PDA

View Full Version : Rui Summer Games



Zagdawg
06-15-2018, 05:19 AM
Japan beats Korea -- 88-80

Rui with 17 pts, 7 boards, 4 assists, 2 blocks in 26 mins

http://akatsukifive-men-2018.japanbasketball.jp/boxscore/?schedulekey=4625&period=18

Zagceo
06-15-2018, 07:39 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Dfu1z26U0AAHIPV.jpg


https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DfuqiShVQAAgXSx.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Dfu3pceV4AAFOnM.jpg

Skimhvn
06-15-2018, 09:23 AM
Rui Highlights
https://youtu.be/S0bP1_dsSIA

GonzagasaurusFlex
06-15-2018, 09:30 AM
Thanks Zagdawg. Sweet debut on the men’s national team for a Rui...and they get their first win of the summer. Hope we get Raftery calling a Zags game this year (Maui!?) so he can wax eloquent about Rui’s skills, onions etc.

Zagdawg
06-15-2018, 09:35 AM
Thank you Skimhvn-- any summary for the questions asked at the end of the video?

ZagNative
06-15-2018, 09:44 AM
Rui Highlights
https://youtu.be/S0bP1_dsSIAWow! That video was great! Thank you so much, and I join Zagdawg in hoping you might be able to offer a translation of Rui's comments, especially the ones the crowd seemed to enjoy so much.

Also, here's a Zimbio photo album of Rui with some great pics from today's game: http://www.zimbio.com/photos/Rui+Hachimura

http://www2.pictures.zimbio.com/gi/Rui+Hachimura+Japan+Vs+South+Korea+Basketball+F09u kTlTod6l.jpg

Skimhvn
06-15-2018, 09:51 AM
Thank you Skimhvn-- any summary for the questions asked at the end of the video?

-Were you nervous of first national team game?

I have played for National Under team since I was young, so.... (people laugh)

ZagNative
06-15-2018, 10:12 AM
Next will be another friendly vs. Korea on Sunday. Live stats will be here: http://akatsukifive-men-2018.japanbasketball.jp/

Preview of the two games here: http://www.fiba.basketball/basketballworldcup/2019/asian-qualifiers/news/japan-to-face-korea-in-two-friendlies-before-third-window-of-qualifiers

Twitter feed to follow for the Japan National Team: https://twitter.com/JAPANBASKETBALL

raise the zag
06-15-2018, 10:19 AM
anyone notice Rui's nasty looking ankle roll at 3:10 mark?

Hope ok.

*cringing*

Reborn
06-15-2018, 10:37 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Dfu1z26U0AAHIPV.jpg


https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DfuqiShVQAAgXSx.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Dfu3pceV4AAFOnM.jpg

Great pictures. Thanks.

Reborn
06-15-2018, 10:56 AM
Wow! That video of Rui is just so great. I love the way he handles the ball in transition, and looks more like a point guard. The way he handles the fast break reminded me of Lebron James and Kevin Durant. Just a little smaller version, but, man can he dribble and finish. He's a man of such beauty on the basketball court. I hope Few let's him play the way he is playing for his country. A lot of fans here have talking about a need for a back up point guard. Rui Hachimura is the man. He reminds me of Magic Johnson in the sense that Magic could play every position on the team. If few needs a back up two, play Hachimura. This video clearly shows that he can play either wing or point guard. To me, he clearly looks like an NBA player, and a great one. I doubt he'll be back after next year. He looks like a lottery pick to me. Gonzaga will be one of the highest scoring teams in the country.

Malastein
06-15-2018, 11:17 AM
Let’s hope this is the year he becomes a dominant collegiate player!

caldwellzag
06-15-2018, 11:21 AM
Let’s hope this is the year he becomes a dominant collegiate player!

I am pretty sure it will be. He will be on the Wooden Watch list from the get go, I have to believe.

Zagceo
06-15-2018, 11:35 AM
Tommy has been 100% correct in predicting the evolution of Rui

RUI Julius Erving award winner?

thespywhozaggedme
06-15-2018, 11:55 AM
anyone notice Rui's nasty looking ankle roll at 3:10 mark?

Hope ok.

*cringing*

Did you see the put back dunk after that? He was fine. He's gonna be to Japanese basketball what Yao was to Chinese basketball and that's amazing pub for Gonzaga as well.

Skimhvn
06-15-2018, 05:12 PM
I wanna teach English speakers how hachimura is pronounced in this good opportunity... Stress is ha-CHI-mu-ra, not ha-chi-MU-ra.

VinnyZag
06-15-2018, 05:28 PM
That's an amazing crowd for a world cup qualifier (or was it an exhibition? Either way). Japanese sure do get behind their national teams.

GonzagasaurusFlex
06-15-2018, 05:44 PM
I wanna teach English speakers how hachimura is pronounced in this good opportunity... Stress is ha-CHI-mu-ra, not ha-chi-MU-ra.

Thank you Skim! I don’t say Hachimura out loud often, but when I do I prefer to say it correctly. Much appreciated. Interesting that English speakers automatically stress the 3rd syllablle rather than the 2nd.

ZagNative
06-16-2018, 09:40 AM
Japan Times game story with focus on Rui: (https://www.japantimes.co.jp/sports/2018/06/16/basketball/rising-star-rui-hachimura-makes-impressive-debut-japan-mens-national-team/#.WyVJUSAnZPZ)

Rising star Rui Hachimura makes impressive debut for Japan men’s national team

Fast, strong, big, smooth, phenom, hope, slam dunker, highlight film.

The list goes on and on when you think of words and phrases to describe Japan’s hoopster Rui Hachimura.

You can probably now add “rock star” to the list.

On Friday night, the 20-year-old athletic forward made his debut on the top-flight team of the Japan men’s national squad in the first of a two-game exhibition series against South Korea at Ota City General Gymnasium.

Hachimura, a Gonzaga University player who is speculated to be an NBA draft pick as early as next year, drew bigger cheers from fans than other players in Japan’s 88-80 win.

Later this month, Japan will have its back against the wall going into its final two games in the first round of the FIBA World Cup Asian qualifiers later. The Akatsuki Five, who have not been secured a host country spot for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics from FIBA, are on the verge of being eliminated as they are 0-4 in in Group B.

In the first game against South Korea, Japan coach Julio Lamas sent Hachimura onto the court as a starter at power forward. Hachimura did his job well enough guarding South Korea’s big men and cleaning the boards, taking advantage of his 203-cm height and physical strength.

But some of the moves Hachimura showed were not what typical players at the position would make.

On a couple of occasions, Hachimura dribbled from the backcourt, instead of giving the ball to the point guard, and went all the way to the basket and scored on layups.

No other big men on the Japan squad, which is a provisional one at the moment, are able to do that and the fans were in awe when they saw those plays from Hachimura.

“Yes, it’s one of the things that I have confidence doing,” Hachimrua said of his own coast-to-coast plays after the game.

Jstock12
06-17-2018, 04:10 AM
I wanna teach English speakers how hachimura is pronounced in this good opportunity... Stress is ha-CHI-mu-ra, not ha-chi-MU-ra.

Thanks! ;)

https://i.imgur.com/IW8simF.gif

GoZags
06-17-2018, 05:10 AM
Tommy has been 100% correct in predicting the evolution of Rui

RUI Julius Erving award winner?

Tommy's comment in Seattle that there aren't 10 guys in the history of basketball that can do some of the things Rui can do kinda said it all for me. He'd been talking about a dunk Rui made starting just inside the freethrow line (and Rui used his "off" foot to launch).

Before it was publically known that Rui was visiting the Gonzaga campus (it was pretty secret) a couple of us had heard about this Japanese guy ... no name or point of reference. Just the term .... chance to be "Kobe-esque".

And one of my alltime favorite lines came during the Ohio State game in the dance ... from one of their posters on their board .... "Anybody know if LaBron made a trip to Japan about 19 years ago? Just asking"

ZagNative
06-17-2018, 08:44 AM
Korea won today's game with Japan, 99-87. Box Score. (http://akatsukifive-men-2018.japanbasketball.jp/boxscore/?schedulekey=4626&period=18)

Rui (#21 in the box score) with 14 points, 4 rebounds, and an assist. Fazekas with just 12 points, 8 rebounds, and an assist.

Zagceo
06-17-2018, 09:08 AM
looks like Rui took elbow to the head in latest game

video on Twitter feed

https://twitter.com/hashtag/AkatsukiFive?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw&ref_url=http%3A%2F%2Fakatsukifive-men-2018.japanbasketball.jp%2Fboxscore%2F

ZagNative
06-17-2018, 09:33 AM
Highlight video of today's game: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_tqLGC6DVT0

ZagNative
06-17-2018, 09:55 AM
Another highlight video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vwCCSk2hsrk

Zagceo
06-17-2018, 10:54 AM
Highlight video of today's game: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_tqLGC6DVT0

1:15 into this video....elbow

raise the zag
06-17-2018, 01:58 PM
Getting beat up and bruised over there!

Rolled ankle yesterday, elbow to head/face today.

SMH.

Zags_Fanatic
06-17-2018, 09:51 PM
A couple of really cool articles about basketball's rise in Japan as well as a very young phenom who wants to come to the USA to play ball, Chikara Tanaka.

http://www.fiba.basketball/basketballworldcup/2019/asian-qualifiers/news/why-basketball-is-a-slam-dunk-in-japan

https://www.japantimes.co.jp/sports/2018/02/08/basketball/teen-phenom-chikara-tanaka-looking-make-mark-national-team/#.WydHamaZO1t

JAGzag
06-18-2018, 04:50 AM
Korea won today's game with Japan, 99-87. Box Score. (http://akatsukifive-men-2018.japanbasketball.jp/boxscore/?schedulekey=4626&period=18)

Rui (#21 in the box score) with 14 points, 4 rebounds, and an assist. Fazekas with just 12 points, 8 rebounds, and an assist.

Some of those Japanese guards look like they can really play!

raise the zag
06-18-2018, 06:47 AM
A couple of really cool articles about basketball's rise in Japan as well as a very young phenom who wants to come to the USA to play ball, Chikara Tanaka.

http://www.fiba.basketball/basketballworldcup/2019/asian-qualifiers/news/why-basketball-is-a-slam-dunk-in-japan

https://www.japantimes.co.jp/sports/2018/02/08/basketball/teen-phenom-chikara-tanaka-looking-make-mark-national-team/#.WydHamaZO1t

Fun to watch play! Has some wiggle to his game, although no physical defense being played...

He is only 14 in this vid:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aryC5A34vUA (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aryC5A34vUA)

raise the zag
06-18-2018, 06:52 AM
Rui still 0-fer on his 3pt attempts thru 2 games.

that's kinda the point this season...difference b/w a lotto pick and not.

Something to watch as he's wanting to shoot them.

Reborn
06-18-2018, 07:16 AM
Wow! rui looked pretty bad. Didn't play defense at all. Poor rebounding. Missed shots he should have made. He doesn't seem to be a real significant part of this team. This seems to be a guard oriented team.

thespywhozaggedme
06-18-2018, 08:29 AM
A couple of really cool articles about basketball's rise in Japan as well as a very young phenom who wants to come to the USA to play ball, Chikara Tanaka.

http://www.fiba.basketball/basketballworldcup/2019/asian-qualifiers/news/why-basketball-is-a-slam-dunk-in-japan

https://www.japantimes.co.jp/sports/2018/02/08/basketball/teen-phenom-chikara-tanaka-looking-make-mark-national-team/#.WydHamaZO1t

14 playing with the senior team, that's nuts. I remember that Pangos set the record for youngest Canadian to suit up for the senior team at 16, but 14...wow.

raise the zag
06-18-2018, 08:35 AM
Wow! rui looked pretty bad. Didn't play defense at all. Poor rebounding. Missed shots he should have made. He doesn't seem to be a real significant part of this team. This seems to be a guard oriented team.

Keep in mind, Rui said his ankle was swollen when he woke up.. He suffered an ankle sprain in their first "friendly" vs Korea.

Fast fwd to around the 3:10 mark in these highlights -- he tweaked it pretty good.

Not to mention, he rec an elbow directly to the face/head in Game 2. He was stunned, shaken up for a few mins before resuming play...

hooter73
06-18-2018, 09:28 AM
Rui still 0-fer on his 3pt attempts thru 2 games.

that's kinda the point this season...difference b/w a lotto pick and not.

Something to watch as he's wanting to shoot them.

Agreed. These 'highlight' vids kind of... arent, to me. Looks about as he did for us this last year. The mid range shots need to be cleaned up and hes going to have to do a lot better on the long range to really show hes made the big jump.

Skimhvn
06-18-2018, 09:51 AM
Game2 (All quarter posted)
https://youtu.be/sB4AbD163BE

Zagceo
06-18-2018, 09:58 AM
Game2 (All quarter posted)
https://youtu.be/sB4AbD163BE


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sB4AbD163BE&feature=youtu.be

Reborn
06-18-2018, 10:09 AM
Keep in mind, Rui said his ankle was swollen when he woke up.. He suffered an ankle sprain in their first "friendly" vs Korea.

Fast fwd to around the 3:10 mark in these highlights -- he tweaked it pretty good.

Not to mention, he rec an elbow directly to the face/head in Game 2. He was stunned, shaken up for a few mins before resuming play...

Thanks for the updated injuries.

raise the zag
06-18-2018, 11:26 AM
Agreed. These 'highlight' vids kind of... arent, to me. Looks about as he did for us this last year. The mid range shots need to be cleaned up and hes going to have to do a lot better on the long range to really show hes made the big jump.

Rui has a beautiful looking jump shot and catch n shoot...in practice or warm ups.

For whatever reason, this long range jumper flattens out significantly during games. Almost as if he's "willing" it to go, more push shot, like you would from short distance.

His 3pt shot often cling off back or front of the rim as a result, little room for error as not near the arc he shoots with in practice, which he swishes with ease.

It hasn't translated to games. Different form. Until he mimics his shot in warm up, he will continue to brick shots, even when they look "close" to going in.

amaronizag
06-18-2018, 08:47 PM
I, for one, am not worried about Rui. If he shows zero improvement from last year, he's still a star next season. But guess what, he will be lots better than last year, with or without a 3 pt shot. Too athletic to contain for most NCAA players.

Zagger
06-19-2018, 03:19 AM
I, for one, am not worried about Rui. If he shows zero improvement from last year, he's still a star next season. But guess what, he will be lots better than last year, with or without a 3 pt shot. Too athletic to contain for most NCAA players.

Tillie will help him out on improving his 3s :)

willandi
06-19-2018, 06:47 AM
Tillie will help him out on improving his 3s :)

As will Corey, and Josh, and Snacks and..and...and.

Bogozags
06-19-2018, 05:08 PM
I, for one, am not worried about Rui. If he shows zero improvement from last year, he's still a star next season. But guess what, he will be lots better than last year, with or without a 3 pt shot. Too athletic to contain for most NCAA players.

I've said before, RUI will be the most difficult player to guard next season...He will drive SF bonkers that is for sure; however, IMO his draft stock will drop if he doesn't develop his 3pt shooting this summer for the upcoming season. Why? Rui has excellent form in his jump shooting...he does need to increase his arc as his trajectory was at times pretty flat...so he just needs to develop a comfort level shooting from behind the arc and that takes hard work and "perfect practice!" If his percentage doesn't improve then there will be scouts that just feel he didn't work hard enough...he has all the tools (physical build and God given talents) to do pretty much what he wants when he wants it...right now, he is like a 6'8" Matt Bouldin but without a 3pt shot...:)

thespywhozaggedme
06-19-2018, 05:45 PM
I've said before, RUI will be the most difficult player to guard next season...He will drive SF bonkers that is for sure; however, IMO his draft stock will drop if he doesn't develop his 3pt shooting this summer for the upcoming season. Why? Rui has excellent form in his jump shooting...he does need to increase his arc as his trajectory was at times pretty flat...so he just needs to develop a comfort level shooting from behind the arc and that takes hard work and "perfect practice!" If his percentage doesn't improve then there will be scouts that just feel he didn't work hard enough...he has all the tools (physical build and God given talents) to do pretty much what he wants when he wants it...right now, he is like a 6'8" Matt Bouldin but without a 3pt shot...:)

If Boldin was an athletic freak maybe

webspinnre
06-20-2018, 07:51 AM
Yeah, Bouldin feels like an odd comparison to me on this one. Bouldin is one of my favorite Zags, but he and Hachimura feel almost like opposites when it comes to play styles. I feel like it might be better to call him a better version of Erroll Knight, or maybe a taller Anthony Reason?

ZagaholicPodcast
06-20-2018, 09:03 AM
Yeah, Bouldin feels like an odd comparison to me on this one. Bouldin is one of my favorite Zags, but he and Hachimura feel almost like opposites when it comes to play styles. I feel like it might be better to call him a better version of Erroll Knight, or maybe a taller Anthony Reason?

Kinda want to throw Bol Kong out there, just to stir the pot.

thebigsmoove
06-20-2018, 09:54 AM
Yeah, Bouldin feels like an odd comparison to me on this one. Bouldin is one of my favorite Zags, but he and Hachimura feel almost like opposites when it comes to play styles. I feel like it might be better to call him a better version of Erroll Knight, or maybe a taller Anthony Reason?

Or maybe the best Rui Hachimura we have ever had? Comparisons almost always fall flat.

maynard g krebs
06-20-2018, 10:53 AM
If his percentage doesn't improve then there will be scouts that just feel he didn't work hard enough.

The Japanese work ethic is ingrained in Rui, and imo any scout who would draw that conclusion would be misinformed.

I lived in Kobe, Japan until the end of first grade in 1961. My parents were Lutheran missionaries there from 1951-55 and 56-61. My best friend in kindergarten and first grade was the son of Joe Stanka, a pitcher toiling in AAA baseball in the White Sox organization who got called up in Sept '59 and made a couple of appearances w/ the big club. Spent around 7 seasons in the minors.

In the '59 off season he signed with a Japanese club and played 6 or 7 seasons in Japan, where he became a star. (Joe was 6'6 and also played a season of college basketball for Hank Iba at Oklahoma St before beginning his pro baseball career.)

Joe said words to the effect that the training he went through in Japan was far harder than anything he experienced in sports in the U.S. It's ingrained in the culture.

jazzdelmar
06-20-2018, 10:57 AM
Saw nothing new in his game. Still believe he will be a majestic talent to watch next season, however.

bballbeachbum
06-20-2018, 11:23 AM
ankle tweak looked like it didn't tickle, can mess up anyone's game, tough to play basketball with a bum wheel.
having seen him shoot the ball when healthy and confident last summer in that tournament, I'm looking forward to seeing him in a Zag uni doing that as an upperclassman.
And as was mentioned in what I think was the Few interview a while back, Rui as a underclassmen sort of had a cultured respect for the upperclassmen, like he deferred to them...something like that, remember? I wonder if, being his first go in the men's team, if there is some of that psychology in his expression right now, too.

Bogozags
06-20-2018, 02:07 PM
If Boldin was an athletic freak maybe

Rui personifies Bouldins game...he is strong to the basket, rebounds, plays "D"...yes, I know Bouldin was not 6'8"/230 pounds but he was physically dominant and other guards had difficulty defending him, especially when Few would have him post up...

MileHigh
06-20-2018, 02:15 PM
interesting.....having watched Matt B play from the time he was 12 years old all the way through college I don't see any similarity at all between he and Rui. Matt is a big combo guard who was successful due to a high bball IQ and guile. He made other guys on the court better, but was very limited in what he could do off the bounce and in 1 on 1 situations against guys his size.
Rui is kind of the opposite. Still learning the game, bballl IQ and intangibles are definitely his weakness at this point, but he is a freakishly athletic 3/4 who relies almost 100% on his athleticism and size to dominate his opponents in 1 on 1 situations

webspinnre
06-20-2018, 02:31 PM
Matt was a total stud, and he was certainly very strong, but he didn't have the incredible level of athleticism that Rui has as far as explosiveness and ability to simply blow by people or sky them for a rebound or come out of nowhere for an unexpected block. Matt on the other hand was so incredibly high on basketball IQ - you don't see many with that kind of understanding of the game.

scrooner
06-20-2018, 02:55 PM
I wanna teach English speakers how hachimura is pronounced in this good opportunity... Stress is ha-CHI-mu-ra, not ha-chi-MU-ra.

Weird, I've always been taught that there is no syllable emphasis in Japanese. So....ha-chi-mu-ra. No emphasis on any one syllable.

GonzagasaurusFlex
06-20-2018, 03:05 PM
ankle tweak looked like it didn't tickle, can mess up anyone's game, tough to play basketball with a bum wheel.
having seen him shoot the ball when healthy and confident last summer in that tournament, I'm looking forward to seeing him in a Zag uni doing that as an upperclassman.
And as was mentioned in what I think was the Few interview a while back, Rui as a underclassmen sort of had a cultured respect for the upperclassmen, like he deferred to them...something like that, remember? I wonder if, being his first go in the men's team, if there is some of that psychology in his expression right now, too.

Great point. Perhaps his ankle is the cause of his shooting woes but if not the mental aspect may well be the reason. As any player knows, game time performance is more mental than physical assuming no injury issues. Rui’s apparent struggle with the deep ball this summer may well have everything to do with having a shadow of a doubt in his mind when he lets it fly if he should be so bold in taking the shots, what may his older veteran teammates think etc.

I think he will have full confidence that his Zag coaches and teammates want and need him to be an alpha for the squad this upcoming season. He sure seemed to embrace the role in the tourney last season...maybe the win or go home situation allowed him to give himself permission to embrace his inner alpha!!?

Sound Voltex
06-20-2018, 11:20 PM
Weird, I've always been taught that there is no syllable emphasis in Japanese. So....ha-chi-mu-ra. No emphasis on any one syllable.

Yeah, it's more pitch-based, but depending on where you stress it may sound really "foreign" to a native. (e.g. JP "ya-ku-za" vs ENG "ya-KOO-za"). I hear the Japanese TV pronunciations as either ha-chi-mu-ra or HA-chi-mu-ra. All of the incorrect hearings I've heard on American TV were just completely off: Hashimura, Hachimyura, Hat-chimura, Hachinura.

Bogozags
06-22-2018, 05:09 AM
IMO…

Yes, Matt Bouldin was a very smart player, he had physical gifts and understood the game of basketball, especially the way Coach Few wanted it played. There is no doubting that Matt doesn’t have the God given physical gifts that Rui possesses, this we can all agree on…

Even today, I can still visualize Matt getting the ball on the wing at mid post and taking his smaller opponent to the basket and scoring and I see him coming off a screens and shooting jumpers. I am reminded of him, when I watch Rui's mannerisms on the court of how he moves with and without the ball, taking advantage of his smaller defenders just the same way Matt would. I just see the similarities and beauty of their games.

No one else has to agree but I do find it interesting that in my comparison of the two players, some of you are trying to point out the physical differences between the two players and that Rui hasn't yet developed his Bball acumen…again, that is a given but I am focusing on the way they would work in Coach Few’s offence – how they move to get open and take advantage of what the defence allows. That IMO is where the comparison ends.

Matt didn’t play in the NBA and in my opinion, it was because he was a tweener, which Rui isn’t. Rui, if he is able to stay clear of any major injuries, will be a lottery pick and play the SF or SG positions in the NBA.

willandi
06-22-2018, 05:42 AM
IMO…

Yes, Matt Bouldin was a very smart player, he had physical gifts and understood the game of basketball, especially the way Coach Few wanted it played. There is no doubting that Matt doesn’t have the God given physical gifts that Rui possesses, this we can all agree on…

Even today, I can still visualize Matt getting the ball on the wing at mid post and taking his smaller opponent to the basket and scoring and I see him coming off a screens and shooting jumpers. I am reminded of him, when I watch Rui's mannerisms on the court of how he moves with and without the ball, taking advantage of his smaller defenders just the same way Matt would. I just see the similarities and beauty of their games.

No one else has to agree but I do find it interesting that in my comparison of the two players, some of you are trying to point out the physical differences between the two players and that Rui hasn't yet developed his Bball acumen…again, that is a given but I am focusing on the way they would work in Coach Few’s offence – how they move to get open and take advantage of what the defence allows. That IMO is where the comparison ends.

Matt didn’t play in the NBA and in my opinion, it was because he was a tweener, which Rui isn’t. Rui, if he is able to stay clear of any major injuries, will be a lottery pick and play the SF or SG positions in the NBA.

Agreed, if he starts hitting the 3 ball.

GrizZAG
06-22-2018, 09:01 AM
One thing that was puzzling this past year was how Rui's shooting fell off as the season progressed, especially at the line. He was clipping along steadily in the 90+% range and then fell off a bit. His longer range shots took the same route it seems. Did I see that correctly? Lost some confidence in his shot?

sittingon50
06-22-2018, 09:33 AM
One thing that was puzzling this past year was how Rui's shooting fell off as the season progressed, especially at the line. He was clipping along steadily in the 90+% range and then fell off a bit. His longer range shots took the same route it seems. Did I see that correctly? Lost some confidence in his shot?


http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/player/gamelog/_/id/4066648/rui-hachimura

ZagsGoZags
06-23-2018, 08:32 AM
can any of our players defeat this Toyota robot in a Free Throw Shooting Contest?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=15Y4xe9CoIM

SLOZag
06-23-2018, 10:34 AM
can any of our players defeat this Toyota robot in a Free Throw Shooting Contest?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=15Y4xe9CoIM

Absolutely. His form is terrible -- he's across the foul line on every shot :lmao: