PDA

View Full Version : ESPN Bracketology (5-16-19).....amazing Zags a 2 seed.



MDABE80
05-16-2019, 01:25 PM
http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/bracketology

Looks like even without the 3 (maybe 4) leaving us, Joey still think we have a majorly winning team. We'll know more after the draft but we do know 3 are leaving.. I think we'll be alright. Big question mark is Tillie.

Top 10 come October (crossing fingers).

DixieZag
05-16-2019, 04:05 PM
Absolutely more meaningless than most.

With one exception.

The fact that we're a two seed with most our team leaving is a testament to Mark Few and staff, and their ability to now field a team that will be top 10 near every year. That is what I am seeing. Recognition that Few and company are now at a level that the expectation, with recruits and transfers is that we'll have a team that is top 10, 15, or so, and I think that DOES mean something.

OntZags
05-16-2019, 04:06 PM
I think it is about time people stop complaining about Gonzaga not getting respect nationally from the media. Because those days are long gone. GU has been getting lots of love in recent years.

We'll see how the rest of the offseason plays out but this team could possibly contend for such a high seed. They also might just sneak into the tourney if things go awry.

Goshzagit
05-16-2019, 06:07 PM
Lose 4 starters and our 6th man & 8th man declare for NBA draft.

2 seed on reputation and respect alone.

Incredible, really.

zagdontzig
05-16-2019, 06:31 PM
Absolutely more meaningless than most.

With one exception.

The fact that we're a two seed with most our team leaving is a testament to Mark Few and staff, and their ability to now field a team that will be top 10 near every year. That is what I am seeing. Recognition that Few and company are now at a level that the expectation, with recruits and transfers is that we'll have a team that is top 10, 15, or so, and I think that DOES mean something.


Lose 4 starters and our 6th man & 8th man declare for NBA draft.

2 seed on reputation and respect alone.

Incredible, really.

These.

Zagger
05-17-2019, 12:07 AM
Absolutely more meaningless than most.

With one exception.

The fact that we're a two seed with most our team leaving is a testament to Mark Few and staff, and their ability to now field a team that will be top 10 near every year. That is what I am seeing. Recognition that Few and company are now at a level that the expectation, with recruits and transfers is that we'll have a team that is top 10, 15, or so, and I think that DOES mean something.

Yeppers. Helps that there are some good guys coming in too. Lots of time between now and November .... It’ll be fun to watch a slew of new Zags + see how those returning have improved. Should be a whole different flavor of Zags what with Rui, Brandon, Zach and Josh gone .... and likely 1-2 others.

MDABE80
05-17-2019, 01:03 AM
And I suppose you would be just as unenthused if we were a 10 seed? No. It’s earlyand you ant hang hour hat on ‘tis but it means we have a very good team coming up. Better than most of the nation.

Malastein
05-17-2019, 01:08 AM
If they were ranked as the number one team, I literally wouldn’t care at this point. There’s a lot of pieces to bring together at this point!

MickMick
05-17-2019, 04:59 AM
What is there? Something like 300+ players with the mindset that it is time to move on from college ball or their current team? This snapshot in time reflects that.

There are a heck of a lot of teams that are potentially in the rebuild/reload mode right now. The roster churn in modern college basketball is nothing short of breathtaking.

Any speculation at this particular time is based upon any given program's track record and certainly can't take rosters into account. The grad transfers haven't even all committed yet.

Now, more than ever, you have to take into account the teams that will retain the majority of their roster. Isn't SMC one of those? (even though I hate their transition to a dribble isolation offense)

Zagdawg
05-17-2019, 05:40 AM
College basketball rankings: Texas Tech jumps in early Top 25 And 1 after bringing in talented transfers

10
team logo GONZAGA

Coach: Mark Few

2018-19 record: 33-4

Notable players definitely gone: Brandon Clarke, Rui Hachimura, Zach Norvell, Josh Perkins, Geno Crandall, Jeremy Jones

Other expected departures: N/A

Notable players expected to return: Corey Kispert, Killian Tillie, Filip Petrusev, Joel Ayayi

Expected additions: Admon Gilder, Drew Timme, Anton Watson, Pavel Zakharov, Oumar Ballo, Martynas Arlauskas, Brock Ravet

https://www.cbssports.com/college-basketball/news/college-basketball-rankings-texas-tech-jumps-in-early-top-25-and-1-after-bringing-in-talented-transfers/

LongIslandZagFan
05-17-2019, 06:51 AM
Appreciate the confidence they have in Few and Co. but I think the youth of this team will slow the progression some. 20+ wins will happen... don't see 30 in the cards... don't see high 20s in the cards and I think that is what would be needed for a 2 seed. My gut says Zags drop 4 or so in OOC and probably 2 in conf. Ceiling is probably 5 or 6 seed. JMHO

EEzag
05-17-2019, 07:28 AM
I don't know. If our defense comes together (this will be a frustrating year for missed assignments) this team is going to be a lot of fun. 2 seed would be this teams ceiling though. Gut feeling says a 3 to 4 seed with some serious momentum. We drop 2 in the WCC, just too much talent vs. not enough.

SageOfZagville
05-17-2019, 03:04 PM
We are really going to miss Brandon's rim protection. I don't see anyone filling those shoes coming in. That being said, I'm excited to see the progress of this new young team. It might take 3/4 of the season before they start to gel offensively and defensively

IowaSERE
05-19-2019, 12:19 PM
A 2 seed would mean no more than 3 loses all season. Just don't see that happening

spike_jr
05-19-2019, 01:00 PM
A 2 seed would mean no more than 3 loses all season. Just don't see that happening

It would also mean that GU would be in Spokane the first weekend!

willandi
05-19-2019, 01:27 PM
A 2 seed would mean no more than 3 loses all season. Just don't see that happening

I tend to agree about no more than 3 losses part, but I do believe that 3-5 Gonzaga will have as good a front court as anyone in the country. The 1-2 will both be new players and will be a challenge and yet Admon will be a great defensive presence and Ravet should prove to be a scorer and passer. The addition of one more be all it takes to cement the guards. I also believe that, in his third year in the program, Ayayi will have learned both the offensive and defensive rotations and will be a surprise.

The question I ask you is, which teams in the NCAA will have 3 or fewer losses next year? I have seen a lot of player churn on all the top teams, and what Gonzaga is bringing in should be as good, and may be better than most of them.

IowaSERE
05-19-2019, 02:54 PM
I tend to agree about no more than 3 losses part, but I do believe that 3-5 Gonzaga will have as good a front court as anyone in the country. The 1-2 will both be new players and will be a challenge and yet Admon will be a great defensive presence and Ravet should prove to be a scorer and passer. The addition of one more be all it takes to cement the guards. I also believe that, in his third year in the program, Ayayi will have learned both the offensive and defensive rotations and will be a surprise.

The question I ask you is, which teams in the NCAA will have 3 or fewer losses next year? I have seen a lot of player churn on all the top teams, and what Gonzaga is bringing in should be as good, and may be better than most of them.

Most teams will have 3 or more losses, but they play in a power conference

willandi
05-19-2019, 02:56 PM
Most teams will have 3 or more losses, but they play in a power conference

They did last year too!

SunDevilGolfZag
05-19-2019, 05:17 PM
I wonder if people actually get paid a salary to do these ridiculous projections in May. I find it kind of humorous

Reborn
05-21-2019, 05:49 AM
I've always felt that Joe Lunardi does a pretty good job with his analyses. He's certainly been close to predicting Gonzaga's success over the last few years. I feel the same way about Gonzaga that Joe does. I think they're going to be really good next year. To see Gonzaga at number two in the West at this time of year really does make me happy, and I certainly like being happy. It also makes me excited for next year in a way that I might not be as excited if Lundardi has the Zags at number 8 or 9. I also like seeing St Mary's at 7. That's really cool and this will make our games with them more intense.

The Kool-aid is tasting good, but darn, where's the sunshine and heat? I'm getting tired of the rain.

Go Zags!!!

Bogozags
05-21-2019, 07:03 AM
IMO...I believe we seem to take BC & Rui somewhat for granted...they were both "freaks" (in a good way) in that we might never see the skill set those two had playing again in the same season...I don't believe we have any recruits coming in next year that can compare to those two...Next season is going to be a hope that we bend-but-don't-break kind of year...I trust in Few and want to believe we are the "fifth" best team in the latest bracketology but realistically, I see us as a solid Top-25 team, with the potential of having another SS season...NOW 2020 will be an entirely different outcome altogether...

Goshzagit
05-21-2019, 09:32 AM
A 2 seed is not in the works.

Flattering, yes, but we are reloading with freshman & somewhat inconsistent players.

If we make our 21st Tourney, it will an amazingly successful year imho.

Have an inkling we will absolutely need to win the WCC Tournament to punch our ticket.

With the development of our youth, we will be at our best by next February/March, so if we do make the Tourney, we could be a dangerous 9, 10, 11 seed type team. Maybe even Sweet 16 good.

All this could change, of course, IF Tillie returns. And we add another grad transfer guard.

maynard g krebs
05-21-2019, 10:06 AM
if we do make the Tourney, we could be a dangerous 9, 10, 11 seed type team.

9-11 seed works out to somewhere from 33-44 in the rankings. I'd bet the farm that the Zags finish at better than 32.

MDABE80
05-21-2019, 11:24 AM
The talent is there although not “Rui-Clarke” talent . We’ll have to see what happens after the OOC component. If Few finds a seasoned PG, were a top 10 team.’ Our top 4 scorers are gone . That can’t look good!! Soldier on fellas!

Reborn
05-21-2019, 03:44 PM
I see I'm in the minority opinion once again. It's been a long time, and it feels good.

Go Zags!!!

Zag365
05-21-2019, 06:11 PM
Absolutely more meaningless than most.

With one exception.

The fact that we're a two seed with most our team leaving is a testament to Mark Few and staff, and their ability to now field a team that will be top 10 near every year. That is what I am seeing. Recognition that Few and company are now at a level that the expectation, with recruits and transfers is that we'll have a team that is top 10, 15, or so, and I think that DOES mean something.

Agree Dixie. I know you took exception to my characterization of program as at "peak Zag," http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?64723-Peak-Zag&highlight=peak , but I think you've illustrated my point. The program is in a zone where it has earned a high level of respect, name recognition, average W/L, titles won, average ranking, player honors, NBA draftees, etc. because of its remarkably sustainability. I don't see how it can get any better. Again, not to say future Zags can't or won't occasionally achieve an individual or team honor greater than ones we've seen over the past two decades; but I think those achievements will be exceptions, not the norm. It is hard to see, IMHO, how the program as whole can elevate to a new level annually starting in 2020. What's left? It would take something like a FF every four years - repeatedly. The program's claim to fame will be its ability to play at an exceptional level for as long as it has given its previous anonymity, small size, non-power conference, limited budget, and other perceived limitations. As has been well-documented, we've outperformed many blue-blood programs in terms of year-after-year achievements during the Few era. I'm saying this to underscore why I appreciate each and every season and the phenomenal job of Coach Few, staff, and players keeping Gonzaga playing at a high level. I'm feeling good about 2019-20 for that reason. It is remarkable enough to see a re-load year after year let alone expect a higher floor than where the program is now (not that I would mind it).

LongIslandZagFan
05-21-2019, 06:43 PM
I see I'm in the minority opinion once again. It's been a long time, and it feels good.

Go Zags!!!

Look, I think that by March, the team will be clicking and could make a potentially deep run... I just think the seeding is going to be defined by the early season and with so many new faces, I think it will be choppy waters earlier on. That is why I see the ceiling around 5 or 6 seed... but they will likely be a very very dangerous 5 or 6.