PDA

View Full Version : 2019 - Ballo - Committed



BobZag
02-23-2019, 05:53 PM
ake

Verified account

@jakeweingarten
50s50 seconds ago
More
Gonzaga has picked up a commitment from 2019 elite international prospect Oumar Ballo, a source told Stockrisers and Prep Hoops.

Spoke with him during his visit, he really enjoyed it. Originally planned to take all visits but felt at home in Spokane. Top-5 class for Mark Few.

Gunzawguh
02-23-2019, 05:53 PM
Committed

https://twitter.com/draftexpress/status/1099484295905845254?s=21

MontanaCoyote
02-23-2019, 05:56 PM
Committed

https://twitter.com/draftexpress/status/1099484295905845254?s=21

Great! What recent to current Gonzaga big is he most like as a player?

ZagNative
02-23-2019, 06:08 PM
Wow!

OntZags
02-23-2019, 06:15 PM
Great! What recent to current Gonzaga big is he most like as a player?

I honestly don't think there is comparable. Dude is unique.

The 'Baby Shaq' nickname exists for a reason. Quite probably the highest ceiling of any GU recruit ever.

BobZag
02-23-2019, 06:16 PM
Wow!

6'9" or taller in 2019:
Watson
Timme
Zakharov
Ballo

Wow.

jazzdelmar
02-23-2019, 06:19 PM
Any redshirt possibilities? Pretty crowded front court if Tils or Clarke returns.

23dpg
02-23-2019, 06:19 PM
Tremendous news!

OntZags
02-23-2019, 06:20 PM
Any redshirt possibilities? Pretty crowded front court if Tils or Clarke returns.

Does it really matter though? Neither Ballo or Zakharov figure to be 5 year guys.

Give whoever is least ready the Rui freshman treatment and go from there.

Also, Clarke is so completely gone that we don't even need to entertain that idea anymore. He's gone.

Zagceo
02-23-2019, 06:20 PM
Train keeps on rolling.

Welcome Mr Ballo

JPtheBeasta
02-23-2019, 06:22 PM
Very cool. I’m very intrigued by him. He is Lebron James-esque in regards to having a man-like physique at such a young age. Only 16 years old... he’s the Doogie Howser of basketball players. He’ll be the same age as a senior as some BYU freshmen.

7’6” wing span... not sure if we’ve had anybody like that.

In one of his highlight videos he seems to do a chin up every time he dunks. They might need to reinforce the rims.

I’m excited to see this guy play. The Zags keep finding very unique players.

Bogozags
02-23-2019, 06:23 PM
The staff has done a remarkable job recruiting for 2019-20 season...

Let's hope that S&S commit and make 20-21 another top class!

willandi
02-23-2019, 06:27 PM
Apparently told another coach that he didn't commit.
Any reports from the staff?

HenneZag
02-23-2019, 06:34 PM
Heck yes! Now we just need to shore up the guard position, awesome news!!

LTownZag
02-23-2019, 06:40 PM
IS it:

O-mar or OO-Mar?

Buy-O or Ball-O?

GonzagasaurusFlex
02-23-2019, 06:44 PM
Apparently told another coach that he didn't commit.
Any reports from the staff?

Source for that statement he “told another coach he didn’t commit” ?

willandi
02-23-2019, 06:49 PM
Source for that statement he “told another coach he didn’t commit” ?

The Twitter link at the top

MickMick
02-23-2019, 06:50 PM
My jaw just hit the floor.

The front court will be legendary

23dpg
02-23-2019, 06:54 PM
Source for that statement he “told another coach he didn’t commit” ?

Nick Rocco
@Rock_Piece

40m
Replying to
@DraftExpress
Apparently he told a coach from another team that he did not commit to Gonzaga..

raise the zag
02-23-2019, 06:56 PM
My jaw just hit the floor.

The front court will be legendary

Not saying it isn't true, yet this is far from official.

I'm not so certain we shouldn't delete this thread until verified.

Solely based on a tweet from a source. Oumar was quoted as saying he would take all 3 visits prior to committing.

Is this premature?

gonzagafan62
02-23-2019, 06:57 PM
This is bad a**

MDABE80
02-23-2019, 06:58 PM
Does it really matter though? Neither Ballo or Zakharov figure to be 5 year guys.

Give whoever is least ready the Rui freshman treatment and go from there.

Also, Clarke is so completely gone that we don't even need to entertain that idea anymore. He's gone.

We'll know more after the initial camps. Don't be so sure.

MDABE80
02-23-2019, 06:59 PM
Apparently told another coach that he didn't commit.
Any reports from the staff?

Nothing yet Will...……..maybe

OntZags
02-23-2019, 07:02 PM
We'll know more after the initial camps. Don't be so sure.

Clarke is G-O-N-E. Full stop. Enjoy him while we have him because he isn't coming back.

GonzagasaurusFlex
02-23-2019, 07:08 PM
Not saying it isn't true, yet this is far from official.

I'm not so certain we shouldn't delete this thread until verified.

Solely based on a tweet from a source. Oumar was quoted as saying he would take all 3 visits prior to committing.

Is this premature?

My sentiments exactly. As much as I wanna hoot and holler and welcome Oumar Ballo to ZagNation, I’ll await an official announcement.

JPtheBeasta
02-23-2019, 07:16 PM
FWIW, it is being reported on ESPN. April 1 isn’t for a few weeks... is Jonathan Givony credible?

GoZags
02-23-2019, 07:21 PM
My sentiments exactly. As much as I wanna hoot and holler and welcome Oumar Ballo to ZagNation, I’ll await an official announcement.

Nothing is “official” until Letter if Intent day. ... April ‘19 is late signing period.

Malastein
02-23-2019, 07:22 PM
FWIW, it is being reported on ESPN. April 1 isn’t for a few weeks... is Jonathan Givony credible?
If Givony is saying it, then it’s probably true...

MDABE80
02-23-2019, 07:23 PM
http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2019/feb/23/mali-center-oumar-ballo-verbally-commits-to-gonzag/

Malastein
02-23-2019, 07:24 PM
Clarke is G-O-N-E. Full stop. Enjoy him while we have him because he isn't coming back.


I’ll be shocked if Clarke isn’t a top 10 pick. If these Zags make the Final Four, then I think both Clarke and Rui go top 5.

MDABE80
02-23-2019, 07:26 PM
Clarke is G-O-N-E. Full stop. Enjoy him while we have him because he isn't coming back.

We'll see......like you know anything but your opinion. He's not signed yet and he's not gone. I agree it's likely but nothing firm yet. Did he sign somewhere you know of?? No. So we wait...hope he comes back. Did he tell you directly? DO you know him???

JAGzag
02-23-2019, 07:29 PM
We'll see......like you know anything but your opinion. He's not signed yet and he's not gone. I agree it's likely but nothing firm yet. Did he sign somewhere you know of?? No. So we wait...hope he comes back. Did he tell you directly? DO you know him???

Is there even room for him to return?

zagsfanforlife
02-23-2019, 07:31 PM
Is there even room for him to return?

I am sure they can find room for an All American if he wishes to come back...

MDABE80
02-23-2019, 07:33 PM
Is there even room for him to return?

Should that be the case.yeah. sure we'd find a spot for him...……..lol

Mantua
02-23-2019, 07:48 PM
Great day in the morning!

Welcome Oumar!

Bienvenue Oumar!

Mantua
02-23-2019, 07:58 PM
Nothing yet Will...ÖÖ..maybe

I asked for a source on Twitter and so did the author, but there is no reply. A troll perhaps?

willandi
02-23-2019, 08:02 PM
http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/26065229/oumar-ballo-16-year-old-malian-center-commits-gonzaga
On my phone so I can't get it all.
This is from ESPN
Apparently I did

gonzagafan62
02-23-2019, 08:08 PM
The tweet in wheeling box states Oumar Ballo originally thought he was going to take all 3 visits. Loved GU, felt right at hone, and decided not to go on other two visits

23dpg
02-23-2019, 08:09 PM
All sources are the same, this guy: Jonathan Givony.
Sure hope he’s right.

thespywhozaggedme
02-23-2019, 08:10 PM
6'9" or taller in 2019:
Watson
Timme
Zakharov
Ballo

Wow.

Plus Petrusev

gonzagafan62
02-23-2019, 08:10 PM
All sources are the same, this guy: Jonathan Givony.
Sure hope he’s right.

https://mobile.twitter.com/jakeweingarten/status/1099486552579817472

zagsfanforlife
02-23-2019, 08:15 PM
Plus Petrusev

That front court is what they call DIRTY.

zagsfanforlife
02-23-2019, 08:17 PM
Plus Petrusev

Imagine how better they will all make each other. 2 deep at each front court position.

Think of this. If you consider Kispert a pro by his senior season, next year we have 2 deep in pros at the 3-5. That is insane.

IowaSERE
02-23-2019, 08:18 PM
Kispert a pro? Wko has ever considered him a pro?

zagsfanforlife
02-23-2019, 08:21 PM
Kispert a pro? Wko has ever considered him a pro?

Dude has two more years.. has started for 2 years at GU at a school in the top 15 both years. To write him off and say he has no shot is a bit premature.

zagamatic
02-23-2019, 08:26 PM
So....as of right now, we have 6 incoming players for next year? And if my math is correct, scholarship players definitely leaving this year via graduation are Perkins, Crandall and Jones. Likely gone are Clarke and Hachimura. And then there's Larsen who is still on scholarship if I recall correctly who likely (?) won't be back next year? That's 6 scholarships available for next year potentially which would leave Tillie room to come back, right?

Gunzawguh
02-23-2019, 08:26 PM
Givony is about as legit as it gets, folks.

If you need a quick Bio, this pretty much sums it up...

“Jonathan is the founder of DraftExpress.com (2003-2017), which was the industry leader for all info revolving around the NBA Draft. In July of 2017, he was hired by ESPN to cover the NBA Draft and international basketball on a full-time basis. DraftExpress maintains an influential private scouting and analytics service utilized by NBA, NCAA and International teams. Givony has been covering the NBA Draft on a year-round, full-time basis since 2003, and is regarded as one of the most credible and reputable sources in the space by NBA teams and industry members. Givony attends virtually every major tournament, camp, workout, Combine or other type of gathering featuring present or future NBA prospects, whether in the US or worldwide, and has a deep stable of global contacts in his network thanks to his 15 years in the business. He previously wrote for the Vertical under Yahoo! Sports, and has had bylines in the New York Times, Sports Illustrated, NBA.com and other outlets.”

webspinnre
02-23-2019, 09:12 PM
Givony is about as legit as it gets, folks.

If you need a quick Bio, this pretty much sums it up...

“Jonathan is the founder of DraftExpress.com (2003-2017), which was the industry leader for all info revolving around the NBA Draft. In July of 2017, he was hired by ESPN to cover the NBA Draft and international basketball on a full-time basis. DraftExpress maintains an influential private scouting and analytics service utilized by NBA, NCAA and International teams. Givony has been covering the NBA Draft on a year-round, full-time basis since 2003, and is regarded as one of the most credible and reputable sources in the space by NBA teams and industry members. Givony attends virtually every major tournament, camp, workout, Combine or other type of gathering featuring present or future NBA prospects, whether in the US or worldwide, and has a deep stable of global contacts in his network thanks to his 15 years in the business. He previously wrote for the Vertical under Yahoo! Sports, and has had bylines in the New York Times, Sports Illustrated, NBA.com and other outlets.”

Precisely. This isn't just some random dude on Twitter.

Spink
02-23-2019, 09:14 PM
Kispert - not an NBA Pro, but could play for $ after GU

HenneZag
02-23-2019, 09:25 PM
Kispert - not an NBA Pro, but could play for $ after GU

He is a solid player and will play at the next level most likely in Europe. Good ball and a very comfortable living.

23dpg
02-23-2019, 09:28 PM
If or when CK goes pro we can have a thread about that.

Until then, hey Ballo committed......I think.

Mantua
02-23-2019, 09:32 PM
If or when CK goes pro we can have a thread about that.

Until then, hey Ballo committed......I think.

Meehan thinks so.

https://www.spokesman.com/stories/2019/feb/23/mali-center-oumar-ballo-verbally-commits-to-gonzag/

thespywhozaggedme
02-23-2019, 09:39 PM
So....as of right now, we have 6 incoming players for next year? And if my math is correct, scholarship players definitely leaving this year via graduation are Perkins, Crandall and Jones. Likely gone are Clarke and Hachimura. And then there's Larsen who is still on scholarship if I recall correctly who likely (?) won't be back next year? That's 6 scholarships available for next year potentially which would leave Tillie room to come back, right?

Or a grad transfer pg.

raise the zag
02-23-2019, 09:44 PM
So....as of right now, we have 6 incoming players for next year? And if my math is correct, scholarship players definitely leaving this year via graduation are Perkins, Crandall and Jones. Likely gone are Clarke and Hachimura. And then there's Larsen who is still on scholarship if I recall correctly who likely (?) won't be back next year? That's 6 scholarships available for next year potentially which would leave Tillie room to come back, right?

The way Norvell has been playing the last few weeks, don't discount his declaration if he performs well in March.

thespywhozaggedme
02-23-2019, 09:45 PM
The way Norvell has been playing the last few weeks, don't discount his declaration if he performs well in March.

yup. Dalton Hommes on standby to take his spot if he does.

GonzaGAW
02-23-2019, 09:58 PM
- this is indeed jaw dropping, speechless good news.

- I don't know who Dalton hommes is, gonna look him up next, but he better be 'the' best p.g. graduate transfer in the country, because we are going to literally have the pick of the litter next year.

thespywhozaggedme
02-23-2019, 10:18 PM
- this is indeed jaw dropping, speechless good news.

- I don't know who Dalton hommes is, gonna look him up next, but he better be 'the' best p.g. graduate transfer in the country, because we are going to literally have the pick of the litter next year.

sg transfer if Zach leaves. 6'7 averages 23 ppg and shoots 46% from 3 at Point Loma Nazarene. Is from the state of Washington. There was buzz that he was gonna declare for the draft, but it looks more likely that he's gonna grad transfer to a elite power program and our name has been attached to him. Someone speculated that he was at our game vs SD last week, but I have no idea. Not sure how high he is on Fews list of priorities, all depends on if ZN leaves after this season.

https://plnusealions.com/cumestats.aspx?path=mbball&year=2018

Supposedly there's a grand transfer pg lined up, but lips are really sealed on that one, none of the insiders on this board, and there are a few are saying a peep.

JPtheBeasta
02-23-2019, 10:30 PM
For PG, perhaps Biggs McGee has a cousin? Guardy McDimes?

thespywhozaggedme
02-23-2019, 10:40 PM
For PG, perhaps Biggs McGee has a cousin? Guardy McDimes?

Nice!

Malastein
02-23-2019, 10:45 PM
For PG, perhaps Biggs McGee has a cousin? Guardy McDimes?

#winning

TravelinZag
02-24-2019, 12:16 AM
The joy may be premature. The hopes are ours. The decision and timing belong to him.

CanadianZagsFan
02-24-2019, 12:18 AM
I see this news on Twitter after watching the BYU game.
Crazy!
He was just visiting the Kennel the other day, and has already committed. They said on one of Spokane news channel he had another team recruiting him hard, but he probably wasnít going to visit them (thatís when I felt GU chances were solid) but didnít expect the news so soon. I need to do some reading up on this kid, Iíve been too focused on Timme HS highlights on YouTube. I highly recommend checking YouTube out for the older fans, youíll be on there all day watching extended clips.

rennis
02-24-2019, 12:20 AM
Welcome young man!! You are most welcome indeed


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

sittingon50
02-24-2019, 02:06 AM
For PG, perhaps Biggs McGee has a cousin? Guardy McDimes?

A(nother) legend is born!!

MDABE80
02-24-2019, 02:10 AM
Arizona, Baylor and us were his 3 noted in the story on his commitment. Big kid, good coordination, a dunker to be sure. He'l get minutes here but he's still raw and will be needing coaching. He came ot the right place.
The bigs are all new and haven't played with each other. I suspect somebody's going to get a redshirt.
We do have some fine players coming back, This season could go on for a while. I hope it does. Let us be still playing come April.

Bogozags
02-24-2019, 05:47 AM
Caldwellzag - Is Ballo considered a 5* recruit, if not where does he fit in the "star system?"

Thanks...

caldwellzag
02-24-2019, 06:40 AM
Caldwellzag - Is Ballo considered a 5* recruit, if not where does he fit in the "star system?"

Thanks...

He should be a 5 star, if he is not it will be a high 4 star. Highest rated recruit this year.

4EVERaZAG
02-24-2019, 07:21 AM
Since he is only 16.5 he would have to play multiple years at GU before he is draft eligible right?

GonzagasaurusFlex
02-24-2019, 07:48 AM
6'9" or taller in 2019:
Watson
Timme
Zakharov
Ballo
Wow.

I’m hoping Anton Watson can play the 3; the admittedly limited video I’ve seen of him suggests that could be his best position, certainly at NBA level..and he seems talented enough to be preparing himself for that career trajectory.


Does it really matter though? Neither Ballo or Zakharov figure to be 5 year guys.

Give whoever is least ready the Rui freshman treatment and go from there.

Also, Clarke is so completely gone that we don't even need to entertain that idea anymore. He's gone.

Good point, it worked fine for Rui and if he is likely not going to be a Zag for four years why not let him dip his toes into D-1 hoops as a 17 yo fresman. On the other hand, give Coach Knight a full year to work with young Mr. Oumar Ballo on his body while he hones his skills…and oh boy I bet he could introduce himself to college hoops in Zion-esque fashion in 2020-21!


The staff has done a remarkable job recruiting for 2019-20 season...
Let's hope that S&S commit and make 20-21 another top class!

Imagine the 2020-21 possibilities if all goes well w Zags on the recruiting front!
LITTLES: Harris; Strawther; Suggs; Ravet; Ayayi; Foster;
BIGS: Petrusev; Timme; Zakharov; Ballo;
STUD WINGS: Kispert; Watson; Arlauskas

NorthoftheBorder
02-24-2019, 07:56 AM
Since he is only 16.5 he would have to play multiple years at GU before he is draft eligible right?

His birthday is July 13, 2002 You have to turn 19 in the year of the draft to be eligible so, correct, he would have to stay at least two years and would not be eligible to be drafted until 2021.

raise the zag
02-24-2019, 09:23 AM
His birthday is July 13, 2002 You have to turn 19 in the year of the draft to be eligible so, correct, he would have to stay at least two years and would not be eligible to be drafted until 2021.

No need to worry. The kid is 2 yr minimum.

Has one post move.

Huge ceiling but a ways to go. He isn't running into lane shooting floaters, mid range shots, spin moves etc like Rui and Clarke can do in addition to posting up.

Now, Ballo more traditional Center prospect, uses his size and raw strength to score. He will be a force but has a ways to go to become a complete player even at his position.

Expected for the potential yet not one & done.

Let's start by having him score with his both hands, or score floaters over shoulder etc.

Today's NBA isn't the same as when hunker down centers dominated.

Ballo will have to develop more moves and a face up shot before sniffing the draft.

He kind of reminds me of Naz Reid of LSU.

Irish_eliZAG
02-24-2019, 10:18 AM
https://twitter.com/insidethekennel/status/1099728839574503425?s=21

IowaSERE
02-24-2019, 10:32 AM
Granted it's a highlight video, but I saw numerous face up jumpers and a few ugly 3s. He'll be the best player in the ncaa in 2 years.

Watch "OUMAR BALLO CANīT STOP DUNKING!!!!!!!!!!" on YouTube
https://youtu.be/bhjYYcBqgaU

IowaSERE
02-24-2019, 10:37 AM
yup. Dalton Hommes on standby to take his spot if he does.

I'd love to see ZN at pg and Hommes at sg. Maybe not all the time, but for 20 min a game

MDABE80
02-24-2019, 10:42 AM
All these bigs are new to D1. I suspect each will need some time to develop. The guard situation should be ok but we do need some new faces especially at the point. Few's system takes time to learn regardless of the talent level. Quite the bounty showing up though.

bigblahla
02-24-2019, 10:51 AM
https://twitter.com/insidethekennel/status/1099728839574503425?s=21

Hey Zag fans Irish_eliZAG is a regular on SSF... her sister and her are coming from Ireland to watch the Zags at the WCC tournament in Las Vegas... if you meet them show them a Zagtastic good time...

Go!! Zags!!!

ttown0026
02-24-2019, 11:19 AM
Ballo posted this today on Instagram...

oumarballo11
Itís Official Iím a #Zag ����
Happy to join #ZagFamily #ZagUp #UnitedWeZag
#TrustTheBallo

GonzagasaurusFlex
02-24-2019, 12:06 PM
Ballo posted this today on Instagram...

oumarballo11
It’s Official I’m a #Zag ����
Happy to join #ZagFamily #ZagUp #UnitedWeZag
#TrustTheBallo

#TrustTheBallo indeed!

thespywhozaggedme
02-24-2019, 01:22 PM
I'd love to see ZN at pg and Hommes at sg. Maybe not all the time, but for 20 min a game

Funny, I was thinking the exact same thing late last night. Zach has the vision and handles to run the point.

thespywhozaggedme
02-24-2019, 01:58 PM
247 just today ranked him as a 4*, # 62 overall. A little low imho.

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Four-star-international-center-Oumar-Ballo-commits-to-Gonzaga-129446020/

caldwellzag
02-24-2019, 02:02 PM
247 just today ranked him as a 4*, # 62 overall. A little low imho.

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Four-star-international-center-Oumar-Ballo-commits-to-Gonzaga-129446020/

I agree.

basketballzag
02-24-2019, 02:17 PM
I agree.

A year older he would be a top 5 recruit but 64 is woefully low. He is a legit 25-35 who will probably redshir next year.

BobZag
02-24-2019, 02:23 PM
Petrusev
Timme
Watson
Zakharov
Ballo

Lots of options up front for Few next year.

Bring in the guards in 2020 and Gregg/Bittle in 2021.

Mantua
02-24-2019, 03:00 PM
Petrusev
Timme
Watson
Zakharov
Ballo

Lots of options up front for Few next year.

Bring in the guards in 2020 and Gregg/Bittle in 2021.

We have a great start for a monster team in 2020 and 2021. I just want to make sure that that we have a guard and a big who can make the pass to Norvell.

Zagdawg
02-24-2019, 03:13 PM
Drew Timme welcomes him to the family and Ballo responds positively -- going to be a load down low.

https://twitter.com/zagaholicpod/status/1099765820073201664

SLOZag
02-24-2019, 06:57 PM
247Sports ranks Oumar # 62 (****) in the Top247.

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Four-star-international-center-Oumar-Ballo-commits-to-Gonzaga-129446020

Mantua
02-24-2019, 08:51 PM
247Sports ranks Oumar # 62 (****) in the Top247.

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Four-star-international-center-Oumar-Ballo-commits-to-Gonzaga-129446020

Nah! They’re wrong.

kdaleb
02-24-2019, 10:24 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D0N53g8UcAYtZeS.jpg

So Omar wears #11 - will he and Joel arm wrestle for it?

ZagzKrak
02-24-2019, 11:07 PM
That looks like a NBA build at only 16...wow. Reminds me of Ayton's build.

Irish_eliZAG
02-25-2019, 04:51 AM
Hey Zag fans Irish_eliZAG is a regular on SSF... her sister and her are coming from Ireland to watch the Zags at the WCC tournament in Las Vegas... if you meet them show them a Zagtastic good time...

Go!! Zags!!!

Hello there. Are you going to wcc tournament yourself?

bigblahla
02-25-2019, 06:15 AM
Hi Eli.... not this year... sent you a private message... good way to communicate off of the board... enjoy your trip... I doubt it will happen but would love for our Zags to play in the basketball tournament in Ireland like San Francisco did this OOC...

Go!! Zags!!!

former1dog
02-25-2019, 06:21 AM
Welcome Ballo!!

Thanks to CaldwellZag, this was well known ahead of time!

Hoopaholic
02-25-2019, 06:30 PM
Hello there. Are you going to wcc tournament yourself?

As a fellow Irishman would love to meet you guys

zagsfanforlife
02-25-2019, 06:54 PM
First of all Welcome Oumar! When i first heard about this recruitment, i was very excited based on his sheer size alone. For a 16 year old, his body is unparalleled at that age (outside of maybe Zion in terms of PHYSICAL GIFTS). Very happy that he will be a zag.

With that said HE IS A PROJECT. Those saying 5* and comparing to Zion are being pretty unfair to the kid IMO. While he is huge for his age and appears to be as strong as a marvel character, he is still VERY RAW based on the videos i have seen. He does not appear to have many handles, can not shoot further than 7 feet away (and please don't show me him hitting one jump shot from ten feet out... his form needs A LOT OF WORK. I have also not seen very many post moves at all from him.

If you compare his tape to Pavel or Drew's, two other big men in this class, you will see various post move after various post move from both. You do not see that with Oumar's tape. Neither of those guys are consensus 5* guys, Oumar should not be mentioned right now as a 5* in that case.

With any project, there is a high ceiling but a low floor. Which one he will reach all depends on Oumar. He has the physical gifts but has to be open to coaching and has to work his tail off. At the high D1 level and if he is fortunate enough, in the pros, he will need multiple post moves and must hit an outside shot. When guys get bigger, you can't just bully everyone around and dunk on them.

Let's hold off on the Zion comparisons too. That is extremely unfair to the kid. Zion was a consensus top 2 player in his class, a phenom since his soph year and in terms of pure basketball skills is much farther along than Oumar right now.


I have high hopes for Oumar.. kids with his size don't come around often. Viewing right now from a skills standpoint though, a long way to go before he can contribute lots. Battling with Pavel, Filip and Drew daily will be very beneficial.

Zagger
02-26-2019, 03:08 AM
Hi Eli.... not this year... sent you a private message... good way to communicate off of the board... enjoy your trip... I doubt it will happen but would love for our Zags to play in the basketball tournament in Ireland like San Francisco did this OOC...

Go!! Zags!!!

They do and we're there. The Mrs and I would love to go to Ireland!

caldwellzag
02-26-2019, 06:48 AM
First of all Welcome Oumar! When i first heard about this recruitment, i was very excited based on his sheer size alone. For a 16 year old, his body is unparalleled at that age (outside of maybe Zion in terms of PHYSICAL GIFTS). Very happy that he will be a zag.

With that said HE IS A PROJECT. Those saying 5* and comparing to Zion are being pretty unfair to the kid IMO. While he is huge for his age and appears to be as strong as a marvel character, he is still VERY RAW based on the videos i have seen. He does not appear to have many handles, can not shoot further than 7 feet away (and please don't show me him hitting one jump shot from ten feet out... his form needs A LOT OF WORK. I have also not seen very many post moves at all from him.

If you compare his tape to Pavel or Drew's, two other big men in this class, you will see various post move after various post move from both. You do not see that with Oumar's tape. Neither of those guys are consensus 5* guys, Oumar should not be mentioned right now as a 5* in that case.

With any project, there is a high ceiling but a low floor. Which one he will reach all depends on Oumar. He has the physical gifts but has to be open to coaching and has to work his tail off. At the high D1 level and if he is fortunate enough, in the pros, he will need multiple post moves and must hit an outside shot. When guys get bigger, you can't just bully everyone around and dunk on them.

Let's hold off on the Zion comparisons too. That is extremely unfair to the kid. Zion was a consensus top 2 player in his class, a phenom since his soph year and in terms of pure basketball skills is much farther along than Oumar right now.


I have high hopes for Oumar.. kids with his size don't come around often. Viewing right now from a skills standpoint though, a long way to go before he can contribute lots. Battling with Pavel, Filip and Drew daily will be very beneficial.

I am not sure I have seen anyone compare him to Zion, outside of maybe his build. The kid is a 5 star recruit on Rivals currently, as he has the projectiles to be the best player in this class for us. His game is not currently on the level of Timme or even Pavel, but when Rui came in he could not even get playing time. What you are correct in saying is that he is very young, but he is still a 5 star guy. Huge recruit for us and one that will take a few years to develop.

BTW not saying Inside the Kennel was wrong, but you did call me out last week when I said expect something this weekend by saying Inside the Kennel said something different. Pretty sure I was spot on with Ballo and him signing. Just saying.

bigblahla
02-26-2019, 07:46 AM
They do and we're there. The Mrs and I would love to go to Ireland!

Have a feeling a lot of Zag fans would want to go... I know I would... it's not Maui or the Battle 4 Atlantis.... even though it's a lower level tournament IMO the marketing aspect in Europe could be huge for Gonzaga....

Go!! Zags!!!

zagsfanforlife
02-26-2019, 08:26 AM
I am not sure I have seen anyone compare him to Zion, outside of maybe his build. The kid is a 5 star recruit on Rivals currently, as he has the projectiles to be the best player in this class for us. His game is not currently on the level of Timme or even Pavel, but when Rui came in he could not even get playing time. What you are correct in saying is that he is very young, but he is still a 5 star guy. Huge recruit for us and one that will take a few years to develop.

BTW not saying Inside the Kennel was wrong, but you did call me out last week when I said expect something this weekend by saying Inside the Kennel said something different. Pretty sure I was spot on with Ballo and him signing. Just saying.

A bit defensive? I didn’t call you out. Just stated that ITK reported something different (which they did ).

And many have compared him to zion. I have a full time job so right now don’t have time to post every single snippet.

Maybe I am missing the post moves making him a 5*. My basketball coaching and past skill development work eyes see a project. Mo Bamba had far more post moves before entering college. I expect him to develop into a pro based on his development by a great staff but I’m not expecting him to be a major contributor right away which true 5* are.

My point is that many are already making these lofty comparisons and building up these huge expectations for this guy. Those should be based on the assumption that he will develop by facing other top bigs in his class and working hard at the plan set forth by the coaches. I do not see him contributing right away and I hope others understand that he is a project. Let's not write the kid off after his freshman year if he does not get major playing time or pad the stats right away. It will take time. He has a lot of post moves to further develop and is still learning the game.

EEzag
02-26-2019, 08:34 AM
I am not sure I have seen anyone compare him to Zion, outside of maybe his build. The kid is a 5 star recruit on Rivals currently, as he has the projectiles to be the best player in this class for us. His game is not currently on the level of Timme or even Pavel, but when Rui came in he could not even get playing time. What you are correct in saying is that he is very young, but he is still a 5 star guy. Huge recruit for us and one that will take a few years to develop.

BTW not saying Inside the Kennel was wrong, but you did call me out last week when I said expect something this weekend by saying Inside the Kennel said something different. Pretty sure I was spot on with Ballo and him signing. Just saying.

Ballo is not Zion. Zion had a Lebron like mythos since he was in 7th grade and the game to back it up. Ballo at 15 looked lumbering, but man what a year difference has done for him. Ballo has ridiculous potential and the right staff to unlock it. I wonder if there is something like the Rui 3 year plan?

caldwellzag
02-26-2019, 08:55 AM
A bit defensive? I didn’t call you out. Just stated that ITK reported something different (which they did ).

And many have compared him to zion. I have a full time job so right now don’t have time to post every single snippet.

Maybe I am missing the post moves making him a 5*. My basketball coaching and past skill development work eyes see a project. Mo Bamba had far more post moves before entering college. I expect him to develop into a pro based on his development by a great staff but I’m not expecting him to be a major contributor right away which true 5* are.

My point is that many are already making these lofty comparisons and building up these huge expectations for this guy. Those should be based on the assumption that he will develop by facing other top bigs in his class and working hard at the plan set forth by the coaches. I do not see him contributing right away and I hope others understand that he is a project. Let's not write the kid off after his freshman year if he does not get major playing time or pad the stats right away. It will take time. He has a lot of post moves to further develop and is still learning the game.

Your post came across not as stating what they reported, more as "I doubt your right dude because a pay for site said it wouldn't happen, so you must be wrong." I don't mind sharing my information for free, as I feel privileged to get the information I have, but post like yours make me want to just keep it all to myself and sit back and watch some of yours and other peoples wild assumptions about recruits. I know a few things about Suggs recruitment that have not been shared, that I would love to share with you, that Inside the Kennel and probably no other recruiting service knows, but I have kept them to myself for now, as I was asked to not share. Plus doubt you would believe it if I posted it.

People comparing him to Zion are wrong, his body type maybe a little, but not his game. I am going to go with Rivals and my own eyes to say he is a 5 star recruit, maybe not the most polished one, but still a 5 star recruit and one that would be Top 20 in his class had he been a 2020 recruit.

caldwellzag
02-26-2019, 08:55 AM
Ballo is not Zion. Zion had a Lebron like mythos since he was in 7th grade and the game to back it up. Ballo at 15 looked lumbering, but man what a year difference has done for him. Ballo has ridiculous potential and the right staff to unlock it. I wonder if there is something like the Rui 3 year plan?

He will be on a similar track as Rui.

former1dog
02-26-2019, 09:17 AM
If you compare his tape to Pavel or Drew's, two other big men in this class, you will see various post move after various post move from both. You do not see that with Oumar's tape. Neither of those guys are consensus 5* guys, Oumar should not be mentioned right now as a 5* in that case.

I disagree. Ballo, IMO, is much farther along than you’re giving him credit for. Here’s some notes I took as I watched a couple of videos of him that weren’t dunk centric and showed a lot of different aspects of his game.

He’s a little bit raw, but he has been well coached and he also clearly has a lot of natural talent and is, in my opinion, extremely competitive. It is this last noted trait, that competitiveness, that is going to be the basis for a rapid improvement over an already very, very good player.

From 2017 (Ballo age 15, barely)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSpkFvqTzWQ

Good pass out of double team.

Right handed hook shot.

Step through driving lay up.

Left handed hook shot. (missed)

Established and held deep post position and forced a foul on defense as he went for a left handed layup.

Very active(good) rebounder.

Pass Fake move to left handed finger roll attempt, drawing a foul.

Rebound, immediate outlet pass ĺ court for a fast break.

Seems to run the court pretty well.

Great footwork going from his right to a left handed hook attempt

Spin move from the block for a made fallaway short jumper

From 2018 (Ballo age 16, barely)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uWbT3sPAF7g


Good Footwork

Establishes excellent position, utilizing his size when posting up. Often guaranteeing himself a layup just due to the work he’s doing prior to getting the ball. Seeing this over and over and over again. A real weapon.

Really good hands, catches everything thrown his way.

Hook shots over either shoulder with either hand

Splits double team and attempts a short hook from the opposite of the block

He is so physical. Seeks out contact, doesn’t ever shy away.

Dominant shot blocker.

Moves his feet very well on defense.

Very active on defense.

Looked very comfortable shooting the 8 to 10 foot jumper.

Offensive rebound, keeps the ball up and finishes the And 1 play

Free throw shooting form improving from 2017


I must say, when I really think about it, Ballo reminds me of what Karnowski would have been if he had been really athletic.

former1dog
02-26-2019, 09:19 AM
By the way, a search of this thread indicates the first poster to bring up Zion was Zagsfanforlife. I'm not sure why anyone would compare him to Zion, they don't play the same position and play very different types of games.

former1dog
02-26-2019, 09:29 AM
He will be on a similar track as Rui.

I will defer to you caldwellzag, as I should. That said, I have a sneaking feeling that Ballo might be a more impactful freshman that Rui was.

2Zags3Pups
02-26-2019, 11:25 AM
Here is a link to the FIBA tournament from this summer. You can look at stats and some of the games are condensed. He needs a year with Travis Knight to get a little more athletic.

http://www.fiba.basketball/world/u17/2018/team/Mali

hls97
02-26-2019, 12:42 PM
https://twitter.com/EvanDaniels/status/1100480864918618114

Zagceo
02-26-2019, 01:18 PM
He will be on a similar track as Rui.

sounds reasonable.

put him in against West Virginia in Sweet 16 game for defensive purposes )

zagsfanforlife
02-26-2019, 01:20 PM
By the way, a search of this thread indicates the first poster to bring up Zion was Zagsfanforlife. I'm not sure why anyone would compare him to Zion, they don't play the same position and play very different types of games.

You should search a bit harder in the ballo conversations then

basketballzag
02-26-2019, 02:42 PM
A bit defensive? I didnít call you out. Just stated that ITK reported something different (which they did ).

And many have compared him to zion. I have a full time job so right now donít have time to post every single snippet.

Maybe I am missing the post moves making him a 5*. My basketball coaching and past skill development work eyes see a project. Mo Bamba had far more post moves before entering college. I expect him to develop into a pro based on his development by a great staff but Iím not expecting him to be a major contributor right away which true 5* are.

My point is that many are already making these lofty comparisons and building up these huge expectations for this guy. Those should be based on the assumption that he will develop by facing other top bigs in his class and working hard at the plan set forth by the coaches. I do not see him contributing right away and I hope others understand that he is a project. Let's not write the kid off after his freshman year if he does not get major playing time or pad the stats right away. It will take time. He has a lot of post moves to further develop and is still learning the game.

Ballo is no Zion. They are two totally different players. Ballo instead reminds me of a cross between Shaq at 16 and Stanley Roberts at 16 when Dale first brought them to campus. He has Shaq's skinny yet muscular physique and Stanley's refined game. Starting college at 16 is going to be a bit of a challenge which is why I have maintained that he will redshirt next year but if he doesn't he is still one of the best players in the country in this class. Next year he would have been a top 5-10 recruit. As for your analysis on Ballo I would recommend watching his latest work not the work from 3, 4, 6, 10 months ago but his recent style because that is a kid who has it all and is now getting used to his body size. It won't surprise me to see him hit 6'11 or 7'1 by his 18th b'day.

former1dog
02-26-2019, 02:47 PM
You should search a bit harder in the ballo conversations then

I think you're making my point. If I have to search hard for someone comparing Ballo to Zion, then it is not a prevalent sentiment.

zagsfanforlife
02-26-2019, 04:15 PM
Ballo is no Zion. They are two totally different players. Ballo instead reminds me of a cross between Shaq at 16 and Stanley Roberts at 16 when Dale first brought them to campus. He has Shaq's skinny yet muscular physique and Stanley's refined game. Starting college at 16 is going to be a bit of a challenge which is why I have maintained that he will redshirt next year but if he doesn't he is still one of the best players in the country in this class. Next year he would have been a top 5-10 recruit. As for your analysis on Ballo I would recommend watching his latest work not the work from 3, 4, 6, 10 months ago but his recent style because that is a kid who has it all and is now getting used to his body size. It won't surprise me to see him hit 6'11 or 7'1 by his 18th b'day.

Do you have recent videos you can share with us?

Kiddwell
03-07-2019, 08:30 AM
...finally adds Ballo to the Zags's 2019 recruit list. (Doesn't give him, as with fellow international Arlauskas, the "star treatment" though.)

http://www.espn.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/school/_/id/2250/class/2019/gonzaga-bulldogs







:]

Mantua
03-07-2019, 02:24 PM
...finally adds Ballo to the Zags's 2019 recruit list. (Doesn't give him, as with fellow international Arlauskas, the "star treatment" though.)

http://www.espn.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/school/_/id/2250/class/2019/gonzaga-bulldogs





:]


Honestly! It’s to much work to keep up with the constant flow of disappointments from ESPN. They are so lazy. Next year when they finally figure it out, will they be smug like they knew all along or will they be shocked that GU got such a great player (again)?



Big O is answering questions on his Instagram account now. Some are from Zag fans.
He says he’s 100% a Zag.
His preferred nickname is Big O.

https://www.instagram.com/oumarballo11/?hl=en

Zagdawg
03-20-2019, 08:44 AM
Best Centre: Oumar Ballo

Ballo was a beast at camp on day one. He is easily the most powerful among the bigs and knows how to throw his weight around in the paint.

As his body continues to dice up, he’ll have more flow and be able to move better in transition. As of right now, he is a half court guy that can seal and receive over the shoulder with an ability to finish with authority around the rim. Since we’re in Charlotte I’ll give a throw back comparison which actually suits Ballo from the Charlotte Hornets.

He has a Larry Johnson type of projection once he’s in League shape physically.


http://northpolehoops.com/2019/02/15/scouting-report-basketball-without-borders-2019-global-camp-demi-avdija-addison-patterson-oumar-ballo/

Zagdawg
04-07-2019, 11:23 AM
Jonathan Givony

Verified account

@DraftExpress
37s38 seconds ago
More
Super competitive game between the NBA Academy Africa and Latin America. Ton of size and length on the floor. Nice showing for Gonzaga bound Oumar Ballo. Africa has made huge strides since I last saw them in December. Couple of their guys really helping themselves college wise.

Travis Branham


@TravisBranham_
2m2 minutes ago
More
Very solid game for #Gonzaga commit Oumar Ballo. Best I’ve seen him play all year. Showing good hands, improving his conditioning and skillset. Hit a post-fade and a catch and shoot 3.

Ladyzag12
04-07-2019, 01:56 PM
I love Ballo, but he isn't Zion. He is more strong than athletic. He has good length and good hands and his shot has come a long ways. He is not a leaper nor does he have amazing agility. He will be a great bully center in college basketball. I imagine him as a cross between later stages Rob and Padgett for Louiville back in the day.

Zagdawg
04-07-2019, 03:53 PM
Travis Branham


@TravisBranham_
Follow Follow @TravisBranham_
More Travis Branham Retweeted Travis Branham
Easily the best I’ve seen 2019 #Gonzaga bound Oumar Ballo play. Carving out all kinds of space in the post, rebounding and really adding to his post moves. Very confident and aggressive today.

OCzag
04-07-2019, 05:13 PM
I love Ballo, but he isn't Zion. He is more strong than athletic. He has good length and good hands and his shot has come a long ways. He is not a leaper nor does he have amazing agility. He will be a great bully center in college basketball. I imagine him as a cross between later stages Rob and Padgett for Louiville back in the day.

I don’t think most people are expecting Zion. I’d be blown away if we could get freshman year Domas out of him with less skill and more power... but I’m confident that’s way optimistic.

Late stages rob isn’t bad, per se, but hoping his ceiling is higher.

jchocolate99
04-07-2019, 07:01 PM
I love Ballo, but he isn't Zion. He is more strong than athletic. He has good length and good hands and his shot has come a long ways. He is not a leaper nor does he have amazing agility. He will be a great bully center in college basketball. I imagine him as a cross between later stages Rob and Padgett for Louiville back in the day.

who the heck is expecting him to be Zion-esque?? Who ever is needs to take a seat and relax... Love me some Ballo but I'm just expecting a more athletic Karno with the ceiling to be an even more dominate big for us

LTownZag
04-07-2019, 07:41 PM
I will defer to you caldwellzag, as I should. That said, I have a sneaking feeling that Ballo might be a more impactful freshman that Rui was.


I think this'll happen even if Ballo is behind where Rui was athletically.

Rui's first year had him behind 2 current NBA players, as well as Tillie and senior Karnowski.

Rui also didn't speak a lick of English.

sittingon50
04-07-2019, 11:36 PM
.

Rui also didn't speak a lick of English.


Does Ballo?

I've seen him interviewed in French. Anyone know how his English is?

GuZag2012
04-08-2019, 03:54 AM
Does Ballo?

I've seen him interviewed in French. Anyone know how his English is?

I think Iíve seen an interview with him in English and if I recall it sounded quiet fluent.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

basketballzag
04-08-2019, 07:47 AM
I think Iíve seen an interview with him in English and if I recall it sounded quiet fluent.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yes Ballo speaks English. Glad to hear that his ankle is doing much better after he injured it earlier this year. This kid really reminds me of a 17 year old Shaq when he first stepped foot on campus at LSU after arriving from the air base in Germany. He is going to be a beast.

hooter73
04-08-2019, 09:58 AM
He speaks English just fine and is at a basketball academy where he is already learning the finer points of the game. I think he will have a similar impact to Karno in his freshman year. PK showed a ton of promise with his patience and presence but couldnt hold onto the ball for anything, which was ok, because it gave him game/learning minutes and he was playing behind a couple good players. Ballo will be similar in that respect that it doesnt all hinge on him to be THE center, but when he does get in the game, he should be showing pretty dang well.

sittingon50
04-08-2019, 11:41 AM
Thank you 2012, bbz & hooter.

EEzag
04-08-2019, 12:23 PM
Thank you 2012, bbz & hooter.

This kid EATS up space down low. He has soft hands and decent footwork. Is he a 5 star? I wouldn't put him there. He has a ton of potential, but like Rui, most of what we've seen is against less-than competition. I don't see him playing a lot next year. It's the 2020 summer development that will tell the tale. He could be an all-American in 2020.

He needs to get here, work on footwork and rebounding, improve free-throws cause he's going to be shooting a lot, and maybe get his hands up more......DI guards are going to find you sometimes at weird angles and the entry passes aren't always as clean.

If Ballo grows to 7'? Yeah, baby Shaq. And really, who would you want on this team? I say a masher 20pt 10rb guy down low that the rest of the league has to game-plan for would be a perfect compliment to the players we already have. He's high energy, fun, and seems to play that way all the time. Can't wait.

Zagdawg
04-09-2019, 08:01 AM
Who stood out at the Next Generation Showcase?

Oumar Ballo, C, 2019
After just a decent performance at Basketball Without Borders in February while still recovering from an ankle injury, Ballo looked much improved on Sunday. The Mali native is a big body post who is a total mismatch at the high school level due to his size, length, toughness and motor. Ballo’s skill level look improved; he has more confidence in his hook shot and his footwork is getting better. Given Ballo’s size and physicality, he projects as a high level rebounder at the next level. Ballo’s hands and feet have room to improve but there is no denying he will be a very tough matchup in the WCC.

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/NBA-Academy-Next-Generation-International-Prospects-Mojave-King-Oumar-Ballo-Gonzaga-131039625/

GrizZAG
04-13-2019, 09:34 AM
Ballo is not Zion at comparable ages clearly, but I will stand on my hope that in time he will something similar. Looking at lots of film of him my eye test shows he's potentially in that realm if he learns more moves. Gonzaga is exactly what he needs to reach his goals.

WallaWallaZag
04-14-2019, 02:12 AM
Ballo is not Zion at comparable ages clearly, but I will stand on my hope that in time he will something similar. Looking at lots of film of him my eye test shows he's potentially in that realm if he learns more moves. Gonzaga is exactly what he needs to reach his goals.

the only thing similar about ballo and zion is that they are physical specimens...ballo doesn't have nearly zion's athleticism (or skillset for that matter) but doesn't need to because of his pure size, which zion lacks.

Mantua
04-14-2019, 01:36 PM
the only thing similar about ballo and zion is that they are physical specimens...ballo doesn't have nearly zion's athleticism (or skillset for that matter) but doesn't need to because of his pure size, which zion lacks.

Plus Ballo is younger, is an international player and we donít have much idea about his ceiling yet. My guess is that his ceiling is very high because he has tremendous heart, is already trying to be a great teammate, shows a lot of pride in being a Zag, works very hard and has improved a lot this year.

Kiddwell
04-19-2019, 04:17 PM
...Ballo's name correctly. (The weeners.) Soon enough they'll get it right, gotta feeling.

http://www.espn.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/school/_/id/2250/class/2019/gonzaga-bulldogs


:argh: :espn: :argh:


:[

MickMick
04-20-2019, 07:41 AM
The NBA drafts on potential, even before it is fully realized.

Ballo's potential is off the charts. A Zach Collins scenario where he is coveted by the NBA before he even gets a chance to start at GU.

Like Collins, I believe we will only see a fleeting glimpse of him before he is gone.

Mr Vulture
04-20-2019, 08:47 AM
The NBA drafts on potential, even before it is fully realized.

Ballo's potential is off the charts. A Zach Collins scenario where he is coveted by the NBA before he even gets a chance to start at GU.

Like Collins, I believe we will only see a fleeting glimpse of him before he is gone.

I don't see Ballo playing nearly the minutes that Collins played as a freshman. For all the potential, Ballo is young and pretty raw from a basketball standpoint. He will most likely be a stud at GU but I wouldn't expect that until his 2nd year. I do think he gets run as a freshman, but similar to Rui minutes


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Shooter
04-20-2019, 10:23 AM
I don't see Ballo playing nearly the minutes that Collins played as a freshman. For all the potential, Ballo is young and pretty raw from a basketball standpoint. He will most likely be a stud at GU but I wouldn't expect that until his 2nd year. I do think he gets run as a freshman, but similar to Rui minutes


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I believe Ballo is only 16 right now. He doesn't turn 17 until July if I remember right. I think just his age says he will be at GU for a couple years.

Outraged
04-20-2019, 01:18 PM
I believe Ballo is only 16 right now. He doesn't turn 17 until July if I remember right. I think just his age says he will be at GU for a couple years.

From what I have seen he is good to go. As with all new players you have to learn the college game. I hope to see a rotation of two bigs in and two out like was done with Tillie Collins and Pk Williams.

Zagdawg
04-23-2019, 11:31 AM
Jim Meehan


@SRJimm
50s50 seconds ago
More
Oumar Ballo signs letter of intent with Gonzaga. The 6-10, 260-pound Ballo verbally committed in late February.

gonzagafan62
04-23-2019, 11:56 AM
Jim Meehan


@SRJimm
50s50 seconds ago
More
Oumar Ballo signs letter of intent with Gonzaga. The 6-10, 260-pound Ballo verbally committed in late February.

Heck yeah

jazzdelmar
04-23-2019, 12:32 PM
He didn’t declare? That’s an upset.

gonzagafan62
04-23-2019, 01:05 PM
He didn’t declare? That’s an upset.

You kill me. Hahaha. :cheers:

Spike#1
04-24-2019, 11:49 AM
From KREM News:

https://www.krem.com/article/sports/oumar-ballo-nicknamed-baby-shaq-signs-with-gonzaga-mens-basketball/293-2c925074-d3ed-4858-8346-6f6febc7c18a?fbclid=IwAR1_9ZkCY1UZvL8f9Np8mc4x9Kp9 ZLiS7Jzy4LRojwr4jwNL3dtucJKa5So

Mantua
04-24-2019, 06:12 PM
He didnít declare? Thatís an upset.

On Monday night, Ballo posted an Instagram story about an important announcement coming soon.

I was terrified.

Radbooks
04-25-2019, 05:14 PM
Here is a cool twitter story/video about Ballo:

https://twitter.com/NBA_Africa/status/1121542530485620736

GUZag08
04-25-2019, 05:21 PM
Here is a cool twitter story/video about Ballo:

https://twitter.com/NBA_Africa/status/1121542530485620736

Likability level: 100

raise the zag
04-25-2019, 07:46 PM
Here is a cool twitter story/video about Ballo:

https://twitter.com/NBA_Africa/status/1121542530485620736

At 1:08 in the video, looked like Pavel made a cameo alongside Ballo.

bdmiller7
04-25-2019, 08:07 PM
I think hes standing next to Vescovi at one point too.

GonzagasaurusFlex
04-26-2019, 03:21 AM
Likability level: 100

Exactly what I thought too. Seems like a genuine, down to earth kid... guess there are some advantages to not being raised in the AAU system.

Thanks for posting Rad

Bogozags
04-26-2019, 06:27 AM
At 1:08 in the video, looked like Pavel made a cameo alongside Ballo.

It looked as though Pavel was the "taller/bigger" guy...maybe it was just the camera angle...

hooter73
04-26-2019, 09:20 AM
Exactly what I thought too. Seems like a genuine, down to earth kid... guess there are some advantages to not being raised in the AAU system.

Thanks for posting Rad

lol I like that... a lot!

Zagdawg
06-20-2019, 09:30 AM
https://www.fiba.basketball/world/u19/2019/news/ballo-ready-to-accomplish-what-previous-mali-generation-couldn-t-win-u19-world-cup-games

sittingon50
06-20-2019, 11:08 AM
Nice article. Thanks Zd.

jazzdelmar
06-20-2019, 11:28 AM
Is he our Zion?

Zagdawg
06-20-2019, 11:53 AM
"Ballo, who turns 17 years old on July 13"

Kiddwell
06-20-2019, 12:42 PM
...Ballo mentioning his Zags international teammates. Calls for root beers all around.
:cheers:


:]

strikenowhere
06-20-2019, 12:46 PM
Man I feel sorry for whoever Ballo is backing down in the post!

Gonzagit
06-20-2019, 12:52 PM
Nice article. Thanks Zd.

Not even 17 yet. Wow. I think we'll need to be patient with this guy, but he could be special.

Mantua
06-25-2019, 04:33 PM
He’s showing an awful lot of maturity for someone so young. I follow him on Instagram and I’m impressed by his enthusiastic pride about being a Zag and the gracious support he shows other players. There is nothing about Oumar that seems self-centered or petty, but clearly Oumar has ambition and a sense of what his future could be given that he works towards it. I believe he may have more potential than any GU player since Stockton, but did anyone predict Stockton’s success? Anyway, my eyes will be riveted on Oumar Ballo for quite some time.

FloridaZagFan
07-04-2019, 10:17 AM
Plus Ballo is younger, is an international player and we donít have much idea about his ceiling yet. My guess is that his ceiling is very high because he has tremendous heart, is already trying to be a great teammate, shows a lot of pride in being a Zag, works very hard and has improved a lot this year.

Clearly Ballo hit the genetic lotto! Not many players could ever have his size or arm lengh, those are things you can't teach. Not a high flyer but seems to have good vision and good body control that will help with his already decent speed and footwork for a big.With his body control & coordination he should be able to develop a consistent mid range game. More importantly for him to get playing time he needs to use that vision on defense to switch and block passing lanes and with his wingspan he has a real head start. On offense he clearly has good hands and with that wingspan if he can continue to develop his passing skills WOW! If he can't pass like other GU bigs he won't play much regardless of his NBA upside. That was the special thing about BC, very good passer in traffic with elite speed. (I realize Ballo and Clarke have a totally different skill set). If Ballo learns a couple of the tricks that are up Timme's sleeve, Watch Out!

GonzagasaurusFlex
07-04-2019, 01:35 PM
Lots to be excited about w Ballo. All of the above + imagine him after a year of lifting weights w Coach Knight’s guidance and practicing vs bigs like Tillie, Petrusev, Timme and Zakharov.

After watching him w U19 Mali squad this summer, I retract my earlier post suggesting he RS. Dude is a beast and ready to contribute this season. Petrusev and Ballo holding down the 5 spot allows Tillie and Timme to play at their natural PF spot. Wish Zakharov was playing in U19’s so we could see him this summer too. Wonder if he is a RS candidate alongside Arlauskas? Just don’t see meaningful minutes for those two this season:

Woolridge / Ravet
Gilder / Ayayi
Kispert / Watson
Tillie / Timme
Petrusev / Ballo

GuZag2012
07-11-2019, 02:35 PM
Saw this video was posted yesterday and didnít see it posted here yet. Some great highlights from the FIBA U19 World Championships.

https://youtu.be/IauQKHii2WE


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mr Vulture
07-11-2019, 07:01 PM
Holy cow! He is so much better than he was less than a year ago. I thought heíd get some minutes this year but not a ton. I believe I was way off on that. To me, barring injury, Zhakarov isnít going to see much run. Ballo is going to get 15-20 minutes in combination with Tillie, Petrusev, and Timme at the 4/5 spots taking up all available minutes


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

basketballzag
07-14-2019, 02:04 PM
Holy cow! He is so much better than he was less than a year ago. I thought heíd get some minutes this year but not a ton. I believe I was way off on that. To me, barring injury, Zhakarov isnít going to see much run. Ballo is going to get 15-20 minutes in combination with Tillie, Petrusev, and Timme at the 4/5 spots taking up all available minutes


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ballo was also injured a year ago which is why those videos you saw were not indicative of how good a player he actually is. He has really started to fill out at now 17 (Happy B'day Oumar!) as he has gained almost 15 pounds of muscle since early 2018. I'll just point this out because I've said he reminds me of Shaq before he played at LSU. He was also 6'10 but 260 at the end of his senior year in high school. There are a lot of similarities right now in their game and size so it will be really fun to watch him suit up for the Zags next year.

Therunner
07-14-2019, 03:20 PM
Ballo turned 17 yesterday.

FWIW, I grew around 2-3" b/w age 17 & 18.

Theoretically, he could still be growing, and he is at least 6'9" now...

hooter73
07-14-2019, 11:32 PM
If given the opportunity, he could absolutely wreck the WCC.

Zagdawg
07-15-2019, 08:52 AM
"When given the opportunity, he will absolutely wreck the WCC."

Fixed the spelling errors......... ;)

EEzag
07-15-2019, 08:59 AM
"When given the opportunity, he will absolutely wreck the WCC."

Fixed the spelling errors......... ;)

Just wait till he gets to work on his low post game with our coaches. Ballo is still pretty raw, but man, what potential. He's going to suffer a ton of fouls both taken and given not to mention all the traveling calls, but come year two..... loooook out. He's going to wreck the WCC and beyond. Keep working young fella.

TheOtherGreatOne
07-15-2019, 10:17 AM
I have a feeling, no fact just a feeling that Ballo is going to be much better than most people think. With all that size, athletic talent, and already having some offensive skills, and a nose for rebounding, all he needs is someone to get him the ball in the right spot. He is going to be a load. With 2 senior guards I am sure that they can get him the ball at the right time better than his Mali teammates. This will make him not look not as raw as some tend to think he looks. With him and Tillie on the boards, Timme with all those post moves, and whatever Watson brings, we should be set up front. We also have shooters on the wings in Kispert Gilder, and hopefully Rivert, and slashers in the guy from North Texas, and hopefully Ayaye. On paper we should be a load for anyone we play. We have all this and I forgot all about Petroshev, who has more offensive skills than all the other guys. Man I hope there are enough minutes to go around without hurting team chemistry. Just my opinion, what you other guys think ?

scrooner
07-15-2019, 10:32 AM
I think GU should stock up on extra backboards.

hooter73
07-15-2019, 11:13 AM
Fouls and (hopefully not) playing in the system will be all that holds him back for a year or so.

Goshzagit
07-15-2019, 05:28 PM
I have a feeling, no fact just a feeling that Ballo is going to be much better than most people think. With all that size, athletic talent, and already having some offensive skills, and a nose for rebounding, all he needs is someone to get him the ball in the right spot. He is going to be a load. With 2 senior guards I am sure that they can get him the ball at the right time better than his Mali teammates. This will make him not look not as raw as some tend to think he looks. With him and Tillie on the boards, Timme with all those post moves, and whatever Watson brings, we should be set up front. We also have shooters on the wings in Kispert Gilder, and hopefully Rivert, and slashers in the guy from North Texas, and hopefully Ayaye. On paper we should be a load for anyone we play. We have all this and I forgot all about Petroshev, who has more offensive skills than all the other guys. Man I hope there are enough minutes to go around without hurting team chemistry. Just my opinion, what you other guys think ?

A lot of mouths to feed. And keep full.

With most having NBA aspirations early as possible.

Different times/era.

Will be tough to keep all happy as all have said the expect to play, and make an impact

Only interview I've seen with realistic expectations is Ravet, everyone else wants to be the next big thing.

Good problem to have yet will still be a problem to solve.

Bogozags
07-15-2019, 05:51 PM
I have a feeling, no fact just a feeling that Ballo is going to be much better than most people think. With all that size, athletic talent, and already having some offensive skills, and a nose for rebounding, all he needs is someone to get him the ball in the right spot. He is going to be a load. With 2 senior guards I am sure that they can get him the ball at the right time better than his Mali teammates. This will make him not look not as raw as some tend to think he looks. With him and Tillie on the boards, Timme with all those post moves, and whatever Watson brings, we should be set up front. We also have shooters on the wings in Kispert Gilder, and hopefully Rivert, and slashers in the guy from North Texas, and hopefully Ayaye. On paper we should be a load for anyone we play. We have all this and I forgot all about Petroshev, who has more offensive skills than all the other guys. Man I hope there are enough minutes to go around without hurting team chemistry. Just my opinion, what you other guys think ?

I've said this before...Ballo is going to be the best post player when it is all said and done...all the physical traits and just needs to work to maximize his God given gifts...just stay healthy!

GonzaGAW
07-15-2019, 08:44 PM
- I have heard/read both that ballo is and is not eligible for the nba draft after his sophomore year.
- after his sophomore year and about a month before the nba draft he is going to be 18 yrs and 11 months old. can an 18 yr old be eligible for the draft?

- if someone is in the know on this point and can sight nba rules, I'd appreciate it.
- I'm greedy and want to know how many years I can enjoy this young man in a zag uniform, 2 or 3 years?

LTownZag
07-15-2019, 09:12 PM
- I have heard/read both that ballo is and is not eligible for the nba draft after his sophomore year.
- after his sophomore year and about a month before the nba draft he is going to be 18 yrs and 11 months old. can an 18 yr old be eligible for the draft?

- if someone is in the know on this point and can sight nba rules, I'd appreciate it.
- I'm greedy and want to know how many years I can enjoy this young man in a zag uniform, 2 or 3 years?

You must have completed 1 yr of college (or I guess overseas pro) and you must be 19 at some point during the calendar year of the draft. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eligibility_for_the_NBA_draft

I believe Ballo just turned 17. Next summer (2020) he will turn 18. The summer after that (2021) he will turn 19 and be draft eligible, (18yrs old during summertime and on draft day, 19 during fall 2021as part of the calendar year).

So I think 2 yr minimum is it.

GonzaGAW
07-15-2019, 09:38 PM
- thx ltown
- what you explain makes sense, issue essentially turns on fact ballo will be 19 in that calendar year, while not 19 at the time of the draft.
- okay, we would all have liked 3 yrs, but can still get excited about 2 years.

soccerdud
08-16-2019, 09:34 AM
if anyone wanted to see more ballo (and honestly, who doesn't?), i found this in a link from smc boards: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JSWjvyG70rI.

it's ballo's NBA academy team vs an american prep school. apparently smc has been linked with vescovi (mentioned on this forum previously). anyway, the video is extended full-game highlights (and therefore doesn't revolve around a single player/team), but ballo shows up a lot, particularly in the 2nd half.

bdmiller7
08-16-2019, 11:27 AM
if anyone wanted to see more ballo (and honestly, who doesn't?), i found this in a link from smc boards: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JSWjvyG70rI.

it's ballo's NBA academy team vs an american prep school. apparently smc has been linked with vescovi (mentioned on this forum previously). anyway, the video is extended full-game highlights (and therefore doesn't revolve around a single player/team), but ballo shows up a lot, particularly in the 2nd half.

Thanks. Ballo, Vescovi, and #10 all looked pretty good on the academy team, especially in the 2nd half.

Mantua
08-16-2019, 04:44 PM
I’m excited to see his rim protection and curious about how fast he can the length of the court in a GU gam

A couple of those blocks in the NBA Academy game looked like lightning strikes.

raise the zag
08-17-2019, 10:09 AM
if anyone wanted to see more ballo (and honestly, who doesn't?), i found this in a link from smc boards: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JSWjvyG70rI.

it's ballo's NBA academy team vs an american prep school. apparently smc has been linked with vescovi (mentioned on this forum previously). anyway, the video is extended full-game highlights (and therefore doesn't revolve around a single player/team), but ballo shows up a lot, particularly in the 2nd half.

Just as he showed at FIBA, Ballo is a very solid passer out of the post, vs double teams, & when the play isnt there; however, Ballo so big he should sometimes attempt this shots under the hoop to draw the foul, put pressure on their bigs.

Also, has a really nice, natural touch, and excellent finisher. He has numerous and-1's at FIBA given his ability to put the ball in the hoop at weird angles or through contact.

Needs to work on his speed and conditioning yet so do 99.9% of young bigs.

He upside is through the clouds.

TheOtherGreatOne
08-17-2019, 10:58 AM
Release the Beast We are ready for Ballo.

Zagdawg
10-03-2019, 12:37 PM
Steven Karr
@SKarrG0

1h
Corey Kispert: "Oumar Ballo is a mountain of a man."

LTownZag
10-03-2019, 01:38 PM
Steven Karr
@SKarrG0

1h
Corey Kispert: "Oumar Ballo is a mountain of a man."

Who's barely old enough to see R movies in theaters!

Seriously, even if they lied about his age by a year (common in baseball) he'd still be at the very young end for college freshmen. Assuming his given DOB is accurate, he'd be a very young 12th grader in high school.

Bogozags
10-22-2019, 05:20 AM
I'm hearing Ballo may not be eligible this season and will red-shirt...curious, what are the problems of him becoming eligible? Did he accept money he shouldn't have? Does any of this have to do with his transcripts? Is it because he is so young?

Does anyone have any accurate info???

caldwellzag
10-22-2019, 06:42 AM
I'm hearing Ballo may not be eligible this season and will red-shirt...curious, what are the problems of him becoming eligible? Did he accept money he shouldn't have? Does any of this have to do with his transcripts? Is it because he is so young?

Does anyone have any accurate info???

Issues involve transcripts and his educational records.

basketballzag
10-22-2019, 08:19 AM
Issues involve transcripts and his educational records.

He needs to retain counsel and sue the NCAA to get this process fast tracked

Hoopaholic
10-22-2019, 10:44 AM
I'm hearing Ballo may not be eligible this season and will red-shirt...curious, what are the problems of him becoming eligible? Did he accept money he shouldn't have? Does any of this have to do with his transcripts? Is it because he is so young?

Does anyone have any accurate info???

if he is not eligible he will not redshirt. He will simply be a student attending school that practices with the team. The year would not count towards his eligibility disappointing but not end all be all

Hoopaholic
10-22-2019, 10:45 AM
Release the Beast We are ready for Ballo.

please

Mr Vulture
10-22-2019, 11:15 AM
I'm hearing Ballo may not be eligible this season and will red-shirt...curious, what are the problems of him becoming eligible? Did he accept money he shouldn't have? Does any of this have to do with his transcripts? Is it because he is so young?

Does anyone have any accurate info???

Who are you hearing this from? Last I heard was that the athletic department felt it would get approved albeit they didn't have a definitive timeline. I'm NOT questioning your accuracy, i was just wondering what the source was.

ZagaZags
10-22-2019, 02:42 PM
if he is not eligible he will not redshirt. He will simply be a student attending school that practices with the team. The year would not count towards his eligibility disappointing but not end all be all

Will he be on scholarship this year? Or does he pay his way this year? If he is on scholarship, how would that work?

bdmiller7
10-22-2019, 02:47 PM
if he is not eligible he will not redshirt. He will simply be a student attending school that practices with the team. The year would not count towards his eligibility disappointing but not end all be all

If he is ineligible why would he pay for school to still have 4 years of eligibility left when he can redshirt under scholarship and still have 4 years of eligibility left?

Bogozags
10-22-2019, 03:07 PM
i cannot remember the exact name but I think it was Prop-48, where a freshman could be under scholarship but couldn’t play his first year.

ZagaZags
10-22-2019, 03:49 PM
i cannot remember the exact name but I think it was Prop-48, where a freshman could be under scholarship but couldn’t play his first year.

Would that be considered a redshirt year or could that player technically be on scholarship for 6 years? 1st year Prop-48. 2nd year redshirt, 3-6 years playing. I'm not saying Ballo will be at Gonzaga for a long period of time, I am just asking a general question about the possibility of a player being on scholarship for 6 seasons with this prop-48.

Bogozags
10-22-2019, 03:55 PM
Would that be considered a redshirt year or could that player technically be on scholarship for 6 years? 1st year Prop-48. 2nd year redshirt, 3-6 years playing. I'm not saying Ballo will be at Gonzaga for a long period of time, I am just asking a general question about the possibility of a player being on scholarship for 6 seasons with this prop-48.


Unless things have changed, you only get 5 years to complete four years of playing EXCEPT under unusual heath issues where the NCAA gives a waiver.

ZagaZags
10-22-2019, 03:59 PM
Unless things have changed, you only get 5 years to complete four years of playing EXCEPT under unusual heath issues where the NCAA gives a waiver.

Grant Gibbs for example. So, if Ballo is ineligible for this season. It will be a redshirt season with 4 years to play.

ZagaZags
10-22-2019, 04:04 PM
Unless things have changed, you only get 5 years to complete four years of playing EXCEPT under unusual heath issues where the NCAA gives a waiver.

True, I was asking if Prop-48 changed anything.

ZagBlue
10-22-2019, 04:37 PM
Issues involve transcripts and his educational records.
This must be from his schooling in Mali. It would be pretty laughable if his ineligibility stems from his senior year at the academy setup by the NBA to prep kids for college and beyond.

Bogozags
10-22-2019, 04:41 PM
Yes, four years remaining...Prop 48 just means the player had to sit out his first year.

Corky
10-22-2019, 05:39 PM
Semi serious. If Ballo doesnít count as college ready could he go to Prep and play there this year? Heís the right age for HS.
Would be a lot of wow in the GSL.

GonzaGAW
10-22-2019, 07:34 PM
- I think all the details as to law, redshirts, years of eligibility and tuition and prep school, is all beside the point.
- ballo is not going to be in a zags uniform for 3 or 4 years, just not going to happen.
- the plan and most likely reality coming into this season was he did not want to redshirt, wanted to get his feet wet with playing time this year and then have a second season before being eligible to turn pro.
- I hope he is able to play this year, be it soon or at semester break. but if not this year he will get a good education in class, good coaching and good practice against an elite group of teammates.
- and then next year we will unleash the beast and enjoy what most believe will be a very exciting year with him on the court.....before he leaves.

caldwellzag
10-23-2019, 08:02 AM
This must be from his schooling in Mali. It would be pretty laughable if his ineligibility stems from his senior year at the academy setup by the NBA to prep kids for college and beyond.

From what I heard you are correct.

webspinnre
10-23-2019, 08:24 AM
From what I heard you are correct.

And let me tell you, dealing with the NCAA on some of these things can be a nightmare. They'll find the smallest things to nitpick.

NotoriousZ
10-23-2019, 08:27 AM
If the NCAA rules him ineligible, could a good performance in the classrooms at GU clear him to play 2nd semester? Sorry if this question has already been discussed.

CDC84
10-23-2019, 02:31 PM
If he has been admitted by Gonzaga admissions academically, he should be able to play basketball. For me, the NCAA has no business being involved in this area. Leave it to the university. GU has one of the highest APR's in the nation.

ZagsObserver
10-23-2019, 03:31 PM
If he has been admitted by Gonzaga admissions academically, he should be able to play basketball. For me, the NCAA has no business being involved in this area. Leave it to the university. GU has one of the highest APR's in the nation.

Agreed.

But what if a university can’t be trusted to vet in good faith?

bdmiller7
10-23-2019, 04:07 PM
If he has been admitted by Gonzaga admissions academically, he should be able to play basketball. For me, the NCAA has no business being involved in this area. Leave it to the university. GU has one of the highest APR's in the nation.

That is exactly the NCAA's business, that is what they are for. If you leave it up to the university you also have to leave it up to schools like Arizona that pay to have transcripts altered.

GonzaGAW
10-23-2019, 04:13 PM
If the NCAA rules him ineligible, could a good performance in the classrooms at GU clear him to play 2nd semester? Sorry if this question has already been discussed.

- now that is an interesting, great question.......hope someone knows the answer.

Alum08
10-23-2019, 06:49 PM
That is exactly the NCAA's business, that is what they are for. If you leave it up to the university you also have to leave it up to schools like Arizona that pay to have transcripts altered.Agreed, but only if the standard of measure is to make athletics fair so that it sells better. IMO the actual standard of measure should be, "what is best for the student?"

JPtheBeasta
10-23-2019, 07:11 PM
This issue bothers me more than many others right now. Derrick Rose played a year at Memphis with someone else's SAT scores on file and UNC makes sham classes available to all students to get around academic scrutiny from the NCAA. They most often seem to make judgements on things after the season is over and censure teams after it is too late to make a meaningful difference because the team they beat in the NCAA tournament doesn't get any reparation other than getting a loss expunged from their record-- if they even go that far. It's a farce.

caldwellzag
10-24-2019, 08:26 AM
Ballo was not originally in the 2019 recruiting plans for GU for this reason. It was only when he expressed interest of reclassifying that they opened that option for him.

Gonzagit
10-24-2019, 03:52 PM
Ballo was not originally in the 2019 recruiting plans for GU for this reason. It was only when he expressed interest of reclassifying that they opened that option for him.

Glad we got him on campus though. Didn't give him a chance to go elsewhere. Hopefully it works itself out.

Mantua
10-25-2019, 11:00 AM
Glad we got him on campus though. Didn't give him a chance to go elsewhere. Hopefully it works itself out.

Does anyone know how Oumar himself is dealing with this setback?