PDA

View Full Version : O.T. Why donít we have rotating/retired mods?



thespywhozaggedme
03-24-2019, 10:27 AM
So let me preface my comments by stating that generally speaking our moderators do a great job here policing everybody especially spazzy posters such as myself. That being said I post on several message boards and most of them have moderators that are for a designated period of time and even say ďretired modď underneath their name. The reason is is an extremely demanding, stressful and thankless position that is also unpaid. Recently a particular moderator here has been extremely short tempered, snippy and combative with several posters and it makes for a very uncomfortable board. May I suggest that the next time that all of the moderators get together that they entertain the idea of rotating and/or adding new moderators. I know Caldwellzag was added to the whelping box recently and he has been phenomenal. Itís a position that I would never want or wish on my worst enemy and believe me no one with an ounce of Intelligence would want me as a moderator either. But I think for everyones sake the higher ups on this board should entertain the idea of either adding or retiring some moderators. Itís been the same people forever and that can lead to too much corruptible power. I think itís time for a change. Just my two cents. Thank you

Zags11
03-24-2019, 10:40 AM
I think they do as good as possible. Its tiring with people crying and complaining like we all do. Then people name call vs each other. I used to do this.

Do mods have favorites? Of course. I got warned and banned for 24 hrs because a mod favorite and i were doing same thing and he didnt but i got banned.

However i think they do a awesome job and i wouldnt want to babysit grown ups.

thespywhozaggedme
03-24-2019, 10:43 AM
I think they do as good as possible. Its tiring with people crying and complaining like we all do. Then people name call vs each other. I used to do this.

Do mods have favorites? Of course. I got warned and banned for 24 hrs because a mod favorite and i were doing same thing and he didnt but i got banned.

However i think they do a awesome job and i wouldnt want to babysit grown ups.

I agree with everything that you just wrote. That’s why they should rotate. It’s too much to ask for the same people to do the same thing over and over and over. Eventually it catches up to them as is evidenced by the recent posts of one particular moderator. It’s just common sense and that’s why so many boards are doing it. Plus, as I mentioned in my OP, if only a select few people are doing it forever it does lead to too much power, just like politicians. I believe in term limits for politicians and board moderators. LOL

Zags11
03-24-2019, 10:48 AM
I agree with everything that you just wrote. That’s why they should rotate. It’s too much to ask for the same people to do the same thing over and over and over. Eventually it catches up to them as is evidenced by the recent posts of one particular moderator. It’s just common sense and that’s why so many boards are doing it. Plus, as I mentioned in my OP, if only a select few people are doing it forever it does lead to too much power, just like politicians. I believe in term limits for politicians and board moderators. LOL

I see your point especially if a mod hates you. And trust me some mods hate posters. Why? You may not fit their style or they dont like what you write.

Example?
I got banned forever at mariners reddit. Whatd i do? I said nick vincent sucked and wasnt good. Thats it. Mod and i didnt agree on baseball talk and then when i said that he banned me. Lol

thespywhozaggedme
03-24-2019, 11:09 AM
I see your point especially if a mod hates you. And trust me some mods hate posters. Why? You may not fit their style or they dont like what you write.

Example?
I got banned forever at mariners reddit. Whatd i do? I said nick vincent sucked and wasnt good. Thats it. Mod and i didnt agree on baseball talk and then when i said that he banned me. Lol

The fact that it is obvious that moderators show bias or favoritism towards certain posters only validates my point that they should rotate and/or retire. Plus look where this thread was just banished to. LOL

RenoZag
03-24-2019, 11:14 AM
The fact that it is obvious that moderators show bias or favoritism towards certain posters only validates my point that they should rotate and/or retire. Plus look where this thread was just banished to. LOL

It wasn't banished. It was redirected to the proper forum. You're suggesting changes and the best place for the Spokesman Review administrators to see such a discussion will be the Forum Support "forum." If it was banished, why did the moderator leave a permanent re-direct ??

Have a fine day

sittingon50
03-24-2019, 11:54 AM
I'm sure all of this will be handled in the Mueller Report.

Angelo Roncalli
03-24-2019, 12:14 PM
I retired. Still waiting to receive my pension.

Robzagnut
03-24-2019, 12:41 PM
It doesn't surprise me that the OP suggested this.

It ain't broke, don't need to be fixed.

LongIslandZagFan
03-24-2019, 12:41 PM
BTW you don't see half the stuff we have to deal with. I don't play favorites and I am the last person that would ban someone. For ME... even with bannable offenses I prefer to opt towards warnings than bans. Outside of being mods, we are human beings, we do have opinions and are just as free to express them here just like anyone else. I guess my question would be this... is it that you think a mod cannot disagree with anyone on the board?

To finish, for the record, there is nobody on this board that I WOULDN'T sit down and have a beer with. Jazz and I have differences... I'd still hang out with him in a heartbeat. Same with you spy or anyone else.

thespywhozaggedme
03-24-2019, 12:47 PM
BTW you don't see half the stuff we have to deal with. I don't play favorites and I am the last person that would ban someone. For ME... even with bannable offenses I prefer to opt towards warnings than bans. Outside of being mods, we are human beings, we do have opinions and are just as free to express them here just like anyone else. I guess my question would be this... is it that you think a mod cannot disagree with anyone on the board?

To finish, for the record, there is nobody on this board that I WOULDN'T sit down and have a beer with. Jazz and I have differences... I'd still hang out with him in a heartbeat. Same with you spy or anyone else.

I agree with everything that you wrote. I just think for your sanity and those that participate on this board, it makes practical sense to retire/rotate periodically. You've been doing this too long, it may be time to hang 'em up and just espouse your opinion without the extra burden of being a mod. At least give it some thought.

thespywhozaggedme
03-24-2019, 12:48 PM
I retired. Still waiting to receive my pension.

You did, that's right. Do you regret it, or are you glad?

LongIslandZagFan
03-24-2019, 12:56 PM
You did, that's right. Do you regret it, or are you glad?

There are very specific reasons why he did. As for me... no real plans to hang them up and honestly don’t see what being a mod has to do with my having an opinion. Don’t worry though that day may come and I am sure you will be happy when it does.

if you are ever on Long Island I’ll buy ya a beer or three

RenoZag
03-24-2019, 01:08 PM
I retired. Still waiting to receive my pension.

Our man in the Caymans said he had your back. Those weasels in HR can never be trusted. . .too many pivot tables and not enough picnic tables.

thespywhozaggedme
03-24-2019, 01:16 PM
There are very specific reasons why he did. As for me... no real plans to hang them up and honestly don’t see what being a mod has to do with my having an opinion. Don’t worry though that day may come and I am sure you will be happy when it does.

if you are ever on Long Island I’ll buy ya a beer or three

I didn't mean you specifically, I meant all of you. I wouldn't for a million dollars want to put up with an obnoxious spaz like me. My best bud is from Huntington.

LongIslandZagFan
03-24-2019, 02:27 PM
My dad lives in Huntington. When did he live there? My brothers and sister grew up there. I grew up in Spokane with my mom. My friend has a brewery in Huntington. You come up to Long Island let me know I’ll meet you at it. I’ll buy you a flight (of beer).

LongIslandZagFan
03-25-2019, 07:16 AM
He was there until the late 80's. Went to Holy Family but it merged with St. Anthony's. Then went to James Madison

My older brother graduated in 84 from Huntington High... was a lacrosse star at the time (HS All American). Younger sister and brother graduated in the early 90s.

If you are ever on LI... let me know via PM.

Angelo Roncalli
03-26-2019, 05:34 PM
Our man in the Caymans said he had your back. Those weasels in HR can never be trusted. . .too many pivot tables and not enough picnic tables. Glad someone has my back.

Birddog
03-28-2019, 01:59 PM
Glad someone has my back.

Are you not doing the Notary Public gig anymore?