PDA

View Full Version : The Block



SamwiseTheZag
10-12-2018, 04:31 AM
I rewatched the West Virginia sweet 16 game recently.

What a game.
Zags took WVUs best shot and came away with the W.

If they lose that game, the narrative remains the same.
With the win they roll to the championship game.

Tons of big moments, and key performances.

Possibly the most important, that I think gets forgotten is Perkins block that sets up NWGs pass to Mathews.

1:20 mark

https://youtu.be/Y6SL88j0y94

Hope you are doing well Mr Perkins.

Looking forward to cheering for you!

Go Zags!

LongIslandZagFan
10-12-2018, 06:56 AM
Nice catch on that. Guess many forgot about that simply because Jordan's dagger on the ensuing play overshadowed it.

Robzagnut
10-12-2018, 07:02 AM
Nice catch on that. Guess many forgot about that simply because Jordan's dagger on the ensuing play overshadowed it.

Don't think the block was overshadowed at all. There were a number of discussions concerning Perkin's key play before the shot on this board as one couldn't happen without the other. Peanut butter and jelly...

Zagceo
10-12-2018, 07:12 AM
https://i.imgur.com/KJOceNk.png
https://i.imgur.com/ij1JIXD.png


greatest block in Zag history IMO.... Josh Perkins against WVU 6'9" Adrian at the rim

play started by Carter knocking loose a rebound from Nigel which ended up in Adrians hands

look where Josh is when Adrian gets the ball..1 foot above the free throw line while Adrian on the low block

Josh exploded to the front of the rim with perfect timing and started the play that all remember....Jordans 3 pointer to take the lead



(http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?60013-The-block-shot-by-Perkins-with-1-00-on-clock-was-HUGE-it-lead-to-Mathews-3&highlight=Perkins+block)http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?63242-One-Game&highlight=perkins+block

http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?60013-The-block-shot-by-Perkins-with-1-00-on-clock-was-HUGE-it-lead-to-Mathews-3&highlight=Perkins+block

GoZags
10-12-2018, 08:06 AM
https://i.imgur.com/KJOceNk.png
https://i.imgur.com/ij1JIXD.png




(http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?60013-The-block-shot-by-Perkins-with-1-00-on-clock-was-HUGE-it-lead-to-Mathews-3&highlight=Perkins+block)http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?63242-One-Game&highlight=perkins+block

http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?60013-The-block-shot-by-Perkins-with-1-00-on-clock-was-HUGE-it-lead-to-Mathews-3&highlight=Perkins+block

I believe that was with the bad shoulder ...

SamwiseTheZag
10-12-2018, 08:10 AM
Sorry, I missed those threads during the summer.
I guess my point was that the block isn't remembered as a critical play in that game.
If he fouls, or allows a basket, the momentum goes back to WVU, and increases the Zags chances of losing considerably.

I am a big Josh Perkins fan. I think he does a lot of good little things that go unnoticed.

I really hope he is ready to go, and can play a full season.

Not sure what the team looks like without him this year.

Go Zags!

LTownZag
10-12-2018, 10:28 AM
Is a healthy Josh one of the top 5 college point guards for the 18/19 year? Other than unproven freshmen, Josh doesn't have many peers out there.

https://www.theringer.com/college-basketball/2018/10/10/17959856/point-guard-position-ncaa-hoops-season-carsen-edwards

This year looks to be historically thin at the point guard spot. I'm glad we have him!

JPtheBeasta
10-12-2018, 02:56 PM
It’s a poetic justice kinda thing that it was his floater that was blocked at the end of the game the year before. (Or the year before?)

GonzaGAW
10-12-2018, 08:34 PM
- here is a little fun fact about that game, although coach huggins didn't think so.
- in his post game interview he says how could we have lost that game? we missed as many shots as the other team took.
- 44. w.v. missed 44 shots from the field, and Gonzaga only took 44 shots the whole game, yet we won!

SamwiseTheZag
10-13-2018, 07:29 AM
That stat is nuts. Zags D and Huggys kids inability to shoot. Wvu sure could rebound. And play D


I think Josh is ready to have a great season.

He’s going to have a lot of assist opportunities with the talent around him.

Is it November yet?

Go Zags!