PDA

View Full Version : Rui News :)



Zagger
05-25-2019, 10:47 AM
https://www.nbcsports.com/chicago/bulls/options-if-bulls-trade-down-gonzaga-forward-rui-hachimura


But Boylen did have a much heavier focus on generating points inside first, with the team ranking third in the league in points in the paint per game during his tenure. Rui Hachimura fits in extremely well with the idea of the Bulls punishing teams inside with low-post scoring depth, resulting in open looks on the perimeter.

More at the link :)

Methinks Rui is going to be a sensational player for whatever team gets him. Hope Rui will soak up all the media attention with his awesome smile :)

jazzdelmar
05-25-2019, 10:49 AM
https://www.nbcsports.com/chicago/bulls/options-if-bulls-trade-down-gonzaga-forward-rui-hachimura



More at the link :)

Methinks Rui is going to be a sensational player for whatever team gets him. Hope Rui will soak up all the media attention with his awesome smile :)

Will no doubt have best smile on draft night. Electric.

TexasZagFan
05-25-2019, 01:02 PM
Will no doubt have best smile on draft night. Electric.

Exhibit A:

https://i350.photobucket.com/albums/q417/richkinley/IMG_1800%202_zpspeqr18rb.jpg (https://s350.photobucket.com/user/richkinley/media/IMG_1800%202_zpspeqr18rb.jpg.html)

zagbeliever
05-25-2019, 04:37 PM
Exhibit A:

https://i350.photobucket.com/albums/q417/richkinley/IMG_1800%202_zpspeqr18rb.jpg (https://s350.photobucket.com/user/richkinley/media/IMG_1800%202_zpspeqr18rb.jpg.html)

Rui is so great! My grandson met him and spoke Japanese to him at Blaze pizza (Ethan just got his degree in Japanese and in ESL and will be teaching in Japan this fall) Rui was shocked but so very nice and E said he is rather shy. He will be a star in many ways. ( He asked Ethan if he is from Japan so his Japanese must be pretty darned good. ;)

DixieZag
05-25-2019, 04:50 PM
Will no doubt have best smile on draft night. Electric.

True.

And we already have 100% evidence that Rui will be patient in learning the league.

I suspect he'll need it, as he's more raw than most our players - still - getting by still on elite athleticism more than anything. BUT, he's also a very fast learner, very capable of evolving and probably the highest upside of anyone we've had since Morrison/Sabonis.

TexasZagFan
05-26-2019, 06:05 AM
Rui is so great! My grandson met him and spoke Japanese to him at Blaze pizza (Ethan just got his degree in Japanese and in ESL and will be teaching in Japan this fall) Rui was shocked but so very nice and E said he is rather shy. He will be a star in many ways. ( He asked Ethan if he is from Japan so his Japanese must be pretty darned good. ;)

I love hearing stories like that!

I met Elias Harris after the OK State game on NY Eve. We had a brief, but nice conversation in German. He was surprised as well. Getting pictures with many of the Zags is a favorite memory of mine. The pictures are in an album in my profile.

http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=823&d=1363287207

ETA: that young man next to Elias is now 6'1", and will be a senior in HS next year.

DixieZag
05-26-2019, 08:34 AM
Rui is so great! My grandson met him and spoke Japanese to him at Blaze pizza (Ethan just got his degree in Japanese and in ESL and will be teaching in Japan this fall) Rui was shocked but so very nice and E said he is rather shy. He will be a star in many ways. ( He asked Ethan if he is from Japan so his Japanese must be pretty darned good. ;)

That is one impressive grandson you have.

Eastern languages are so hard to learn for us, characters totally different.

He will never have trouble finding great career.

You should be very proud.

At least as proud as Tex of his grandkids, which is wonderful.

Off season threads are just better IMO. :)

zagbeliever
05-26-2019, 11:30 AM
I love hearing stories like that!

I met Elias Harris after the OK State game on NY Eve. We had a brief, but nice conversation in German. He was surprised as well. Getting pictures with many of the Zags is a favorite memory of mine. The pictures are in an album in my profile.

http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=823&d=1363287207

ETA: that young man next to Elias is now 6'1", and will be a senior in HS next year.

The players are so gracious about having their pictures taken and they REALLY are sincere when they say thank you to US. Love the Zag boys.

zagbeliever
05-26-2019, 04:17 PM
Thank you! I remember when he started foreign language in middle school trying to sway him to take Spanish but he was so determined to learn Japanese. Spokane has a “sister” school for Japanese students and he got involved the students there and soon was a T/A and very immersed with the students. He continued at Eastern. Long story short he was right and I was wrong. �� He spent time last summer there and was hired first interview! I have schooled him on our former Zags to watch for who play there ����
That is one impressive grandson you have.

Eastern languages are so hard to learn for us, characters totally different.

He will never have trouble finding great career.

You should be very proud.

At least as proud as Tex of his grandkids, which is wonderful.

Off season threads are just better IMO. :)

Mantua
05-28-2019, 05:21 PM
And for you all awaiting a fashion update, Rui posted a picture on his Instagram page of the August GQ Japan cover featuring Rui in Dolce Gabbana.


https://www.instagram.com/p/BxyZ8XiFwWm/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link

sittingon50
05-28-2019, 07:31 PM
https://8points9seconds.com/2019/05/27/pacers-psa-rui-hachimura/

MDABE80
05-28-2019, 08:18 PM
50 nothing like holding back how the author really feels! Lol

kdaleb
05-28-2019, 08:34 PM
50 nothing like holding back how the author really feels! Lol

I think a lot of the authors critiques of Rui are pretty spot on. I think the piece he's missing in all of his critiques is Rui's amazing growth to date. He's really only played two years at an elite level, and as we can attest, his growth in all areas of his game has been phenomenal. I agree that his defense as is won't be good enough for the NBA. And he definitely missed passing opportunities. But I think he has more growth and development potential even than most one-and-done players - he just hasn't spent that much time learning basketball yet.

willandi
05-28-2019, 08:46 PM
I think a lot of the authors critiques of Rui are pretty spot on. I think the piece he's missing in all of his critiques is Rui's amazing growth to date. He's really only played two years at an elite level, and as we can attest, his growth in all areas of his game has been phenomenal. I agree that his defense as is won't be good enough for the NBA. And he definitely missed passing opportunities. But I think he has more growth and development potential even than most one-and-done players - he just hasn't spent that much time learning basketball yet.

I agree.

I wonder if the writer has only been writing for 2-3 years? Just to judge fairly. I think not.

TexasZagFan
05-28-2019, 09:21 PM
50 nothing like holding back how the author really feels! Lol

Those commenting certainly didn't hold back either! :lmao:
They were unanimous in expressing their disdain for the analysis.

sittingon50
05-28-2019, 10:33 PM
To kdaleb's point, I believe Few has said something to the effect "there's a lot of rubber left on the tires" in regard to Rui.

You are correct Abe, the guy didn't mince words.

jazzdelmar
05-29-2019, 04:25 AM
50 nothing like holding back how the author really feels! Lol

Never seen the word “mocked” used that way. Maybe he meant it double entendre?

DixieZag
05-29-2019, 04:46 AM
I think a lot of the authors critiques of Rui are pretty spot on. I think the piece he's missing in all of his critiques is Rui's amazing growth to date. He's really only played two years at an elite level, and as we can attest, his growth in all areas of his game has been phenomenal. I agree that his defense as is won't be good enough for the NBA. And he definitely missed passing opportunities. But I think he has more growth and development potential even than most one-and-done players - he just hasn't spent that much time learning basketball yet.

Progressed more than any player we've had, and it's not even close. Couldn't get on the floor as a frosh, and no, it wasn't all language.

He'll learn, fast.

bartruff1
05-29-2019, 04:46 AM
All that hyperbole looks like the product of a 14 year old trying to get attention.....it is sad to see how our culture has evolved ….. he has some points to make but he lost me with his shock jock style...

Author Ben Pfeifer...I tried to Google him but didn't find out anything useful ...

LongIslandZagFan
05-29-2019, 06:34 AM
https://8points9seconds.com/2019/05/27/pacers-psa-rui-hachimura/

Did Rui kick his dog or something... damn.

TexasZagFan
05-29-2019, 06:51 AM
Did Rui kick his dog or something... damn.

Perhaps Domas should have a few words with the author, to set him straight about his former teammate at GU.

WallaWallaZag
05-29-2019, 07:44 AM
to be fair, rui's mental understanding of the game lags far behind the physical side...and being smart in general doesn't always equate to high basketball iq...there is certainly a function of natural "feel" for the game that rui may just not possess or be able to develop which goes beyond x's and o's.

webspinnre
05-29-2019, 08:44 AM
to be fair, rui's mental understanding of the game lags far behind the physical side...and being smart in general doesn't always equate to high basketball iq...there is certainly a function of natural "feel" for the game that rui may just not possess or be able to develop which goes beyond x's and o's.

Yep. There are certainly some valid criticisms in the piece, though they go a bit over the top. It's the one reason I'd say that while he's got a high ceiling, his floor is probably lower than someone like Clarke.

zagbeliever
05-29-2019, 10:01 AM
https://8points9seconds.com/2019/05/27/pacers-psa-rui-hachimura/

Tell us how you really feel.....:roll: Haters gonna hate.

maynard g krebs
05-29-2019, 11:40 AM
Writer is certainly verbose. I could only get through about half of that. He's looking to nitpick negatives, and overlooking Rui's massive year to year improvement over three seasons, and ignoring the fact that he was way behind the curve after growing up in a country where the basketball isn't very good.

Not someone to be taken seriously imo.

Zagceo
05-29-2019, 09:00 PM
Wonder how many endorsements Rui has already signed in Japan?

Hope he lands in good spot for his talent.

Skimhvn
05-30-2019, 12:11 AM
I’m still on the Rui Hachimura train, btw. Fully understand that he needs the right landing spot, but I think he could be a stud. People don’t take the context of his situation (literally didn’t understand what the coaches were saying to him until this year) into account enough.
His instincts are concerning and I get that’s hard to develop. But again, this was the first year that he fully understood what the coaches were saying to him. And his offensive stats are great. High volume + high efficiency almost across the board. Great size + athleticism.
He plays HARD every possession. I think he’s got what it takes to continue to improve his game. But he needs the right situation. If a team wants him to be a playmaking wing, they’re gonna be disappointed. But a dynamic scoring/stretch 4 isn’t out of his realm of possibilities


https://twitter.com/MarkW_E01/status/1133980816927645697?s=19

bartruff1
05-30-2019, 04:53 AM
Wonder how many endorsements Rui has already signed in Japan?

Hope he lands in good spot for his talent.

That is where the real money is...when he passed away Arnold Palmer was worth a estimated 750 million dollars and his total earnings on both the PGA and Senior Tour were in the 3 million range....

Can't imagine what Ichiro's net worth is....Rui is the total marketing package....

Zagdawg
06-17-2019, 02:16 PM
Fran Fraschilla

Verified account

@franfraschilla
2h2 hours ago
More
Have a feeling that someone will figure out that @ZagMBB forward, Rui Hachimura is a Top 6 talent. Has all of the physical ingredients and he’s just learning the game. More upside than most in this draft.

Zagger
06-18-2019, 02:14 AM
Fran Fraschilla

Verified account

@franfraschilla
2h2 hours ago
More
Have a feeling that someone will figure out that @ZagMBB forward, Rui Hachimura is a Top 6 talent. Has all of the physical ingredients and he’s just learning the game. More upside than most in this draft.

For us Zag fans who have see Rui progress/improve/win hearts as a Zag .... whoever lands Rui is going to have a notable ticket sale and fan base increase. I haven't been an NBA fan. With all 3 (Brandon, Norvell and Hachimura) very likely to enter the NBA shortly I'm also very likely to begin watching a slew of NBA games. The Zag density in the NBA is just be too high for me not to want to see how they're all doing.

Zagdawg
06-19-2019, 05:55 AM
Rui Hachimura is a physical specimen with a shredded frame | 2019 NBA Draft Scouting Report

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MKVFFSZ31UQ&feature=youtu.be

Zagdawg
06-19-2019, 06:29 AM
https://twitter.com/NBADraft/status/1141343889086980097

jazzdelmar
06-19-2019, 06:38 AM
Geez, we're gonna miss this great kid.

Zagdawg
06-19-2019, 07:50 AM
https://twitter.com/WCChoops/status/1141371560508477440

Zagdawg
06-19-2019, 08:45 AM
https://twitter.com/AdamZagoria/status/1141373292508565507

GrizZAG
06-19-2019, 11:05 AM
It was such an amazing treat to have both Rui and Brandon this past year. I am hoping they both amaze in the NBA, and I think they will.

ZagNative
06-19-2019, 11:42 AM
Zagdawg, thank you so much for your persistence in bringing the news to us!

Zagdawg
06-19-2019, 03:00 PM
Darren Rovell

Verified account

@darrenrovell
23m23 minutes ago
More
JUST IN: @rui_8mura, who tomorrow will become the first Japanese player drafted by an NBA team, has signed an endorsement deal with Nissin, maker of Cup Noodles. Joins other Japanese stars tennis players Naomi Osaka & Kei Nishikori as brand embassadors.

https://twitter.com/darrenrovell/status/1141474881026088962

Rui “Louis” Hachimura 八村 塁


@rui_8mura
28m28 minutes ago
More
ドラフトを待たずして、
まさかの日清食品から1位指名が笑��
I didn’t know if this day would ever come. I am happy to announce I have been drafted by Team NISSIN @CupNoodle_jp @OrigCupNoodles ��

https://twitter.com/rui_8mura/status/1141473914880704513

https://www.krem.com/article/sports/former-gonzaga-forward-hachimura-signs-endorsement-with-cup-noodles/293-1bdfa822-d164-489d-bb3c-b765eb495cce

MDABE80
06-19-2019, 03:10 PM
Rui is a world wide phenomenon. He could get close to MJ's business reward by modern financial rewards. He won't be a high end player like Jordan but by modern standards he'll clean up financially. His market is just so big! Go Rui!! Let em know you're a Zag!! Everytime he walks out of the floor, he'll be an ad for the Zags!!

Zagdawg
06-19-2019, 03:31 PM
NBA Draft

Verified account

@NBADraft
14m14 minutes ago
More
������ Rui Hachimura (@rui_8mura) visits Times Square to try his first slice of New York City pizza!

��: 2019 #NBADraft presented by State Farm
��: Thursday, June 20
⏰: 7pm/et ��: ESPN


https://twitter.com/NBADraft/status/1141485189501263877

DADoZAG
06-19-2019, 07:13 PM
Rui is a world wide phenomenon. He could get close to MJ's business reward by modern financial rewards. He won't be a high end player like Jordan but by modern standards he'll clean up financially. His market is just so big! Go Rui!! Let em know you're a Zag!! Everytime he walks out of the floor, he'll be an ad for the Zags!!

Zagly, Abe.

I believe it was Tex that brought up the marketing advantage for any team that gets the rights to this young man's presence.

If only Tex's vision was used for good, as is Tommy's, instead of...

...well, then there's that...

...but who doesn't love hearing about the grandsons. I sure do. So sorry I missed you in Spokane, Tex...

Go ZAGS

Zagdawg
06-19-2019, 07:16 PM
Darren Rovell

Verified account

@darrenrovell
5h5 hours ago
More
In anticipation of Rui Hachimura’s drafting tomorrow, a Draft record 46 media members representing 23 outlets from Japan are credentialed for tomorrow night, more than any country outside the U.S.

ZagNative
06-19-2019, 07:25 PM
Darren Rovell

Verified account

@darrenrovell
5h5 hours ago
More
In anticipation of Rui Hachimura’s drafting tomorrow, a Draft record 46 media members representing 23 outlets from Japan are credentialed for tomorrow night, more than any country outside the U.S.Wow!

Zagger
06-19-2019, 07:29 PM
https://www.spokesman.com/stories/2019/jun/19/dynamic-duo-history-awaits-gonzaga-rui-hachimura-b/


Gonzaga’s starting five at the NBA draft: Projected first-round picks Rui Hachimura and Brandon Clarke, head coach Mark Few and assistant coaches Brian Michaelson and Tommy Lloyd.

The bench: Lloyd’s family, because a special occasion encourages comprehensive attendance inside the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York.

Thursday promises to be a historic night for Gonzaga’s program and Hachimura, who is expected to become the first Japanese-born player chosen in the first round of the draft.

http://www.fowlplaces.com/zags/BrandonRui-SR.png

ZagNative
06-19-2019, 07:36 PM
Darren Rovell

Verified account

@darrenrovell
5h5 hours ago
More
In anticipation of Rui Hachimura’s drafting tomorrow, a Draft record 46 media members representing 23 outlets from Japan are credentialed for tomorrow night, more than any country outside the U.S.I can't imagine the stress Rui must be operating under!

Press waiting for Rui:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D9bz0PjWwAA7tAs.jpg

GonzagasaurusFlex
06-20-2019, 01:38 AM
Darren Rovell

Verified account

@darrenrovell
5h5 hours ago
More
In anticipation of Rui Hachimura’s drafting tomorrow, a Draft record 46 media members representing 23 outlets from Japan are credentialed for tomorrow night, more than any country outside the U.S.

This is big reason why I predict Rui goes #9 to the rudderless Washington Wizards, who currently have no GM in place allowing their businessman owner, Ted Leonsis, to make the prudent business decision to draft Rui. A franchise whose star player, John Wall, is a malcontent andcurrently out through next season w ruptured Achilles could use a rising star w 1000 watt smile and entire country behind him to begin their rebuild around.

I like their coach, Scott Brooks, too.

bartruff1
06-20-2019, 06:34 AM
I saw Fernando pitch at Dodger Stadium...if Rui can produce.... it will be a similar mania ...

Reborn
06-20-2019, 06:48 AM
Fran Fraschilla

Verified account

@franfraschilla
2h2 hours ago
More
Have a feeling that someone will figure out that @ZagMBB forward, Rui Hachimura is a Top 6 talent. Has all of the physical ingredients and he’s just learning the game. More upside than most in this draft.

I agree with Fran. I have this feeling Rui will go in the top 10.

Go Zags!!!

Zagdawg
06-20-2019, 07:12 AM
https://twitter.com/NBAJPN/status/1141650649605709825

webspinnre
06-20-2019, 06:51 PM
This is big reason why I predict Rui goes #9 to the rudderless Washington Wizards, who currently have no GM in place allowing their businessman owner, Ted Leonsis, to make the prudent business decision to draft Rui. A franchise whose star player, John Wall, is a malcontent andcurrently out through next season w ruptured Achilles could use a rising star w 1000 watt smile and entire country behind him to begin their rebuild around.

I like their coach, Scott Brooks, too.

Certainly looking prescient tonight. Well done.

sittingon50
06-20-2019, 07:32 PM
Certainly looking prescient tonight. Well done.


+1. Nice call Flex!

GonzagasaurusFlex
06-21-2019, 02:26 AM
Thanks web and sitting! I’m psyched for Rui. Homer for sure here but imo he was tightest lookin dude to walk the stage last night...bright smile, joyful, grateful and confident.

Side note: ESPN reporter’s interviews w players immediately after walking the stage were mostly great but she was completely tone deaf and cringe worthy in interviewing Matisse Thybulle. Sure, one question about heart wrenching loss of his mother is ok (I guess...sort of) but he was clearly quite emotional about it and struggling to maintain his composure... so she asks him follow up question along lines of “..and so what did your mother mean to you?” I felt so bad for him and lost all respect for that reporter. Can’t imagine being 20-21 years old and in midst of probably biggest day of my life then get grilled on national tv about the most devastating experience of my life.

GonzagasaurusFlex
06-21-2019, 02:37 AM
Cool quote from WaPo article:


“I ,act that I talked to Coach [Mark] Few this morning. He told me a few things that were very important to me as a coach that you want in a player,” Coach Scott Brooks said of a phone conversation he had with Gonzaga’s coach. “He works. He works every day. He said you’re never going to ever worry about him in that area. And he has the talent, and with that work ethic we feel we can have a really good two-way player. With our roster, obviously we have a lot of decisions to make. But he has a pretty good opportunity ahead of him. Like with all rookies and young players in this league, there’s a learning curve. We’re looking forward to meeting with him tomorrow and start that process right away.”

Zagdawg
06-21-2019, 06:28 AM
Nine things you have to know about Rui Hachimura

http://www.fiba.basketball/news/nine-things-you-have-to-know-about-rui-hachimura

ZagNut08
06-21-2019, 07:50 AM
Not that I expect much from the New York Times...

"The moment is not lost on the 6-foot-8 Hachimura, who spent three seasons in relative anonymity at Gonzaga, in the West Coast Conference. Though he held his own media day for Japanese reporters when he was at Gonzaga, the draft is, in effect, his American debut."

bartruff1
06-21-2019, 07:57 AM
Not that I expect much from the New York Times...

"The moment is not lost on the 6-foot-8 Hachimura, who spent three seasons in relative anonymity at Gonzaga, in the West Coast Conference. Though he held his own media day for Japanese reporters when he was at Gonzaga, the draft is, in effect, his American debut."

good grief

LongIslandZagFan
06-21-2019, 08:02 AM
Not that I expect much from the New York Times...

"The moment is not lost on the 6-foot-8 Hachimura, who spent three seasons in relative anonymity at Gonzaga, in the West Coast Conference. Though he held his own media day for Japanese reporters when he was at Gonzaga, the draft is, in effect, his American debut."

Wow. But then again, there is a reason why people don't focus much attention to the NYT sports section. News, life stories, etc... all good... sports... comes off as an afterthought. Couldn't name one sports writer for them but and much as I despise the NY Post, they have produced a couple a very good sports reporters. Same with the Daily News.

sonomajoe
06-21-2019, 08:39 AM
Rui doubters in DC:

D.C. Sports Bog
‘Empty stats.’ ‘A project.’ ‘Quite a stretch.’: Wizards’ Rui Hachimura pick earns low marks

https://wapo.st/2RuHcJr

Zagdawg
06-21-2019, 10:02 AM
Brenna Greene

Verified account

@BrennaGreene_
23m23 minutes ago
More
A few notes from Rui’s presser:

-Scotty Brooks says Rui has “it”, that Few wouldn’t say one bad thing about him
-Rui called the media contingent small ��
-After frosh season, Few told Wizards Rui was going to be GU’s best player
-Tommy Lloyd emailed Rui every week of recruitment

https://twitter.com/WashWizards/status/1142102689297383425

TexasZagFan
06-21-2019, 10:02 AM
Rui doubters in DC:

D.C. Sports Bog
‘Empty stats.’ ‘A project.’ ‘Quite a stretch.’: Wizards’ Rui Hachimura pick earns low marks

https://wapo.st/2RuHcJr

Comments in WaPo article were far more balanced. I even had 10 or so likes on my post.

Snagglezag
06-21-2019, 10:58 AM
Rui signs with Jordan Brand, kind of a big deal: https://news.nike.com/news/jordan-brand-jayson-tatum-rui-hachimura-basketball-roster

kitzbuel
06-21-2019, 11:07 AM
Rui doubters in DC:

D.C. Sports Bog
‘Empty stats.’ ‘A project.’ ‘Quite a stretch.’: Wizards’ Rui Hachimura pick earns low marks

https://wapo.st/2RuHcJr

There are always lots of doubters who are hyper-critical of the owner and the front office. Plenty of folks who are more sanguine as well:

https://www.bulletsforever.com/2019/6/21/18700735/2019-nba-draft-washington-wizards-rui-hachimura-admiral-schofield-not-losers

TexasZagFan
06-21-2019, 11:24 AM
Rui signs with Jordan Brand, kind of a big deal: https://news.nike.com/news/jordan-brand-jayson-tatum-rui-hachimura-basketball-roster

Jordan Brand ain't stupid...they see the marketing opportunity in Japan.

Zagdawg
06-21-2019, 12:35 PM
Wizards announce 2019 NBA Summer League schedule

Saturday, July 6: New Orleans (10:00 P.M. ET) at Thomas & Mack (ESPN)
Monday, July 8: Brooklyn (5:30 P.M. ET) at Thomas & Mack (NBATV)
Tuesday, July 9: Los Angeles Clippers (11:30 P.M. ET) at Thomas & Mack (NBATV)
Thursday, July 11: Atlanta (6:30 P.M. ET) at Thomas & Mack (ESPN2)


https://www.nba.com/wizards/wizards-announce-2019-nba-summer-league-schedule

Zagdawg
06-21-2019, 12:41 PM
Rui Introductory press conference

https://www.nba.com/wizards/rui-hachimura-introductory-press-conference


First Day in DC
https://www.nba.com/wizards/gallery/rui-hachimura-first-day-dc

Zagceo
06-21-2019, 12:52 PM
what do folks think about Wizards getting Admiral?

https://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2019/jun/20/wizards-draft-admiral-schofield-after-acquiring-se/

Zagdawg
06-21-2019, 01:08 PM
RUI Washington Wizards Podcast


https://twitter.com/WashWizards/status/1142177156103102464

Bogozags
06-21-2019, 03:25 PM
I'll go on record now saying that Rui will have a longer and impactful career then Zion...

Zagdawg
06-21-2019, 03:27 PM
https://twitter.com/WashWizards/status/1142209541813223424

bartruff1
06-21-2019, 03:47 PM
I'll go on record now saying that Rui will have a longer and impactful career then Zion...

Not if ESPN has anything to say about it.....:confused:

Their coverage of Zion is bizarre ..... I don't get it....I am surprised they didn't follow him into the men's room....

Zagdawg
06-21-2019, 07:36 PM
https://twitter.com/espn/status/1142204268713144320

GonzagasaurusFlex
06-22-2019, 12:56 AM
Great YouTube video about Rui that was posted in comments to one of the Tweets linked above. Mostly in Japanese but the clips are fantastic:
https://youtu.be/t3-TM0pz8zY

Zagdawg
06-22-2019, 06:03 AM
NBA Japan

Verified account

@NBAJPN
Follow Follow @NBAJPN
More
�� Japanese celebrities congratulate @rui_8mura on being drafted in the 1st round of the #NBADraft by the @WashWizards ������ (with English subtitles)

https://twitter.com/NBAJPN/status/1141988400506920960

Zagdawg
06-22-2019, 06:06 AM
https://twitter.com/WashWizards/status/1142409398754717696

Zagdawg
06-22-2019, 06:13 AM
Rui Jerseys pre-order

https://shop.monumentalsportsnetwork.com/

Zagger
06-22-2019, 06:39 PM
Great YouTube video about Rui that was posted in comments to one of the Tweets linked above. Mostly in Japanese but the clips are fantastic:
https://youtu.be/t3-TM0pz8zY

That was really good - Dang, gonna miss Rui BIG TIME!

Zagdawg
06-24-2019, 08:39 AM
Hachimura's selection ushers in new era for hoops in Japan

https://www.nba.com/article/2019/06/22/japan-celebrates-hachimura-nba-selection

Zags_Fanatic
06-24-2019, 05:59 PM
If you have 7 minutes, this video from the Wizards is awesome: https://twitter.com/WashWizards/status/1143156829284794371

Mantua
06-30-2019, 03:31 PM
Hachimura's selection ushers in new era for hoops in Japan

https://www.nba.com/article/2019/06/22/japan-celebrates-hachimura-nba-selection

Rui is getting coverage and endorsements because he is a "first."

Jordan for sure spotted the crowds of Japanese media representatives. Jordan has been busy this summer expanding his encroachment on Adidas territory in Europe with more hype for the PSG line and a huge event weekend during Paris Summer Fashion Week with a big presence at the Place Pigalle Block Party (The Moulin Rouge neighborhood in Montmartre) and the 15th Anniversary of Quai 54, his three-on-three basket championship, advertised as the biggest in the world. (Oh really? says Spokane.) The Eiffel Tower Center Court, beautifully painted to show off the Jordan Brand summer line, was used to present new Jordan Family members, Russell Westbrook, Blake Griffin, Carmelo Anthony, Jayson Tatum, Kemba Walker and Maya Moore. Spike Lee was judging the Slam Dunk contest while Les Twins (French hip-hop dancers and Jordan Family members) rallied the crowds and made sure that the new family members were having fun in Paris. From there, Jordan traveled to Monte Carlo where for five days he lavishly hosted selected Jordan Family members at business meetings and parties replete with gaming tables, pool tables, playing cards, poker chips and pool balls all stamped with the iconic Jumpman23 logo. Monte Carlo seemed luxuriously quiet after the all day and late-into-the-night raucous crowds in Paris. I couldn’t quite fathom who all was there, except for Les Twins, Kemba Walker and Jeff Green, just because he posted a video of Les Twins rehearsing on the prow of a boat anchored nearby. Michael Jordan doesn’t sleep on business opportunities.

On his Instagram account, Rui posted an interview during which he mentioned that his shirts might out-sell Zion’s shirts.

My favorite Rui endorsement is for Nissin "Cup Noodles".

RenoZag
07-14-2019, 08:33 AM
Freelance feture article on Rui (published in today's S-R )

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2019/jul/13/rui-hachimura-begins-his-nba-career-as-the-future-/


Thing is, per summer league coach Robert Pack, this young hopeful has transitioned quite easily, something he feels will make one of the most successful players from Gonzaga a success in the NBA.

“He has a really good feel, you could tell; the questions he asks, the improvising he does on the court, you could tell he has a really good feel for it,” Pack said. “Coming from a system where a coach is used to coaching guys longer, really teaching the game the right way, I think it helps a player like Rui coming into the league.”


The common theme across the summer league all week when it pertained to the Gonzaga contingent of Hachimura, Brandon Clarke, Josh Perkins and Zach Norvell Jr., has been basketball IQ, and how well Gonzaga coach Mark Few prepares his players. . .

Not one to usher his players out the door, but more so a coach who cultivates and develops talent during their stay in Spokane, Few received praise regarding how well Gonzaga’s products arrive at the NBA.

“His players are ready, they’re prepared, highly intelligent about the game of basketball and they have a jump on other folks,” NBA analyst and former head coach Mark Jackson said. “It’s a credit to the job he does year in and year out as a head coach in impacting these young guys.”

Zagdawg
07-16-2019, 08:25 AM
Rui Hachimura begins NBA journey as the face of Japanese basketball

https://www.nba.com/wizards/rui-hachimura-summer-league-japan-draft-2019