PDA

View Full Version : 2019 - Anton Watson Commit



Radbooks
12-04-2018, 08:57 PM
I thought we should have a place to put articles and information about the various guys that will be here next year.

Starting with this:



Steven Karr
‏ @SKarrG0

Anton Watson with 36 points on 17-21 FG tonight. Full highlight video coming in the morning.

ZagNative
12-04-2018, 09:44 PM
Box Score (https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/78379-mt-spokane-vs-gonzaga-prep/boxscore)

Note Liam Lloyd shot 3 threes for 9 points.


Gonzaga Prep will travel to on Friday Dec. 7 at 3:00pm to play Modesto Christian. Modesto Christian game will be played 4 p.m., at Chaparral HS, Scottsdale AZ in the Hoophall West tournament. http://www.hoophall.com/events/hoophall-west/schedule/

Note that Dominick Harris' Rancho Christian School is also playing in that tournament. Also, Zag 2020 prospect Julian Strawther of Liberty High School is scheduled to play. Zach Norvell's old school, San Simeon, is also on the docket.

Mantua
12-04-2018, 10:05 PM
ZN, thank you for posting all the info! Prep is scheduled to play Bishop Gorman?!

I tuned in late. Does anyone know why Jabari Jones is sitting out and not in uniform? Sam Stockton is moved up to varsity already according to Prep’s roster on the school website. Jabari Jones is listed on the roster without a jersey number. Anton needs Jones. I’m really worried about Anton being injured if he has to play too many minutes. Prep doesn’t have many players.

sittingon50
12-04-2018, 10:33 PM
ZN, thank you for posting all the info! Prep is scheduled to play Bishop Gorman?!

I tuned in late. Does anyone know why Jabari Jones is sitting out and not in uniform? Sam Stockton is moved up to varsity already according to Prep’s roster on the school website. Jabari Jones is listed on the roster without a jersey number. Anton needs Jones. I’m really worried about Anton being injured if he has to play too many minutes. Prep doesn’t have many players.

I believe he has a serious knee injury.

ZagNative
12-04-2018, 11:13 PM
This listing of the top 100 high school basketball teams has G-Prep at #15: https://www.usbasket.com/High-Schools/top-100.asp?list=teams

cggonzaga
12-04-2018, 11:20 PM
I believe he has a serious knee injury.

Thatís what Iíve heard as well. Also, itís Jamaari not Jabari.

23dpg
12-05-2018, 07:31 AM
This listing of the top 100 high school basketball teams has G-Prep at #15: https://www.usbasket.com/High-Schools/top-100.asp?list=teams

Wow, that’s amazing on two fronts.
First, that they’re ranked so high at 15.
Secondly, that they’re ranked so high at 44.
The reserves must be elite.

ZagMan in Philly
12-05-2018, 08:15 AM
Anton in Beast Mode, dropped 36 points against Mt.Spokane
Check out @InsideTheKennel’s Tweet: https://twitter.com/InsideTheKennel/status/1070198711366500358?s=09

BobZag
12-05-2018, 08:43 AM
The local kid could prove to be the best of the bunch.

hooter73
12-05-2018, 09:09 AM
"but but but, the level of competition!"

:D

Going to love to see what he can do here

Mantua
12-05-2018, 12:15 PM
Thatís what Iíve heard as well. Also, itís Jamaari not Jabari.

Thank you for the correction. I shouldnít post when Iím tired.

ZagNative
12-05-2018, 12:44 PM
Spokesman-Review game story: http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2018/dec/04/gsl-boys-anton-watson-scores-36-points-gonzaga-pre/

https://media.spokesman.com/photos/2018/12/05/Anton_Watson_t1140.jpg?abf36d44fcda22a1f7041162086 f31df6a374511

Gonzaga Prep’s Anton Watson scores on a reverse layup against Mt. Spokane in the Greater Spokane League opener for both teams on Tuesday, Dec. 5, 2018 at Mt. Spokane HS. Watson scored 36 points and G-Prep won 64-44. (Cheryl Nichols / For The Spokesman-Review)

Worthington
12-05-2018, 12:53 PM
That he's not a consensus 5 star prospect is a joke, but that will probably change by the end of the season. I think he's our next one and done. Legit top 5 pick potential in my opinion

ZagNative
12-05-2018, 01:43 PM
Interesting news: I just noticed that G Prep's games at Hoophall will be streamed live on ESPN+, which I have on subscription for the rest of the month.

Modesto Christian at 2 PM Friday, Dec. 7
Bishop Gorman at 3 PM Saturday, Dec. 8

cggonzaga
12-05-2018, 03:04 PM
That he's not a consensus 5 star prospect is a joke, but that will probably change by the end of the season. I think he's our next one and done. Legit top 5 pick potential in my opinion

Agreed and agreed.

Zagceo
12-05-2018, 04:10 PM
http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2018/dec/05/head-of-the-class-gonzaga-preps-anton-watson-remai/

ProVeeZag
12-05-2018, 04:30 PM
Thx for posting! I liked G Prep Coach McIntyre's comments regarding Anton Watson:

McIntyre said the future will take care of itself.

ďAt this stage of the game, I donít project forward on who Antonís going to be,Ē he said. ďI just try to live in the present with who he is today and try to serve him and help him in ways on the court, and perhaps ways I can help him grow off the court as well.Ē

Anton is going to be a great Zag! :000tens::000tens::000tens:

Zagger
12-05-2018, 04:33 PM
Sure sounds like he has a great chance to hit the court running once he gets to GU - what with being around the program a lot and how well G-Prep is playing team ball too. Thanks for the link!

thespywhozaggedme
12-05-2018, 04:48 PM
Agreed and agreed.

Do you guys see him as an sf or pf?

DixieZag
12-05-2018, 04:52 PM
I didn't know this:


“I’ve been working on my guard skills all summer,” he said. “Next year, I think, it’s probably the position I’ll be playing mostly. I’ve been working on all my outside stuff.”

I don't suspect he's just taking a wild guess at where they project him. Surely that's what he's been told.

Which is interesting. And exciting.

Neat kid. Quite a story.

DagsZags
12-05-2018, 04:54 PM
Do you guys see him as an sf or pf?

Both for sure. He projects as a 3 in the NBA, and normally I'd see him playing the 4 at Gonzaga, but because of the ridiculous amount of talent in the frontcourt next year, I'm hoping we'll see him at the 3 quite a bit during his GU career. He's going to be a match-up nightmare at either position

Radbooks
12-05-2018, 05:27 PM
There's a thread in the new Recruiting forum all about Anton:

http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?64141-Anton-Watson-Thread

DixieZag
12-05-2018, 05:45 PM
Both for sure. He projects as a 3 in the NBA, and normally I'd see him playing the 4 at Gonzaga, but because of the ridiculous amount of talent in the frontcourt next year, I'm hoping we'll see him at the 3 quite a bit during his GU career. He's going to be a match-up nightmare at either position

In the article posted in the main forum, he says he's working on his guard skills bc that's what he'll mostly be playing at GU.

By "guard skills" I guess he could still mean SF, but it sure sounds like "guard" skills, same word even. :)

I was shocked.

Kid is built like a college sophomore already.

23dpg
12-05-2018, 06:35 PM
Is Gonzaga Prep ranked 15th or 44th?

caldwellzag
12-05-2018, 07:03 PM
I went ahead and merged both the Anton Threads. I am going to rename this one with a similar layout as the other recruits, but it will say commit at the end.

cggonzaga
12-06-2018, 12:39 AM
Do you guys see him as an sf or pf?

I see him as the next Rui. Mostly a 4 with some 3 to his game.

thespywhozaggedme
12-06-2018, 07:07 AM
I see him as the next Rui. Mostly a 4 with some 3 to his game.

I was thinking the opposite, mostly some 3 with a little 4 to his game. If Timme is our future pf, then AW at the sf could be a formidable 3 and 4 for next season.

cggonzaga
12-06-2018, 07:21 AM
I was thinking the opposite, mostly some 3 with a little 4 to his game. If Timme is our future pf, then AW at the sf could be a formidable 3 and 4 for next season.

His game is definitely evolving.

https://twitter.com/dominickharri2/status/1070551179090898944?s=21

webspinnre
12-06-2018, 07:34 AM
Love those shooting numbers.

vandalzag
12-06-2018, 08:36 AM
Hi-Lights from the Mt. Spokane game. Great kid who will be a special player. Too bad that they lost Jones because I think Prep would run the table again with him.
https://twitter.com/i/status/1070378449083092992

thespywhozaggedme
12-06-2018, 09:13 AM
Hi-Lights from the Mt. Spokane game. Great kid who will be a special player. Too bad that they lost Jones because I think Prep would run the table again with him.
https://twitter.com/i/status/1070378449083092992

How is he not the #1 ranked player in Washington?!?!?!

caldwellzag
12-06-2018, 09:18 AM
How is he not the #1 ranked player in Washington?!?!?!

I am trying to figure out how he is not top 15 in the country. Wow he has improved and is on a whole new level right now.

bdmiller7
12-06-2018, 09:27 AM
How is he not the #1 ranked player in Washington?!?!?!

Because Jaden McDaniels is a top 5 recruit. I'd still rather have Watson though.

vandalzag
12-06-2018, 09:37 AM
How is he not the #1 ranked player in Washington?!?!?!

Jaden McDaniels out of Federal Way is #1 in the state and top 5 in the country. Watson has played on a local AAU team throughout HS, not one of the factory teams run by the shoe companies so exposure is limited and since he firmly committed early the "power schools" stayed away. I thought his ranking would have gone up after the numbers he put up at the Peachtree and Vegas tourneys last summer but he pretty much held firm. I would doubt there are 30 better seniors than him but tough to say without being able to watch them all play.

thespywhozaggedme
12-06-2018, 09:56 AM
Jaden McDaniels out of Federal Way is #1 in the state and top 5 in the country. Watson has played on a local AAU team throughout HS, not one of the factory teams run by the shoe companies so exposure is limited and since he firmly committed early the "power schools" stayed away. I thought his ranking would have gone up after the numbers he put up at the Peachtree and Vegas tourneys last summer but he pretty much held firm. I would doubt there are 30 better seniors than him but tough to say without being able to watch them all play.

Hype aside, who would you say is better, McDaniels and Watson? And did we try to recruit McDaniels? Thanks

vandalzag
12-06-2018, 10:13 AM
Hype aside, who would you say is better, McDaniels and Watson? And did we try to recruit McDaniels? Thanks

Watson is a way better fit with GU. He is fortunate to play for a HS coach who preaches defense and team first ball (he is also lucky to have played for Stockton's AAU team). McDaniels projects as a 6'11" 3 with PG skills so his ceiling is is way up there. I would guess that GU went after McDaniels at some point but realized they did not have a chance and backed off. Watson won the head to head in the State championship last year and I thought played better than McDaniels. Hi-lights from the state championship game last year
https://www.thenewstribune.com/sports/high-school/article203397599.html

thespywhozaggedme
12-06-2018, 10:20 AM
Watson is a way better fit with GU. He is fortunate to play for a HS coach who preaches defense and team first ball (he is also lucky to have played for Stockton's AAU team). McDaniels projects as a 6'11" 3 with PG skills so his ceiling is is way up there. I would guess that GU went after McDaniels at some point but realized they did not have a chance and backed off. Watson won the head to head in the State championship last year and I thought played better than McDaniels. Hi-lights from the state championship game last year
https://www.thenewstribune.com/sports/high-school/article203397599.html

Thank you

cggonzaga
12-06-2018, 11:07 AM
Hype aside, who would you say is better, McDaniels and Watson? And did we try to recruit McDaniels? Thanks

I’d take Anton over McDaniels in a heartbeat. His game is way more complete as well as his makeup. The basketball bodies aren’t even close. Maybe McDaniels has a little higher ceiling but we’ll see.

thespywhozaggedme
12-06-2018, 11:12 AM
I’d take Anton over McDaniels in a heartbeat. His game is way more complete as well as his makeup. The basketball bodies aren’t even close. Maybe McDaniels has a little higher ceiling but we’ll see.

Music to my ears. Thanks

If Zach and Brandon join Tillie and Rui do we see Anton start at sf and have Corey slide over to sg with Timme at pf and Filip at c?

cggonzaga
12-06-2018, 04:50 PM
Music to my ears. Thanks

If Zach and Brandon join Tillie and Rui do we see Anton start at sf and have Corey slide over to sg with Timme at pf and Filip at c?

I guess. Don’t like the thought of Kispert having to guard the 2 though.

thespywhozaggedme
12-06-2018, 05:24 PM
I guess. Don’t like the thought of Kispert having to guard the 2 though.

Agreed. My ideal situation would be for Hommes to come in for a year as our sg and improve his draft stock.

ZagNative
12-07-2018, 02:44 PM
At half-time in its Hoophall West game, G-Prep is leading Modesto Christian 42-29. Game is televised on ESPN+. (Drat! I lost track of the time and just started watching, so I don't know how Anton is doing.)

Announcer just said Anton had 9 points for the Zags.

http://www.hoophall.com/events/hoophall-west/schedule/

If anyone finds a box score, please add it here.

ZagNative
12-07-2018, 03:26 PM
Gonzaga wins it, 79-63

I think Liam Lloyd had 23 points and Anton Watson 16.

Next game tomorrow at 3:00 pm vs. Bishop Gorman.

cggonzaga
12-07-2018, 04:53 PM
Anton’s game is taking off. There is no way he’s not a top 10 senior in the country.

ZagNative
12-08-2018, 02:57 PM
G Preo vs, Bishop Gorman coming up in a couple of minutes at 3:00 on ESPN+

BobZag
12-08-2018, 03:07 PM
G Preo vs, Bishop Gorman coming up in a couple of minutes at 3:00 on ESPN+

Go Watson!

ZagNative
12-08-2018, 03:36 PM
At the half, Bishop Gorman leads it 27-21.

ZagNative
12-08-2018, 04:36 PM
Bishop Gorman wins it 54-52. Anton misses 5 of 7 free throws and comes away with 22 points in the loss.

thespywhozaggedme
12-08-2018, 05:02 PM
Bishop Gorman wins it 54-52. Anton misses 5 of 7 free throws and comes away with 22 points in the loss.

Misses? ugh!!!

ZagNative
12-08-2018, 11:55 PM
Rivals interview of Anton at Hoophall West: Hoophall West: Gonzaga bound four-star Anton Watson (https://basketballrecruiting.rivals.com/news/hoophall-west-gonzaga-bound-four-star-anton-watson)
Eric Bossi • BasketballRecruiting.Rivals.com
@ebosshoops

Zagceo
12-10-2018, 07:14 PM
Welcomed Anton to Zag Nation. Saw him walking around concession area at halftime at UT game. Nice height!

BobZag
12-11-2018, 12:16 PM
Watch Anton and G-Prep take on Ferris tonight on SWX. at 7:00.

ZagNative
12-11-2018, 04:56 PM
"HoopHall West: Top Performers in 2019 Class" (https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/HoopHall-West-Top-Performers-in-2019-Class-126188315/) from 247 Sports:


Anton Watson, SF, Gonzaga Prep:

Given the fact that Gonzaga has built an elite program due in large part to its ability to recruit across the entire planet, the fact that the Zags were able to easily land a hometown Top 50 prospect is well-earned. A hybrid forward from Spokane (Wash.), Watson is a matchup nightmare due to his ability to take opposing posts off the dribble from the perimeter and post up smaller defenders in the paint. Heís a terrific passer and rebounder who will be able to play the three, four and even some five at the college level.

Recruiting: Watson is signed with Gonzaga.

ZagNative
12-11-2018, 08:09 PM
G-Prep leads at half-time 33-15. Fun game to watch.

And in case you've forgotten who is the coach for the Ferris Saxons ...

https://www.krem.com/img/resize/krem-download.edgesuite.net/video/2182255/2182255_Still.jpg?mode=pad&bgcolor=000000&scale=both&width=1140&height=641

ZagNative
12-11-2018, 08:58 PM
G Prep wins it over Ferris 64-39. Anton and Liam Lloyd both with 19 points.

Edited add: Game stats summary (http://www.nwprepsnow.com/games/2018/dec/11/53283/)

webspinnre
12-12-2018, 07:56 AM
Cool, didn't realize Sean was coaching Ferris these days. Lived next to him in Desmet my freshman year.

cggonzaga
12-15-2018, 12:35 PM
Anton with 31 last night.

Zagdawg
12-15-2018, 08:25 PM
Prep Hoops Washington


@PrepHoopsWA
5m5 minutes ago
More
2019 6’8 F Anton Watson had 31-10 for Gonzaga Prep in a win over Mead last night. Mead follows up their loss with a rivalry game at Mt Spokane tonight.

caldwellzag
12-16-2018, 05:34 PM
Prep Hoops Washington


@PrepHoopsWA
5m5 minutes ago
More
2019 6’8 F Anton Watson had 31-10 for Gonzaga Prep in a win over Mead last night. Mead follows up their loss with a rivalry game at Mt Spokane tonight.

He has to be the early favorite for the Gatorade player of the year award in Washington. I love what he brings to the table. Going to be a special one for GU.

ZagNative
12-18-2018, 06:23 PM
At the half, G-Prep leads Shadle Park 36-29. Box Score (https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/67943-gonzaga-prep-vs-shadle-park/boxscore) Anton with 19 points in the first half.

caldwellzag
12-19-2018, 08:41 AM
Thanks for sharing the box score link. Anton with 31, not a bad night!

BobZag
12-19-2018, 11:18 AM
Thanks for sharing the box score link. Anton with 31, not a bad night!

10 rbs and 10 asts.

Triple-double.

ZagNative
12-20-2018, 08:56 PM
"GSL boys: Anton Watson scores 26 points and Gonzaga Prep handles University (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2018/dec/20/gsl-boys-anton-watson-scores-26-points-and-gonzaga/)"

https://media.spokesman.com/photos/2018/12/20/IMG_6864_t2500.jpg?6913dd5f0afa17a0b7a91a88b4e808d 586264d13
Gonzaga Prep’s Anton Watson, right, takes the opening tipoff against University’s Lane Kennedy. The visiting Bullpups beat the Titans 72-58 on Dec. 20, 2018. (Dave Nichols / The Spokesman-Review)


Gonzaga Prep didn’t extend its string of 20-point plus league wins at the start of the season. But then, Anton Watson spent the last seven minutes of the game watching from the comfort of the Bullpups bench.

Watson finished with 26 points and 11 rebounds and the visiting Bullpups beat University 72-58 on Thursday night.

Liam Lloyd scored 15 points while Carter Sonneborn and Sheadon Byrd added 11 points apiece for the Pups (6-1, 5-0), who had won their first four by 20-plus in Greater Spokane League play.

ZagNative
12-22-2018, 11:21 PM
From the News Tribune, "PRESEASON ALL-STATE BOYS BASKETBALL" (https://www.thenewstribune.com/sports/high-school/article223423675.html)

Zags have two!


Brock Ravet, Kittitas

Guard, 6-1, sr.

Reigning 2B state player of the year, and two-time state champion, is headed to Gonzaga ó one of the top Division I programs in the country ó after he wraps up his senior season. Four-star prospect is averaging 23.8 points per game, and has already nailed 40 3-pointers. Was named Washingtonís Gatorade Player of the Year as a junior.


Anton Watson, Gonzaga Prep

Forward, 6-8, sr.

Was one of the most electrifying players in the Tacoma Dome as a junior, and paced Gonzaga Prep to a title win over Federal Way. Gonzaga signee is a four-star recruit, a top-50 recruit nationally in the 2019 class, and the reigning 4A state player of the year. Has a dominating presence on the court, and is averaging 25.3 points per game.

ZagNative
12-25-2018, 07:52 PM
Anton, Liam and the rest of the Bull Pups play tomorrow, December 26, at 8:30 PM in the Les Schwab Invitational Tournament (http://lesschwabinvitational.com/bracket.htm) in Hillsboro, Oregon, vs. Columbia Christian.

Story from OregonLive.com (https://www.oregonlive.com/sports/2018/12/les-schwab-invitational-brings-the-best-in-the-country-to-hillsboro-this-week.html) features a lot of stuff about Anton and the Bull Pups:


Les Schwab Invitational brings ‘the best in the country’ to Hillsboro this week

Three out-of-state juggernauts will be bringing some firepower to Liberty High School.

Sierra Canyon (Chatsworth, California), University School (Fort Lauderdale, Florida) and Gonzaga Prep (Spokane) are all reigning state champions piloted by high-major recruits. A title game showdown between two of the programs could materialize at the 23rd Les Schwab Invitational.

The four-day, 16-team boys basketball tournament begins Wednesday in Hillsboro.

“This is a great opportunity for us, and to be invited to such a prestigious tournament is a really big deal,” Gonzaga Prep coach Matty McIntire said. “I looked at some of the teams in the tournament and holy cow, these are the best in the county. The experience will serve us well.”

Sierra Canyon, ranked fourth nationally in the latest MaxPreps Top 25, is led by five-star recruit Cassius Stanley. Scotty Pippen Jr. and K.J. Martin, sons of former NBA all-stars Scottie Pippen and Kenyon Martin, also are dynamic players for the Trailblazers.

Vernon Carey and Scottie Barnes give fifth-ranked University School an unparalleled one-two punch. Carey, a Duke commit, is rated the nation’s No. 1 overall recruit by Rivals.com, and Barnes is a consensus top-three prospect for the class of 2020.

Gonzaga Prep, which went 27-0 last year en route to the Class 4A state title, leans on four-star forward Anton Watson. The 6-foot-8 swingman is a Gonzaga University pledge.


On the same side of the bracket, Gonzaga Prep has a matchup with Columbia Christian in its LSI opener. The Bullpups and Sharks could meet in the semifinals.

Gonzaga Prep’s offense and defense is based around Watson, a four-year varsity player who committed to his hometown school in June 2017. Watson, last season's Washington Associated Press player of the year, is rated the No. 33 prospect nationally by 247Sports.

“He does a little bit of everything and takes on a lot of the burden on both ends of the court,” McIntire said. “He was on varsity as a freshman, and even then there was always something special about him. And really I think it was his instinct and his IQ.”

ZagNative
12-26-2018, 12:19 AM
Oregon Live, with previews of some of the outstanding players (https://www.oregonlive.com/expo/sports/erry-2018/12/ba18d981668051/les-schwab-invitational-player.html) expected at the Les Schwab Invitational Tournament.

"Scotty Pippen Jr., Cassius Stanley headline players to watch at 2018 Les Schwab Invitational"


https://expo.advance.net/img/2d9bc530fb/width960/ab1_antonwatsongonzagaprep.jpeg

Anton Watson, Gonzaga Prep (Washington)

A 6-foot-10 senior small forward, Anton Watson will be staying in Spokane next season to play for Gonzaga. A top-50 recruit nationally, Watson scored 22 points earlier this month in a 54-52 loss to Nevada's Bishop Gorman, which snapped Gonzaga Prep's 29-game win streak.

Photo: Prime Time Sports

BobZag
12-26-2018, 10:38 AM
Oregon Live, with previews of some of the outstanding players (https://www.oregonlive.com/expo/sports/erry-2018/12/ba18d981668051/les-schwab-invitational-player.html) expected at the Les Schwab Invitational Tournament.

"Scotty Pippen Jr., Cassius Stanley headline players to watch at 2018 Les Schwab Invitational"

Drat. Wish it weren't so late.

ProVeeZag
12-26-2018, 11:40 AM
Anton Watson's height is most always listed as 6'8", but noticed the caption beneath the Prime Time Sports photo (posted by ZagNation above) shows him as 6'10". I'd be curious which is his true height. The G-Prep website shows him as 6'8". Possibly he is still growing in height and the 6'10" is a current height. From photos, he appears to have a fair amount of muscle already (especially lower body). Got to believe he will be able to make noticeable contributions to Zags lineup in frosh year. Of course the speed of the college game will be an adjustment for him. Excited to think about what he might develop into in another year!

Grand Valley Zag
12-26-2018, 12:04 PM
Maybe it depends on whether they measure his hair. I bet his sweet locks give him a couple inches. Sigh . . . I remember having lots of hair . . . That was cool . . .

Mantua
12-26-2018, 01:01 PM
Anton Watson's height is most always listed as 6'8", but noticed the caption beneath the Prime Time Sports photo (posted by ZagNation above) shows him as 6'10". I'd be curious which is his true height. The G-Prep website shows him as 6'8". Possibly he is still growing in height and the 6'10" is a current height. From photos, he appears to have a fair amount of muscle already (especially lower body). Got to believe he will be able to make noticeable contributions to Zags lineup in frosh year. Of course the speed of the college game will be an adjustment for him. Excited to think about what he might develop into in another year!

I thought that perhaps some sites havenít been updating his height since he committed to GU so long ago. Last year there was some mention somewhere about Anton growing another inch. Heís still listed at 6í8Ē on GPrepís current roster.

Worthington
12-26-2018, 01:06 PM
Anton will most likely be matched up against 2021 Zag recruit Benjamin Gregg. Hoping to find a stream for tonight's game

cggonzaga
12-26-2018, 02:08 PM
Anton Watson's height is most always listed as 6'8", but noticed the caption beneath the Prime Time Sports photo (posted by ZagNation above) shows him as 6'10". I'd be curious which is his true height. The G-Prep website shows him as 6'8". Possibly he is still growing in height and the 6'10" is a current height. From photos, he appears to have a fair amount of muscle already (especially lower body). Got to believe he will be able to make noticeable contributions to Zags lineup in frosh year. Of course the speed of the college game will be an adjustment for him. Excited to think about what he might develop into in another year!

He appears to be 6’8”-6’9” to me. He will most definitely play next year and will quite frankly be one of our better players. He’s that good.

ZagNative
12-26-2018, 08:52 PM
G-Prep leads Columbia Christian 25-13. Live Score: https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/82592-columbia-christian-vs-gonzaga-prep/boxscore

Edited at the half: Prep leads it 35 - 22. Anton with 10 points, Ben Gregg with 2 for Columbia Christian.

Final score: 62-42. Anton with 18.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DvZoFLGUUAEBz5Z.jpg

ZagNative
12-26-2018, 11:03 PM
From the Spokesman-Review: (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2018/dec/26/boys-basketball-balanced-scoring-tough-defense-lea/)

Sheadon Byrd scored 19 points to lead Gonzaga Prep to a 62-42 victory over Columbia Christian in the first round of the Les Schwab Invitational on Wednesday in Hillsboro, Oregon.

Gonzaga commit Anton Watson added 18 points, while Liam Lloyd scored 12 points and grabbed seven rebounds for the Bullpups (7-1, 5-0).

Gonzaga Prep shot 53.1 percent from the floor, while holding the Knights to 36.4 percent overall. The Bullpups also forced 22 Columbia Christian turnovers.

Gonzaga Prep faces Lake Oswego at 4 p.m. on Thursday in the quarterfinals.

ZagNative
12-27-2018, 02:24 PM
Brief story in Oregonlve.com about the game, with tons of pics: "Gonzaga Prep handles Columbia Christian, 62-42, in LSI opening round: Photos" (https://www.oregonlive.com/expo/sports/erry-2018/12/89ea0769d5198/gonzaga-prep-handles-columbia.html)

https://expo.advance.net/img/5a22002604/width960/b8f_columbia7.jpeg

OZZY
12-27-2018, 02:45 PM
Here is the actual boxscore for the game.

http://lesschwabinvitational.com/lsi18tms/scores/LSI18-game08.pdf

Anton with 4 steals.

The two sophomore bigs for Columbia Christian accounted for 8 blocks between them.

The next game for Columbia Christian shows how good Ben Gregg is and how well the Bullpups kept him in check.....

http://lesschwabinvitational.com/lsi18tms/scores/LSI18-game11.pdf

Gregg with 36 points (including 4/7 from the deep) , 15 rebounds, 11 assists 4 blocks and 2 steals in their win over Southridge..

The Zags need to get a commitment pretty quickly...:)

ZagNative
12-27-2018, 04:17 PM
Thanks, Ozzy!

Here's the Scorebook stats for today's game: https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/83167-gonzaga-prep-vs-lake-oswego/boxscore

ZagNative
12-27-2018, 05:31 PM
Les Schwab Invitational
‏ @LSInvitational

FINAL:

Gonzaga Prep: 57, Lake Oswego 45
5:28 PM - 27 Dec 2018

OZZY
12-27-2018, 05:45 PM
Boxscore for the Lake Oswego game:

http://lesschwabinvitational.com/lsi18tms/scores/LSI18-game13.pdf

Another strong defensive performance by the Bullpups holding the competition to only 26.4%

doctorzag
12-27-2018, 08:03 PM
Here is the actual boxscore for the game.

http://lesschwabinvitational.com/lsi18tms/scores/LSI18-game08.pdf

Anton with 4 steals.

The two sophomore bigs for Columbia Christian accounted for 8 blocks between them.

The next game for Columbia Christian shows how good Ben Gregg is and how well the Bullpups kept him in check.....

http://lesschwabinvitational.com/lsi18tms/scores/LSI18-game11.pdf

Gregg with 36 points (including 4/7 from the deep) , 15 rebounds, 11 assists 4 blocks and 2 steals in their win over Southridge..

The Zags need to get a commitment pretty quickly...:)

Wow thats an impressive line. Kid is only a sophomore.

thespywhozaggedme
12-27-2018, 08:42 PM
Wow thats an impressive line. Kid is only a sophomore.

Not to mention, we're apparently his dream school!

doctorzag
12-27-2018, 10:17 PM
Not to mention, we're apparently his dream school!

Oregon and Oregon state were in tonight watching Gregg. He recently just visited Arizona and Arizona state. A lot of schools are on him right now as Texas is also setting up a visit. Competition for him will be stiff.

thespywhozaggedme
12-28-2018, 07:30 AM
Oregon and Oregon state were in tonight watching Gregg. He recently just visited Arizona and Arizona state. A lot of schools are on him right now as Texas is also setting up a visit. Competition for him will be stiff.

He's on record as saying that Gonzaga is his "dream school". When we offer it sounds like the opposite of stiff competition, sounds like a gimme. I like gimmes! lol

BobZag
12-28-2018, 10:05 AM
He's on record as saying that Gonzaga is his "dream school". When we offer it sounds like the opposite of stiff competition, sounds like a gimme. I like gimmes! lol

The staff is a bit contrarian. I never get too excited about "dream school" kids. Just sayin'.

thespywhozaggedme
12-28-2018, 10:33 AM
The staff is a bit contrarian. I never get too excited about "dream school" kids. Just sayin'.

This kid is legit though.

cggonzaga
12-28-2018, 11:11 AM
Pretty sure there is a Gregg thread.

BobZag
12-28-2018, 11:29 AM
This kid is legit though.

+1

BobZag
12-28-2018, 11:30 AM
Pretty sure there is a Gregg thread.

He's a victim of Watson's. :-)

23dpg
12-28-2018, 09:52 PM
Prep up at half over stacked Florida team.

https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/83549-university-school-vs-gonzaga-prep

ZagNative
12-28-2018, 09:55 PM
At the half, G-Prep leads University 33-26. Scorebook live (https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/83549-university-school-vs-gonzaga-prep/boxscore)

Anton with 15 points.

23dpg
12-28-2018, 10:32 PM
Prep loses a close one.

Watson leads GP with 19points.

ZagNative
12-28-2018, 10:33 PM
Well, hell .... G-Prep loses a close one, 53-58.

Anton with 19 points, Liam Lloyd with 13.

Scorebook (https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/83549-university-school-vs-gonzaga-prep/boxscore)

Mantua
12-28-2018, 11:00 PM
Well, hell .... G-Prep loses a close one, 53-58.

Anton with 19 points, Liam Lloyd with 13.

Scorebook (https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/83549-university-school-vs-gonzaga-prep/boxscore)


Did anyone see this game? It was pretty frustrating watching the live scores play by play.

Were the Sharks just really good at defending Anton? Was he injured? Did he foul out? What?
What was that streak about, when Prep was racking up all those fouls?

Yuk!

ZAG 4 LIFE
12-28-2018, 11:07 PM
Did not see the game, but I can tell you the U-High from
Ft. Lauderdale is highly regarded, and has a very big front line, including
6-10 Vernon Carey Jr. - the 2nd ranked player in the nation in the 2019 class.
He will play for Koach K next year, then off to the league.
Carey Jr. had 19 tonight against Prep, Watson led Prep, also with 19.

23dpg
12-29-2018, 05:42 PM
Anton highlights from the game last night.

https://mobile.twitter.com/WhosNextHS/status/1079129833320271873

ZagNative
12-29-2018, 06:53 PM
G-Prep is to play Jefferson for third place in the LSIT at 7:00 tonight, per the Spokesman-Review. (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2018/dec/28/gsl-boys-gonzaga-prep-ousted-by-university-school-/)

Edited to add: Here's the Scorebook box score - https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/83690-gonzaga-prep-vs-jefferson/boxscore

ZagNative
12-29-2018, 08:18 PM
G-Prep wins over Jefferson, 68-59, clinching the third-place victory.

Anton with 27 points, Liam Lloyd with 15.

https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/83690-gonzaga-prep-vs-jefferson/boxscore

Zagdawg
12-29-2018, 08:52 PM
Prep Hoops Oregon


@PrepHoopsOR
14m14 minutes ago
More
Final: Gonzaga Prep 68, @DemoBoysHoop 59. Anton Watson with a near triple double with 27 pts, 11 Reb, 8 ast. @MmayesTsohonis led Jeff with 19 pts and 14 reb

ZagNative
12-29-2018, 10:57 PM
https://i.imgur.com/kOxKVp1.jpg

OZZY
12-30-2018, 12:30 AM
Congratulations to Anton!

Can't see the other boxscore so here is the LSI one.

http://lesschwabinvitational.com/lsi18tms/scores/LSI18-game31.pdf

Also had 3 steals and a block in the 3rd place game.

BobZag
12-30-2018, 09:47 AM
Well done, Anton!

When this Class of 2019 gets a year under their belts, look out.

cggonzaga
12-30-2018, 01:32 PM
Well done, Anton!

When this Class of 2019 gets a year under their belts, look out.

Not sure we’ll need to wait the full year bz. Anton and Timme are ready now. Ravet might be as well offensively. Should be quite the freshman class.

zag67
12-30-2018, 01:44 PM
Also do not forget Zakharov (81 grade) and Martynas. Yes we will probably redshirt one of them, but they do give more to that freshman class.

I think that the first GU decision is going to be Clarke. I am assuming that Rui and Tillie are gone. If Clarke stays, then he is going to be giving great leadership to the front line. I am also going to assume that Zach stays and gives the leadership to the guards. With that I think this is going to be a very solid team.

Guards - Zach, Ayayi, Foster, and Ravet

Small forward - Kispert, Watson, and Martynas,

Power Forward/Center - Clarke, Petrusev, Timme, Zakharov, and Watson

That group looks pretty good to me. Immature in the beginning, but growing throughout the year.

If Few and company can get many meaningful minutes for Petrusev, Ayayi and Foster, then they will be good even in the beginning of the year.

ZagNative
01-08-2019, 10:07 PM
G-Prep routs the Pirates of Rogers tonight: (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2019/jan/08/gsl-boys-tyson-degenhart-helps-mt-spokane-edge-nor/)

Gonzaga Prep 54, Rogers 26: Liam Lloyd scored 16 points, Anton Watson added 12 and the Bullpups (11-2, 7-0) routed the visiting Pirates (4-10, 1-4).

Gavyn Belthof led Rogers with 10 points.

G-Prep scored the first 29 points of the game, with Watson and Lloyd contributing 11 apiece, before Belthof broke up the shutout midway through the second quarter.

DagsZags
01-09-2019, 08:12 AM
Well, hell .... G-Prep loses a close one, 53-58.

Anton with 19 points, Liam Lloyd with 13.

Scorebook (https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/83549-university-school-vs-gonzaga-prep/boxscore)

Video from the entire game against University School, with G Prep up against a couple top-5 recruits in Vernon Carey (2019; Duke bound) and Scottie Barnes (2020 6'8" SF). I may be biased, but Anton looked far and away like the best prospect on the court with his vast array of moves and athleticism, and looked like a clear 5* recruit, IMO. Liam Lloyd looked great as well. Unfortunately, G Prep couldn't quite pull out the W


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9f2_ZkAEhB0

BobZag
01-09-2019, 08:51 AM
G-Prep routs the Pirates of Rogers tonight: (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2019/jan/08/gsl-boys-tyson-degenhart-helps-mt-spokane-edge-nor/)

Rogers is so poor I gotta think there was some mercy on the part of G-Prep.

ZagNative
01-11-2019, 03:10 AM
G-Prep plays at Lewis & Clark High School tonight at 5:30 pm.

ZagNative
01-11-2019, 07:44 PM
G Prep wins it 62-56. Anton with 22 points, Liam Lloyd with 13. http://www.nwprepsnow.com/games/2019/jan/11/53300/

Mantua
01-12-2019, 05:55 PM
GPrep@Ferris (Old Dog Sean Mallon coaches Ferris) Monday at 7:15pm

ZagNative
01-14-2019, 07:50 PM
At the half, G-Prep leads Ferris 33-16. Anton with 7 points and Liam Lloyd with 8 points. Box Score (https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/67902-ferris-vs-gonzaga-prep/boxscore)

Edited to add: Anton ends with 22 points in the 52-41 win over Ferris.

ZagNative
01-14-2019, 10:24 PM
Spokesman-Review story on the G-Prep-Ferris game: (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2019/jan/14/anton-watson-scores-13-of-his-22-points-in-fourth-/) "Anton Watson scores 13 of his 22 points in fourth to lead Gonzaga Prep over Ferris"


Watson took over early in the fourth. He converted a three-point play on the first possession of the frame, then scored on a short turnaround jumper and followed his own miss with a tap-in to extend the G-Prep lead to 47-34 with just under 4 minutes to go.

Watson drained a 3 just before the possession horn with 1:15 left to make it a 14-point advantage again.

BobZag
01-15-2019, 08:22 AM
What a nice variety of scoring. 3-pointer, tip-in, And-1, turnaround J...

Not bad. Very high on Anton.

Zagceo
01-17-2019, 09:16 AM
6'10" Guard who knew?


“I kind of see myself as like a Ben Simmons, as like, a tall guard.” Watson said. “I love to pass.”

https://usatodayhss.com/2018/hoophall-west-lamelo-ball-anton-watson-nico-mannion-evan-isaiah-mobley

Mantua
01-18-2019, 03:24 AM
6'10" Guard who knew?



https://usatodayhss.com/2018/hoophall-west-lamelo-ball-anton-watson-nico-mannion-evan-isaiah-mobley

Anton needs to work on his ball handling to emulate Ben but he is already a better jump shooter.

caldwellzag
01-18-2019, 06:48 AM
6'10" Guard who knew?



https://usatodayhss.com/2018/hoophall-west-lamelo-ball-anton-watson-nico-mannion-evan-isaiah-mobley

This would be a huge boost to next years team if Anton really could be a Ben Simmons type of point guard. I still think Harvey is here running the show, but if Anton could get some minutes at the PG then that would allow some of our bigs to get my minutes at the 3/4/5. Plus imagine our line up with a 6'10 PG!

BobZag
01-18-2019, 09:58 AM
The GSL spaces games so far apart. Feels like a month since G-Prep's last game.

caldwellzag
01-18-2019, 10:11 AM
The GSL spaces games so far apart. Feels like a month since G-Prep's last game.

You have to love Eastern Washington basketball :)

ZagNative
01-18-2019, 10:07 PM
Prep beats University, 64-34. Anton with 16 points. Box Score. (https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/67949-gonzaga-prep-vs-university/boxscore)

Spokesman-Review Story (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2019/jan/18/gsl-boys-gonzaga-prep-turns-up-intensity-in-win-ov/)

BobZag
01-19-2019, 11:25 AM
Wish they'd show rebounds and assists, but good going for Anton and G-Prep.

Mantua
01-19-2019, 04:26 PM
Wish they'd show rebounds and assists, but good going for Anton and G-Prep.

The coaches have complete stats. I don’t know if anyone is interested in publishing them. The rosters published by Northwest Preps are rudimentary.

ZagNative
01-22-2019, 06:13 PM
G-Prep vs. North Central in the 3rd: https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/67932-north-central-vs-gonzaga-prep/boxscore

Mantua
01-22-2019, 06:35 PM
G-Prep vs. North Central in the 3rd: https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/67932-north-central-vs-gonzaga-prep/boxscore

Would it kill scorebooklive to mention a rebound once in a while?

ZagNative
01-22-2019, 06:58 PM
G-Prep wins it 66-45. Anton with 12 points, Liam Lloyd with 22.

https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/67932-north-central-vs-gonzaga-prep/boxscore

ZagNative
01-25-2019, 05:57 PM
Prep vs. Mead on now. Prep leading 32-10, Anton with 13 points in the 2nd quarter.

Box Score (https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/67952-gonzaga-prep-vs-mead/boxscore)

BobZag
01-25-2019, 06:06 PM
Prep vs. Mead on now. Prep leading 32-10, Anton with 13 points in the 2nd quarter.

Box Score (https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/67952-gonzaga-prep-vs-mead/boxscore)

I get the feeling he could up huge #s if he had to. He'll have to at State.

ZagNative
01-29-2019, 07:26 PM
Gonzaga Prep vs. Lewis & Clark just underway.

Box Score (https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/67640-lewis-clark-vs-gonzaga-prep/boxscore)

ZagNative
01-29-2019, 09:06 PM
Wow. Anton with 25 points in 62-37 win over Lewis & Clark.

Box Score (https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/67640-lewis-clark-vs-gonzaga-prep/boxscore)

Next up for G-Prep is Central Valley at 7:15 pm on January 31. The game will be televised on Comcast #112 SWX.

BobZag
01-31-2019, 03:35 PM
Watch Anton on SWX at 5:30 at Central Valley. Thursday.

ZagNative
01-31-2019, 04:58 PM
Watch Anton on SWX at 5:30 at Central Valley. Thursday.Boys' game is on 7:15 PM. I've got it set on DVR. G-Prep girls game is on at 5:30 PM.

Mantua
01-31-2019, 07:35 PM
Boys' game is on 7:15 PM. I've got it set on DVR. G-Prep girls game is on at 5:30 PM.

Senior Night at CV.


The feed is a little glitchy.

ZagNative
01-31-2019, 10:10 PM
G-Prep wins over CV 64-48. Anton with 23 points. Box Score (http://www.nwprepsnow.com/scores/basketball/)

Zagceo
02-01-2019, 09:14 AM
Anton says he'd like to play like Ben Simmons...does he ever bring the ball up like PG? does he have good enough handle? anybody watch whole game?

LTownZag
02-01-2019, 09:33 AM
Anton says he'd like to play like Ben Simmons...does he ever bring the ball up like PG? does he have good enough handle? anybody watch whole game?

Unlike Simmons, it would be nice if Watson could score from more than 6' out.

(I think he can)

Zagceo
02-01-2019, 10:09 AM
Unlike Simmons, it would be nice if Watson could score from more than 6' out.

(I think he can)

does he make FT?

23dpg
02-01-2019, 10:11 AM
Unlike Simmons, it would be nice if Watson could score from more than 6' out.

(I think he can)

Huh?
I clearly remember Anton hitting a 3 to win the game at state last year. Ben Simmons has NEVER MADE A 3 in college or the NBA. True story.

former1dog
02-01-2019, 10:16 AM
Huh?
I clearly remember Anton hitting a 3 to win the game at state last year. Ben Simmons has NEVER MADE A 3 in college or the NBA. True story.

I think LTown was referencing Simmons inability to score from more than 6 feet out.

Mantua
02-01-2019, 07:31 PM
does he make FT?

Last spring he was making 75%.

bdmiller7
02-03-2019, 04:05 PM
Huh?
I clearly remember Anton hitting a 3 to win the game at state last year. Ben Simmons has NEVER MADE A 3 in college or the NBA. True story.

Simmons was 1 for 3 on 3s in college, 0 for 12 so far in nba. Terrible free throw shooter too.
I think Watson will be able to play on the perimeter. I think he'll be the 3 everyone always wanted Rui to become.

Had to go looking for video of Ben Simmons lone 3. Came against Charleston. Found an article about his NBA 3s. At the time it was written he had taken 7 3s, all where from well beyond 1/2 court, most almost full court heaves at the end of quarters. He's scared to even shoot a real 3, must be ugly.

Mantua
02-04-2019, 01:19 PM
Anton says he'd like to play like Ben Simmons...does he ever bring the ball up like PG? does he have good enough handle? anybody watch whole game?

Thereís much to said for the strengths of Simmonsí game. If Anton didnít elaborate why are we reacting?

Zagceo
02-06-2019, 09:56 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9f2_ZkAEhB0

EEzag
02-06-2019, 11:23 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9f2_ZkAEhB0

Anton is a pretty good ball handler, much like Rui. He hasn't had the opportunity to showcase those skills often, but he has good handles. His passing is hard to guage because he's almost always the target for offense and he moves so well it's hard to double team him.


Can't wait to see Anton and Drew work together.

ZagNative
02-06-2019, 11:58 AM
Anton plays today in the District 8 4-A playoff game vs. Walla Walla at G-Prep

BobZag
02-06-2019, 02:33 PM
Anton plays today in the District 8 4-A playoff game vs. Walla Walla at G-Prep

Showtime!

cggonzaga
02-06-2019, 05:05 PM
Anton is a pretty good ball handler, much like Rui. He hasn't had the opportunity to showcase those skills often, but he has good handles. His passing is hard to guage because he's almost always the target for offense and he moves so well it's hard to double team him.


Can't wait to see Anton and Drew work together.

Anton is a great passer actually.

ZagNative
02-06-2019, 06:29 PM
At the half, G-Prep leads Walla Walla 43-20. Anton has 20 of G-Prep's points. Lia Lloyd has 9.

Box Score (https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/88679-gonzaga-prep-vs-walla-walla/boxscore)

ZagNative
02-06-2019, 07:07 PM
G-Prep wins it, 68-49. Anton with 30 points.

Box Score (https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/88679-gonzaga-prep-vs-walla-walla/boxscore)

Next game is against University on Saturday, February 9th, time TBD.

Mantua
02-07-2019, 10:34 AM
G-Prep wins it, 68-49. Anton with 30 points.

Box Score (https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/88679-gonzaga-prep-vs-walla-walla/boxscore)

Next game is against University on Saturday, February 9th, time TBD.


Next game: District 8 4A semifinal: University at Gonzaga Prep, 6 p.m.

http://www.nwprepsnow.com/games/

ZagNative
02-09-2019, 03:35 PM
Snow has caused G-Prep - University game to be postponed to Tuesday, Feb. 12, at 5:00 PM.

Mantua
02-12-2019, 06:42 PM
Snow has caused G-Prep - University game to be postponed to Tuesday, Feb. 12, at 5:00 PM.

Do you think it was postponed again?

23dpg
02-12-2019, 06:56 PM
Do you think it was postponed again?

NW Preps has it on for tomorrow.

Feb 13 vs. University (13-8) at , 7 p.m.

ZagNative
02-14-2019, 08:29 AM
NW Preps now has University vs. G-Prep at G-Prep today at 7:00 PM.

ZagNative
02-14-2019, 06:54 PM
Nope. Not today. Now it's scheduled for tomorrow, Friday, February 15, at 7:00 PM, at G-Prep.

BobZag
02-15-2019, 09:35 AM
Nope. Not today. Now it's scheduled for tomorrow, Friday, February 15, at 7:00 PM, at G-Prep.

This weather, ugh.

Mantua
02-15-2019, 07:09 PM
On SWX now.

ZagNative
02-15-2019, 07:20 PM
Wow! Thanks for the heads-up, Mantua!

Here's the box score: https://scorebooklive.com/basketball/games/89408-gonzaga-prep-vs-university/boxscore

At the end of the first, the score is Pups 20 University 12, Anton with 9 points.

ZagNative
02-15-2019, 07:36 PM
At the half, Prep leads it 32-18, Anton with 14 points

Mantua
02-15-2019, 07:55 PM
Thanks for the link, ZN!

I checked SWX from force of habit and found Prep playing during the last minutes of what was labeled as 3A Girls Tournament. There’s a good chance SWX will rerun this game, but it can be dicey trying to figure out what’s on when.

Mantua
02-15-2019, 08:10 PM
4A District Tournament Boys Final - 7:30 p.m., Saturday Feb. 16, 2019 Spokane Arena