PDA

View Full Version : One Game



Zagsker
06-16-2018, 04:00 PM
If you could only pick one GU game (from past games) to watch, what would it be?

For me I am feeling like it would be the WVU game from a year+ ago...that game felt like a MAJOR hurdle to the FF

GonzagasaurusFlex
06-16-2018, 04:16 PM
Great summer topic. While it lacks the significance of any # of tourney game possibilities, I gotta go with the beat down of UNC in MSG as Heytvelt made Hansborough his b**** that night. For me, that game was a big time program statement W. Zags were spectacular that night.

If only I could watch it without knowing Zags would crash back to earth and lose to Butler (?) in the championship game

Zagceo
06-16-2018, 05:30 PM
If you could only pick one GU game (from past games) to watch, what would it be?

For me I am feeling like it would be the WVU game from a year+ ago...that game felt like a MAJOR hurdle to the FF

Having attended last four games of that year....WVU was the most emotional game i’ve ever attended.

Xavier game sends us to FF but most will remember WVU being the crucial victory

bballbeachbum
06-16-2018, 05:36 PM
If you could only pick one GU game (from past games) to watch, what would it be?

For me I am feeling like it would be the WVU game from a year+ ago...that game felt like a MAJOR hurdle to the FF

so hard to choose just one! but why not relive those final moments again right now


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EP5ikCSfrcg

zagfan1
06-16-2018, 06:35 PM
I would have to say when they beat Western Kentucky in the tournament and Meech’s coast to coast last few seconds heroics. Or when they beat Florida to advance to the elite 8.

GoZags
06-16-2018, 07:17 PM
I've always had a warm spot in my heart for the 10/2 2nd round '99 NCAA tourney win over Stanford ... propelling Gonzaga to their first Sweet 16. The following year's ('00) 10/2 win over St. John's was pretty cool, too.

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/1999/mar/14/gonzaga-shocks-stanford-grabs-spot-in-sweet-16/

Gonzdb8
06-16-2018, 07:48 PM
So many great ones to choose from. At the moment i'll go with the 2015 S16 victory over UCLA. We've had more important victories, and more exciting victories, but none that felt as satisfying given the history.

kitzbuel
06-16-2018, 07:50 PM
so hard to choose just one! but why not relive those final moments again right now


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EP5ikCSfrcg
That perimeter defense was amazing.

gonzagafan62
06-16-2018, 08:04 PM
I’ll tell you what, if I’m choosing one game it’s not going to be the foulfest that was the WVU game was. As astounding as our defense was in that game and the thrilling finish, it doesn’t make up for the terrible officiating (which ended up in our favor) ...

I’ll chiose the South Carolina game .... being able to say all weekend that we were going to the national championship game and being able to text all my buddies that told me I was nuts saying that one day we’d make it there was truly astounding and I was in disbelief myself even. The whole game was well played by both sides and it was remarkable how SC came back too. Had me on the edge of my seat the entire way.

I really feel this game is so under appreciated and WVU is overvalued, even though the WVU game paid HUGE dividends against Xavier too, so don’t think I discredit it AT ALL. I’m meaning as a game by itself. It was not good to the eyes around the country either lol. But hey I’ll take it.

Now if I’m choosing regular season, the BYU game @BYU February of 2013 was so spectacular of a game it drove me nuts. But when Few went away from his usual coaching of “never foul when up by 3” changed and he fouled and made BYU shoot free throws you knew his strategy wasn’t limited. He had the guts to change his own philosophy for the betterment of the team ... and get, we were number one after that, so there’s even more merit to it lol. It was HUGE! Haha

bartruff1
06-16-2018, 08:13 PM
The 1943 New Years win over Hec Edmunson's Huskies 48-44....the first win over the Huskies since 1926...


Both teams were undefeated and Gonzaga went on to finish 21-2..... Number one in the Northwest.... and 13th in the Converse National Ranking..:)

Unfortunately I dozed off and pooped my diaper and missed the ending......I did the same thing in the National Championship game.... who won ?

Zagceo
06-17-2018, 07:38 AM
greatest block in Zag history IMO.... Josh Perkins against WVU 6'9" Adrian at the rim

play started by Carter knocking loose a rebound from Nigel which ended up in Adrians hands

look where Josh is when Adrian gets the ball..1 foot above the free throw line while Adrian on the low block

Josh exploded to the front of the rim with perfect timing and started the play that all remember....Jordans 3 pointer to take the lead

https://i.imgur.com/KJOceNk.png

https://i.imgur.com/ij1JIXD.png

bballbeachbum
06-17-2018, 08:06 AM
greatest block in Zag history IMO.... Josh Perkins against WVU 6'9" Adrian at the rim

look where Josh is when Adrian gets the ball..1 foot above the free throw line while Adrian on the low block

Josh exploded to the front of the rim with perfect timing and started the play that all remember....Jordans 3 pointer to take the lead

https://i.imgur.com/KJOceNk.png

https://i.imgur.com/ij1JIXD.png

Awesome! great images man
Josh with the play defensively on the next possession as well, Silas the tough d board
and then what kitzbuel said

what a thrill

GonzaGAW
06-17-2018, 08:09 AM
- agree with dino-man, when zags beat unc at msg.
- as I recall we started behind 10-0, some sub came off the bench and sparked a 10 run. (kuso?)

- when we talk of blue bloods, duke, unc, Kansas, Kentucky, this I only one we have won (i think)

bballbeachbum
06-17-2018, 08:22 AM
I've always had a warm spot in my heart for the 10/2 2nd round '99 NCAA tourney win over Stanford ... propelling Gonzaga to their first Sweet 16. The following year's ('00) 10/2 win over St. John's was pretty cool, too.

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/1999/mar/14/gonzaga-shocks-stanford-grabs-spot-in-sweet-16/

I just watched the last 5 minutes of the game again...oh baby!! That 3 from Hall at around 3:30 to play, and Calvary and Zag bigs outplaying Madsen everywhere, the rest.
so cool that you can rewatch all these games whenever you want basically these days


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EnR8jUnPnUQ

bballbeachbum
06-17-2018, 08:28 AM
I would have to say when they beat Western Kentucky in the tournament and Meech’s coast to coast last few seconds heroics. Or when they beat Florida to advance to the elite 8.

why not the video of that one too! Thrilling!!!


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UtIak2ouNTE

bballbeachbum
06-17-2018, 08:34 AM
any of the games mentioned, including bartruff's '43 game

but if only one, it's this one for me


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AC7UBpimsu0

bballbeachbum
06-17-2018, 09:06 AM
this is so fun digging through the treasure chest! Love Gus and Raftery on this one. wow
sorry if this is too much, but so fun rewatching these on this Happy Father's Day everyone!


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AmY-BXzMc5g

the whole game is here, what a comeback!!


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x-Z4tijuacg

JPtheBeasta
06-17-2018, 10:36 AM
There are just so many to choose from. I’d have to say the 2001 loss to Michigan State. I never went to GU for college and was later to the party than many, but this is the game that got me hooked. GU hanging tough against a college basketball behemoth seemed other-worldly at the time.

LongIslandZagFan
06-17-2018, 10:56 AM
Great summer topic. While it lacks the significance of any # of tourney game possibilities, I gotta go with the beat down of UNC in MSG as Heytvelt made Hansborough his b**** that night. For me, that game was a big time program statement W. Zags were spectacular that night.

If only I could watch it without knowing Zags would crash back to earth and lose to Butler (?) in the championship game

I was at that game. Man the NC fans were NOT happy campers after that game. Heard things like “you got lucky” etc.

ZagNative
06-17-2018, 12:23 PM
Can't believe no one has mentioned the Arizona - Gonzaga second round game in 2003. I'll never forget myself standing spellbound watching that game in front of the TV at my Mom's house on Baldwin Avenue! The most exciting game I've ever watched!


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sUplR-5lQ6I&t=10s

webspinnre
06-17-2018, 12:40 PM
Can't believe no one has mentioned the Arizona - Gonzaga second round game in 2003. I'll never forget myself standing spellbound watching that game in front of the TV at my Mom's house on Baldwin Avenue! The most exciting game I've ever watched!


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sUplR-5lQ6I&t=10s

I was at this game, and it'd be near the top of my list, though i'd be tempted to choose the Xavier game, just for the pure exhilaration of what it turned out to be and the joy on completion.

zagamatic
06-17-2018, 03:37 PM
I'd have to go with the MICHIGAN state game in Maui. The reason being that it's one of those games that every fan of basketball would enjoy watching even if you don't like the teams.

maynard g krebs
06-17-2018, 06:42 PM
Immediately thought of the Stanford game in '99. Spink battling Madsen tooth and nail giving up about 60 lbs defines Gonzaga basketball for me.

DixieZag
06-18-2018, 07:42 AM
I've always had a warm spot in my heart for the 10/2 2nd round '99 NCAA tourney win over Stanford ... propelling Gonzaga to their first Sweet 16. The following year's ('00) 10/2 win over St. John's was pretty cool, too.

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/1999/mar/14/gonzaga-shocks-stanford-grabs-spot-in-sweet-16/

Yes, that was when it "got real."

I later read that when Frahm buried a 3 with 4 mins left to put us up 3, the ref going by the media said, "Whoa, we got a game going on here."

I was lucky to be at the game, with family and with 20 seconds left, and we had sealed it, I turned to my brother and said, "Gonzaga is 20 seconds away from going to the sweet sixteen" (which at the time was beyond belief), he just stared up at amazement and shook his head.

The Stanford game gave us the opportunity to play Florida (a six seed iirc), but Stanford was the 2 seed, and so Stanford allowed "the runner" and that allowed the war with UCONN where we came closer to beating them than any team in the tourney.

GoZags
06-18-2018, 08:14 AM
Yes, that was when it "got real."

I later read that when Frahm buried a 3 with 4 mins left to put us up 3, the ref going by the media said, "Whoa, we got a game going on here."

I was lucky to be at the game, with family and with 20 seconds left, and we had sealed it, I turned to my brother and said, "Gonzaga is 20 seconds away from going to the sweet sixteen" (which at the time was beyond belief), he just stared up at amazement and shook his head.

The Stanford game gave us the opportunity to play Florida (a six seed iirc), but Stanford was the 2 seed, and so Stanford allowed "the runner" and that allowed the war with UCONN where we came closer to beating them than any team in the tourney.

And that ‘99 Stanford team had made the Final
Four the previous year with virtually the same
Roster (albeit a year younger and a year less experienced).

GoZags
06-18-2018, 09:53 AM
I just watched the last 5 minutes of the game again...oh baby!! That 3 from Hall at around 3:30 to play, and Calvary and Zag bigs outplaying Madsen everywhere, the rest.
so cool that you can rewatch all these games whenever you want basically these days


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EnR8jUnPnUQ

This is the other 10/2 game I referenced .... perhaps my alltime favorite (ever) Gonzaga highlight comes at the 30:40 mark of the youtube replay (couple minutes left in the first half). If you watch ... make sure you keep watching until CBS shows the replay, too. LOVE Gus Johnson's "OOOHHHH .... Young Fella !!!!" after the steal/pass and Spink jam.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ny1aT9HxSz0

scrooner
06-18-2018, 10:27 AM
Some of my favorite TV score photos...

https://preview.ibb.co/dxDnHy/1914591_1033669100004683_5380484839387943398_n.jpg (https://ibb.co/kQkdPd)

https://preview.ibb.co/cXDF4d/10593117_797724026932526_1306861771814683943_n.jpg (https://ibb.co/fr7a4d)

https://preview.ibb.co/jO62jd/17435995_1356816714356585_439507280221826342_o.jpg (https://ibb.co/f1kHHy)

billbow47
06-18-2018, 02:53 PM
Last years St Mary's game in Moraga was as good as it gets.

NotoriousZ
06-18-2018, 04:36 PM
It was a little painful to watch because we gave up a big lead (thankfully we held on for the win), but one of the best moments of 2017 had to be from the Northwestern game when that kid was crying in the stands. Zag fan or not, if you saw it youll never forget it. Id insert a photo or clip but Im on my phone.

MickMick
06-18-2018, 06:34 PM
I'd have to go with the MICHIGAN state game in Maui. The reason being that it's one of those games that every fan of basketball would enjoy watching even if you don't like the teams.


Very high level of basketball in that game. The stat sheet is amazing (for example: 3 total missed free throws out of 57 attempts) and the game was back and forth with 3 overtimes. It was the game that really launched Morrison into super stardom.

http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/matchup?gameId=253260127

Zagsker
06-18-2018, 07:06 PM
Last years St Mary's game in Moraga was as good as it gets.

Was just talking to my brother this past weekend about that game...both agreed that the D rotation in that was as good as it gets

bballbeachbum
06-20-2018, 11:29 AM
Yes, that was when it "got real."

I later read that when Frahm buried a 3 with 4 mins left to put us up 3, the ref going by the media said, "Whoa, we got a game going on here."

I was lucky to be at the game, with family and with 20 seconds left, and we had sealed it, I turned to my brother and said, "Gonzaga is 20 seconds away from going to the sweet sixteen" (which at the time was beyond belief), he just stared up at amazement and shook his head.

The Stanford game gave us the opportunity to play Florida (a six seed iirc), but Stanford was the 2 seed, and so Stanford allowed "the runner" and that allowed the war with UCONN where we came closer to beating them than any team in the tourney.

this is the game that introduced me to the Zags, the first time I ever felt the magic, though I was there to root against Stanford. Instead ending up rooting for Gonzaga during that game and from then on

bballbeachbum
06-24-2018, 09:55 AM
Was just talking to my brother this past weekend about that game...both agreed that the D rotation in that was as good as it gets

agree with you , your brother and billbow47. Fun rewatch for anyone looking for a game today


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N4jkoqeHteY