PDA

View Full Version : GU vs UNC Greensboro- Predictions/What you hope to see



LongIslandZagFan
03-12-2018, 04:28 AM
Round 1...

What do you hope to see in the game? Expect to see? Predictions?


Have at it boys and girls!

stretch
03-12-2018, 04:45 AM
The early start time has to be an advantage for UNCG.

sheps001
03-12-2018, 05:14 AM
Zags by 8-10 late. We pull away in a close game. Bankhead knows us very well and they do have a pretty good team. Shoot 3 Play D.

thespywhozaggedme
03-12-2018, 05:18 AM
72-62

former1dog
03-12-2018, 05:21 AM
Zags by 8-10 late. We pull away in a close game. Bankhead knows us very well and they do have a pretty good team. Shoot 3 Play D.


Kyleís knowledge of Gonzaga didnít help much at San Diego and it wonít help UNCG much either.

75-60 for the good guys and it wonít really be that close.

Besides having a better team with better players, we have the X factor in Mark Few and staff. The way they game plan and prepare our team at the end of the season has been remarkable and remarkably consistent!

dhozagfan08
03-12-2018, 05:46 AM
Good 3 pt defense, no sagging off by our guards to help down low. Good defense, preventing them from scoring will allow us to get fast breaks and stop them from setting up their defense. Then we play at our speed, not theirs. Zags 65-52.

basketballzag
03-12-2018, 05:57 AM
Good 3 pt defense, no sagging off by our guards to help down low. Good defense, preventing them from scoring will stop them from setting up their pressure. Then we play at our speed, not theirs. Zags 65-52.

Gonzaga gets UNCG's big man James Dickey (6'10 200) into foul trouble and the game gets ugly from there. If Gonzaga can pin 4 fouls on him then the game is over. He is their COG and when he is taken out the team folds quickly because they don't have any other reliable bigs.

thebigsmoove
03-12-2018, 06:44 AM
They honestly look pretty good:

UNCG vs NC State (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7QdpcoI_CEc)

UNCG vs Virginia (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-vW3LLokrY)

UNCG vs Wake Forest (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MttwcPq6B0E)

UNCG vs Liberty (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ALzY0hp3_MY)

UNCG vs Samford (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kXx2jQT04e4)

UNCG vs ETSU 1/11/18 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5PGRAKDwg8)

UNCG vs ETSU SoCon Championship Full Game (its in like Russian or something) (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gA_JX-QreUo)

This is gonna be a tough one.

UNCG 68
GU 71

gozagswoohoo
03-12-2018, 07:07 AM
Zags by 18.




We're about to take the Spartans on a one way trip to SmashTown Central, where Gonzaga is ruler of all the lands.

stevet75
03-12-2018, 07:09 AM
Zags 76 UNCG 59. I don't know much about UNCG, but it sounds like they have a good defense.

Zaga
03-12-2018, 07:10 AM
72-69 Gonzaga

willandi
03-12-2018, 07:50 AM
80-65 Zags

Zagger
03-12-2018, 08:18 AM
Kyle’s knowledge of Gonzaga didn’t help much at San Diego and it won’t help UNCG much either.

75-60 for the good guys and it won’t really be that close.

Besides having a better team with better players, we have the X factor in Mark Few and staff. The way they game plan and prepare our team at the end of the season has been remarkable and remarkably consistent!

I’m of the same persuasion only think it’ll be Zags 85, UNCG 65 - even more of a margin. Why? IMHO Zags are primed and the abundance of Zag fans will be a factor. Besides the usual suspects of late on scoring I also feel guys like Kispert, Jones & Larsen may factor in. Together with those three, Zag D + the Dance experiences of Perks, Silas, Tillie & J3 .... AND .... the last month or more play of Norvell & Rui .... we’re going to be too much for UNCG.

amaronizag
03-12-2018, 08:22 AM
Zags 80-65 UNCG

All Weather Fan
03-12-2018, 08:31 AM
Go Zags !
GU - 73
UNCG - 64

Zags11
03-12-2018, 08:42 AM
Round 1...

What do you hope to see in the game? Expect to see? Predictions?


Have at it boys and girls!

Zags 64

Unc-G 58

I think it will be a sluggish start and a lot like the SD games. Now, if zags are hitting shots it'll be different. However, the first game is usually a rough game for the zags even though they win.

So I'll say we will be losing after the first intermission and by half it'll be 34-30 zags. It will stay close all game long and we will do what matters in march. Survive and Advance.

Goshzagit
03-12-2018, 08:42 AM
Their PG is the Captain of the U-21 Spanish National Team. Pretty cool, and impressive. He was considered a top international recruit at one time. Averaged 18 ppg, & 6 apg for a top prep school in Massachusetts.

Also, career 42% 3pt shooter, and hit over 100 3's this season. They have 4 guys who can hit 3's...and not afraid to take them, as they shot 920 3's as a team -- over 100 more than we took.

They are good, and play under control, brilliant at dictating pace. Proven this vs good team. They beat NC State, who beat Arizona right before playing them, and Duke right after. Legit.

Their main big guy is 6'9", 250 lbs, bruiser and can shoot 3's too. They have another 6'10" athletic big, who blocks 2.5 shots a game. A couple athletic guards off the bench.

Kinda reminds me of Western Kentucky a handful of years ago. It took everything, everyone, and heroic effort to get past them.

Very similar game -- Perkins is our most important player in a "grinder" games. MUST play under control, patient, value possessions, don't get too cute or fancy to 'speed up the pace'. Obviously guys like Tillie and Rui are a mis-match, well, for everyone, so exploit it!

I view this as a 66-60 type of match. A 3 or 4 pt lead with 5 mins to go, and we take advantage of their foul prone bigs.

Speaking of, UNCG commits a TON of fouls, meaning they are physical/aggressive/take risks. We cannot shy away from contact, and drawing fouls given their tempo is key. We must use our bigs all over the court, and Perkins needs to stay under control.

LongIslandZagFan
03-12-2018, 08:45 AM
Zags straight up have size on them. I see this being a game played in the paint. Expect to see JW3 and Tillie have strong games. Not sure how they defend Tillie from outside the arc with his size. Zags D has been solid as of late.

Zags 76
Spartans 62

Zagricultural
03-12-2018, 08:46 AM
UNCG is a possible Giant Killer. However I think GU pins them with their biggest loss of the season at 77-62. All I really want is a win, and everything else is just gravy. Hope to see our 3's falling.

caldwellzag
03-12-2018, 08:52 AM
At this point in the season it is about surviving and advancing. Zags 71 UNCG 65.

Zagceo
03-12-2018, 08:53 AM
Zags 82
Spartans 60

take away any thought of hope as we rain 3's down upon thee

77Zag
03-12-2018, 09:51 AM
Zags 82
Spartans 69

Go Zags - Beat the Spartans!!

bigblahla
03-12-2018, 10:13 AM
Zags 77-63

Go!! Zags!!!

CarolinaZagFan
03-12-2018, 10:16 AM
They honestly look pretty good:

UNCG vs NC State (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7QdpcoI_CEc)

UNCG vs Virginia (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-vW3LLokrY)

UNCG vs Wake Forest (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MttwcPq6B0E)

UNCG vs Liberty (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ALzY0hp3_MY)

UNCG vs Samford (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kXx2jQT04e4)

UNCG vs ETSU 1/11/18 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5PGRAKDwg8)

UNCG vs ETSU SoCon Championship Full Game (its in like Russian or something) (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gA_JX-QreUo)

This is gonna be a tough one.

UNCG 68
GU 71

They also beat Wofford (who beat UNC) all 3 times this year. Consider me worried, but I’m always worried for the first round game haha. 72-65 Zags

mattydog73
03-12-2018, 10:19 AM
Zags 83
UNC Spartans 67

Same level of play, execution, and control they showed vs BYU in WCC championship.

tinfoilzag
03-12-2018, 10:30 AM
I want to see one of our lesser advantages come to the forefront. Everyone on the floor, (except maybe Larsen) can push the pace and get up the floor after made shots/steals/def rebounds. Their 3/4 court pressure takes minutes off the clock and kills momentum. We need to have their guards running back on D to get their bigs in foul trouble and force their bench to play. We have to have their shot blocker in foul trouble. Tillie, JW3, and Rui can do this for us.

TL;DR Don't let their defense set up.

Coach Crazy
03-12-2018, 10:35 AM
Gonzaga gets UNCG's big man James Dickey (6'10 200) into foul trouble and the game gets ugly from there. If Gonzaga can pin 4 fouls on him then the game is over. He is their COG and when he is taken out the team folds quickly because they don't have any other reliable bigs.

I think we should take up a collection and buy the kid a few day's worth of sandwiches. That is just frail. That makes Killian look like the Hulk. J3 and KT gonna have a field day.

irishzag_09
03-12-2018, 01:15 PM
They honestly look pretty good:

UNCG vs NC State (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7QdpcoI_CEc)

UNCG vs Virginia (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-vW3LLokrY)

UNCG vs Wake Forest (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MttwcPq6B0E)

UNCG vs Liberty (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ALzY0hp3_MY)

UNCG vs Samford (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kXx2jQT04e4)

UNCG vs ETSU 1/11/18 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5PGRAKDwg8)

UNCG vs ETSU SoCon Championship Full Game (its in like Russian or something) (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gA_JX-QreUo)

This is gonna be a tough one.

UNCG 68
GU 71

Why did you leave out the most important video....their 2017-2018 Season Hype video...is this a music video from 2005? This is both brilliant marketing for future prospects and just so over the top it's ridiculous. Fast and the Furious - Greensboro. Good for them.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oBosiICfLTQ

Zagceo
03-12-2018, 01:23 PM
Why did you leave out the most important video....their 2017-2018 Season Hype video...is this a music video from 2005? This is both brilliant marketing for future prospects and just so over the top it's ridiculous. Fast and the Furious - Greensboro. Good for them.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oBosiICfLTQ

remake of "American Graffiti"...Greensboro the new Modesto

TimberZag
03-12-2018, 01:31 PM
Why did you leave out the most important video....their 2017-2018 Season Hype video...is this a music video from 2005? This is both brilliant marketing for future prospects and just so over the top it's ridiculous. Fast and the Furious - Greensboro. Good for them.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oBosiICfLTQ

That was just weird :roll:

23dpg
03-12-2018, 01:51 PM
zags 72
uncg 61

GU69
03-12-2018, 03:49 PM
GU 75-60. I hope that we run them ragged. If they want to slow things down, fast break everything and wear them down on defense. Zags will be ready.

VinnyZag
03-12-2018, 07:12 PM
This game terrifies me.

Just from looking at UNCG's statistical profile, they force turnovers and make 3s. So basically their strengths align with GU's weaknesses. That strikes me as a recipe for a tense Thursday morning.

YukonJack
03-12-2018, 10:13 PM
61-61 after regulation. Jeremy Jones wins it on a put back in OT. GU escapes 70-69.

raise the zag
03-12-2018, 10:20 PM
a team with a 'nothing to lose' mentality is a dangerous team.

they will dribble-drive hard to the hoop, shoot at will, sacrifice fouls, or risk getting called for fouls to turn us over, or slow us down. How will they call this game? Tight or let it slide? UNCG physical defense, and gambles on defense, often.

intensity will be thru the roof. will we match theirs?

they force a ton of TO's, force nearly 16 per game. Stingy press, along with 1-2-2 half-court. They shot 300 more 3's than SMC did. 4 of their 5 starters shoot them.

Tough match-up. Tough game awaits.

66-60, we pull away in final 2 mins, due solely to their foul issues.

Get ready to Grind with Greensboro!

Coach Crazy
03-13-2018, 04:12 AM
25-point win.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Zagceo
03-13-2018, 05:39 AM
25-point win.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


:agreed:

thespywhozaggedme
03-13-2018, 05:52 AM
25-point win.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ha ha, short, sweet and to the point, love it! So much paralysis by overanalysis in this thread.

Coach Crazy
03-13-2018, 06:12 AM
Ha ha, short, sweet and to the point, love it! So much paralysis by overanalysis in this thread.

Their guards can't stay in front of someone, and their lead post player is 6-10 200 lbs. If they can put up bombs from deep, then it could a long day for us...but if that's what it would take for my team to lose, I'll take it. As well, they don't close out on 3's well, and they aren't sharp in their off-ball movement.

It really depends on which version of GU shows up...but I'll keep it at 25-point win.

DeanSmithForever
03-13-2018, 06:33 AM
Hey Guys,

Just thought I would stop by to offer a basic scouting report since UNCG is in my neck of the woods...

1. They are coached by former Roy Williams player Wes Miller, and follow a lot of UNC’s principles on offense and defense.
2. One difference is they like to full court and 3/4 court press their opponents, and they thrive on creating turnovers. Much Like Wes Miller when he played, their guards are surprisingly quick, very active, and they don’t tire out easily.

If you can handle a press fine, this shouldn’t be a concern. However, they took it to UNC with their tough D in a pre-season mini-game of 20 Minutes to the tune of 32-24 as the final score. It’s kind of embarrassing they beat us, but it was a preseason mini game and we have had issues playing down to competition this year.

3. They are unusually tall and capable of guarding the post for a double digit autobid tourney team. They have stopped several good bigs on multiple teams. That said, I think Gonzaga has a way better inside team than anyone they have faced.
4. They can be streaky from deep, but when they are on, they can really light it up from downtown. Part of the key is guarding Francis Alonso who is a tremendous three point shooter. His speciality is moving without the ball and curling around screens, etc., to get an open look from a teammate’s pass. If the three point shot is not there, he is one of those guards who puts his head down and drives to the hoop seeking out contact. He likes to get the other team’s bigs in foul trouble. Last year, I recall Gonzaga doing a terrific job stopping this curling action when UNC used it with Justin Jackson, so it may be this isn’t something the Zags will struggle with against UNCG.

If the game was OSU vs. UNCG, I would have picked UNCG for the upset.. However, this is Gonzaga. Even though you are a four seed, you are arguably the best team in the West bracket. Since they played so well for a half against UNC, I expect a close game at first, but for Gonzaga to pull away sometime in the second half for a comfortable (10+ Point) win en route to at least in an elite eight run in this year’s tourney.

raise the zag
03-13-2018, 06:41 AM
Their guards can't stay in front of someone, and their lead post player is 6-10 200 lbs. If they can put up bombs from deep, then it could a long day for us...but if that's what it would take for my team to lose, I'll take it. As well, they don't close out on 3's well, and they aren't sharp in their off-ball movement.

It really depends on which version of GU shows up...but I'll keep it at 25-point win.

I respect ya, Coach, yet this post tell me you have not watched their game tape.

Their tallest post player is 6'10", 200 lbs, and best defender/shot blocker/rebounder, yet their 'lead' post player is 6'9", 250lbs. A good 3pt shooter too, mixes it up inside and outside.

Also, they run a 1-2-2 IF you break their press, as their press creates around 5 TO's per game, and they create nearly 16 TO's.

Their guards don't always keep in front, b/c their defense is designed to "funnel" player to their wings and bigs. Once they pack it in, they collapse on the dribble-drive. Or allow Dickey to "hunt" and "spy" them. He blocks nearly everything that comes his way.

As mentioned before UNCG picks their poison. They literally don't defend a player to allow this to occur. My guess is they won't really defend Silas. They will gamble on one guy, freeing up a defender to 'help' on every possession. No one is allowed to drive to the hoop in their offense.

Additionally, they extend their guards way out to defend the 3, another reason players get past them. Gonzaga does nearly the opposite. Although, you have to chase Alonso or he will hunt his 3pt shot all. game. long., yet that's another topic/discussion. Most teams face-guard him.

UNCG's worst loss was 12 pts. Every game is close. Win or lose. They have held (6) teams to 50 pts or under. We have done that 1 time.

They press. As much as they can get away with. We haven't done great at breaking any one this entire season. Makes zero sense, I know, given the fact every one of our bigs can handle the ball. Rui should be a press break by himself. A major flaw in our system, imho, esp a year we should destroy presses.

Their press and unique defense frustrates teams. Slows down every offensive possession. A team must be clinical, precise, and patient, unless they break the press to begin with (I'm hoping we can do).

Add to it, they have a slow, deliberate offensive tempo as well. Utilize the entire shot clock, and find ways to shoot a 3. Very USD like, but unlike Torreros, they also rebound and clean up long rebounds. To reset the clock.

The combination b/w pressing, a unique defensive half-court formation (type of swarming zone), a slow tempo leading to 3's, really take opponents out of their rhythm, game, and flow. Forcing 1 on 1 ball most times.

We have the talent to overcome this, yet will be up to the guards and bigs to keep moving without the ball, cutting, finding the man they leave open on defense (Silas? Kispert?), and break the press. Sending one guy to help is ridiculous. I understand we want our bigs to post hard and post early, we need to get Tillie and Rui in the middle and force it down their throats with them on the press. Forcing their defenders to defend.

Also to add, they play very "handsy" on defense. They gamble, take risky fouls. UNCG wants the refs to make a decision on every defensive play -- nearly the exact opposite of us. Similar to how BYU plays "physical". They will grab, push, pull, and body people up. Go for the block on every shot, etc. Not dirty, just annoying....AND that is after they press you, and AFTER they swarm you.

A 25 pt win would require us probably scoring 85 or so, which would be an incredible feat. It would mean they were forced to abandon their press, break down their 1-2-2, get their big in foul trouble, and speed them up on offense...but just hard to have enough possessions to score that many points.

Trust me, given their style of play on BOTH ends, a 10 or 12 pt win is a 25 pt win vs most teams. A double digit win is a blow-out. They play hard too. Limit possessions, dictate pace, and force teams to guard for entire shot clock, and use the entire shot clock.

Zagceo
03-13-2018, 06:42 AM
Their guards can't stay in front of someone, and their lead post player is 6-10 200 lbs. If they can put up bombs from deep, then it could a long day for us...but if that's what it would take for my team to lose, I'll take it. As well, they don't close out on 3's well, and they aren't sharp in their off-ball movement.

It really depends on which version of GU shows up...but I'll keep it at 25-point win.

Version 1.5 please delete all other versions may contain virus

1.o Ohio State Texas Florida Creighton
1.1 Villanova North Dakota
1.3 San Diego State
1.4 SMC
1.5 SMC BYU

Hoopaholic
03-13-2018, 06:51 AM
I respect ya, Coach, yet this post tell me you have not watched their game tape.

Their tallest post player is 6'10", 200 lbs, and best defender/shot blocker/rebounder, yet their 'lead' post player is 6'9", 250lbs. A good 3pt shooter too, mixes it up inside and outside.

Also, they run a 1-2-2 IF you break their press, as their press creates around 5 TO's per game, and they create nearly 16 TO's.

Their guards don't always keep in front, b/c their defense is designed to "funnel" player to their wings and bigs. Once they pack it in, they collapse on the dribble-drive. Or allow Dickey to "hunt" and "spy" them. He blocks nearly everything that comes his way.

As mentioned before UNCG picks their poison. They literally don't defend a player to allow this to occur. My guess is they won't really defend Silas. They will gamble on one guy, freeing up a defender to 'help' on every possession. No one is allowed to drive to the hoop in their offense.

Additionally, they extend their guards way out to defend the 3, another reason players get past them. Gonzaga does nearly the opposite. Although, you have to chase Alonso or he will hunt his 3pt shot all. game. long., yet that's another topic/discussion. Most teams face-guard him.

UNCG's worst loss was 12 pts. Every game is close. Win or lose. They have held (6) teams to 50 pts or under. We have done that 1 time.

They press. As much as they can get away with. We haven't done great at breaking any one this entire season. Makes zero sense, I know, given the fact every one of our bigs can handle the ball. Rui should be a press break by himself. A major flaw in our system, imho, esp a year we should destroy presses.

Their press and unique defense frustrates teams. Slows down every offensive possession. A team must be clinical, precise, and patient, unless they break the press to begin with (I'm hoping we can do).

Add to it, they have a slow, deliberate offensive tempo as well. Utilize the entire shot clock, and find ways to shoot a 3. Very USD like, but unlike Torreros, they also rebound and clean up long rebounds. To reset the clock.

The combination b/w pressing, a unique defensive half-court formation (type of swarming zone), a slow tempo leading to 3's, really take opponents out of their rhythm, game, and flow. Forcing 1 on 1 ball most times.

We have the talent to overcome this, yet will be up to the guards and bigs to keep moving without the ball, cutting, finding the man they leave open on defense (Silas? Kispert?), and break the press. Sending one guy to help is ridiculous. I understand we want our bigs to post hard and post early, we need to get Tillie and Rui in the middle and force it down their throats with them on the press. Forcing their defenders to defend.

Also to add, they play very "handsy" on defense. They gamble, take risky fouls. UNCG wants the refs to make a decision on every defensive play -- nearly the exact opposite of us. Similar to how BYU plays "physical". They will grab, push, pull, and body people up. Go for the block on every shot, etc. Not dirty, just annoying....AND that is after they press you, and AFTER they swarm you.

A 25 pt win would require us probably scoring 85 or so, which would be an incredible feat. It would mean they were forced to abandon their press, break down their 1-2-2, get their big in foul trouble, and speed them up on offense...but just hard to have enough possessions to score that many points.

Trust me, given their style of play on BOTH ends, a 10 or 12 pt win is a 25 pt win vs most teams. A double digit win is a blow-out. They play hard too. Limit possessions, dictate pace, and force teams to guard for entire shot clock, and use the entire shot clock.

he said LEAD post player which is Dickey

Kuiper you are referring to is a 34% three ball shooter going 6-19 last 5 games

Wont be able to funnell and let Dickey "roam"....we will eat that up with our good big passing.....we are way to good of a passing team and have attacking guards (Norvell comes to mind) to allow this type of half court defense to impact our ability to score consistently

physical play especially out front will get them in trouble

IF You break the press.....if they are only creating 5 turnovers a game on their press that is not exactly high octane pressing...we will break the press and PUNISH them with finishes to the point that they will move to an occasional press not full time is my prediction after watching them

agree 25 point is little much IMO....I give it about a 12-15 point game

Goshzagit
03-13-2018, 06:52 AM
If you can handle a press fine, this shouldn’t be a concern. However, they took it to UNC with their tough D in a pre-season mini-game of 20 Minutes to the tune of 32-24 as the final score. It’s kind of embarrassing they beat us, but it was a preseason mini game and we have had issues playing down to competition this year.

3. They are unusually tall and capable of guarding the post for a double digit autobid tourney team.

Excellent post, DSF. Thank you for the insight and share.

Greeeaaattttt....

So UNCG beat UNC in an exhibition, played #1 Virginia tight, beat NC State (who in turn beat Duke, UNC, Zona, et al, and went 11-7 in ACC), nearly [should have] beat Wake Forest (Wake shot 32 FT's & 57% from 3 to escape by 5), and feature legit bigs down low who were All-Conference. No 13 seed have three bigs over 6'9".

Not to mention, they press all game. Any team that has pressed us, mostly towards the end of game or attempting a comeback, have done so with success. Game tape.

Let's also note they have 2 guards who both shot over 200 3's. Collectively made 40%, and our 3pt defense is, well, isn't our strong suit.

And the (4) teams who slowed it down vs us this season, played tempo, and used up shot clock, played tough D, well....2 of them beat us, and the other 2 came within single digits.

Oh man.

Hey, I'm not Vegas, but this has upset written all over it.

You may sense sarcasm, yet no one is smiling here.

TexasZagFan
03-13-2018, 07:27 AM
The Zag staff have few peers when it comes to preparing the team for a game. I'll never forget Zach Collins' quote after the Arizona game last year. Paraphrased, Zach said there were no surprises, they knew exactly what Arizona was going to do.

As long as we stay away from "hero ball", we'll be fine. With the exception of a couple of Zach's 3 point bombs early in the shot clock, every 3 point attempt was taken within the flow of the game. Zags are adept at making that "extra pass", and the top 7 in the rotation have gotten 95% of the minutes over the past 4-6 games. Zach and Corey are no longer wide eyed freshman, but assassins on the court.

This game will be an extension of Vegas, business as usual.

Hoopaholic
03-13-2018, 07:39 AM
Excellent post, DSF. Thank you for the insight and share.

Greeeaaattttt....

So UNCG beat UNC in an exhibition, played #1 Virginia tight, beat NC State (who in turn beat Duke, UNC, Zona, et al, and went 11-7 in ACC), nearly [should have] beat Wake Forest (Wake shot 32 FT's & 57% from 3 to escape by 5), and feature legit bigs down low who were All-Conference. No 13 seed have three bigs over 6'9".

Not to mention, they press all game. Any team that has pressed us, mostly towards the end of game or attempting a comeback, have done so with success. Game tape.

Let's also note they have 2 guards who both shot over 200 3's. Collectively made 40%, and our 3pt defense is, well, isn't our strong suit.

And the (4) teams who slowed it down vs us this season, played tempo, and used up shot clock, played tough D, well....2 of them beat us, and the other 2 came within single digits.

Oh man.

Hey, I'm not Vegas, but this has upset written all over it.

You may sense sarcasm, yet no one is smiling here.

they didnt play Virginia tight....not sure where this myth is coming from...it was 6 point lead for first 8 minutes, 9 at half and a double digit lead the entire second half and as much as 19 points at one point

CarolinaZagFan
03-13-2018, 07:57 AM
Excellent post, DSF. Thank you for the insight and share.

Greeeaaattttt....

So UNCG beat UNC in an exhibition, played #1 Virginia tight, beat NC State (who in turn beat Duke, UNC, Zona, et al, and went 11-7 in ACC), nearly [should have] beat Wake Forest (Wake shot 32 FT's & 57% from 3 to escape by 5), and feature legit bigs down low who were All-Conference. No 13 seed have three bigs over 6'9".

Not to mention, they press all game. Any team that has pressed us, mostly towards the end of game or attempting a comeback, have done so with success. Game tape.

Let's also note they have 2 guards who both shot over 200 3's. Collectively made 40%, and our 3pt defense is, well, isn't our strong suit.

And the (4) teams who slowed it down vs us this season, played tempo, and used up shot clock, played tough D, well....2 of them beat us, and the other 2 came within single digits.

Oh man.

Hey, I'm not Vegas, but this has upset written all over it.

You may sense sarcasm, yet no one is smiling here.

You left out the 10:30 am tip

Zagceo
03-13-2018, 08:09 AM
You left out the 10:30 am tip

What time did Zags play Texas in PK-80? it was early as I recall

found it 10 am PT

http://www.oregonlive.com/collegebasketball/index.ssf/2017/11/pk80_texas_gonzaga_live_score.html

DixieZag
03-13-2018, 08:20 AM
I fully expect a tough game, much tougher than a 4-13 game should be (though 13s win with some regularity).

But, there is a reason they aren't a 5 seed.

I don't know anything about UNCG, but how is a 6'10 200lb supposed to guard JWIII, Tillie or Rui?

We hear about their guards being quick, but they are also undersized. How are they going to match-up with a 6'5 Norvelle?

I see it being much tighter and tougher than we'd like. I HATE the start time, reminds me a little of SLC and Southern. Hope the guys have already gotten their practice time in today.

GU 72
NCGU - 65

RenoZag
03-13-2018, 08:33 AM
Zags 74
UNCG 67

Goshzagit
03-13-2018, 09:04 AM
I don't know anything about UNCG, but how is a 6'10 200lb supposed to guard JWIII, Tillie or Rui?
5

He is listed at 200lbs, but he probably has a 7'3" wingspan and can bounce around. He will be a handful to work around -- large range & solid defensively. Really good offensive rebounder. he can fly! moves a lot like Rui.

Video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zq8K96hOknA

Coach Crazy
03-13-2018, 10:19 AM
I respect ya, Coach, yet this post tell me you have not watched their game tape.

Their tallest post player is 6'10", 200 lbs, and best defender/shot blocker/rebounder, yet their 'lead' post player is 6'9", 250lbs. A good 3pt shooter too, mixes it up inside and outside.

Also, they run a 1-2-2 IF you break their press, as their press creates around 5 TO's per game, and they create nearly 16 TO's.

Their guards don't always keep in front, b/c their defense is designed to "funnel" player to their wings and bigs. Once they pack it in, they collapse on the dribble-drive. Or allow Dickey to "hunt" and "spy" them. He blocks nearly everything that comes his way.

As mentioned before UNCG picks their poison. They literally don't defend a player to allow this to occur. My guess is they won't really defend Silas. They will gamble on one guy, freeing up a defender to 'help' on every possession. No one is allowed to drive to the hoop in their offense.

Additionally, they extend their guards way out to defend the 3, another reason players get past them. Gonzaga does nearly the opposite. Although, you have to chase Alonso or he will hunt his 3pt shot all. game. long., yet that's another topic/discussion. Most teams face-guard him.

UNCG's worst loss was 12 pts. Every game is close. Win or lose. They have held (6) teams to 50 pts or under. We have done that 1 time.

They press. As much as they can get away with. We haven't done great at breaking any one this entire season. Makes zero sense, I know, given the fact every one of our bigs can handle the ball. Rui should be a press break by himself. A major flaw in our system, imho, esp a year we should destroy presses.

Their press and unique defense frustrates teams. Slows down every offensive possession. A team must be clinical, precise, and patient, unless they break the press to begin with (I'm hoping we can do).

Add to it, they have a slow, deliberate offensive tempo as well. Utilize the entire shot clock, and find ways to shoot a 3. Very USD like, but unlike Torreros, they also rebound and clean up long rebounds. To reset the clock.

The combination b/w pressing, a unique defensive half-court formation (type of swarming zone), a slow tempo leading to 3's, really take opponents out of their rhythm, game, and flow. Forcing 1 on 1 ball most times.

We have the talent to overcome this, yet will be up to the guards and bigs to keep moving without the ball, cutting, finding the man they leave open on defense (Silas? Kispert?), and break the press. Sending one guy to help is ridiculous. I understand we want our bigs to post hard and post early, we need to get Tillie and Rui in the middle and force it down their throats with them on the press. Forcing their defenders to defend.

Also to add, they play very "handsy" on defense. They gamble, take risky fouls. UNCG wants the refs to make a decision on every defensive play -- nearly the exact opposite of us. Similar to how BYU plays "physical". They will grab, push, pull, and body people up. Go for the block on every shot, etc. Not dirty, just annoying....AND that is after they press you, and AFTER they swarm you.

A 25 pt win would require us probably scoring 85 or so, which would be an incredible feat. It would mean they were forced to abandon their press, break down their 1-2-2, get their big in foul trouble, and speed them up on offense...but just hard to have enough possessions to score that many points.

Trust me, given their style of play on BOTH ends, a 10 or 12 pt win is a 25 pt win vs most teams. A double digit win is a blow-out. They play hard too. Limit possessions, dictate pace, and force teams to guard for entire shot clock, and use the entire shot clock.

Jordy Kuiper is a net negative on offense. If he's your rebuttal, then I will take it. He averages 6.4 attempts per game, and a little over half are from 3. I would also like to know how many of those points come from rebounds. Just not many plays run through him in the post. So, if that is their lead post player, from a production standpoint, I would even dare them to run the post-entry. As far as his 3pt shooting, he's only putting up one a game...so I don't know that it's enough for me to be worried about him as a constant threat. Unless he's in the middle of a hot streak.

Was not impressed with what I saw on defense from the guards. They don't have particularly great instincts, and they don't have the recovery ability to close out the way they need to, if they are going to funnel GU the whole game. Or even a good portion of it. And yeah, they don't have the footwork to really enforce the press on this GU team. They'll get sloppy, and unless the refs just eat their whistles it could get them into foul trouble early.

I agree with BBZ, go at James Dickey. Rotate big's through him, if you have to. Make him step out on the wing against Rui, and then take him down into the post. Gas him by the end of the first half. Make him absorb with the size and strength of Jakob, make him defend the athleticism and post moves of J3, and make him deal with that hybrid collection of factors in Rui. All over the court.

As far as the final score...as I give it more thought, Coach Few will probably lay off the pedal if it gets to that level of blowout (and possibly sooner), so it probably goes to 19-15 point game. But I'll stick with it.

The opponent won't matter as much, here. What will matter is which GU teams shows up.

Hoopaholic
03-13-2018, 10:29 AM
He is listed at 200lbs, but he probably has a 7'3" wingspan and can bounce around. He will be a handful to work around -- large range & solid defensively. Really good offensive rebounder. he can fly! moves a lot like Rui.

Video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zq8K96hOknA

ummmm ok if you say so...i dont see it and I certainly do not see the comparison to Rui to be honest

Guess we shall see 10;30 but my guess is we dominate him inside on both ends of the court

Goshzagit
03-13-2018, 02:17 PM
IF we can get by the Spartans on Thurs (honestly sense a big "if"), then pretty neat deal we'll have familiarity/experience with most teams in our bracket -- and recent game tape.

We've faced:

-Ohio St this season
-SDSU last NCAA
-Xavier last NCAA
-UNC last NCAA
-San Diego St this season

UNC looks a lot different, yet the rest of the teams are nearly identical.

former1dog
03-13-2018, 02:23 PM
IF we can get by the Spartans on Thurs (honestly sense a big "if"), then pretty neat deal we'll have familiarity/experience with most teams in our bracket -- and recent game tape.

We've faced:

-Ohio St this season
-SDSU last NCAA
-Xavier last NCAA
-UNC last NCAA
-San Diego St this season

UNC looks a lot different, yet the rest of the teams are nearly identical.

Although I know you're prone to a cautious outlook, Gonzaga is going to kill UNCG!

OntZags
03-13-2018, 02:33 PM
Although I know you're prone to a cautious outlook, Gonzaga is going to kill UNCG!

Gonzaga hardly killed USD in either game this season and by pretty well every metric, this is a bigger, better version of San Diego.

If Gonzaga doesn't play the way are capable of, this game can easily turn on them. Not to mention, that starting time is likely to throw them off their rhythm a bit.

Thankfully the players/staff aren't gonna go in with the mentality of some the fans here lol.

raise the zag
03-13-2018, 03:09 PM
Gonzaga hardly killed USD in either game this season and by pretty well every metric, this is a bigger, better version of San Diego.


Very similar style to USD. Imagine if USD pressed or 3/4 press all game long.

Not to mention, they create nearly twice as many TO's, shoot more 3's per game (make about the same), and has 2 post players taller than anyone USD has...

So, they are USD...on steroids.

Its going to be a battle.

Yes, we are much more talented and better team, but their style has proved to give us fits. Press, swarm zone, slow tempo, good 3pt shooters, etc.

Can't see how this will be a blowout and feel fortunate if we escape Rd 1. I mean it when I say this game/match up worries me more than what we'll be facing in Rd 2.

Its ALL ABOUT MATCH UPS, folks, especially this time of year.

And besides being less talented overall, this couldn't be a worse one. Hope we are ready to break that press, speed them up, dictate tempo, DRAW FOULS, and take care of the ball.

Bogozags
03-13-2018, 03:19 PM
From reading all the above posts, maybe we shouldn't even go to Boise; however, if we do attend the festivities, I think GU wins this game because:

It's been my opinion that defence travels well and offence show's up...

I expect our offence to be sluggish as it is our first game in just under nine days BUT our defence will be there from the tip

Many have spoken about getting "their" big in foul trouble but I worry about JIII or Tillie picking up two early ones, as this could well effect our game plan...

Ball handling is key in this game...Josh cannot have another SDSU game and Melson must show his leadership from the tip...Run when we can but don't turn the ball over...

If they do press us, we need to look to score each time they do...that will be the "straw that brakes the camel's back..." If their press isn't effective, then they don't have those "Live Ball Turnovers," from which they like to shoot their threes...we still have the ability to score in the half-court offence, even if their press shortens the shot clock...

UNCG has 4 front court players from 6'6" to 6'10" but only Kuiper has size at 6'9" and 250lbs...they do hit the glass an average 7.5 ORB per game

Their guards, are aggressive but basically average more TO's than fouls and only one (Alonso) of their 8 rotational players shoots over 70% from FT's...


UNCG's rotational players average 65ppg and give up an average of 62ppg
GU's rotational players average 79ppg and give up an average of 67ppg


GU - 74
UNCG - 62

ZagAddict
03-13-2018, 05:03 PM
Just win baby!!! It's March, you have to focus on the game in front of you. It's SIMPLE, win and advance. I think the Zag's Tournament experience helps with shaking off the rust... I don't like the early morning game though.

Reborn
03-14-2018, 06:09 AM
Time to get my prediction in.

Zags 77
UNCG 63

I am one who is not the least frightened by this team. I feel confident. All that really matters is that the Zags win and advance. I believe in Few and his staff. They will get the team ready. They know how to do that. The players also know as more than a few have been down this road before. I do want to congratulate UNCG for making it to the Big Dance. It's an honor to play a good team like you. I know you will battle us.

I also predict a 7th round knockout.

Go Zags!!!

rennis
03-14-2018, 06:17 AM
I dislike the early morning game and style of the opponent. But I also dislike predicting close margins for games we should be winning convincingly. ergo:

Zags 79
UNCG 61

I think the key to the game is Silas shutting down Alonso. They're going to run him off every screen imaginable. Melson and whoever rotates has to stay glued to that kid.

kitzbuel
03-14-2018, 06:34 AM
I think the Zags win, I don't think they cover. The Spartans will go down valiantly.

Zags 76

Sparta - 68

kitzbuel
03-14-2018, 06:38 AM
Why did you leave out the most important video....their 2017-2018 Season Hype video...is this a music video from 2005? This is both brilliant marketing for future prospects and just so over the top it's ridiculous. Fast and the Furious - Greensboro. Good for them.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oBosiICfLTQ

They crush USF's attempts.

scrooner
03-14-2018, 07:05 AM
Why did you leave out the most important video....their 2017-2018 Season Hype video...is this a music video from 2005? This is both brilliant marketing for future prospects and just so over the top it's ridiculous. Fast and the Furious - Greensboro. Good for them.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oBosiICfLTQ

How do their players afford those cars?? Hmmmm.....

Goshzagit
03-14-2018, 07:32 AM
I have now watched (5) of their games since Sunday.

I had a sick day this week.

They aren't as sloooowww as I initially thought. They just force tempo, if that makes sense. Their press -- they come in and out of it -- forces teams over quite often, and forces them to burn time off the shot clock breaking it. UNCG cleans up the glass better than any WCC team we've played. Maybe not one enforcer, but they collectively rebound pretty well.

Their bigs aren't really offensive weapons, save Kuiper who can shoot decently for a big man. But they do get offensive boards, and find ways to hold the ball long enough for their guards to get open...and knock down shot after shot.

Their style of play is unique. Kinda like USD, but also like St Marys in a way. Bigger than USD, more athletic than SMC, yet no really scoring post threat outside put-backs and 3pt shots.

They seem to block a ton of shots as well, but that is mostly due to opposing guards in their conference taking most of the shot attempts in the lane. Although, the Dickey kid is long and can fly.

Their press will probably work against us, yet their half-court defense (1-2-2) will not. It just won't. We have yet to prove we can break a press or use our ball-handling bigs to our advantage from out of bounds plays, which drives me crazy, b/c we use them for transition opportunities off missed baskets = senseless.

Anyway, Coach Wes Miller continually says they will rely on their half-court defense, and they can defend any post players. I don't see how that will be possible, as they sag off players and roam in the middle, watching for dribble drive plays, or doubling the post entry. We must take advantage of this collapsing defense. Cannot stand around and watch guys go one on one, which we have done before. Must cut, find Tillie and Rui on weak side or in the middle, often.

Defensively, they play hard, unique formation, and their press is very good, but they take a ton of risks. On stealing the ball and fouling their opponent. They are coached to foul. Its obvious. This game will be determined heavily on how tight they call it, if we have ticky tack officials, expect Gonzaga to shoot 35 FT's. On the flip side, we don't draw a lot of contact either, which could frustrate us as well, if they just 'let us play'.

Everyone and their dog talks about their defense, but man to man, its overrated in the half-court. Much of their Top-5 PPG defensive #'s are due to them using the entire shot clock on offense, and forcing their opponent to use it as well. they can get burned.

I'm more impressed by their active offense. Their guards make ours look like they are standing still. No joke. UNCG moves, cuts, runs of screens, step back, hunt hunt hunt for open looks. Like energizer bunnies around the perimeter. They are unique in that they have enough size to clean up their guards' misses. A couple legit athletes too. They get put backs quite often.

Its as if UNCG has just the right type of player, just enough, at each position. They rotate 9 guys in too, so to keep their press fresh, and their guards shooting. They have no issues using 30 seconds to execute the play they want -- usually a 3pt attempt or mid-range shot by their bigs.

One of those frustrating teams to defend. Coach Few will definitely need to rotate guys in, esp our guards. Defending the entire shot clock and breaking the press will take its toll.

Win or lose -- we will be tired on Friday. No doubt.

They force you to beat them, they don't get beat unless out-manned. They are definitely out-manned here, but they battle, and tough to defend and easy to turn it over against.

The foul issues stick out like a sore thumb. Personally, I will be devastated if we don't foul a couple of their guys out. They are so risky and handsy with defense and shot blocks, it'd be a missed opportunity if this wasn't part of our game plan. Rui has become pretty good about forcing contact lately.

When watching UNCG, their personnel resembles a 10 or 11 seed. Like St Bonnie's type team, or maybe Nevada. The last time I saw the Wolfpack play, I honestly thought UNCG looked better overall. Athletic, some interesting pieces here and there, and always play hard. UNCG has more size though, which allows them to body up better teams, or at least rebound against them.

IF the WCC Tourney Zags show up, we pull away easily down the stretch, yet IF early-February Zags show up, we could honestly lose this game. The 15 TO Zags or 6 TO Zags? It will mean everything, b/c I know UNCG is making double-digit 3's this game. That's a given, its just who we are vs these type teams, yet if we come to play in other areas, we still win this...

On to Round 2! Although, we'll be more tired played every second of every possession -- on both sides -- than years prior.

gozagswoohoo
03-14-2018, 08:58 AM
I have now watched (5) of their games since Sunday.

I had a sick day this week.

They aren't as sloooowww as I initially thought. They just force tempo, if that makes sense. Their press -- they come in and out of it -- forces teams over quite often, and forces them to burn time off the shot clock breaking it. UNCG cleans up the glass better than any WCC team we've played. Maybe not one enforcer, but they collectively rebound pretty well.

Their bigs aren't really offensive weapons, save Kuiper who can shoot decently for a big man. But they do get offensive boards, and find ways to hold the ball long enough for their guards to get open...and knock down shot after shot.

Their style of play is unique. Kinda like USD, but also like St Marys in a way. Bigger than USD, more athletic than SMC, yet no really scoring post threat outside put-backs and 3pt shots.

They seem to block a ton of shots as well, but that is mostly due to opposing guards in their conference taking most of the shot attempts in the lane. Although, the Dickey kid is long and can fly.

Their press will probably work against us, yet their half-court defense (1-2-2) will not. It just won't. We have yet to prove we can break a press or use our ball-handling bigs to our advantage from out of bounds plays, which drives me crazy, b/c we use them for transition opportunities off missed baskets = senseless.

Anyway, Coach Wes Miller continually says they will rely on their half-court defense, and they can defend any post players. I don't see how that will be possible, as they sag off players and roam in the middle, watching for dribble drive plays, or doubling the post entry. We must take advantage of this collapsing defense. Cannot stand around and watch guys go one on one, which we have done before. Must cut, find Tillie and Rui on weak side or in the middle, often.

Defensively, they play hard, unique formation, and their press is very good, but they take a ton of risks. On stealing the ball and fouling their opponent. They are coached to foul. Its obvious. This game will be determined heavily on how tight they call it, if we have ticky tack officials, expect Gonzaga to shoot 35 FT's. On the flip side, we don't draw a lot of contact either, which could frustrate us as well, if they just 'let us play'.

Everyone and their dog talks about their defense, but man to man, its overrated in the half-court. Much of their Top-5 PPG defensive #'s are due to them using the entire shot clock on offense, and forcing their opponent to use it as well. they can get burned.

I'm more impressed by their active offense. Their guards make ours look like they are standing still. No joke. UNCG moves, cuts, runs of screens, step back, hunt hunt hunt for open looks. Like energizer bunnies around the perimeter. They are unique in that they have enough size to clean up their guards' misses. A couple legit athletes too. They get put backs quite often.

Its as if UNCG has just the right type of player, just enough, at each position. They rotate 9 guys in too, so to keep their press fresh, and their guards shooting. They have no issues using 30 seconds to execute the play they want -- usually a 3pt attempt or mid-range shot by their bigs.

One of those frustrating teams to defend. Coach Few will definitely need to rotate guys in, esp our guards. Defending the entire shot clock and breaking the press will take its toll.

Win or lose -- we will be tired on Friday. No doubt.

They force you to beat them, they don't get beat unless out-manned. They are definitely out-manned here, but they battle, and tough to defend and easy to turn it over against.

The foul issues stick out like a sore thumb. Personally, I will be devastated if we don't foul a couple of their guys out. They are so risky and handsy with defense and shot blocks, it'd be a missed opportunity if this wasn't part of our game plan. Rui has become pretty good about forcing contact lately.

When watching UNCG, their personnel resembles a 10 or 11 seed. Like St Bonnie's type team, or maybe Nevada. The last time I saw the Wolfpack play, I honestly thought UNCG looked better overall. Athletic, some interesting pieces here and there, and always play hard. UNCG has more size though, which allows them to body up better teams, or at least rebound against them.

IF the WCC Tourney Zags show up, we pull away easily down the stretch, yet IF early-February Zags show up, we could honestly lose this game. The 15 TO Zags or 6 TO Zags? It will mean everything, b/c I know UNCG is making double-digit 3's this game. That's a given, its just who we are vs these type teams, yet if we come to play in other areas, we still win this...

On to Round 2! Although, we'll be more tired played every second of every possession -- on both sides -- than years prior.



Thanks for this breakdown! Nice work!

ZagsGoZags
03-14-2018, 10:05 AM
GU 74
other guys 65

Goshzagit
03-14-2018, 10:06 AM
GU 74
other guys 65

something about this score & margin feels right.

+1

FlyZag
03-14-2018, 11:15 AM
Everyone is talking about their D... Newsflash OUR D is ranked 16 on kenpom.. while theirs is 29. And our O is 12 vs their 164.

Advantage Bulldogs

drooling underbiters: 72
'other' Spartans: 63

Goshzagit
03-14-2018, 11:19 AM
their two lead guards both average 40+% from 3pt. Gotta lock in and defend, not stare at them, and hope.

the other two 3pt shooters in the low 30's, which we can probably gamble more on but their lil guys can shoot!

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-14-2018, 04:31 PM
Zags 72-77. The Zags will lead for most of the game, but never quite put it away until the last couple of possessions. Call it a hunch.

ZagzKrak
03-14-2018, 04:44 PM
Zags 83
UNCG 59

Bocco
03-14-2018, 06:50 PM
GU 78
UNCG 65

I’d be ecstatic to see the Zags play like they like they did in the WCC tournament especially the games against USF and BYU.

upan8th
03-14-2018, 08:44 PM
So much of the outcome here in JP's hands. Is he bringing the game he's had for the last month with a terrific assist to turnover ratio, content to have his scoring take a back seat to others (Tillie, Norvell) or will he be dazzled by the national TV audience and, seeking the spotlight, jack up a dozen treys, making one. If that happens (see SDSU) we're up against it, might eke out win, probably lose. Prefer to think the floor leader Josh will show up, take his points as they come, albeit with his usual sub-par defense, and raise the potential for all his team mates. If that happens, even given the Zag's history of shaky starts, the final should be right around the pregame spread: GU 71 UNCG 59. Inclined to bet? Go under.

JPW314159
03-15-2018, 06:37 AM
ZAGS 76
UNCG 58

raise the zag
03-15-2018, 06:48 AM
So much of the outcome here in JP's hands. Is he bringing the game he's had for the last month with a terrific assist to turnover ratio, content to have his scoring take a back seat to others (Tillie, Norvell) or will he be dazzled by the national TV audience and, seeking the spotlight, jack up a dozen treys, making one. If that happens (see SDSU) we're up against it, might eke out win, probably lose. Prefer to think the floor leader Josh will show up, take his points as they come, albeit with his usual sub-par defense, and raise the potential for all his team mates. If that happens, even given the Zag's history of shaky starts, the final should be right around the pregame spread: GU 71 UNCG 59. Inclined to bet? Go under.

+1

These 7 or 8 assist & 1 or 2 TO games are more impressive than his 17-20 pt games, going 2-8 3pt, with 4 or 5 TO's.

Our margin of victory has skyrocketed when Perkins has 'managed' the game, set others up to score, and been more of a floor general.

Hope he doesn't feel too much pressure to score, given the slower pace, press, etc. He hasn't done well vs press this season, seems to force it too often, almost too aggressive on occasion.

Perkins has played like Jason Kidd the last 2 wks, and made a huge difference for us. His high scoring games are mostly met with closer games, I've discovered the more our guards launch shots, the more interest guys like Tillie loses -- gotta keep him engaged and active.

CdAZagFan
03-15-2018, 07:24 AM
Had to sit on this one for awhile - will the Zags be rusty and come out slow, or will they look fresh and sharp? I'm hoping for fresh and sharp...

GU 75
UNCG 65

billbow47
03-15-2018, 07:31 AM
Hope we attack their passive zone press. Speed the game up and stay intense on d. Attack their bigs....after Dickey they look slow.
Zags 68
UNCG 52

TravelinZag
03-15-2018, 08:23 AM
Fast start, smart play. No injuries, no overtime’s. Safe win to rest players and conserve energy for next game.

Zags 80
UNCG 64

Go Zags! EE or better; you’re good enough, you just need to want it enough!

SWZag
03-15-2018, 09:17 AM
I want to see Perkins come out of the gate and get two threes. This will bump him up to 10th place on the single season 3-pointers made list.

bballbeachbum
03-15-2018, 09:19 AM
early game, kind of expect Miller to dare the Zags to hit from deep early in the shot clock, see how nervous they are and if it will keep the Zags from attacking the paint where the Zags appear to have some advantages, we'll see
defend the 3 and rebound hard, UNCG uses the screen roll to get Alonso looks from 3 off the bounce, among other things, but if Zags can defend and rebound the misses to get out while going inside on the grinding possessions to collapse the D first, I think they can control the tempo that UNCG wants to create with their own good defense

hope Zags show up firing and defending great from jump, use any nerves as energy to burn early

Go Zags!

Hoopaholic
03-15-2018, 12:19 PM
+1

These 7 or 8 assist & 1 or 2 TO games are more impressive than his 17-20 pt games, going 2-8 3pt, with 4 or 5 TO's.

Our margin of victory has skyrocketed when Perkins has 'managed' the game, set others up to score, and been more of a floor general.

Hope he doesn't feel too much pressure to score, given the slower pace, press, etc. He hasn't done well vs press this season, seems to force it too often, almost too aggressive on occasion.

Perkins has played like Jason Kidd the last 2 wks, and made a huge difference for us. His high scoring games are mostly met with closer games, I've discovered the more our guards launch shots, the more interest guys like Tillie loses -- gotta keep him engaged and active.

Limited turnover

Only credited with 2 assists but I know I saw at least 3 long press break passes for dunks

Shot decent

Solid game