PDA

View Full Version : Katz: Corey Kispert a rising star?



MDABE80
04-26-2019, 07:32 AM
https://www.ncaa.com/news/basketball-men/article/2019-04-25/11-rising-stars-watch-2019-20-mens-basketball-season

I tend to agree with him. Corey's got all the tools he needs to flourish on offense. Defense is coming along IMHO.

gonzagafan62
04-26-2019, 07:40 AM
Thanks for sharing. I too am going to put a lot of faith in Kispert.

LongIslandZagFan
04-26-2019, 08:09 AM
The skill set is there... he was asked to play a certain role the last couple of seasons... I think his time to shine is now here. We saw glimpses of it. Now he is one of the upper classmen on this team and needs to be a leader.

VaBeachZAG
04-26-2019, 08:59 AM
The skill set is there... he was asked to play a certain role the last couple of seasons... I think his time to shine is now here. We saw glimpses of it. Now he is one of the upper classmen on this team and needs to be a leader.

I am expecting a full blown Joe Harris clone out of Kispert next season!

Goshzagit
04-26-2019, 09:03 AM
He kinda has to be, literally the only starter left on the team.

Needs to be a rising star by default, or for us to make the NCAA, imo

TheBunnieRancher
04-26-2019, 11:03 AM
The Slipper Still Fits did a write up on Corey that included an observation that surprised me for all the flack Corey has take for his defense here. Apparently his efficiency rating was 93.7 compared to Norvell's 93.1. Several other of his stats compared quite favorably to Norvell as well. He just didn't have the touches. https://www.slipperstillfits.com/2019/4/24/18513896/gonzaga-basketball-corey-kispert

JPtheBeasta
04-26-2019, 11:30 AM
He rotated well on defense toward the end. He seems better at helping down toward the basket than closing out on shooters, but he made some good plays at the end of the season and in March.

Zagdawg
04-26-2019, 11:35 AM
As Corey works on staying with his outside shooter instead of over helping and reduces the late closeouts on his 3 pt shooters he will be fine-- I expect him to be able to do this pretty easily as he will be one of the leaders on the squad-- he has the offensive skills and he seems to be able to handle the leadership role from what I have noticed when he is on the bench and on the floor.

Will he and Zach be the two guys to lead the team to the promised land again -- I think they can.

scrooner
04-26-2019, 01:26 PM
Needs to stop trying to shoot 3s after sprinting sideways, but yes.

jazzdelmar
04-26-2019, 03:43 PM
Get those feet set. Nice to have him back. Loyalty works both ways.

GrizZAG
04-26-2019, 05:49 PM
Works his tail off on the floor. His polish will show up.

GoZags
04-27-2019, 07:05 AM
He kinda has to be, literally the only starter left on the team.

Needs to be a rising star by default, or for us to make the NCAA, imo

Who has told you that Zach and Killian are 100 percent gone for next year?

raise the zag
04-27-2019, 07:07 AM
Who has told you that Zach and Killian are 100 percent gone for next year?

In a way, they have; however, there is a chance both return. Slim, but still a chance.

As it stands right now, Kispert is the only starter guaranteed for next season.

Trust me, I've been telling myself the former over and over...

jazzdelmar
04-27-2019, 08:56 AM
Love to have Tils back.

JPtheBeasta
04-27-2019, 09:37 AM
Love to have Tils back.

+1

GoZags
04-27-2019, 12:12 PM
Love to have Tils back.

We'll know when we know ... but I 100 percent agree with you. Love to have Tils back.

GonzagasaurusFlex
04-27-2019, 12:48 PM
https://www.ncaa.com/news/basketball-men/article/2019-04-25/11-rising-stars-watch-2019-20-mens-basketball-season

I tend to agree with him. Corey's got all the tools he needs to flourish on offense. Defense is coming along IMHO.

Tighter handles and improvement driving to the hoop and scoring through contact are additional tools he needs to develop to really flourish on offense. Looking forward to seeing him show off those skills next season!