PDA

View Full Version : 10 straight, one more win for 4 straight!



former1dog
03-15-2018, 01:03 PM
Love our Zags and the historic streak of 10 straight first round wins. Where does that put the Zags in the all time rankings?

Our boys will be shooting for the 4th straight sweet 16 on Saturday!

gonzagafan62
03-15-2018, 01:42 PM
I know we tied dukes two longest streaks of ten. I think it’s 6th all time iirc

DixieZag
03-15-2018, 02:06 PM
In Gonzaga/Coach Few's "Book of Impressive Records" - right alongside the 20 straight appearances, the Final Four/Championship game, 3 straight SS16 or better TWICE, the current "10 straight opening round wins" MUST be right up there.

And I dearly appreciate that accomplishment, because I am not the pure basketball fan that some are. Once the Zags are out of the tournament, the tournament is over to me, it is on to other things. So, a lose early in the tournament (first game of the day seemingly) is just a killer.

At the very least, for 10 years in a row, I have had the enjoyment of full basketball nirvana, enjoying my team playing throughout the most exciting weekend of basketball in the year.

I think it is worthy of its own recognition. This team might lose the next game, might go to the FF, but this accomplishment on its own is a very special one, one not always accorded with a high seed, speaks well of our coaches' preparation, and a credit to the players.

former1dog
03-15-2018, 02:09 PM
http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?62759-10-straight-one-more-win-for-4-straight!


:D

DixieZag
03-15-2018, 02:11 PM
http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?62759-10-straight-one-more-win-for-4-straight!


:D

Great minds think alike. :)

Apologies for missing your thread Former, I did review the list and just skipped over it apparently.

Thank you for pointing it out and hopefully one of our attentive mods can simply merge the threads.

Thx, F1D

Zagger
03-15-2018, 02:12 PM
That is sweet. Zags are good at Dancing :) ...... although I was a bit concerned when UNCG wouldn't go away. I kept feeling UNCG's 3s would start to fall + Tillie missed two. Maybe it was the AM game time??? I sure hope we play much later on Saturday!

Bogozags
03-15-2018, 08:12 PM
That is sweet. Zags are good at Dancing :) ...... although I was a bit concerned when UNCG wouldn't go away. I kept feeling UNCG's 3s would start to fall + Tillie missed two. Maybe it was the AM game time??? I sure hope we play much later on Saturday!

Compared to the Blue Bloods, how many of them have won ten straight? I'm pretty sure Duke and MSU have lost first games in the last ten years...AZ lost today, heck UCLA couldn't make it to the first round...

If anyone knows then please share...

Thanks in advance...

23dpg
03-15-2018, 08:27 PM
Pretty easy to figure out.
Only 4 teams have made the tourney that many years combined; Zags Kansas, Duke and MSU.
Duke and Michigan State have lost first round games recently.
Kansas last lost in 2006. They’ve also had 18 straight years of being at least a 4 seed I think.

Kansas.

Edit to add:
Gonzaga was seeded 11th twice, 8th twice and 7th once in this run.
Kansas seeds during their 12 year run; 1,1,3,1,1,2,1,2,2,1,1,1.

Bogozags
03-16-2018, 05:59 AM
Pretty easy to figure out.
Only 4 teams have made the tourney that many years combined; Zags Kansas, Duke and MSU.
Duke and Michigan State have lost first round games recently.
Kansas last lost in 2006. They’ve also had 18 straight years of being at least a 4 seed I think.

Kansas.

Edit to add:
Gonzaga was seeded 11th twice, 8th twice and 7th once in this run.
Kansas seeds during their 12 year run; 1,1,3,1,1,2,1,2,2,1,1,1.

"23" Thanks for taking the time to look up and post the information...

thebigsmoove
03-16-2018, 06:06 AM
I dont know if this has been shared elsewhere, but the Lady Zags reaction to the men moving on to round 2 is giving me so much life this morning:

https://twitter.com/ZagWBB/status/974374059633864704

sittingon50
03-16-2018, 11:29 AM
Thanks smoove. That's awesome!!

RenoZag
03-18-2018, 06:38 PM
Teams with four (or more) consecutive Sweet 16 Appearances:

13 programs have achieved this milestone since the NCAA tourney expanded to 64 teams in 1985:

UNC: 1985-1993 (9)
Duke: 1986 - 1992 (7); 1998 - 2006 (9)
Indiana: 1991 - 1994 (4)
Kansas: 1993 - 1997 (5); 2001 - 2004 (4)
Arkansas: 1993-1996 (4)
Kentucky: 1995 - 1999 (5)
Michigan State: 1998-2001 (4); 2012-2015 (4)
Memphis: 2006 - 2009 (4)
Ohio State: 2010 - 2013 (4)
Florida: 2011-2014 (4)
Louisville: 2012 - 2015 (4)
Wisconsin: 2014 - 2017 (4)
Gonzaga: 2015 - 2018 (4)

Source Link:
http://host.madison.com/wsj/sports/college/basketball/men/schools-that-have-made-four-consecutive-sweet-appearances-since/collection_c30d4c19-3eda-5266-b015-188258f9cc4a.html

Congrats to the Zags !!