PDA

View Full Version : Ira Brown feature in S-R



gamagin
11-05-2007, 05:54 AM
This is one of the best sports stories I've read in the S-R in ages. Jim Meehan did the writing.

falling down funny. Yet telling and interesting, too. about the team chemistry, Brown and the team in general.

Tried to post a url but I couldn't pull it up. Will effort if more nimble hands don't beat me to it.

Rubbadub
11-05-2007, 06:20 AM
Need a password to get into the article.

gamagin
11-05-2007, 06:34 AM
Monday, November#5, 2007
By Jim Meehan-S-R

COLLEGE BASKETBALL PREVIEW: GONZAGA

New game in town

Former Indians pitcher Brown back in Spokane playing basketball at GU
Ira Brown brings some unique qualities to the Gonzaga men's basketball team. A 97-mph fastball. A 365-pound bench press. A YouTube highlight from his junior-college days in which he jumps over an opposing player and dunks. And a birth certificate that was issued seven years before some of his teammates'.

He hears about the latter the most.

"They call me grandpa of the team and the wise old one," the 25-year-old Brown says, laughing......


http://www.spokesmanreview.com/zags/story.asp?ID=218172

trizag
11-05-2007, 06:59 AM
Great article. And to think, they didn't need to fly someone into town to rerun the story on Josh.

MedZag
11-05-2007, 07:13 AM
Awesome.

FuManShoes
11-05-2007, 08:24 AM
Great article. And to think, they didn't need to fly someone into town to rerun the story on Josh.

That's next week :)

BobZag
11-05-2007, 09:54 AM
Ira! "Wild Thing" Brown.

LongIslandZagFan
11-05-2007, 10:58 AM
http://www.spokesmanreview.com/zags/story.asp?ID=218172

ZagNative
11-05-2007, 11:00 AM
There's more of that story on Meehan's Gonzaga Blog (http://www.spokesmanreview.com/blogs/sportslink/archive/cover.asp?postID=6341#more).


Regarding his signing with Gonzaga, Brown said, "My (JC) coach told me flat-out I'd be a fool not to go to that school. I talked to my dad and he said it was a great school academically."

He was recruited primarily by Leon Rice.

On his role with GU, Brown said, "Coach Few said my role is to get as many rebounds as possible and run up and down the floor as fast as possible, get dunks, be a defensive stopper and shoot the 3 if it's open."