PDA

View Full Version : Predictions about tonight's game



tyra
11-17-2007, 08:20 AM
Any predictions about tonight's game? Not just scores but other things, especially those that are positive, e.g. our defense will CONTINUE to suffocate. Here's mine: Theo will get more playing time and begin to show the stuff that will make us real happy he is here. Yours?

GonzagasaurusFlex
11-17-2007, 08:40 AM
Downs decides to impose his will on both ends of the court and lights it up offensively while playing his ever-improving brand of lockdown D, rebounding and shot blocking. As he exits the game for good late in the 2nd half to a standing ovation, a sheepish grin lights up his face...the light has gone on: "Wow, I can take over the game on either end of the court when I decide my team needs me to. That was fun...I think I'll do this more often!"

Nevtelen
11-17-2007, 08:52 AM
Play is a little sloppy at first (again) because, well, the team knows these guys just lost to EWU and isn't really taking them seriously. The coaches put their collective foot down, though, and things get better quick (say 10 mins in). It's not close at the half. Ira gets a decent amount of PT and has a couple of great plays - maybe a contested 3 or a dunk in traffic off of 2 feet after getting an offensive board. Theo sees lots of time, too, and looks like he's getting into a rhythm out there. The team breaks the single game blocks record. Micah gets into his groove offensively and leads the team in scoring. 5 guys in double figures (Pargo, Pendo, Micah, Daye, Kuso).

How's that for some predictions? :D

Reborn
11-17-2007, 10:33 AM
Gonzaga will win by more than 20 and go 3-0 for the season. I expect to see improved play, especially regarding the areas the team needs improvement in...turnovers, foul shooting, less stupid fouls = more floor time for Pendo and Kuso and Downs hitting some 3's. I also see more playing time for Ira.

Bocco
11-17-2007, 10:51 AM
Woeful free throw shooting demonstrated in the last game is not repeated. This is an area the team has to improve, there will be games this season that making free throws will determine whether or not we win.
Also I expect to see a continuation of the tight pressure defense the team has shown the first two games, this is the best thing I have seen about this years team, and something I expect to see get even better as the season progresses.

TheZagPhish
11-17-2007, 10:54 AM
Kuso muscles everyone at the post, like a rhino clearing 'em out and finishes soft & quick. Micah hits the sweet spot for the deep three and it starts raining. Larry picks pocket throughout and posterizes two. Ira! makes a name brand dunk that sets the place ablaze.

Oh! And Foster looks scary tough for a moment, like David Banner turning into the Hulk, but then just as quickly returns to his self -- but we're all like, "Wha.....?!?"

MickMick
11-17-2007, 11:00 AM
Daye completely dominates everyone matched up with him. The media buzz is maintained. There are, after all, Californians watching this one.

VaBeachZAG
11-17-2007, 11:08 AM
If the starters and first tier players off the bench can prove to the satisfaction of the coaches in the first half that they can play the way the coaches want (not like the Idaho first half), I hope to see a lot of second half floor time for Davis and Foster. There are only a couple of "soft" games left in the out of conference schedule, lets get these guys some significant playing time while we can. What Davis and Foster need, for different reasons is playing time (time for Davis to scrape off the rust, and time for Foster to advance his development). The coaches pulled off Foster's redshirt so they must anticipate a real need for him on the floor at some point. Nothing like real game experience to help Foster develop some confidence which, in turn, should improve his game.

jpwils
11-17-2007, 11:32 AM
Sacre shows us some moves and blocks several shots.

Sacre scores 12 and collects 8 rebounds.

LG continues to be a terror on defense and comes out of nowhere,
after making a steal and giving up the rock to finish as the trailer tomahawk-style.

Bouldin has another solid performance...Downs leads team in scoring tonite with 22.

BilboZaggins
11-17-2007, 11:35 AM
Few benches him for show boating and we lose by 30.

RenoZag
11-17-2007, 12:17 PM
Zags win by a bunch and NO BODY has any aches, pains, strains, or strains to show for it. . .UCR is cannon fodder and the Zags need to put 'em away early, stomp on their necks like free range chickens, and chalk up another "W" in the ledger. . .

I'll get to watch the first hour and 15 min of the 5 pm telecast, then have to go out to dinner. Happily, there's a rebroadcast at 10pm tonight so I can watch the parts I miss. . .

ZagsGoZags
11-17-2007, 12:24 PM
Matt continues to stand rather than move when the ball is whipped around and finally passed to him. He never has a plan of what to do by the time the ball reaches him, unlike Daye, Morrison, and getting-to-be Pargo
Matt continues to drive to the basket for a layin and get the ball swatted away half the time
Matt will put up a couple of obligatory bricks
Pargo will do everything with excellence except toss up his couple of quota bricks
Theo will get more playing time and do a fine, but not excellent job, justifying Few's tendency to put him in after Sacre, Daye, Downs, Kuso, and Pendo
Sacre will continue to show slow, steady improvement, like the TGF just starting to leave the train station
Daye will continue to surprise by showing again he does understand, at least part-way, the Gonzaga philosophy of pass the ball around, work the ball in, take the good shot
Pendo will give 110% and be the wonderful, not great, player that he is
Micah Downs I am not sure
Kuso will give 110% and be the wonderful, not great, player he is
LG will keep doing what he has always done with PT, earn and deserve his reputation as the new Errol Knight - get the usual steals, great defense, and a surprising number of points for being a defensive specialist
IF STEPHEN GRAY was here, get lots of feeds, make lots of shots at a reasonable percentage, and be the one making points when the rest of the team has lost momentum - he is our first player since Adam who never loses confidence in his shooting ability - why? because he is a natural born GUN

KSTATEZAG
11-17-2007, 12:30 PM
Matt continues to stand rather than move when the ball is whipped around and finally passed to him. He never has a plan of what to do by the time the ball reaches him, unlike Daye, Morrison, and getting-to-be Pargo
Matt continues to drive to the basket for a layin and get the ball swatted away half the time
Matt will put up a couple of obligatory bricks
Pargo will do everything with excellence except toss up his couple of quota bricks
Theo will get more playing time and do a fine, but not excellent job, justifying Few's tendency to put him in after Sacre, Daye, Downs, Kuso, and Pendo
Sacre will continue to show slow, steady improvement, like the TGF just starting to leave the train station
Daye will continue to surprise by showing again he does understand, at least part-way, the Gonzaga philosophy of pass the ball around, work the ball in, take the good shot
Pendo will give 110% and be the wonderful, not great, player that he is
Micah Downs I am not sure
Kuso will give 110% and be the wonderful, not great, player he is
LG will keep doing what he has always done with PT, earn and deserve his reputation as the new Errol Knight - get the usual steals, great defense, and a surprising number of points for being a defensive specialist
IF STEPHEN GRAY was here, get lots of feeds, make lots of shots at a reasonable percentage, and be the one making points when the rest of the team has lost momentum - he is our first player since Adam who never loses confidence in his shooting ability - why? because he is a natural born GUN

Who is this?
National Perspective?
You reach I teach?
cbbfanatic?
Take off the mask.

Nevtelen
11-17-2007, 12:37 PM
Matt continues to stand rather than move when the ball is whipped around and finally passed to him. He never has a plan of what to do by the time the ball reaches him, unlike Daye, Morrison, and getting-to-be Pargo
Matt continues to drive to the basket for a layin and get the ball swatted away half the time
Matt will put up a couple of obligatory bricks

That is a little unjusifiably grumpy - Matt's doing fine this season so far: he's kept the fouls down a lot better, hit better than 50% of his shots (9-16) and, except for a forgettable half where the whole team was out of synch against Idaho, been quite solid overall, I think. Why knock the guy?

BTW, all done on a bum ankle, too. Not shabby at all.

gamagin
11-17-2007, 12:48 PM
so far.

what I've been seeing & enjoying is the growth of a really deep team. even at that there have been many (3-4 players) per game getting double digits. Meaning the scoring, as well as the hustle and shooting and stealing and passing is fairly evenly spread around, too.

This is great news. It may not make a good poster, but it just could advance us further into the NCAA's than we have ever been before. And that is what I want to see.

There really are no loose parts to this team. There are alot of spare parts which appear to be close to as good as some of the originals. Some, one day will likely be better.

But there are no guarantees. There is a lot of promise. And all this with our supposedly best player on the bench.

amazing.

I expect a fairly easy win today. I also expect to see everyone not on the red cross squad to get some p.t.

It will be fun.

ZagMania
11-17-2007, 01:02 PM
Micah Downs I am not sure

For some reason I find this line hilarious considering the others grouped around it.

ZagsGoZags
11-17-2007, 01:42 PM
Some of you scrambled to Matt's defense as an overall great player. I agree with that. But what about those specific analyses? If Matt had quicker reflexes, and quick defenders couldn't tie him up and take the ball from him, and he addressed those other problems I mentioned, don't you think he could walk into the NBA like an inevitability?

I'm not knocking him overall, I would like to know what you think of those faults of his play that I mentioned.

zag67
11-17-2007, 02:09 PM
I would say zagsgozags that you are too critical of Matt and the rest. I think that if you take a step back and REMEMBER that Matt is only in is second game as a soph, then you should not hit all of the negatives and none of the positives. He has probably done better than all but about 3 freshmen during the last 10 years (that is a lot of players). He is as good a passer as there is and his vision is super (especially when he is bringing the ball up the court). Many of his turnovers last year were either trying to fit in a pass (not recognizing how fast the players are at this level) or on an offensive foul. As his career goes on, I think you will also see his shooting improving along with the rest of his game.

I personally think he, Jeremy, Pendo, and Micah are doing a great job in getting the younger players involved in the offense. I think that they are all passing up shots (at times) to make sure that they work the offense enough to help them learn what they are going to need later on. Our offense (and defense) are not easy to learn and using it in games is the only way you ever get to the point where you then start creating off the basics. As the season goes on I think you will see some unbelievalbe plays. Now I will get off my high horse. Thanks.

GPGUgrad
11-17-2007, 02:11 PM
Matt, is just a sophomore. In my opinion he is doing a GREAT job, and the guy is pretty good and tough, you can tell that he has great court vision and can pass.

What I would like to see in tonight's game: KEEP PLAYING THAT "DEFENSE" we saw last game. That, defense will assure us a spot at the Final Four!

Go Zags!!!

Reborn
11-17-2007, 02:49 PM
Pargo The Pogo, jumps on top of the backboard tonight and stands up there peering out over Zagdom in K2 with lifted arms. This play too, will make #1 on ESPN tonight because he actually throws the ball through the hoop as he just keeps ascending. The ESPN announcers finally mention Gonzaga as a possible contender as the hype surrounding Pargo now completely overwhelms them too.


I just got a nice personal message from a friend of mine who indicated that he felt I was a little bit too serious for chatting on the Foo link. So I say fooey!:D

Here's evidence that I have not lost all of my craziness!!!

Reborn
11-17-2007, 02:57 PM
On a more serious note (yes my heart rate now is ten drum beats over 65 ..and there's just about an hour left before game). I am soooooo pumped for this game tonight. I found out that I'll be able to watch it on cable on 403 I think. I was actually looking for the St.Joes Syracuse game time when I found GU's.

Ira Brown coming out party...Yes. Micah's hand continues to get worse as he misses three straight 3 pt shots. Ira comes in and does a tomahawk jam while turning a summersault in the air. He has 3 steals, takes two charges against the enemy, and hits 2 three's. Fans are ecstatic as Zag depth continues to get deeper. Dick Vitale seems to have awakened from some kind of nasty off-season slumber party. For once he almost makes sense as he gives recognition to the fact that Gonzaga a factor in the '07-'08 season.

DoggieDogpound
11-17-2007, 03:35 PM
That is a little unjusifiably grumpy - Matt's doing fine this season so far: he's kept the fouls down a lot better, hit better than 50% of his shots (9-16) and, except for a forgettable half where the whole team was out of synch against Idaho, been quite solid overall, I think. Why knock the guy?

BTW, all done on a bum ankle, too. Not shabby at all.

I agree that Matt has played well so far - some of his TO's were good passes that new guys (I remember one to Sacre) didn't handle.

ZagsGoZags
11-17-2007, 07:16 PM
and almost as good at PG as Pargo. They both threw up their quota of bricks tonight, but they are best on the team with all the intangibles, except for possibly Austin.
Matt did go in for a layup, got the ball checked, but it was a foul. Go zags. He also didn't hold the ball much tonight when receiving a pass. I watched him carefully tonight, since everyone disagrees with me so much, and I must confess he is a fabulous player.
I am so happy about our team, and its potential, and Matt, and esp. Austin I ought to go party, but I have to do schoolwork instead.