PDA

View Full Version : Bud Withers covers Tacoma Tip Off (Coach Daniels)

Zag365
10-19-2018, 12:23 PM
Any takeaways regarding the program, team, players, schedule, expectations, etc. from Donny Daniels?

Rangerzag
10-19-2018, 12:50 PM
Tacoma was congratulated for continuing the event.

Both coaches were happy to be there.

I am not very good at quotations off the top of my head.

Both coaches did keep us chuckling through their entire presentations.

Coach Daniels:

Is anyone expected to red shirt?

We will approach that after exhibition and scrimmage games.

What will the initial starting lineup be?

No comment.

I believe it was Jill Townsend Coach Clinesmith reported wrestles cows for a living and coach chides her other players because they have so much trouble getting between Jill and offensive rebounds.

Radbooks
10-19-2018, 07:21 PM
Bud Withers has an article on his blog

http://www.gloryhounds.net/whatsnew/view/335205

ZagNative
10-20-2018, 10:21 AM
Bud Withers has an article on his blog

http://www.gloryhounds.net/whatsnew/view/335205This from Withers piece made me smile:

-- Brandon Clarke. “He’ll be one of the best shot-blockers Gonzaga’s ever had,” Daniels said. “He has a great feel for staying down, staying down and then going up. He’s a quick jumper.” Clarke is a scorer, but he’s not likely to lead the team in assists, Daniels said. “When Brandon catches the ball, he’s a black hole. It never comes out.”

JPtheBeasta
10-20-2018, 11:57 AM
“When Brandon catches the ball, he’s a black hole. It never comes out.”

Definitely something to watch. If he gets double teamed frequently there could be some growing pains and frustration. I think Kevin McHale, who played for the Boston Celtics, was nicknamed the Black Hole but that worked out pretty well, actually. He was quite a scorer and had more post moves than anybody I can remember.

DixieZag
10-20-2018, 03:23 PM
“When Brandon catches the ball, he’s a black hole. It never comes out.”