PDA

View Full Version : The team is just a bunch of yogis...



MedZag
03-16-2018, 03:19 PM
Interesting article on SI. Had no idea they were incorporating all this into the program, find it really interesting.

How Gonzaga Got Flexible to Build Itself Into a Unique Contender

https://www.si.com/college-basketball/2018/03/16/gonzaga-bulldogs-yoga-ncaa-tournament-mark-few




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Zagceo
03-16-2018, 03:29 PM
Nice piece. Thanks

Escape rooms are becoming a thing in So Cal...wife has been trying to get me to try it

https://www.60out.com/los-angeles?campaign=Escape%20Room%20LA&adgroup=Escape%20Room%20LA%20-%20Gamma&matchtype=b&device=c&keyword=escape%20room%20los%20angeles%20granny&querystring=escape%20room%20locations&msclkid=97ea58a7db271d0f12cc020b89b14a91&utm_source=bing&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=Escape%20Room%20LA&utm_term=escape%20room%20los%20angeles%20granny&utm_content=Escape%20Room%20LA%20-%20Gamma

sittingon50
03-16-2018, 03:34 PM
Great find MedZag. Thanks!

Zags_Fanatic
03-16-2018, 06:25 PM
Please stop showing Travis Knight off to the world, he is a vital part of this program and every year I am terrified that a blue blood will give him an offer that he can't refuse.

Birddog
03-16-2018, 06:41 PM
Very interesting, thanks for linking. From the thread title, I thought it was going to be "nobody goes there anymore, it's too crowded" piece.

DixieZag
03-16-2018, 06:43 PM
Thank you, Medzag. I had no idea, but find none of this surprising. GU has been cutting edge since they decided they wanted to be elite.

Kinda wish SI hadn't published it to the world, but I suppose there are no secrets in college bb, and the Zags are probably on to the "next thing" by now already.

PNW Zagfan
03-16-2018, 06:56 PM
i don't know what Travis Knight looks like, but after reading the SI article (thanks for posting it), I couldn't help wondering...

https://goo.gl/images/nGTkjR

sittingon50
03-16-2018, 08:12 PM
I've seen Travis, PNW. He looked like that at one time, but with the added notoriety has made one major improvement. He trims his ear hair better now.

PNW Zagfan
03-16-2018, 09:06 PM
...with the added notoriety has made one major improvement. He trims his ear hair better now.

I guess he's "gone Hollywood" with the positive press.

Zagger
03-17-2018, 05:48 AM
Great story .... liked the part about problem solving and this generation not necessarily getting a lot of autonomy time growing up. I sure loved my time in the woods and fields where my folks really had no idea what we were up to. One of the places I grew up was on an old Army base. We'd come home with snakes, bullets, unexploded this or that - and be let out to go do that stuff again. Built one heck of a lot of underground forts and moved all sorts of stuff around with huge levers just to see if we could do it. Too bad many kids nowadays have their beaks stuck in their cell phones.

Section 116
03-18-2018, 01:10 PM
I don't believe I've seen this one. I should be so dedicated! Link: https://www.si.com/college-basketball/2018/03/16/gonzaga-bulldogs-yoga-ncaa-tournament-mark-few

ZagNative
03-18-2018, 01:27 PM
Wow! Super interesting, informative article!

zaguarxj
03-18-2018, 01:47 PM
I was really impressed with how well the players kept their composure during the OSU game. They were getting hosed by the refs and they knew it. There were a few time times, such as the over-the-back call on Rui and Josh's 4th foul, when you could see a player start to react but then compose himself and keep playing hard instead. It got kind of chippy when Josh threw a little elbow, which the announcers noticed, but overall they did an awesome job of keeping their cool and not letting the refs or OSU get into their heads. It wouldn't be too much of a reach to say that the program mentioned in the link above was directly responsible for the win over OSU.