PDA

View Full Version : A true Zag fan ...

oczagfan
11-26-2007, 09:53 PM
I am new to this and am pretty sure it will be my one and only post, but a friend of mine who lives in Spokane (and swears ZAG fans are the most loyal and supportive) told me about a troublesome post that needed clarification. Below is the statement made by several posters and I am very curious as to why Austin Daye would be referred to as "Barack":

"Barack Daye was a disappointment. Just looks fragile. Talented and well intended but not ready for the brawl that's D1 (hoops or politics)"

For the record, everyone in Orange County is very proud of Austin's accomplishments, and I am certain they would be sickened to think that the inference had anything to do with the fact that both Austin and Barack are biracial. We are hoping that Austin is in a great place with wonderful people ... and appreciative fans that wouldn't dream of making such a ridiculous statement.

I am hoping that the comparison was made solely because both Austin and Barack are very strong and accomplished men of color that have captured the interest of many people.

My friend has insisted that cruelty is a rarity where true Zag fans are concerned ... but I hope everyone remembers that these are young men that don't deserve cheap shots (especially when it doesn't even pertain to basketball) They put themselves on display by doing what they love and the one safe haven they should always be able to count on is the loyal security of their own fans.

Fonebone
11-26-2007, 10:07 PM
Thanks for your post. I don't recall that post, but just from reading this one line that you posted, I can see a different interpretation.

The Line:
"Talented and well intended but not ready for the brawl that's D1 (hoops or politics)"