PDA

View Full Version : The Leading Scorer Next Season Is:



LTownZag
06-06-2018, 05:53 PM
Who will lead the team in scoring for the season overall?

TexasZagFan
06-06-2018, 06:09 PM
Rui, though it will be close between him and the others. Our attack will be balanced and lethal.

GonzagasaurusFlex
06-06-2018, 06:35 PM
Fun summer poll but shouldn’t Perkins be an option too?

hooter73
06-06-2018, 06:49 PM
I hope Clarke but assume Norvell.

cggonzaga
06-06-2018, 06:50 PM
Rui with Norvell at a close 2nd.

LTownZag
06-06-2018, 07:08 PM
Fun summer poll but shouldn’t Perkins be an option too?

Between missing some time early due to shoulder surgery and then being the primary distributor, I don't think there's a chance that Perkins will lead the time in points per game, even if he is a team leader in a general sense of the word.

NotoriousZ
06-06-2018, 11:46 PM
Rui with Norvell at a close 2nd.

Thatís how I see it.

But upon further reflection, Norvell does like to shoot the basketball. But then again, Rui shoots like 60 percent.

Top 3 prediction:
Rui
Norvell
Clarke

bartruff1
06-07-2018, 01:45 AM
I don't even know who led last year.....I hope I won't know who leads this year ….I suppose someone will...

Zagger
06-07-2018, 04:21 AM
I voted Other .... as it would not surprise me if it were Perkins. Seniors often get the green light on Few's teams and a healed up shoulder might be the clincher. I do think we'll see a Rui and/or Tillie scorefest though. And Norvell is no slouch.

I wonder what the number of 100 points or more games the Zags have scored in a season? 18-19 could break that.

cjm720
06-07-2018, 05:34 AM
Norvell. He’s going to have a big leap.

Zaga
06-07-2018, 05:38 AM
I think that Zach will really show his swag this year. But will not be suprised if Rui takes over more than a couple games. Hope JP recovers well. The surgery and the phyiscal therapy and recovery time is a slow and painful process especially for the aged Zag fan.

Go Zags...Kick Dukes B*** in Maui

thespywhozaggedme
06-07-2018, 06:04 AM
Norvell; 19 ppg

MileHigh
06-07-2018, 06:28 AM
The only player that I think will definitely have a sharp increase is Rui. He will be starting and will get more minutes and will ostensibly take more shots.
Clarke will likely get WIlliams minutes and shots.
Tilile will likely have similar numbers from last year as I dont see his role drastically changing.
Norvell played a lot last year and pretty much had a green light. I cant see him shooting more than he did last year
Josh, with shoulder 100%, will get more shots up, so I could see him scoring a bit more, but his role as floor general will limit that to an extent

raise the zag
06-07-2018, 06:48 AM
Not sure if he'll be the highest scorer, yet can guarantee Norvell will take the most shots next season.

Rui will score 15 ppg without breaking a sweat, while Norvell will shoot 15 shots per game.

I will guess Norvell.

Clarke is terrific player, bouncy, active, nose for the ball, put back specialist, offensive rebounds, transition, but not really a go-to "scorer".

Nearly 70% of his points at SJSU came off his teammates' misses, transition buckets, or offensive put backs. He does the dirty work, finds seams, gets oops, put back slams, cleans up, etc, yet after watching a lot of actual games (not just highlight reels), Brandon isn't a true one-on-one type of player. Not even for San Jose St, although incredibly creative, smart, and "slippery" in the paint. Its important for guards to find him, and be patient. He will create openings around less agile bigs.

Not really a #1 option, iso type of post player. Don't get me wrong, he's likely our MVP next season, much needed, glue guy, toughness, but more like 3rd or 4th highest scorer due to his playing style. An active, lunch pail, clean up guy, who can make things happen all around the court. More Draymond Green, than Kevin Durant, etc.

Kong-Kool-Aid
06-07-2018, 07:46 AM
Not on the team yet....

hooter73
06-07-2018, 07:53 AM
On Katz podcast Few reiterated how much Rui defers out of respect for the elders and all that on not being the first option. He's obviously got it in him but you are talking about a lifetime of cultural customs to basically suppress on the court for him. Makes me like him even more, but I dont think we will see him go off for wiltjer or ammo numbers. Norvell on the other hand might get there just due to wanting it and not being afraid to let it fly. Thats not always the best approach but hard to deny that the kid has the killer instinct mindset weve been lacking for a while.

Robzagnut
06-07-2018, 07:58 AM
Rui.

Norvell is too hot & cold to be consistent from game to game.

thespywhozaggedme
06-07-2018, 08:03 AM
Not on the team yet....

Cryptic.....got an inside scoop?

amaronizag
06-07-2018, 09:19 AM
Last year the order of scoring was this: J3, Tille, Zach, Josh, Rui, Silas, Corey, Jacob
This year I predict the order to be: Zach, Rui, Brandon, Killian, Josh, Joel, Corey, Jacob, Filip, new guard

Last year Zach had a slightly better FG% than Josh because Zach takes it stronger to the hoop and scores inside more. With more experience and more minutes in the coming season, I think Zach will step up his scoring compared to last year, but not by a lot due to the scoring options at all positions. Killian will play slightly more minutes and be better so he will improve slightly in all scoring categories compared to last year. Rui will make the biggest jump due to more minutes, more experience, and improvement. Rui will shoot a LOT of free throws and score at will against many opponents. I think Brandon will compare well to J3 in all categories (hopefully be better at free throws and 3pt shots than J3) but maybe score a little less than J3 due to increased # of touches for Tillie and Rui. Corey should see about the same minutes and stats since Joel (and/or new guard X) will be in the mix at the 1 and 2 positions. Jacob and Filip will be competing hard with each other and other players to earn minutes at the 4 and 5. I'm hoping we score a couple more points per game compared to last year, but with the harder OOC schedule, that probably won't happen.

gonstu
06-07-2018, 09:19 AM
Was between Rui and Norvell. Went with Rui.

But now I'm wondering if Norvell might log more minutes due to foul situation - hopefully Rui can limit fouls (especially offensive) and stay on the court.

Either way, zags should not have trouble scoring most nights.

zagamatic
06-07-2018, 09:25 AM
The fun part about this thread is that there is so much talent on this team that it could even be Kispert. Not a bad problem to have. If I have to pick one, I'm going to go with Norvell

cggonzaga
06-07-2018, 09:34 AM
Love how much people are underestimating Killian Tillie. If he consistently plays consistent, him and Rui will be our best players.

hooter73
06-07-2018, 09:44 AM
Love how much people are underestimating Killian Tillie. If he consistently plays consistent, him and Rui will be our best players.

key word that is holding everyone up is consistent.

hooter73
06-07-2018, 09:45 AM
I'm hoping we score a couple more points per game compared to last year, but with the harder OOC schedule, that probably won't happen.

I would love to see us back in the high 80's low 90's for PPG kind of like we were with our National Title run team. Dont know if we've got that type of raw firepower this year though.

thespywhozaggedme
06-07-2018, 09:56 AM
I can't believe how many people overlooked Kong Kool Aid's post. He could be hinting at a huge get and no one noticed.

GoZags
06-07-2018, 10:00 AM
I can't believe how many people overlooked Kong Kool Aid's post. He could be hinting at a huge get and no one noticed.

We will know when we know.

As for leading scorer? I couldn’t care less. I liked last year where at one point fairly deep into the season 6 Zags averaged double figures.

Hooray4Daye&Gray
06-07-2018, 10:55 AM
I can't believe how many people overlooked Kong Kool Aid's post. He could be hinting at a huge get and no one noticed.

Maybe some of us overlooked it because it makes no sense?

We have multiple NBA players on the roster. Reid Travis and Matt Daum are not coming.

Still hoping we can add a guard to add to the rotation, but none that are available for 2018 will be scoring more than Norvell much less our trio of bigs.

exclusivelee
06-07-2018, 11:01 AM
Maybe some of us overlooked it because it makes no sense?

We have multiple NBA players on the roster. Reid Travis and Matt Daum are not coming.

So you're saying that there's a chance Gonzaga gets Mike Daum? [emoji16]

All kidding aside, my vote is for Zach Norvell, the gunslinger with the ulimate greenlight as a freshman

thespywhozaggedme
06-07-2018, 11:04 AM
Maybe some of us overlooked it because it makes no sense?

We have multiple NBA players on the roster. Reid Travis and Matt Daum are not coming.

Still hoping we can add a guard to add to the rotation, but none that are available for 2018 will be scoring more than Norvell much less our trio of bigs.

Or maybe you just weren't paying attention. Look at GZ's post above yours, he didn't refute what KKA posted, granted he didn't confirm it, but he didn't refute it.

bartruff1
06-07-2018, 11:07 AM
We will know when we know.

As for leading scorer? I couldn’t care less. I liked last year where at one point fairly deep into the season 6 Zags averaged double figures.

Me too....the last leading scorer I can remember was Wiltjer ….I have no idea what Sabonis or Collins averaged.... whatever it was.... it didn't appear to matter....I recall that Pangos went a game without scoring a point and I assume that was to make a point...

raise the zag
06-07-2018, 11:36 AM
Love how much people are underestimating Killian Tillie. If he consistently plays consistent, him and Rui will be our best players.

I don't think anyone does, and honestly, I believe he is the best all around basketball player/prospect on the team, including Rui. A perfect mix of skills, attributes, and does everything really well, save consistency

Tillie can score 25 in one game and make it look easy, then score 5 the next...

Still only 12 ppg average doing that...and Rui and Norvell will likely have higher averages as a result.

Markburn1
06-07-2018, 11:49 AM
Play defense.

Scoring won't be an issue.

gu03alum
06-07-2018, 11:49 AM
3's count more than 2's.

Norvell over Rui.

Also, Rui and Tillie will get more fouls and play less minutes than Norvell.

Zaga
06-07-2018, 12:41 PM
3's count more than 2's. Norvell over Rui. Also, Rui and Tillie will get more fouls and play less minutes than Norvell.


I agree based on the end of last year. However, Rui could have a KO transformation that could change the optics from last years play. At least that is my hope. Hope that KT also makes positive steps as well.. offense and defense.

Go Zags!

MDABE80
06-07-2018, 12:54 PM
Markburn has it. I suspect4- 5 guys will coalesce around 14 ppg. If I had to guess who scores the most among equals, I'd say Norvell. He's a bomber and he drives the key very well with great body control. Josh and Ayayi will find the scorers while doing a good job themselves.

maynard g krebs
06-07-2018, 01:01 PM
I just want to see Norvell improve his shot selection enough to shoot 40% from 3 instead of 35. He's certainly capable of it. Adam went up from low 30's to 43-44 btw his soph year and jr year.

cggonzaga
06-07-2018, 02:09 PM
I don't think anyone does, and honestly, I believe he is the best all around basketball player/prospect on the team, including Rui. A perfect mix of skills, attributes, and does everything really well, save consistency

Tillie can score 25 in one game and make it look easy, then score 5 the next...

Still only 12 ppg average doing that...and Rui and Norvell will likely have higher averages as a result.

I think many do and I think many believe Clarke is LeBron James and will be our best player.

In case you missed my earlier post I have Rui and Norvell leading us in scoring. However, I believe Tillie will be our best player.

jazzdelmar
06-07-2018, 02:26 PM
I can't believe how many people overlooked Kong Kool Aid's post. He could be hinting at a huge get and no one noticed.

Assume heís wishing for Travis. Sigh. Long shot.

thespywhozaggedme
06-07-2018, 02:30 PM
Assume he’s wishing for Travis. Sigh. Long shot.

I have a no idea but he did follow his statement up with three… Which often times means to be continued. But that just could be my overactive imagination, but GZ did not refute it either. We will know in due time I suppose.

Mantua
06-07-2018, 02:33 PM
Rui, though it will be close between him and the others. Our attack will be balanced and lethal.


Agree!

Zagsker
06-07-2018, 07:32 PM
I don't even know who led last year......

Ha, I saw this and I was thinking "I don't know either"...so before I Louggle it..iam going to say JW3

Edit: winner winner

cjm720
06-08-2018, 05:46 AM
I have a no idea but he did follow his statement up with three… Which often times means to be continued. But that just could be my overactive imagination, but GZ did not refute it either. We will know in due time I suppose.

Reading way too much into it! It’s like Christmas Eve for you...I love this time too!

thespywhozaggedme
06-08-2018, 06:03 AM
Reading way too much into it! It’s like Christmas Eve for you...I love this time too!

Probably. But isn't it just a little bit interesting that neither the OP of that post nor GZ refuted it? Granted, they did not confirm it, but they did not refute it either. But yes, it is most likely my overactive imagination.

GoZags
06-08-2018, 06:08 AM
Probably. But isn't it just a little bit interesting that neither the OP of that post nor GZ refuted it? Granted, they did not confirm it, but they did not refute it either. But yes, it is most likely my overactive imagination.

You're putting waaay to much emphasis on the "GZ didn't refute it" aspect (mentioned several times now).

Until a kid actually makes a firm commitment, anything can happen. Thus ... there is no way anybody (other than the player or the University) can "confirm" or "deny' anything. Am I hopeful that another high level prospect (or two) will be on the roster next year? Yes. Do I "know" anything concrete one way or another? No. But I'm hopeful. Very hopeful.

thespywhozaggedme
06-08-2018, 07:26 AM
You're putting waaay to much emphasis on the "GZ didn't refute it" aspect (mentioned several times now).

Until a kid actually makes a firm commitment, anything can happen. Thus ... there is no way anybody (other than the player or the University) can "confirm" or "deny' anything. Am I hopeful that another high level prospect (or two) will be on the roster next year? Yes. Do I "know" anything concrete one way or another? No. But I'm hopeful. Very hopeful.

I've put a lot of emphasis on it because I put a lot of belief in your credibility. In the 20 some odd years that I've been posting on the different versions of this board the only time that I can remember you ever being wrong is about Nolan Narain and apparently that was him being less than 100% truthful plus he turned out to be a bust anyway.

TexasZagFan
06-08-2018, 08:00 AM
You're putting waaay to much emphasis on the "GZ didn't refute it" aspect (mentioned several times now).

Until a kid actually makes a firm commitment, anything can happen. Thus ... there is no way anybody (other than the player or the University) can "confirm" or "deny' anything. Am I hopeful that another high level prospect (or two) will be on the roster next year? Yes. Do I "know" anything concrete one way or another? No. But I'm hopeful. Very hopeful.

What's your vibe on Drew Timme, GZ? We're now one of over two dozen schools that have offered this young man a scholarship.

kitzbuel
06-08-2018, 08:03 AM
Not on the team yet....

I can't remember the last time an incoming transfer lead the team in scoring. Wiltjer and NWG did it after redshirt years, not a true 'incoming' transfer. I don't think we have ever had a freshman (in my memory) lead scoring and I don't see any out there now that are going to be able to do that.

thespywhozaggedme
06-08-2018, 08:14 AM
I can't remember the last time an incoming transfer lead the team in scoring. Wiltjer and NWG did it after redshirt years, not a true 'incoming' transfer. I don't think we have ever had a freshman (in my memory) lead scoring and I don't see any out there now that are going to be able to do that.

You don't think Daum or Travis would lead the team in scoring?

kitzbuel
06-08-2018, 08:19 AM
You don't think Daum or Travis would lead the team in scoring?

I don't see anything making me believe they are coming here.

LongIslandZagFan
06-08-2018, 08:29 AM
I just don't think we need another big. I'd love to see another G for depth. That being said... either of those dudes want to come to GU... I am all for it.

Kong-Kool-Aid
06-08-2018, 09:49 AM
Mike Daum is not going anywhere.

cggonzaga
06-08-2018, 09:51 AM
You don't think Daum or Travis would lead the team in scoring?

Daum might but he’s not coming here so get over it. I don’t believe Travis would. I’d still stick with Rui and Norvell as they know the system.

Hooray4Daye&Gray
06-08-2018, 09:55 AM
Mike Daum is not going anywhere.

Hypothetically, if Reid Travis were to choose one of the schools he's scheduled to visit (UK or Nova), would you still be singing the same tune that next year's leading scorer isn't on the roster yet?

thespywhozaggedme
06-08-2018, 10:48 AM
Daum might but he’s not coming here so get over it. I don’t believe Travis would. I’d still stick with Rui and Norvell as they know the system.

I agree and never said that he was.

thespywhozaggedme
06-08-2018, 10:48 AM
Mike Daum is not going anywhere.

Agreed

thespywhozaggedme
06-08-2018, 10:51 AM
I don't see anything making me believe they are coming here.

Me neither, but that's not what I asked you. :o

kitzbuel
06-08-2018, 11:24 AM
Me neither, but that's not what I asked you. :o

Don't know. They would be splitting so many minutes that Norvell would take the leading spot.

thespywhozaggedme
06-08-2018, 11:54 AM
Don't know. They would be splitting so many minutes that Norvell would take the leading spot.

Probably true

CDC84
06-08-2018, 11:57 AM
Norvell. I would be absolutely SHOCKED if he isn't. He hucks up a lot of shots, he hits a good percentage of them, and he's a prime time, clutch scorer. He has the best killer instinct for scoring of any Zag since Adam Morrison BY FAR. I cannot see him averaging less than 17ppg, and he may go higher. He'll never reach Adam's numbers because, frankly, Snacks has more talent around him.

bdmiller7
06-08-2018, 12:25 PM
I'm guessing we score 85 ppg this year spread this way.
Hachimura 15.0
Norvell. 14.5
Tillie. 13.5
Clarke. 13.0
Perkins. 12.5
Kispert. 9.0
Others. 7.5

thespywhozaggedme
06-08-2018, 12:54 PM
I'm guessing we score 85 ppg this year spread this way.
Hachimura 15.0
Norvell. 14.5
Tillie. 13.5
Clarke. 13.0
Perkins. 12.5
Kispert. 9.0
Others. 7.5

ZN averaged 12.7 ppg last year as a freshman. I'd be shocked if he's under 17ppg.

cggonzaga
06-08-2018, 12:58 PM
I'm guessing we score 85 ppg this year spread this way.
Hachimura 15.0
Norvell. 14.5
Tillie. 13.5
Clarke. 13.0
Perkins. 12.5
Kispert. 9.0
Others. 7.5

Think this is probably pretty spot on.

LongIslandZagFan
06-08-2018, 01:01 PM
Think this is probably pretty spot on.

I'd flip Snacks and Rui but otherwise think it is pretty spot on

bdmiller7
06-08-2018, 01:15 PM
ZN averaged 12.7 ppg last year as a freshman. I'd be shocked if he's under 17ppg.

I'd be happy if he had that kind of growth and definitely think he's capable of 17, I just think there's too much depth and I wouldn't be surprised if the top 6 each had multiple games where they were the leading scorer depending on matchups.

bdmiller7
06-08-2018, 01:21 PM
I also can see where Norvell might be asked to distribute more and take some burden off Perkins. I could see his assist numbers doubling.

bdmiller7
07-06-2018, 07:03 AM
I'm guessing we score 85 ppg this year spread this way.
Hachimura 15.0
Norvell. 14.5
Tillie. 13.5
Clarke. 13.0
Perkins. 12.5
Kispert. 9.0
Others. 7.5

Updated: 87 ppg next year.
Hachimura 14
Norvell 14
Tillie 13
Clarke 12
Crandall 12
Perkins 11
Kispert 8
Others 3
Good balance. Chance for 7 in double figures. Different leading scorer every game.

Reborn
07-06-2018, 07:31 AM
Rui! Because he's better, and more consistent. What is cool is that the poll shows that Gonzaga has two great scorers. And they are surrounded by at 5 other players who can score. Tillie didn't make our top two, but he is certainly capable of being just that. He lead our team in scoring last year. And in my opinion Crandall is a better offensive player than Melson (by far).

Kong-Kool-Aid
07-06-2018, 08:12 AM
Geno Crandall

Zagceo
07-06-2018, 08:31 AM
Rui s wingspan will dominate on offense and defense.

MontanaCoyote
07-06-2018, 09:41 AM
I'm guessing we score 85 ppg this year spread this way.
Hachimura 15.0
Norvell. 14.5
Tillie. 13.5
Clarke. 13.0
Perkins. 12.5
Kispert. 9.0
Others. 7.5

Most important thing is that point production is spread around so well. Hard to defend, harder to beat.

MileHigh
07-06-2018, 10:28 AM
a lot of upperclassman alpha dogs on the team next year and all of them like to score. I cant see anyone being the night in-night out leading scorer, nor will any one player consistently get the most shots. Whoever gets the hot hand on a particular night will likely lead the team in scoring. With Clark and Crandall, you have two guys that were the leading scorers for their teams during their last season of competition. With Tillie and Josh you have a couple of guys looking for breakout years, with the pro ranks as the next step. Then you have Norvell who is a shoot first cold blooded scorer.
While none of these kids are selfish players, and hopefully all put team first, they all have that scorers mentality and Few will be challenged on how to to keep everyone happy on what appears to be the most talented Gonzaga team ever.

Bogozags
07-06-2018, 12:27 PM
I think we will have 8/9 players averaging between 7-14 points per game...

If we stay healthy (knocking on wood), we will be an excellent team on defence, keeping our opponents in the 60's with 3pt shooting in the low 30% range...

Excellent rebounding team with 7 players averaging over five rebounds a game and the team should average close to 20 assists with all the finishers we have on this squad...

Ft Shooting should be above 75% too...

This year's TEAM could be the best on record at GU, breaking records on both ends of the court...

Gonna be an exciting year...

Oh, forgot, I pick Rui to lead the team in scoring average this season...but then again, Snacks could be the man...Clarke could be the double-double man...

Question is how many players could have at least one Triple-Double during the year...

Hooray4Daye&Gray
07-08-2018, 04:06 PM
Not on the team yet....

(a month later)


Geno Crandall

Legendary.

Still think Norvell and Rui will be tough to outscore, but this elevates you to a top 3 poster to pay attention to on this board.