PDA

View Full Version : Donny stepping away from Gonzaga



Zagdawg
04-16-2019, 04:05 PM
Donny Daniels leaving Gonzaga, dialing back after four decades in coaching

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2019/apr/16/donny-daniels-leaving-gonzaga-dialing-back-after-f/

sittingon50
04-16-2019, 04:18 PM
YOU...WILL...BE...MISSED!!!

THANK YOU Donny.


Once a Zag, always a Zag.

CDC84
04-16-2019, 04:29 PM
It'll be interesting who Few gets to replace him, because there isn't a guy like Brian right now who was practically groomed to be an assistant. I would not be opposed to bringing Ray back. I have zero idea what he is doing right now.

Part of me would love to land a big time recruiting specialist that would help GU land better & better talent stateside, but player development has been such an important part of GU's success, and Donny's work with the big guys has been tremendous. He will be missed.

Congrats on your retirement Donny!

kitzbuel
04-16-2019, 04:36 PM
Big congratulations on the retirement! But I did not see that coming.

Sent from my XT1710-02 using Tapatalk

Malastein
04-16-2019, 04:48 PM
It'll be interesting who Few gets to replace him, because there isn't a guy like Brian right now who was practically groomed to be an assistant. I would not be opposed to bringing Ray back. I have zero idea what he is doing right now.

Part of me would love to land a big time recruiting specialist that would help GU land better & better talent stateside, but player development has been such an important part of GU's success, and Donny's work with the big guys has been tremendous. He will be missed.

Congrats on your retirement Donny!

I’ll be shocked if Few doesn’t already have his top targets in mind. He’s had 2 years to work on it, which is an awesome parting gift from Donny! He’s a legend!

Zagceo
04-16-2019, 04:50 PM
Thanks Donny.

Did it with class and a smile.

MontanaCoyote
04-16-2019, 05:13 PM
CLASS ACT! Best wishes.

gonzagafan62
04-16-2019, 05:35 PM
Ouch. This hurts!!! Good luck in retirement Donny

DixieZag
04-16-2019, 06:22 PM
Wow. Did they ever keep this quiet.

If Few has known for two years, then I would be shocked if he didn't have a pretty good idea of who he wants already.

rawkmandale
04-16-2019, 06:42 PM
Coach Donny Daniels = Class Act! Thank you, Coach, for all you have brought to the program, but especially to the players. God Bless, and God Speed in your retirement. I have been retired 7 years - best days of my life!

VinnyZag
04-16-2019, 06:44 PM
Sounds like he's not retiring exactly. He's going to be DOBO at Utah, which I guess is less of a time commitment.

jazzdelmar
04-16-2019, 07:04 PM
Love to see ex player like Errol, Sam, Mac , even Jeremy get the spot.

West Side Lady
04-16-2019, 07:49 PM
“He’s just had this amazing run of success. There’s obviously a correlation there,” Few said. “It’s probably unrivaled the amount of success he’s had as an assistant.”

There's definitely a correlation between Donny's tenure at Gonzaga and my favorite years of GU basketball. Big shoes.

MickMick
04-16-2019, 08:32 PM
The only thing you can hang your hat on is change.

This is a huge loss. It is also an opportunity.

Which route will the staff go? Groom a young and upcoming talent or bring in a seasoned vet with connections?

I like promoting from within.

Malastein
04-16-2019, 08:37 PM
Love to see ex player like Errol, Sam, Mac , even Jeremy get the spot.

Is John Stockton willing now? Does he have any kids left at home?

ZagaZags
04-16-2019, 08:41 PM
Love to see ex player like Errol, Sam, Mac , even Jeremy get the spot.

How about Ronny Turiaf?

Malastein
04-16-2019, 08:42 PM
How about Ronny Turiaf?

Does he want to coach? Has he coached anywhere? He’s got the enthusiasm for sure!

zagdontzig
04-16-2019, 09:58 PM
Sounds like he's not retiring exactly. He's going to be DOBO at Utah, which I guess is less of a time commitment.

*less travel.

GonzaGAW
04-16-2019, 10:13 PM
- having just retired myself last month, I say, welcome aboard.

- as a fan, I say, thanks for coming on board, your efforts clearly mark an up tick in the projection of the basketball program.

- best of luck, well wishes to you.

bigblahla
04-17-2019, 04:04 AM
Coach Daniels is top shelf across the board... he will be missed.... Thanks coach...

Go!! Zags!!!

TexasZagFan
04-17-2019, 05:29 AM
- having just retired myself last month, I say, welcome aboard.

- as a fan, I say, thanks for coming on board, your efforts clearly mark an up tick in the projection of the basketball program.

- best of luck, well wishes to you.

Speaking from experience, you can expect to be busier than when you weren't retired, but it's a helluva lot more enjoyable. Retirement is underrated.

Schmitty
04-17-2019, 06:47 AM
Brandon Roy anyone?

former1dog
04-17-2019, 07:12 AM
Big loss in my opinion. Not only a great developer of talent, but was a masterful recruiter. I think the recruiting aspect is something Coach Few is hopefully really looking at in a replacement.

JPtheBeasta
04-17-2019, 07:36 AM
Can they keep on the payroll for half-time interviews? He is my favorite. I wish him all the best.

webspinnre
04-17-2019, 07:39 AM
Best wishes to him, he's been an amazing part of the program and the community.

kitzbuel
04-17-2019, 07:56 AM
Brandon Roy anyone?

I know we all like the concept of using the opportunity for Zags, but this is not a bad idea in my opinion. Few has always benefited from bringing in outside DNA (Giacoletti, Donny), and Roy potentially has access to different recruiting bases.

I like the idea of Few promoting the careers of former Zags with other teams and at the same time bringing in outside talent to keep the group think fresh.

zagsfanforlife
04-17-2019, 08:11 AM
Brandon Roy anyone?

Not sure if you have any inside info, but from what i recall Broy was coaching HS or AAU and his program was very successful. I will say this:

I have met through work many NBA stars, college stars and everything in between, and Brandon Roy is up there in terms of classiest, kindest, athletes i have ever come in contact with. He takes time for others and it did not surprise me one bit when i had read that he was having success as a coach. As a player people forget how good he was. IMO a hall of famer if not for the injuries.

LongIslandZagFan
04-17-2019, 08:18 AM
Best of luck Donny! Thank you for the great impact you had on this program over the last 9 years.

77Zag
04-17-2019, 08:30 AM
Thank you Donny -- class act that will be hard to follow. Enjoy your "dialing down" -- Cheers!!

gonstu
04-17-2019, 09:37 AM
Has Few reached out to any guboards members to gauge their interest in replacing coach D? Seems a shame to waste all this internet knowledge here.

GoZags
04-17-2019, 10:21 AM
Has Few reached out to any guboards members to gauge their interest in replacing coach D? Seems a shame to waste all this internet knowledge here.

The search for mikeness has not borne any fruit. That guy had ALL the answers. Nobody has come close since

GoZags
04-17-2019, 10:23 AM
Brandon Roy anyone?

Have been informed (quite emphatically) that there is zero chance of this happening. But I still like the way you think.

FlyZag
04-17-2019, 10:34 AM
Guessing we hire someone to replace the diversity that Daniels brought. I am sure that would be important to potential recruits.

NotoriousZ
04-17-2019, 10:35 AM
Thank you Donny!

sittingon50
04-17-2019, 10:41 AM
But I still like the way you think.


I do too. Think the Zags were his #2 choice out of HS. That would be a coup.

And apologies for derailing a thread about Donny, but I immediately wondered if perhaps Few, with his own timetable for retirement in mind might give Tommy " A LOT" of input into this matter?

GoZags
04-17-2019, 11:09 AM
And apologies for derailing a thread about Donny

Good point and I agree. One of my biggest pet peeves re guboards is when a "Welcome to Gonzaga" thread for a new commit/signee deteriorates into
the bashing of a current player. Drives me nuts ... and I am sorry I wasn't thinking about Donny (just the future).

Donny Daniels has been GREAT for Gonzaga ... and I can't thank him enough. He holds a place of honor and dignity among GU lore. At least that's my opinion.

DixieZag
04-17-2019, 11:13 AM
Guessing we hire someone to replace the diversity that Daniels brought. I am sure that would be important to potential recruits.

Absolutely critical.

gonzagafan62
04-17-2019, 11:20 AM
Good point and I agree. One of my biggest pet peeves re guboards is when a "Welcome to Gonzaga" thread for a new commit/signee deteriorates into
the bashing of a current player. Drives me nuts ... and I am sorry I wasn't thinking about Donny (just the future).

Donny Daniels has been GREAT for Gonzaga ... and I can't thank him enough. He holds a place of honor and dignity among GU lore. At least that's my opinion.

When you think of guys that represent Gonzaga in a real exuberant way and upbeat way and shows no matter where they go they bring that Spokane love with them I quickly think of a few guys. Donny and Ronny top my list, though I haven’t really been behind the scenes as much as some BUT, we know there’s a bunch of selfless guys that have come through this program and done nothing but help this team not for their own good but for the university. Guys like Jeremy Jones come to mind when I think of it this way. Soooo many great guys, El Voice of course (RIP) and I could go on for days about a ton of different players/coaches, but we all know the stories. It’s just amazing...

But Donny is the man. So humble, brilliant and near perfect. A huge loss for us indeed

zagcheer78
04-17-2019, 04:18 PM
Good luck and many thanks for your time with us.:clap:

VinnyZag
04-17-2019, 05:33 PM
Killian Tillie just tweeted this :

Donny D! You will be missed ! ���� https://t.co/hh8iiZuI6Z

I'm reading too much into this, but Tillie could only miss Daniels if he's returning for his senior year, right?

zagsfanforlife
04-17-2019, 05:35 PM
Killian Tillie just tweeted this :


I'm reading too much into this, but Tillie could only miss Daniels if he's returning for his senior year, right?

haha i took it as the same but i think we are way overanalyzing this.

Zagceo
04-17-2019, 08:42 PM
haha i took it as the same but i think we are way overanalyzing this.

maybe.....but can’t take a fellas hope away..might be all he’s got!