PDA

View Full Version : Other Games - Saturday - 2. 03. 2018



RenoZag
02-02-2018, 09:36 PM
WCC w/ NCAA RPI Rating as of 2/1

LMU (268) @ Portland (223) 1:00pm w.tv
SMC (27) @ San Diego (136) 6:00 pm ROOT, w.tv, Spectrum
BYU (73) @ GU (50) 7:00 pm ESPN2
UOP (142) @ Pepperdine (329) 7:00 pm Stadium
USF (170) @ Santa Clara (272) 8:00 pm

Top 25 / Ratings Influencers

#4 Duke @ St. John's 9:00 am Fox
OSU @ #7 Kansas 9:00 am CBS
#8 Cinn @ UConn 9:00 am ESPN2
#10 Texas Tech @ TCU 11:00 am ESPNU
#20 Clemson @ Wake 11:00 am ACCNE
#21 Kentucky @ Missouri 11:00 am CBS
Minn @ #24 Michigan 11:30 am FOX

#2 Virginia @ Syracuse 1:00 pm ACCNE
#3 Purdue @ Rutgers 1:00 pm BTN
Kansas St @ #15 West Virginia 1:00 pm ESPN2
Alabama @ #23 Florida 1:00 pm ESPN
TX A&M - CC @ Incarnate Word 1:00 pm
Florida A&M @ Howard 1:00 pm
Montana @ North Dakota 2:00 pm
Georgetown @ #6 Xavier 3:00 pm CBSSN
Ole Miss @ #18 Tenn 3:00 pm SECN
Texas Southern @ Prairie View 3:00 pm
#12 Oklahoma @ Texas 3:15 pm ESPN

Pitt @ #19 North Carolina 5:00 pm ACCNE
#5 Michigan St @ Indiana 5:15 pm ESPN
Vandy @ #11 Auburn 5:30 pm SECN
USAF @ San Diego St. 7:00 pm
#9 Arizona @ Washington 7:30 pm PAC12


Full Schedule: http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/schedule/_/date/20180203/group/50

Full Broadcast Schedule: http://mattsarzsports.com/Schedule/Weekly/basketball201718/13#.WnVR0q6nGUl

Full NCAA RPI Ratings: https://www.ncaa.com/rankings/basketball-men/d1/ncaa-mens-basketball-rpi

Andy Katz' quick takes on the marquee games: https://www.ncaa.com/news/basketball-men/article/2018-02-03/college-basketball-today-texas-tech-tcu-oklahoma-texas

Enjoy your Saturday.

sittingon50
02-02-2018, 09:43 PM
Lotta' home games for Zag opponent's on that list, Reno.

Here's hopin' the Zag's & their friends all have a successful day.

Thanks for your effort.

RenoZag
02-03-2018, 09:48 AM
Kansas trying to claw back against OSU. 72 - 65, OSU, with 6:11 to go

23dpg
02-03-2018, 09:57 AM
Upset Saturday brewing. Both Kansas and Duke down double digits late. Both were 10+ point favorites.

LTownZag
02-03-2018, 10:27 AM
Somehow I think Duke will pull it out, despite being down by 10 for much of the 2nd half.

How do they manage to get outplayed and then always win? (VS Texas, Florida, and seemingly half their wins this year)

EDIT: Duke goes down to an unranked team!

(though if they hadn't gone 0-for-3 from behind the arch in the final 25 seconds...)

northsidezagfan
02-03-2018, 10:28 AM
Upset Saturday brewing. Both Kansas and Duke down double digits late. Both were 10+ point favorites.

And down they both go!

Reborn
02-03-2018, 11:03 AM
Duke loses at St John's by 4 I think.
Kansas loses at home to Oklahoma St.

Hoopaholic
02-03-2018, 11:05 AM
Kentucky had 9 points ten minutes into game

ZagNative
02-03-2018, 11:34 AM
At the half:

Kentucky 18
Missouri 28

Good grief! I've got to tune into that one and see what the heck is going on!

thespywhozaggedme
02-03-2018, 12:14 PM
Man if Puke, Kansas and Kentucky all go down in the same day it would be awesome! All I would need is for Zona to lose as well for the day to end perfect.

seacatfan
02-03-2018, 01:05 PM
Man if Puke, Kansas and Kentucky all go down in the same day it would be awesome! All I would need is for Zona to lose as well for the day to end perfect.

You've got 3 of the 4 on your wish list, w/ 1 game left.

Duke losing to St. John's and Boston College this year? Those are some bad losses. Selection committee will have to do some mental gymnastics to still give them a #1 or #2 seed.

Hoopaholic
02-03-2018, 01:05 PM
Man if Puke, Kansas and Kentucky all go down in the same day it would be awesome! All I would need is for Zona to lose as well for the day to end perfect.

3 for 3 so far

23dpg
02-03-2018, 01:11 PM
Man if Puke, Kansas and Kentucky all go down in the same day it would be awesome! All I would need is for Zona to lose as well for the day to end perfect.

75% there for you Spy. Kentucky loses by 9.
Also, South Carolina gets blown out by Texas A&M. NIT at best for them. Maybe Oregon too. It may be that Gonzaga has the best rebuilding year of the final 4 teams from last year.

RenoZag
02-03-2018, 01:12 PM
Duke losing to St. John's and Boston College this year? Those are some bad losses. Selection committee will have to do some mental gymnastics to still give them a #1 or #2 seed.

They manage those gymnastics every year. . .piece of cake for them.

TexasZagFan
02-03-2018, 01:13 PM
Kentucky had 9 points ten minutes into game

Must have been watching game film of the Zags.

23dpg
02-03-2018, 01:15 PM
Portland is up 2 over LMU in the second half. Game is on Root Sports. The gym is maybe 20% full. On Thursday vs BYU, the gym was half empty with only the visitorís side full.
Gonzaga, BYU and maybe St Maryís really are too big for this league. Itís not the wccís fault. It hasnít changed, Gonzaga changed.

jazzdelmar
02-03-2018, 01:27 PM
They manage those gymnastics every year. . .piece of cake for them.

Exactly. But not only a top seed but a clear path to the E8.

23dpg
02-03-2018, 01:58 PM
Florida lays an egg in the second half and gets run off their home court by Alabama.
Purdue with a tougher than expected win over Rutgers.
Portland leads LMU in a close one.
Oregon down 16 at half to Stanford. Smh how the Ducks have the #2 recruiting class coming in next year after Duke.

scrooner
02-03-2018, 02:50 PM
Wow, Oregon down 92-57 to Stanford, 2 minutes left.

Sound Voltex
02-03-2018, 02:58 PM
Portland edges LMU 68-66 for the season sweep.

mtzaga
02-03-2018, 03:00 PM
Griz 72 No Dak 67

RenoZag
02-03-2018, 04:06 PM
Georgetown 82
#6 Xavier 81

1:46 to go

Xavier made a 4 point play to tie the game with roughly 20 seconds left. Gtown didn't get off a decent look and the game is headed for OT 86 - 86

Xavier avoids the upset at home, winning 96 - 91.

RenoZag
02-03-2018, 04:26 PM
Texas knocks off Oklahoma, 79 - 74

Texas Southern loses again, as does Incarnate Word

Howard defeats Florida A & M

TexasZagFan
02-03-2018, 08:26 PM
Florida lays an egg in the second half and gets run off their home court by Alabama.
Purdue with a tougher than expected win over Rutgers.
Portland leads LMU in a close one.
Oregon down 16 at half to Stanford. Smh how the Ducks have the #2 recruiting class coming in next year after Duke.

Florida can say bye bye to Top 25.

RenoZag
02-03-2018, 08:27 PM
Stats Monitor for UW vs AZ

http://stats.statbroadcast.com/statmonitr/?id=190124

73 each, 1:19 to play GO DAWGS !

Huskies hit a three with one second left to win 78 - 75.

23dpg
02-03-2018, 08:28 PM
UW and Zona tied at 73. Just over a minute left

Ezag
02-03-2018, 08:28 PM
Landale a beast tonight 34 points, 18 boards. We do not have an answer or match up for him

Hoopaholic
02-03-2018, 08:35 PM
Huskies beats arizona

thespywhozaggedme
02-03-2018, 08:35 PM
Man if Puke, Kansas and Kentucky all go down in the same day it would be awesome! All I would need is for Zona to lose as well for the day to end perfect.

A 3 at the buzzer for UDubb wins it! What a great day!!

LTownZag
02-03-2018, 08:35 PM
Go UW!!!
That was BALLER

How did we beat them so badly? That win is looking GOOD.

RenoZag
02-03-2018, 08:36 PM
Stats Monitor for UW vs AZ

http://stats.statbroadcast.com/statmonitr/?id=190124

73 each, 1:19 to play GO DAWGS !

Huskies hit a three with one second left to win 78 - 75.


UW and Zona tied at 73. Just over a minute left

The Washington win is looking better and better

23dpg
02-03-2018, 08:36 PM
What an ending for UW!

dhozagfan08
02-03-2018, 08:37 PM
Huskies beats arizona

What an ending! Crazy shot. It's hard to watch UW, I want to root against them, but it helps us(short term) when they win. It's scary to think how good they will be in the future under Hopkins.

thespywhozaggedme
02-03-2018, 08:39 PM
3 for 3 so far

4-4!

23dpg
02-03-2018, 08:41 PM
4-4!

5-5. Zags win!

SWZag
02-03-2018, 08:42 PM
Landale a beast tonight 34 points, 18 boards. We do not have an answer or match up for him

He is a good player for sure. We know he'll get his points, we need to ensure everyone else doesn't get theirs. Landale himself won't have enough to beat us.

dhozagfan08
02-03-2018, 08:43 PM
6-6 with Texas over Oklahoma.

RenoZag
02-03-2018, 08:54 PM
San Diego State 81
Air Force 50

TexasZagFan
02-03-2018, 09:06 PM
He is a good player for sure. We know he'll get his points, we need to ensure everyone else doesn't get theirs. Landale himself won't have enough to beat us.

IMO, the next game against SMC will be decided on tempo. We can't allow them to slow it down. Their bench is not as deep as ours, we need to use that to our advantage.

jazzdelmar
02-04-2018, 05:01 AM
It was a wholly different Zag team that beat the likes of Texas, Washington, Creighton, Ohio State, et al. The various ranking services cannot input this, but we know better.

23dpg
02-04-2018, 08:25 AM
It was a wholly different Zag team that beat the likes of Texas, Washington, Creighton, Ohio State, et al. The various ranking services cannot input this, but we know better.

Look at all the upsets yesterday. Kansas at home, Duke in NYC, (the Johnnies are 0-11 in conference) Arizona lost to UW, Florida got killed at home, Kentucky who will have multiple players picked in the first round lost again, Purdue MSU,SMC and Xavier all eeked by lesser opponents. The Zags won! There are only a small handful of teams that are definitively better than Gonzaga. So, no I don’t know better.
So much for trying to be more positive.

RenoZag
02-04-2018, 09:01 AM
Man if Puke, Kansas and Kentucky all go down in the same day it would be awesome!


The only other time all three schools were vanquished on the same day was back on March 6, 2005 - back when collegiate greats like Duke's J.J. Redick and Shelden Williams, Kansas' Wayne Simien and Keith Langford, and Kentucky's Rajon Rondo and Chuck Hayes were on the losing sides.

https://twitter.com/ESPNStatsInfo/status/959906366440787971

jazzdelmar
02-04-2018, 09:29 AM
Look at all the upsets yesterday. Kansas at home, Duke in NYC, (the Johnnies are 0-11 in conference) Arizona lost to UW, Florida got killed at home, Kentucky who will have multiple players picked in the first round lost again, Purdue MSU,SMC and Xavier all eeked by lesser opponents. The Zags won! There are only a small handful of teams that are definitively better than Gonzaga. So, no I don’t know better.
So much for trying to be more positive.

The conversation was not about being more or less Pollyanna about the team, it was all about treating fellow posters better and with respect.. On that score, that’s an F for you.

23dpg
02-04-2018, 09:55 AM
The conversation was not about being more or less Pollyanna about the team, it was all about treating fellow posters better and with respect.. On that score, that’s an F for you.

1. It’s not being Pollyanna. I tried to counter with a reasoned argument.
2. Your negativity is almost exclusively saved for the team, hence my misunderstanding to your stated goal of being less negative,
3. If it was for the posters, well, you tried.

My only reason for responding to your initial post was the phrase, “we know better”. I was simply giving a counter view backed up with what I perceived as pertinent facts. You obviously disagree.

Bogozags
02-04-2018, 09:55 AM
He is a good player for sure. We know he'll get his points, we need to ensure everyone else doesn't get theirs. Landale himself won't have enough to beat us.

I watched that game and noticed officiating allowed him so much “freedom” on offence. His defenders were called for fandom calls. There were at least four calls that saved SMC. Another observation on why this game was “close” was because Naar had NINE turnovers!!! His defenders kept forcing him into making bad passes and decisions. I don’t believe our guards can put that type of pressure on him...IMO this will be the key to victory for GU, that and decent officiating.

Ezag
02-04-2018, 05:15 PM
He is a good player for sure. We know he'll get his points, we need to ensure everyone else doesn't get theirs. Landale himself won't have enough to beat us.

hope not, gotta play him at least 2 more times

strikenowhere
02-04-2018, 07:57 PM
It was a wholly different Zag team that beat the likes of Texas, Washington, Creighton, Ohio State, et al. The various ranking services cannot input this, but we know better.

Yeah this is the feeling I've had for a while now - what changed? Kispert going down with that injury prior to Villanova and having Norvell take his spot? Was the Villanova beatdown so demoralizing? It certainly feels like something nebulous changed.

EDIT: Just realized that the Washington game came after Villanova