have to bury them and keep attacking. That's what Duke is so good at. When they're up 10, they make it 20, then 30...and never stop...we have to do this too watching us play puts my Blood Pressure at dangerous levels.

HOOTER
01-05-2008, 06:26 PM
It may have had some ugly moments, and the Zag's were far from perfect, but one could make the argument that today's game against Georgia was the best they have played so far. It just seemed to me that the Zag's controlled the tempo almost the entire 40 minutes, against a strong opponent. They showed a level of intensity that we haven't seen in a while. I know they've beat some teams by more points, and they've arguably beat better teams, I just think this team is headed in the right direction and todays game was evidence of that. I'd love to hear (or see, I guess) everyone else's opinion on the matter.

MickMick
01-05-2008, 06:35 PM
Still.....the lazy passes. Please coach make them go away!!

Other than that...Bravo!

Just loved the offensive tempo. Zags play so much better when they speed things up. The plays were working..Pick n Pop, Pick n Roll, Give n go....all working much better.

TuckC
01-05-2008, 06:40 PM
I dunno if they showed Butler on TV, but I saw him smiling the whole time they were looking at Pargo.

Bulldog
01-05-2008, 06:44 PM
That type of play is uncalled for in College ball. Intentionally trying to hurt another player is just ridiculous.

roxdoc
01-05-2008, 06:44 PM
Offense looking much better in the first half. Good ball movement - lots of energy. Maybe with 8 min? (about then) to go our energy level dropped across the board, lazay passes by more than 1 zag, much slower tempo, energy and intensity were zilch. By then we were so far ahead we could let them make monkeys out of us for a negative 10 points and still win. That last stretch was shamefully ugly folks. What happened?

Zag365
01-05-2008, 06:52 PM
agree about the lazzzzy passes. embarrassing. you would think after the first one that we would dial it up and start being more aggressive. Instead we looked dazed and intimidated.

hockeyzag
01-05-2008, 06:53 PM
I dunno if they showed Butler on TV, but I saw him smiling the whole time they were looking at Pargo.

What was also strange was he was looking around the stadium at the towels right before that play with a big smile on his face too.

TuckC
01-05-2008, 06:53 PM
Remember, this is the same guy that after fouling Gray, with whistles blown, ran the full court and bricked a dunk. Delaying the game by an easy 10 seconds and getting an earful from Libby's boys.

TuckC
01-05-2008, 06:54 PM
I don't want to suggest this, but why did the coach call a timeout? Was it Temple esque and have some "thug" do something?

Buckwheat
01-05-2008, 06:55 PM
He was smiling while Pargo was down, and then when he was escorted from the court, he grabbed his crotch and said something to a group of fans above the tunnel.
That was a brutal foul. Hope Pargo's ok.

billyberu
01-05-2008, 06:57 PM
I just paid a visit to the Georgia board and here is what they think of Butler's takedown:


BTW, I was glad to see some signs of life outta Butler at the end of the game. The Zags were doing a little show boating late in the game, and that was a bush league breakaway pass . . . I was personally glad to see Butler flatten the dude. Bet he won't try that junk again with 2.5 seconds left in the game and a multiple possession lead.

And then there is this gem:


Unlike the Gonzaga announcer, I had no beef with Butler doing that. He was just making sure Pargo wasn't going to get a bush-league dunk at the end of the game in their home court. There was no intent on hurting Pargo, just stopping the play....and its the kind of play that means a lot to the team after the game and that we'll carry around for the rest of the season.

It's a pretty sad state of affairs when you have college players trying to deliberately trying to hurt someone, but when their fans join in the complete stupidity of supporting that punk then maybe they need to see that happen to one of their players. I can't see how anyone with any decency would support that kind of play, it has no place in athletics at all and I am saddened by it. Completely classless.

TuckC
01-05-2008, 07:00 PM
Can I have that web address?

kitzbuel
01-05-2008, 07:00 PM
I don't want to suggest this, but why did the coach call a timeout? Was it Temple esque and have some "thug" do something?

I very strongly doubt that. Felton and Few get along pretty well. The whole reason this game even came about was due to their personal relationship.

billyberu
01-05-2008, 07:01 PM
Here ya go

http://mbd.scout.com/mb.aspx?s=135#s=135&f=2732&t=1791774

zagcheer78
01-05-2008, 07:02 PM
Georgia basketball is a program that is in trouble. Suspended players and players leaving the program. I think we now see why.

mendiant
01-05-2008, 07:03 PM
The game was pretty fun, up that point.

I felt that perhaps the refs might have been calling a bit too close at times.

When Jeremy went down (was thrown down) I was horrified.

I'm pretty darn sure he was knocked out for a few seconds, he did not move.

All I could think of was the stretcher that would be taking him out...all I could do was scream - scream like I'd just seen come awful, violent act of hate.

I have NEVER been so shaken, that all I could do was scream...until then.

I've seen that happen two other times against Eastern (same player...Matt somebody)... I was pissed then, but not scared.

This time I was scared. I had turned around, still screaming, I couldn't look on.

Someone had to tell me Jeremy was up.

As they escorted Butler out, the fans booed, but did not throw trash (a towel was thrown), did not spit.

Frankly, if I was that close, I would have.

By and large, our guys and our fans were better people.

I on the other hand was thinking a possee after the game would be a good idea for this guy.

But that is what is bad about some bb, isn't it?

A crappy, street, gang like attitude.

I'm sorry for disgracing my team with those thoughts.

Thank you, Zags! You made us proud - again!

Jeremy, I sure hope you are ok. We love you!

mendiant

BobZag
01-05-2008, 07:05 PM
Zags definitely looked like progress has been made with the team fully intact. They still have a ways to go but that's good news to me. It means they have not begun to reach their ceiling yet. I still say, by Memphis we fans will see a different Zag team, the team we all expected to see preseason. This next week of practices is just what the doctor ordered for these guys. :)

ZagNative
01-05-2008, 07:12 PM
It was so much fun to be in the arena tonight! However, I forgot to set the DVR before I left home!!! How'd the crowd look and sound on TV? We did our best to be loud and rowdy from our lofty perch, not wanting to come on the board and take a whipping from our friends watching our shoddy performance from home.

RenoZag
01-05-2008, 07:16 PM
It was so much fun to be in the arena tonight! However, I forgot to set the DVR before I left home!!! How'd the crowd look and sound on TV? We did our best to be loud and rowdy from our lofty perch, not wanting to come on the board and take a whipping from our friends watching our shoddy performance from home.


Opening shot with the towel(?) waving was awesome to see. There were stretches in the 2nd half when the crowd seemed a bit subdued. Were they?

Wish I could have been there.

TuckC
01-05-2008, 07:18 PM
The crowd was really not subdued at the end. An elderly lady yelled "You suck!" to Butler when he was exiting after showing what kind of class he has.

RenoZag
01-05-2008, 07:20 PM
Mendiant, you weren't the only one with that reaction to Butler's mugging of Pargo, but you articulated it the best. . .

ZagSlug
01-05-2008, 07:22 PM
Something that is always funny - old ladies yelling things like "you suck" or using profanity.

It seemed to get quiet as GU built the lead, if one of those missed dunks went down the place probably would have blown up.

TuckC
01-05-2008, 07:23 PM
Does anybody know why a coach would call a timeout with 3.5 seconds left and down by 7? Without possesion?

ZagNative
01-05-2008, 07:29 PM
Opening shot with the towel(?) waving was awesome to see. There were stretches in the 2nd half when the crowd seemed a bit subdued. Were they?

Wish I could have been there.

We were fairly high up, but I felt as if the two of us were the only ones really yelling like maniacs and "acting out" in our neck of the woods. However, the crowd seemed really rapt with what was going on, just not as demonstrative as I might have liked.

It was gorgeous to be there, though. That's the greatest show in town outside of the MAC, for sure!

gamagin
01-05-2008, 07:29 PM
I enjoyed it.

my take on the last couple of minutes is we were trying to run out the clock while GA turned it up several notches. I think we had plenty of opportunities to make an easy two and should have just traded points and ended it that way.

Instead, we seemed to be trying to force things and we became rattled. I bet GA wishes they'd have tried turning up the heat much earlier. I bet, too, we're going to practice a few clock killing plays or routines, too, because we need a plan.

Overall, I liked the game. It looks like we're healthy and 8-9 regulars got lots of touches and a fair amount of time while we pretty much kept the lead the whole time. I felt sorry for Micah. It looke to me like his bandaged hand prevented him from putting snap into his passes a couple of times, leading to turnovers and ultimately to his benching. got to be frustrating, but he'll be back. I thought Ira & Gray & Daye had some excellent, impactful minutes, too, along with the regular journeymen who seemed to put in solid, total games. good for them.

Overall, a fine pre season ending game before focusing on the WCC schedule for awhile.

Go Zags !

SunDevilGolfZag
01-05-2008, 07:36 PM
The mugging was the worst flagrant foul that I have seen outside the NBA in my five decades of watching the game. I would be shocked if Butler doesn't get a multi-game suspension, the whole season would be well desreved. The initial contact was flagrant; finishing it off by throwing Pargo down was a criminal act outside of anything contemplated by the game. It was the hockey equivalent of swinging a stick at someone's head, imo.

TuckC
01-05-2008, 07:37 PM
I don't agree with full season. Maybe, if Pargo is severly hurt.

SunDevilGolfZag
01-05-2008, 07:39 PM
I don't agree with full season. Maybe, if Pargo is severly hurt.

You're right -- I was looking at his intent

mendiant
01-05-2008, 07:39 PM
We were fairly high up, but I felt as if the two of us were the only ones really yelling like maniacs and "acting out" in our neck of the woods. However, the crowd seemed really rapt with what was going on, just not as demonstrative as I might have liked.

It was gorgeous to be there, though. That's the greatest show in town outside of the MAC, for sure!

Yes, there was another "regular" there in my area...we tend to be loud.

Fortunately, we received no glares (it's happened).

By and large the surrounding peeps seemed to enjoy our chatter and in mini shy ways participate.

The other loud one is another woman btw. Annie rocks!!!

She has her seats right behind me and boy was I glad when she opened her mouth that first game in the MAC...

I said, "Girl, we are going to get along great!!!"

Yes, half way through the second half the crowd went sleepy.

We diehards kept chatting...

TuckC
01-05-2008, 07:42 PM
It was weird. Like, even the student section (or what was left of it) was just standing. Can't blame them, Georgia is on a downward spiral to hell.

zagco
01-05-2008, 07:52 PM
Sitting in the comfort of his green leather recliner and playing Elder Scrolls Oblivion on his Dell XPS laptop, Zagco was pleased and had two overarching thoughts:

1. For the first time this season against a decent team, Zagco thought our offense actually had some flow and plan to it, as opposed to the game of hot potato we have been playing.

2. Zagco is sick and tired of the lazy, almost arrogant way we care for the ball in the games, as if we are too sexy to have anyone else swipe it away. This propensity to be careless with the ball goes back, in Zagco's mind, to the way Batista lost the ball to UCLA, something that had been in the works for awhile the way he often held the ball in a rather casual manner above his head. Someone's got to light a fire under these guys' azzes, because you cannot do that crap. We used to be the team taking AWAY the ball from teams like that, and now that we feel like we're part of the elite, we are the ones getting worked over like a San Francisco hooker on a Wednesday night.

zag67
01-05-2008, 08:09 PM
I agree with BZ that there was a lot of progress. But there is still more. I also agree that the next 4 games before Memphis will allow them to keep getting better and better.

I liked the way the coaches were able to get the most of the players into the game early. Hopefully we will have some big wins in the next few weeks so that we can keep watching the younger players getting more time. This will really help in March. I also was happily suprised at the amount of time Ira got and that must mean he is starting to understand the plays.:)

Nevtelen
01-05-2008, 08:20 PM
Sitting in the comfort of his green leather recliner and playing Elder Scrolls Oblivion on his Dell XPS laptop, Zagco was pleased and had two overarching thoughts:

1. For the first time this season against a decent team, Zagco thought our offense actually had some flow and plan to it, as opposed to the game of hot potato we have been playing.

2. Zagco is sick and tired of the lazy, almost arrogant way we care for the ball in the games, as if we are too sexy to have anyone else swipe it away. This propensity to be careless with the ball goes back, in Zagco's mind, to the way Batista lost the ball to UCLA, something that had been in the works for awhile the way he often held the ball in a rather casual manner above his head. Someone's got to light a fire under these guys' azzes, because you cannot do that crap. We used to be the team taking AWAY the ball from teams like that, and now that we feel like we're part of the elite, we are the ones getting worked over like a San Francisco hooker on a Wednesday night.

Honestly, I thought the people who had the biggest problems with the pressure were Gray (freshman - part of his learning curve), Heytvelt (he's starting to get used to it again) and Bouldin (it's been documented here how he's not so hot against pressure, something he clearly needs to work on). Micah had a bad pass, but I don't think it was due to pressure. When those guys get a bit better at handling the in-your-face pressure, this team will be a lot better for it. Pargo was pretty decent against it (though he didn't attack the hoop - I assume following coaches' orders).

rawkmandale
01-05-2008, 08:27 PM
OK, you spotted some weak points. Those are valid observations, but they are just that - the weak points. There were very many STRONG points.

Nevtelen
01-05-2008, 08:36 PM
Ouch. Check out the picture of Sorenson greeting Pargo at the bench (http://gozags.cstv.com/view.gal?id=20635&template=player_gallery)after that flagrant foul. Man, you can see that Pargo is really hurting. I don't remember seeing him look like that. I really really hope the staff has him checked out up and down tonight. :(

spudzag
01-05-2008, 08:37 PM
Congrats to the team. This is the first time I've really felt the team was coing together as a unit. The flow was smooth, with just a few lapses. The substitutions and rotations seemed to work well. Well done.

Let's not let the poor sportsmanship distract from how well the team is shaping up.

brasszag
01-05-2008, 08:43 PM
Also - this is the first Libbey officiated game that I can recall where there wasn't some freakshow out-of-nowhere call in the last minute by him...

Rubbadub
01-05-2008, 08:43 PM
Honestly, I think the Georgia coach was trying to use the situation as a drill for late game pressing on in bounds situations when down...maybe he told them to pretend they were only down two. Who knows though.

That having been said, they shouldn't be offended that GU is still trying to score when they are doing so as well--and even so, there are ways to stop a player from dunking without doing what that piece of #### did. He intentionally threw Pargo to the floor with intent to cause damage. Rat #######. If everything said here about what he did afterwards is true, he should be suspended.

ZagTrain
01-05-2008, 08:49 PM
http://www.ajc.com/sports/content/sports/uga/stories/2008/01/05/gahoops_0106.html


Felton said he didn't have a problem with Butler's foul.

"I thought he hustled," Felton said. "The kid was going for a dunk, and he was just trying to keep the dunk from happening."

Still, Felton apologized to Gonzaga coach Mark Few immediately after the game and Butler, accompanied by Georgia assistant athletics director Arthur Johnson, went to the Gonzaga locker room after the game apologize to Pargo.

Despite the ejection, Butler will not be subjected to suspension for the Georgia Tech game on Wednesday, according to Felton, because he wasn't fighting.

Kind of a weak response, imo . . .

TuckC
01-05-2008, 08:52 PM
Agreed, but then again, Felton needs as many players as he can. The rest are either kicked off or transferring because they know there is a stink coming from Athens, GA.

Rubbadub
01-05-2008, 08:53 PM
http://www.ajc.com/sports/content/sports/uga/stories/2008/01/05/gahoops_0106.html



Kind of a weak response, imo . . .

Doing what Butler did has a much higher risk of inflicting injury than "fighting" does. Butler could've socked Pargo a few times while "fighting" and it would've been nothing. This was a potential career ender. Pathetic response by the player and coach.

mendiant
01-05-2008, 09:02 PM
http://www.ajc.com/sports/content/sports/uga/stories/2008/01/05/gahoops_0106.html



Kind of a weak response, imo . . .

Oh My f-ing word...

the a hole does not have a problem with that????

That is not hustle, that is felony if Pargo is seriously injurred...

Perhaps Felton needs to understand that he is not coaching in the hood but in the NCAA???

A guy got murdered a block and a half from my house...

gang shooting...

problem is, the ####oles picked the wrong house and shot a man that was not the target of the gang....

innocent by stander, dead.

Felton and his gang land trash should not be invited to this event again!!!

TuckC
01-05-2008, 09:05 PM
Self Defense, he would have been postered.

mendiant
01-05-2008, 09:17 PM
Agreed, but then again, Felton needs as many players as he can. The rest are either kicked off or transferring because they know there is a stink coming from Athens, GA.

Here's a thought, work toward integrety rather than excuses.

I don't care how desparate your program is, you do not opt for the lowest common denominator to elevate your team....

catch the oxymoron there???

I doubt Felton would.

75Zag
01-05-2008, 09:17 PM
Nice to get a win. Congratulations to the Bulldogs and particularly to Matt B., who played a heck of a game.

This was not quite the breakout game that I was hoping for. If I was a member of the NCAA selection committee, I am not sure I would be overwhelmed by the GU Bulldogs play tonight. But every game is an improvement.

On to the WCC.

VinnyZag
01-05-2008, 09:22 PM
That having been said, they shouldn't be offended that GU is still trying to score when they are doing so as well--and even so, there are ways to stop a player from dunking without doing what that piece of #### did.

That breakaway play is pretty common against a full-court press. The play was drawn up from the bench, not so much because GU needed a score, but because the home run ball is often the best way to break the pressure.
That being said, JP really didn't have to go up. I got kind of pissed last week when that Tennessee punk dunked at the end of the game.
But nothing excuses what the Georgia kid did tonight. Nothing.

ZagNative
01-05-2008, 09:23 PM
Nice to get a win. Congratulations to the Bulldogs and particularly to Matt B., who played a heck of a game.

This was not quite the breakout game that I was hoping for. If I was a member of the NCAA selection committee, I am not sure I would be overwhelmed by the GU Bulldogs play tonight. But every game is an improvement.

On to the WCC.
:agreed:

Rubbadub
01-05-2008, 09:25 PM
Nice to get a win. Congratulations to the Bulldogs and particularly to Matt B., who played a heck of a game.

This was not quite the breakout game that I was hoping for. If I was a member of the NCAA selection committee, I am not sure I would be overwhelmed by the GU Bulldogs play tonight. But every game is an improvement.

On to the WCC.

Agreed. I wouldn't consider Gonzaga for an at large unless they beat Memphis and all the rest of the remaining teams on the schedule. Maybe a loss to St. Mary's at St. Mary's would be excusable. We haven't beaten a single team that would be worthy of an at large. I'm not saying we aren't good enough to receive an at large, but we haven't done enough to deserve one.

MDABE80
01-05-2008, 09:35 PM
Intent follows the bullet Mendi;)

eastsideballer
01-05-2008, 09:40 PM
although we played well lets keep it in perspective. My son and i were at the game (he is a HS varsity player) and several times we looked at each other and said referring to Georgia "these guys suck". They really werent a very good team so imo lets hold off jumping up and down with excitement until we handle the tempo on a good team.

MDABE80
01-05-2008, 09:44 PM
1) Austin continues to improve. He'll be a great one. 96% in free throws. Nice!
2) Matt has scored over 20 pts in the last 3 games ( including Tenn).......and his average is 23 ppg in those games against BCS teams. Nice! Few turns too! Nicer!
3) Steven Gray is rapidly improving. He'll be one to remember. Seems much more athletic than advertised. Nice! Great court sense too! Nicer!
4) Josh is improving rapidly. He will need some help down low. He just doesn't get good position for his rebounding. Another big will be necessary to win the boards. 33-33 tonight. We need better.
5) Jeremy is behaving like a point guard should. Improving because he doesn't put the team on his shoulders. Nice dunk he nearly had. POWER!
6) Only 46% shooting from the field isn't so good. Has to get better. I think it will........moreso in WCC play. WCC play will build confidence and help the team get to know each other. For the first time in years, this team will come out of the league improved. Watch.......and........learn.
Finally we have some very good freshmen. I wish ROb would be getting more minutes. We will need him and Kuso for rebounds side by side with Josh.

mendiant
01-05-2008, 09:49 PM
Intent follows the bullet Mendi;)

You live in the same neighborhood where this #### is happening and see if you can be so glib...

I know this is not intentional abe...hugs..with a reality check.

thebigsmoove
01-05-2008, 09:51 PM
Come check out the recap for the game on http://zagaholic.blogspot.com

Nevtelen
01-05-2008, 09:54 PM
There was no way this was going to be the statement game to impress the committee. The team has only had a few days to practice since Utah - more time is clearly needed. Heytvelt is also clearly not yet a 100% - some of the substitutions for him were because he looked winded IMO. I was pretty happy. The offense - particularly transition which we haven't seen much of at all on this team - looked a LOT better than it has, at least in spurts. The next step is polishing off the rough edges and making those spurts last most of the game. Georgia is by no means a high-quality opponent, but they did play hard and were very athletic. Overall, I was pretty happy with what I saw. I think it was mostly as good as could be expected given the circumstances.

jim77
01-05-2008, 10:46 PM
Great win for the Zags.

The only complaint for me is the ball handling toward the end. Nevertheless, the Zags look good on offense and were aggressive on defense.

I'l probably get flamed for this but, I don't think Butler tried to throw Jeremy down intentionally. It looked from my TV set(and rewinded a few times) that Butler TRIED to hold jeremy up but, there was just to much momentum going on. It also looked to me that it was a lower back thing more than anything....I hope the young fella gets an MRI or xray...back injuries are nothing to fool with.

Rubbadub
01-05-2008, 11:09 PM
I'll probably get flamed for this but...

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/25/64246630_a8e86b6275.jpg

Flack!!! Flack!!! Flack!!!

MEZAG
01-05-2008, 11:21 PM
Not sure about your assesment Jim77 but it has broken back written all over it. Hopefully JP is just a lttle beat up. Butler didn't even think about playing the ball and made a really bad decision to hack a guy at full speed with no time left and a 7 point defecit. Won't know for sure the impact of his horrible decision until tomorrow after JP's xray/mri results.

bzzz61
01-06-2008, 06:08 AM
1) Seeing a game in person is so much better than watching it on TV. Did Ehlo make his MJ reference?

2) It felt like the first game since Josh and Gray came back that there was a flow to the substitutions and player combos. It seems like Few and the staff are starting to get comfortable with who plays with whom, how long they play and what situations they play in. They're not all the way there but I was greatly encouraged at what seemed to me like great progress.

3) Lazy passes are getting pretty old. I tried to find a way to make that statement seem more vague, non-descript or completely obvious but that's the best that I've got

4) I loved that starting lineup. That is a lineup that once Josh has his legs under him should tell the other team that GU is going to run, run, run, run some more, run, run and then maybe do some more running.

5) Ira! with some minutes! That guy can play. He has a ton of enthusiasm and just seems to love basketball. I really enjoyed watching him play.

6) I have a lot more respect for Micah. Watching him on the bench constantly cheering for his teammates, offering encouragement, suggestions and just generally being excited to be a part of this team. I would think that it could be easy for a guy as talented as him to be a little bit bitter about losing a starting role and playing time but he really impressed me with his team first attitude last night.

7) I like Andrew Sorenson. I realize that statement is like seeing I like pizza or 3 day weekends but how do you not like a guy who is always the first on the floor to welcome his teammates back to the bench?

8) Gray is a sssssSTUUUUUd. I'm excited to watch him play over the next few years.

9) I really enjoyed cheering with you guys. Let's do it again next year, huh!

10) I'm glad that we don't have to play Gaines again. That kid runs a great offense and I enjoyed watching him play even though he was on the other team.

11) Humphreys is a steely eyed missile man from behind the arc. Wow!

12) Butler is a no-class thug

gamagin
01-06-2008, 11:00 AM
<<I'l probably get flamed for this but, I don't think Butler tried to throw Jeremy down intentionally. It looked from my TV set(and rewinded a few times) that Butler TRIED to hold jeremy up but, there was just to much momentum going on. >>

I agree. I don't think there was intent to slam jp to the floor. I didn't see anything resembling that sort of football follow-through. Butler looked to be trying to hold JP from launching a slam and the momentum carried him forward and he crashed.

Butler should have held onto JP, imo, but after looking at it several times, it looked like he was just preventing a game ending highlight film shot & play by JP at Georgia's expense.

My guess is GU staff pretty much feel the same way, too, given the lack of anger. there might even be an object lesson in there about such a game finishing tactic.

Like it or not, you have to ask what would any of our guys have done if an opponent had tried (or the perception is/was he was trying) to slam the final shot with the game already in the bag.

Reborn
01-06-2008, 11:50 AM
Great post. Most of my thoughts have been expressed. And oddly enough by the women. Go Zags!!!

I am old school. And back when I played there would have been a brawl on the floor. I must admit that I enjoyed a few of those fights we had. It's a different world now, and I think it's a better one (in terms of fighting). The guys are too big and too tough. And it's just better. BUT!! That being said. I wasn't at the game (and I know that players can not go on the court) but if I am not mistaken, NOT ONE ZAG WENT UP AND PUT HIS FACE RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THAT LITTLE PUNK. That is my biggest disappointment of the night. Do we let a guy get away with mugging one of our ZAGS? No confrontation? I am glad at least a lot of people here ARE PISSED. In the real world, Butler WOULD be suspended and fined. I hope the NCAA does NOT let him get away with it, as his coach is going to do.

I agree somewhat with Few. It's over. And we need to let it go. And I like what Mick Mick said. One day it will just add to the Pargo folk lore. I love the kid. Maybe this will begin to rally the doubters in Zagdom. Pargo IS SPECIAL, and HE WILL BE BACK.....Glad to see all the love for him in this thread. WE ARE ZAGS..........................

Section 116
01-06-2008, 01:15 PM
Tuck, as I posted in another thread, here is what Coach Felton said regarding that final timeout, "The only thing I didn't want was the timeout (that preceded the long inbounds pass to Pargo). That wasn't planned, but some of our bench guys jumped up and yelled timeout." That quote was in today's game coverage in the Spokane Spokesman-Review.

bzzz61
01-06-2008, 02:24 PM
"That being said. I wasn't at the game (and I know that players can not go on the court) but if I am not mistaken, NOT ONE ZAG WENT UP AND PUT HIS FACE RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THAT LITTLE PUNK. That is my biggest disappointment of the night. Do we let a guy get away with mugging one of our ZAGS? No confrontation? "

Reborn, I mentioned it on another post that you may not have seen. I was sitting about 8 rows directly up from the foul. At least 2-3 guys were holding Ira! back and keeping him from going after the guy.

As soon as the foul happened, the official got right in Butler's face, let him know that he was gone but tried to get him out of the way before anyone went after him. When the rest of the players got down there, one of Georgia's guys started moving Butler away and 2-3 Zags got in between Ira! and the guy. Ira! stood up for his boy and was ready to throw down. He was visibly angry and ready to go. Ira! did what he should have done. No worries.

MickMick
01-06-2008, 02:47 PM
"That being said. I wasn't at the game (and I know that players can not go on the court) but if I am not mistaken, NOT ONE ZAG WENT UP AND PUT HIS FACE RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THAT LITTLE PUNK. That is my biggest disappointment of the night. Do we let a guy get away with mugging one of our ZAGS? No confrontation? "

Reborn, I mentioned it on another post that you may not have seen. I was sitting about 8 rows directly up from the foul. At least 2-3 guys were holding Ira! back and keeping him from going after the guy.

As soon as the foul happened, the official got right in Butler's face, let him know that he was gone but tried to get him out of the way before anyone went after him. When the rest of the players got down there, one of Georgia's guys started moving Butler away and 2-3 Zags got in between Ira! and the guy. Ira! stood up for his boy and was ready to throw down. He was visibly angry and ready to go. Ira! did what he should have done. No worries.

Maybe that pro baseball experience is coming through. "You just hit our guy with a pitch" type thing. Officially, such behavior is not tolerated at any level, but in the pros, the unwritten code is........