PDA

View Full Version : 2019 - Drew Timme Commit



BobZag
11-25-2018, 12:08 PM
Drew earned a triple-double yesterday.

12-16-10

Not sure if 10 is assists or blocks.

Zagdawg
12-01-2018, 02:23 PM
Jake

Verified account

@jakeweingarten
1m1 minute ago
More
Gonzaga is getting a good one in 2019 five-star Drew Timme: 20 points, 16 boards, and 6 assists. Pearce was victorious.

caldwellzag
12-02-2018, 11:35 AM
Jake

Verified account

@jakeweingarten
1m1 minute ago
More
Gonzaga is getting a good one in 2019 five-star Drew Timme: 20 points, 16 boards, and 6 assists. Pearce was victorious.

Nice! I can't wait for him to be on campus next year!

ZagMan in Philly
12-04-2018, 07:58 AM
Drew and his Family are going to be at the UW game. So cool.

caldwellzag
12-04-2018, 08:00 AM
Drew and his Family are going to be at the UW game. So cool.

That is awesome! Get him around the program as much as possible!!

BobZag
12-04-2018, 10:37 AM
That is awesome! Get him around the program as much as possible!!

+1

Radbooks
12-06-2018, 07:44 PM
Here's an article about Timme that was in the SR tonight:

Five-star recruit Drew Timme had front-row seat to Gonzaga’s last-second win over Washington (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2018/dec/06/five-star-recruit-drew-timme-had-front-row-seat-to/)


“Man, the atmosphere is crazy here,” Timme said. “They kept me on the edge of my seat keeping the game so close, but it was awesome that (Hachimura) was able to hit that last-second shot. I am excited about the atmosphere. This is the kind of stuff I love to play in. There is no place like this place. I have been to a ton of games around the country and this place is special. I love it.

sittingon50
12-06-2018, 09:46 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WKIglDfilkk

This was Timme's announcement. Not sure I saw it before. Interview begins about 3:10 mark.

SLOZag
12-06-2018, 10:29 PM
I tried the link in your post and the first part of the video was great, but the interview portion (at 3:10) sounded like a whisper in a barrel. If anyone can find a copy of the interview online with viable audio, I (and others, I suspect) would appreciate that link being posted.

Zagdawg
12-07-2018, 08:59 PM
Jake

Verified account

@jakeweingarten
1h1 hour ago
More
Gonzaga signee Drew Timme finishes his night with 19pts, 16rebs, and 8asts. Has played really well this season. He was literally at Gonzaga two nights ago.

caldwellzag
12-07-2018, 09:13 PM
Jake

Verified account

@jakeweingarten
1h1 hour ago
More
Gonzaga signee Drew Timme finishes his night with 19pts, 16rebs, and 8asts. Has played really well this season. He was literally at Gonzaga two nights ago.

Dang that's a nice night for anyone! Nearly a triple double and you were traveling yesterday to get back for the game!

sittingon50
12-07-2018, 10:09 PM
I tried the link in your post and the first part of the video was great, but the interview portion (at 3:10) sounded like a whisper in a barrel. If anyone can find a copy of the interview online with viable audio, I (and others, I suspect) would appreciate that link being posted.

Found it on youtube, SLO. Go there & type in Drew Timme, should be able to hear it.

ZagNative
12-12-2018, 11:00 AM
"National Hoopfest to feature 20 of the top hoopers in the country this weekend in Waxahachie" (https://www.waxahachietx.com/news/20181212/national-hoopfest-to-feature-20-of-top-hoopers-in-country-this-weekend-in-waxahachie)


Over two dozen of the top high school boys hoopers in the country are set to descend on Mike Turner Gymnasium for seven battles on the hardwood in the ARS Rescue Rooter National Hoopfest Dallas. It is the first-ever time for Waxahachie to host the two-day showcase and Runnin’ Indians head coach Greg Gober has already labeled it as the biggest basketball event to ever be hosted in the city.

The schedule

Tickets are $10 for Friday and $15 for Saturday and available at go.nationalhoopfest.com/tickets.

FRIDAY

6:30 p.m. Desoto vs. IMG Academy (FL)

8 p.m. Waxahachie vs. Huntington Prep (WV)

SATURDAY

2 p.m. Chicago Simeon vs. JJ Pierce

3:30 p.m. Huntington Prep (WV) vs. Lancaster

5 p.m. South Garland vs. Sunrise Christian (KS)

6:30 p.m. Dematha (MD) vs. Denton-Guyer

8 p.m. IMG Academy (FL) vs. Waxahachie

Visiting players to watch

—Armando Bacot (2019) ESPN #18 - IMG Academy/ UNC commit

—Jeremiah Robinson-Earl (2019) ESPN #39 - IMG Academy/ Villanova commit

—Josh Green (2019) ESPN #9 - IMG Academy/ Arizona commit

—Terrence Shannon Jr. (2019) ESPN #96

—Lester Quinones (2019) ESPN #88 - IMG Academy

—Noah Farrakhan (2020) ESPN #36 - IMG Academy

—Jaden Springer (2020) ESPN #9 - IMG Academy

—Tyrese Maxey (2019) ESPN #8 - South Garland/Kentucky commit

—Jaemyn Brakefield (2020) ESPN #17 - Huntington Prep

—JT Thor (2021) ESPN #25 - Huntington Prep

—Hunter Dickerson (2020) ESPN #20 - DeMatha

—Earl Timberlake (2020) ESPN #35 - DeMatha

—Justin Moore (2019) ESPN #49 - DeMatha/Villanova commit

—Drew Timme (2019) ESPN #60 - JJ Pearce/Gonzaga commit

—De’Vion Harmon (2019) ESPN #52 - Denton Guyer/ OU commit

—Jalen Wilson (2019) ESPN #74 - Denton Guyer/ Michigan commit

—Malik Hall (2019) ESPN #51 - Sunrise Christian/ MSU commit

—LaTrayvion Jackson (2019) ESPN #57 - Sunrise Christian/Mizzou commit

—N’Faly Dante (2020) ESPN #12 - Sunrise Christian

ZagNative
12-14-2018, 07:28 PM
I dunno, I dunno ... But I've got to watch this video again ...


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iSz2-tAvwtY

Zagdawg
12-15-2018, 01:32 PM
megan timme Retweeted

Charles Campbell


@prepcircuitcc
5m5 minutes ago
More
.@drewtimme2 of @JJP_Basketball led his squad to the win over Chicago Simeon with 17 pts, 6 reb, 5 asts, and 6 blks, earning himself game MVP honors. @ARSRescueRooter @HoopfestUSA


https://twitter.com/OfficialDrive99/status/1074059541711597574

ZagNative
12-15-2018, 03:42 PM
"NATIONAL HOOPFEST DFW: Gonzaga commit helps JJ Pearce over Chicago Simeon for first DFW win (https://www.waxahachietx.com/news/20181215/national-hoopfest-dfw-gonzaga-commit-helps-jj-pearce-over-chicago-simeon-for-first-dfw-win)

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DufNqHUWwAA84ah.jpg


It wasn’t quite the offensive showcase that some expected Saturday morning in the third game of the ARS Rescue Rooter National Hoopfest DFW, but the Richardson JJ Pearce Mustangs were able to secure the first victory for a Texas team in the two-day event.

And it came down to the final shot.

Chicago Simeon trailed by two possessions with under 10 seconds to play in the fourth quarter, only to have a potential game-tying three-pointer clang off of the front of the rim just before the buzzer. An easy putback bucket sent the Wolverines back north with a one-point loss, 53-52.

Drew Timme, of JJ Pearce, was named the MVP of the game after he scored a team-high 17 points, collected six rebounds and dished out five assists. The 6-foot-10 center is ranked No. 60 in the ESPN top-100 for the class of 2019 and is committed to Gonzaga.

caldwellzag
12-16-2018, 05:32 PM
megan timme Retweeted

Charles Campbell


@prepcircuitcc
5m5 minutes ago
More
.@drewtimme2 of @JJP_Basketball led his squad to the win over Chicago Simeon with 17 pts, 6 reb, 5 asts, and 6 blks, earning himself game MVP honors. @ARSRescueRooter @HoopfestUSA


https://twitter.com/OfficialDrive99/status/1074059541711597574

I know our team this year is something special (if they can learn how to play defense), but I am so excited about next years recruiting class and what they will bring to Gonzaga.

ZagNative
12-25-2018, 09:04 PM
Drew's Richardson Pearce team is on tap to play in the Orange Division of the Whataburger Tournament in Ft. Worth on December 27th at 1:00 PM (11:00 AM PST) vs. Aldine Eisenhower.

Bracket (https://www.whataburger-bbt.org/page/show/2163072-brackets-schedule)

JJ Pearce Twitter (https://twitter.com/JJP_Basketball)

ZagNative
12-28-2018, 05:57 PM
JJ Pearce lost to Aldine Eisenhower but won today's game: https://twitter.com/whataburger_bbt/status/1078785994961240065

Final: Buzzer beater is waved off and Richardson Pearce @JJPbasketball escapes with a 52-50 win over Euless Trinity @Trinityhoops1

BobZag
12-28-2018, 06:28 PM
Such a high basketball IQ.

ZagNative
01-02-2019, 08:30 PM
https://i.imgur.com/QhZLCnS.jpg

BobZag
01-03-2019, 09:59 AM
Dang, he good. :clap:

DagsZags
01-03-2019, 11:18 AM
https://twitter.com/BradBallisLife/status/1080878428390346753

Video from the Richardson game from ZN's post above. Drew is gonna be a fun one

DagsZags
01-03-2019, 11:19 AM
https://twitter.com/BradBallisLife/status/1079900708705579014

Another video from one of ZN's posts above. Love his trash talk

hooter73
01-03-2019, 01:52 PM
Oh we are going to have some fun watching him play. I enjoy a healthy smattering of the antics when its all in good fun. You can tell his interacting with the crowd is just a good natured thing on both sides.

doctorzag
01-03-2019, 03:45 PM
He is already my favorite player! Hope we can keep him more than one year. So multi-skilled. So competitive!

TexasZagFan
01-04-2019, 06:09 AM
He is already my favorite player! Hope we can keep him more than one year. So multi-skilled. So competitive!

If you haven't read this story, you're going to like him even more:

https://www.nbcdfw.com/news/local/Richardson-Teens-Help-Family-Escape-House-Fire-475068503.html


Richardson Teens Help Family Escape House Fire

Four members of the J.J. Pearce High School Basketball team are being hailed heroes after helping a north Dallas family escape from their burning home early Saturday morning.

According to Dallas Fire-Rescue, the fire was caused by an electrical issue in the attic.

Three basketball players and the team’s manager were driving home together after Friday’s playoff victory against the Woodlands shortly after midnight when they saw smoke and decided to check it out.

“We could barely see because it was so foggy, and we rolled our windows down, and it smelled like a fire,” said junior Drew Timme.

vandalzag
01-04-2019, 09:41 AM
If you haven't read this story, you're going to like him even more:

https://www.nbcdfw.com/news/local/Richardson-Teens-Help-Family-Escape-House-Fire-475068503.html

Very impressive

Zagdawg
01-05-2019, 01:15 PM
Jake

Verified account

@jakeweingarten
Following Following @jakeweingarten
More
Iíve said this multiple times, Gonzaga is real lucky to be getting Drew Timme next season. The five-star just scored 38p along with 18rebs and 6 dimes.


Different game--but I love his attitude when challenged
https://twitter.com/Ballislife/status/1080690296994840576

caldwellzag
01-08-2019, 07:38 AM
Jake

Verified account

@jakeweingarten
Following Following @jakeweingarten
More
I’ve said this multiple times, Gonzaga is real lucky to be getting Drew Timme next season. The five-star just scored 38p along with 18rebs and 6 dimes.


Different game--but I love his attitude when challenged
https://twitter.com/Ballislife/status/1080690296994840576

+1 Drew is a huge recruit for us.

ZagNative
01-25-2019, 07:26 PM
Here's a full-game video of JJ Pearce vs. Richardson tonight. Drew is #2 in white. You may not want to watch the whole thing, but I recommend the last 5 minutes or so, going up to Drew's shot to win the game 71-69, after trailing most of the game, ramping up to a back-and-forth ending.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tBMt0WuYNI4

ZagNative
01-26-2019, 11:51 AM
From Twitter:


Jake
‏Verified account @jakeweingarten

Gonzaga signee Drew Timme continues his dominance with a good overall night.

31 points
12 rebounds
8 assists#

and... the game winner in OT.



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tAAxCDo5MD0

scrooner
01-26-2019, 01:14 PM
Wow, he is such a good fit here.

thespywhozaggedme
01-26-2019, 02:14 PM
I know I'm gonna get killed for saying this, but I've watched quite a few of DT's games now and he's a bit too much of a hotdog for my liking. The constant flexing and showboating isn't my cup of tea. Oh well.

Zagceo
01-26-2019, 03:31 PM
I know I'm gonna get killed for saying this, but I've watched quite a few of DT's games now and he's a bit too much of a hotdog for my liking. The constant flexing and showboating isn't my cup of tea. Oh well.

I don't like the flexing that all players(pro college HS) seem to do after contested lay ups. I think it should be banned as taunting

scrooner
01-26-2019, 04:57 PM
I know I'm gonna get killed for saying this, but I've watched quite a few of DT's games now and he's a bit too much of a hotdog for my liking. The constant flexing and showboating isn't my cup of tea. Oh well.

Ironic.

thespywhozaggedme
01-26-2019, 05:10 PM
Ironic.

So someone who refers to them selves as an anonymous, irrelevant dork posting on a message board is equivalent to a high school kid constantly flexing his muscles and staring at the crowd? I was thinking about this earlier; people who post on message boards are opinionated by nature.

sittingon50
01-26-2019, 05:14 PM
Ironic.

:lmao:

Birddog
01-26-2019, 05:20 PM
Ironic.

That's funny!

RenoZag
01-26-2019, 09:36 PM
I don't like the flexing that all players(pro college HS) seem to do after contested lay ups. I think it should be banned as taunting

It adds nothing to the game. If it leads to a nationally televised brawl, maybe the NCAA ( or the coaching fraternity ) will lobby to make the taunting subject to a technical foul.

Gin N GUice
01-26-2019, 10:13 PM
I know I'm gonna get killed for saying this, but I've watched quite a few of DT's games now and he's a bit too much of a hotdog for my liking. The constant flexing and showboating isn't my cup of tea. Oh well.

Personally I have no problem with it at all as long as its directed towards the crowd and not the opposing team. It adds entertainment value for me. I love the emotion. Not for everyone I guess, but neither is celebrating a touchdown.

thespywhozaggedme
01-27-2019, 10:32 AM
Personally I have no problem with it at all as long as its directed towards the crowd and not the opposing team. It adds entertainment value for me. I love the emotion. Not for everyone I guess, but neither is celebrating a touchdown.

yup. to each his own.

HenneZag
01-27-2019, 10:47 AM
He seems like a player the has fire and passion while playing the game, I'm ok with that.

Honest question, how do you think Timmes style will translate in the college game against faster, stronger players?

cggonzaga
01-27-2019, 11:20 AM
He seems like a player the has fire and passion while playing the game, I'm ok with that.

Honest question, how do you think Timmes style will translate in the college game against faster, stronger players?

He has played against the best competition in the country. Like Anton, I see Timme getting mucho playing time as a freshman next season. I truly believe those 2 freshmen will be as good as anybody’s in the country!

Mantua
01-27-2019, 11:29 AM
He seems like a player the has fire and passion while playing the game, I'm ok with that.

Honest question, how do you think Timmes style will translate in the college game against faster, stronger players?

Being unpredictable is a nice skill. Heíll get stronger. As far as speed is concerned, maybe heíll be able to adjust. We never know for sure how high schoolers will perform at the next level. There were some questions about speed and length in regard to Domas adjusting to the NBA game. Few and his staff wonít tolerate many antics on the court, but itís nice to have spirited players.

Zagdawg
01-27-2019, 03:19 PM
SportsDayHS

Verified account

@SportsDayHS
49m49 minutes ago
More
Our boys basketball player of the week is... Richardson Pearce's Drew Timme! ������

Timme had 31 points in the win on top of 12 rebounds and 8 assists and hit the game-winning shot against Richardson. ��

https://twitter.com/BradBallisLife/status/1089337153446924288

hls97
01-28-2019, 08:04 AM
https://twitter.com/MeganTimme/status/1089726458262622208

kitzbuel
01-28-2019, 09:51 AM
https://twitter.com/MeganTimme/status/1089726458262622208

What is Brian standing on? LOL.

hooter73
01-28-2019, 11:20 AM
My takaway: Surprisingly good passer, I mean like really pretty dang good. Admirably tenacious on offense, and unfortunetly his videos and game films make it look like he has no idea what defense even should look like let alone trying to do it.

OntZags
01-28-2019, 11:37 AM
What is Brian standing on? LOL.

You're saying he's not 7'3?!?

Mantua
01-28-2019, 03:20 PM
Kinda looks like a rugby player.

ZagNative
01-29-2019, 07:13 PM
JJ Pearce wins over Berkner, 71-56. No idea on stats for our guy yet. He's #2 in blue in the full game video below:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_xHOehROK1Y

ZagNative
02-01-2019, 12:43 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ySJ3rAv6T0

ZagNative
02-01-2019, 05:18 PM
Tonight's game vs. Duncanville will be streamed live on the site below. It's streamed by a very dedicated lady for JJ Pearce. Game is scheduled to tip at 5:30 PM. Drew is #2 in white.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CSWIW1Ahph8

MDABE80
02-01-2019, 06:00 PM
Nice feed ZN!

ZagNative
02-01-2019, 06:18 PM
Tied at 25 midway through the third.

ZagNative
02-01-2019, 07:02 PM
Final score 58-52, Duncanville wins it.

ZagNative
02-01-2019, 07:15 PM
From twitter:

DFW Inside High School Sports
‏ @ihss_dfw
5m5 minutes ago

And that’s a wrap! @DuncanvilleBB escapes with the #1 spot in District 8-6A 58-52 over @JJPbasketball. @TexasTechMBB commit Jahmius Ramsey finishes with 11 points while @ZagMBB Drew Timme finishes with 27. For highlights, be sure to tune into NBC 5 tomorrow night at 6:30

Radbooks
02-03-2019, 09:40 PM
KREM2 did a great interview with Drew and his parents:

https://www.krem.com/article/sports/gonzaga-bulldogs/timmes-time-meet-the-newest-gonzaga-big-man/293-65abf30f-95bf-4925-997f-123711b4a2b8

TexasZagFan
02-04-2019, 03:39 PM
Drew was honorable mention for player of the week in DFW, scoring 63 points in two games last week.

ZagNative
02-04-2019, 05:15 PM
Wow. That was great. Thanks so much for posting!


KREM2 did a great interview with Drew and his parents:

https://www.krem.com/article/sports/gonzaga-bulldogs/timmes-time-meet-the-newest-gonzaga-big-man/293-65abf30f-95bf-4925-997f-123711b4a2b8

caldwellzag
02-05-2019, 07:10 AM
Wow. That was great. Thanks so much for posting!

Completely agree! Thanks for sharing the link. Gets me excited for next year (although this year is pretty amazing too!)

thespywhozaggedme
02-05-2019, 07:32 AM
KREM2 did a great interview with Drew and his parents:

https://www.krem.com/article/sports/gonzaga-bulldogs/timmes-time-meet-the-newest-gonzaga-big-man/293-65abf30f-95bf-4925-997f-123711b4a2b8

His own mom said "Gun-Zog-A" ugh!!!

ZagNative
02-05-2019, 05:37 PM
Now streaming live, JJ Pearce at Lake Highlands. Drew is #2 in the dark uni.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bidwNYIWUJs

23dpg
02-05-2019, 06:27 PM
Looks like theyíre down 5-7. Maybe starting the 4th?

Funny moment. Crowd was chanting overrated. Somebody near the camera said, more like underofficiated. No idea how true that is.

ZagNative
02-05-2019, 06:51 PM
JJ Pearce loses 47-56. No idea on Drew's stat line.

ZagNative
02-08-2019, 05:40 PM
Tonight's game vs. WT White now underway:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g2ycoTL58-g

ZagNative
02-08-2019, 07:00 PM
JJ Pearce Mustangs win it 76-39.

Mantua
02-08-2019, 09:41 PM
Nice! Thanks for all of the work you are doing in this thread, ZagNative.

TexasZagFan
02-10-2019, 05:01 AM
His own mom said "Gun-Zog-A" ugh!!!

Must be a Texas "thang"...I've long since given up on my BIL, and he's a long time hoops coach himself. The important thing is Drew's a Zag.

thespywhozaggedme
02-10-2019, 10:32 AM
Must be a Texas "thang"...I've long since given up on my BIL, and he's a long time hoops coach himself. The important thing is Drew's a Zag.

There is a really easy way to remember it and you can share with everyone and it will immediately help them correct it forever: we are the zags not the zogs.

Birddog
02-10-2019, 04:17 PM
Must be a Texas "thang"...I've long since given up on my BIL, and he's a long time hoops coach himself. The important thing is Drew's a Zag.

My BIL does that too and he also refers to people from that boot shaped European country as Eyetalians. Whenever he does either in my presence I remind him that many people think of Okies as being intellectually challenged.

ZagNative
02-11-2019, 07:53 PM
This is a fun facebook video of Drew with one of his best friends from Duncanville: https://www.facebook.com/FOXSportsSouthwest/videos/248430359415921/UzpfSTIxNTYxMzY1MTgwMDI2ODoyNTMyODUyNTc2NzQzMDE5/

ZagNative
02-12-2019, 05:58 PM
At the half, JJ Pearce is leading Skyline 33-21:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rUKPA44ZdEY

ZagNative
02-12-2019, 06:39 PM
JJ Pearce wins it 66-47.


Jake
‏Verified account @jakeweingarten

Another dominant night from Gonzaga signee Drew Timme: 30 points, eight boards, and six assists. Future pro. Mark Few has a dynamic forward coming his way.

caldwellzag
02-13-2019, 08:26 AM
JJ Pearce wins it 66-47.

Drew is a flat out stud! Can't wait for him to get on campus!