PDA

View Full Version : Rothstein: Brandon declares



IMADEYOUREADTHIS
04-17-2019, 10:53 AM
Link (https://mobile.twitter.com/JonRothstein/status/1118586543759921153)

Radbooks
04-17-2019, 10:54 AM
All over Twitter:



Jim Meehan
‏ @SRJimm
8m8 minutes ago

Gonzaga junior forward Brandon Clarke declares for the NBA Draft. Frontcourt teammate Rui Hachimura declared Monday.



Jim Meehan
‏ @SRJimm
2m2 minutes ago

Per GU release, Clarke hasn't made final decision on whether he'll keep name in draft. He can sign with an agent and go through the draft process but has to cut ties with agent by May 29 if he plans to return for senior season.



Sam Vecenie
‏Verified account @Sam_Vecenie
8m8 minutes ago

Sam Vecenie Retweeted Gonzaga Basketball

Not a surprise. Brandon was one of the five best players in college basketball this season. Elite, elite level defender.

Spike#1
04-17-2019, 11:08 AM
Gonzaga Men's Basketball
8 mins ∑
News from our guy Brandon Clarke!
��: https://goza.gs/2Duh5wP
Image may contain: 3 people, people playing sports

Vanzagger
04-17-2019, 11:10 AM
Unbelievable 2 years. Thx Brandon

Malastein
04-17-2019, 11:12 AM
Thank you Brandon! This team was special in large part because of you!

Zagdawg
04-17-2019, 11:21 AM
Thank you and we are happy to have you as part of the family.

zagsfanforlife
04-17-2019, 11:22 AM
Man will i miss BC.

Selfishly NWG and BC are two guys that i wish i got to see more than 1 year in a zags uni. They are so special that we only got to see them 1 year. Thanks for the awesome memories you gave us this year BC. Once a Zag, always a zag.

caldwellzag
04-17-2019, 11:29 AM
Brandon Clarke very easily became one of my favorite all time Zags. Wish him the best and should easily be a top 20 pick!

EEzag
04-17-2019, 11:37 AM
awesome. Congrats BC!

LongIslandZagFan
04-17-2019, 11:44 AM
Good luck BC... make us Zag fans proud!

primal23
04-17-2019, 11:45 AM
Thank you Brandon! Go become a block machine in the NBA!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

gonstu
04-17-2019, 11:49 AM
Surprised that it notes he hasn't decided whether he'll keep his name in the draft.

katman50
04-17-2019, 11:55 AM
Serious question. Who goes higher? Brandon or Rui? I realize the mock drafts are all over the map, as regards the two and their draft predictions.

ZagMan in Philly
04-17-2019, 12:08 PM
Good luck Brandon, you will be a force in the NBA. Zag Nation is proud of your accomplishments.

sittingon50
04-17-2019, 12:24 PM
Only one year in Zag uni, but it bordered on Beamonesque.

Best of luck BC & thank you.

Malastein
04-17-2019, 12:37 PM
A year in the Olynyk Clinic did him quite well! He’ll be a good NBA player, and is already praising the Zags staff. Stuff like this is why recruiting will only improve! Amazing what he did in 1 year on the court and 1 year in a redshirt!

Ezag
04-17-2019, 12:49 PM
1 year = Zag for Life! Good luck in the NBA B.C.!

MDABE80
04-17-2019, 01:16 PM
The dying of the light for me...…...did a massively superior job. Well done Brandon! Some hope he rethinks this..doubt it. He's just too strong.

webspinnre
04-17-2019, 02:17 PM
The only thing I'm sad about is that we only got to see him play for one year. But what a year it was! Best wishes at the next level.

Zagceo
04-17-2019, 02:23 PM
Good Luck!

Record setting Zag moves on to NBA

Thanks for the memories

GonzaGAW
04-17-2019, 02:33 PM
- well this will put to rest...the 2 or 3 posters who still thought he might return.

- in my memory, the best 'one and done' single season ever!

- thanks Brandon, no way you can ever be forgotten, and will always be loved.......best wishes always

MickMick
04-17-2019, 02:54 PM
My favorite Zag ever to watch.

That is very high praise considering the great players that have come down the pike.

GonzagasaurusFlex
04-17-2019, 05:20 PM
Surprised that it notes he hasn't decided whether he'll keep his name in the draft.

As much as Brandon Clarke could help the Zags next season, I think his draft stock can only diminish coming off one of the all time great seasons stat wise an NCAA player has ever had. It was the perfect storm of a season for BC w a veteran PG who could get him the ball in great spots and a fellow stud post player who protected him from getting double teamed. I hope he parlays his hard work into a well deserved top 15 draft spot. Thatís my guess where he gets picked this year; I donít think another year of college ball can improve much more on that... but it sure could do the opposite.

sylean
04-17-2019, 08:18 PM
my favorite too...maybe forever.....remember the movie "a river runs thru it"?.....the father made a comment about his son saying "he was beautiful"....

.

Brandon was a beautiful breathtaking bb player and seems to be a beautiful individual as well...

thx for the memories.....

JPtheBeasta
04-17-2019, 09:36 PM
He's one of those suberb players that I will be comparing every future player to at his position. He was a winner, too, and seemed humble in his interviews. There has been nobody quite like him here and he was such a joy to watch. I remember hearing about him here during his redshirt year and he seemed like someone who was going to be able to rebound and play some defense... was that ever an understated idea in my mind. Although his wasn't the most accomplished GU team, his was the most exciting team to watch, and he was a huge part of that.

CB4
04-17-2019, 10:28 PM
Brandon Clarke was mature beyond his years. He's humble. He's confident in a very traditional and cool kind of way and he's a professional. He's got a great sense of self esteem. He's a winner. I think he's going to have a long NBA career.

Zagger
04-18-2019, 04:28 AM
http://www.fowlplaces.com/zags/bc.png !!!!!!! ... Block City!

Zagsker
04-18-2019, 07:17 AM
I expect Tillie to announce tomorrow

Grand Valley Zag
04-18-2019, 07:25 AM
I expect Tillie to announce tomorrow

Me too.

NotoriousZ
04-18-2019, 08:49 AM
Serious question. Who goes higher? Brandon or Rui? I realize the mock drafts are all over the map, as regards the two and their draft predictions.

I know who I would take. Best. Athlete. Ever.

Both should find their place in the NBA, but we havenít seen the best version of Rui yet. Brandon will be ready from day one.

SorenTodd45
04-29-2019, 02:55 PM
The latest mock draft from CBS Sports (Kyle Boone sportswriter) has Brandon going at pick #9. This is the highest I have seen BC projected to be drafted.

gonstu
04-29-2019, 02:58 PM
The latest mock draft from CBS Sports (Kyle Boone sportswriter) has Brandon going at pick #9. This is the highest I have seen BC projected to be drafted.

As much as I wanted him to come back, it should at least help the staff show off what they can do during the transfer sit out year. Lots of development happening at GU.

ZagNative
04-29-2019, 03:21 PM
Brandon and Killian sign with Mark Bartelstein/Andy Shiffman/Priority Sports:

NBA Draft God
‏ @NBADraftGod

Solid NBA Draft prospect signing period by Mark Bartelstein/Andy Shiffman/Priority Sports: Bruno Fernando (Maryland), Brandon Clarke + Killian Tillie (Gonzaga), Dylan Windler (Belmont), Jontay Porter (Missouri), Ethan Happ (Wisconsin), Ty Jerome (Virginia), Isaiah Roby (Nebraska)
9:02 AM - 29 Apr 2019

Rui's Agent team is Jason Ranne and Darren Matsubara of Wasserman.

Zach is signed with Adam Pensack.

Zagger
04-29-2019, 04:46 PM
Man! What a bunch of great Zags. Looks like I might have to start watching NBA games (been only a college BB fan).
Good luck GUers!

MileHigh
04-30-2019, 05:10 AM
Rui's Agent team is Jason Ranne and Darren Matsubara of Wasserman.



Wasserman agency has a pretty good Gonzaga connection. Sabonis and NWG were also signed with Wasserman when they came out. Josh is signed with Wasserman a well

ZagaZags
04-30-2019, 08:25 PM
Wasserman agency has a pretty good Gonzaga connection. Sabonis and NWG were also signed with Wasserman when they came out. Josh is signed with Wasserman a well

I wish Gonzaga could put the franchise tag on Josh. Really going to miss that character.

GonzagasaurusFlex
05-04-2019, 04:03 PM
After watching Celtics lose game 3 to Bucks, I’m convinced Brandon Clarke is exactly the player they need. A defensive stud who takes pride in his D, doesn’t need plays run for him and physically mature enough to contribute right away. No idea what # draft pick(s) Celtics have but Clarke can help them.

ZagNut08
05-07-2019, 10:14 AM
While a few inches shorter, I see a lot of Clint Capela in him - tough nosed defender that knows his role and fills a very important roll on a high powered offensive team. If he can get with the right team, he has a bright future ahead.

GonzagasaurusFlex
05-07-2019, 12:09 PM
After watching Celtics lose game 4 to Bucks...


After watching Celtics lose game 3 to Bucks, I’m convinced Brandon Clarke is exactly the player they need. A defensive stud who takes pride in his D, doesn’t need plays run for him and physically mature enough to contribute right away. No idea what # draft pick(s) Celtics have but Clarke can help them.

Zagdawg
05-12-2019, 01:34 PM
Brandon Clarke


@brandonclarke23
27m27 minutes ago
More
Beyond blessed for the people that have sacrificed for me to get here. Happy to say I’ve graduated from Gonzaga with my degree in Business Administration with concentration in entrepreneurship. Only gets better from here.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BxYIA1xhQAI/?utm_source=ig_twitter_share&igshid=whp1tbnwnlu

webspinnre
05-12-2019, 01:39 PM
Brandon Clarke


@brandonclarke23
27m27 minutes ago
More
Beyond blessed for the people that have sacrificed for me to get here. Happy to say I’ve graduated from Gonzaga with my degree in Business Administration with concentration in…

https://www.instagram.com/p/BxYIA1xhQAI/?utm_source=ig_twitter_share&igshid=whp1tbnwnlu

Love it!

sittingon50
05-12-2019, 02:06 PM
Congrats BC.

ZagNative
05-12-2019, 06:57 PM
What a treat that guy has been!

https://screenshotscdn.firefoxusercontent.com/images/07f85fc7-6a85-4608-9ca3-869b7193b0d7.png

Zaglaw
05-12-2019, 08:47 PM
Congrats, Brandon! Proud to call you a fellow alum.

MDABE80
05-12-2019, 09:09 PM
We struck it rich with him and so did he with Gonzaga. Always the best to him!

ZagNative
05-12-2019, 09:57 PM
His parents are super cool as well. I loved this interview with them: https://www.krem.com/article/sports/gonzaga/whenever-you-fly-i-smile-brandon-clarkes-parents-take-in-his-meteoric-rise/293-c349ff45-0445-4a5c-94fd-c6efe8674e62

zaguarxj
05-13-2019, 11:29 AM
Brandon Clarke


@brandonclarke23
27m27 minutes ago
More
Beyond blessed for the people that have sacrificed for me to get here. Happy to say I’ve graduated from Gonzaga with my degree in Business Administration with concentration in entrepreneurship. Only gets better from here.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BxYIA1xhQAI/?utm_source=ig_twitter_share&igshid=whp1tbnwnlu


Awesome. I think Few actually means it when he says that great character is as important as great ability for Zag recruiting. All you need for proof is to watch and listen to the players who come through the program. I'm proud to have every single one of them represent the Zags.

LTownZag
05-13-2019, 11:43 AM
His parents are super cool as well. I loved this interview with them: https://www.krem.com/article/sports/gonzaga/whenever-you-fly-i-smile-brandon-clarkes-parents-take-in-his-meteoric-rise/293-c349ff45-0445-4a5c-94fd-c6efe8674e62

I liked his mom's Canadian accent.

Brandon has a good voice for radio/broadcast as well. Maybe he'll be in the booth one day.

Zagdawg
05-15-2019, 10:18 AM
Jonathan Givony

Verified account

@DraftExpress
1m1 minute ago
More
Gonzaga's Brandon Clarke official measurements at the NBA Combine: 6'8 1/4 with shoes, 207 pounds, 6'8 1/4 wingspan, 8'6 standing reach, 4.9% body fat.

raise the zag
05-15-2019, 11:46 AM
Jonathan Givony

Verified account

@DraftExpress
1m1 minute ago
More
Gonzaga's Brandon Clarke official measurements at the NBA Combine: 6'8 1/4 with shoes, 207 pounds, 6'8 1/4 wingspan, 8'6 standing reach, 4.9% body fat.

207 lbs? Wow, he looks like he weighs much more than that, given how strong he plays & obvious muscle mass. Surprising imo.

Bogozags
05-16-2019, 09:29 AM
His parents are super cool as well. I loved this interview with them: https://www.krem.com/article/sports/gonzaga/whenever-you-fly-i-smile-brandon-clarkes-parents-take-in-his-meteoric-rise/293-c349ff45-0445-4a5c-94fd-c6efe8674e62

ZN thanks for posting this!!!

Grand Valley Zag
05-16-2019, 11:48 AM
Jonathan Givony

Verified account

@DraftExpress
1m1 minute ago
More
Gonzaga's Brandon Clarke official measurements at the NBA Combine: 6'8 1/4 with shoes, 207 pounds, 6'8 1/4 wingspan, 8'6 standing reach, 4.9% body fat.

I'm so fat.

ZagNative
05-16-2019, 12:25 PM
From twitter:

Jonathan Givony
‏Verified account @DraftExpress
55m55 minutes ago

Followup to our Brandon Clarke measurements discussion. No surprise who is leading the pack early in the vertical leap testing. Both running and standing. The Gonzaga product is an elite athlete and is blessed with incredible timing as a shot blocker.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D6tkH5bX4AAoD43.jpg

Zagdawg
05-16-2019, 12:44 PM
Minnesota has pick #11

Dane Moore


@DaneMooreNBA
14m14 minutes ago
More
Brandon Clarke met with the Timberwolves today in what he described as a “really, really good talk.”

Clarke also said, “obviously I think I would love playing with KAT.”

In mid-June, Clarke will be coming to Minneapolis to work out with the Wolves.


Dane Moore


@DaneMooreNBA
8m8 minutes ago
More
Brandon Clarke also — as it currently stands — has posted the highest vertical leap (40.5 inches), the fastest lane agility time (10.61 seconds) and the second fastest shuttle run time (3.54 seconds).

FlyZag
05-16-2019, 12:45 PM
6-8 wingspan, w 6-8 ht... = NOT GOOD. There are Guards with better than a 6-8 wingspan. BC might slip into 2nd rd.

Hoopaholic
05-16-2019, 12:45 PM
6-8 wingspan, w 6-8 ht... = NOT GOOD. There are Guards with better than a 6-8 wingspan. BC might slip into 2nd rd.

no way does he slip to second round

kitzbuel
05-16-2019, 12:46 PM
I liked his mom's Canadian accent.

Brandon has a good voice for radio/broadcast as well. Maybe he'll be in the booth one day.Every time he is interviewed I look up to see if James Earl Jones is talking.

Sent from my XT1710-02 using Tapatalk

FlyZag
05-16-2019, 12:59 PM
no way does he slip to second round

I think BC is a fantastic player and the tape/game action should speak for itself. BUT we've seen so often that teams draft on potential and measurables instead of results.

BC is not a shooter so he can't play the 3. He's an undersized 4/5. There really isn't a comparable NBA player out there. His standing reach is extremely small for that position. He got by at GU with quickness, timing and athleticism. In the NBA, it might work.. it might not. So the question becomes, does a team use a FIRST rd pick on a player that literally has no comparable player in the league. I see it similar to Russell Wilson of the Seahawks. He had no comparable player because of his measurables so he slid to round 3. First round talent, but his height made him slide. Same could happen to BC.

Zagdawg
05-16-2019, 01:06 PM
Is there a comparable player to Zion in the league currently? I wonder if his stock drops because there is no one comparable?


I think that Brandon has the skills, athleticism and makeup to go in the first round.

MileHigh
05-16-2019, 01:13 PM
I think BC is a fantastic player and the tape/game action should speak for itself. BUT we've seen so often that teams draft on potential and measurables instead of results.

BC is not a shooter so he can't play the 3. He's an undersized 4/5. There really isn't a comparable NBA player out there. His standing reach is extremely small for that position. He got by at GU with quickness, timing and athleticism. In the NBA, it might work.. it might not. So the question becomes, does a team use a FIRST rd pick on a player that literally has no comparable player in the league. I see it similar to Russell Wilson of the Seahawks. He had no comparable player because of his measurables so he slid to round 3. First round talent, but his height made him slide. Same could happen to BC.

I think a comparable player is Montrez Harrell with the Clippers. Undersized 6-8/6-9 center that plays big minutes because of his motor and leaping ability.

FlyZag
05-16-2019, 01:14 PM
Is there a comparable player to Zion in the league currently?

Unfortunately, we don't get to see Zions measurables today so we don't know. That is the advantage of skipping this process as a projected lottery pick.

FlyZag
05-16-2019, 01:17 PM
I think a comparable player is Montrez Harrell with the Clippers. Undersized 6-8/6-9 center that plays big minutes because of his motor and leaping ability.

A player drafted in the SECOND round. also has a HUGE wingspan.

Harrell measured only 6'7 without shoes, but compensated with a huge 7'4.25 wingspan. Harrell's wingspan to height differential is a ridiculous 9.25 inches. His 253 pound frame for his length and explosiveness puts him in a somewhat unique group body-type wise. He's essentially a bigger version of Ike Diogu who measured 6'6.5 without shoes with a 7'3.5 wingspan and a 255 pound frame. - Source: http://www.draftexpress.com/profile/Montrezl-Harrell-7019/ ©DraftExpress

Zagdawg
05-16-2019, 01:22 PM
I think Clarke is going in the first round --- fly-- let me know if you want to make a friendly wager if you think he is dropping into the 2nd round due to his measurements.

FlyZag
05-16-2019, 01:28 PM
I think Clarke is going in the first round --- fly-- let me know if you want to make a friendly wager if you think he is dropping into the 2nd round due to his measurements.

Go re-read my post. I said *might*. I think he's first round talent. He's shown that. I've seen it in game action with my own eyes. HOWEVER, I also have a brain. With his measurables being released today, it was shocking. It is VERY rare for an NBA player to have a wingspan not exceed his height. ESPECIALLY for an already undersized post. I think this *MIGHT* hurt his draft stock. At one point he was looking like a lottery pick. With those measurables I find it hard to believe he will go any higher than late first. Second rd seeming more and more possible.

Zagdawg
05-16-2019, 01:30 PM
Have you been paying attention to how he is doing in the skills testing?

Zagdawg
05-16-2019, 01:34 PM
Best lane agility time:

Player Position Time (seconds)
Brandon Clarke SF 10.61
Devon Dotson PG 10.63
Terence Davis SG 10.69
Jaylen Nowell SG 10.76
Kevin Porter Jr. SG 10.82


Player Position Max vertical leap (inches)
Brandon Clarke SF 40.5
Devon Dotson PG 38.5
Nassir Little SF 38.5
Jaylen Nowell SG 38.5
Eric Paschall SF 38.0
Charles Matthews SG 37.5
KZ Okpala SF 37.0
Shamorie Ponds PG 37.0
Brian Bowen II SF 35.5
Jaxson Hayes PF 34.5
Terence Davis SG 34.0

FlyZag
05-16-2019, 01:34 PM
Have you been paying attention to how he is doing in the skills testing?

I have, he's killing it. but watch this it's not just me

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4K9nM3L5xns

stretch
05-16-2019, 02:16 PM
I have, he's killing it. but watch this it's not just me

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4K9nM3L5xns

The Combine measurements were not good news for Brandon according to Jonathan Givony.

gonstu
05-16-2019, 02:27 PM
At this point, his best bet might be to come back to GU for a year to work on that wingspan.

Zagdawg
05-16-2019, 02:32 PM
Maybe if he comes back he can improve his efficiency ranking also --- maybe even get to #1

Player Efficiency Rating Leaders - Top 100 Qualified
RK PLAYER GP MPG AST TO USG ORR DRR REBR PER
1 Zion Williamson, DUKE 29 29.1 10.7 11.7 23.7 11.5 18.0 14.8 42.55
2 Brandon Clarke, GONZ 33 27.6 12.3 9.4 18.9 11.5 20.0 15.7 37.73

http://insider.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/hollinger/statistics

phxfireflames
05-16-2019, 03:17 PM
Maybe if he comes back he can improve his efficiency ranking also --- maybe even get to #1

Player Efficiency Rating Leaders - Top 100 Qualified
RK PLAYER GP MPG AST TO USG ORR DRR REBR PER
1 Zion Williamson, DUKE 29 29.1 10.7 11.7 23.7 11.5 18.0 14.8 42.55
2 Brandon Clarke, GONZ 33 27.6 12.3 9.4 18.9 11.5 20.0 15.7 37.73

http://insider.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/hollinger/statistics

There is an opening for the PG position, so maybe BC can bump those assists #'s up.

OntZags
05-16-2019, 03:45 PM
At this point, his best bet might be to come back to GU for a year to work on that wingspan.

Get the wingspan stretcher.

maynard g krebs
05-16-2019, 03:47 PM
6-8 wingspan, w 6-8 ht... = NOT GOOD. There are Guards with better than a 6-8 wingspan. BC might slip into 2nd rd.

Wingspan might have become the most overrated stat there is. And I'd bet that this is not a sudden new revelation, but something known all along and factored into his current projections.

OntZags
05-16-2019, 03:57 PM
Wingspan might have become the most overrated stat there is. And I'd bet that this is not a sudden new revelation, but something known all along and factored into his current projections.

While I agree that wingspan can definitely be overrated and sometimes you just have to look at the results. Like what can they actually do. Footwork, timing, bbiq etc. etc. are also so important.

But wingspan is still way more important than height. How high your head sits is way less important than how far your arms extend.

willandi
05-16-2019, 04:05 PM
6-8 wingspan, w 6-8 ht... = NOT GOOD. There are Guards with better than a 6-8 wingspan. BC might slip into 2nd rd.

I have read what you have written, what was are the reasons behind what you are saying?

I would imagine that a NBA GM could look at a player and tell you within 1/2" of what his height and wingspan are. That is their job. The combine just confirms it. Gonzaga has had virtually every game televised, and they, if they were doing due diligence, have watched what the on-air pundits have been saying is one of the top players in the NCAA, especially after beating Duke.

What makes you believe that you would know more than them, or that, seeing the actual numbers, they would suddenly ignore a years worth of work and pass based on 1'2" or so?

maynard g krebs
05-16-2019, 04:13 PM
But wingspan is still way more important than height. How high your head sits is way less important than how far your arms extend.

I'd agree that standing reach is more impt that height. My point was that reach/wingspan have become overrated as an evaluation tool, relative to skill level, understanding of positioning, anticipation, motor, speed/quickness, desire, love of the game and the other intangibles that usually set good players apart.

Clarke is high on all those elements, and I don't think there's any remote chance that having average arm length is gonna drop him to the 2nd. He's not T Rex.

willandi
05-16-2019, 04:16 PM
I have read what you have written, what was are the reasons behind what you are saying?

I would imagine that a NBA GM could look at a player and tell you within 1/2" of what his height and wingspan are. That is their job. The combine just confirms it. Gonzaga has had virtually every game televised, and they, if they were doing due diligence, have watched what the on-air pundits have been saying is one of the top players in the NCAA, especially after beating Duke.

What makes you believe that you would know more than them, or that, seeing the actual numbers, they would suddenly ignore a years worth of work and pass based on 1'2" or so?

Not meaning to be harsh or rag on you. I read all of what you wrote and thought about it for an hour or so, and just want to know what your reasoning is, if it even goes beyond just height and wingspan.

JPtheBeasta
05-16-2019, 04:32 PM
Clarke is a quick leaper and has such fantastic timing. He might actually be able to defend a James Harden step back (if this is possible). A team like Golden State with an aging Andre Iguodala could probably use him.

sylean
05-16-2019, 04:42 PM
Brandon will continue to excel and as he has done many times, will put his critics and those that doubt him to shame ..

Zagdawg
05-16-2019, 05:00 PM
https://twitter.com/AleCozz1/status/1129122195022712838


https://twitter.com/jackfrank_jjf/status/1129123281334722560

webspinnre
05-16-2019, 08:40 PM
At this point, his best bet might be to come back to GU for a year to work on that wingspan.


https://memegenerator.net/img/instances/33538147/make-it-so.jpg

MileHigh
05-17-2019, 05:19 AM
I'd agree that standing reach is more impt that height. My point was that reach/wingspan have become overrated as an evaluation tool, relative to skill level, understanding of positioning, anticipation, motor, speed/quickness, desire, love of the game and the other intangibles that usually set good players apart.

Clarke is high on all those elements, and I don't think there's any remote chance that having average arm length is gonna drop him to the 2nd. He's not T Rex.

I am not sure how you can say wing span is "overrated" since it is really just just another physical factor that folks use to evaluate (along with height and weight). Obviously in a a sport where reaching over people and around people to grab and deflect the ball is important, long arms are better than short arms, and that everyone agrees upon. At every level of basketball coaches covet "long" players (i.e. long arms) but beyond that I don't think anyone has ever considered arm length more important than ones ability to play the game.

JPtheBeasta
05-17-2019, 05:50 AM
That's a funny post about coming back to school to work on his wingspan. I can't believe I missed it the first time.

I suppose that some GMs have criteria (like wingspan) that one must meet initially to even be a consideration for drafting, like school prerequisites or job requirements that, when lacking, result in automatic disqualification.

I doubt Brandon Clarke drops too far because of it because his leaping and agility are elite. I think his biggest negative is that he is somewhat of a tweener, and the NBA loves big men who can shoot; but I think he can develop a better outside shot with more practice, given that he already improved quite a bit in this area during his redshirt year.

Bogozags
05-17-2019, 06:15 AM
That's a funny post about coming back to school to work on his wingspan. I can't believe I missed it the first time.

I suppose that some GMs have criteria (like wingspan) that one must meet initially to even be a consideration for drafting, like school prerequisites or job requirements that, when lacking, result in automatic disqualification.

I doubt Brandon Clarke drops too far because of it because his leaping and agility are elite. I think his biggest negative is that he is somewhat of a tweener, and the NBA loves big men who can shoot; but I think he can develop a better outside shot with more practice, given that he already improved quite a bit in this area during his redshirt year.


Do we think Brandon can guard SF’s? Evans’s that would be the obvious miss match.

willandi
05-17-2019, 06:25 AM
Do we think Brandon can guard SF’s? Evans’s that would be the obvious miss match.

He had the quickest foot speed in the shuttle among small forwards...so yes. With his foot speed and jumping ability, he could guard small forwards.

It is his outside shooting that is his weakness, and as JPtB pointed out, he improved massively in his redshirt year.

Maybe the Thunder will draft him and position him on the 3 pt line so Westbrook can drive the lane, just like they did with Sabonis! Learn to shoot the 3 or go away. THEN when a different team uses his strengths, the 3 point can be shot enough to keep teams honest.

FlyZag
05-17-2019, 06:43 AM
Not meaning to be harsh or rag on you. I read all of what you wrote and thought about it for an hour or so, and just want to know what your reasoning is, if it even goes beyond just height and wingspan.

BC is listed as a SF in the NBA. Defensively, I don't see him having a problem. I think he has the foot speed and quickness to guard the 3 position. He showed some of it on ball screen defensive switching at GU. Offensively, is where I think teams might pause. He is really limited to driving and finishing at the rim. In time, I believe he will develop his jump shot and be a fine player. But the question was... does an NBA team risk a mid-first round pick on a player that currently hasn't shown he can play the 3 in games. Now I understand today's NBA of "positionless" basketball that may not be as big of a factor... and it only takes ONE team to take a chance. But my entire point was that his wingspan and standing height were quite a bit shorter than people were expecting. That data might have him dropping from lottery to the back of round 1 or even into round 2.

He's a unique player without a comparable out there. He played exclusively the 4/5 in college and made up for his undersize with quickness/timing. He was brilliant. But will a team risk a high to mid 1st rd pick on that kind of player? I think it was a tough ask BEFORE his measurements came in. Despite the passion this board shows towards BC... wingspan and standing reach matter. In just a few weeks we will see how much it matters. IMO, there isn't any chance BC goes to a lottery team. I think he falls to late first... early second rd. Not because of talent. Not because he's a bad player. Not because of off the court issues... simply because 1) he hasn't played the SF position hasn't shown he can shoot/dribble like a SF.. and 2) he would have one of the shortest standing reaches/wingspans for any player at his height and position in the NBA. Given those two factors, it would be hard for a team to take BC high in the draft.

That doesn't mean he won't be a beast and dominate the NBA. Draymond Green was selected in the second round.

willandi
05-17-2019, 06:47 AM
BC is listed as a SF in the NBA. Defensively, I don't see him having a problem. I think he has the foot speed and quickness to guard the 3 position. He showed some of it on ball screen defensive switching at GU. Offensively, is where I think teams might pause. He is really limited to driving and finishing at the rim. In time, I believe he will develop his jump shot and be a fine player. But the question was... does an NBA team risk a mid-first round pick on a player that currently hasn't shown he can play the 3 in games. Now I understand today's NBA of "positionless" basketball that may not be as big of a factor... and it only takes ONE team to take a chance. But my entire point was that his wingspan and standing height were quite a bit shorter than people were expecting. That data might have him dropping from lottery to the back of round 1 or even into round 2.

He's a unique player without a comparable out there. He played exclusively the 4/5 in college and made up for his undersize with quickness/timing. He was brilliant. But will a team risk a high to mid 1st rd pick on that kind of player? I think it was a tough ask BEFORE his measurements came in. Despite the passion this board shows towards BC... wingspan and standing reach matter. In just a few weeks we will see how much it matters. IMO, there isn't any chance BC goes to a lottery team. I think he falls to late first... early second rd. Not because of talent. Not because he's a bad player. Not because of off the court issues... simply because 1) he hasn't played the SF position hasn't shown he can shoot/dribble like a SF.. and 2) he would have one of the shortest standing reaches/wingspans for any player at his height and position in the NBA. Given those two factors, it would be hard for a team to take BC high in the draft.

That doesn't mean he won't be a beast and dominate the NBA. Draymond Green was selected in the second round.

Thank you for the answer. I just disagree.

I believe he will be a first rounder and probably a lottery pick.

I also believe that most NBA GM's knew pretty close what his measurements are, after meeting him and before the tale of the tape.

It is their job to be able to assess a player quickly and not to have to ask "How tall are you and how long are your arms when you reach out to shake my hand?"

JPtheBeasta
05-17-2019, 07:10 AM
The NBA has gone small and the old school center has gone away. He can guard 4’s in the league. He mostly needs to be able to switch screens and close out on people. He has as good a shot as any against Durant, Harden, Leonard and the Freak (bigger guys who score it). I think he will be a defensive specialist until he improves his shot.

ZagsObserver
05-17-2019, 07:11 AM
I doubt the measurements came as a big surprise to those making these sort of decisions. I see him between 12-23. I’d be surprised if he didn’t fall within this range. Rui likely falls within a similar range.

FlyZag
05-17-2019, 07:21 AM
Thank you for the answer. I just disagree.

I believe he will be a first rounder and probably a lottery pick.

I also believe that most NBA GM's knew pretty close what his measurements are, after meeting him and before the tale of the tape.

It is their job to be able to assess a player quickly and not to have to ask "How tall are you and how long are your arms when you reach out to shake my hand?"

Well, FWIW, I also predicted Zach Collins would be a flop in the NBA. so there is that. I'm just a knuckleheaded keyboard warrior. Go Zags.

JPtheBeasta
05-17-2019, 07:26 AM
Well, FWIW, I also predicted Zach Collins would be a flop in the NBA. so there is that. I'm just a knuckleheaded keyboard warrior. Go Zags.

I will add a similar caveat. I never am good at predicting NBA draft choices and have thought a lot of Zags were NBA-bound when they weren’t.

Kong-Kool-Aid
05-17-2019, 07:35 AM
https://www.brightsideofthesun.com/2019/5/17/18628642/anything-possible-brandon-clarke-gonzaga-2019-nba-draft-phoenix-suns

Good read.

JPtheBeasta
05-17-2019, 07:50 AM
(On 3-point shooting)

“I didn’t really feel like I had to for the team,” he said, “but with that being said, that’s what NBA teams need, so I’ve been shooting a lot these past couple months.”

Nice team first guy.

Zagdawg
05-17-2019, 08:13 AM
Jim Meehan


@SRJimm
3m3 minutes ago
More Jim Meehan Retweeted Hoops Rumors
Clarke has workouts scheduled with Minnesota, Charlotte, Miami and Boston. Those teams draft, in order, 11, 12, 13 and 14.

Brandon Clarke (Gonzaga) met with the Timberwolves today and the forward feels like they had a “really, really good talk,” as Dane Moore of Zone Coverage tweets. “Obviously, I think I would love playing with KAT,” Clarke said. The 22-year-old will work out for Minnesota in June.

Clarke’s first workout will be with the Hornets and Rick Bonnell of the Charlotte Observer reports that the team “clearly” has interest in him. Clarke, who met with Charlotte during the combine, will also meet with the Suns, per Gina Mizell of The Athletic.

Gary Washburn of the Boston Globe tweets that Clarke will work out for the Celtics. The forward also has a workout set up with the Heat, per Ira Winderman of the Sun Sentinel.

https://www.hoopsrumors.com/2019/05/draft-notes-reddish-clarke-paschall.html

webspinnre
05-17-2019, 08:18 AM
I think Brandon will play more 4 than 3 in the NBA, but be able to switch better than most 4s.

Mojo13
05-17-2019, 08:22 AM
Wingspan matters, but it is only one of many, many factors being evaluated. Here are some tidbits to think about:

Clarke's 10.61 lane is faster than all but approx.4 guys in any given year. Faster than Lonnie Walker and Kevin Huerter last year. Since 2010, here are the bigs to have a sub 10.65 lane agility

JaMychal Green
Quincy Acy
Jordan Bell
Brandon Clarke

Let's compare to one of the most athletic guards in the NBA (at one time).
Brandon Clarke, 2019
10.61 Lane
34.0 standing vert
40.0 max vert

John Wall, 2010
10.84 Lane
30.0 standing vert
39.0 max vert

Clarke just had the same standing vert as Kelly Oubre and the same lane agility as Kentavious Caldwell-Pope. Fun thing about the two of them is they aren't Centers. In 2018-19, he became the first Division 1 player in over 25 years to average at least 16 points and three blocks per game, while shooting over 65% from the field. And we can never forget Brandon Clarke also had exactly 117 blocks and 117 missed field goals during his lone season at Gonzaga, which is patently absurd. His timing, defensive anticipation, agility, vertical elevation speed, and 2nd bounce speed/vert are elite but really have no measurement for.

He is a very unique player and I don't think any of us really know how he fits in the NBA - but I can tell you it is going to be very exciting to watch and find out.

People laughed when we said he was a lottery pick back in December ....laughed even harder when we said he had top 10 potential back in Feb. Cripes - he could still end up in the 20s as we keep hearing he is a very polarizing prospects for GMs - but I won't be surprised if he goes in the 4-8 range at this point (many mocks have him 9-12). All it takes is one visionary GM who thinks they can unlock his potential and doesn't see the world in a box as so many of us do.

Alum08
05-17-2019, 09:45 AM
I think he comps pretty well with Kenneth Faried, who went 22 but probably should've been a top 15 pick. Faried's insane motor ran down fast, which is what I fear for Brandon at age 22. I think he'll be best served to play for a contender right away, which leads me to believe he will be picked early and traded.

Mojo13
05-17-2019, 09:58 AM
I think he comps pretty well with Kenneth Faried, who went 22 but probably should've been a top 15 pick. Faried's insane motor ran down fast, which is what I fear for Brandon at age 22. I think he'll be best served to play for a contender right away, which leads me to believe he will be picked early and traded.

Don't see the Faried comp - Clarke is unique.

Kennth Faried - combine 2011
Height w/ shoes 6'7.5''
Weight 224.6
Wingspan 7'0''

Standing Vert 30.5
Max Vert 35
Lane Agility 11.35
Modified Lane 5.64
3/4 court Sprint 3.26

Faried is longer and stronger, was never a good rim protector and not good at switching onto guards. Clarke is lighter, faster, more athletic, bouncier with the ability to defend wings/guards.

ZagNative
05-17-2019, 11:17 AM
Here's a terrific interview with Brandon: https://www.cbssports.com/nba/video/gonzagas-brandon-clarke-joins-cbs-sports-hq/

He's such a personable guy. Can't wait to see him soar in the NBA!

Mantua
05-17-2019, 11:39 AM
I have read what you have written, what was are the reasons behind what you are saying?

I would imagine that a NBA GM could look at a player and tell you within 1/2" of what his height and wingspan are. That is their job. The combine just confirms it. Gonzaga has had virtually every game televised, and they, if they were doing due diligence, have watched what the on-air pundits have been saying is one of the top players in the NCAA, especially after beating Duke.

What makes you believe that you would know more than them, or that, seeing the actual numbers, they would suddenly ignore a years worth of work and pass based on 1'2" or so?

How do they measure IQ and reaction time during a game? Brandon is smart and quick and fast and would be a great teammate. I think he should go in the first round.

willandi
05-17-2019, 12:26 PM
Thank you for the answer. I just disagree.

I believe he will be a first rounder and probably a lottery pick.

I also believe that most NBA GM's knew pretty close what his measurements are, after meeting him and before the tale of the tape.

It is their job to be able to assess a player quickly and not to have to ask "How tall are you and how long are your arms when you reach out to shake my hand?"


How do they measure IQ and reaction time during a game? Brandon is smart and quick and fast and would be a great teammate. I think he should go in the first round.

I do as well

MDABE80
05-17-2019, 01:32 PM
Well, his span doesn't preclude him being a star because he makes up for it in his leaping an being so quick. I look forward to seeing him on V come November. We lost a highly skilled, nice guy who would bin the running for POY if he stayed for his Sr year.
he's gong o be highlight reel in the NBA. And he's still improving. We were so lucky to have him fr one year. He'll represent GU very well. I do hope other bigs notice how much he improved in his RS year........

sittingon50
05-17-2019, 07:37 PM
Here's a terrific interview with Brandon: https://www.cbssports.com/nba/video/gonzagas-brandon-clarke-joins-cbs-sports-hq/

He's such a personable guy. Can't wait to see him soar in the NBA!

Thanks Native. And rockin' the GU gear!! Love it.

JPtheBeasta
05-17-2019, 09:50 PM
Thanks Native. And rockin' the GU gear!! Love it.

+1

Great find (by the staff for his time at GU, and Zagnative for the interview)!

GonzagasaurusFlex
05-18-2019, 02:33 AM
Here's a terrific interview with Brandon: https://www.cbssports.com/nba/video/gonzagas-brandon-clarke-joins-cbs-sports-hq/

He's such a personable guy. Can't wait to see him soar in the NBA!

Outstanding interview! Thanks for posting ZN

Goshzagit
05-18-2019, 05:01 AM
Interesting factoid:

Brandon Clarke & Zach Norvell clocked in at the SAME weight, 207 lbs.

Clarke body fat was 4.9%, & 6-8.25 tall.

Norvell body fat was 7.5%, & 6-5.5 tall.

Looks like we list our athletes with accurate heights as well.

Clarke tested out with the shortest wingspan & standing reach ratio of entire combine, yet tested #1 or #2 in every athletic test they threw at him.

Norvell tested out dead last or at the bottom in every athletic test, such as standing vert, max vert, lane agility or shuttle, & 3/4 court sprint.

We could have guessed each of their athletic testing results, but who coulda guessed they weighed the same? Never in a million yrs...

jazzdelmar
05-18-2019, 05:30 AM
How do those numbers impact Norvell’s prospects?

MileHigh
05-18-2019, 05:48 AM
How do those numbers impact Norvell’s prospects?

Norvell's lack of explosiveness is no secret and is something that all the GM's know about going into the combine. It is likely the main reason he is projected as a 2nd round guy and not a mid to late first round guy. His forte in the NBA will be as a shooter, which is one niche where your vert doesn't matter much

My guess is that the combine just confirmed what everyone already knew, so it wont cause him to move up or down on any of the teams respective draft boards

Bogozags
05-18-2019, 06:00 AM
Outstanding interview! Thanks for posting ZN

+1

Markburn1
05-18-2019, 06:13 AM
Jordan Bell compares favorably to Clarke. Both great energy. Both extremely athletic. Both shot blockers. Both limited offensively but with potential. I really enjoy watching both play.

As an aside, every coach has a blind spot. Kerr is fabulous, but Bell should get more minutes.

MileHigh
05-18-2019, 06:42 AM
Jordan Bell compares favorably to Clarke. Both great energy. Both extremely athletic. Both shot blockers. Both limited offensively but with potential. I really enjoy watching both play.

As an aside, every coach has a blind spot. Kerr is fabulous, but Bell should get more minutes.

The Bell comparison is a really good one, but it kind of underscores the dilemma with selecting Clarke high in the draft. His absolute upside (IMO) is as a solid starter on a team with 2 or 3 better scoring options where he he mainly brings defense and garbage buckets/lobs, in other words, a role player. I cant see him ever being an NBA All-Star or a guy that is one of your top scorers. Teams dont use lottery picks for projected role players. The good thing is that I think he is a "cant miss"in terms of playing many years as a contributor. He is athletic and has a good motor. Players with his profile tend to get drafted in the back half of the first round (15-30)

Markburn1
05-18-2019, 08:04 AM
The Bell comparison is a really good one, but it kind of underscores the dilemma with selecting Clarke high in the draft. His absolute upside (IMO) is as a solid starter on a team with 2 or 3 better scoring options where he he mainly brings defense and garbage buckets/lobs, in other words, a role player. I cant see him ever being an NBA All-Star or a guy that is one of your top scorers. Teams dont use lottery picks for projected role players. The good thing is that I think he is a "cant miss"in terms of playing many years as a contributor. He is athletic and has a good motor. Players with his profile tend to get drafted in the back half of the first round (15-30)

Agreed. I do think the landscape is changing quickly though. Bell can switch defensively 1-5 and I think Brandon will be able to do the same. Bell has good passing instincts and fits well into what Golden State calls it's death lineup. We've seen Brandon make some very good decisions passing the ball as well. I would consider starting Bell instead of Bogut and play without worrying so much about getting beaten on the pick and roll. This might sound crazy, but in this series even if Cousins were available I would give Bell more minutes. I believe Clarke has the same potential. Both may be undervalued.

maynard g krebs
05-18-2019, 09:52 AM
I am not sure how you can say wing span is "overrated" since it is really just just another physical factor that folks use to evaluate (along with height and weight). Obviously in a a sport where reaching over people and around people to grab and deflect the ball is important, long arms are better than short arms, and that everyone agrees upon. At every level of basketball coaches covet "long" players (i.e. long arms) but beyond that I don't think anyone has ever considered arm length more important than ones ability to play the game.

I don't follow the NBA closely, or much at all really, but I see great college players knocked into the second round almost entirely because of relatively short arms. Dillon Brooks of Oregon's final 4 team a couple years ago is one example that comes to mind. From Brooks' soph year, my Duck fan brother insisted pac 12 POY Brooks should be a mid-first rounder. I told him all the eval sites had him as a 2nd rounder due to his short arms, and he said "those people are crazy" and that they don't understand basketball. Brooks was arguably somewhere around the 10th best rookie his first season after getting drafted in the 40's; has had a lot of injuries since.

I'm not saying arm length isn't a factor, just that it is one factor of many, and that it has become overemphasized by scouts, lowering the stock of guys who can play the game.

ETA of course, I don't think this will apply to Clarke because of his elite shot blocking ability and speed/quickness and leaping.

maynard g krebs
05-18-2019, 10:02 AM
BC is listed as a SF in the NBA. Defensively, I don't see him having a problem. I think he has the foot speed and quickness to guard the 3 position. He showed some of it on ball screen defensive switching at GU. Offensively, is where I think teams might pause. He is really limited to driving and finishing at the rim. In time, I believe he will develop his jump shot and be a fine player. But the question was... does an NBA team risk a mid-first round pick on a player that currently hasn't shown he can play the 3 in games. Now I understand today's NBA of "positionless" basketball that may not be as big of a factor... and it only takes ONE team to take a chance. But my entire point was that his wingspan and standing height were quite a bit shorter than people were expecting. That data might have him dropping from lottery to the back of round 1 or even into round 2.

He's a unique player without a comparable out there. He played exclusively the 4/5 in college and made up for his undersize with quickness/timing. He was brilliant. But will a team risk a high to mid 1st rd pick on that kind of player? I think it was a tough ask BEFORE his measurements came in. Despite the passion this board shows towards BC... wingspan and standing reach matter. In just a few weeks we will see how much it matters. IMO, there isn't any chance BC goes to a lottery team. I think he falls to late first... early second rd. Not because of talent. Not because he's a bad player. Not because of off the court issues... simply because 1) he hasn't played the SF position hasn't shown he can shoot/dribble like a SF.. and 2) he would have one of the shortest standing reaches/wingspans for any player at his height and position in the NBA. Given those two factors, it would be hard for a team to take BC high in the draft.

That doesn't mean he won't be a beast and dominate the NBA. Draymond Green was selected in the second round.

Dennis Rodman and Barkley both played the 4 in the NBA. Both were not as big as BC. Maybe it's different now; I don't watch the NBA enough to know.

maynard g krebs
05-18-2019, 10:08 AM
My Duck fan brother thinks Clarke is a much better offensive player than Bell was at the same stage, and if he had a bias, it would be the other way.

GonzaGAW
05-18-2019, 10:11 AM
Well, his span doesn't preclude him being a star because he makes up for it in his leaping an being so quick. I look forward to seeing him on V come November. We lost a highly skilled, nice guy who would bin the running for POY if he stayed for his Sr year.
he's gong o be highlight reel in the NBA. And he's still improving. We were so lucky to have him fr one year. He'll represent GU very well. I do hope other bigs notice how much he improved in his RS year........

- you can be sure, positive, that the coaching staff points out to every potential recruit and transfer, the success stories of Clarke, olynyk and rui and others. this is clearly a strong selling point to the program.

webspinnre
05-18-2019, 11:14 AM
My Duck fan brother thinks Clarke is a much better offensive player than Bell was at the same stage, and if he had a bias, it would be the other way.

Agreed, and frankly, it isn't particularly close.

JPtheBeasta
05-18-2019, 12:57 PM
I never saw Bell’s offensive efficiency numbers, but Clarke’s were fantastic (if not historic). Clarke would have gotten a ton of media last year, in my opinion, if Zion wasn’t around.

stretch
05-18-2019, 01:28 PM
At this point, his best bet might be to come back to GU for a year to work on that wingspan.

https://previews.123rf.com/images/tonybaggett/tonybaggett1503/tonybaggett150300025/38394371-an-engraved-illustration-image-of-a-victim-being-tortured-on-a-medieval-middle-ages-rack-in-england-.jpg

ZagNative
05-18-2019, 01:44 PM
TOO FUNNY, STRETCH!

JPtheBeasta
05-18-2019, 02:03 PM
Leave it to a poster named Stretch to find this one. :)

ETA: In the spirit of the boards these days, I would argue that this would help his standing reach more than his wingspan.

chicityzag
05-20-2019, 07:41 AM
BC reminds me more of Kenyon Martin than Bell. I think BC's offensive game is ahead of Bell's even right now. In terms of athleticism, Bell is athletic, but he doesn't seem as explosive to me as the other two. When Martin and BC jump, not only do they get up high, but they get up really quick.

FlyZag
05-20-2019, 09:54 AM
Bell has a wingspan of 6'11.75"... was drafted in 2nd round

willandi
05-20-2019, 10:37 AM
Bell has a wingspan of 6'11.75"... was drafted in 2nd round

I just looked at about a dozen mock drafts. I DO understand that they are mock darfts and not the real thing.

Clarke was as high as 7 and as low as 23, but none did not have him in the first round. Most were 10-11 to mid teens, and over half had him before Rui.

willandi
05-20-2019, 10:38 AM
Bell has a wingspan of 6'11.75"... was drafted in 2nd round

So wingspan does not indicate where a player will be drafted. Got it!

Zagdawg
05-20-2019, 01:31 PM
Brandon Clarke says he’ll block ‘anyone’s shot’; will that make him a Hornet?

They have pick #12

https://www.charlotteobserver.com/sports/nba/charlotte-hornets/article230613959.html

SLOZag
05-20-2019, 03:21 PM
A nice article about our Canadian superstar showing some decent marketing chops:

https://ca.nba.com/news/nba-draft-2019-the-world-may-not-have-known-it-but-brandon-clarke-has-always-been-a-proud-canadian/1rm467x7rlntz1bk3f031ixonk

Zagdawg
05-20-2019, 07:17 PM
Charlotte Hornets

Verified account

@hornets
7h7 hours ago
More
"It'll start off with defense. Blocking shots, locking up players... I'm a really high basketball IQ player. I'm not going to be forcing up shots, but if I have to score, I will score." - @brandonclarke23 ���� (@ZagMBB)

More Draft Workout #4 Coverage: https://on.nba.com/2Emv9IU

https://twitter.com/hornets/status/1130562334638989313