PDA

View Full Version : I Feel Good

Bowser
11-07-2007, 08:21 AM
Finished my pre-season preparations over the weekend, carting in the last several cases of scotch. I am optimistic but have no rational reason for it. Of course, the absence of reason has never stopped me. And since I graduated from a place with apparently low academic standards, it should be no surprise.

I am in mid-season form and here is my report.

Shooting Baskets: Over the years there has been some correlation between my playground exploits and Zag shooting percentage. You will be happy to know my 3 point shooting, particularly from the corner, is dead on. Zag77 will be happy to know my free throw shooting sucks because of its inverse relation to the teams FT shooting percentage. That's garbanzo calzone for you, my friend.

Beer Bottle Throwing: I had given up throwing beer bottles at the fence posts. Mrs. B thought it was stupid. And because a GU student injured someone at a party throwing a beer bottle, I thought it was time to park that one. You know how I like to set a good example. But some traditions die hard. Hefeweisen stills gets the best arc.

Cigar Chomping: Like the beer bottles, I did this alot in the late 90s. Getting the right Cubans has been difficult. Even donations to the Scooter Libby defense fund couldn't budge the State Department. During the Clinton years, a significant number of cigars were embargoed and used inappropriately.

Pledge to God: Even though it's not Lent, I told God I would read Ulysses next year if the Zags win the WCC tournament. At least its not Tolstoy. Should I have chosen Toni Morrison or Art Thiel?

Not being superstitious, I told Mrs. B she did not have to wear the lucky socks this year. They really lost the mojo after our dog chewed them. And they smell like mushrooms.

I have been listening to lots of show tunes.