PDA

View Full Version : Future Opponents 2019



Zagdawg
06-10-2019, 11:19 AM
Jon Rothstein

Verified account

@JonRothstein
58s59 seconds ago
More
Sources: Wisconsin will play St. Mary's in a neutral site game next season at the Sioux Falls Pentagon in South Dakota.

sittingon50
06-10-2019, 11:25 AM
Good for them! Great opportunity for a meaningful win.

TexasZagFan
06-10-2019, 12:19 PM
I applaud both programs, Wisconsin has less to gain in this instance.

Great job by SMC in landing this game.

zagamatic
06-10-2019, 02:29 PM
Wait. ..........SMC is leaving California for a non conference game? That's just crazy talk!

NotoriousZ
06-10-2019, 05:25 PM
Jon Rothstein

Verified account

@JonRothstein
58s59 seconds ago
More
Sources: Wisconsin will play St. Mary's in a neutral site game next season at the Sioux Falls Pentagon in South Dakota.

In related news, former SMC player Omar Samhan was awarded “Employee of the Month” at a Soiux Falls Burger King. Said Samhan, “Now I’m washing lettuce. Pretty soon I’ll be on fries. In a couple years I’ll make assistant manager, and that’s when the big bucks start rolling in.”

TexasZagFan
06-10-2019, 05:29 PM
In related news, former SMC legend Omar Samhan was awarded “Employee of the Month” at a Soiux Falls Burger King. Said Samhan, “Now I’m washing lettuce. Pretty soon I’ll be on fries. In a couple years I’ll make assistant manager, and that’s when the big bucks start rolling in.”

For a second there, I thought Old Man McDowell was opening a franchise in Sioux Falls. They’ll accept US and Zamunda currency in addition to plastic.

CDC84
06-10-2019, 05:44 PM
Sioux Falls the past couple of seasons has hosted games featuring some marquee opponents. Kind of interesting. Good for the people of Sioux Falls. The games must be well attended and supported. I know that arena is decent sized.

I'd love to see a couple of teams face off against each other at the Fargo Dome!

Nevada Don
06-10-2019, 08:06 PM
For a second there, I thought Old Man McDowell was opening a franchise in Sioux Falls. They’ll accept US and Zamunda currency in addition to plastic.

However, Omar is taking a leave of absence to play in that 3 man contest. Only then will he get back to South Dakota and into the fries assignment.

NotoriousZ
06-10-2019, 08:45 PM
Sorry Don, hope you know I respect you guys. Hope you do well this year (except against us of course). Ham Sammich will receive no such niceties however...

Nevada Don
06-11-2019, 03:12 AM
Just fyi Gaels got a good one tonight in Cincinnati PG transfer Logan Johnson, sit one, play three.

bartruff1
06-11-2019, 07:57 AM
You cannot swing a dead cat by the tail in Moraga without hitting a D1 basketball program so there is very little need to travel out of that area to get a game with local interest ….their success is remarkable for a mid major program....

Zagdawg
06-11-2019, 09:17 AM
Jon Rothstein

Verified account

@JonRothstein
3m3 minutes ago
More
Source: Fresno State will play Saint Mary's in a neutral site game in Sacramento on November 20th.

zagnut2012
06-11-2019, 09:28 AM
In related news, former SMC player Omar Samhan was awarded “Employee of the Month” at a Soiux Falls Burger King. Said Samhan, “Now I’m washing lettuce. Pretty soon I’ll be on fries. In a couple years I’ll make assistant manager, and that’s when the big bucks start rolling in.”

When he passes "The Art of the Ham Sandwich" course HS-201 I will then be impressed. In the mean time the cook needs more lettuce. Chop Chop....:lmao:

LongIslandZagFan
06-11-2019, 09:33 AM
However, Omar is taking a leave of absence to play in that 3 man contest. Only then will he get back to South Dakota and into the fries assignment.

Respect the heck out of SMC... but Omar... sorry... can't give him an ounce of it.

Zagdawg
06-11-2019, 11:01 AM
https://smcgaels.com/news/2019/6/11/mens-basketball-mbb-gaels-to-open-season-versus-wisconsin-in-sioux-falls.aspx

sittingon50
06-11-2019, 12:18 PM
Just fyi Gaels got a good one tonight in Cincinnati PG transfer Logan Johnson, sit one, play three.


Is he local, ND?

Do you know if Cronin didn't have room for him @UCLA?

Nevada Don
06-11-2019, 06:47 PM
Is he local, ND?

Do you know if Cronin didn't have room for him @UCLA?

Yes he is local. St. Francis HS in the Bay Area. Recruited by SMC out of HS. Brother, Tyler, is with the Suns out of Fresno State. I guess has a 50 mil contract. Apparently a defense specialist.

Don't know why not following Cronin to UCLA. All reports Cronin liked him a lot.

Also, Gaels do play Fresno State in Sacramento I think at the Kings Arena, Golden 1 Center.

Gaels will also play at NEW home of the SF Warriors, Chase Center in a one day 8 team event. Gaels will play Nevada.

Edit:
SMC Schedule compliments of MBAGAEL

Confirmed:
11/5 Wisconsin (20) in South Dakota neutral
11/14 Long Beach State University (238)
11/20 Fresno State (82) neutral Golden 1 Center
12/21 Nevada (27) neutral @ Chase Center

at CAL (225)
at ASU (62)



Sorry to talk too much.

Zagdawg
06-12-2019, 01:30 PM
Some good games planned for the upcoming season -- it is great to see.

CDC84
06-13-2019, 05:57 PM
Jon Rothstein

Verified account

@JonRothstein
3m3 minutes ago
More
Source: Fresno State will play Saint Mary's in a neutral site game in Sacramento on November 20th.

It is to my understanding that the new arena in Sacramento may never hold a NBA All Star game. Apparently there are less hotels within a certain radius of the arena than any pro sports facility that seats 17,000 or more in the United States of America.

If the radio host who said this is correct, well, that wasn't good planning by the city of Sacramento.

Zagdawg
06-18-2019, 07:13 AM
Jon Rothstein

Verified account

@JonRothstein
1h1 hour ago
More
Sources: Arizona State will play Saint Mary's next season in a neutral site game in Phoenix.

Zagdawg
06-19-2019, 10:50 AM
Jon Rothstein

Verified account

@JonRothstein
5m5 minutes ago
More
Sources: Arizona commit Terry Armstrong is bypassing college to play professionally in the G League or overseas. Top-50 player in the 2019 class.

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Terry-Armstrong-Bypassing-College-Professional-Options-Four-star-recruit-Arizona-132950451/

http://www.espn.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/player/news/_/id/224178/terry-armstrong

GonzagasaurusFlex
06-19-2019, 11:22 AM
Jon Rothstein

Verified account

@JonRothstein
5m5 minutes ago
More
Sources: Arizona commit Terry Armstrong is bypassing college to play professionally in the G League or overseas. Top-50 player in the 2019 class.

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Terry-Armstrong-Bypassing-College-Professional-Options-Four-star-recruit-Arizona-132950451/

http://www.espn.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/player/news/_/id/224178/terry-armstrong

This path is trending upward. NCAA is looking at diluted product unless they revise arcane eligibility rules. Let them play and receive pay!

Zagdawg
06-24-2019, 09:01 AM
Arizona bench guard moving on.

Alex Barcello

Verified account

@AlexBarcello23
Follow Follow @AlexBarcello23
More
I want to say Thank You to the University of Arizona and the fans for these past two amazing years but I have decided it’s in my best interest to move in a direction that’s best for myself and my family.

https://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/player/_/id/4278130

Darreno
06-24-2019, 09:34 AM
Not much info on future GU opponents...... should rename this Bash on the Gaels scheduling

zagssuperfan
06-24-2019, 11:37 AM
This path is trending upward. NCAA is looking at diluted product unless they revise arcane eligibility rules. Let them play and receive pay!

That's two players they've lost in the last week, with Armstrong deciding to skip college. I wonder if that is a coincidence with the NCAA sanctions looming.

jazzdelmar
06-24-2019, 11:45 AM
That's two players they've lost in the last week, with Armstrong deciding to skip college. I wonder if that is a coincidence with the NCAA sanctions looming.

Barcello was a major fail; hometown boy, local legend. No loss. Seannie probably has a couple of five stars waiting to jump in Armstrong’s spot.

Bogozags
06-24-2019, 12:40 PM
This path is trending upward. NCAA is looking at diluted product unless they revise arcane eligibility rules. Let them play and receive pay!

Flex, didn't the NCAA already authorize schools to give athletes money each year? I thought it was a max of $5k...and isn't GU was also paying their men's and women's teams?

It is amazing to me how the NBA and it's union prevent kids from entering the draft but these same kids can, with their parents permission, enlist in the military at 17!

CB4
06-25-2019, 02:44 PM
Anyone know when we're going to see the rest of the non-conference games on the schedule? Anything big in the pipeline?

Nevada Don
06-25-2019, 05:58 PM
SMC appears to be having fewer home games 2019/2020 in lieu of MULTIPLE Neutral games in high profile venues against decent teams. Warriors new Chase arena (Nevada) in SF, the Kings home in Sacramento, Golden One Center (Fresno State), Wisconsin to be played in South Dakota at the Pentagon or whatever it's called, two different games in the Phoenix Suns arena against ASU and Dayton and perhaps a game in LA.
Seems like this is the alternative to teams not wanting to play on certain home courts (McKeon).
Long Beach State will be a home game in McKeon.

Also:
2020 Diamond Head Classic
2021 Maui Invitational


This article says the same thing about the problem Dayton is facing in getting teams to play them on their home court, which isn't a "bandbox" like Moraga.


https://www.daytondailynews.com/sports/for-dayton-flyers-men-basketball-scheduling-more-difficult-than-ever/gExLO8HP4UmgM8PMgQuHjK/

soccerdud
06-25-2019, 06:38 PM
SMC appears to be having fewer home games 2019/2020 in lieu of MULTIPLE Neutral games in high profile venues against decent teams. Warriors new Chase arena (Nevada) in SF, the Kings home in Sacramento, Golden One Center (Fresno State), Wisconsin to be played in South Dakota at the Pentagon or whatever it's called, two different games in the Phoenix Suns arena against ASU and Dayton and perhaps a game in LA.
Seems like this is the alternative to teams not wanting to play on certain home courts (McKeon).
Long Beach State will be a home game in McKeon.

Also:
2020 Diamond Head Classic
2021 Maui Invitational


This article says the same thing about the problem Dayton is facing in getting teams to play them on their home court, which isn't a "bandbox" like Moraga.


https://www.daytondailynews.com/sports/for-dayton-flyers-men-basketball-scheduling-more-difficult-than-ever/gExLO8HP4UmgM8PMgQuHjK/

that may explain why randy seemed so resistant to improving the schedule. i'll admit, it sure looks like i underestimated the cost of doing so.

Zagdawg
07-09-2019, 03:32 PM
Jon Rothstein

Verified account

@JonRothstein
43s44 seconds ago
More
Saint Mary's Randy Bennett has hired former Gaels guard Mickey McConnell as an assistant coach, per release.

Zagdawg
07-12-2019, 09:17 AM
Jon Rothstein

Verified account

@JonRothstein
2m2 minutes ago
More
Sources: Saint Mary's and Utah State will begin a home-and-home series next season in Moraga. Return game in Logan in 20-21.

CB4
07-12-2019, 09:41 AM
Any idea when we'll start to hear when the rest of the zags schedule will be set?

bdmiller7
07-12-2019, 12:53 PM
Jon Rothstein

Verified account

@JonRothstein
2m2 minutes ago
More
Sources: Saint Mary's and Utah State will begin a home-and-home series next season in Moraga. Return game in Logan in 20-21.

I think SMC and BYU have both really stepped up non-con scheduling this year. Hopefully they can win a bunch and the WCC can get 3 teams in the tourney.

Nevada Don
07-12-2019, 03:22 PM
From MBAGAEL GIAG.

SMC schedule as best we know. Understand schedule has been finalized but not fully released.

Updated @saintmaryshoops known schedule:

11/5 vs. Wisconsin (Sioux Falls)
TBD Utah State
11/14 Long Beach St.
11/20 vs. Fresno St. (Sacramento)
TBD St. Mary's MTE Event
TBD Game 2
12/8 vs. Dayton (PHX)
12/14 at Cal
12/18 vs. ASU (PHX)
12/21 vs. Nevada (SF)#WCCHoops#SaintMarys


10:25 AM - Jul 12, 2019

DixieZag
07-12-2019, 06:38 PM
From MBAGAEL GIAG.

SMC schedule as best we know. Understand schedule has been finalized but not fully released.

Updated @saintmaryshoops known schedule:

11/5 vs. Wisconsin (Sioux Falls)
TBD Utah State
11/14 Long Beach St.
11/20 vs. Fresno St. (Sacramento)
TBD St. Mary's MTE Event
TBD Game 2
12/8 vs. Dayton (PHX)
12/14 at Cal
12/18 vs. ASU (PHX)
12/21 vs. Nevada (SF)#WCCHoops#SaintMarys


10:25 AM - Jul 12, 2019

Pretty impressive.

Bogozags
07-12-2019, 07:21 PM
From MBAGAEL GIAG.

SMC schedule as best we know. Understand schedule has been finalized but not fully released.

Updated @saintmaryshoops known schedule:

11/5 vs. Wisconsin (Sioux Falls)
TBD Utah State
11/14 Long Beach St.
11/20 vs. Fresno St. (Sacramento)
TBD St. Mary's MTE Event
TBD Game 2
12/8 vs. Dayton (PHX)
12/14 at Cal
12/18 vs. ASU (PHX)
12/21 vs. Nevada (SF)#WCCHoops#SaintMarys


10:25 AM - Jul 12, 2019


With the players he has returning, no reason he can’t win all those games giving WCC two teams in the top 15...

kyle dixon
07-12-2019, 08:19 PM
Utah State is gonna be good, I think that Wisconsin lost their perry Ellis/pendo/frankamp/grant Gibbs big. That Wisconsin big was there for 20 years it seemed! Cool to see randy challenging his team. The Gaels will be good!

GuZag2012
07-12-2019, 09:00 PM
Utah State is gonna be good, I think that Wisconsin lost their perry Ellis/pendo/frankamp/grant Gibbs big. That Wisconsin big was there for 20 years it seemed! Cool to see randy challenging his team. The Gaels will be good!

Yes Wisconsin graduated Ethan Happ who I agree seemed like he was around forever, but they should still be solid. Utah State should be tough with Sam Merrill & Neemias Queta back. It’s good to see St. Mary’s be more aggressive with their non-conference schedule this year.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ZAG 4 LIFE
07-12-2019, 09:15 PM
Cal is the only true road game... 13-14 miles from Moraga.

sittingon50
07-12-2019, 09:55 PM
Cal is the only true road game... 13-14 miles from Moraga.


Syracuse playbook?

Zagdawg
07-13-2019, 11:35 AM
Jon Rothstein

Verified account

@JonRothstein
Following Following @JonRothstein
More
UNLV grad transfer Shakur Juiston has committed to Oregon, per his Instagram page. Immediately eligible. Huge pickup for the Ducks.


https://www.oregonlive.com/ducks/2019/07/shakur-juiston-nations-no-3-immediately-eligible-transfer-commits-to-oregon-ducks.html

Goshzagit
07-14-2019, 12:28 PM
Jon Rothstein

Verified account

@JonRothstein
Following Following @JonRothstein
More
UNLV grad transfer Shakur Juiston has committed to Oregon, per his Instagram page. Immediately eligible. Huge pickup for the Ducks.


https://www.oregonlive.com/ducks/2019/07/shakur-juiston-nations-no-3-immediately-eligible-transfer-commits-to-oregon-ducks.html

The closest player to Brandon Clarke I've seen.

Huge get. Underrated player. Will have an instant impact on their team.

A nice replacement for Kenny Wooten, and actually more polished/dynamic on offense

Nevada Don
07-15-2019, 12:58 PM
Posted by mjgogaels on GIAG

THE RIVALRY

https://youtu.be/6AUMLcKXj7U

Zag_Dad
07-15-2019, 10:31 PM
Posted by mjgogaels on GIAG

THE RIVALRY

https://youtu.be/6AUMLcKXj7U

I enjoy the rivalry, but c’mon... SMC wins what an average 2 out of 10 games against GU? I’m too lazy to look it up but I can’t be too far off on that.
To be fair, I think the Gaels are a good program and will likely be the team to beat in conference next year. I just don’t put them at the same level as Gonzaga over the past two decades. Consistently finishing second to GU doesn't make them as good as GU.

Nevada Don
07-18-2019, 01:48 PM
I enjoy the rivalry, but c’mon... SMC wins what an average 2 out of 10 games against GU? I’m too lazy to look it up but I can’t be too far off on that.
To be fair, I think the Gaels are a good program and will likely be the team to beat in conference next year. I just don’t put them at the same level as Gonzaga over the past two decades. Consistently finishing second to GU doesn't make them as good as GU.

Will keep my eyes open for the next time I see one of the following headlines:

The Rivalry

Gonzaga versus Duke
Gonzaga versus North Carolina
Gonzaga versus Kentucky

I get your point but we are rivals, albeit not to the level the article writer would have preferred to make his story more believable. ;)

Bogozags
07-18-2019, 03:08 PM
Will keep my eyes open for the next time I see one of the following headlines:

The Rivalry

Gonzaga versus Duke
Gonzaga versus North Carolina
Gonzaga versus Kentucky

I get your point but we are rivals, albeit not to the level the article writer would have preferred to make his story more believable. ;)

SMC is our rival in the WCC and UW is our overall rival...imo

One would have thought that WSU, with it's close proximity to GU, would have been our natural rival but we don't even play them anymore...I'm aware of why we don't play them...

maynard g krebs
07-18-2019, 03:18 PM
One would have thought that WSU, with it's close proximity to GU, would have been our natural rival but we don't even play them anymore...I'm aware of why we don't play them...


Eastern is closer than WSU, if that was the primary criterion.

bartruff1
07-18-2019, 03:21 PM
I would rather see Gonzaga beat BYU than any other WCC team.....the Gaels are usually better than BYU but I don't consider them a rival...

BYU wins in the Kennel ….now that pisses me off.....I never get mad at the Gaels, they are like a little brother.... :D

You can't get mad at a little brother.

gonstu
07-19-2019, 11:35 AM
Will keep my eyes open for the next time I see one of the following headlines:

The Rivalry

Gonzaga versus Duke
Gonzaga versus North Carolina
Gonzaga versus Kentucky

I get your point but we are rivals, albeit not to the level the article writer would have preferred to make his story more believable. ;)

Could be wrong but doubt many on this board would call those true rivalries.

KStyles
07-19-2019, 07:22 PM
Could be wrong but doubt many on this board would call those true rivalries.

...that was his point

GoZags
07-20-2019, 07:18 AM
Will keep my eyes open for the next time I see one of the following headlines:

The Rivalry

Gonzaga versus Duke
Gonzaga versus North Carolina
Gonzaga versus Kentucky


Perhaps those guys don't consider Gonzaga their Rival. They DO consider Gonzaga as their "peer". BTW the basketball world (including the press) concur.

FWIW here's a lift from Kentucky's board ... using their data/ESPN formula to rank Gonzaga #6 over the last decade. FWIW I ran the numbers last week (out of town now and don't have the backup with me) but using this formula Gonzaga is #4 over the last half-decade.... behind only Duke, UNC and Villanova.

https://kentucky.forums.rivals.com/threads/using-espn-system-for-ranking-teams-uk-is-1-ncaat-program-of-2010-19-decade.298703/#post-8043485

.dlh331
dlh331
Junior
Gold Member
Joined:Jan 4, 2003
Messages:3,623
Likes Received:2,214
I despise ESPN but several years ago they did implement a "system" to objectively rank the success of programs over a period of time. They awarded:

3 points for a 1 seed
1 point for each NCAAT appearance
2 points for a round of 32 exit/loss
5 points for a Sweet 16 loss
10 points for Elite 8 loss
15 points for Final 4 loss
20 points for Title game loss
25 points for NCAA Title

The top 15 programs for 2010-19 were:
1. Kentucky 130 points
2. Duke 114
3. Kansas 106
4. UNC 102
5. Michigan State 82
6. Gonzaga 79
7. Villanova 78
8. Michigan 72
9. Syracuse 71
10. Florida 70
11. Wisconsin 69
12. Butler 60
13. UConn 56
14. Ohio State 47
15. Wichita State 37

Reborn
07-21-2019, 08:30 AM
Really great job GoZags. I really like the work you did here. Thanks.

Go Zags!!!

MDABE80
07-21-2019, 11:17 AM
Even more amazing is that GZ remembered where to go to find this data! Congrats GZ, your brain still works! lol

Zagdawg
07-23-2019, 10:18 AM
Jon Rothstein
@JonRothstein
BYU's Nick Emery has announced his retirement, per his Twitter page.

https://www.sltrib.com/sports/byu-cougars/2019/07/23/byus-nick-emery-announces/

CB4
07-23-2019, 06:02 PM
There are like 5 or 6 games that need to be scheduled next year. Anyone have any insight? A few cupcakes will be in there but usually there are a few other intriguing games added.

Zagdawg
07-25-2019, 01:04 PM
12 predictions for 12 new men's basketball coaches this 2019-20 season

3. Mark Pope, BYU: Dave Rose could have taken this team to the NCAA tournament this season. But he decided to make a change and retire. The school jumped at hiring Pope and there is a renewed sense of energy in the program. The return of Yoeli Childs and TJ Haws gives the Cougars a 1-2 punch that should keep BYU on the heels of Gonzaga and Saint Mary’s (don’t sleep on Pepperdine, either). If BYU can take care of some key non-conference games then the Cougars should be in the tournament.



https://www.ncaa.com/news/basketball-men/article/2019-07-23/12-predictions-12-new-mens-basketball-coaches-2019-20-season

bartruff1
07-25-2019, 01:23 PM
Sure...and the WCC will get three bids to the NCAA Tournament..... including both of the at large bids..... so generously given to the mid majors...If BYU wants to dance it will have to win the WCC Tournament and get the automatic....

Bogozags
07-25-2019, 04:05 PM
Sure...and the WCC will get three bids to the NCAA Tournament..... including both of the at large bids..... so generously given to the mid majors...If BYU wants to dance it will have to win the WCC Tournament and get the automatic....

I think BYU making the Dance as an At Large is possible...they play a decent OOC schedule and if Pope can get them playing defence (which Rose for some reason couldn't) then they will be a strong team...

SMC will be strong and IF Pepperdine can stay injury free this coming season, then they will be in the mix as well...

GU will have the best talent but the jury is still deliberating; hopefully, a verdict will avail itself after the BOA...

maynard g krebs
07-25-2019, 04:49 PM
I thought Pepp would be pretty good, but that site that counts down the top 144 has them at 117, and the roster shows no Sam Cunliffe or MJ Cage, two of their three high major transfers who I thought were going to play this year.

SMC is in every top 25 I've seen; barring injury they should be a lock for the tourney, experienced and deep with a couple of stars.

BYU, who knows, but Childs is a guy who can carry a team. If Pope can get them to buy in on D, there's a chance they'll be good enough to make the tourney.

Getting a third, of course, depends on the middle and lower tiers of the conference winning most of their nonconf games so conf strength of sched looks good on paper.

Bogozags
07-25-2019, 05:54 PM
I thought Pepp would be pretty good, but that site that counts down the top 144 has them at 117, and the roster shows no Sam Cunliffe or MJ Cage, two of their three high major transfers who I thought were going to play this year.

SMC is in every top 25 I've seen; barring injury they should be a lock for the tourney, experienced and deep with a couple of stars.

BYU, who knows, but Childs is a guy who can carry a team. If Pope can get them to buy in on D, there's a chance they'll be good enough to make the tourney.

Getting a third, of course, depends on the middle and lower tiers of the conference winning most of their nonconf games so conf strength of sched looks good on paper.


I see Cage on the roster but not Cunliffe

maynard g krebs
07-25-2019, 06:03 PM
I see Cage on the roster but not Cunliffe

I'm going by the school's official site. ESPN does have him on the roster, but I'm assuming the school's roster is more accurate.

Bogozags
07-26-2019, 07:52 AM
I'm going by the school's official site. ESPN does have him on the roster, but I'm assuming the school's roster is more accurate.

Yes, I agree...Cunliffe - three schools in four years...I wonder if there is a problem: attitude or skill with this young man...I remember seeing the special on him in high school and thought he was going to be a star...

DagsZags
07-26-2019, 08:23 AM
I see Cage on the roster but not Cunliffe

Sam Cunliffe visited Pepperdine when he was transferring from Kansas, but ended up committing to the University of Evansville:

https://www.courierpress.com/story/sports/college/evansville/2018/12/24/sam-cunliffe-biding-his-time-waiting-shine-court-evansville/2377678002/

Zagdawg
07-26-2019, 10:05 AM
Just because.......

Shaqtin' a Fool
@shaqtin
#TBT to Delly's excellent close-out defense ... on the ref.


https://twitter.com/shaqtin/status/1154459373860806656

Nevada Don
07-29-2019, 04:17 PM
Not sure if posted already. Taken from Cougael on GIAG. An interview with RB by a GU grad student.

https://www.slipperstillfits.com/2019/7 ... dy-bennett
might be a bad link but if you can resurrect, it's a decent interview. Sorry.

Rangerzag
07-29-2019, 06:51 PM
Try this:

https://www.slipperstillfits.com/2019/7/29/8888693/chatting-with-saint-marys-head-coach-randy-bennett




Courtesy of cougael:

https://www.tapatalk.com/groups/godisagael/chatting-with-randy-t8625.html

Nevada Don
07-29-2019, 07:45 PM
Thanks Rangerzag

Bogozags
07-30-2019, 03:01 AM
Thanks Rangerzag

+1

Pretty insightful imo

bdmiller7
08-01-2019, 06:06 PM
Couple BYU notes today, probably won't matter for 19-20.

Former top 100 recruit pg Alex Barcello is transferring from Arizona to BYU.

Top 50 2020 recruit Mady Sissoko broke his hand on a recruiting visit at BYU in an ATV accident. He is originally from Mali but plays at Wasatch Academy in Utah. I had heard GU had some interest in him.

Kiddwell
08-01-2019, 06:44 PM
Sorry to read about Mady's ATV accident. Hope it's only a minor break. Regarding Alex Barcello:

http://www.espn.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/player/_/id/198175/alex-barcello


:]

seacatfan
08-01-2019, 06:55 PM
Is nobody else going to ask how/why he had an ATV accident on a recruiting visit? Hello, liability? What the hell.

bdmiller7
08-01-2019, 07:26 PM
Sounds like a current BYU player not being named was driving. Also read were Mady had surgery and may miss his senior year.

RenoZag
08-01-2019, 10:24 PM
Is nobody else going to ask how/why he had an ATV accident on a recruiting visit? Hello, liability? What the hell.

It’s BYU. No one cares


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DixieZag
08-02-2019, 06:47 AM
It’s BYU. No one cares


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm sure people hope the kid is okay, no one wants him to miss his senior year.

Yes, as to BYU's possible economic liability. They can more than cover the costs/damages. Richest school in the conference by a longshot.

GonzaGAW
08-03-2019, 12:13 PM
I'm confused the thread title is future opponents 2019, yet all the comments seem to be about wcc members and who they are going to play.....which is fine, but I kinda thought the thread was to be about who Gonzaga plays this up coming season?

- anyway, 4 days ago the slipper passed along that for the 3rd year in a row texas southern is coming to the kennel, this year on dec. 4, 2019.
- as in the past they have one of the toughest o.o.c. schedules. they often win only 1, 2 or 3 games in o.o.c. then do quite well in their league conference.
- I know they are a 'directional' school, but they do not seen to be a negative drag on seeding matrix's..........I suspect that is why coach few is fine with having them on his schedule, now 3 years in a row.

DixieZag
08-03-2019, 01:43 PM
I'm confused the thread title is future opponents 2019, yet all the comments seem to be about wcc members and who they are going to play.....which is fine, but I kinda thought the thread was to be about who Gonzaga plays this up coming season?

- anyway, 4 days ago the slipper passed along that for the 3rd year in a row texas southern is coming to the kennel, this year on dec. 4, 2019.
- as in the past they have one of the toughest o.o.c. schedules. they often win only 1, 2 or 3 games in o.o.c. then do quite well in their league conference.
- I know they are a 'directional' school, but they do not seen to be a negative drag on seeding matrix's..........I suspect that is why coach few is fine with having them on his schedule, now 3 years in a row.

They are an extremely high character program with the thankless job of playing punching bag for big ones all pre-conference.

I suspect Few admires and respects the program itself.

I also know that Spokane and GU treat the players extremely well, Davenport reservations, all that. It might be a treat for Tex. Southern. They're going to get beat anyway. Unless you're Michigan State a few years ago.

We need to have some games like this, might as well get kids you like playing them.

bartruff1
08-03-2019, 02:41 PM
I like Texas Southern....they are entertaining and I think they make the NCAA quite often.....but I can hear Incarnate Word approaching on their way to WSU....

GonzaGAW
08-03-2019, 03:07 PM
- texas southern surprised some big boys last year, beating Oregon, Baylor and texas a&m.
- they lose their top 3 scorers from last years squad, that we beat by nearly 40 points.

- I hope we can pass on incarnate word..........now grand canyon is up and coming and anxious for exposure, I'd bet they'd leap at a chance to come to Spokane. just saying I'd rather we play gcu than i.w.

TexasZagFan
08-03-2019, 03:28 PM
They are an extremely high character program with the thankless job of playing punching bag for big ones all pre-conference.

I suspect Few admires and respects the program itself.

I also know that Spokane and GU treat the players extremely well, Davenport reservations, all that. It might be a treat for Tex. Southern. They're going to get beat anyway. Unless you're Michigan State a few years ago.

We need to have some games like this, might as well get kids you like playing them.

Their games are also televised on the Rockets regional network, which makes it a bit easier for us in Texas.

CB4
08-03-2019, 03:37 PM
Texas Southern should put in their contracts that if they win one of these "buy games" they play that the school they beat owes them a return game at some point in the next 2-4 years. They won a handful of these games last year.

DixieZag
08-03-2019, 03:44 PM
- texas southern surprised some big boys last year, beating Oregon, Baylor and texas a&m.
- they lose their top 3 scorers from last years squad, that we beat by nearly 40 points.

- I hope we can pass on incarnate word..........now grand canyon is up and coming and anxious for exposure, I'd bet they'd leap at a chance to come to Spokane. just saying I'd rather we play gcu than i.w.

Thank you, I had forgotten entirely. That is true and impressive. Those school's budgets are enormous, and Baylor, A&M just up the road from them, so not a hard trip, that's awesome.

They deserve a game with us, we appreciate them.

Radbooks
08-08-2019, 08:47 PM
Not sure this really goes here, but I didn't want to start another thread. It's a KREM video of an interview with Kyle Smith - the new WSU coach - and how it wants to get the Cougs playing GU again.

https://www.krem.com/article/sports/ncaa/wsu/kyle-smith-prepares-for-his-first-season-in-charge-of-the-cougs/293-5f336e57-7d5d-4cdd-8b46-831df29b236b

GonzaGAW
08-09-2019, 09:07 AM
- UT Arlington, comes to kennel on 11-19-19.

- like texas southern, a team we played last year.
- like texas southern, not a bad team........i.e. ncaa net ranking of 160 last year and second place in their sun belt conference.
- of course who knows what team they bring back this year? (other than last years top scorer)

NotoriousZ
08-09-2019, 10:57 AM
Seems like we could piece together a preliminary schedule for 2019-20. I’ll try to get on that this afternoon unless someone beats me to it.

ZagNative
08-09-2019, 11:57 AM
Here's Gonzaga Guru's Schedule: https://zagsguru.wordpress.com/welcome/schedule/2019-20-gonzaga-schedule/


Seems like we could piece together a preliminary schedule for 2019-20. I’ll try to get on that this afternoon unless someone beats me to it.

GonzaGAW
08-09-2019, 12:14 PM
- that's 10 o.o.c. set thus far.
- how many more are we allowed? two or three?

- I'd sure like to see a 3rd game set prior to the battle for atlantis tournament. I think a 3rd game can only help the team work out kinks and jell together some more.
- I expect a game or two following the ewu game (12-21-19) and prior to league play, they usually have done so in the past.

maynard g krebs
08-09-2019, 12:41 PM
- that's 10 o.o.c. set thus far.
- how many more are we allowed? two or three?



With the reduction from 18 to 16 in the WCC, and the usual reg season limit of 31 if you play in a 3 game tourney, that should leave 5 more games to be scheduled, unless something has changed.

NotoriousZ
08-09-2019, 04:38 PM
Here's Gonzaga Guru's Schedule: https://zagsguru.wordpress.com/welcome/schedule/2019-20-gonzaga-schedule/

Thanks ZN, I figured somebody had done this, but I couldn’t find it on our site.

Zagdawg
08-13-2019, 11:33 AM
Oregon just got better.

Jake
@jakeweingarten
·
1h
Breaking: Oregon has landed N’Faly Dante and will reclassify to 2019, a source confirms to
@Stockrisers
. The Ducks gained traction over the past few days but was a close race with UK.

https://bleacherreport.com/articles/2840779-5-star-center-nfaly-dante-commits-to-oregon-reclassifies-for-2019-class

maynard g krebs
08-13-2019, 12:51 PM
Oregon just got better.

Jake
@jakeweingarten
·
1h
Breaking: Oregon has landed N’Faly Dante and will reclassify to 2019, a source confirms to
@Stockrisers
. The Ducks gained traction over the past few days but was a close race with UK.

https://bleacherreport.com/articles/2840779-5-star-center-nfaly-dante-commits-to-oregon-reclassifies-for-2019-class

Everyone should read Dante's letter to his mother, which is linked in the article you posted. Brought tears to my eyes. Sometimes it's good to get a reminder of how most of the world lives.

bdmiller7
08-13-2019, 01:15 PM
Everyone should read Dante's letter to his mother, which is linked in the article you posted. Brought tears to my eyes. Sometimes it's good to get a reminder of how most of the world lives.

Some great big men coming coming out of Mali. Dante, Ballo, and Sissoko are all big time talents.

Zagdawg
08-18-2019, 06:03 PM
Oregon adds another

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Addison-Patterson-Oregon-Adds-Reclassified--134558160/

sittingon50
08-18-2019, 07:28 PM
The Dukes?

Reborn
08-19-2019, 08:28 AM
A great non-conference schedule. It's going to be fun. The Zags will certainly be challenged. I have always wished the Zags could play in the Pac 12, but really do enjoy when we get to play the best teams the Pac has in non-conference games: Possibly Oregon, Arizona and the UW this year. I'm totally in favor of playing WSU. We should never have given that game up. For many, many years it was THE most important game of the year. And it's nice to see us playing Eastern Washington again. That's also a team we should be playing every year. The Zags have certainly had great battles with Eastern.

SLOZag
08-20-2019, 11:06 AM
"BYU basketball played a competitive game against an actual opponent and beat them 92-64 yesterday. No, the game doesn't count and Italian professional team BC Silute isn't exactly Gonzaga, but still, there were a lot of positive things that came from BYU's performance in their first game under new head coach Mark Pope. It's important to remember that this was the first game this group has played together, so seeing things like 31 assists as a team is hard to complain about."

Takeaways:
".. point guard TJ Haws was playing on a different level. He finished the game with 10 assists and zero turnovers. He also led BYU in scoring, shooting 7-10 from the field (5-8 from distance) for a total of 23 points."

"Haws, Jake Toolson, and Zac Seljaas combine to hit 11 three-point shots ... go[ing] 11-25, a mark good for 44%. ... [A]ll three of these players have had individual seasons where they averaged better than 40% from deep. Even just a year ago, Toolson was 45% at Utah Valley a year ago, Haws was 35% and Seljaas was 37%."

"Yoeli Childs ... finished with 16 points, eight rebounds, and five assists."

https://247sports.com/college/byu/Article/BYU-Basketball-Looked-Dangerous-Against-BC-Silute-In-Italy-134604286/

hooter73
08-20-2019, 12:35 PM
meh, we can hope.

MDABE80
08-20-2019, 02:29 PM
No worries. we got Ballo! We also have the best guard duo available. Hopefully the Suggsmeister will sign up before Christmas. Our Bigs are so profoundly talented, we'll be title contenders one year from now. Tillie gone next year but short of someone coming up with a monster season, everyone underneath should be at the campus. I cannot imagine Timme doing anything but being excellent. It's coming. This upcoming season will be a growth year.

DixieZag
08-20-2019, 03:45 PM
No worries. we got Ballo! We also have the best guard duo available. Hopefully the Suggsmeister will sign up before Christmas. Our Bigs are so profoundly talented, we'll be title contenders one year from now. Tillie gone next year but short of someone coming up with a monster season, everyone underneath should be at the campus. I cannot imagine Timme doing anything but being excellent. It's coming. This upcoming season will be a growth year.

Nice job.

And if the growth year includes a bit of a tourney run as they "mature" and play into the second weekend, it wouldn't shock me.

GonzaGAW
08-20-2019, 08:19 PM
- Oregon picks up yet another top recruit today.
- Addison Patterson, espn top 31 player, 10th best rated guard, who like the center from mali, is going to reclassify to 2019-20
- ducks honestly may have a better recruiting class than the zags, and like the zags have two good players transferring in who are immediately eligible.

- I think they will be favored to beat seton hall, and thus our likely opponent in second round of battle for atlantis.

- lots gonna be riding on that game, brother lives in Eugene and is a duck.

maynard g krebs
08-20-2019, 09:17 PM
- Oregon picks up yet another top recruit today.
- Addison Patterson, espn top 31 player, 10th best rated guard, who like the center from mali, is going to reclassify to 2019-20
- ducks honestly may have a better recruiting class than the zags, and like the zags have two good players transferring in who are immediately eligible.

- I think they will be favored to beat seton hall, and thus our likely opponent in second round of battle for atlantis.

- lots gonna be riding on that game, brother lives in Eugene and is a duck.

I hope you're right, but anyone who has followed the Ducks over the last decade knows that Altman's teams struggle a lot in November. It's Pritchard, a couple sophs who got decent minutes as freshmen, and a slew of new guys. I expect them to be pretty ragged looking offensively at that time, based on how they've looked early in past seasons. Even the final 4 team w/ NBA guys in Brooks, Dorsey, Bell , Boucher struggled early. Seton Hall probably isn't as talented, but they have a bunch of returning vets and a star in Powell, and a lot of size.

DixieZag
08-21-2019, 12:22 AM
- Oregon picks up yet another top recruit today.
- Addison Patterson, espn top 31 player, 10th best rated guard, who like the center from mali, is going to reclassify to 2019-20
- ducks honestly may have a better recruiting class than the zags, and like the zags have two good players transferring in who are immediately eligible.

- I think they will be favored to beat seton hall, and thus our likely opponent in second round of battle for atlantis.

- lots gonna be riding on that game, brother lives in Eugene and is a duck.

I'd love to see a thing about how high school kids that re-classify to in the frosh year in college end up doing.

Seems to me it would have to be a special player (and Oregon has 2) to make a huge impact. It takes a special true freshman, now you're asking someone who would've been a "true high school senior" to essentially step-up prior to the plan?

Yes, Lebron James could've done it to the NBA, but man, it seems a lot.

bdmiller7
08-21-2019, 07:37 AM
I'd love to see a thing about how high school kids that re-classify to in the frosh year in college end up doing.

Seems to me it would have to be a special player (and Oregon has 2) to make a huge impact. It takes a special true freshman, now you're asking someone who would've been a "true high school senior" to essentially step-up prior to the plan?

Yes, Lebron James could've done it to the NBA, but man, it seems a lot.

I think a lot of these kids that reclassify have been held back or started late to give an athletic advantage and are just rejoining their natural class. Many would be turning 19 in high school if they'd stayed. Patterson is 18 having a summer b-day and is actually 13 months older than Ballo. Dante will be 18 in October and is 9 months older than Ballo. Our own recruit Suggs is 18 right now I believe and is himself 13 months older than Ballo but just starting his senior year.

jazzdelmar
08-21-2019, 08:00 AM
I think a lot of these kids that reclassify have been held back or started late to give an athletic advantage and are just rejoining their natural class. Many would be turning 19 in high school if they'd stayed. Patterson is 18 having a summer b-day and is actually 13 months older than Ballo. Dante will be 18 in October and is 9 months older than Ballo. Our own recruit Suggs is 18 right now I believe and is himself 13 months older than Ballo but just starting his senior year.

Isn't Ravet 18 years of age now as a senior as well?

bdmiller7
08-21-2019, 08:13 AM
Isn't Ravet 18 years of age now as a senior as well?

Yes, I think he will turn 19 this spring. It seems pretty common for a lot of these players to be a little older than their classmates which makes reclassifying not that big of a jump.

TexasZagFan
08-21-2019, 02:44 PM
Yes, I think he will turn 19 this spring. It seems pretty common for a lot of these players to be a little older than their classmates which makes reclassifying not that big of a jump.

From what I've seen, there's been a trend where budding athletes are held back a year by their parents, strictly for athletic purposes. It's very noticeable in North Texas, particularly at the middle school level. By the time they near the end of their HS years, kids that weren't held back have closed the gap.

I wasn't enough of an athlete for my parents to even consider holding me back, nor would I have wanted them to. My birth month is May, so I gave up about six months or so. Like many, I was a late bloomer, and didn't fill out until after my sophomore year. I moved on from HS sports after my sophomore year.

Rangerzag
08-22-2019, 08:35 AM
UW also played exhibition games in Italy this month.

So far I do not think they have any opponents in common with BYU.

www.thenewstribune.com/sports/college/university-of-washington/article234209077.html

Bogozags
08-22-2019, 10:46 AM
From what I've seen, there's been a trend where budding athletes are held back a year by their parents, strictly for athletic purposes. It's very noticeable in North Texas, particularly at the middle school level. By the time they near the end of their HS years, kids that weren't held back have closed the gap.

I wasn't enough of an athlete for my parents to even consider holding me back, nor would I have wanted them to. My birth month is May, so I gave up about six months or so. Like many, I was a late bloomer, and didn't fill out until after my sophomore year. I moved on from HS sports after my sophomore year.

Evidently I must have been one heck of an athletic prospect, because I spent two years in Kindergarten!

Zagdawg
08-29-2019, 03:07 PM
Jon Rothstein
@JonRothstein
· 1h
Source: Saint Mary's 7-3 big man Aaron Menzies has received a waiver from the NCAA for an extra year of eligibility and will be eligible for the 19-20 season. HUGE news for Randy Bennett and the Gaels.


https://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/player/_/id/3156148/aaron-menzies

Zagdawg
08-29-2019, 03:10 PM
MBB | Gaels Release Non-Conference Schedule

https://smcgaels.com/news/2019/8/29/mens-basketball-mbb-gaels-release-non-conference-schedule.aspx

DixieZag
08-29-2019, 03:16 PM
MBB | Gaels Release Non-Conference Schedule

https://smcgaels.com/news/2019/8/29/mens-basketball-mbb-gaels-release-non-conference-schedule.aspx

No top-end elite teams, but not many dogs, either. Respectable schedule IMO

ZagRecruitWatch
08-29-2019, 06:32 PM
No top-end elite teams, but not many dogs, either. Respectable schedule IMO

With that schedule it would seem very reasonable that the Gaels could be coming into conference play without a loss. I don't know who the Gaels play in there early season tournament, but if they could come into conference play ranked mid teens that would be a nice boost to our schedule.

Zagdawg
09-12-2019, 01:33 PM
Steven Karr
@SKarrG0
·
2h
Dec 8: Gonzaga at UW - 4pm on ESPN2

Dec 14: Gonzaga at Arizona - 7 pm on ESPN2


https://pac-12.com/article/2019/09/11/pac-12-announces-2019-20-mens-basketball-television-broadcast-schedule

CDC84
09-13-2019, 10:03 AM
Unfortunately, with the expanded power conference schedules, Gonzaga is going to have to get used to playing big name opponents right after finals week, even if statistics have consistently shown that playing such big name opponents, on the road, right after finals is a recipe for a loss. There just isn't enough room on the schedule anymore to play a Big Sky team after finals like GU used to, and THEN a game at Arizona, at UNC, etc.

Zagdawg
10-08-2019, 08:18 PM
Tar Heels to be without injured Anthony Harris, Jeremiah Francis, Sterling Manley to start season


https://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/27800777/tar-heels-injured-anthony-harris-jeremiah-francis-sterling-manley-start-season

RenoZag
10-08-2019, 08:42 PM
Steven Karr
@SKarrG0
·
2h
Dec 8: Gonzaga at UW - 4pm on ESPN2

Dec 14: Gonzaga at Arizona - 7 pm on ESPN2


[/url]

And UNC on the 18th.

That 11 day stretch that will define this fan's expectations of the '19 - '20 squad. They'll have 8 games under their belts, time in the bright TV spotlights, and -- crossing my fingers here-- nine weeks more practice to chrome the bumpers, tune the engine, and fine-tune the suspension.

Excited for the season to begin. And you ?

CDC84
10-08-2019, 10:43 PM
I still don't like playing THREE SWAC teams in the same season. I know it's easy money, but the Zags also want to extend the NCAA tourney streak.

GonzagasaurusFlex
10-09-2019, 03:07 AM
And UNC on the 18th.

That 11 day stretch that will define this fan's expectations of the '19 - '20 squad. They'll have 8 games under their belts, time in the bright TV spotlights, and -- crossing my fingers here-- nine weeks more practice to chrome the bumpers, tune the engine, and fine-tune the suspension.

Excited for the season to begin. And you ?

I’m super excited, especially thinking about that stretch from 12/11-18. Two big road games and I hope Hopkins and UW have an otherwise stellar year; can’t say same for Miller and AZ.

Battle for Atlantis tourney w 3 games in 3 days will test this team early. Great opportunity for Zags to utilize their depth and keep guys fresh. Don’t want Gilder or Woolridge or Tillie - all coming back from injuries - logging 30+ mpg for three consecutive games in early November. Better for Ayayi, Timme, Ravet, Watson etc to swim in the deep end early and load manage our key guys...not worth risking injury for early season tourney title.

Zagdawg
10-23-2019, 12:29 PM
Saint Mary's Hoops
@saintmaryshoops
·
1h
Gaels' transfer guard Logan Johnson has received a waiver from the NCAA and will become immediately eligible to play this season

https://smcgaels.com/news/2019/6/21/mens-basketball-mbb-gaels-add-transfer-logan-johnson.aspx

bdmiller7
10-23-2019, 01:03 PM
Saint Mary's Hoops
@saintmaryshoops
·
1h
Gaels' transfer guard Logan Johnson has received a waiver from the NCAA and will become immediately eligible to play this season

https://smcgaels.com/news/2019/6/21/mens-basketball-mbb-gaels-add-transfer-logan-johnson.aspx

Top 200 recruit coming out of high school who played 32 games for Cincy last year. Should find some time at guard. It will be interesting to see who plays for SMC this year. After Ford and Fitts there are 12 more guys who all look like they are pretty decent.

Kiddwell
10-23-2019, 01:10 PM
Saint Mary's Hoops
@saintmaryshoops
·
1h
Gaels' transfer guard Logan Johnson has received a waiver from the NCAA and will become immediately eligible to play this season

https://smcgaels.com/news/2019/6/21/mens-basketball-mbb-gaels-add-transfer-logan-johnson.aspx

6-2, sophomore, guard.



:]

bdmiller7
10-25-2019, 04:15 PM
6-2, sophomore, guard.



:]

Was over at the BYU site Vanquish the Foe and they think Alex Barcello (played about 10 mpg at Arizona the last 2 years) has a really good chance at getting a waiver to play this year and Richard Harward (6'11" center who averaged 7 ppg abd 5 rpg in about 14 mpg last year at Utah Valley) has an outside chance at getting a waiver. I think Barcello is a better player, but Harward would really fill a need with Childs' suspension and Baxter's injury. Would like BYU to be as good as possible to help GU and the conference as a whole.

bdmiller7
10-26-2019, 09:54 AM
Was over at the BYU site Vanquish the Foe and they think Alex Barcello (played about 10 mpg at Arizona the last 2 years) has a really good chance at getting a waiver to play this year and Richard Harward (6'11" center who averaged 7 ppg abd 5 rpg in about 14 mpg last year at Utah Valley) has an outside chance at getting a waiver. I think Barcello is a better player, but Harward would really fill a need with Childs' suspension and Baxter's injury. Would like BYU to be as good as possible to help GU and the conference as a whole.

Barcello got his waiver.

willandi
10-26-2019, 11:10 AM
Was over at the BYU site Vanquish the Foe and they think Alex Barcello (played about 10 mpg at Arizona the last 2 years) has a really good chance at getting a waiver to play this year and Richard Harward (6'11" center who averaged 7 ppg abd 5 rpg in about 14 mpg last year at Utah Valley) has an outside chance at getting a waiver. I think Barcello is a better player, but Harward would really fill a need with Childs' suspension and Baxter's injury. Would like BYU to be as good as possible to help GU and the conference as a whole.


Barcello got his waiver.

He is a 6' 2" guard, so doesn't help their front court.

Kiddwell
10-26-2019, 11:29 AM
He is a 6' 2" guard, so doesn't help their front court.

The guard I referenced a few posts up, as shown in my post's copied earlier post, is an SMC Gael (Logan Johnson).





:]

bdmiller7
10-26-2019, 11:37 AM
The guard I referenced a few posts up, as shown in my post's copied earlier post, is an SMC Gael (Logan Johnson).





:]

I think hes talking about Barcello who is a 6'2" junior gaurd at BYU that got a waiver.

bdmiller7
10-26-2019, 11:39 AM
He is a 6' 2" guard, so doesn't help their front court.

Agree, they could really use Harward if he can get a waiver, otherwise they may have to play 4 guards with either 6'7" Seljaas or 6'6" Harding at the 4.

Zagdawg
10-30-2019, 10:47 AM
Zag Nation
@UnitedWeZag
· 4h
Lewis-Clark State, Gonzaga’s upcoming exhibition opponent, defeated Idaho last night by 15 points.

sittingon50
10-30-2019, 11:46 AM
Seton Hall possible Bahamas foe):


https://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaab/bigeast/2019/10/29/seton-hall-kevin-willard-suspension-ncaa-investigation-tampering/2502404001/

Zagdawg
10-31-2019, 12:35 PM
Jeff Goodman
@GoodmanHoops
· 39m
Arizona’s Jemarl Baker has received waiver from NCAA to play this season, source told @Stadium. Transferred from Kentucky.

Zagdawg
10-31-2019, 01:03 PM
Eastern Washington men: Eagles enter season with sky-high hopes after being favored to win conference title

https://www.spokesman.com/stories/2019/oct/31/eastern-washington-men-eagles-enter-season-with-sk/

Zagdawg
11-01-2019, 04:25 PM
Washington Men's Basketball
@UW_MBB
· 5m
NEWS: Quade Green's waiver has been granted, the sophomore transfer from Kentucky is eligible to compete for the Huskies immediately.

Zagdawg
11-01-2019, 07:31 PM
Ryan Kelapire
@RKelapire
·
14m
Arizona trails, yes trails, Chico State 33-32 at the half.

UA is shooting 37 percent. 8 different Wildcats have scored. Chase Jeter leads the way with 7 points.

Nico Mannion is 1-5 with 5 assists and 4 turnovers.

zagssuperfan
11-01-2019, 08:26 PM
Washington Men's Basketball
@UW_MBB
· 5m
NEWS: Quade Green's waiver has been granted, the sophomore transfer from Kentucky is eligible to compete for the Huskies immediately.

Man, we could use him right about now.

SLOZag
11-01-2019, 11:51 PM
This may not be news for everyone, but I just learned that Jesse Wade has been battling knee difficulties, and a quick fix doesn't appear to be in the cards:

"Gonzaga transfer guard Jesse Wade is battling through a knee injury that could result in a “long-term” injury according to BYU head coach Mark Pope ... . "It’s just kind of been a sporadic thing. Since last January, we haven’t been able to find an answer with this knee. Kind of seen every specialist in the world and kind of tried everything. Doctors are trying to decide between two kind of a little off the beaten path treatments to see – but I think they’re long term treatments – so that’s what we know right now.""

Really sad news for a great kid. Hope one or both of those "off the beaten path treatments" yields positive results.

LocalNative
11-02-2019, 07:46 PM
Ryan Kelapire
@RKelapire
·
14m
Arizona trails, yes trails, Chico State 33-32 at the half.

UA is shooting 37 percent. 8 different Wildcats have scored. Chase Jeter leads the way with 7 points.

Nico Mannion is 1-5 with 5 assists and 4 turnovers.

We sure dodged a bullet in Chase Jeter. Even though I'm certain our coaches would of had him playing way better ball than what he's been doing at Arizona.

SLOZag
11-03-2019, 10:42 PM
Regarding their summer team trip to play in Italy this past summer:

"(S)aid guard TJ Haws. “To be able to go around and see those cool sites was awesome to get to know the guys more. On the court, we played really well. We had 10 practices before Italy. To be able to put what we practiced into a game and see what we are capable of and see the vision of what we can accomplish was really good for our guys.” ... BYU played four exhibition games in five nights against professional Italian teams."
...
"Prior to leaving for Italy, Pope and his team learned about the history and culture of the country together. “We took a couple of classes. We had a (BYU) professor come in that’s really familiar with the Italian culture,” Lee said. “We learned a little Italian so we could talk to people.”"
...
"BYU senior Zac Seljaas ... broke his foot during the Italian trip. He was flown back to the United States soon thereafter in order to undergo surgery."
...
But these types of trips are "not for everyone. Gonzaga coach Mark Few, for example, doesn’t take his teams on overseas tours. “We really don’t because we have so many kids involved in international basketball so their summers have obligations,” he says. “Some of our kids are involved with USA Basketball. So it’s hard to schedule that. It’s just personal preference. Anymore, let’s be honest, people do it because they think it would give them an advantage to get more practice time in during the summer. Now we have enough practice time in the spring, summer and fall. So I really don’t think it’s a big deal.”

"Besides, Few, who has led the Zags to five consecutive NCAA Sweet 16 appearances, figures he has more important things to do during his limited vacation time. “This is coming from a guy that likes to fly fish and wake surf with his family during the summer,” he says. “I’d prefer my down time to be spent on a lake in Idaho.”"


https://www.deseret.com/sports/2019/11/3/20908363/international-basketball-college-byu-italy

hooter73
11-04-2019, 10:51 AM
That sucks about Jesse.

Ill have to look up the final stats but I watched Mannion play a bit this last year and will be interested to see how he does his freshman year.

FloridaZagFan
11-04-2019, 12:20 PM
I think everyone has written off San Francisco because Kyle Smith left. I'm not saying they are going to finish in the top two in the confrence but i think they will suprise some people this year. They lost Ferrari (huge) but they return a bunch of guy's and they stayed in house with the new coach who will run similar system as Smith. They are not super talented but have some skilled upperclassmen and War Memorial is always tougher than it should be.

FlyZag
11-04-2019, 01:25 PM
I think everyone has written off San Francisco because Kyle Smith left. I'm not saying they are going to finish in the top two in the confrence but i think they will suprise some people this year. They lost Ferrari (huge) but they return a bunch of guy's and they stayed in house with the new coach who will run similar system as Smith. They are not super talented but have some skilled upperclassmen and War Memorial is always tougher than it should be.

I don't see USF finishing better than 5th. SMC/GU will battle for 1st/2nd. BYU will battle Pepp for 3rd/4th.. Then SCU/USF/SD/LMU will battle for 5th-8th. Portland and Pacific will battle for the first overall pick..That's my hot-take.

Zagdawg
11-04-2019, 01:35 PM
TexAgs
@TexAgs
· 51m
Williams: [Starks] has a grade two ankle sprain and will be out 12-24 days, per team doctors.

12 pts 3.5 assists point guard Texas A&M (had 16 pts last year when we played them)


https://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/player/_/id/4278118/tj-starks

DixieZag
11-04-2019, 03:10 PM
I don't see USF finishing better than 5th. SMC/GU will battle for 1st/2nd. BYU will battle Pepp for 3rd/4th.. Then SCU/USF/SD/LMU will battle for 5th-8th. Portland and Pacific will battle for the first overall pick..That's my hot-take.

Love your breakdown, except I would simply expand it to 3-5 and state that BYU-USF-PEPP will all battle it out for those 3 spots.

HenneZag
11-04-2019, 04:23 PM
Pepperdine is going to give the WCC fits this year. Alot of experience and confidence on that squad.

seacatfan
11-04-2019, 06:38 PM
We sure dodged a bullet in Chase Jeter. Even though I'm certain our coaches would of had him playing way better ball than what he's been doing at Arizona.

That seems a bit harsh. He was solid last year as about their only inside presence. Battled a few injuries off and on. Instead of bashing Arizona, maybe ask why he only averaged about 2 ppg in 2 seasons at Duke. Realistically, how much playing time would he have gotten either last year or this year at GU?

GoZags
11-04-2019, 06:43 PM
Pepperdine is going to give the WCC fits this year. Alot of experience and confidence on that squad.

And one of the top basketball minds in the business.

soccerdud
11-04-2019, 07:21 PM
And one of the top basketball minds in the business.

bone?

FloridaZagFan
11-05-2019, 08:15 AM
No question Pepperdine has some players on their team you could see it last year. The point gaurd Colby Ross? I think that's his name, anyway I really like his game. If i rember they had a couple of transfers from Oregon. I know one was MJ Cage who I think left the program last year?
I agree 3-5 battle will probably be between BYU-USF-Pepp. I had just read some things about how USF was going to have an off year for them (they seem to always finish 4th or 5th in the league). I still think they are sneaky good and seem to play above their heads in games vs the upper tier in the league.

GoZags
11-05-2019, 08:24 AM
bone?

Well .... the top 2 coaches at Pepperdine have one of their "old" schools headed to the Final Four .... according to Jeff Goodman.

I guess there's a reason "they're trembling at the feet of Mighty Waaaah - shington"*

https://twitter.com/stadium/status/1191372152857137153?s=21

*passage from UDub fight song "Bow Down to Washington"

SLOZag
11-10-2019, 11:05 AM
"With less than one week before the eighth-ranked Gonzaga Bulldogs come to town, the Aggies would love to be at full health in order to handle one of the best teams in the country. So when exactly will [Josh] Nebo be back? To be completely honest, nobody knows. Nebo’s injury is “undisclosed”, and from what was last said about it by head coach Buzz Williams, Nebo has no timetable for return. ... [H]aving Nebo, who is a returning starter, back for the game would be huge in improving the Aggies’ chances to pull off a major upset in a statement win at home in the early season."

https://gigemgazette.com/2019/11/10/texas-am-basketball-will-josh-nebo-back/

Zagceo
11-12-2019, 02:40 PM
A&M tickets reasonable... nose bleed $9 great seats $71

https://www.vividseats.com/ncaab/texas-am-aggies-tickets/texas-am-vs-gonzaga-11-15-3206615.html

sittingon50
11-16-2019, 06:51 PM
Seton Hall:


https://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/28088779/seton-hall-placed-3-years-probation-transfer-tampering

CDC84
11-17-2019, 08:52 AM
Thanks to the creator of this thread. this is a good, consolidated thread for following the news of teams GU is going to play or who they have played.

Zagdawg
11-23-2019, 09:27 AM
No. 14 Arizona dismisses Devonaire Doutrive for violating team rules

https://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/28140527/no-14-arizona-dismisses-devonaire-doutrive-violating-team-rules

RenoZag
11-23-2019, 09:56 AM
(From an article listing some NCAA records which could fall in the 2019-2020 season)

Single-season 3-point shots
Challenger: Antoine Davis (Detroit Mercy)

Leader: Stephen Curry (Davidson) — 162 3PM

Antoine Davis set the Division I freshman record by making 132 3’s last season, surpassing a mark previously set by Stephen Curry in 2007. Next, Davis could be a candidate to break another of Curry’s records: the single-season 3-point record.

Curry buried 162 triples as a sophomore, a record that’s stood since 2008. He was a trend-setter, a trailblazer when it came to knocking down shots from the perimeter. At Davidson, he lived beyond the arc. Now Davis has established residency behind the 3-point line at Detroit Mercy.

Adding: My thanks to ZagDawg for starting this thread and to the contributors for adding items as the season moves along.

Zagdawg
11-26-2019, 02:48 PM
Kind of weird timing-- but I guess whatever works.

Jon Rothstein
@JonRothstein
Creighton's Greg McDermott has hired San Diego's Terrence Rencher as an assistant coach, per release.

As an assistant at San Diego--In his first year at University of San Diego, Rencher assisted the team in earning a 20-win 2017-2018 season, inclusive of a quarterfinals appearance in the CollegeInsider.com (CIT) Post-Season Tournament. In his second year, Rencher assisted first-time head coach Sam Scholl in improving the team to a 21-win 2018-2019 season, which included a semi-finals finish in the West Coast ConferenceTournament, as well as a National Invitational Tournament (NIT) appearance, the program's first in school history.

MDABE80
11-26-2019, 03:22 PM
Must be the weather:) lolol

sittingon50
11-26-2019, 09:08 PM
Kind of weird timing-- but I guess whatever works.

Jon Rothstein
@JonRothstein
Creighton's Greg McDermott has hired San Diego's Terrence Rencher as an assistant coach, per release.

As an assistant at San Diego--In his first year at University of San Diego, Rencher assisted the team in earning a 20-win 2017-2018 season, inclusive of a quarterfinals appearance in the CollegeInsider.com (CIT) Post-Season Tournament. In his second year, Rencher assisted first-time head coach Sam Scholl in improving the team to a 21-win 2018-2019 season, which included a semi-finals finish in the West Coast ConferenceTournament, as well as a National Invitational Tournament (NIT) appearance, the program's first in school history.


Wonder what's up with that? Sam seems to be a terrific guy down at USD.

Jazz, what's the word down there?


Edit: upon further research, it seems another USD Asst. left 19 days before the 1st practice to take an Asst. job at Hawaii (and I believe the Hawaii Coach, a former SMC Asst. has taken a LOA {for health reasons}). Can anyone fill in any of these blanks?

Birddog
11-27-2019, 05:08 AM
Can anyone fill in any of these blanks?

It must be the weather.

Zagdawg
12-04-2019, 07:05 AM
Jon Rothstein
@JonRothstein
·
3m
Sources: Arizona State, Oklahoma, Temple, San Diego State, Saint Mary's, Western Michigan, Seattle, and Hawaii will headline the 2020 Diamond Head Classic.

Zagdawg
12-06-2019, 12:33 PM
North Carolina’s Armando Bacot to be ‘out a while’

https://collegebasketball.nbcsports.com/2019/12/05/north-carolinas-armando-bacot-to-be-out-a-while/