PDA

View Full Version : Roll Call----Kraziness in the Kennel this Saturday!!!



Zagdawg
10-01-2018, 02:01 PM
Numerica Kraziness in the Kennel Set for Saturday

The Pre-Kraziness Carnival on the McCarthey Athletic Center South Lawn runs from noon to 2:45 p.m. The Carnival, which will be weather permitting, will also feature inflatables and other activities for fans. Doors will open Saturday at 3 p.m., followed by the event at 4 p.m., which includes player and coaching staff introductions, a three-point contest and dunk contest. The Blue-White scrimmage will conclude the action on the court, and the players will be available for autographs in the concourse after. Posters and schedule cards will be provided by Gonzaga marketing staff. No outside items will be allowed during the autograph session.

https://gozags.com/news/2018/10/1/mens-basketball-numerica-kraziness-in-the-kennel-set-for-saturday.aspx

ZagsGoZags
10-01-2018, 04:43 PM
I'll be there with my son.

Virginia Zags Fan
10-01-2018, 05:16 PM
Iím there!!

sittingon50
10-01-2018, 06:53 PM
Yep.

thespywhozaggedme
10-01-2018, 07:33 PM
Rumor is that a mystery recruit may be there as well. Let's keep our fingers crossed that it is Timme.

zagnut2012
10-01-2018, 07:39 PM
I will be there with my Bro! Plus some pre "Kraziness" at Jack n Dan's :cheers:

JPtheBeasta
10-01-2018, 10:02 PM
How does one go about seeing Kraziness in person?

amaronizag
10-01-2018, 10:26 PM
Show up. It's free. The earlier you get in line, the better your seat will be. Don't sit next to the Kennel Club or you have to stand for the whole event in order to see. Have fun. Never miss it.

sittingon50
10-01-2018, 10:57 PM
Show up. It's free. The earlier you get in line, the better your seat will be. Don't sit next to the Kennel Club or you have to stand for the whole event in order to see. Have fun. Never miss it.

Yeah, sit on the South side if possible. Much more entertaining to view the Kennel Club from the front than looking at the backs of their heads!

GonzagasaurusFlex
10-02-2018, 03:00 AM
Hope some of you attending will share detailed observations here post Kraziness so those of us far far away can get some insights. Also, bantering back and forth about Kraziness performances and reading way too much into them sure helps pass the time this final month before games start. One more month!!!!

caldwellzag
10-02-2018, 05:58 AM
Rumor is that a mystery recruit may be there as well. Let's keep our fingers crossed that it is Timme.

Hopefully we will find out today or tomorrow about this recruit!!

caldwellzag
10-02-2018, 06:03 AM
Hopefully we will find out today or tomorrow about this recruit!!

FWIW Timme announced on Wednesday September 5th that he would official visit Texas A&M on Friday the 7th. If the pattern holds true hopefully we get an annoucement soon.

Zagger
10-02-2018, 06:22 AM
Hopefully .... shoulder surgery Thursday. Not sure if standing for very long outdoors is in my cards. Will make the final 'go/no go' decision by 10/6 noon. I've missed going to past KITKs and really, really want to make this one!
The current weather forecast looks promising:
https://www.wrh.noaa.gov/forecast/wxtables/index.php?lat=47.66550273733874&lon=-117.39993888884784&clrindex=0&table=custom&duration=7&interval=1

LTownZag
10-02-2018, 06:54 AM
To anyone going:

Please take some game videos (lots!) even just iphone videos. Upload some footage here to share.

strikenowhere
10-02-2018, 07:04 AM
Can they please either livestream this finally or at least film it and put it up for viewing later? I am itching for some Zags basketball in whatever form it is.

Robzagnut
10-02-2018, 07:08 AM
Have a hike and a birthday party to attend, so I'm missing my second in a row. Would always take my 3 boys and we would play football (me QB, 1 WR, 2 DBs) while waiting in line. Now they're all grown up and moved away, but we still share the Zags runs in the tourney.

JPtheBeasta
10-02-2018, 08:55 AM
Show up. It's free. The earlier you get in line, the better your seat will be. Don't sit next to the Kennel Club or you have to stand for the whole event in order to see. Have fun. Never miss it.

Gotcha. Thanks. I never went when I lived in Spokane and had more free time. I am going to have to make a concerted effort to go to one of these because they look like a lot of fun.

zagamatic
10-02-2018, 11:09 AM
The Mrs and I will be there

Aaron Hill
10-03-2018, 04:47 AM
Mike Shields and I will be there - we are launching the book on the Kennel Club at the event! Look forward to seeing many old friends (I don't make it to Spokane as much as I'd like anymore!).

https://www.bkstr.com/ProductDisplay?urlRequestType=Base&catalogId=10001&productId=78572619&errorViewName=ProductDisplayErrorView&storeId=270905&langId=-1&rrec=true&cm_sp=Certona_Homepage1-_-Desktop-_-1296

caldwellzag
10-03-2018, 06:44 AM
It's official Mr. Drew Timme will be in Spokane for Kraziness!

https://twitter.com/drewtimme2/status/1047290680530354177

Zagceo
10-03-2018, 08:13 AM
It's official Mr. Drew Timme will be in Spokane for Kraziness!

https://twitter.com/drewtimme2/status/1047290680530354177

guessing Anton will be hanging with Drew this weekend

caldwellzag
10-03-2018, 08:30 AM
guessing Anton will be hanging with Drew this weekend

Unfortunately he won't be, but Brock will be.

ZonaZag
10-03-2018, 08:31 AM
Just moved to Spokane a couple of months ago and really wanted to be there with the family. Instead I will be on a plane to China, not nearly as fun. Is the event on local TV at all so that I can record it?

willandi
10-03-2018, 10:44 AM
Just moved to Spokane a couple of months ago and really wanted to be there with the family. Instead I will be on a plane to China, not nearly as fun. Is the event on local TV at all so that I can record it?

At least it isn't a Slow Boat to China!

I too will miss it. This is the weekend of the Spokane Renaissance Faire in Colbert (Just north of Cat Tails and east a bit...should be signs).

I know your Saturday is taken, but Sunday is a day full of Full Armor jousting, stages of actors and musicians, plus LOTS of vendors.

It is a lot of fun!

LongIslandZagFan
10-03-2018, 11:56 AM
I won't be there.... but Drew Timme can take my place. :D

Malastein
10-03-2018, 01:00 PM
Hopefully Geno can make it!

TexasZagFan
10-03-2018, 01:01 PM
I won't be there.... but Drew Timme can take my place. :D

Drew will do a much better job of representing Texas than I ever could! :lmao:

Zagdawg
10-03-2018, 06:00 PM
Sam Adams


@SamAdamsTV
18m18 minutes ago
More
You're looking at half of this year's Slam Dunk Contest field for Gonzaga Kraziness in the Kennel (+me)

Saturday's contestants are:
Corey Kispert (left)
Brandon Clarke (center)
Rui Hachimura
Greg Foster Jr.


Sam Adams


@SamAdamsTV
4m4 minutes ago
More
Also I can tell you the 3-pt contest for Kraziness in the Kennel will consist of:

Zach Norvell Jr @ZackN_22
Killian Tillie @KillianTillie
Filip Petrusev @PetrusevFilip
Josh Perkins @JoshPerk13

Really looking forward to seeing these guys in that Gonzaga atmosphere Saturday.

willandi
10-03-2018, 06:28 PM
Drew will do a much better job of representing Texas than I ever could! :lmao:

And be more visible!

Zagdawg
10-04-2018, 01:34 PM
Sam Adams


@SamAdamsTV
16h16 hours ago
More Sam Adams Retweeted Graham Kilgore
Kraziness in the Kennel will not be televised, but I'll ask my boss if we've ever considered broadcasting it (I'm sure we have). Doors open at 3, event begins at 4. I'll be live on KHQ that morning with player and coach interviews, and we'll have a recap during our evening news.

Zagdawg
10-04-2018, 01:40 PM
Gonzaga men's basketball season kicks off Saturday with Kraziness in the Kennel

"On Saturday, two of Gonzagaís most prominent staples will collide: Zag Fam Weekend and Kraziness in the Kennel.

Kraziness, which kicks off at 4 p.m., will be the first opportunity for fans to witness what the 2018-19 team has to offer.

The Pre-Kraziness Carnival on the McCarthey Athletic Center South Lawn runs from noon to 2:45 p.m. and, weather permitting, will feature inflatables and other activities for younger fans. "


https://www.gonzagabulletin.com/sports/gonzaga-men-s-basketball-season-kicks-off-saturday-with-kraziness/article_3d5068b0-c789-11e8-9d2d-fb55de937b70.html?platform=hootsuite

Robzagnut
10-04-2018, 02:44 PM
... will feature inflatables and other activities for younger fans. "




and incoming Freshmen

Mr Vulture
10-05-2018, 10:54 AM
I really wish it was televised...how fun that would be to watch for those that can't make it to the Kennel

Zagdawg
10-05-2018, 03:57 PM
Gonzaga basketball welcomes Drew Timme, Brock Ravet for weekend


http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2018/oct/05/zags-welcome-drew-timme-brock-ravet-for-weekend/

Zagdawg
10-05-2018, 03:58 PM
New security measures in place for Kraziness in Kennel, Gonzaga basketball season


http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2018/oct/05/new-security-measures-in-place-for-kraziness-in-ke/

Zagceo
10-05-2018, 04:22 PM
Hopefully Geno can make it!

no Geno


Geno Crandall will not be on hand (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2018/sep/12/geno-crandall-says-on-podcast-hell-enroll-at-gonza/). The North Dakota transfer is working on his undergraduate degree. If he completes the requirements, he would enroll for GU graduate classes (which begin Oct. 23) and become eligible immediately as a grad transfer.

spike_jr
10-05-2018, 06:44 PM
Very glad to see that JP will be participating in the 3 point contest!

jazzdelmar
10-06-2018, 03:36 AM
no Geno

Uh-oh. Not a good sign. Word was that he would be there.........

gonstu
10-06-2018, 05:49 AM
Stop stirring pot Jazz :)

Has til 23rd

jazzdelmar
10-06-2018, 06:08 AM
Stop stirring pot Jazz :)

Has til 23rd

No stir......but there were reliable sources here that kinda promised he'd be at the KIK.....

gonstu
10-06-2018, 06:25 AM
Oh, got it. Fingers crossed.

Are we evading the October heat wave this year? Weird, cooler weather thus far.

LongIslandZagFan
10-06-2018, 07:04 AM
No stir......but there were reliable sources here that kinda promised he'd be at the KIK.....

Don't think he can be until he is officially on the roster. I guess there is a possibility that he could be there in street clothes.

JPtheBeasta
10-06-2018, 07:45 AM
Don't think he can be until he is officially on the roster. I guess there is a possibility that he could be there in street clothes.

He's going to look pretty silly balling out in street clothes ;]

jazzdelmar
10-06-2018, 08:18 AM
Oh, got it. Fingers crossed.

Are we evading the October heat wave this year? Weird, cooler weather thus far.

Awesome. Just got back from DM beach.....No AC needed, amazing sleeping weather.........still hot/humid back east

GoZags
10-06-2018, 08:45 AM
Uh-oh. Not a good sign. Word was that he would be there.........

No stir......but there were reliable sources here that kinda promised he'd be at the KIK.....

I'd have to go back and look at the verbiage I'd used (if I'm the "reliable source" you'd referenced). I recall being hopeful ... and "may" have said I was "expecting" he'd be there. I certainly don't recall "confirming" Geno would be there. Regardless I'm still "hopeful" and "expecting" he'll be part of the team soon (i.e. within a couple of weeks).

jazzdelmar
10-06-2018, 09:54 AM
I'd have to go back and look at the verbiage I'd used (if I'm the "reliable source" you'd referenced). I recall being hopeful ... and "may" have said I was "expecting" he'd be there. I certainly don't recall "confirming" Geno would be there. Regardless I'm still "hopeful" and "expecting" he'll be part of the team soon (i.e. within a couple of weeks).

Relax, GZ, you hung enough qualifiers on your statement. As did I. I simply said kinda promised. We’re all in the Geno watch together.

MDABE80
10-06-2018, 10:19 AM
After years of this event, it should be televised! Dang!

GoZags
10-06-2018, 10:46 AM
.... We’re all in the Geno watch together.

We've all been assured that the Zags appear to be Top 5 without Geno. I'd prefer to be Top 1 with him.

Virginia Zags Fan
10-06-2018, 12:36 PM
Good crowd already. Been here over an hour and the lot was full when we arrived. Free Papa Murphyís pizza and Zag lanyards. Always great to chat with other Zag fans!

A sharp shooting young lady won the first 18 and under Bump contest. Otherwise known as knockout or lightning in other places.

Zagceo
10-06-2018, 01:13 PM
After years of this event, it should be televised! Dang!

they could at least set-up web cam with live feed

Virginia Zags Fan
10-06-2018, 01:48 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20181006/19fbeaf73e8a0acfc1b533cb61324417.jpg

Also, Japanese media is here. They have been filming quite a bit and had a drone fly over the crowd.

Sun is out. Hope it shines on the Zags all season....

GonzagasaurusFlex
10-06-2018, 02:00 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20181006/19fbeaf73e8a0acfc1b533cb61324417.jpg

Also, Japanese media is here. They have been filming quite a bit and had a drone fly over the crowd.

Sun is out. Hope it shines on the Zags all season....

Thanks for posting this pic. Great crowd! It’s 90 degrees and humid here in GA; oh how I long for some real fall weather.

Radbooks
10-06-2018, 02:14 PM
Well, this is interesting:



Jim Meehan
‏ @SRJimm
12m12 minutes ago

Jacob Larsen is no longer on the Gonzaga men's basketball team. Larsen, a 6-11 center who saw limited minutes as a redshirt freshman last season. Coach Few expected to address Larsen's departure after today's Kraziness in Kennel scrimmage.



Jim Meehan
‏ @SRJimm
6m6 minutes ago

Told Larsen has decided to just be a student and is still on scholarship at Gonzaga.

Zagdawg
10-06-2018, 02:18 PM
https://twitter.com/DarnayTripp/status/1048696453852348416

Jim Meehan


@SRJimm
Following Following @SRJimm
More
Eight members of Japanese media on hand to chronicle the beginning of Rui Hachimura's junior season.

zagsfanforlife
10-06-2018, 02:18 PM
Well, this is interesting:

Wow.. pretty sure this needs to be its own thread...

I expected him to be a significant contributor this year and going forward.

Larson might be the most puzzling player case i remember as a zags fan. Looked great at times, had the body,the physicality in spot minutes, then all of a sudden Few stops playing him, and now he stops playing ball.. STRANGE

zagamatic
10-06-2018, 02:46 PM
I have noticed that Tom Hudson and Adam Morrison are Courtside, so perhaps it will be airing on 1510 KGA on the AM RADIO? I'm pretty sure there is an app available.

Zagdawg
10-06-2018, 02:50 PM
Jim Meehan


@SRJimm
Following Following @SRJimm
More
Building is almost full 20 minutes before start of Kraziness in Kennel. Long lines at concession stands. In other words, business as usual at Kraziness

https://twitter.com/Gkilgore/status/1048706201490345984

ZagNative
10-06-2018, 02:50 PM
I have noticed that Tom Hudson and Adam Morrison are Courtside, so perhaps it will be airing on 1510 KGA on the AM RADIO? I'm pretty sure there is an app available.Thanks for the reminder. I turned on the radio and there they were! Yea!

Zagdawg
10-06-2018, 02:53 PM
Jim Meehan


@SRJimm
11m11 minutes ago
More
Not sure if it's permanent but GU band has moved, still adjacent to Kennel Club but facing opposing bench instead of GU's bench.

Tom Hudson


@VoiceofGonzaga
13m13 minutes ago

More
We are in the air w/Kraziness! Join us at 3:45 for a talk about @WeAreGuBook #zagsvoice #UnitedWeZag

Zagdawg
10-06-2018, 02:54 PM
Jim Meehan


@SRJimm
42s42 seconds ago
More
Stage is set literally for Kraziness. The press table on the north side of the court in front of Kennel Club will be a stage used when players are introduced.

Zagceo
10-06-2018, 03:02 PM
Morrison excited about watching Clarke

soccerdud
10-06-2018, 03:03 PM
anyone have a working feed online?

ZagNative
10-06-2018, 03:08 PM
Hudson and Morrison blathering on and on, with loud background noise. I wish they'd describe what's going on in the kennel instead of just jabbering about their thoughts about the coming season. Too annoying. Got to turn it off.

Zagceo
10-06-2018, 03:11 PM
Morrison in a matter fact tone....Larsen will be stepping away from the program. nothing more

Radbooks
10-06-2018, 03:14 PM
Morrison in a matter fact tone....Larsen will be stepping away from the program. nothing more

Meehan said that Coach Few would be addressing it after Kraziness this afternoon.

Radbooks
10-06-2018, 03:15 PM
Not sure if this will work, but this is a twitter link that shows the Kennel Club this afternoon:

https://twitter.com/kendra__andrews/status/1048711935233994752

Zagdawg
10-06-2018, 03:21 PM
Jim Meehan


@SRJimm
Following Following @SRJimm
More
3-point contest semi: Norvell Jr. over Tillie. Next up Perkins vs. Petrusev

Jim Meehan


@SRJimm
Following Following @SRJimm
More
Perkins over Petrusev in second 3-point semi. Perk red-hot early and late.

Zag Nation


@UnitedWeZag
2m2 minutes ago
More
Perk 14-18 in the first round of the 3 point contest

Zagdawg
10-06-2018, 03:24 PM
Maui board

https://twitter.com/ZagMBB/status/1048715140839890944

Zagdawg
10-06-2018, 03:24 PM
Jim Meehan


@SRJimm
39s39 seconds ago
More
3-point contest final: Perkins and Norvell both on fire, both made 13 in 45 seconds. One shot tiebreaker, both miss. Norvell makes second, Perkins' shot rims out.


Gonzaga Basketball

Verified account

@ZagMBB
Following Following @ZagMBB
More
The 2018 Three-Point Champion @ZackN_22!!!

Zagceo
10-06-2018, 03:25 PM
Maui board

https://twitter.com/ZagMBB/status/1048715140839890944

look at Rui in the back.....WINGSPAN +

Zag_Dad
10-06-2018, 03:25 PM
Norvell beats Perk in 3 point shooting contest. Tied at 13 made shots in regulation (45 seconds). Both miss first tie breaker shot, Norvell makes second shot, Perk rims out.

Zagdawg
10-06-2018, 03:30 PM
Jim Meehan


@SRJimm
2m2 minutes ago
More
Scratch that: Jones is one of the judges. Three in dunk competition: Foster, Kispert and Clarke

Zagdawg
10-06-2018, 03:31 PM
Jim Meehan


@SRJimm
Following Following @SRJimm
More
Don't know what attendance record is in the MAC (probably on of past Kraziness events), but there's got to be 6,300 with standing room only.

Zagdawg
10-06-2018, 03:33 PM
Jim Meehan


@SRJimm
53s54 seconds ago
More
Dunk contest: Brandon Clarke, now two-time champ.

Zag_Dad
10-06-2018, 03:33 PM
According to Twitter, Brandon Clarke repeats as slam dunk champion. No details about his performance.

Virginia Zags Fan
10-06-2018, 03:36 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20181006/ceda2fbf4bfce1bab21a376dc2a0a930.jpg

Lineups. Perks shot the lights out round one of the shoot out.

Section 116
10-06-2018, 03:42 PM
Morrison commented on the radio he believes the Zags could have more losses by the beginning of WCC play than they have had in a long time. However, he noted this is because of the strength of the schedule (which he loves and agrees with) and he still believes GU has Final Four potential!

Zagdawg
10-06-2018, 03:46 PM
Jim Meehan


@SRJimm
14s15 seconds ago
More
White up 6-4 in scrimmage. Perkins with a pair of layups and Rui with another. Clarke both buckets for Blue.

Zag_Dad
10-06-2018, 03:50 PM
White 11-9, Perkins with a 3, he has 7 points. Clarke 6 pts, Tillie 3 for Blue

Zagdawg
10-06-2018, 03:52 PM
Good to hear Perkins is playing good --was worried about the surgery causing a slow start.

thespywhozaggedme
10-06-2018, 03:52 PM
Keep the updates coming for us out of towners, much appreciated! Any Timme sightings?

LTownZag
10-06-2018, 03:54 PM
The 1510kga site live streaming isn't working for me.

Neither is the TuneIn app.

Any ideas?

Virginia Zags Fan
10-06-2018, 03:57 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20181006/01b6b17d90f92bc7253bab37be6f11ef.jpg
5:14 remaining

dazags
10-06-2018, 03:58 PM
Have not seen Timme. Agreed Perkins looking very good.

Zag_Dad
10-06-2018, 03:58 PM
https://twitter.com/srjimm/status/1048723900782206976?s=12

packlite
10-06-2018, 03:59 PM
The 1510kga site live streaming isn't working for me.

Neither is the TuneIn app.

Any ideas?

Try this: https://tunein.com/radio/Gonzaga-IMG-Sports-Network-s230313/

Lewey
10-06-2018, 04:06 PM
Foster and Norvell guards for blue. Most often Foster bringing the ball up.

Zagdawg
10-06-2018, 04:08 PM
Zag Nation


@UnitedWeZag
13s14 seconds ago
More
Seems like Clarke has Rui figured out

Darnay Tripp

Verified account

@DarnayTripp
Follow Follow @DarnayTripp
More
Brandon Clarke playing lockdown D on Rui. Has blocked or altered multiple shots.

Virginia Zags Fan
10-06-2018, 04:13 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20181007/482454ecc8e11e59f11ab357b9004a4c.jpg

Final

Zagdawg
10-06-2018, 04:18 PM
https://twitter.com/ZagMBB/status/1048728844868276224

zagamatic
10-06-2018, 04:38 PM
Ok, keeping in mind that it's a 15 minute scrimmage, I have some observations. Perkins played most, if not all, of the 15 minutes and looked really really good. No outward signs that I saw that indicates a problem with his shoulder. With Petrusev being a true freshman going against Rui, Tillie and Clarke, who could all be all American type players, Filip looks like he belongs but not going to be starting any time soon. Foster was the primary ball handler for the team opposite of Perkins, not Norvell. Although Norvell did bring it up a few times. Kispert looks to have his bounce back.
Overall, the guys expected to be in the rotation did NOT disappoint! I can verify that Larsen was nowhere to be seen, and as a result I would think that Petrusev will be thrown into the mix more than expected, but he doesn't worry me like a true freshman normally would because he's going to learn a lot in practice. It remains to be seen how this team handles going up against teams that have a big center, but that's not that common anymore.

Lewey
10-06-2018, 04:48 PM
Zag Nation


@UnitedWeZag
13s14 seconds ago
More
Seems like Clarke has Rui figured out

Darnay Tripp

Verified account

@DarnayTripp
Follow Follow @DarnayTripp
More
Brandon Clarke playing lockdown D on Rui. Has blocked or altered multiple shots.

I definitely agree with Darnay. I think Rui has 4 points and many hands on the ball as he was trying to shoot. I think Tillie has his hands in there a number of times too. Not surprising given the athleticism, both sides were flying around for rebounds.

soccerdud
10-06-2018, 04:58 PM
I definitely agree with Darnay. I think Rui has 4 points and many hands on the ball as he was trying to shoot. I think Tillie has his hands in there a number of times too. Not surprising given the athleticism, both sides were flying around for rebounds.

sounds like what we saw happen vs florida st in the tourney. if we can actually play that sort of interior defense, we may miss larsen a little less than i feared. it would be nice to have typical 5 size, but length and athleticism can go a long way and we seem to have that in spades.

SLOZag
10-06-2018, 05:03 PM
Anyone see Timme? Thoughts? Did the Kennel Club make any reference to Timme? Thoughts?

amaronizag
10-06-2018, 05:07 PM
Perkins was in fine form. I was surprised to see him playing, so evidently he is cleared for full contact. Great relief. He looked great. So did snacks (never a doubt). He was high scorer in the scrimmage but they didn't get all of his points posted on the score board. Perkins followed with 10 and Clark had 8. Clark and Tillie completely shut down Rui with their defense. Rui tried to force it a bit and repeatedly got denied. I was happy with Clark's defense. Same with Ayayi but Joel really only shot once that I can remember. He made a nice little pull up floater in the lane. Kispert wasn't hitting and neither was Tillie. Pertrusev played pretty well, not really too surprised. I was really disappointed and had a bad feeling when Jacob was not introduced or in the gym. Bad deal. Best wishes for him.

PfIdZag
10-06-2018, 05:16 PM
Anyone see Timme? Thoughts? Did the Kennel Club make any reference to Timme? Thoughts?

Towards the end of the scrimmage the Kennel club chanted "We want you!" towards Timme at the end of the Zags bench.

thespywhozaggedme
10-06-2018, 05:39 PM
Towards the end of the scrimmage the Kennel club chanted "We want you!" towards Timme at the end of the Zags bench.

Sweet! How did he react? Did he seem engaged in the whole event?

PfIdZag
10-06-2018, 05:47 PM
Sweet! How did he react? Did he seem engaged in the whole event?

My daughters and I were at the top of the section behind the bench. Assistants coached the two teams while coach Few sat at the end of the bench along with Timme and Brock. Brock and Timme seemed to be chatting throughout the scrimmage, not sure how to interpret any of it but was glad when the Kennel Club acknowledged him.

TexasZagFan
10-06-2018, 05:53 PM
My daughters and I were at the top of the section behind the bench. Assistants coached the two teams while coach Few sat at the end of the bench along with Timme and Brock. Brock and Timme seemed to be chatting throughout the scrimmage, not sure how to interpret any of it but was glad when the Kennel Club acknowledged him.

With Larsen's departure, a boatload of minutes will be available for Drew next season. He couldn't help but notice that.

thespywhozaggedme
10-06-2018, 05:54 PM
My daughters and I were at the top of the section behind the bench. Assistants coached the two teams while coach Few sat at the end of the bench along with Timme and Brock. Brock and Timme seemed to be chatting throughout the scrimmage, not sure how to interpret any of it but was glad when the Kennel Club acknowledged him.

Just for clarification, you were glad, or Timme was? I'm pathetic, I'm like an addict needing his fix. lol

PfIdZag
10-06-2018, 06:02 PM
Just for clarification, you were glad, or Timme was? I'm pathetic, I'm like an addict needing his fix. lol

Lol, you're fine. I was glad, Timme smiled and I thought it looked like Brock was ribbing him a little during the chant. It wss a little hard for me to pay too close attention with the scrimmage going on and an 8 year old girl asking a million questions the whole time.

thespywhozaggedme
10-06-2018, 06:04 PM
Lol, you're fine. I was glad, Timme smiled and I thought it looked like Brock was ribbing him a little during the chant. It wss a little hard for me to pay too close attention with the scrimmage going on and an 8 year old girl asking a million questions the whole time.

Awesome! Thanks so much for the 1st hand account. Please post more.

PfIdZag
10-06-2018, 06:11 PM
Awesome! Thanks so much for the 1st hand account. Please post more.

Will do, long time lurker but with Kraziness not being televised I figured I'd want to hear how it went if I didn't attend.

It was interesting to watch the players dynamic during a 'practice' as opposed to an actual game. I felt like Perkins carried himself as the leader of the team, confident and in control throughout. I'll admit I haven't always been a big fan of him but watching today I'm convinced this team will go as far as he takes them. Plus both him and Snacks lit up the 3pt contest.

zagporvida
10-06-2018, 06:16 PM
Got there right at 4 o'clock with my son and was still able to find seats, but it was harder than other years. Don't like to wait in line with the kids. Team looked pretty good, nothing more to add from me that hasn't already been said, but energy was high from students and fans alike. Liked Few's comments about being a special team this year and they have talked about it as a team.

PfIdZag
10-06-2018, 06:21 PM
Got there right at 4 o'clock with my son and was still able to find seats, but it was harder than other years. Don't like to wait in line with the kids. Team looked pretty good, nothing more to add from me that hasn't already been said, but energy was high from students and fans alike. Liked Few's comments about being a special team this year and they have talked about it as a team.

We got there at 1:30 so were able get decent seats. Started at the upper middle section but moved down to be closer.

I thought they made a mistake on the poster and program by omitting Larsen until I logged onto Reddit. This had to be in motion for awhile since he wasn't included in either.

spike_jr
10-06-2018, 06:30 PM
It was interesting to watch the players dynamic during a 'practice' as opposed to an actual game. I felt like Perkins carried himself as the leader of the team, confident and in control throughout. I'll admit I haven't always been a big fan of him but watching today I'm convinced this team will go as far as he takes them. Plus both him and Snacks lit up the 3pt contest.

That was my sentiment as well. This team had better hope that Josh stays healthy. I thought he really looked good. He handled handled and shot the ball well and had a couple nice finishes with contact. Snacks and Clarke both looked very good too. But I see a pretty sharp drop off in point guard after Josh. Ayayi passed up some damn near point blank shots in the paint that I would have liked to see him take.

I didn't really like Rui's decisions. He seemed to be forcing a lot of shots and as noted, both Tillie and Clarke blocked and/or altered quite a few of his shots. But both Tillie and Clarke obviously have a pretty good idea what Rui likes to do.

Practice wise, they are a little short without Larsen and Geno. I believe only 11 players played in the scrimmage today with Foster "starting" for the blue team and Beach subbing.

Zagdawg
10-06-2018, 06:50 PM
Jackson Frank


@jackfrank_jjf
8m8 minutes ago
More
Josh Perkins on the status of his right shoulder, which underwent surgery back in late April: "The shoulder's good, got cleared a couple days ago, biggest smile I've probably had in my entire life. Being away from the game for 4-5 months, it gives you that itch."

Gonzaga Guru Retweeted

Jackson Frank


@jackfrank_jjf
12m12 minutes ago
More
Brandon Clarke on Gonzaga's frontcourt depth, which features him, Killian Tillie, Rui Hachimura & Filip Petrusev: “It’s definitely good having an inside-out game with the bigs. I feel like it’s just really, really hard to guard."

Radbooks
10-06-2018, 07:40 PM
Nice article in the Spokesman about the game:

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2018/oct/06/senior-point-guard-josh-perkins-off-to-healthy-sta/

Zagdawg
10-06-2018, 08:47 PM
https://twitter.com/ZagMBB/status/1048781159570669568

Zagceo
10-06-2018, 08:57 PM
https://twitter.com/ZagMBB/status/1048781159570669568

lotta athletism .....stay healthy and good things will happen

Zagger
10-07-2018, 03:02 AM
Great to hear Perkins was playing well :)
I just had shoulder surgery on Thursday. At 66 my first surgery. Before Thursday I was hoping to get to McCarthey and watch the Zags. Not so, surgery takes more out of you than expected. Pretty sore too. I admire how Josh has bounced back and is said to look to be dang near 100%. Hope this is Josh’s best year as a Zag! :)

Kudos to Spokane! KITK being packed is such a great testament for how the town appreciates the program. It had to have made quite an impression on Timme & Ravet.

raise the zag
10-07-2018, 05:56 AM
Zag Nation


@UnitedWeZag
13s14 seconds ago
More
Seems like Clarke has Rui figured out

Darnay Tripp

Verified account

@DarnayTripp
Follow Follow @DarnayTripp
More
Brandon Clarke playing lockdown D on Rui. Has blocked or altered multiple shots.

Well, Clarke did swat the most shots in his Conference, was up for DPOY, averaged over 2 blocks per game, & had a handful of 5+ blocks in a game.

Martin Centre Mad Man
10-07-2018, 08:11 AM
For those who were there, did Foster or Ayayi look ready to shoulder some minutes at the point guard position?

zagamatic
10-07-2018, 08:28 AM
For those who were there, did Foster or Ayayi look ready to shoulder some minutes at the point guard position?

I think that physically they can both compete at this level, it's a matter of learning the system, heart and desire at this point. The last two can easily be tested while watching from the bench for a lot of athletes (not saying that this necessarily applies to these two). But to answer the question, I think that Foster is the better choice between the two for backup point guard duties based on a 15 minute sample size, which isn't much obviously. But Ayayi has already burned his redshirt while Foster has not. Based on that, IF GENO IS AVAILABLE, I would expect Foster to redshirt, Perkins and Geno to run the point 97% of the time, while Norvell fills in the other 3%, and Ayayi playing mostly the 2 when he comes in. Again, this is just how I see it playing out, but I certainly don't get paid for my opinion.

amaronizag
10-07-2018, 09:34 AM
I thought Foster was pretty much invisible and not too sure of the system at this early juncture. Joel is really fast and made some contributions. He will be dynamite on defense and on the fast break. I thought he was head and shoulders above Foster. Time will tell.

PfIdZag
10-07-2018, 09:44 AM
For those who were there, did Foster or Ayayi look ready to shoulder some minutes at the point guard position?

Agree with the other assessments. Foster isn't ready and Ayayi is more of a combo guard than pg. Ayayi had some wicked speed on both ends, I feel like his floater will be something we'll all see a lot more of in the next couple years.

ZagNative
10-07-2018, 09:45 AM
Darnay Tripp's KREM 2 report on the Kraziness (https://www.krem.com/video/sports/gonzaga-bulldogs/gonzaga-hosts-kraziness-in-the-kennel-jacob-larsen-no-longer-with-team/293-8274169)

zagzilla
10-07-2018, 10:24 AM
Facing Clarke who appears to be a strong defender every day in practice is going to help Rui prepare for the elite defenders coming soon.

zagzilla
10-07-2018, 10:33 AM
Perkin's shoulder still only 85% according to Snax. He's not an MD but knows his team mate.

Geno update is that he still hasn't competed work to graduate. Getting tight now.

Zaga
10-07-2018, 11:21 AM
For those of us who do not get to see the Zags play in person it is a total rush to watch the Kennel club in full force as the open to a new season. It is a great event if you get a chance and willing to get there two hours early to wait in line. Was able to peak into MF awesome office that is adjacent to the court on the east side. Super cool to see.

Go Zags!

#runthetable

dazags
10-07-2018, 12:20 PM
The Kennel Club in action last night!

https://youtu.be/ZKUuaocSMhM

sittingon50
10-07-2018, 12:21 PM
I would disagree a bit with previous stated assessments of Foster. Good looking athlete who could certainly facilitate the offense in 2-5 minute stretches if needed. Did not look ready to be a scorer yet however.

Ayayi is jet quick. As I recall had a lay-up scooping with his right hand on the left side & also a very nice looking floater in the lane that he converted.

I think both of these guys will have defined limited roles that they will be able to handle easily.

jchocolate99
10-07-2018, 01:46 PM
Just from last night I think if Geno isn't here Foster will be the one giving breathers to Perkins as far as bringing the ball up. Obviously that's just based on the scrimmage we'll see what happens from exhibition games. Foster just looks more natural doing it than Ayayi

Zagdawg
10-07-2018, 03:36 PM
http://www.spokesman.com/galleries/2018/oct/06/kraziness-in-the-kennel-2018/

raise the zag
10-07-2018, 03:47 PM
Didnít realize Rui has been battling a sore knee. Hrmpfff

thespywhozaggedme
10-07-2018, 04:05 PM
Just from last night I think if Geno isn't here Foster will be the one giving breathers to Perkins as far as bringing the ball up. Obviously that's just based on the scrimmage we'll see what happens from exhibition games. Foster just looks more natural doing it than Ayayi

Yeah, as was mentioned in the FIBA Euro U19's, Ayayi played 0 minutes at pg, he played sg and sf.

ZagNative
10-08-2018, 12:09 PM
I hadn't seen this SWX video interview of Cory Kispert and Brandon Clark previewing Kraziness posted before. I enjoyed it.

http://www.spokesman.com/video/2018/oct/04/video-zags-get-you-ready-kraziness-kennel/

Radbooks
10-08-2018, 12:21 PM
I hadn't seen this SWX video interview of Cory Kispert and Brandon Clark previewing Kraziness posted before. I enjoyed it.

http://www.spokesman.com/video/2018/oct/04/video-zags-get-you-ready-kraziness-kennel/

Thanks, ZN! That was great!

Zagdawg
10-09-2018, 10:58 AM
Gonzaga coming up a little short in numbers game

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2018/oct/08/gonzaga-coming-up-a-little-short-in-numbers-game/

Zagdawg
10-10-2018, 03:35 PM
Four way-too-early observations on Gonzaga after Kraziness in the Kennel

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2018/oct/10/four-way-too-early-observations-on-gonzaga-after-k/

Zagdawg
10-11-2018, 11:15 AM
https://twitter.com/GonzagaBulldogs/status/1050454218694262784

ZagNative
10-11-2018, 02:37 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eIpL8ASnOEY&feature=em-uploademail