PDA

View Full Version : Josh Perkins named Senior CLASS Award Finalist. Time to Vote!



Zags_Fanatic
02-06-2019, 10:57 AM
http://www.seniorclassaward.com/vote/mens_basketball_2018-19/

Zags_Fanatic
02-06-2019, 11:00 AM
If this award sounds familiar it's because Gonzaga has had a finalist in each of the last 5 seasons: Perkins, J3, Karnowski, Wiltjer and Pangos. No other program has more than 3 over that period with Wisconsin and Belmont coming in second. None of the Zags have won the award so let's get out and give Josh an overwhelming fan vote to make our voices heard. It's going to be a tough one against Mike Daum, Luke Maye, Ethan Happ and Reid Travis so make sure you vote every day.

hooter73
02-06-2019, 11:15 AM
Vote early vote often... from multiple devices :)

MontanaCoyote
02-06-2019, 11:39 AM
If this award sounds familiar it's because Gonzaga has had a finalist in each of the last 5 seasons: Perkins, J3, Karnowski, Wiltjer and Pangos. No other program has more than 3 over that period with Wisconsin and Belmont coming in second. None of the Zags have won the award so let's get out and give Josh an overwhelming fan vote to make our voices heard. It's going to be a tough one against Mike Daum, Luke Maye, Ethan Happ and Reid Travis so make sure you vote every day.

Correct that no Zag has won the award. But Shemmick won the popular vote.....got more votes than any other candidate his senior year.
Kind of mimics the electoral college. In this case a committee actually selects the winner and is under no obligation to select the top vote getter. So, Shem WON the award in the minds, and with the votes, of basketball fans. Iíll take that over a committee vote any day.

Letís do it again! Vote Perkins, early and often. Thatís right, you can vote once a day EVERY DAY, on multiple devices, until the deadline. So, letís do it.......again.

zagzilla
02-06-2019, 12:30 PM
Perk off to a strong start. Currently #1 with 68% of the (very early) votes

keep it up Zags!

Lewey
02-06-2019, 12:50 PM
I saw this first from an article on the Spokesman site. I voted and saw Josh had 68% of the vote. At that moment, I knew that it was already posted here!

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2019/feb/06/gonzaga-point-guard-josh-perkins-one-of-10-finalis/

Mantua
02-06-2019, 06:29 PM
Josh it at 18%. Let’s do better.

sittingon50
02-07-2019, 11:30 AM
Bump.

Zagdawg
02-07-2019, 11:34 AM
Josh now in 2nd place.

TravelinZag
02-07-2019, 12:25 PM
Unlimited voting in this poll, even from the same device. Chicago style voting — vote early and often, and get your friends, room mates, family, people in the bar with you to vote also. Reid Travis currently leading; can’t let that happen.

You are allowed to vote for up to three players. Don’t! Just Perkins!

Let’s win one of these for one of our guys. No cost, little time. Just persistence, so do it!

Lewey
02-07-2019, 12:54 PM
Need to be careful too, I almost voted for Reid Travis. His red bar that you click on to vote was directly across from Josh's picture. I clicked on it and was trying to see what the next step was when I saw Reid's name on it. Fortunately caught it before the vote was actually submitted.

sittingon50
02-08-2019, 09:02 PM
Bump.

Get busy!

Mantua
02-08-2019, 09:23 PM
Bump.

Get busy!

I just voted on 4 separate devices but Josh is still 18%. Itís getting tough out there.

MontanaCoyote
02-09-2019, 10:12 AM
I just voted on 4 separate devices but Josh is still 18%. It’s getting tough out there.

When Karno was on the ballot I contacted The Kennel Club and local radio to get the word out and the votes coming in.
To win the vote, you have to (as in must) organize a “get out the vote” effort. I’m sure that’s been done for Ried Travis at
Kentucky. It’ll have to be done for Josh to win the popular vote.

Karno won the popular vote, but the committee gave the award to ? from Villanova. The committee is likely to go with Travis/Kentucky even if Josh wins the voting. Still, would be great for Josh, as it was for Shemmick, to win “the people’s” vote.

I’ll contact the Kennel Club on Monday. What Spokane radio station carries Zag games? Give me a hand on that and I’ll contact their sports director and/or Adam Morrison. If anyone knows how to contact our homies @ Root i’ll get that done, too.

Let’s get this done for Josh. Would be great for us, for him and his best bud, Shem.

PS. No partisan politics allowed, so will only say I was elected to 4 different offices over 30 years involving 21 election contests during my stint in Montana politics. Speaker of the Montana House twice.

Just sayin’ like Lynyrd Skynyrd did “ I know a little ‘bout it, and baby I can guess the rest.”

Want to get this done!

sittingon50
02-09-2019, 10:29 AM
Spokane radio is 1510 KGA, MC.

TravelinZag
02-09-2019, 12:36 PM
Hand out fliers at the game with the link and instructions. This almost becomes a test of Zag pride, enthusiasm and persistence. For once, letís get a Zag over the top. Unlimited voting!

Bulletin: how about a PSA on this?

Go Zags ó vote Perkins!

MontanaCoyote
02-09-2019, 01:43 PM
Spokane radio is 1510 KGA, MC.

Thanks! I’ll get it done.

MontanaCoyote
02-09-2019, 01:44 PM
Hand out fliers at the game with the link and instructions. This almost becomes a test of Zag pride, enthusiasm and persistence. For once, let’s get a Zag over the top. Unlimited voting!

Bulletin: how about a PSA on this?

Go Zags — vote Perkins!

Good idea. Thanks. I’ll run it by the Kennel Club.

TravelinZag
02-10-2019, 08:25 AM
Bump. We take pride in our team and our enthusiastic fans. Can we not show it? Either way, makes a statement.

sittingon50
02-12-2019, 08:52 PM
Bump.

RenoZag
02-12-2019, 10:50 PM
Josh's bio from the CLASS web site:

http://www.seniorclassaward.com/athletes/josh_perkins/

sittingon50
02-13-2019, 09:59 PM
Bump.

GonzagasaurusFlex
02-13-2019, 11:46 PM
http://www.seniorclassaward.com/vote/mens_basketball_2018-19/

Perkins currently in distant 3md behind Kentucky’s Reid Travis.

GrizZAG
02-14-2019, 09:54 AM
These things seem silly to me. It's all about devout fan base size isn't it?

MontanaCoyote
02-14-2019, 11:11 AM
These things seem silly to me. It's all about devout fan base size isn't it?

As in post#14, it’s about organizing a real and effective get out the vote campaign, “GOTV” as we say in politics. Those votes for Travis aren’t just aren’t coming in out of the blue. Someone’s put together a strong GOTV campaign. I’m a little behind on my plan (see in #14) to help (sick) but I will get it done. Plenty of time left to get votes in.

Vote early, vote often, vote multiple devices!

zagbeliever
02-14-2019, 11:11 AM
I would like for Josh to win even just the popular vote because the kids try not to pay attention to the negativity but they hear it. I hope we continue to have a senior player of the year candidate! I thought Nigel was one also but that was probably for something else.

zagbeliever
02-14-2019, 11:18 AM
Josh is in 2nd place now.

MontanaCoyote
02-14-2019, 02:51 PM
I would like for Josh to win even just the popular vote because the kids try not to pay attention to the negativity but they hear it. I hope we continue to have a senior player of the year candidate! I thought Nigel was one also but that was probably for something else.


YES! Shem won the vote his senior year. Committee gave the award to another candidate. Great if we can do for Josh what we did for Shem!

sittingon50
02-14-2019, 10:56 PM
Looking for Josh to rebound on Saturday.

TravelinZag
02-15-2019, 07:39 AM
Josh has dropped to third. Doesn’t speak well for our fan base.

sittingon50
02-16-2019, 10:44 PM
Bump after game.

ZagNation
02-16-2019, 10:58 PM
Bump after game.

Kentucky has more fans.

sittingon50
02-17-2019, 11:51 PM
Bump.

ZagNation
02-18-2019, 12:34 AM
North Carolina has more fans too.

ZagNation
02-18-2019, 12:54 AM
#1 and #2 are former Gonzaga recruits.

ZagNation
02-20-2019, 01:51 AM
Josh now in 4th place. Loyola University Chicago must be a big school.

sittingon50
02-21-2019, 09:49 AM
Josh bump, after a busy day.

Zagceo
02-22-2019, 07:06 AM
record set go

sittingon50
02-22-2019, 10:39 AM
Bump.

sittingon50
02-22-2019, 11:40 PM
And again.

sittingon50
02-23-2019, 10:31 AM
++

sittingon50
02-25-2019, 12:47 PM
Almost fell off Page #2!!

sittingon50
03-05-2019, 01:14 PM
Bump from page #5.

Vote.