PDA

View Full Version : 2021 Recruits



Zagdawg
04-21-2018, 07:30 AM
Donny getting an early look at some young talent.

Gonzaga Guru Retweeted

Justin Vargas


@jvargas4azpreps
12h12 hours ago
More
@GreggRosenberg1 and Gonzaga assistant coach Donny Daniels assessing the action for the Powerhouse 15U Elite game against SkyBlue Elite @PowerhouseHoops @J_Becker1 @HoopReview @sportstop100 @WCEBball @RyanSilver1 @gerryfreitas

Zagdawg
04-28-2018, 10:22 AM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted

��Jeff Chatman ��


@jeffchat
Apr 27
More
Gonzaga is coming to watch today 6'2" PG Jace Chatman of Northwest Prospects 2021 at the Premiere Open Run at the Beaverton Hoop in Beaverton Oregon.

caldwellzag
07-09-2018, 08:50 AM
Never to early to watch a 2021 kid.

https://twitter.com/jakeweingarten/status/1015591285103714304

Zagdawg
09-19-2018, 03:25 PM
Gonzaga Bulldogs already eyeing 2021 5-star big Nathan Bittle

https://cbbtoday.com/now/gonzaga-bulldogs-already-eyeing-2021-5-star-big-nathan-bittle/

doctorzag
09-19-2018, 05:05 PM
2021 Benjamin Gregg. 6-8 power forward from Oregon. Zags are his dream team. Has a lot of high majors looking at him including the Zags.

doctorzag
09-19-2018, 05:11 PM
Gonzaga Bulldogs already eyeing 2021 5-star big Nathan Bittle

https://cbbtoday.com/now/gonzaga-bulldogs-already-eyeing-2021-5-star-big-nathan-bittle/

Nathan already has offers from Arizona,Ucla and Oregon . Growing up his dream school was Oregon. He may be a tough get.

caldwellzag
09-20-2018, 07:11 AM
2021 Benjamin Gregg. 6-8 power forward from Oregon. Zags are his dream team. Has a lot of high majors looking at him including the Zags.

I could not find him on 247's site? Do you have a link of some sort?

caldwellzag
09-20-2018, 07:33 AM
I found this on him.

https://twitter.com/ScoutsFocusCA/status/1039630408269398017

caldwellzag
09-20-2018, 07:39 AM
Bittle is a stud.

https://247sports.com/Player/Nathan-Bittle-46057583/

caldwellzag
09-20-2018, 07:40 AM
Wow if you are in Portland on the 29th you should check this out if you can. Some big time recruits will be there.

https://twitter.com/reggieprimetime/status/1042107838871425024?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Eembeddedtimeline%7Ctwgr%5E373939313b7370656369666 9635f73706f7274735f616374696f6e%7Ctwcon%5Etimeline chrome&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2F247sports.com%2FPlayer%2FNat han-Bittle-46057583%2F

caldwellzag
09-20-2018, 07:52 AM
Here is a good article on Gregg and Gonzaga being his dream school.

https://www.prephoops.com/2018/06/prospect-profile-ben-gregg-2021-columbia-christian-hs-rose-city-rebels/

caldwellzag
09-20-2018, 08:52 AM
I missed this on Bittle, but he is planning on visiting Gonzaga according to Jake.

https://twitter.com/jakeweingarten/status/1042278544603262976

thespywhozaggedme
09-20-2018, 09:12 AM
Here is a good article on Gregg and Gonzaga being his dream school.

https://www.prephoops.com/2018/06/prospect-profile-ben-gregg-2021-columbia-christian-hs-rose-city-rebels/

He's from Spokane. Sweet!

sittingon50
09-20-2018, 11:06 AM
He's from Spokane. Sweet!

Anyone know his Spokane background?

caldwellzag
09-20-2018, 11:08 AM
Anyone know his Spokane background?

Just that he mentioned growing up here, I am sure someone has to know the name.

caldwellzag
09-20-2018, 11:10 AM
Bittle is number 12 on rivals top 35 that just came out.

https://n.rivals.com/prospect_rankings/rivals150/2021

doctorzag
10-31-2018, 09:44 PM
Here is a good article on Gregg and Gonzaga being his dream school.

https://www.prephoops.com/2018/06/prospect-profile-ben-gregg-2021-columbia-christian-hs-rose-city-rebels/

Shaka Smart just offered Gregg today.

Radbooks
10-31-2018, 10:09 PM
Saw this on Twitter today and now I know who the kid is, so thanks! :)


Jim Meehan Retweeted
matt gregg
‏ @_mgregg50
13h13 hours ago

What a great past 3 days for @bengregg20 was able to hang out and watch Gonzaga practice and meet Coach Few. Received an offer from Coach Kent at WSU. Then this morning received an offer from Coach Smart at U of Texas. #prouddad

Zagdawg
11-09-2018, 12:36 PM
"Gonzaga has been seen as the early favorite for Gregg even though he hasn’t received an offer so far from the Bulldogs. One source was quoted as saying that Mark Few’s team is Gregg’s “dream school” so as of right now, they are perceived as the biggest challenger for Coach Tinkle."



https://247sports.com/college/oregon-state/Article/2021-Ben-Gregg-Columbia-Christian-update-recruiting-washington-State-oregon-state-texas-124436696/

exclusivelee
11-09-2018, 01:06 PM
"Gonzaga has been seen as the early favorite for Gregg even though he hasn’t received an offer so far from the Bulldogs. One source was quoted as saying that Mark Few’s team is Gregg’s “dream school” so as of right now, they are perceived as the biggest challenger for Coach Tinkle."



https://247sports.com/college/oregon-state/Article/2021-Ben-Gregg-Columbia-Christian-update-recruiting-washington-State-oregon-state-texas-124436696/What was Kendall Small's dream school?

Zagdawg
11-09-2018, 03:16 PM
Oregon .....then Pacific......

Bogozags
11-09-2018, 03:31 PM
Oregon .....then Pacific......

Actually it was GU but we didn't take him...he went to Oregon and since he didn't get playing time for one reason or another he wound up at UOP.

Zagdawg
12-08-2018, 09:06 AM
Dinos Trigonis

Verified account

@trigonis30
10h10 hours ago
More
Gonzaga assistant Donny Daniels was at Father Berry Tourney tonite in Sacramento CA to watch 6-3 2021 PG Isa Silva. Silva (a 4.0 student) is emerging as one of the West Coast's and nation's top PGs @FrankieBur @RonMFlores @ebosshoops @coreyevans_10 @JoshGershon @NBNMagazine

kjstoph1
12-08-2018, 12:58 PM
Just that he mentioned growing up here, I am sure someone has to know the name.

His dad (from Clarkston) was the girls coach at Freeman, then moved into the college ranks at Warner Pacific.

sittingon50
12-08-2018, 04:54 PM
Thanks stoph.

Good to see you.

Zagdawg
12-15-2018, 02:17 PM
Would Zags be looking at Drews brother Walker Timme? currently 6'6" 175 lb forward

Jabari Johnson


@coachjabari
26m26 minutes ago
More
#HeadsUp #NationalHoopfest
Chicago Simeon 52 @JJPbasketball 53
Final

Antonio Reeves (Simeon) 21p
Kejuan Clements(Simeon) 10p 5a
Drew Timme(JJP)17p 6r 6b 5a
Walker Timme (JJP) 11p 4r

caldwellzag
12-16-2018, 05:30 PM
Would Zags be looking at Drews brother Walker Timme? currently 6'6" 175 lb forward

Jabari Johnson


@coachjabari
26m26 minutes ago
More
#HeadsUp #NationalHoopfest
Chicago Simeon 52 @JJPbasketball 53
Final

Antonio Reeves (Simeon) 21p
Kejuan Clements(Simeon) 10p 5a
Drew Timme(JJP)17p 6r 6b 5a
Walker Timme (JJP) 11p 4r

I would say that the Zags will have an eye on him, but he has a long ways to go to turn out to be what Drew is. That being said he is young still and Drew only exploded onto this scene last year/this summer.

Zagdawg
12-26-2018, 03:19 PM
chet holmgren

https://twitter.com/ChetHolmgren/status/1078046188581122048

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S9q2wi31ahE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MQJb0S0jyLU

GuZag2012
12-26-2018, 05:35 PM
Chet Holmgren plays for the same high school as Jalen Suggs. Obviously needs to add a great deal of strength but has a lot of skill/upside if he can add the weight. I believe he’s dad is a former player for the University of Minnesota.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OZZY
12-27-2018, 02:54 PM
As posted in the Anton thread, Ben Gregg with a huge game for Columbian Christian at the LSI (2nd round in the consolation bracket).

http://lesschwabinvitational.com/lsi18tms/scores/LSI18-game11.pdf

A triple double with 36p/15a/11a/4b/2s going 4/7 from the deep!

thespywhozaggedme
12-27-2018, 02:58 PM
As posted in the Anton thread, Ben Gregg with a huge game for Columbian Christian at the LSI (2nd round in the consolation bracket).

http://lesschwabinvitational.com/lsi18tms/scores/LSI18-game11.pdf

A triple double with 36p/15a/11a/4b/2s going 4/7 from the deep!

And this kids only a sophomore?!?!?! And Gonzaga is his dream school?!?!?! Sign him up!

bartruff1
01-17-2019, 02:19 PM
The Cashmere soph. pg Mason Landdeck scored 47 Tuesday against Chelan....a good team....including 24 in the 4th to win the game...

OZZY
01-17-2019, 04:44 PM
The Cashmere soph. pg Mason Landdeck scored 47 Tuesday against Chelan....a good team....including 24 in the 4th to win the game...

The kid can sure stroke it...doesn't need much space either...

caldwellzag
01-18-2019, 06:52 AM
I moved these post about Landdeck here out of respect for Brock, as they were posted in his personal thread.

thespywhozaggedme
01-18-2019, 08:04 AM
I moved these post about Landdeck here out of respect for Brock, as they were posted in his personal thread.

Are we recruiting Landeck?

caldwellzag
01-18-2019, 08:30 AM
Are we recruiting Landeck?

No clue honestly, but there were post about him in Brock's thread so I moved them here.

caldwellzag
01-18-2019, 08:31 AM
No clue honestly, but there were post about him in Brock's thread so I moved them here.

Honestly, I highly doubt it at this point, as he is a small school Washington kid. Maybe if we get him to the team camp this summer things change.

ZagsObserver
01-18-2019, 08:46 AM
Honestly, I highly doubt it at this point, as he is a small school Washington kid. Maybe if we get him to the team camp this summer things change.

Not from what I’ve heard either. He’s had a lot of big games this year, though.

The real catch at Cashmere is Hailey Van Lith. She has her pick of schools, including UConn. Would be a great get if GU had any chance at her (doubtful).

northsidezagfan
01-31-2019, 09:48 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O_Vb5ncpfTk

Holmgren looks pretty good to me. Athletic, smooth jumper, good timing on defense, dunks everything he can. Just needs another 70 pounds.

IowaSERE
01-31-2019, 10:47 AM
Not from what I’ve heard either. He’s had a lot of big games this year, though.

The real catch at Cashmere is Hailey Van Lith. She has her pick of schools, including UConn. Would be a great get if GU had any chance at her (doubtful).

offer them both as a package deal!

bdmiller7
02-08-2019, 09:53 AM
Rivals has an updated top 75 for 2021. Some early names I've been hearing for Gonzaga in there.
Nate Bittle 15
Chet Holmgren 45
Ben Gregg 51

sittingon50
02-08-2019, 10:33 AM
Those that know the Oregon classifications, would/have Bittle & Gregg face(d) each other anywhere along the way?

caldwellzag
02-08-2019, 11:42 AM
Those that know the Oregon classifications, would/have Bittle & Gregg face(d) each other anywhere along the way?

No they are at different levels. Gregg is actually a pretty small school guy.

caldwellzag
02-08-2019, 11:42 AM
Rivals has an updated top 75 for 2021. Some early names I've been hearing for Gonzaga in there.
Nate Bittle 15
Chet Holmgren 45
Ben Gregg 51

Definitely all three guys we have been in on.

sittingon50
02-08-2019, 01:00 PM
No they are at different levels. Gregg is actually a pretty small school guy.

Thanks Caldwell.

I thought I had read that Gregg was @ a church school, but wasn't sure if they played up (ala G Prep).

cggonzaga
02-08-2019, 01:13 PM
Would sure like to see more guards.

sittingon50
02-08-2019, 02:36 PM
Would sure like to see more guards.

Why? All you need is one big to inbound to another big at half-court who pivots & throws a lob to the basket where any one of the remaining 3 bigs go up & dunk it.


No dribbling required.

:p

thespywhozaggedme
02-08-2019, 02:40 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O_Vb5ncpfTk

Holmgren looks pretty good to me. Athletic, smooth jumper, good timing on defense, dunks everything he can. Just needs another 70 pounds.

Man, he's blocking shots like Brandon in that video! And he definitely has the frame to add 50lbs easily.

cggonzaga
02-08-2019, 06:33 PM
Why? All you need is one big to inbound to another big at half-court who pivots & throws a lob to the basket where any one of the remaining 3 bigs go up & dunk it.


No dribbling required.

:p

That’s actually brilliant! You ever thought about coaching?

Mantua
02-08-2019, 09:51 PM
That’s actually brilliant! You ever thought about coaching?

Has Zorn even set foot on the court for the Huskies yet?

sittingon50
02-08-2019, 09:51 PM
That’s actually brilliant! You ever thought about coaching?

I did (not hoops). Unfortunately, the parents apparently knew more than I did.

bdmiller7
02-13-2019, 12:17 PM
2021 Japanese PG Chikara Tanaka to be at Basketball without Borders along with Zakharov, Strawther, and Ballo. Playing on a loaded IMG team this year.

Spoko13
02-17-2019, 06:14 PM
Hard to imagine they haven’t gone H2H in AAU with Gregg on the loaded Rose City Rebels last spring and Bittle playing with West Coast Elite last spring, but not sure....

Zagdawg
02-24-2019, 10:03 AM
Jim Meehan


@SRJimm
2m2 minutes ago
More
2021 forwards Ben Gregg (Portland) and Kaden Perry (Battle Ground) attended GU-BYU game, spent time with coaches afterward. Gregg has multiple Pac-12 offers. Perry, who hasn't been on AAU circuit, but has drawn interest from Oregon State

cggonzaga
02-24-2019, 10:30 AM
I like Perry’s game. Very bouncy player but also has a decent skill set. Reminds me of a little bigger Clarke.

Cool story too. https://www.clarkcountytoday.com/sports/hs-basketball-kaden-perrys-special-inspiration/

caldwellzag
02-24-2019, 10:39 AM
Jim Meehan


@SRJimm
2m2 minutes ago
More
2021 forwards Ben Gregg (Portland) and Kaden Perry (Battle Ground) attended GU-BYU game, spent time with coaches afterward. Gregg has multiple Pac-12 offers. Perry, who hasn't been on AAU circuit, but has drawn interest from Oregon State

Been Gregg will be our first recruit for 2021.

sittingon50
02-24-2019, 11:06 AM
Jim Meehan


@SRJimm
2m2 minutes ago
More
2021 forwards Ben Gregg (Portland) and Kaden Perry (Battle Ground) attended GU-BYU game, spent time with coaches afterward. Gregg has multiple Pac-12 offers. Perry, who hasn't been on AAU circuit, but has drawn interest from Oregon State

Well, I would venture a guess that last night was probably a pretty good recruiting tool.

thespywhozaggedme
02-24-2019, 01:27 PM
I like Perry’s game. Very bouncy player but also has a decent skill set. Reminds me of a little bigger Clarke.

Cool story too. https://www.clarkcountytoday.com/sports/hs-basketball-kaden-perrys-special-inspiration/

Nice article, thanks for posting that. He even looks like Clarke a little bit.

thespywhozaggedme
02-24-2019, 01:36 PM
Been Gregg will be our first recruit for 2021.

So, they like him more than Bittle? I guess and idea 2021 is Gregg, Bittle, Perry and Tanaka?

caldwellzag
02-24-2019, 01:54 PM
So, they like him more than Bittle? I guess and idea 2021 is Gregg, Bittle, Perry and Tanaka?

Not saying that. I just am predicting that once Gregg is offered this spring he will commit. Bottle is going to be a recruiting battle

thespywhozaggedme
02-24-2019, 02:00 PM
Not saying that. I just am predicting that once Gregg is offered this spring he will commit. Bottle is going to be a recruiting battle

Bittle, Bottle, Battle. Tomato/Tomahto. lol

caldwellzag
02-24-2019, 02:03 PM
Bittle, Bottle, Battle. Tomato/Tomahto. lol

Bittle phone auto corrected

thespywhozaggedme
02-24-2019, 02:26 PM
Bittle phone auto corrected

Ha

BobZag
02-24-2019, 02:44 PM
Jim Meehan


@SRJimm
2m2 minutes ago
More
2021 forwards Ben Gregg (Portland) and Kaden Perry (Battle Ground) attended GU-BYU game, spent time with coaches afterward. Gregg has multiple Pac-12 offers. Perry, who hasn't been on AAU circuit, but has drawn interest from Oregon State

Lovely. Maybe I'm selfish, but I love Bittle's game and want him to be a Zag. That said, Perry looks great and does remind me of Clarke.

Spoko13
02-27-2019, 09:50 PM
Really like Bittle but he runs with West Coast Elite - he’s not going to GU....Gregg on the other hand seems very likely given it seems like it was said GU is his dream school.

Another 2021 big deserves his own thread - Paolo Banchero out of O’Dea in Seattle. Top 5 national recruit in our backyard who was at GU team camp last year.

One of Coach Few’s sons is 2021 and plays AAU - coaches have seen plenty of Banchero - only problem is both his parents went to UW so they’ll be hard to beat most likely.

Spoko13
02-27-2019, 10:34 PM
Rose City EYBL just announced Perry running with them on Nike Circuit and just got offer from Montana....their post says he’s a young soph - still only 15

caldwellzag
02-28-2019, 06:53 AM
Really like Bittle but he runs with West Coast Elite - he’s not going to GU....Gregg on the other hand seems very likely given it seems like it was said GU is his dream school.

Another 2021 big deserves his own thread - Paolo Banchero out of O’Dea in Seattle. Top 5 national recruit in our backyard who was at GU team camp last year.

One of Coach Few’s sons is 2021 and plays AAU - coaches have seen plenty of Banchero - only problem is both his parents went to UW so they’ll be hard to beat most likely.

From what I have heard Banchero is not a serious option at this point, hints why he does not have his own thread. We are aware of him of course, but UW seems like the logical landing spot at this point in time. Things can change though.

Gregg will end up being our first 2021 commit I have been saying that for awhile now and will reiterate that once he is offered expect a commitment very shortly after.

Bittle we really like and he has mentioned he likes us to, I would not worry about what AAU program he runs with, as GU is a national brand now and we can land kids from any level of high school/AAU program.

caldwellzag
02-28-2019, 06:53 AM
Rose City EYBL just announced Perry running with them on Nike Circuit and just got offer from Montana....their post says he’s a young soph - still only 15

We have an eye on Perry and really like him, but like you said he is young, so this spring and summer will be important for him and his recruitment.

BobZag
02-28-2019, 11:28 AM
Thrilled at the mere thought Zags are going after Gregg, Perry and possibly Bittle. Two out of three would a success.

caldwellzag
02-28-2019, 11:59 AM
Thrilled at the mere thought Zags are going after Gregg, Perry and possibly Bittle. Two out of three would a success.

Same! Two would be a huge start to 2021's class.

Zagdawg
04-20-2019, 09:30 AM
Jake

Verified account

@jakeweingarten
31m31 minutes ago
More
Update on five-star sophomore Nate Bittle: Oregon’s Dana Altman will see him within the next two weeks, a source told @Stockrisers.

Gonzaga, Arizona, and St. Mary’s all have been in touch and will have someone watch Bittle when UAA is in Kansas City next week.

jimmycarter
04-21-2019, 09:45 AM
By looking at the Vegas tape, Bittle impresses me with his handle and perimeter shooting. Being a tall, thin kid from Oregon, how does he compare with Wiltjer as a high schooler? I know KW was a burger boy and all.

caldwellzag
04-23-2019, 07:44 AM
Another name to watch

https://twitter.com/jakeweingarten/status/1120699163761610753

kitzbuel
04-23-2019, 09:26 AM
Another name to watch

https://twitter.com/jakeweingarten/status/1120699163761610753

Do the Zags recruit anyone shorter that 6'8" anymore?

Zagdawg
04-23-2019, 09:29 AM
Caleb Furst

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QBGQsxSsCRY&feature=youtu.be

caldwellzag
04-23-2019, 09:51 AM
Do the Zags recruit anyone shorter that 6'8" anymore?

Dom Harris and Brock Ravet, but that's about it.

Zagdawg
04-23-2019, 09:58 AM
Mark Miller


@WisBBYearbook
13m13 minutes ago
More
Coaches from Wisconsin, Michigan, Gonzaga, Texas Tech, Temple and Valparaiso among those who plan to watch 2021 PG Cam Palesse (6-4) of Waukesha West and @WisconsinPGC in Kansas City this weekend.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fbdiJbMvFkY

caldwellzag
04-23-2019, 10:02 AM
Names are going to start coming up like crazy, just another one to watch...

https://twitter.com/WisBBYearbook/status/1120730422609088516

Spoko13
04-24-2019, 08:35 AM
5 kids from WA/OR on the ESPN 2021 Top 60 just released:

6) Paolo Banchero - Seattle/O’Dea
13) Nathan Bittle - OR/Crater
30) Ben Gregg - OR/Columbia Christian
40) Shane Nowell - Seattle/E. Catholic but site says Garfield now
47) John Christofilis - Seattle/O’Dea


http://www.espn.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/playerrankings/_/class/2021

caldwellzag
04-24-2019, 08:40 AM
5 kids from WA/OR on the ESPN 2021 Top 60 just released:

6) Paolo Banchero - Seattle/O’Dea
13) Nathan Bittle - OR/Crater
30) Ben Gregg - OR/Columbia Christian
40) Shane Nowell - Seattle/E. Catholic but site says Garfield now
47) John Christofilis - Seattle/O’Dea


http://www.espn.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/playerrankings/_/class/2021

Interesting to see Gregg rated that high. He is good and he is definitely a GU target (I said it back a few months when we offer I full expect him to commit), but didn't think he would be top 30.

caldwellzag
04-24-2019, 09:28 AM
Jake has good sources, as I can confirm this as well...

https://twitter.com/jakeweingarten/status/1121086327683002368

ttown0026
04-24-2019, 11:48 AM
Interesting to see Gregg rated that high. He is good and he is definitely a GU target (I said it back a few months when we offer I full expect him to commit), but didn't think he would be top 30.

Gregg is a stud. I hope GU offers him soon!

zagsfanforlife
04-24-2019, 11:56 AM
Who have we currently offered or are looking at in the top 100?

exclusivelee
04-24-2019, 12:16 PM
Chet Holmgren at #17

caldwellzag
04-25-2019, 07:39 AM
Who have we currently offered or are looking at in the top 100?

From what I have been told Chet is the only 2021 offer we have put out there. I would expect Gregg receives an offer this spring and Bittle.

Zagdawg
04-26-2019, 07:51 PM
Jake

Verified account

@jakeweingarten
Following Following @jakeweingarten
More
Five-star sophomore Harrison Ingram had a packed house tonight: Stanford’s Jerod Haase, UNC, Memphis, Kansas, Michigan State, Michigan, Texas, Gonzaga, Purdue, Baylor, among many others.

webspinnre
04-26-2019, 09:43 PM
Jake

Verified account

@jakeweingarten
Following Following @jakeweingarten
More
Five-star sophomore Harrison Ingram had a packed house tonight: Stanford’s Jerod Haase, UNC, Memphis, Kansas, Michigan State, Michigan, Texas, Gonzaga, Purdue, Baylor, among many others.

If Few is in Minneapolis, I wonder who's down in Texas?

gonzagafan62
04-26-2019, 10:25 PM
If Few is in Minneapolis, I wonder who's down in Texas?

My guess is porter. Former SEC assistant

Zagdawg
04-28-2019, 08:06 AM
Coach AM Fobb


@warlock7506
Follow Follow @warlock7506
More
Ben Gregg has Gonzaga entire staff watching him vs JL3 he is not disappointing

Zagdawg
04-28-2019, 08:13 AM
"Four-star power forward Jackson Grant of Washington Supreme and class of 2021 just earned his first college offer from Pepperdine on Thursday.

I predict that the Pac 12 will be following in short order. At least if what he did on Friday night is any indication of what to expect as he sparkled in a 18 point, 11 rebound effort.

Jackson is a lean and mobile big man with great hands, soft touch and good athleticism. Looking ahead he projects as capable of playing the four or the five in college. He should be able to stretch floors and will undoubtedly bulk up.

Washington was in to see him during the week and Stanford, Colorado and UCLA have been involved. Grant said that he hadn't yet heard from Gonzaga but considering he plays with the son of a Zags assistant and that Mark Few kept looking over from another court, I'd expect them to get involved as well. Big upside with Grant."


https://basketballrecruiting.rivals.com/news/under-armour-live-bossi-s-friday-takes

Zagdawg
04-29-2019, 11:36 AM
Jackson Grant


@jpgrant12
14h14 hours ago
More
Blessed and excited to have received an offer from the University of Washington

basketballzag
04-29-2019, 05:16 PM
If Few is in Minneapolis, I wonder who's down in Texas?

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D5V2MLsXkAIT7Wf?format=jpg&name=small

Mark and Tommy are in Kansas City today checking out some of the talent out there. Jalen Suggs is playing in the UAA under 17s a few hours ago.

Spoko13
04-30-2019, 04:47 PM
PAC-12 starting in on Bittle too now with UCLA offering this weekend (saw on Instagram). Not sure if UO or OSU have offered yet but wouldn’t be surprised.

Would love to see GU go in hard on him, Gregg and Holmgren!!

Ladyzag12
05-01-2019, 02:48 AM
Bittle is a shoo in for Oregon.

Spoko13
05-02-2019, 07:13 PM
Kaden Perry - 6’9” PF Battle Ground HS/ Rose City EYBL just offered by UW per Twitter

azzagfan
05-04-2019, 05:28 AM
Chet Holmgren is blowing up on the UAA circuit. He'll move up from his already high ranking.
http://uaa.io/stats.aspx?path=17u&year=2019

8th in Scoring
2nd in Rebounding
1st in Blocked Shots (at 5.7 blks/game, that's 4 blks/game ahead of #2)

WallaWallaZag
05-05-2019, 05:31 AM
Chet Holmgren is blowing up on the UAA circuit. He'll move up from his already high ranking.
http://uaa.io/stats.aspx?path=17u&year=2019

8th in Scoring
2nd in Rebounding
1st in Blocked Shots (at 5.7 blks/game, that's 4 blks/game ahead of #2)

if he ever gets some meat on those bones, he'll be unstoppable...

SLOZag
05-07-2019, 10:58 AM
Jaden Hardy -- as a 6'4" shooting guard -- is ranked by Rivals as #6 in his class. He lives in the western US (Las Vegas), and already has 14 offers, most from power schools -- but no offer from GU. Jaden is currently thought to be a UNLV lean. https://n.rivals.com/content/prospects/2021/jaden-hardy-208205#school-interests

What makes our apparent lack of interest in Jaden more curious is the fact that Jaden plays AAU ball with Vegas Elite -- Julian's AAU team. This leads me to think that our coaches have seen what Jaden has been able to accomplish -- even as a sophomore. https://www.d1circuit.com/game/show/25151036?subseason=599727&referrer=4907868

I can make any number of guesses as to why we apparently haven't gotten into the mix, but if someone out there has some actual info, I'd appreciate hearing about it.

caldwellzag
05-07-2019, 11:03 AM
Jaden Hardy -- as a 6'4" shooting guard -- is ranked by Rivals as #6 in his class. He lives in the western US (Las Vegas), and already has 14 offers, most from power schools -- but no offer from GU. Jaden is currently thought to be a UNLV lean. https://n.rivals.com/content/prospects/2021/jaden-hardy-208205#school-interests

What makes our apparent lack of interest in Jaden more curious is the fact that Jaden plays AAU ball with Vegas Elite -- Julian's AAU team. This leads me to think that our coaches have seen what Jaden has been able to accomplish -- even as a sophomore. https://www.d1circuit.com/game/show/25151036?subseason=599727&referrer=4907868

I can make any number of guesses as to why we apparently haven't gotten into the mix, but if someone out there has some actual info, I'd appreciate hearing about it.

Remember we have only one offer for 2021 out and that is to Chet. Don't be shocked if we get more involved here in the near future. Dom Harris is a rare early offer and commit for us, we do a ton of evaluating of kids before offering.

ZagBlue
05-07-2019, 11:59 AM
Remember we have only one offer for 2021 out and that is to Chet. Don't be shocked if we get more involved here in the near future. Dom Harris is a rare early offer and commit for us, we do a ton of evaluating of kids before offering.

This! As we start to compete further and further with the big boys for recruits, it can’t be stressed enough to recruits that we are not out there simply handing out offers to every good recruit we see play. As the mystique and intrigue of Gonzaga basketball continues to grow, so does the value of our offers. Our staff does a great job of further emphasizing this but doing their homework before offering and making sure the recruit understands that they are truly wanted (and not just another Gonzaga offerree).

hooter73
05-07-2019, 01:03 PM
I have ZERO idea on him, so I do not mean this to mean him in this case, but you have to remember GU recruits on character as well as talent. There may be myriads of different reasons why we are not on any kid on any given day, even the top ranked ones.

thespywhozaggedme
05-07-2019, 01:05 PM
I have ZERO idea on him, so I do not mean this to mean him in this case, but you have to remember GU recruits on character as well as talent. There may be myriads of different reasons why we are not on any kid on any given day, even the top ranked ones.

Emac got kicked outta 2 different schools. Just sayin'

hooter73
05-07-2019, 02:15 PM
and for all we know excelled as a player and a person at GU. The ole we know about 5% of what actually happens with recruiting is always relevant.

LTownZag
05-07-2019, 02:54 PM
Emac got kicked outta 2 different schools. Just sayin'


One school (Vanderbilt).

His first coach, who was fired by Tulsa prompting Eric's transfer, actually helped convince Few to bring him to Gonzaga.


http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2016/jan/13/gonzagas-eric-mcclellan-motivated-to-excel/

thespywhozaggedme
05-07-2019, 03:16 PM
One school (Vanderbilt).

His first coach, who was fired by Tulsa prompting Eric's transfer, actually helped convince Few to bring him to Gonzaga.


http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2016/jan/13/gonzagas-eric-mcclellan-motivated-to-excel/

Ah, ok. I thought that it was two. Still, shows that not everyone that comes to GU is squeaky clean, and that's ok, as long as the learn, grow and mature.

Zagdawg
05-27-2019, 09:04 AM
Ryan Silver


@RyanSilver1
47m47 minutes ago
More
Congrats to 2021 Nathan Bittle Crater OR "The Alligator" who is in Final 13 at USA Basketball. Very proud of Nathan. #WestCoastElite #wceua #ALLIN

caldwellzag
06-21-2019, 07:31 AM
Oh July is going to be a blast!!! The 2021 recruits we are on are some of the highest rated recruits we have ever been on at GU. Maybe the lowest rates recruit out of all of them is the one we are highest on because he is a local hidden gem. Start throwing out wild guess about who all we are on. More to come in the coming days!!

Chicken Ball
06-21-2019, 08:38 AM
Oh July is going to be a blast!!! The 2021 recruits we are on are some of the highest rated recruits we have ever been on at GU. Maybe the lowest rates recruit out of all of them is the one we are highest on because he is a local hidden gem. Start throwing out wild guess about who all we are on. More to come in the coming days!!

OK, I'll take a crack, based on top-25 247 Sports rankings, rumors we've already heard, and schools we've gotten players from in the past:

JT Thor from Huntington Prep: https://247sports.com/Player/JT-Thor-46057216/
Suggs' teammate Chet Holgren: https://247sports.com/Player/Chet-Holmgren-46057349/
Nathan Bittle from OR: https://247sports.com/Player/Nathan-Bittle-46057583/
Keon Edwards from Findlay Prep: https://247sports.com/Player/Keon-Edwards-46057019/

Any of those look promising?

caldwellzag
06-21-2019, 08:41 AM
OK, I'll take a crack, based on top-25 247 Sports rankings, rumors we've already heard, and schools we've gotten players from in the past:

JT Thor from Huntington Prep: https://247sports.com/Player/JT-Thor-46057216/
Suggs' teammate Chet Holgren: https://247sports.com/Player/Chet-Holmgren-46057349/
Nathan Bittle from OR: https://247sports.com/Player/Nathan-Bittle-46057583/
Keon Edwards from Findlay Prep: https://247sports.com/Player/Keon-Edwards-46057019/

Any of those look promising?

Definitely on two.

bdmiller7
06-21-2019, 09:02 AM
Definitely on two.

Once Suggs commits we should be in a really good spot to land Holmgren.

scrooner
06-21-2019, 10:46 AM
Oh July is going to be a blast!!! The 2021 recruits we are on are some of the highest rated recruits we have ever been on at GU. Maybe the lowest rates recruit out of all of them is the one we are highest on because he is a local hidden gem. Start throwing out wild guess about who all we are on. More to come in the coming days!!

You dirty dog.

Hooray4Daye&Gray
06-21-2019, 11:15 AM
Oh July is going to be a blast!!! The 2021 recruits we are on are some of the highest rated recruits we have ever been on at GU. Maybe the lowest rates recruit out of all of them is the one we are highest on because he is a local hidden gem. Start throwing out wild guess about who all we are on. More to come in the coming days!!

Is Ben Gregg "local"?

caldwellzag
06-21-2019, 11:22 AM
Is Ben Gregg "local"?

He is but don't count on him as of right now. He will need to have a huge summer.

caldwellzag
06-21-2019, 11:23 AM
You dirty dog.

�� Let's have some fun on here!!

caldwellzag
06-21-2019, 11:24 AM
The Powell factor is going to be big in 2021!

bdmiller7
06-21-2019, 11:29 AM
Is Ben Gregg "local"?

I know Ben Gregg visited with Kaden Perry for a game last year. I think Perry is from Battle Ground and has an offer from UW.

Hooray4Daye&Gray
06-21-2019, 11:31 AM
He is but don't count on him as of right now. He will need to have a huge summer.

Does this imply that he needs to have a huge summer to be worth us giving him a scholarship instead of someone else? If so, that is a tremendous sign of things to come.

Fans are going to have to get used to waiting on the "bird in the hand" players as we start to land players that will choose us over the blue bloods. I love how we aren't giving up on a guy like Chet Holmgren just because every blue blood wants him as bad as we do. We have something special to offer!!

EEzag
06-21-2019, 11:42 AM
Does this imply that he needs to have a huge summer to be worth us giving him a scholarship instead of someone else? If so, that is a tremendous sign of things to come.

Fans are going to have to get used to waiting on the "bird in the hand" players as we start to land players that will choose us over the blue bloods. I love how we aren't giving up on a guy like Chet Holmgren just because every blue blood wants him as bad as we do. We have something special to offer!!

Does this make us a purple-blood?

SLOZag
06-23-2019, 12:47 PM
Oh July is going to be a blast!!! The 2021 recruits we are on are some of the highest rated recruits we have ever been on at GU. Maybe the lowest rates recruit out of all of them is the one we are highest on because he is a local hidden gem. Start throwing out wild guess about who all we are on. More to come in the coming days!!

Any chance you are referring to five-star center Walker Kessler?

"[T]he 7-footer out of Fairburn (Ga.) Woodward Academy ... has tremendous touch for a guy his size, and he showed that knocking down all four of his three-point attempts, plus a 15-foot jumper [in a recent tournament]. Kessler said he spent a lot of time working on his stroke while out with an ankle injury in the spring. “When I hurt my ankle I was literally sitting in a chair for three weeks shooting a shot, getting my form right so my shot feels really good right now,” Kessler said. ... Kessler is light on his feet and moves quite well, especially when you factor in his size. He was active in the paint and didn’t allow any free looks around the rim.

On Saturday, assistant coaches from Auburn and Michigan watched him play. They are two of the five schools that are heavily involved in his recruitment. “Right now, I think I got a top five or top six,” Kessler said. “It’s more of schools that I feel like are heavily recruiting me: Michigan, Gonzaga, Auburn, Duke, UNC, I think that’s it.” Of his list of five, Kessler has taken official visits to Auburn, Duke and Michigan. His most recent visit was to Auburn the weekend of June 1st.

One of the next steps in his recruiting process is setting up fall official visits, and Kessler is planning to visit all five of the schools on his list. “I’m going to take one to Gonzaga but I haven’t scheduled it yet but sometime soon,” Kessler said. “I’m going to take another one to Michigan to see the new coaching staff. I really like Coach [Juwan] Howard and the program there. Then I’m going to take another one to Duke and then to UNC. Auburn I will probably take an unofficial because it’s so close to home.”

What sticks out about the remaining three on his list? Gonzaga: “With Gonzaga you have four or five big men that fit the bill at my place, a stretch big that can shoot the three and spread the floor and that’s really appealing.”

... In terms of a decision timeline, Kessler doesn’t have a specific date but is tracking towards a decision near signing day. Kessler currently ranks as the No. 15 overall prospect and No. 4 center in the 247Sports Composite Rankings."

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Walker-Kessler-Auburn-Duke-Gonzaga-Michigan-North-Carolina-Five-star-133116087/

caldwellzag
06-23-2019, 04:29 PM
Any chance you are referring to five-star center Walker Kessler?

"[T]he 7-footer out of Fairburn (Ga.) Woodward Academy ... has tremendous touch for a guy his size, and he showed that knocking down all four of his three-point attempts, plus a 15-foot jumper [in a recent tournament]. Kessler said he spent a lot of time working on his stroke while out with an ankle injury in the spring. “When I hurt my ankle I was literally sitting in a chair for three weeks shooting a shot, getting my form right so my shot feels really good right now,” Kessler said. ... Kessler is light on his feet and moves quite well, especially when you factor in his size. He was active in the paint and didn’t allow any free looks around the rim.

On Saturday, assistant coaches from Auburn and Michigan watched him play. They are two of the five schools that are heavily involved in his recruitment. “Right now, I think I got a top five or top six,” Kessler said. “It’s more of schools that I feel like are heavily recruiting me: Michigan, Gonzaga, Auburn, Duke, UNC, I think that’s it.” Of his list of five, Kessler has taken official visits to Auburn, Duke and Michigan. His most recent visit was to Auburn the weekend of June 1st.

One of the next steps in his recruiting process is setting up fall official visits, and Kessler is planning to visit all five of the schools on his list. “I’m going to take one to Gonzaga but I haven’t scheduled it yet but sometime soon,” Kessler said. “I’m going to take another one to Michigan to see the new coaching staff. I really like Coach [Juwan] Howard and the program there. Then I’m going to take another one to Duke and then to UNC. Auburn I will probably take an unofficial because it’s so close to home.”

What sticks out about the remaining three on his list? Gonzaga: “With Gonzaga you have four or five big men that fit the bill at my place, a stretch big that can shoot the three and spread the floor and that’s really appealing.”

... In terms of a decision timeline, Kessler doesn’t have a specific date but is tracking towards a decision near signing day. Kessler currently ranks as the No. 15 overall prospect and No. 4 center in the 247Sports Composite Rankings."

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Walker-Kessler-Auburn-Duke-Gonzaga-Michigan-North-Carolina-Five-star-133116087/

Walker is a 2020 recruit and we are hard on him and I will make a bold statement right now I think he is part of our 2020 class.

ccpinky
06-24-2019, 05:46 PM
Oh July is going to be a blast!!! The 2021 recruits we are on are some of the highest rated recruits we have ever been on at GU. Maybe the lowest rates recruit out of all of them is the one we are highest on because he is a local hidden gem. Start throwing out wild guess about who all we are on. More to come in the coming days!!

Possibly another GSL product..

soccerdud
06-24-2019, 06:59 PM
Possibly another GSL product..

was guessing kaden perry myself...

Snagglezag
06-24-2019, 07:05 PM
Possibly another GSL product..

Tyson Degenhart from Mt. Spokane?

Spoko13
06-25-2019, 11:00 AM
If it is Degengart there’s not a player Few has seen more of over the last 6 years. Tyson is a winner and just plays the game the right way. He’s not going to blow you away athletically but I would love to see him land at GU!

cggonzaga
06-25-2019, 01:32 PM
If it is Degengart there’s not a player Few has seen more of over the last 6 years. Tyson is a winner and just plays the game the right way. He’s not going to blow you away athletically but I would love to see him land at GU!

I don’t see this happening unless it’s as a preferred walk-on. Nice player but not GU level.

Spoko13
06-25-2019, 07:44 PM
Guess we’ll see.....but he’s the only “local hidden gem” that could conceivably be a GU target.....of course I assume that Eastern WA is what’s considered “local”.......other 2021 “local” D1 prospects after Degenhart, in no particular order: Landdeck, Pepper, Hicks, Omlin, Gilstrap, Flemming, Skalskiy, Young....not much after that even sniffing any level of D1 imo...

Zagdawg
06-26-2019, 07:29 PM
Inside The Kennel


@InsideTheKennel
27m27 minutes ago
More
Gonzaga will have 2021 target @Kaden_Perry20, and his Battle Ground high school teammates @Coach_Melo on campus this week. Check out why the Zags are so high on him (hint..he reminds some of @brandonclarke23)

Worthington
06-26-2019, 08:40 PM
https://www.hudl.com/profile/10233977/Kaden-Perry

Watched some of his highlights on Hudl and I can definitely see similarities to Brandon Clarke. Looks like a kid who is going to rise a ton in the recruiting rankings in the coming months.

caldwellzag
06-26-2019, 08:46 PM
Inside The Kennel


@InsideTheKennel
27m27 minutes ago
More
Gonzaga will have 2021 target @Kaden_Perry20, and his Battle Ground high school teammates @Coach_Melo on campus this week. Check out why the Zags are so high on him (hint..he reminds some of @brandonclarke23)

Hmm maybe I hinted at him in my earlier post, seems local to me.

caldwellzag
06-26-2019, 08:47 PM
was guessing kaden perry myself...

I like that guess

cggonzaga
06-27-2019, 12:03 AM
I like that guess

I thought of Perry as well who I’ve been high on for a while. What about Jabe Mullins from Mt Si?

VinnyZag
06-27-2019, 12:28 PM
Perry has committed, according to Scorebook Live's Andy Buhler: https://scorebooklive.com/washington/2019/06/27/after-offer-battle-ground-2021-forward-kaden-perry-commits-to-gonzaga-on-the-spot/

ZagsObserver
06-27-2019, 12:45 PM
Very nice. If we get Suggs and Kessler we are set for the next few years, and dare I say “stacked” on the frontline?

caldwellzag
06-27-2019, 04:03 PM
Perry has committed, according to Scorebook Live's Andy Buhler: https://scorebooklive.com/washington/2019/06/27/after-offer-battle-ground-2021-forward-kaden-perry-commits-to-gonzaga-on-the-spot/

Ye he did. He was called up to Few's office during the camp and received the offer, he accepted. Great pick up. I had heard this was a very likely scenario last week. Perry is going to be a stud!

Spoko13
06-27-2019, 04:51 PM
Fantastic pickup!! Thanks for all your hard work Caldwell!!

OZZY
06-27-2019, 09:18 PM
Caldwell, how do you think this commitment by Perry will affect our chances with Holmgren and Gregg?

caldwellzag
06-28-2019, 06:35 AM
Caldwell, how do you think this commitment by Perry will affect our chances with Holmgren and Gregg?

It won't affect Holmgren at all, Gregg has not performed well in front of our staff

cggonzaga
06-28-2019, 07:49 AM
Caldwell, do we have any interest in Jabe Mullins?

Zagdawg
06-28-2019, 08:22 AM
Nike Elite 100: Top 10 class of 2021 Performers

Name: Paolo Banchero

Position: Power Forward

247Sports Composite Ranking: No. 5

Recruiting: Washington, Oregon, Kentucky, Gonzaga, UCLA, USC, Memphis and others

While the power forward position continues to evolve, Banchero is actually a bit of a throwback. He is a big forward who plays inside and in the mid-range, and dominates on the glass. While he is a bit old school in his game, that doesn't make his future any less bright or his present any less effective. Banchero was absolutely dominant at times during the camp, and showed why he is one of the most productive players in the class. He has tremendous length, is a good athlete, and really prides himself on rebounding the ball. Add in a nice scoring touch, and there weren't many answers for Banchero at the event.

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/ContentGallery/Jonathan-Kuminga-Chet-Holmgren-Minnesota-Ohio-State-Malaki-Branham-Indiana-Louisville-Khristian-Lander-Kentucky-133257845/#133257845_4

scrooner
06-28-2019, 09:47 AM
Banchero is from O'Dea, with 7 Crystal Ball predictions (100%) for UW.

Unless he wants to get out of town (and some kids do), this seems like a really long shot to me.

caldwellzag
06-28-2019, 09:55 AM
Caldwell, do we have any interest in Jabe Mullins?

He has not come up in my conversations with my guys.

caldwellzag
06-28-2019, 09:56 AM
Banchero is from O'Dea, with 7 Crystal Ball predictions (100%) for UW.

Unless he wants to get out of town (and some kids do), this seems like a really long shot to me.

It will be a complete uphill battle, but we are putting the time in... Washington is near a lock, as his mom was a star basketball player there.

maynard g krebs
06-28-2019, 02:21 PM
Caldwell, do we have any interest in Jabe Mullins?

I wasn't particularly impressed by Mullins at the state tourney. Good skill level overall, but not very strong or athletic. I've read that he has some high major interest, but I saw him as a midlevel WCC type player- USF or USD type. At 6'5 or 6'6, he can shoot and pass well and handle the ball ok. Looks young and might grow into a stronger, more athletic guy, but at this point I didn't see him as looking like Zag level.

After seeing Mt Si in the semifinal at the state tourney, I posted here that I expected G Prep to blow out Mt Si by 20+ in the final, and that Watson would have a huge game as Mt Si had no one who could contain him. Anton scored I think 33 on something like 16/19 shooting.

cggonzaga
06-28-2019, 07:36 PM
I wasn't particularly impressed by Mullins at the state tourney. Good skill level overall, but not very strong or athletic. I've read that he has some high major interest, but I saw him as a midlevel WCC type player- USF or USD type. At 6'5 or 6'6, he can shoot and pass well and handle the ball ok. Looks young and might grow into a stronger, more athletic guy, but at this point I didn't see him as looking like Zag level.

After seeing Mt Si in the semifinal at the state tourney, I posted here that I expected G Prep to blow out Mt Si by 20+ in the final, and that Watson would have a huge game as Mt Si had no one who could contain him. Anton scored I think 33 on something like 16/19 shooting.

I’ve heard the same but he seems to be blowing up this summer. Think he has 4 PAC 12 offers now.

caldwellzag
06-29-2019, 08:19 AM
I’ve heard the same but he seems to be blowing up this summer. Think he has 4 PAC 12 offers now.

I will ask about him, but honestly 2021 is about getting a big to go along with Perry and a PG to replace Suggs (yep he is one and done, but that one year will be amazing).

GuZag2012
06-29-2019, 09:04 AM
Based on everything I’ve seen on Twitter & 247 isn’t Jabe Mullins a 2020 kid anyways.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hooray4Daye&Gray
06-29-2019, 10:04 AM
I will ask about him, but honestly 2021 is about getting a big to go along with Perry and a PG to replace Suggs (yep he is one and done, but that one year will be amazing).

Big Option 1 - Chet Holmgren to keep the Minnesota pipeline flowing

His shooting would match him nicely with Perry, and the two would be an insane defensive duo down low.

I'm hoping we don't hear much about Big Option 2 or Big Option 3, because that might mean Big Option 1 is drifting away.

Chet said he'd visit Spokane. Hopefully he's one of the guys that comes for Kraziness in the Kennel. Jalen has a football game the night of October 4, but maybe he'd come out for October 5 and 6 with Chet, Julian, Dom, etc?

Zagdawg
07-14-2019, 07:47 AM
Paolo (Paul-Oh) Paolo Banchero


@Pp_doesit
14h14 hours ago
More
Blessed and grateful to be offered by Coach Few and Gonzaga University! #ZagUp �� ⬆️

https://247sports.com/Player/Paolo-Banchero-46055770/

Hoopaholic
07-14-2019, 09:05 AM
Paolo (Paul-Oh) Paolo Banchero


@Pp_doesit
14h14 hours ago
More
Blessed and grateful to be offered by Coach Few and Gonzaga University! #ZagUp �� ⬆️

https://247sports.com/Player/Paolo-Banchero-46055770/

Oh I am loving this

HenneZag
07-14-2019, 10:52 AM
Oh I am loving this

Some heavy hitters involved! Love his game.

ZagaZags
07-14-2019, 04:41 PM
Oh I am loving this

Damn, he even put a #ZagUp in his post. Sounds like a Zag to me. I love it.

webspinnre
07-14-2019, 05:18 PM
Oh I am loving this

Crystal Ball currently showing 100% UW, but I'd be stoked if he came east.

ZagRecruitWatch
07-24-2019, 02:51 PM
2021 Peyton Watson drawing some attention from Zag staff https://www.zagsblog.com/2019/07/24/peyton-watson-planning-first-official-visit/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=peyton-watson-planning-first-official-visit

Zagdawg
07-27-2019, 01:46 PM
Andrew Slater
@Andrew__Slater
·
19h
5⭐️Paolo Banchero’21
@Pp_doesit
of Seattle Rotary said he hears daily from Gonzaga & near daily with Duke and North Carolina. Frequent contact from both Tennessee and Memphis. Washington (lives 20 minutes away) and UCLA are two PAC-12 schools recruiting him hard

Zagdawg
07-27-2019, 05:05 PM
Evan Daniels
@EvanDaniels
USA Basketball: 2021 wing Peyton Watson shows promise, continues to add high major interest
https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Peyton-Watson-Basketball-Utah-Arizona-State-SDSU-2021-wing-133970855/

caldwellzag
07-28-2019, 06:57 AM
Crazy some of the names I am starting to hear. Top 15 talents across board! From guards to bigs. Going to be another amazing class. When I get time I will break down the real targets, Paolo is definitely priority #1, but some others that haven't even been mentioned. If we land three of these guys we are in the running for the top class in 2021.

cggonzaga
07-28-2019, 11:34 PM
Intriguing.

Mr Vulture
07-29-2019, 10:27 AM
Crazy some of the names I am starting to hear. Top 15 talents across board! From guards to bigs. Going to be another amazing class. When I get time I will break down the real targets, Paolo is definitely priority #1, but some others that haven't even been mentioned. If we land three of these guys we are in the running for the top class in 2021.

Thanks Caldwell, can't wait to see the list. :)

webspinnre
07-29-2019, 11:23 AM
Crazy some of the names I am starting to hear. Top 15 talents across board! From guards to bigs. Going to be another amazing class. When I get time I will break down the real targets, Paolo is definitely priority #1, but some others that haven't even been mentioned. If we land three of these guys we are in the running for the top class in 2021.

Hearing things like that makes me drool a bit like one of Pavlov's dogs.

Bogozags
07-30-2019, 03:15 AM
Hearing things like that makes me drool a bit like one of Pavlov's dogs.

I seem to be hearing bells in the back of my head all the time...

SLOZag
08-03-2019, 10:01 AM
Paulo "is ‘seriously considering’ a reclassification into the class of 2020.

“There are a lot of benefits to moving up to 2020,” Banchero told USA Today. “The biggest is just that it takes off a year of wear and tear on your body. I’ve had coaches tell me that I could play right now; I don’t know about that, but I know I’ll be ready a year from now. There’s a lot to weigh out; I’m not saying I’m definitely gonna do it. I’m strongly considering it though.”

...

"Perhaps, giving credence to Banchero’s claim that there are no favorites in his recruitment is that he’s already planning visits to both Duke and Kentucky in the fall, and says he’ll use up all of his official visits this season. Don’t be surprised if some combination of Gonzaga, Kansas, Memphis, North Carolina and Tennessee get Banchero’s remaining three official visits."

https://keepingitheel.com/2019/08/03/unc-basketball-paulo-banchero-discusses-recruitment-possible-reclass/

scrooner
08-03-2019, 10:55 AM
"Perhaps, giving credence to Banchero’s claim that there are no favorites in his recruitment is that he’s already planning visits to both Duke and Kentucky in the fall, and says he’ll use up all of his official visits this season. Don’t be surprised if some combination of Gonzaga, Kansas, Memphis, North Carolina and Tennessee get Banchero’s remaining three official visits."


Should we read anything into him not taking an official visit to UW? Or is that just because he can do unofficial visits there whenever he feels like driving 15 minutes to the north?

zagssuperfan
08-03-2019, 11:16 AM
Should we read anything into him not taking an official visit to UW? Or is that just because he can do unofficial visits there whenever he feels like driving 15 minutes to the north?

I don't know where the article is, but I read something where he specifically said that. He grew up there and knows everything about the program already. Honestly, I think he ends up at UW, Duke, or Kentucky. He's not going to stay in state at a none blue blood, unless it's UW.

ZagRecruitWatch
09-20-2019, 08:44 AM
Gonzaga to meet with 2021 Kennedy Chandler, PG from Tennessee.

zagfan08
09-20-2019, 09:21 AM
Kennedy Chandler does not seem like a guy we’d typically recruit. I’ve heard Paolo tell Jake Weingarten the one player he’s talked about teaming up with is Chandler. Kind of wonder if we’re getting involved because Paolo wants Kennedy to consider us? Feels like they could just go to Kentucky or Tennessee or Memphis unless there’s something special about Gonzaga to one of them. Might be reading too much into this but we don’t usually jump into a recruitment late and try to beat out the blue bloods.

caldwellzag
09-20-2019, 09:32 AM
Kennedy Chandler does not seem like a guy we’d typically recruit. I’ve heard Paolo tell Jake Weingarten the one player he’s talked about teaming up with is Chandler. Kind of wonder if we’re getting involved because Paolo wants Kennedy to consider us? Feels like they could just go to Kentucky or Tennessee or Memphis unless there’s something special about Gonzaga to one of them. Might be reading too much into this but we don’t usually jump into a recruitment late and try to beat out the blue bloods.

There is something to the Paolo/Chandler connection. Keep the name in mind moving forward.

zagfan08
09-20-2019, 09:51 AM
They’ve visiting Tennessee together. To me, if we have a chance, it’s because Paolo really likes us. Or else they’d just go to one of those schools together. Obviously they could end up doing their own thing too. Ultimately I think this visit with Kennedy is a pretty good sign Paolo is very interested. Also, pretty sure UW isn’t in on Kennedy, at least not yet.

caldwellzag
09-20-2019, 10:11 AM
They’ve visiting Tennessee together. To me, if we have a chance, it’s because Paolo really likes us. Or else they’d just go to one of those schools together. Obviously they could end up doing their own thing too. Ultimately I think this visit with Kennedy is a pretty good sign Paolo is very interested. Also, pretty sure UW isn’t in on Kennedy, at least not yet.

It is a good sign and we are doing some work. There is real interest from Paolo at this point in time.

Jazz I know I know, pass the pipe, but we are in a good spot with Paolo.

ZagRecruitWatch
09-20-2019, 11:14 AM
It is a good sign and we are doing some work. There is real interest from Paolo at this point in time.

Jazz I know I know, pass the pipe, but we are in a good spot with Paolo.

I think Jazz might be swallowing some crow right now after he's seen the visits coming to Kraziness.

jazzdelmar
09-20-2019, 01:38 PM
I think Jazz might be swallowing some crow right now after he's seen the visits coming to Kraziness.

Not at all, but the mixed metaphors are dizzying.

ZagRecruitWatch
09-20-2019, 08:39 PM
Not sure where to post this but I thought it was interesting, Tyson Degenhart a local talent from Mount Spokane High School has committed to Boise State. Always cool to see local talent make it to the D1 level.

sittingon50
09-20-2019, 09:05 PM
Good for him (& Leon).

bdmiller7
09-26-2019, 07:43 AM
It's pretty crazy how recruiting has jumped a level for GU. A year or two ago a consensus top 100 guy like Ben Gregg who wants to be a Zag would have already committed, but now we're keeping an eye on him as almost a backup plan. I hope in the end we have a schollie for him. We need those guys that will be here 3-4 years to bring continuity to the program.

LTownZag
09-26-2019, 08:48 AM
It's pretty crazy how recruiting has jumped a level for GU. A year or two ago a consensus top 100 guy like Ben Gregg who wants to be a Zag would have already committed, but now we're keeping an eye on him as almost a backup plan. I hope in the end we have a schollie for him. We need those guys that will be here 3-4 years to bring continuity to the program.

I see what you are saying in terms of who GU is publicly targeting, but has it really jumped a level (so far) in terms of who has committed to attend the University?

Seems like we are (as yet) still basically doing the same - a mix of unknown diamond-in-the-rough international guys (Ballo, Zakharov) and good (but not nationally elite or nationally top-50) PNW kids. (Ravet, Perry, Watson). And accomplished Power-6 grad transfers (Gilder).

With no commitment from Suggs, have we landed a top-40 recruit, a 5* recruit, or a Mcdonalds All-American since Zach Collins?

jazzdelmar
09-26-2019, 08:54 AM
L, how dare you inject a dose of reality. :)


I see what you are saying in terms of who GU is publicly targeting, but has it really jumped a level (so far) in terms of who has committed to attend the University?

Seems like we are (as yet) still basically doing the same - a mix of unknown diamond-in-the-rough international guys (Ballo, Zakharov) and good (but not nationally elite or nationally top-50) PNW kids. (Ravet, Perry, Watson). And accomplished Power-6 grad transfers (Gilder).

With no commitment from Suggs, have we landed a top-40 recruit, a 5* recruit, or a Mcdonalds All-American since Zach Collins?

caldwellzag
09-26-2019, 08:58 AM
I see what you are saying in terms of who GU is publicly targeting, but has it really jumped a level (so far) in terms of who has committed to attend the University?

Seems like we are (as yet) still basically doing the same - a mix of unknown diamond-in-the-rough international guys (Ballo, Zakharov) and good (but not nationally elite or nationally top-50) PNW kids. (Ravet, Perry, Watson). And accomplished Power-6 grad transfers (Gilder).

With no commitment from Suggs, have we landed a top-40 recruit, a 5* recruit, or a Mcdonalds All-American since Zach Collins?

Timme was rated right about 40, Zakharov was rated top 40 (played in the US last year), Watson was right about 40. I understand what you are saying, but it is a different level of recruit coming in now. It started with Collins and crew and has slowly got better. I fully believe that Suggs will play at Gonzaga, I heard what MileHigh said more than I like to hear it, but I am not buying that. Matter fact I think at Kraziness it will cement Suggs and Gonzaga. Remember Chet and Jalen will be on campus in a few short days, those players are top 10 recruits, just getting them on campus elevates our recruiting.

caldwellzag
09-26-2019, 08:59 AM
L, how dare you inject a dose of reality. :)

Name off our last 5 Top 100 recruits prior to the recruiting class that is coming in this year or next year? Come on Jazz do some research and bring facts!

jazzdelmar
09-26-2019, 09:00 AM
Name off our last 5 Top 100 recruits prior to the recruiting class that is coming in this year or next year? Come on Jazz do some research and bring facts!

Where’s the beef?

caldwellzag
09-26-2019, 09:03 AM
Facts (247 composite ranking)

1 -- Collins 2016
2 -- Daye 2007
3 -- Timme 2019
4 -- Watson 2019
5 -- Davis 2006
6 -- Bouldin 2006
7 -- Zakharov 2019
8 -- Harris 2020
9 -- Strawther 2020
10 -- Gray 2007

5 of our highest rated recruits every in the classes of 2019 and 2020. The other 5 range from 2006 to 2016. Quit being so negative Jazz it gets old! Facts are friendly and you don't have any facts!!!! Our recruiting is at a whole new level right now.

caldwellzag
09-26-2019, 09:04 AM
Where’s the beef?

Get your facts out I got mine and posted them. Don't just run your mouth.

jazzdelmar
09-26-2019, 09:10 AM
No doubt recruiting has risen several levels over the past 5 years. That’s empirical, as you point out. IMO, we haven’t reached the ionosphere and may never.




Facts (247 composite ranking)

1 -- Collins 2016
2 -- Daye 2007
3 -- Timme 2019
4 -- Watson 2019
5 -- Davis 2006
6 -- Bouldin 2006
7 -- Zakharov 2019
8 -- Harris 2020
9 -- Strawther 2020
10 -- Gray 2007

5 of our highest rated recruits every in the classes of 2019 and 2020. The other 5 range from 2006 to 2016. Quit being so negative Jazz it gets old! Facts are friendly and you don't have any facts!!!! Our recruiting is at a whole new level right now.

bdmiller7
09-26-2019, 09:24 AM
I see what you are saying in terms of who GU is publicly targeting, but has it really jumped a level (so far) in terms of who has committed to attend the University?

Seems like we are (as yet) still basically doing the same - a mix of unknown diamond-in-the-rough international guys (Ballo, Zakharov) and good (but not nationally elite or nationally top-50) PNW kids. (Ravet, Perry, Watson). And accomplished Power-6 grad transfers (Gilder).

With no commitment from Suggs, have we landed a top-40 recruit, a 5* recruit, or a Mcdonalds All-American since Zach Collins?

Agree right now it is more in who we are targeting for 2021 compared to prior years. And we havent landed any of those guys yet, but that's not surprising as none of the top 2021 recruits have committed anywhere, it's still really early. I was saying more that in prior years if Gregg wanted to come to GU we would have said okay already, now the coaching staffs sights are set a little higher. It will be a year or more before we see if this new philosophy pays off. Gregg's not a bad fall back either. Like you said we done great with players like him in the past.

bdmiller7
09-26-2019, 09:42 AM
I see what you are saying in terms of who GU is publicly targeting, but has it really jumped a level (so far) in terms of who has committed to attend the University?

Seems like we are (as yet) still basically doing the same - a mix of unknown diamond-in-the-rough international guys (Ballo, Zakharov) and good (but not nationally elite or nationally top-50) PNW kids. (Ravet, Perry, Watson). And accomplished Power-6 grad transfers (Gilder).

With no commitment from Suggs, have we landed a top-40 recruit, a 5* recruit, or a Mcdonalds All-American since Zach Collins?

I think our 2019 and 2020 classes show big improvement in recruiting also. I'm just using 247s rankings because some scouting services dont rank international players and not the composite because that skews their rankings by not being included. Most previous years Gregg as a top 100 guy would be our highest ranked recruit, but in 2019 he would have been 6th and in 2020 he would be 3rd behind both Harris and Strawther. Not saying we recruit with the Dukes or Kentuckys but a big upswing for GU. I dont imagine we will ever get to their level, nor care if we do, but the coaching staff is targeting some top 10-20 players I dont think they would have a year or two ago and seem to be getting some interest in return from them. Its early and we'll see what happens.

LTownZag
09-26-2019, 09:47 AM
I think our 2019 and 2020 classes show big improvement in recruiting also. I'm just using 247s rankings because some scouting services dont rank international players and not the composite because that skews their rankings by not being included. Most previous years Gregg as a top 100 guy would be our highest ranked recruit, but in 2019 he would have been 6th and in 2020 he would be 3rd behind both Harris and Strawther. Not saying we recruit with the Dukes or Kentuckys but a big upswing for GU. I dont imagine we will ever get to their level, nor care if we do, but the coaching staff is targeting some top 10-20 players I dont think they would have a year or two ago and seem to be getting some interest in return from them. Its early and we'll see what happens.

This sentiment is only tangentially relevant here, but given the hypothetical choice between a perennial top-10 team (legit contender) made up showcasing a couple 5* kids and where 1-3 players intend to be 1-and-dones VS a similar top-10 congending team made up of mostly 3-4 year 3* and 4* guys who develop together and play more complicated, intricate, elaborate team ball yet fewer individual highlight reel plays and isolation schemes, I am vastly more likely to follow and root for the second type of team.

I doubt I'm alone.


That being said - it's obviously far from easy to simply "opt into" one of the 2 models above.

jazzdelmar
09-26-2019, 09:53 AM
L, see your pt but imo you would have to accept a significant talent gap — particularly as it relates to the Dance — between the two models. As they say, you need pros to compete on the last weekend. To the extent Gonzaga has had pros over the last five years, it’s advanced. Five Pendos or Kisperts or even Melsons, however developed in their years 3 and 4, wont get you there. Zbo was both the outlier and model on getting a very good team into the FF.


This sentiment is only tangentially relevant here, but given the hypothetical choice between a perennial top-10 team (legit contender) made up showcasing a couple 5* kids and where 1-3 players intend to be 1-and-dones VS a similar top-10 congending team made up of mostly 3-4 year 3* and 4* guys who develop together and play more complicated, intricate, elaborate team ball yet fewer individual highlight reel plays and isolation schemes, I am vastly more likely to follow and root for the second type of team.

I doubt I'm alone.


That being said - it's obviously far from easy to simply "opt into" one of the 2 models above.

LTownZag
09-26-2019, 10:32 AM
L, see your pt but imo you would have to accept a significant talent gap — particularly as it relates to the Dance — between the two models. As they say, you need pros to compete on the last weekend. To the extent Gonzaga has had pros over the last five years, it’s advanced. Five Pendos or Kisperts or even Melsons, however developed in their years 3 and 4, wont get you there. Zbo was both the outlier and model on getting a very good team into the FF.

There's a difference between "future pros" and "1-and-dones" (most of whom, if that's their trajectory from 11th grade, will be lottery picks).

Collins, drafted at #10, was actually the highest drafted (and only 1-and-done) player to appear in a national championship game in 2017 or 2018. In 2019 the two lottery picks in the Championship game were both returning players to their respective schools (Culver, Hunter) and the other 2 final 4 schools (Auburn, MSU) didn't feature any 1-and-dones. The only elite-8 squads with one-and-dones were Duke and UK (surprise!).

So I'm not arguing that a team doesn't need future NBA guys or future NBA 1st rounders to be elite in college BBall. I'm questioning the evidence to support it needs 1-and-done caliber top30 type recruits.

ZagBlue
09-26-2019, 02:40 PM
Facts (247 composite ranking)

1 -- Collins 2016
2 -- Daye 2007
3 -- Timme 2019
4 -- Watson 2019
5 -- Davis 2006
6 -- Bouldin 2006
7 -- Zakharov 2019
8 -- Harris 2020
9 -- Strawther 2020
10 -- Gray 2007

5 of our highest rated recruits every in the classes of 2019 and 2020. The other 5 range from 2006 to 2016. Quit being so negative Jazz it gets old! Facts are friendly and you don't have any facts!!!! Our recruiting is at a whole new level right now.
Here is all I know for sure. Ben Gregg is a top 30 recruit by ESPN. With that ranking, I believe he would be one of the 10 highest ranked recruits to ever commit to Gonzaga out of high school. Currently (whether wise or not) we are telling Gregg “not so fast buddy, we need to do our due diligence.” Pretty good indicator to me that we are recruiting at an insane level right now.

GonzagasaurusFlex
09-26-2019, 06:12 PM
Facts (247 composite ranking)

1 -- Collins 2016
2 -- Daye 2007
3 -- Timme 2019
4 -- Watson 2019
5 -- Davis 2006
6 -- Bouldin 2006
7 -- Zakharov 2019
8 -- Harris 2020
9 -- Strawther 2020
10 -- Gray 2007

5 of our highest rated recruits every in the classes of 2019 and 2020. The other 5 range from 2006 to 2016. Quit being so negative Jazz it gets old! Facts are friendly and you don't have any facts!!!! Our recruiting is at a whole new level right now.

Wow. 5 of Zags’ top 10 highest composite ranked recruits of all time are from current ‘19 freshman and upcoming ‘20 grads Harris andStrawther. Suggs would make it 6 of 10

Spoko13
09-26-2019, 07:37 PM
Gregg is actually REALLY good! Face up 4 who can play some 3.......great shooter, super skilled offensively with the body to be a plus defender......I’m actually shocked we haven’t made this one official.

strikenowhere
09-27-2019, 08:11 AM
Posted in the Kraziness thread on the main forum, but next weekend is going to be a huge:

https://twitter.com/ChetHolmgren/status/1177585726743093248

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EFef9f-XUAATYtQ?format=jpg&name=medium

jazzdelmar
09-27-2019, 09:19 AM
From Bleacher Report, some facts, some familiar names.

NORTH CAROLINA

No one has a bigger weekend on tap than North Carolina, as they welcome five five-star recruits to Chapel Hill for their Late Night with Roy festivities. The biggest recruit headed to campus is the nation’s No. 2 prospect – Cade Cunningham. He’ll be joined by fellow top 10 seniors Ziaire Williams and Greg Brown and top five junior Paolo Banchero. UNC pledge Day’Ron Sharpe is also expected to be in town. Last weekends visits were a success, picking up a commitment from Walker Kessler and making a serious move for Caleb Love, could the Tar Heels add more a week later?

ARIZONA

Every year Arizona brings in a ton of recruits for their Red-Blue Weekend. This year is no different, as they’ll host four recruits for official visits and at least eight for unofficial visits. The four official visitors are four-star recruits Kerwin Walton and Puff Johnson, committed guard Dalen Terry and 2021 five-star recruit Nathan Bittle. Another key trip is five-star guard Devin Askew, who will be on campus unofficially. Other names expected to be at Arizona this weekend include 2021 five-star Jaden Hardy; 2022 five-star Dylan Anderson (No. 9), Will McClendon, Dylan Andrews and potentially five-star Michael Foster (No. 7).

scrooner
09-27-2019, 09:39 AM
Posted in the Kraziness thread on the main forum, but next weekend is going to be a huge:

https://twitter.com/ChetHolmgren/status/1177585726743093248


Great comments in that post, including this one by @zagmundfreud:

Turiaf. Sacre. Olynyk. Sabonis. Collins. Clarke. Hachimura. Holmgren. Welcome to the next great Zags big man. You’ll love it in Spokane, and the team/staff/community will not only support you now but through your NBA career as well.

bdmiller7
09-27-2019, 10:55 AM
Great comments in that post, including this one by @zagmundfreud:

Turiaf. Sacre. Olynyk. Sabonis. Collins. Clarke. Hachimura. Holmgren. Welcome to the next great Zags big man. You’ll love it in Spokane, and the team/staff/community will not only support you now but through your NBA career as well.

I think there may be a couple more names to squeeze inbetween Rui and Chet if he decides to come to GU.

JohnOGU
09-28-2019, 11:19 AM
Posted in the Kraziness thread on the main forum, but next weekend is going to be a huge:

https://twitter.com/ChetHolmgren/status/1177585726743093248

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EFef9f-XUAATYtQ?format=jpg&name=medium


Anyone else notice the bottom right corner of this..? “Parental Advisory Future Zag”? Reading too much into things?

Mantua
09-28-2019, 12:27 PM
Anyone else notice the bottom right corner of this..? “Parental Advisory Future Zag”? Reading too much into things?

Was this picture edit posted by someone else first or is it Holmgren’s edit? He’s asking for for opinions ("wya" means "where you at?".)

zagssuperfan
09-28-2019, 02:26 PM
Even with Suggs coming, I'm pretty sure Chet is the highest ranked recruit we will ever have had on campus. I feel like we should give him his due and discuss in his own thread.

bdmiller7
09-28-2019, 03:30 PM
List of 2021 recruits I can recall us talking about, let me know if I've left anyone out. I included their ranking on ESPN, 247, and Rivals. Just wanted to get all of them on 1 page.

Kennedy Chandler 17,19,12
Isael Silva 57, 31, 20
Nolan Hickman NR, 59, 86
Max Christie 15, 10, 17
Devin Askew 12, 13, 9
Peyton Watson 52, 27, 30
Kaden Perry NR, 83, NR committed
Paolo Banchero 3, 4, 2
Ben Gregg 30, 82, 60
Caleb Furst 31, 38, 32
Chet Holmgren 4, 2, 4
Nathan Bittle 14, 12, 16
Charles Bediako 34, 34, 53
Franck Kepnang 20, 25, 24

TheBunnieRancher
09-28-2019, 05:53 PM
https://twitter.com/trigonis30/status/1178010307110637568?s=09
We apparently have a recruit on campus this weekend on an unofficial visit. T J Wainwright.

ZagRecruitWatch
09-28-2019, 09:05 PM
Was this picture edit posted by someone else first or is it Holmgren’s edit? He’s asking for for opinions ("wya" means "where you at?".)

He made a identical tweet for THE Ohio state university (without the picture). Wouldn't read to much into the wording. Good start for him and Gonzaga, but its super early and the blue bloods are just now taking notice.

ZagRecruitWatch
09-28-2019, 09:08 PM
I wonder more about that giant Nike Swoosh with all the #### that going down related to NCAA and Nike.

Snagglezag
09-30-2019, 09:19 AM
Anyone else notice the bottom right corner of this..? “Parental Advisory Future Zag”? Reading too much into things?

Bumping JohnOGU's comments. I think we would all value any insider perspective. Seems like a strong message to me, too.

Edit: missed ZagRecruitWatch's comment about Chet's tOSU tweet. Sounds like we should take it with a grain of salt.

Irish_eliZAG
10-16-2019, 11:06 AM
from Jake twitter:
“Arizona State’s Bobby Hurley in today for Top-100 juniors Frank Anselem and Jaden Jones, a source told @Stockrisers; Gonzaga will be in to watch Jones tomorrow.”

zagfan08
10-19-2019, 08:25 AM
Seems like we’re still in it with Max Christie. Lists us with Duke, Michigan State, Purdue, others in a Rivals interview this week. Took an unofficial to Northwestern last night to see their football team get destroyed by Ohio State. Mom played at Northwestern. Duke and MSU after him hard but says he’ll go where he feels most comfortable and feels at home.

Realistically that’s probably Duke. But I do think our best chance with the top national recruits are the ones who value a family atmosphere and can maybe get blown away on a visit. Admittedly Christie is my favorite 2021 guy so I’m holding on to just about anything here.

ZagBlue
10-19-2019, 09:30 AM
Seems like we’re still in it with Max Christie. Lists us with Duke, Michigan State, Purdue, others in a Rivals interview this week. Took an unofficial to Northwestern last night to see their football team get destroyed by Ohio State. Mom played at Northwestern. Duke and MSU after him hard but says he’ll go where he feels most comfortable and feels at home.

Realistically that’s probably Duke. But I do think our best chance with the top national recruits are the ones who value a family atmosphere and can maybe get blown away on a visit. Admittedly Christie is my favorite 2021 guy so I’m holding on to just about anything here.

Christie is terrific. Distance will be the biggest obstacle here. I did see Max play several times this summer and the sea of coaches at those games was very large. It was actually fun to try and recognize all of the faces in the coaching crowd. One thing that was very entertaining: I saw Tom Izzo at all of the games I attended and I couldn’t help but notice Powell essentially sitting on his lap lol.

Mantua
10-19-2019, 02:45 PM
Seems like we’re still in it with Max Christie. Lists us with Duke, Michigan State, Purdue, others in a Rivals interview this week. Took an unofficial to Northwestern last night to see their football team get destroyed by Ohio State. Mom played at Northwestern. Duke and MSU after him hard but says he’ll go where he feels most comfortable and feels at home.

Realistically that’s probably Duke. But I do think our best chance with the top national recruits are the ones who value a family atmosphere and can maybe get blown away on a visit. Admittedly Christie is my favorite 2021 guy so I’m holding on to just about anything here.

It just occurred to me that I knew a young athlete who attended Duke for his freshman year. He hated the climate, the arrogance of some of the athletes and some of the southern attitudes. He could hardly wait to transfer to a school in the north that was a cut above Duke academically. Duke’s not everyone’s cup of tea.

OCzag
10-22-2019, 06:49 PM
I know Nate Bittle has been discussed, but this is the first I’ve seen him confirm an official visit. Apologies if I missed it

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Nathan-Bittle-recruitment-UCLA-Arizona-Oregon-Gonzaga-Virginia-137365931/Amp/#click=https://t.co/pniXCScoOa

Not sure why any high quality recruit would still pick AZ unless it was for a duffle of cash.

caldwellzag
10-23-2019, 08:07 AM
I know Nate Bittle has been discussed, but this is the first I’ve seen him confirm an official visit. Apologies if I missed it

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Nathan-Bittle-recruitment-UCLA-Arizona-Oregon-Gonzaga-Virginia-137365931/Amp/#click=https://t.co/pniXCScoOa

Not sure why any high quality recruit would still pick AZ unless it was for a duffle of cash.

Not sure anything is confirmed on an official visit. Not saying we are not still in on Bittle, but his name does not come up as much as others in 2021's class.

SLOZag
10-23-2019, 10:40 AM
List of 2021 recruits I can recall us talking about, let me know if I've left anyone out. I included their ranking on ESPN, 247, and Rivals. Just wanted to get all of them on 1 page.

Kennedy Chandler 17,19,12
Isael Silva 57, 31, 20
Nolan Hickman NR, 59, 86
Max Christie 15, 10, 17
Devin Askew 12, 13, 9
Peyton Watson 52, 27, 30
Kaden Perry NR, 83, NR committed
Paolo Banchero 3, 4, 2
Ben Gregg 30, 82, 60
Caleb Furst 31, 38, 32
Chet Holmgren 4, 2, 4
Nathan Bittle 14, 12, 16
Charles Bediako 34, 34, 53
Franck Kepnang 20, 25, 24

Gonzaga sent assistant coach Roger Powell to the International Sports Academy at Andrews Osborne to see 6-11center Charles Bediako (St. Catherine’s, ON) on Oct. 21. The consensus top-55 prospect holds 12 offers, including Xavier, USC, Florida, Alabama, Maryland, Illinois, and Ohio State.

https://bustingbrackets.com/2019/10/23/ncaa-basketball-recruiting-offers-rolling-2021-center-frank-anselem/

CDC84
10-23-2019, 02:42 PM
You can swipe Devin Askew off the list. Committed to Calipari.

Zagdawg
10-24-2019, 10:51 AM
Jake
@jakeweingarten
· 2h
Gonzaga, USC, and Arizona State will all have assistants in today for Top-30 junior Peyton Watson, a source told @Stockrisers. As we reported yesterday, he will visit UVA in two weeks.

Zagdawg
10-24-2019, 02:50 PM
Nathan Bittle: Top 15 2021 center takes first two officials

“I’m going to Gonzaga pretty soon and I think Oregon and Virginia,” Bittle said.

https://247sports.com/college/basketball/recruiting/Article/Nathan-Bittle-recruitment-UCLA-Arizona-Oregon-Gonzaga-Virginia-137365931/

Bogozags
10-25-2019, 04:14 AM
Do we have any additional information on Gregg?

SLOZag
10-31-2019, 10:25 PM
Do we have any additional information on Gregg?

"(L)ongtime Freeman and Post Falls (women's basketball) coach (Matt Gregg will) bring his Warner Pacific women’s basketball team to Gonzaga (this weekend, and) his son will be in town for a visit with the GU men.

“We’ll see how that all plays out,” Gregg said, referring to the recruitment process for his son Ben, a 6-foot-8 forward who already has offers from Oregon, Oregon State, Washington State and several other big schools."

https://www.swxrightnow.com/stories/2019/oct/31/former-freeman-post-falls-coach-matt-gregg-set-for/

Bogozags
11-01-2019, 01:55 AM
Thanks for the update!

Caldwellzag, what are the chances we get a verbal on this unofficial visit?

cggonzaga
11-01-2019, 08:22 AM
Thanks for the update!

Caldwellzag, what are the chances we get a verbal on this unofficial visit?

Don’t believe we’ve offered yet.

Bogozags
11-01-2019, 09:51 AM
Don’t believe we’ve offered yet.

So, you’re saying that could an impediment ��

cggonzaga
11-01-2019, 10:18 AM
So, you’re saying that could an impediment ��

Haha perhaps.