PDA

View Full Version : 2019 - Ballo - Committed



BobZag
02-23-2019, 04:53 PM
ake

Verified account

@jakeweingarten
50s50 seconds ago
More
Gonzaga has picked up a commitment from 2019 elite international prospect Oumar Ballo, a source told Stockrisers and Prep Hoops.

Spoke with him during his visit, he really enjoyed it. Originally planned to take all visits but felt at home in Spokane. Top-5 class for Mark Few.

Gunzawguh
02-23-2019, 04:53 PM
Committed

https://twitter.com/draftexpress/status/1099484295905845254?s=21

MontanaCoyote
02-23-2019, 04:56 PM
Committed

https://twitter.com/draftexpress/status/1099484295905845254?s=21

Great! What recent to current Gonzaga big is he most like as a player?

ZagNative
02-23-2019, 05:08 PM
Wow!

OntZags
02-23-2019, 05:15 PM
Great! What recent to current Gonzaga big is he most like as a player?

I honestly don't think there is comparable. Dude is unique.

The 'Baby Shaq' nickname exists for a reason. Quite probably the highest ceiling of any GU recruit ever.

BobZag
02-23-2019, 05:16 PM
Wow!

6'9" or taller in 2019:
Watson
Timme
Zakharov
Ballo

Wow.

jazzdelmar
02-23-2019, 05:19 PM
Any redshirt possibilities? Pretty crowded front court if Tils or Clarke returns.

23dpg
02-23-2019, 05:19 PM
Tremendous news!

OntZags
02-23-2019, 05:20 PM
Any redshirt possibilities? Pretty crowded front court if Tils or Clarke returns.

Does it really matter though? Neither Ballo or Zakharov figure to be 5 year guys.

Give whoever is least ready the Rui freshman treatment and go from there.

Also, Clarke is so completely gone that we don't even need to entertain that idea anymore. He's gone.

Zagceo
02-23-2019, 05:20 PM
Train keeps on rolling.

Welcome Mr Ballo

JPtheBeasta
02-23-2019, 05:22 PM
Very cool. I’m very intrigued by him. He is Lebron James-esque in regards to having a man-like physique at such a young age. Only 16 years old... he’s the Doogie Howser of basketball players. He’ll be the same age as a senior as some BYU freshmen.

7’6” wing span... not sure if we’ve had anybody like that.

In one of his highlight videos he seems to do a chin up every time he dunks. They might need to reinforce the rims.

I’m excited to see this guy play. The Zags keep finding very unique players.

Bogozags
02-23-2019, 05:23 PM
The staff has done a remarkable job recruiting for 2019-20 season...

Let's hope that S&S commit and make 20-21 another top class!

willandi
02-23-2019, 05:27 PM
Apparently told another coach that he didn't commit.
Any reports from the staff?

HenneZag
02-23-2019, 05:34 PM
Heck yes! Now we just need to shore up the guard position, awesome news!!

LTownZag
02-23-2019, 05:40 PM
IS it:

O-mar or OO-Mar?

Buy-O or Ball-O?

GonzagasaurusFlex
02-23-2019, 05:44 PM
Apparently told another coach that he didn't commit.
Any reports from the staff?

Source for that statement he “told another coach he didn’t commit” ?

willandi
02-23-2019, 05:49 PM
Source for that statement he “told another coach he didn’t commit” ?

The Twitter link at the top

MickMick
02-23-2019, 05:50 PM
My jaw just hit the floor.

The front court will be legendary

23dpg
02-23-2019, 05:54 PM
Source for that statement he “told another coach he didn’t commit” ?

Nick Rocco
@Rock_Piece

40m
Replying to
@DraftExpress
Apparently he told a coach from another team that he did not commit to Gonzaga..

raise the zag
02-23-2019, 05:56 PM
My jaw just hit the floor.

The front court will be legendary

Not saying it isn't true, yet this is far from official.

I'm not so certain we shouldn't delete this thread until verified.

Solely based on a tweet from a source. Oumar was quoted as saying he would take all 3 visits prior to committing.

Is this premature?

gonzagafan62
02-23-2019, 05:57 PM
This is bad a**

MDABE80
02-23-2019, 05:58 PM
Does it really matter though? Neither Ballo or Zakharov figure to be 5 year guys.

Give whoever is least ready the Rui freshman treatment and go from there.

Also, Clarke is so completely gone that we don't even need to entertain that idea anymore. He's gone.

We'll know more after the initial camps. Don't be so sure.

MDABE80
02-23-2019, 05:59 PM
Apparently told another coach that he didn't commit.
Any reports from the staff?

Nothing yet Will...……..maybe

OntZags
02-23-2019, 06:02 PM
We'll know more after the initial camps. Don't be so sure.

Clarke is G-O-N-E. Full stop. Enjoy him while we have him because he isn't coming back.

GonzagasaurusFlex
02-23-2019, 06:08 PM
Not saying it isn't true, yet this is far from official.

I'm not so certain we shouldn't delete this thread until verified.

Solely based on a tweet from a source. Oumar was quoted as saying he would take all 3 visits prior to committing.

Is this premature?

My sentiments exactly. As much as I wanna hoot and holler and welcome Oumar Ballo to ZagNation, I’ll await an official announcement.

JPtheBeasta
02-23-2019, 06:16 PM
FWIW, it is being reported on ESPN. April 1 isn’t for a few weeks... is Jonathan Givony credible?

GoZags
02-23-2019, 06:21 PM
My sentiments exactly. As much as I wanna hoot and holler and welcome Oumar Ballo to ZagNation, I’ll await an official announcement.

Nothing is “official” until Letter if Intent day. ... April ‘19 is late signing period.

Malastein
02-23-2019, 06:22 PM
FWIW, it is being reported on ESPN. April 1 isn’t for a few weeks... is Jonathan Givony credible?
If Givony is saying it, then it’s probably true...

MDABE80
02-23-2019, 06:23 PM
http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2019/feb/23/mali-center-oumar-ballo-verbally-commits-to-gonzag/

Malastein
02-23-2019, 06:24 PM
Clarke is G-O-N-E. Full stop. Enjoy him while we have him because he isn't coming back.


I’ll be shocked if Clarke isn’t a top 10 pick. If these Zags make the Final Four, then I think both Clarke and Rui go top 5.

MDABE80
02-23-2019, 06:26 PM
Clarke is G-O-N-E. Full stop. Enjoy him while we have him because he isn't coming back.

We'll see......like you know anything but your opinion. He's not signed yet and he's not gone. I agree it's likely but nothing firm yet. Did he sign somewhere you know of?? No. So we wait...hope he comes back. Did he tell you directly? DO you know him???

JAGzag
02-23-2019, 06:29 PM
We'll see......like you know anything but your opinion. He's not signed yet and he's not gone. I agree it's likely but nothing firm yet. Did he sign somewhere you know of?? No. So we wait...hope he comes back. Did he tell you directly? DO you know him???

Is there even room for him to return?

zagsfanforlife
02-23-2019, 06:31 PM
Is there even room for him to return?

I am sure they can find room for an All American if he wishes to come back...

MDABE80
02-23-2019, 06:33 PM
Is there even room for him to return?

Should that be the case.yeah. sure we'd find a spot for him...……..lol

Mantua
02-23-2019, 06:48 PM
Great day in the morning!

Welcome Oumar!

Bienvenue Oumar!

Mantua
02-23-2019, 06:58 PM
Nothing yet Will...ÖÖ..maybe

I asked for a source on Twitter and so did the author, but there is no reply. A troll perhaps?

willandi
02-23-2019, 07:02 PM
http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/26065229/oumar-ballo-16-year-old-malian-center-commits-gonzaga
On my phone so I can't get it all.
This is from ESPN
Apparently I did

gonzagafan62
02-23-2019, 07:08 PM
The tweet in wheeling box states Oumar Ballo originally thought he was going to take all 3 visits. Loved GU, felt right at hone, and decided not to go on other two visits

23dpg
02-23-2019, 07:09 PM
All sources are the same, this guy: Jonathan Givony.
Sure hope he’s right.

thespywhozaggedme
02-23-2019, 07:10 PM
6'9" or taller in 2019:
Watson
Timme
Zakharov
Ballo

Wow.

Plus Petrusev

gonzagafan62
02-23-2019, 07:10 PM
All sources are the same, this guy: Jonathan Givony.
Sure hope he’s right.

https://mobile.twitter.com/jakeweingarten/status/1099486552579817472

zagsfanforlife
02-23-2019, 07:15 PM
Plus Petrusev

That front court is what they call DIRTY.

zagsfanforlife
02-23-2019, 07:17 PM
Plus Petrusev

Imagine how better they will all make each other. 2 deep at each front court position.

Think of this. If you consider Kispert a pro by his senior season, next year we have 2 deep in pros at the 3-5. That is insane.

IowaSERE
02-23-2019, 07:18 PM
Kispert a pro? Wko has ever considered him a pro?

zagsfanforlife
02-23-2019, 07:21 PM
Kispert a pro? Wko has ever considered him a pro?

Dude has two more years.. has started for 2 years at GU at a school in the top 15 both years. To write him off and say he has no shot is a bit premature.

zagamatic
02-23-2019, 07:26 PM
So....as of right now, we have 6 incoming players for next year? And if my math is correct, scholarship players definitely leaving this year via graduation are Perkins, Crandall and Jones. Likely gone are Clarke and Hachimura. And then there's Larsen who is still on scholarship if I recall correctly who likely (?) won't be back next year? That's 6 scholarships available for next year potentially which would leave Tillie room to come back, right?

Gunzawguh
02-23-2019, 07:26 PM
Givony is about as legit as it gets, folks.

If you need a quick Bio, this pretty much sums it up...

“Jonathan is the founder of DraftExpress.com (2003-2017), which was the industry leader for all info revolving around the NBA Draft. In July of 2017, he was hired by ESPN to cover the NBA Draft and international basketball on a full-time basis. DraftExpress maintains an influential private scouting and analytics service utilized by NBA, NCAA and International teams. Givony has been covering the NBA Draft on a year-round, full-time basis since 2003, and is regarded as one of the most credible and reputable sources in the space by NBA teams and industry members. Givony attends virtually every major tournament, camp, workout, Combine or other type of gathering featuring present or future NBA prospects, whether in the US or worldwide, and has a deep stable of global contacts in his network thanks to his 15 years in the business. He previously wrote for the Vertical under Yahoo! Sports, and has had bylines in the New York Times, Sports Illustrated, NBA.com and other outlets.”

webspinnre
02-23-2019, 08:12 PM
Givony is about as legit as it gets, folks.

If you need a quick Bio, this pretty much sums it up...

“Jonathan is the founder of DraftExpress.com (2003-2017), which was the industry leader for all info revolving around the NBA Draft. In July of 2017, he was hired by ESPN to cover the NBA Draft and international basketball on a full-time basis. DraftExpress maintains an influential private scouting and analytics service utilized by NBA, NCAA and International teams. Givony has been covering the NBA Draft on a year-round, full-time basis since 2003, and is regarded as one of the most credible and reputable sources in the space by NBA teams and industry members. Givony attends virtually every major tournament, camp, workout, Combine or other type of gathering featuring present or future NBA prospects, whether in the US or worldwide, and has a deep stable of global contacts in his network thanks to his 15 years in the business. He previously wrote for the Vertical under Yahoo! Sports, and has had bylines in the New York Times, Sports Illustrated, NBA.com and other outlets.”

Precisely. This isn't just some random dude on Twitter.

Spink
02-23-2019, 08:14 PM
Kispert - not an NBA Pro, but could play for $ after GU

HenneZag
02-23-2019, 08:25 PM
Kispert - not an NBA Pro, but could play for $ after GU

He is a solid player and will play at the next level most likely in Europe. Good ball and a very comfortable living.

23dpg
02-23-2019, 08:28 PM
If or when CK goes pro we can have a thread about that.

Until then, hey Ballo committed......I think.

Mantua
02-23-2019, 08:32 PM
If or when CK goes pro we can have a thread about that.

Until then, hey Ballo committed......I think.

Meehan thinks so.

https://www.spokesman.com/stories/2019/feb/23/mali-center-oumar-ballo-verbally-commits-to-gonzag/

thespywhozaggedme
02-23-2019, 08:39 PM
So....as of right now, we have 6 incoming players for next year? And if my math is correct, scholarship players definitely leaving this year via graduation are Perkins, Crandall and Jones. Likely gone are Clarke and Hachimura. And then there's Larsen who is still on scholarship if I recall correctly who likely (?) won't be back next year? That's 6 scholarships available for next year potentially which would leave Tillie room to come back, right?

Or a grad transfer pg.

raise the zag
02-23-2019, 08:44 PM
So....as of right now, we have 6 incoming players for next year? And if my math is correct, scholarship players definitely leaving this year via graduation are Perkins, Crandall and Jones. Likely gone are Clarke and Hachimura. And then there's Larsen who is still on scholarship if I recall correctly who likely (?) won't be back next year? That's 6 scholarships available for next year potentially which would leave Tillie room to come back, right?

The way Norvell has been playing the last few weeks, don't discount his declaration if he performs well in March.

thespywhozaggedme
02-23-2019, 08:45 PM
The way Norvell has been playing the last few weeks, don't discount his declaration if he performs well in March.

yup. Dalton Hommes on standby to take his spot if he does.

GonzaGAW
02-23-2019, 08:58 PM
- this is indeed jaw dropping, speechless good news.

- I don't know who Dalton hommes is, gonna look him up next, but he better be 'the' best p.g. graduate transfer in the country, because we are going to literally have the pick of the litter next year.

thespywhozaggedme
02-23-2019, 09:18 PM
- this is indeed jaw dropping, speechless good news.

- I don't know who Dalton hommes is, gonna look him up next, but he better be 'the' best p.g. graduate transfer in the country, because we are going to literally have the pick of the litter next year.

sg transfer if Zach leaves. 6'7 averages 23 ppg and shoots 46% from 3 at Point Loma Nazarene. Is from the state of Washington. There was buzz that he was gonna declare for the draft, but it looks more likely that he's gonna grad transfer to a elite power program and our name has been attached to him. Someone speculated that he was at our game vs SD last week, but I have no idea. Not sure how high he is on Fews list of priorities, all depends on if ZN leaves after this season.

https://plnusealions.com/cumestats.aspx?path=mbball&year=2018

Supposedly there's a grand transfer pg lined up, but lips are really sealed on that one, none of the insiders on this board, and there are a few are saying a peep.

JPtheBeasta
02-23-2019, 09:30 PM
For PG, perhaps Biggs McGee has a cousin? Guardy McDimes?

thespywhozaggedme
02-23-2019, 09:40 PM
For PG, perhaps Biggs McGee has a cousin? Guardy McDimes?

Nice!

Malastein
02-23-2019, 09:45 PM
For PG, perhaps Biggs McGee has a cousin? Guardy McDimes?

#winning

TravelinZag
02-23-2019, 11:16 PM
The joy may be premature. The hopes are ours. The decision and timing belong to him.

CanadianZagsFan
02-23-2019, 11:18 PM
I see this news on Twitter after watching the BYU game.
Crazy!
He was just visiting the Kennel the other day, and has already committed. They said on one of Spokane news channel he had another team recruiting him hard, but he probably wasnít going to visit them (thatís when I felt GU chances were solid) but didnít expect the news so soon. I need to do some reading up on this kid, Iíve been too focused on Timme HS highlights on YouTube. I highly recommend checking YouTube out for the older fans, youíll be on there all day watching extended clips.

rennis
02-23-2019, 11:20 PM
Welcome young man!! You are most welcome indeed


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

sittingon50
02-24-2019, 01:06 AM
For PG, perhaps Biggs McGee has a cousin? Guardy McDimes?

A(nother) legend is born!!

MDABE80
02-24-2019, 01:10 AM
Arizona, Baylor and us were his 3 noted in the story on his commitment. Big kid, good coordination, a dunker to be sure. He'l get minutes here but he's still raw and will be needing coaching. He came ot the right place.
The bigs are all new and haven't played with each other. I suspect somebody's going to get a redshirt.
We do have some fine players coming back, This season could go on for a while. I hope it does. Let us be still playing come April.

Bogozags
02-24-2019, 04:47 AM
Caldwellzag - Is Ballo considered a 5* recruit, if not where does he fit in the "star system?"

Thanks...

caldwellzag
02-24-2019, 05:40 AM
Caldwellzag - Is Ballo considered a 5* recruit, if not where does he fit in the "star system?"

Thanks...

He should be a 5 star, if he is not it will be a high 4 star. Highest rated recruit this year.

4EVERaZAG
02-24-2019, 06:21 AM
Since he is only 16.5 he would have to play multiple years at GU before he is draft eligible right?

GonzagasaurusFlex
02-24-2019, 06:48 AM
6'9" or taller in 2019:
Watson
Timme
Zakharov
Ballo
Wow.

I’m hoping Anton Watson can play the 3; the admittedly limited video I’ve seen of him suggests that could be his best position, certainly at NBA level..and he seems talented enough to be preparing himself for that career trajectory.


Does it really matter though? Neither Ballo or Zakharov figure to be 5 year guys.

Give whoever is least ready the Rui freshman treatment and go from there.

Also, Clarke is so completely gone that we don't even need to entertain that idea anymore. He's gone.

Good point, it worked fine for Rui and if he is likely not going to be a Zag for four years why not let him dip his toes into D-1 hoops as a 17 yo fresman. On the other hand, give Coach Knight a full year to work with young Mr. Oumar Ballo on his body while he hones his skills…and oh boy I bet he could introduce himself to college hoops in Zion-esque fashion in 2020-21!


The staff has done a remarkable job recruiting for 2019-20 season...
Let's hope that S&S commit and make 20-21 another top class!

Imagine the 2020-21 possibilities if all goes well w Zags on the recruiting front!
LITTLES: Harris; Strawther; Suggs; Ravet; Ayayi; Foster;
BIGS: Petrusev; Timme; Zakharov; Ballo;
STUD WINGS: Kispert; Watson; Arlauskas

NorthoftheBorder
02-24-2019, 06:56 AM
Since he is only 16.5 he would have to play multiple years at GU before he is draft eligible right?

His birthday is July 13, 2002 You have to turn 19 in the year of the draft to be eligible so, correct, he would have to stay at least two years and would not be eligible to be drafted until 2021.

raise the zag
02-24-2019, 08:23 AM
His birthday is July 13, 2002 You have to turn 19 in the year of the draft to be eligible so, correct, he would have to stay at least two years and would not be eligible to be drafted until 2021.

No need to worry. The kid is 2 yr minimum.

Has one post move.

Huge ceiling but a ways to go. He isn't running into lane shooting floaters, mid range shots, spin moves etc like Rui and Clarke can do in addition to posting up.

Now, Ballo more traditional Center prospect, uses his size and raw strength to score. He will be a force but has a ways to go to become a complete player even at his position.

Expected for the potential yet not one & done.

Let's start by having him score with his both hands, or score floaters over shoulder etc.

Today's NBA isn't the same as when hunker down centers dominated.

Ballo will have to develop more moves and a face up shot before sniffing the draft.

He kind of reminds me of Naz Reid of LSU.

Irish_eliZAG
02-24-2019, 09:18 AM
https://twitter.com/insidethekennel/status/1099728839574503425?s=21

IowaSERE
02-24-2019, 09:32 AM
Granted it's a highlight video, but I saw numerous face up jumpers and a few ugly 3s. He'll be the best player in the ncaa in 2 years.

Watch "OUMAR BALLO CANīT STOP DUNKING!!!!!!!!!!" on YouTube
https://youtu.be/bhjYYcBqgaU

IowaSERE
02-24-2019, 09:37 AM
yup. Dalton Hommes on standby to take his spot if he does.

I'd love to see ZN at pg and Hommes at sg. Maybe not all the time, but for 20 min a game

MDABE80
02-24-2019, 09:42 AM
All these bigs are new to D1. I suspect each will need some time to develop. The guard situation should be ok but we do need some new faces especially at the point. Few's system takes time to learn regardless of the talent level. Quite the bounty showing up though.

bigblahla
02-24-2019, 09:51 AM
https://twitter.com/insidethekennel/status/1099728839574503425?s=21

Hey Zag fans Irish_eliZAG is a regular on SSF... her sister and her are coming from Ireland to watch the Zags at the WCC tournament in Las Vegas... if you meet them show them a Zagtastic good time...

Go!! Zags!!!

ttown0026
02-24-2019, 10:19 AM
Ballo posted this today on Instagram...

oumarballo11
Itís Official Iím a #Zag ����
Happy to join #ZagFamily #ZagUp #UnitedWeZag
#TrustTheBallo

GonzagasaurusFlex
02-24-2019, 11:06 AM
Ballo posted this today on Instagram...

oumarballo11
It’s Official I’m a #Zag ����
Happy to join #ZagFamily #ZagUp #UnitedWeZag
#TrustTheBallo

#TrustTheBallo indeed!

thespywhozaggedme
02-24-2019, 12:22 PM
I'd love to see ZN at pg and Hommes at sg. Maybe not all the time, but for 20 min a game

Funny, I was thinking the exact same thing late last night. Zach has the vision and handles to run the point.

thespywhozaggedme
02-24-2019, 12:58 PM
247 just today ranked him as a 4*, # 62 overall. A little low imho.

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Four-star-international-center-Oumar-Ballo-commits-to-Gonzaga-129446020/

caldwellzag
02-24-2019, 01:02 PM
247 just today ranked him as a 4*, # 62 overall. A little low imho.

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Four-star-international-center-Oumar-Ballo-commits-to-Gonzaga-129446020/

I agree.

basketballzag
02-24-2019, 01:17 PM
I agree.

A year older he would be a top 5 recruit but 64 is woefully low. He is a legit 25-35 who will probably redshir next year.

BobZag
02-24-2019, 01:23 PM
Petrusev
Timme
Watson
Zakharov
Ballo

Lots of options up front for Few next year.

Bring in the guards in 2020 and Gregg/Bittle in 2021.

Mantua
02-24-2019, 02:00 PM
Petrusev
Timme
Watson
Zakharov
Ballo

Lots of options up front for Few next year.

Bring in the guards in 2020 and Gregg/Bittle in 2021.

We have a great start for a monster team in 2020 and 2021. I just want to make sure that that we have a guard and a big who can make the pass to Norvell.

Zagdawg
02-24-2019, 02:13 PM
Drew Timme welcomes him to the family and Ballo responds positively -- going to be a load down low.

https://twitter.com/zagaholicpod/status/1099765820073201664

SLOZag
02-24-2019, 05:57 PM
247Sports ranks Oumar # 62 (****) in the Top247.

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Four-star-international-center-Oumar-Ballo-commits-to-Gonzaga-129446020

Mantua
02-24-2019, 07:51 PM
247Sports ranks Oumar # 62 (****) in the Top247.

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Four-star-international-center-Oumar-Ballo-commits-to-Gonzaga-129446020

Nah! They’re wrong.

kdaleb
02-24-2019, 09:24 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D0N53g8UcAYtZeS.jpg

So Omar wears #11 - will he and Joel arm wrestle for it?

ZagzKrak
02-24-2019, 10:07 PM
That looks like a NBA build at only 16...wow. Reminds me of Ayton's build.

Irish_eliZAG
02-25-2019, 03:51 AM
Hey Zag fans Irish_eliZAG is a regular on SSF... her sister and her are coming from Ireland to watch the Zags at the WCC tournament in Las Vegas... if you meet them show them a Zagtastic good time...

Go!! Zags!!!

Hello there. Are you going to wcc tournament yourself?

bigblahla
02-25-2019, 05:15 AM
Hi Eli.... not this year... sent you a private message... good way to communicate off of the board... enjoy your trip... I doubt it will happen but would love for our Zags to play in the basketball tournament in Ireland like San Francisco did this OOC...

Go!! Zags!!!

former1dog
02-25-2019, 05:21 AM
Welcome Ballo!!

Thanks to CaldwellZag, this was well known ahead of time!

Hoopaholic
02-25-2019, 05:30 PM
Hello there. Are you going to wcc tournament yourself?

As a fellow Irishman would love to meet you guys

zagsfanforlife
02-25-2019, 05:54 PM
First of all Welcome Oumar! When i first heard about this recruitment, i was very excited based on his sheer size alone. For a 16 year old, his body is unparalleled at that age (outside of maybe Zion in terms of PHYSICAL GIFTS). Very happy that he will be a zag.

With that said HE IS A PROJECT. Those saying 5* and comparing to Zion are being pretty unfair to the kid IMO. While he is huge for his age and appears to be as strong as a marvel character, he is still VERY RAW based on the videos i have seen. He does not appear to have many handles, can not shoot further than 7 feet away (and please don't show me him hitting one jump shot from ten feet out... his form needs A LOT OF WORK. I have also not seen very many post moves at all from him.

If you compare his tape to Pavel or Drew's, two other big men in this class, you will see various post move after various post move from both. You do not see that with Oumar's tape. Neither of those guys are consensus 5* guys, Oumar should not be mentioned right now as a 5* in that case.

With any project, there is a high ceiling but a low floor. Which one he will reach all depends on Oumar. He has the physical gifts but has to be open to coaching and has to work his tail off. At the high D1 level and if he is fortunate enough, in the pros, he will need multiple post moves and must hit an outside shot. When guys get bigger, you can't just bully everyone around and dunk on them.

Let's hold off on the Zion comparisons too. That is extremely unfair to the kid. Zion was a consensus top 2 player in his class, a phenom since his soph year and in terms of pure basketball skills is much farther along than Oumar right now.


I have high hopes for Oumar.. kids with his size don't come around often. Viewing right now from a skills standpoint though, a long way to go before he can contribute lots. Battling with Pavel, Filip and Drew daily will be very beneficial.

Zagger
02-26-2019, 02:08 AM
Hi Eli.... not this year... sent you a private message... good way to communicate off of the board... enjoy your trip... I doubt it will happen but would love for our Zags to play in the basketball tournament in Ireland like San Francisco did this OOC...

Go!! Zags!!!

They do and we're there. The Mrs and I would love to go to Ireland!

caldwellzag
02-26-2019, 05:48 AM
First of all Welcome Oumar! When i first heard about this recruitment, i was very excited based on his sheer size alone. For a 16 year old, his body is unparalleled at that age (outside of maybe Zion in terms of PHYSICAL GIFTS). Very happy that he will be a zag.

With that said HE IS A PROJECT. Those saying 5* and comparing to Zion are being pretty unfair to the kid IMO. While he is huge for his age and appears to be as strong as a marvel character, he is still VERY RAW based on the videos i have seen. He does not appear to have many handles, can not shoot further than 7 feet away (and please don't show me him hitting one jump shot from ten feet out... his form needs A LOT OF WORK. I have also not seen very many post moves at all from him.

If you compare his tape to Pavel or Drew's, two other big men in this class, you will see various post move after various post move from both. You do not see that with Oumar's tape. Neither of those guys are consensus 5* guys, Oumar should not be mentioned right now as a 5* in that case.

With any project, there is a high ceiling but a low floor. Which one he will reach all depends on Oumar. He has the physical gifts but has to be open to coaching and has to work his tail off. At the high D1 level and if he is fortunate enough, in the pros, he will need multiple post moves and must hit an outside shot. When guys get bigger, you can't just bully everyone around and dunk on them.

Let's hold off on the Zion comparisons too. That is extremely unfair to the kid. Zion was a consensus top 2 player in his class, a phenom since his soph year and in terms of pure basketball skills is much farther along than Oumar right now.


I have high hopes for Oumar.. kids with his size don't come around often. Viewing right now from a skills standpoint though, a long way to go before he can contribute lots. Battling with Pavel, Filip and Drew daily will be very beneficial.

I am not sure I have seen anyone compare him to Zion, outside of maybe his build. The kid is a 5 star recruit on Rivals currently, as he has the projectiles to be the best player in this class for us. His game is not currently on the level of Timme or even Pavel, but when Rui came in he could not even get playing time. What you are correct in saying is that he is very young, but he is still a 5 star guy. Huge recruit for us and one that will take a few years to develop.

BTW not saying Inside the Kennel was wrong, but you did call me out last week when I said expect something this weekend by saying Inside the Kennel said something different. Pretty sure I was spot on with Ballo and him signing. Just saying.

bigblahla
02-26-2019, 06:46 AM
They do and we're there. The Mrs and I would love to go to Ireland!

Have a feeling a lot of Zag fans would want to go... I know I would... it's not Maui or the Battle 4 Atlantis.... even though it's a lower level tournament IMO the marketing aspect in Europe could be huge for Gonzaga....

Go!! Zags!!!

zagsfanforlife
02-26-2019, 07:26 AM
I am not sure I have seen anyone compare him to Zion, outside of maybe his build. The kid is a 5 star recruit on Rivals currently, as he has the projectiles to be the best player in this class for us. His game is not currently on the level of Timme or even Pavel, but when Rui came in he could not even get playing time. What you are correct in saying is that he is very young, but he is still a 5 star guy. Huge recruit for us and one that will take a few years to develop.

BTW not saying Inside the Kennel was wrong, but you did call me out last week when I said expect something this weekend by saying Inside the Kennel said something different. Pretty sure I was spot on with Ballo and him signing. Just saying.

A bit defensive? I didn’t call you out. Just stated that ITK reported something different (which they did ).

And many have compared him to zion. I have a full time job so right now don’t have time to post every single snippet.

Maybe I am missing the post moves making him a 5*. My basketball coaching and past skill development work eyes see a project. Mo Bamba had far more post moves before entering college. I expect him to develop into a pro based on his development by a great staff but I’m not expecting him to be a major contributor right away which true 5* are.

My point is that many are already making these lofty comparisons and building up these huge expectations for this guy. Those should be based on the assumption that he will develop by facing other top bigs in his class and working hard at the plan set forth by the coaches. I do not see him contributing right away and I hope others understand that he is a project. Let's not write the kid off after his freshman year if he does not get major playing time or pad the stats right away. It will take time. He has a lot of post moves to further develop and is still learning the game.

EEzag
02-26-2019, 07:34 AM
I am not sure I have seen anyone compare him to Zion, outside of maybe his build. The kid is a 5 star recruit on Rivals currently, as he has the projectiles to be the best player in this class for us. His game is not currently on the level of Timme or even Pavel, but when Rui came in he could not even get playing time. What you are correct in saying is that he is very young, but he is still a 5 star guy. Huge recruit for us and one that will take a few years to develop.

BTW not saying Inside the Kennel was wrong, but you did call me out last week when I said expect something this weekend by saying Inside the Kennel said something different. Pretty sure I was spot on with Ballo and him signing. Just saying.

Ballo is not Zion. Zion had a Lebron like mythos since he was in 7th grade and the game to back it up. Ballo at 15 looked lumbering, but man what a year difference has done for him. Ballo has ridiculous potential and the right staff to unlock it. I wonder if there is something like the Rui 3 year plan?

caldwellzag
02-26-2019, 07:55 AM
A bit defensive? I didn’t call you out. Just stated that ITK reported something different (which they did ).

And many have compared him to zion. I have a full time job so right now don’t have time to post every single snippet.

Maybe I am missing the post moves making him a 5*. My basketball coaching and past skill development work eyes see a project. Mo Bamba had far more post moves before entering college. I expect him to develop into a pro based on his development by a great staff but I’m not expecting him to be a major contributor right away which true 5* are.

My point is that many are already making these lofty comparisons and building up these huge expectations for this guy. Those should be based on the assumption that he will develop by facing other top bigs in his class and working hard at the plan set forth by the coaches. I do not see him contributing right away and I hope others understand that he is a project. Let's not write the kid off after his freshman year if he does not get major playing time or pad the stats right away. It will take time. He has a lot of post moves to further develop and is still learning the game.

Your post came across not as stating what they reported, more as "I doubt your right dude because a pay for site said it wouldn't happen, so you must be wrong." I don't mind sharing my information for free, as I feel privileged to get the information I have, but post like yours make me want to just keep it all to myself and sit back and watch some of yours and other peoples wild assumptions about recruits. I know a few things about Suggs recruitment that have not been shared, that I would love to share with you, that Inside the Kennel and probably no other recruiting service knows, but I have kept them to myself for now, as I was asked to not share. Plus doubt you would believe it if I posted it.

People comparing him to Zion are wrong, his body type maybe a little, but not his game. I am going to go with Rivals and my own eyes to say he is a 5 star recruit, maybe not the most polished one, but still a 5 star recruit and one that would be Top 20 in his class had he been a 2020 recruit.

caldwellzag
02-26-2019, 07:55 AM
Ballo is not Zion. Zion had a Lebron like mythos since he was in 7th grade and the game to back it up. Ballo at 15 looked lumbering, but man what a year difference has done for him. Ballo has ridiculous potential and the right staff to unlock it. I wonder if there is something like the Rui 3 year plan?

He will be on a similar track as Rui.

former1dog
02-26-2019, 08:17 AM
If you compare his tape to Pavel or Drew's, two other big men in this class, you will see various post move after various post move from both. You do not see that with Oumar's tape. Neither of those guys are consensus 5* guys, Oumar should not be mentioned right now as a 5* in that case.

I disagree. Ballo, IMO, is much farther along than you’re giving him credit for. Here’s some notes I took as I watched a couple of videos of him that weren’t dunk centric and showed a lot of different aspects of his game.

He’s a little bit raw, but he has been well coached and he also clearly has a lot of natural talent and is, in my opinion, extremely competitive. It is this last noted trait, that competitiveness, that is going to be the basis for a rapid improvement over an already very, very good player.

From 2017 (Ballo age 15, barely)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSpkFvqTzWQ

Good pass out of double team.

Right handed hook shot.

Step through driving lay up.

Left handed hook shot. (missed)

Established and held deep post position and forced a foul on defense as he went for a left handed layup.

Very active(good) rebounder.

Pass Fake move to left handed finger roll attempt, drawing a foul.

Rebound, immediate outlet pass ĺ court for a fast break.

Seems to run the court pretty well.

Great footwork going from his right to a left handed hook attempt

Spin move from the block for a made fallaway short jumper

From 2018 (Ballo age 16, barely)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uWbT3sPAF7g


Good Footwork

Establishes excellent position, utilizing his size when posting up. Often guaranteeing himself a layup just due to the work he’s doing prior to getting the ball. Seeing this over and over and over again. A real weapon.

Really good hands, catches everything thrown his way.

Hook shots over either shoulder with either hand

Splits double team and attempts a short hook from the opposite of the block

He is so physical. Seeks out contact, doesn’t ever shy away.

Dominant shot blocker.

Moves his feet very well on defense.

Very active on defense.

Looked very comfortable shooting the 8 to 10 foot jumper.

Offensive rebound, keeps the ball up and finishes the And 1 play

Free throw shooting form improving from 2017


I must say, when I really think about it, Ballo reminds me of what Karnowski would have been if he had been really athletic.

former1dog
02-26-2019, 08:19 AM
By the way, a search of this thread indicates the first poster to bring up Zion was Zagsfanforlife. I'm not sure why anyone would compare him to Zion, they don't play the same position and play very different types of games.

former1dog
02-26-2019, 08:29 AM
He will be on a similar track as Rui.

I will defer to you caldwellzag, as I should. That said, I have a sneaking feeling that Ballo might be a more impactful freshman that Rui was.

2Zags3Pups
02-26-2019, 10:25 AM
Here is a link to the FIBA tournament from this summer. You can look at stats and some of the games are condensed. He needs a year with Travis Knight to get a little more athletic.

http://www.fiba.basketball/world/u17/2018/team/Mali

hls97
02-26-2019, 11:42 AM
https://twitter.com/EvanDaniels/status/1100480864918618114

Zagceo
02-26-2019, 12:18 PM
He will be on a similar track as Rui.

sounds reasonable.

put him in against West Virginia in Sweet 16 game for defensive purposes )

zagsfanforlife
02-26-2019, 12:20 PM
By the way, a search of this thread indicates the first poster to bring up Zion was Zagsfanforlife. I'm not sure why anyone would compare him to Zion, they don't play the same position and play very different types of games.

You should search a bit harder in the ballo conversations then

basketballzag
02-26-2019, 01:42 PM
A bit defensive? I didnít call you out. Just stated that ITK reported something different (which they did ).

And many have compared him to zion. I have a full time job so right now donít have time to post every single snippet.

Maybe I am missing the post moves making him a 5*. My basketball coaching and past skill development work eyes see a project. Mo Bamba had far more post moves before entering college. I expect him to develop into a pro based on his development by a great staff but Iím not expecting him to be a major contributor right away which true 5* are.

My point is that many are already making these lofty comparisons and building up these huge expectations for this guy. Those should be based on the assumption that he will develop by facing other top bigs in his class and working hard at the plan set forth by the coaches. I do not see him contributing right away and I hope others understand that he is a project. Let's not write the kid off after his freshman year if he does not get major playing time or pad the stats right away. It will take time. He has a lot of post moves to further develop and is still learning the game.

Ballo is no Zion. They are two totally different players. Ballo instead reminds me of a cross between Shaq at 16 and Stanley Roberts at 16 when Dale first brought them to campus. He has Shaq's skinny yet muscular physique and Stanley's refined game. Starting college at 16 is going to be a bit of a challenge which is why I have maintained that he will redshirt next year but if he doesn't he is still one of the best players in the country in this class. Next year he would have been a top 5-10 recruit. As for your analysis on Ballo I would recommend watching his latest work not the work from 3, 4, 6, 10 months ago but his recent style because that is a kid who has it all and is now getting used to his body size. It won't surprise me to see him hit 6'11 or 7'1 by his 18th b'day.

former1dog
02-26-2019, 01:47 PM
You should search a bit harder in the ballo conversations then

I think you're making my point. If I have to search hard for someone comparing Ballo to Zion, then it is not a prevalent sentiment.

zagsfanforlife
02-26-2019, 03:15 PM
Ballo is no Zion. They are two totally different players. Ballo instead reminds me of a cross between Shaq at 16 and Stanley Roberts at 16 when Dale first brought them to campus. He has Shaq's skinny yet muscular physique and Stanley's refined game. Starting college at 16 is going to be a bit of a challenge which is why I have maintained that he will redshirt next year but if he doesn't he is still one of the best players in the country in this class. Next year he would have been a top 5-10 recruit. As for your analysis on Ballo I would recommend watching his latest work not the work from 3, 4, 6, 10 months ago but his recent style because that is a kid who has it all and is now getting used to his body size. It won't surprise me to see him hit 6'11 or 7'1 by his 18th b'day.

Do you have recent videos you can share with us?

Kiddwell
03-07-2019, 07:30 AM
...finally adds Ballo to the Zags's 2019 recruit list. (Doesn't give him, as with fellow international Arlauskas, the "star treatment" though.)

http://www.espn.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/school/_/id/2250/class/2019/gonzaga-bulldogs







:]

Mantua
03-07-2019, 01:24 PM
...finally adds Ballo to the Zags's 2019 recruit list. (Doesn't give him, as with fellow international Arlauskas, the "star treatment" though.)

http://www.espn.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/school/_/id/2250/class/2019/gonzaga-bulldogs





:]


Honestly! It’s to much work to keep up with the constant flow of disappointments from ESPN. They are so lazy. Next year when they finally figure it out, will they be smug like they knew all along or will they be shocked that GU got such a great player (again)?



Big O is answering questions on his Instagram account now. Some are from Zag fans.
He says he’s 100% a Zag.
His preferred nickname is Big O.

https://www.instagram.com/oumarballo11/?hl=en

Zagdawg
03-20-2019, 07:44 AM
Best Centre: Oumar Ballo

Ballo was a beast at camp on day one. He is easily the most powerful among the bigs and knows how to throw his weight around in the paint.

As his body continues to dice up, he’ll have more flow and be able to move better in transition. As of right now, he is a half court guy that can seal and receive over the shoulder with an ability to finish with authority around the rim. Since we’re in Charlotte I’ll give a throw back comparison which actually suits Ballo from the Charlotte Hornets.

He has a Larry Johnson type of projection once he’s in League shape physically.


http://northpolehoops.com/2019/02/15/scouting-report-basketball-without-borders-2019-global-camp-demi-avdija-addison-patterson-oumar-ballo/

Zagdawg
04-07-2019, 10:23 AM
Jonathan Givony

Verified account

@DraftExpress
37s38 seconds ago
More
Super competitive game between the NBA Academy Africa and Latin America. Ton of size and length on the floor. Nice showing for Gonzaga bound Oumar Ballo. Africa has made huge strides since I last saw them in December. Couple of their guys really helping themselves college wise.

Travis Branham


@TravisBranham_
2m2 minutes ago
More
Very solid game for #Gonzaga commit Oumar Ballo. Best I’ve seen him play all year. Showing good hands, improving his conditioning and skillset. Hit a post-fade and a catch and shoot 3.

Ladyzag12
04-07-2019, 12:56 PM
I love Ballo, but he isn't Zion. He is more strong than athletic. He has good length and good hands and his shot has come a long ways. He is not a leaper nor does he have amazing agility. He will be a great bully center in college basketball. I imagine him as a cross between later stages Rob and Padgett for Louiville back in the day.

Zagdawg
04-07-2019, 02:53 PM
Travis Branham


@TravisBranham_
Follow Follow @TravisBranham_
More Travis Branham Retweeted Travis Branham
Easily the best I’ve seen 2019 #Gonzaga bound Oumar Ballo play. Carving out all kinds of space in the post, rebounding and really adding to his post moves. Very confident and aggressive today.

OCzag
04-07-2019, 04:13 PM
I love Ballo, but he isn't Zion. He is more strong than athletic. He has good length and good hands and his shot has come a long ways. He is not a leaper nor does he have amazing agility. He will be a great bully center in college basketball. I imagine him as a cross between later stages Rob and Padgett for Louiville back in the day.

I don’t think most people are expecting Zion. I’d be blown away if we could get freshman year Domas out of him with less skill and more power... but I’m confident that’s way optimistic.

Late stages rob isn’t bad, per se, but hoping his ceiling is higher.

jchocolate99
04-07-2019, 06:01 PM
I love Ballo, but he isn't Zion. He is more strong than athletic. He has good length and good hands and his shot has come a long ways. He is not a leaper nor does he have amazing agility. He will be a great bully center in college basketball. I imagine him as a cross between later stages Rob and Padgett for Louiville back in the day.

who the heck is expecting him to be Zion-esque?? Who ever is needs to take a seat and relax... Love me some Ballo but I'm just expecting a more athletic Karno with the ceiling to be an even more dominate big for us

LTownZag
04-07-2019, 06:41 PM
I will defer to you caldwellzag, as I should. That said, I have a sneaking feeling that Ballo might be a more impactful freshman that Rui was.


I think this'll happen even if Ballo is behind where Rui was athletically.

Rui's first year had him behind 2 current NBA players, as well as Tillie and senior Karnowski.

Rui also didn't speak a lick of English.

sittingon50
04-07-2019, 10:36 PM
.

Rui also didn't speak a lick of English.


Does Ballo?

I've seen him interviewed in French. Anyone know how his English is?

GuZag2012
04-08-2019, 02:54 AM
Does Ballo?

I've seen him interviewed in French. Anyone know how his English is?

I think Iíve seen an interview with him in English and if I recall it sounded quiet fluent.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

basketballzag
04-08-2019, 06:47 AM
I think Iíve seen an interview with him in English and if I recall it sounded quiet fluent.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yes Ballo speaks English. Glad to hear that his ankle is doing much better after he injured it earlier this year. This kid really reminds me of a 17 year old Shaq when he first stepped foot on campus at LSU after arriving from the air base in Germany. He is going to be a beast.

hooter73
04-08-2019, 08:58 AM
He speaks English just fine and is at a basketball academy where he is already learning the finer points of the game. I think he will have a similar impact to Karno in his freshman year. PK showed a ton of promise with his patience and presence but couldnt hold onto the ball for anything, which was ok, because it gave him game/learning minutes and he was playing behind a couple good players. Ballo will be similar in that respect that it doesnt all hinge on him to be THE center, but when he does get in the game, he should be showing pretty dang well.

sittingon50
04-08-2019, 10:41 AM
Thank you 2012, bbz & hooter.

EEzag
04-08-2019, 11:23 AM
Thank you 2012, bbz & hooter.

This kid EATS up space down low. He has soft hands and decent footwork. Is he a 5 star? I wouldn't put him there. He has a ton of potential, but like Rui, most of what we've seen is against less-than competition. I don't see him playing a lot next year. It's the 2020 summer development that will tell the tale. He could be an all-American in 2020.

He needs to get here, work on footwork and rebounding, improve free-throws cause he's going to be shooting a lot, and maybe get his hands up more......DI guards are going to find you sometimes at weird angles and the entry passes aren't always as clean.

If Ballo grows to 7'? Yeah, baby Shaq. And really, who would you want on this team? I say a masher 20pt 10rb guy down low that the rest of the league has to game-plan for would be a perfect compliment to the players we already have. He's high energy, fun, and seems to play that way all the time. Can't wait.

Zagdawg
04-09-2019, 07:01 AM
Who stood out at the Next Generation Showcase?

Oumar Ballo, C, 2019
After just a decent performance at Basketball Without Borders in February while still recovering from an ankle injury, Ballo looked much improved on Sunday. The Mali native is a big body post who is a total mismatch at the high school level due to his size, length, toughness and motor. Ballo’s skill level look improved; he has more confidence in his hook shot and his footwork is getting better. Given Ballo’s size and physicality, he projects as a high level rebounder at the next level. Ballo’s hands and feet have room to improve but there is no denying he will be a very tough matchup in the WCC.

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/NBA-Academy-Next-Generation-International-Prospects-Mojave-King-Oumar-Ballo-Gonzaga-131039625/

GrizZAG
04-13-2019, 08:34 AM
Ballo is not Zion at comparable ages clearly, but I will stand on my hope that in time he will something similar. Looking at lots of film of him my eye test shows he's potentially in that realm if he learns more moves. Gonzaga is exactly what he needs to reach his goals.

WallaWallaZag
04-14-2019, 01:12 AM
Ballo is not Zion at comparable ages clearly, but I will stand on my hope that in time he will something similar. Looking at lots of film of him my eye test shows he's potentially in that realm if he learns more moves. Gonzaga is exactly what he needs to reach his goals.

the only thing similar about ballo and zion is that they are physical specimens...ballo doesn't have nearly zion's athleticism (or skillset for that matter) but doesn't need to because of his pure size, which zion lacks.

Mantua
04-14-2019, 12:36 PM
the only thing similar about ballo and zion is that they are physical specimens...ballo doesn't have nearly zion's athleticism (or skillset for that matter) but doesn't need to because of his pure size, which zion lacks.

Plus Ballo is younger, is an international player and we donít have much idea about his ceiling yet. My guess is that his ceiling is very high because he has tremendous heart, is already trying to be a great teammate, shows a lot of pride in being a Zag, works very hard and has improved a lot this year.