PDA

View Full Version : 11.01.18 Exhibition vs. Central Washington: Post Game Media Thread



johno
11-01-2018, 09:13 PM
http://www.swxrightnow.com/stories/2018/nov/01/recap-and-highlights-rui-hachimura-brandon-clarke-/


BOX SCORE LINK:

https://gozags.com/documents/2018/11/1//GONMBBEX_Book.pdf

slickguser
11-01-2018, 10:35 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fjnt2cpj2ck

Sarenyon
11-01-2018, 11:23 PM
Nice highlights for those of us that didn't get to see it. Hope they post a longer game summary or maybe the whole thing later.

Also, Nice 3 from Rui. Looked real good.

Malastein
11-02-2018, 02:27 AM
Wish they had a full box score...

Zagger
11-02-2018, 03:32 AM
I liked how Jones played and was impressed with all the new guys :)
Kudos to the usual suspects as well. Only 12 points away from my bold prediction of 120 points in a game this season :)
More press:
https://www.slipperstillfits.com/platform/amp/2018/11/1/18054462/gonzaga-central-washington-recap

ZagMan in Philly
11-02-2018, 04:15 AM
Nice highlights for those of us that didn't get to see it. Hope they post a longer game summary or maybe the whole thing later.

Also, Nice 3 from Rui. Looked real good.

Oh boy, if he can make those 3's ...look out!

jazzdelmar
11-02-2018, 04:27 AM
So, UDub and the Dux have their exhibits on real cable tv and the #3 team in the country isn’t even available with 2 cans and a string. What’s wrong with that picture? Or lack of one. Administration, let’s not carry this humility thing too far.

RenoZag
11-02-2018, 05:45 AM
Jim Meehan Game Story:

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2018/nov/01/analysis-gonzaga-overpowers-cwu-inside-in-exhibiti/



“I thought we pushed the ball really well,” said sophomore wing Corey Kispert, who had two 3-pointers, 10 points and five rebounds. “We also found Rui and BC in the post a lot. That’s what we want to do. It’s kind of a staple of our offense.”

Hachimura put the visitors in an early hole, scoring the first eight points in the opening 95 seconds. The Zags stretched the lead to 18-3, but the smooth start gave way to a choppy stretch cluttered with turnovers, errant shooting and fouls.

The Wildcats weren’t the only ones having their uniform numbers reported to the scorer’s table. CWU was in the bonus with nearly 9 minutes left in the half. The Wildcats failed to take advantage, making 4 of 10 at the line.

The Zags attempted 46 free throws and Michigan State 41 in last Saturday’s closed scrimmage.

“Every year everybody is so amped up on the points of emphasis,” GU coach Mark Few said. “It seems like we go through this every year, and everybody just adjusts after a while.”

RenoZag
11-02-2018, 05:48 AM
S-R feature story on Brandon Clarke's return to the hardwood:

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2018/nov/01/gonzagas-brandon-clarke-makes-splash-in-return-to-/


He played a hyperefficient game Thursday, finishing with 18 points on 4-of-5 shooting and 11 rebounds. A double-double in his first career game – albeit in an exhibition game – was the perfect start, as was his 10-for-14 effort from the free-throw line.

RenoZag
11-02-2018, 05:49 AM
Wish they had a full box score...

Here: https://gozags.com/documents/2018/11/1//GONMBBEX_Book.pdf

gueastcoast
11-02-2018, 05:53 AM
So, UDub and the Dux have their exhibits on real cable tv and the #3 team in the country isn’t even available with 2 cans and a string. What’s wrong with that picture? Or lack of one. Administration, let’s not carry this humility thing too far.

Jazz, not only do I not think you are complaining too much about this, I think we (the board collectively) aren't complaining enough. It's really kind of ridiculous. Humility, indeed.

Zagdawg
11-02-2018, 06:35 AM
Luke Allen


@AukeLlen
Follow Follow @AukeLlen
More
Replying to @InsideTheKennel @KHQLocalNews
http://Thew.tv has the game on it's schedule for Tuesday

https://watchstadium.com/network/wcc-network/

DixieZag
11-02-2018, 06:42 AM
S-R feature story on Brandon Clarke's return to the hardwood:

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2018/nov/01/gonzagas-brandon-clarke-makes-splash-in-return-to-/

So B Clark is Canadian? The stars are really aligning for this team. Another Canadian Big coming off a redshirt year.

Thank you for the link.

GoZags
11-02-2018, 07:03 AM
So, UDub and the Dux have their exhibits on real cable tv and the #3 team in the country isn’t even available with 2 cans and a string. What’s wrong with that picture? Or lack of one. Administration, let’s not carry this humility thing too far.

Gosh.

If only the West Coast Conference had their very own television cable network and were looking for programming 24/7/365 What a money maker that would be !!! How short sighted of the GU Administration to have their sports in a "non" power conference that doesn't even have their own television network.

Somehow I'm thinking Gonzaga has their priorities right (not that I wouldn't have enjoyed watching the game ... there were a couple of us looking at making the drive to Eastern Washington to watch the game, but the closest to Seattle it was airing was Moses Lake so we didn't pull the trigger).

bartruff1
11-02-2018, 07:05 AM
So, UDub and the Dux have their exhibits on real cable tv and the #3 team in the country isnít even available with 2 cans and a string. Whatís wrong with that picture? Or lack of one. Administration, letís not carry this humility thing too far.

On Spectrum, the PAC has about a half dozen channels ...so you can follow any of the teams ...and of course the BYU channel had their game....on the other hand....I cannot stand Judge Judy, she is a snarky bully who attacks people with no opportunity to even defend themselves...

jazzdelmar
11-02-2018, 07:09 AM
Gosh.

If only the West Coast Conference had their very own television cable network and were looking for programming 24/7/365 What a money maker that would be !!! How short sighted of the GU Administration to have their sports in a "non" power conference that doesn't even have their own television network.

Somehow I'm thinking Gonzaga has their priorities right (not that I wouldn't have enjoyed watching the game ... there were a couple of us looking at making the drive to Eastern Washington to watch the game, but the closest to Seattle it was airing was Moses Lake so we didn't pull the trigger).

I thought the WCC had its own cable-ish video feed, the W? I'm not comparing the WCC w the Pac 12, GZ. GU is a bright light in the CBB universe, why the bushel?

JPtheBeasta
11-02-2018, 07:10 AM
I also didn’t get Judge Judy to work through the link provided. Was she motherly, straight-shooting, and cantankerous, as usual?

Edit: Sorry Bart. I see you beat me to the punch but saw it after posting.

Birddog
11-02-2018, 08:33 AM
Gosh.

If only the West Coast Conference had their very own television cable network and were looking for programming 24/7/365 What a money maker that would be !!! How short sighted of the GU Administration to have their sports in a "non" power conference that doesn't even have their own television network.

Somehow I'm thinking Gonzaga has their priorities right (not that I wouldn't have enjoyed watching the game ... there were a couple of us looking at making the drive to Eastern Washington to watch the game, but the closest to Seattle it was airing was Moses Lake so we didn't pull the trigger).

I think the other question is if theW was not streaming the game, why wasn't KHQ? I'm sure this is a "rights" issue of some sort, but there was apparently no conflict, what gives? Did IMG want to be exclusive on the internet radio broadcast?

Zagricultural
11-02-2018, 09:12 AM
Gosh.

If only the West Coast Conference had their very own television cable network and were looking for programming 24/7/365 What a money maker that would be !!! How short sighted of the GU Administration to have their sports in a "non" power conference that doesn't even have their own television network.

Somehow I'm thinking Gonzaga has their priorities right (not that I wouldn't have enjoyed watching the game ... there were a couple of us looking at making the drive to Eastern Washington to watch the game, but the closest to Seattle it was airing was Moses Lake so we didn't pull the trigger).

Yet the WCC somehow was able to live stream women's volleyball during the Zags game. It's ridiculous! If the WCC won't do it Gonzaga needs to get it done.

raise the zag
11-02-2018, 09:13 AM
those passes by Crandall tho....really confident, smooth, creative.

That behind the back scoop to Perkins was saweeeet. Hitting the cutters, pointing, talking, communicating, head always up.

Really good bball player.

His defense will be a plus too.

I think we got the better end of the Cremo vs Crandall sweepstakes.

Zagceo
11-02-2018, 09:41 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fjnt2cpj2ck

JPtheBeasta
11-02-2018, 10:00 AM
those passes by Crandall tho....really confident, smooth, creative.

That behind the back scoop to Perkins was saweeeet. Hitting the cutters, pointing, talking, communicating, head always up.

Really good bball player.

His defense will be a plus too.

I think we got the better end of the Cremo vs Crandall sweepstakes.

That’s good to hear.

It was disappointing to see Ayayi didn’t play much. Geno seems to have been a very important recruit at this point

ZagNative
11-02-2018, 10:36 AM
KREM 2 game video: https://www.krem.com/article/sports/zags-cruise-in-exhibition-win-108-69/293-610548740

ZagNative
11-02-2018, 10:39 AM
KXLY TV video: https://www.kxly.com/sports/gonzaga-bulldogs/gonzaga-cruises-to-a-win-in-exhibition-game/839007206

bballbeachbum
11-02-2018, 10:42 AM
thanks for all the highlights and press

nice kick opposite from Filip in the low post when doubled...3 for Zach

ZagNative
11-02-2018, 10:43 AM
SWX TV game video: http://www.swxrightnow.com/video/2018/nov/01/watch-gonzaga-tunes-exhibition-victory-over-cwu/

ZagNative
11-02-2018, 10:45 AM
Heister, Dickau & Fox recap Gonzagaís exhibition rout of CWU: http://www.swxrightnow.com/video/2018/nov/01/watch-heister-dickau-fox-recap-gonzagas-exhibition/

MDABE80
11-02-2018, 10:54 AM
Now that Tillie's on the shelf for a bit, Rui, Josh and Norvell will be the mainstays. I am just so surprised at how skilled Crandall, Filip and Clarke are. Once this group learns how to play with each other, this will be one of our finer teams. We do have some good roll players to fill gaps as well.


THIS WILL BE A SUPERIOR TEAM PRIOR TO KILLIAN RETURNING AND SHOULD BE A WORLD BEATER IF HE RECOVERS . sorry for the caps. I don't think this team will get by the Dukes of the world without him and without depth...at least not in a few weeks. Crandall's feet are good and his defense is focused.

GoZags
11-02-2018, 10:54 AM
Yet the WCC somehow was able to live stream women's volleyball during the Zags game. It's ridiculous! If the WCC won't do it Gonzaga needs to get it done.

I'm pretty sure Gonzaga got more money from selling the rights to last night's game to KHQ than women's volleyball got from the Wtv stream. I know that Root chose not to pick up the game (that would have solved a lot of problems), and I'm trying to find out the reason why it wasn't streamed. It's very frustrating that this exhibition game wasn't aired outside of Spokane ... and I will post "if" I find out the real reason why.

ZagNative
11-02-2018, 10:57 AM
Video: Gonzaga reacts to Killian Tillie injury http://www.spokesman.com/video/2018/nov/01/watch-gonzaga-reacts-killian-tillie-injury/

kitzbuel
11-02-2018, 12:31 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fjnt2cpj2ck

Man, Crandall has some hops.

WallaWallaZag
11-02-2018, 01:03 PM
Man, Crandall has some hops.

kinda looks like he got away with a carry on the steal and dunk sequence...

Zagricultural
11-02-2018, 07:39 PM
I'm pretty sure Gonzaga got more money from selling the rights to last night's game to KHQ than women's volleyball got from the Wtv stream. I know that Root chose not to pick up the game (that would have solved a lot of problems), and I'm trying to find out the reason why it wasn't streamed. It's very frustrating that this exhibition game wasn't aired outside of Spokane ... and I will post "if" I find out the real reason why.

By all means sell it to khq, but part of the deal needs to be an online stream. Gonzaga is a national brand now, and it's ridiculous to let khq dictate it must have sole broadcast rights

Reborn
11-03-2018, 07:13 AM
I was really impressed with Crandall. Wow!! Thihs is a very talented team. How did Petrusev play?