PDA

View Full Version : 2019 - Pavel Zakharov - Committed



Zagdawg
11-18-2018, 07:40 PM
Adam Zagoria

Verified account

@AdamZagoria
11h11 hours ago
More Adam Zagoria Retweeted Corey Evans
Gonzaga is the heavy favorite to land the big Russian from @MVABasketball


Corey Evans


@coreyevans_10
Follow Follow @coreyevans_10
More
Pretty impressive two days for Pavel Zahkarov. 2020 big with Montverde is skilled, tough and productive. One of the best junior prospects I’ve seen this year in the frontcourt

cggonzaga
11-18-2018, 10:02 PM
Thought he was 2019?

caldwellzag
11-19-2018, 06:15 AM
Thought he was 2019?

Sounds like he can be either 2019 or 2020, from what I am hearing it actually depends on what the Zags want at this time.

basketballzag
11-19-2018, 07:34 AM
Sounds like he can be either 2019 or 2020, from what I am hearing it actually depends on what the Zags want at this time.

I believe it depends on the departures at the end of this season whether he will be 2019 or 2020. I suspect it will be 2019 and regardless of departures his other option is to undergo the Olynk Clinic. Regardless Pavel is definitely Gonzaga bound the only thing missing is the formal announcement.

“Pavel has the size and strength to dominate the paint, but he also has great outside touch and feel for how to play,” Montverde coach Kevin Boyle Jr. said. “Once he adjusts to playing in the U.S., I expect him to really start putting his athleticism and ability to run the floor and play on the perimeter on display. He’s as good as any true big man we have had at Montverde offensively, and at 17 years old he has the potential to be a major impact player at the highest levels of college basketball.”

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DsS42MFUcAARvfX.jpg

Dave Arsenio on Pavel "He’s a 6-10 forward that is physically imposing and is a force at grabbing rebounds."

Steve Keller on Pavel "1st look at 6’11 Jr Pavel Zakharov from Russia and at Montverde CBD. Kid is big, strong, mobile & can score well. On top of that he is nasty & plays hard. Today people throw out “1 & Done” like candy at Christmas. This kid could really be one."

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DpUpvffWsAY63R1.jpg:large

caldwellzag
11-19-2018, 08:57 AM
Thanks for the post I really enjoy the pictures and the quotes! Hope he commits soon, I thought it might be during early signing period from what I was hearing, but we only have a few days left there.

Zags_Fanatic
11-19-2018, 10:17 AM
More detailed Pavel blurb from Evan Daniels on 247 today.


One of the best prospects at the Prep Showcase this past weekend was 6-foot-10 post player Pavel Zakharov. Having watched him at the European Championships this past summer, we knew he was good. But he exceeded expectations in New Haven. He has legitimate size and the type of body that will fill out. His hands are terrific, and he consistently made difficult catches in traffic. His touch is deft and he can score it with his back to the basket, particularly over his left shoulder. Zakharov also has a good feel for the game, advanced footwork, plays with patience on the block and is a talented passer. Throw in a 7-1 wingspan, a 8-10.5 standing reach and impressive athleticism and he’s quite the prospect.
Recruiting: Gonzaga

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Who-stood-out-at-the-National-Prep-Showcase-124980316/

Zagdawg
11-19-2018, 10:20 AM
Who stood out at the National Prep Showcase?

Pavel Zakharov, C, CBD Montverde
One of the best prospects at the Prep Showcase this past weekend was 6-foot-10 post player Pavel Zakharov. Having watched him at the European Championships this past summer, we knew he was good. But he exceeded expectations in New Haven. He has legitimate size and the type of body that will fill out. His hands are terrific, and he consistently made difficult catches in traffic. His touch is deft and he can score it with his back to the basket, particularly over his left shoulder. Zakharov also has a good feel for the game, advanced footwork, plays with patience on the block and is a talented passer. Throw in a 7-1 wingspan, a 8-10.5 standing reach and impressive athleticism and he’s quite the prospect.
Recruiting: Gonzaga

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Who-stood-out-at-the-National-Prep-Showcase-124980316/

kitzbuel
11-19-2018, 10:24 AM
Splitting out his own thread.

caldwellzag
11-19-2018, 11:10 AM
Splitting out his own thread.

Thanks! I will watch for stuff like this and get it split up like you are doing too!

caldwellzag
11-19-2018, 12:20 PM
We just signed Pavel!!!

https://twitter.com/AdamZagoria/status/1064628049533169669

basketballzag
11-19-2018, 01:19 PM
Regardless Pavel is definitely Gonzaga bound the only thing missing is the formal announcement.

Guess he saw this post and realized he had to send in the paperwork.

ZagNative
12-24-2018, 02:13 AM
More stuff about Pavel, plus a summary of links to info about him:

First, he is from Russia and attends CBD Montverde, which is distinct from the regular Montverde program. Hence, he's not listed on the Montverde roster, but rather on the CBD Monteverde Prep National roster. (https://mvasports.com/roster.aspx?path=cbdnatl)

Guboards Welcome Thread (http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?63896-Welcome-Pavel-Zakharov-New-Zag&highlight=Pavel)

Adam Zagoria piece covering Pavel's signing with Gonzaga (https://www.zagsblog.com/2018/11/18/gonzaga-the-favorite-for-class-of-2020-russian-big-man-pavel-zahkarov/):


2019 Russian big man Pavel Zahkarov Signs with Gonzaga

https://www.zagsblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/DsZRkZAXcAE9emu.jpg

NEW HAVEN, Conn. —Pavel Zahkarov, the 6-foot-10 big man from Saint Petersburg, Russia playing for CBD Montverde Academy, signed his NLI with Gonzaga on Monday.

Zahkarov was one of the major standouts at the National Prep Showcase and went for 18 points and 11 rebounds on Sunday in Monverde’s 74-67 loss to Sunrise Christian (KS)

On Saturday, Zahkarov had 9 points and 7 rebounds in a 78-68 loss to Putnam Science.

Zahkarov joins Drew Timme, Anton Watson, Brock Ravet, and Martynas Arlauskas as the fifth commit in Gonzaga’s 2019 class.

“Pavel has the size and strength to dominate the paint, but he also has great outside touch and feel for how to play,” Montverde coach Kevin Boyle Jr. said. “Once he adjusts to playing in the U.S., I expect him to really start putting his athleticism and ability to run the floor and play on the perimeter on display. He’s as good as any true big man we have had at Montverde offensively, and at 17 years old he has the potential to be a major impact player at the highest levels of college basketball.”

Zahkarov helped Russia place 4th in the 2018 FIBA Euros with strong performances against France and Lithuania.

(There's a little snippet of video in the piece you can look at if you wish.)

Evan Daniels piece announcing the signing in 247 Sports (https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Four-star-Russian-big-man-Pavel-Zakharov-signs-with-Gonzaga-124996352/)


After watching Zakharov in our second setting, he's slotted No. 37 overall and as the No. 9 center prospect in the Top247.

At 6-foot-10, Zakharov has good size for the position, terrific hands and touch around the basket, plus impressive athleticism and mobility. His feel for the game and passing ability from the block and high post also standout.

At the FIBA u18 European Championships, Zakharov averaged 7.3 points and five rebounds in seven games for Russia's u18 team. He connected on 15 of his 31 field goal attempts in the event.

247 Sports rankings for 2019: (https://247sports.com/Season/2019-Basketball/RecruitRankings/?InstitutionGroup=HighSchool)As noted in Evan Daniels piece above, Pavel's ranked #38 (Daniels said #37, but that's changed as of today). 2019 Zag recruits ranked:

#33 - Anton Watson
#38 Oavel Zakharov
#44 - Martynas Arlauskas
#46 - Drew Timme
#92 - Brock Ravet

"Savkov adds MVP award to Russia's gold" (http://www.fiba.basketball/europe/u16b/2018/news/savkov-adds-mvp-award-to-russia-s-gold) Pavel played in both the U16 and U18 FIBA contests. First, in the U16 contests:


SARAJEVO (FIBA U16 European Championship 2018, Division B) – Having helped Russia secure the FIBA U16 European Championship 2018, Division B title, Pavel Savkov captured the Most Valuable Player award with a stellar individual campaign in Sarajevo.

The 16-year-old shooting guard put up 13 points, 5 rebounds and 4 assists in a victorious title clash against Bosnia and Herzegovina, as the Russian side celebrated an 83-77 victory to claim gold.

Over the course of the tournament, Savkov averaged 15.9 points, 8,0 rebounds, 2.5 assists and 1.5 steals for an average efficiency score of 18.3, the best mark on the trophy-winning Russia team.

From the FIBA U18 contests: Pavel's team lost in the semi-final to Joel Ayayi's France team: Pavel had 13 points,7 rebounds, and 2 blocks in the game. Box Score (http://www.fiba.basketball/europe/u18/2018/game/0508/Russia-France#|tab=boxscore)

Pavel's stats for the tournament. (https://www.morningstar.com/)

http://www.fiba.basketball/api/img/graphic/55ec9f83-d7b6-4d0b-a818-a164287b9bb6/1000/1000?mt=.jpg


Schedule for Upcoming Games (https://mvasports.com/schedule.aspx?path=cbdnatl): Looks like his first game coming up will be January 10 vs. Combine Academy.

ZagNative
12-24-2018, 02:45 AM
A reminder of Pavel's teammates when he arrives at Gonzaga, with heights added. My gosh, that's a tall bunch!

https://i.imgur.com/GPXYbCx.jpg

thespywhozaggedme
12-24-2018, 08:21 AM
More stuff about Pavel, plus a summary of links to info about him:

First, he is from Russia and attends CBD Montverde, which is distinct from the regular Montverde program. Hence, he's not listed on the Montverde roster, but rather on the CBD Monteverde Prep National roster. (https://mvasports.com/roster.aspx?path=cbdnatl)

Guboards Welcome Thread (http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?63896-Welcome-Pavel-Zakharov-New-Zag&highlight=Pavel)

Adam Zagoria piece covering Pavel's signing with Gonzaga (https://www.zagsblog.com/2018/11/18/gonzaga-the-favorite-for-class-of-2020-russian-big-man-pavel-zahkarov/):



(There's a little snippet of video in the piece you can look at if you wish.)

Evan Daniels piece announcing the signing in 247 Sports (https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Four-star-Russian-big-man-Pavel-Zakharov-signs-with-Gonzaga-124996352/)



247 Sports rankings for 2019: (https://247sports.com/Season/2019-Basketball/RecruitRankings/?InstitutionGroup=HighSchool)As noted in Evan Daniels piece above, Pavel's ranked #38 (Daniels said #37, but that's changed as of today). 2019 Zag recruits ranked:

#33 - Anton Watson
#38 Oavel Zakharov
#44 - Martynas Arlauskas
#46 - Drew Timme
#92 - Brock Ravet

"Savkov adds MVP award to Russia's gold" (http://www.fiba.basketball/europe/u16b/2018/news/savkov-adds-mvp-award-to-russia-s-gold) Pavel played in both the U16 and U18 FIBA contests. First, in the U16 contests:



From the FIBA U18 contests: Pavel's team lost in the semi-final to Joel Ayayi's France team: Pavel had 13 points,7 rebounds, and 2 blocks in the game. Box Score (http://www.fiba.basketball/europe/u18/2018/game/0508/Russia-France#|tab=boxscore)

Pavel's stats for the tournament. (https://www.morningstar.com/)

http://www.fiba.basketball/api/img/graphic/55ec9f83-d7b6-4d0b-a818-a164287b9bb6/1000/1000?mt=.jpg


Schedule for Upcoming Games (https://mvasports.com/schedule.aspx?path=cbdnatl): Looks like his first game coming up will be January 10 vs. Combine Academy.

So if I'm reading this right, it's basically the JV team. Because Kevin Boyle's son is the head coach of this team. And it looks like Filip's brother is on the team as well. They are 4-5 so far but I can't see any box scores. I wonder why Pavel is not on the varsity team.

https://mvasports.com/schedule.aspx?path=cbdnatl

https://mvasports.com/roster.aspx?path=cbdnatl

Martin Centre Mad Man
12-24-2018, 08:35 AM
More stuff about Pavel, plus a summary of links to info about him:

First, he is from Russia and attends CBD Montverde, which is distinct from the regular Montverde program. Hence, he's not listed on the Montverde roster, but rather on the CBD Monteverde Prep National roster. (https://mvasports.com/roster.aspx?path=cbdnatl)

Guboards Welcome Thread (http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?63896-Welcome-Pavel-Zakharov-New-Zag&highlight=Pavel)

Adam Zagoria piece covering Pavel's signing with Gonzaga (https://www.zagsblog.com/2018/11/18/gonzaga-the-favorite-for-class-of-2020-russian-big-man-pavel-zahkarov/):



(There's a little snippet of video in the piece you can look at if you wish.)

Evan Daniels piece announcing the signing in 247 Sports (https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Four-star-Russian-big-man-Pavel-Zakharov-signs-with-Gonzaga-124996352/)



247 Sports rankings for 2019: (https://247sports.com/Season/2019-Basketball/RecruitRankings/?InstitutionGroup=HighSchool)As noted in Evan Daniels piece above, Pavel's ranked #38 (Daniels said #37, but that's changed as of today). 2019 Zag recruits ranked:

#33 - Anton Watson
#38 Oavel Zakharov
#44 - Martynas Arlauskas
#46 - Drew Timme
#92 - Brock Ravet

"Savkov adds MVP award to Russia's gold" (http://www.fiba.basketball/europe/u16b/2018/news/savkov-adds-mvp-award-to-russia-s-gold) Pavel played in both the U16 and U18 FIBA contests. First, in the U16 contests:



From the FIBA U18 contests: Pavel's team lost in the semi-final to Joel Ayayi's France team: Pavel had 13 points,7 rebounds, and 2 blocks in the game. Box Score (http://www.fiba.basketball/europe/u18/2018/game/0508/Russia-France#|tab=boxscore)

Pavel's stats for the tournament. (https://www.morningstar.com/)

http://www.fiba.basketball/api/img/graphic/55ec9f83-d7b6-4d0b-a818-a164287b9bb6/1000/1000?mt=.jpg


Schedule for Upcoming Games (https://mvasports.com/schedule.aspx?path=cbdnatl): Looks like his first game coming up will be January 10 vs. Combine Academy.

Wait...Ravet’s now ranked in the Top 100?

thespywhozaggedme
12-24-2018, 09:35 AM
Wait...Ravet’s now ranked in the Top 100?

On 247 he is and is a 4 *. On 247 composite, he's #137 and a 3*.

https://247sports.com/Season/2019-Basketball/RecruitRankings/?InstitutionGroup=HighSchool&State=WA
https://247sports.com/Season/2019-Basketball/CompositeRecruitRankings/?InstitutionGroup=HighSchool&State=WA

OntZags
12-24-2018, 11:56 AM
So if I'm reading this right, it's basically the JV team. Because Kevin Boyle's son is the head coach of this team. And it looks like Filip's brother is on the team as well. They are 4-5 so far but I can't see any box scores. I wonder why Pavel is not on the varsity team.

https://mvasports.com/schedule.aspx?path=cbdnatl

https://mvasports.com/roster.aspx?path=cbdnatl

It's not so much a JV team as a parallel varsity team. Definitely looks more like a 'B' squad though. Orangville Prep in Ontario has a similar scenario where they have two varsity teams running out of the same school and the talent is kind of spread out a bit. (one team is definitely better but there are often kids who are better than some guys on the 'A' team)

Considering they already have Balsa Koprivica & Precious Achiuwa in their frontcourt, perhaps they wanted him on the other team to get more minutes?

He put up 18/11/4A in 37 min & 9/7/2blks in 26 minutes in two games at the national prep showcase. Petrusev's brother didn't get much run.

Hoping Few stays in contact with Montverde though. They have two freshmen on their 'A' team from Ontario that have high ceilings. Caleb Houstan is probably the best Canadian in his class and is a 5 star calibre player. Ryan Nembhard is Andrew's brother and I've heard people say he has a higher ceiling.

caldwellzag
12-25-2018, 11:23 AM
It's not so much a JV team as a parallel varsity team. Definitely looks more like a 'B' squad though. Orangville Prep in Ontario has a similar scenario where they have two varsity teams running out of the same school and the talent is kind of spread out a bit. (one team is definitely better but there are often kids who are better than some guys on the 'A' team)

Considering they already have Balsa Koprivica & Precious Achiuwa in their frontcourt, perhaps they wanted him on the other team to get more minutes?

He put up 18/11/4A in 37 min & 9/7/2blks in 26 minutes in two games at the national prep showcase. Petrusev's brother didn't get much run.

Hoping Few stays in contact with Montverde though. They have two freshmen on their 'A' team from Ontario that have high ceilings. Caleb Houstan is probably the best Canadian in his class and is a 5 star calibre player. Ryan Nembhard is Andrew's brother and I've heard people say he has a higher ceiling.

I would guess Montverde and Gonzaga are going to pair up a lot in the next few years for recruits. Many of the top international talents are landing there as a prep for college/NBA.

Spike#1
01-19-2019, 07:33 AM
ZagNative posted in the Dom Harris thread the schedule for the Hoophall Classic, and Montverde plays in the game following Rancho Christian at Noon Spokane time. However, in reading this thread, I'm not sure if Pavel will be playing. Have to assume Montverde sends their primary team for a nationally televised ESPN game.

thespywhozaggedme
01-19-2019, 08:33 AM
ZagNative posted in the Dom Harris thread the schedule for the Hoophall Classic, and Montverde plays in the game following Rancho Christian at Noon Spokane time. However, in reading this thread, I'm not sure if Pavel will be playing. Have to assume Montverde sends their primary team for a nationally televised ESPN game.

Pavel's on the JV team, not the one that will be on tv.

Zagdawg
01-21-2019, 10:06 AM
https://twitter.com/WhosNextHS/status/1087376309880344578

BobZag
01-21-2019, 11:19 AM
https://twitter.com/WhosNextHS/status/1087376309880344578

Soft hands. Agile. Looks like a good prospect with future upside. Not there yet, but promising.

bdmiller7
01-21-2019, 12:25 PM
Soft hands. Agile. Looks like a good prospect with future upside. Not there yet, but promising.

Plus he's wearing John Stockton's shorts.

bdmiller7
01-21-2019, 12:26 PM
Pavel's on the JV team, not the one that will be on tv.

I think it's a post-grad team. Several 5th year guys doing college prep work, several foreign players. Many D1 guys on the team, none quite a Pavels level though.

thespywhozaggedme
01-21-2019, 12:57 PM
I think it's a post-grad team. Several 5th year guys doing college prep work, several foreign players. Many D1 guys on the team, none quite a Pavels level though.

Almost like a prep school year?

bdmiller7
01-21-2019, 01:33 PM
Almost like a prep school year?

I looked at the roster and several were 5th year, the rest seniors. Several foreign guys. Montverde had a tweet last week that said "our montverde academy post-graduate team..." I'm not sure if it might be different coming from Russia, might have already graduated high school. He's in Montverde CBD (Center for Basketball Development) on the national team. They have several teams and seem to focus more on college prep. I'm not sure if they have to play in different tournaments since several kids are graduated (5th year) or if they can play in high school tournies.

ZagNative
01-21-2019, 03:55 PM
From GoAZcats.com (https://arizona.rivals.com/news/hoophall-classic-sunday-bossi-and-evans-rival-views): "Hoophall Classic Sunday: Bossi and Evans' Rival Views"

WHICH PLAYER SURPRISED YOU THE MOST?

Bossi's view: I will go with Pavel Zakharov.

. Part of it is that Sunday was my first time seeing him in person, but the majority of it was because as good as I thought he was based on film study, he was even better up close. The Gonzaga commitment looks to be every bit of 6-foot-10 and he's got a sturdy build, skill and a bit of a nasty streak. I'm really interested to see how Mark Few is going to use he and Drew Timme together.

Zakharov is going to enter into at least the upper third of the 2019 Rivals150 when it gets updated next week.

sittingon50
01-21-2019, 08:31 PM
Nasty streak. Coming to a WCC gym near you.

caldwellzag
01-22-2019, 07:13 AM
Pavel is getting all kinds of love.

https://247sports.com/college/gonzaga/Article/Hoophall10-standout-performers-from-the-events-128145241/

zagsfanforlife
01-22-2019, 08:52 PM
Yo! Zakharov looks like the truth.

A frontline of Kispert/Watson/Arlauskas/Timme/Zakharov/Petrusev will bring fits!!! for teams.

This isn't even considering Tillie or BC have an outside chance to return.

Add in Harvey (fingers crossed) and ZN, .. thats a talent loaded squad.

247 knew something about Pavel.. i believe he is ranked higher than Watson and Timme right??

BobZag
01-23-2019, 07:22 AM
Yo! Zakharov looks like the truth.

A frontline of Kispert/Watson/Arlauskas/Timme/Zakharov/Petrusev will bring fits!!! for teams.

This isn't even considering Tillie or BC have an outside chance to return.

Add in Harvey (fingers crossed) and ZN, .. thats a talent loaded squad.

247 knew something about Pavel.. i believe he is ranked higher than Watson and Timme right??

247 has Pavel #41, Timme #43, Watson #45.

bdmiller7
01-23-2019, 07:34 AM
247 has Pavel #41, Timme #43, Watson #45.

ESPN updates rankings. Timme 46, Watson 56, Zakharov 87. Harris 55 for 2020.

OntZags
01-23-2019, 09:23 AM
247 has Pavel #41, Timme #43, Watson #45.

247 actually has Watson 33, Pavel 38 & Timme 46. (those rankings are their composites.)

Love that video of Zakharov. He is legit. I've read here that he's a redshirt candidate but he sure he doesn't look one. Even if he isn't getting major minutes I don't really see much point because I doubt he's at GU for 5 years.

BobZag
01-23-2019, 09:36 AM
Pavel is #87 on ESPN 2019 100 now.

bdmiller7
01-23-2019, 10:54 AM
247 actually has Watson 33, Pavel 38 & Timme 46. (those rankings are their composites.)

Love that video of Zakharov. He is legit. I've read here that he's a redshirt candidate but he sure he doesn't look one. Even if he isn't getting major minutes I don't really see much point because I doubt he's at GU for 5 years.

If Clarke, Rui, and Tillie leave I don't see how he redshirts.

WallaWallaZag
01-23-2019, 12:10 PM
247 actually has Watson 33, Pavel 38 & Timme 46. (those rankings are their composites.)

Love that video of Zakharov. He is legit. I've read here that he's a redshirt candidate but he sure he doesn't look one. Even if he isn't getting major minutes I don't really see much point because I doubt he's at GU for 5 years.

247 also has arlauskas at #44 two spots ahead of timme at #46...they're also the only site with ravet in the top 100 at #92

BobZag
01-23-2019, 04:03 PM
247 also has arlauskas at #44 two spots ahead of timme at #46...they're also the only site with ravet in the top 100 at #92

Is this the wrong link:

https://247sports.com/Season/2019-Basketball/CompositeRecruitRankings/?InstitutionGroup=HighSchool

WallaWallaZag
01-23-2019, 04:15 PM
Is this the wrong link:

https://247sports.com/Season/2019-Basketball/CompositeRecruitRankings/?InstitutionGroup=HighSchool

that's the one...but the default display is for the "247sports composite" ranking averaging/combining all the major outlets. if you want to see the 247 only ranking, you need to click on the top left button above where the list starts that reads "TOP247"...you can also see the 247 ranking next to each player as the 2nd light gray number below the bold black composite score is their own ranking.

my description might be a little convoluted, so here's the direct link:

https://247sports.com/Season/2019-Basketball/RecruitRankings/?InstitutionGroup=HighSchool

bdmiller7
01-23-2019, 07:20 PM
Almost like a prep school year?

Inside the kennel just had a great little note about why Pavel is not on the main high school team. Sounds like a better opportunity for him where he is. If you're a member jump over and check it out, if not I signed up last week and there is new recruiting news daily. Really enjoying it.

bdmiller7
01-30-2019, 06:10 PM
Rivals came out with new rankings, Pavel checked in at 41, right between Timme at 31 and Watson at 49. Not a bad future frontcourt.

caldwellzag
01-31-2019, 06:00 AM
Rivals came out with new rankings, Pavel checked in at 41, right between Timme at 31 and Watson at 49. Not a bad future frontcourt.

I have watched a lot of film on him here recently and I think by the time things are said and done he may end up being our next great in the line of big men being drafted early. Not saying Timme won't be right with him, but Pavel has something special.

ZagNative
02-02-2019, 11:27 AM
From Twitter:

Russ Wood
‏ @RussHoops
19h19 hours ago

Watching IMG Academy PG vs. Montverde Academy CBD and Pavel Zakharov, from Russia, is a tremendous prospect. Runs effortlessly, advanced feel for the game, knows how to use his 6'11 frame & has great touch. Great get for Gonzaga. Mark Few is a recruiting gangsta. Who knew?



BAHoops (ΦΒΣ)
‏ @BayAreaHoopsfl
19h19 hours ago

@MVABasketball 611 Pavel Zakharov is LEGIT! Amazing footwork, use of shoulders and size were impressive. After my 2nd viewing Im convinced that @ZagMBB got a GOOD ONE! @ARSRescueRooter @HoopfestUSA #bah

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DyXcBOVXgAEzWkt.jpg

BobZag
02-02-2019, 12:35 PM
This all is so promising. Few is almost guaranteeing future runs at Final Fours.

Gin N GUice
02-02-2019, 12:40 PM
Currently playing on ESPN U

thespywhozaggedme
02-02-2019, 12:51 PM
Currently playing on ESPN U

He's not on that team

Gin N GUice
02-02-2019, 01:03 PM
He's not on that team

I jumped the gun, my bad

thespywhozaggedme
02-02-2019, 02:27 PM
I jumped the gun, my bad

You were trying to do us all a favor. No biggie at all.

Gin N GUice
02-03-2019, 01:35 AM
I did end up watching balsa for a bit, I'm more than happy with pavel

ZagNative
02-03-2019, 04:12 PM
Adam Zagoria has ahother piece about Pavel, posted January 20th. https://www.zagsblog.com/2019/01/20/the-next-gonzaga-big-man-from-monteverde-is-on-deck/

https://www.zagsblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/IMG_4090-1200x1600.jpeg

The article cites Montverde CBD coach Kevin Boyle Jr. as making the point about the weakness of the WCC is a draw for Pavel:


Petrusev is now averaging 7.5 points and 3.4 rebounds at Gonzaga. Boyle pointed out that because of the relative strength of that league, Zakharov should get playing time as a young player.

“And also playing in that conference (WCC), theres a lot of room for error there, where if you’re playing Kansas back-to-back [and] West Virginia [in the Big 12], and you’re a freshman making mistakes out there, you might have to wait till the next year to play,” Boyle said. “If you’re going against Pacific and Santa Clara, you can play through some of those mistakes as a freshman.”

basketballzag
02-12-2019, 06:07 PM
Adam Zagoria has ahother piece about Pavel, posted January 20th. https://www.zagsblog.com/2019/01/20/the-next-gonzaga-big-man-from-monteverde-is-on-deck/

https://www.zagsblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/IMG_4090-1200x1600.jpeg

The article cites Montverde CBD coach Kevin Boyle Jr. as making the point about the weakness of the WCC is a draw for Pavel:

I agree with Andy Katz assessment in Few landing Pavel. "Mark Few is guilty of Russian Collusion because he just landed a Pavel"

Zagdawg
02-22-2019, 08:03 AM
Inside The Kennel


@InsideTheKennel
Following Following @InsideTheKennel
More
Spokane International Airport will be busy with Gonzaga recruits today. While @OumarBallo13 will be finishing up his visit, 2019 commit, and @MVABasketball star, Pavel Zakharov, will arrive in Spokane to being his

ZagNative
02-23-2019, 10:20 PM
"Gonzaga recruit Pavel Zakharov of Montverde Academy in Florida watches first half of a college basketball game on Saturday, February 23, 2019, at McCarthey Athletic Center in Spokane, Wash. (Tyler Tjomsland / The Spokesman-Review)"

https://media.spokesman.com/photos/2019/02/23/GONZAGAbyu_032_TT_t1140.jpg?abf36d44fcda22a1f70411 62086f31df6a374511

raise the zag
02-24-2019, 08:29 AM
Huge fan of this kid.

Outside Anton, I'm most excited for Pavel.

A very versatile Center prospect, who can shoot, has great touch, solid defender in the post (takes pride in it). 2 way player. Not the fastest down the floor but not the slowest.

Has multiple moves, can score with both hands (a requirement these days), and an underrated passer.

Also, while lean now has the best body and room for additional muscle. Moreso than even Petrusev.

Ballo and Watson already have muscle, they will mostly add weight.

Pavel the type of player we should bulk up and become a force. Lean muscle is great for most players and styles, yet Pavel could be a beast in 2-3 yrs.

sittingon50
02-24-2019, 09:56 AM
Looking at him last night, certainly not "thin". But if he is a 5 as you say rtz, he'll certainly need to bulk up.

Was wearing long sleeves (as you can see in photo above, and untucked) but would guess he's a bit slighter than Tillie.

Zagdawg
05-01-2019, 01:52 PM
Montverde Academy Basketball


@MVABasketball
1m1 minute ago
More
Congrats to Montverde CBD players Trae Broadnax on signing with Navy and Pavel Zakharov signing with Gonzaga University!

https://twitter.com/MVABasketball/status/1123706190117199877

basketballzag
05-01-2019, 05:25 PM
Montverde Academy Basketball


@MVABasketball
1m1 minute ago
More
Congrats to Montverde CBD players Trae Broadnax on signing with Navy and Pavel Zakharov signing with Gonzaga University!

https://twitter.com/MVABasketball/status/1123706190117199877

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D5g00RQXkAAyffP.jpghttps://pbs.twimg.com/media/D5g00ROXsAEegTp.jpg

exclusivelee
05-29-2019, 08:59 AM
Pavel Zakharov gets diploma from Montverde Academy. Filip Petrusev took a trip over there for his brother's graduation from Montverde. Balsa Koprivica also picturedhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190529/8505cd91d2f4c3e656da91edf4d221f1.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190529/bb118284bc0176dcf22e6a425b3bdecf.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190529/dedd8b1a925ad5d857ad0cc69f06f0ae.jpg