PDA

View Full Version : GU vs BYU - Predictions/What you hope to see



LongIslandZagFan
02-01-2018, 07:36 PM
I made a commitment to manage these predictions and I plan to see it through. These are the only things I will be posting for the foreseeable future.

With that out of the way... BYU... Kennel edition... short window.

What are you hoping to see? What are you expecting? Predictions?

Have at it boys and girls!

willandi
02-01-2018, 07:38 PM
85-75 Zags

Zags11
02-01-2018, 08:22 PM
Zags 88
BYU 85

Zags finally stop BYU in GU.

zagdontzig
02-01-2018, 10:08 PM
I guess word hasnít made it here yet, but BYU lost at LMU tonight. I dread facing a BYU team coming off a bad loss more than facing a BYU team on a roll, especially when weíre on cruise control against USD. I donít know what to think here, but I hope Iím very wrong.

TexasZagFan
02-01-2018, 10:24 PM
I guess word hasn’t made it here yet, but BYU lost at LMU tonight. I dread facing a BYU team coming off a bad loss more than facing a BYU team on a roll, especially when we’re on cruise control against USD. I don’t know what to think here, but I hope I’m very wrong.

I share your concerns. I expect BYU to play as if their season is on the line Saturday night...it sure is for us.

Martin Centre Mad Man
02-02-2018, 03:46 AM
BYU 81. Zags 78. I have a bad feeling about this one.

Zagger
02-02-2018, 04:11 AM
Thanks LIZF for all your work on the predictions! They're fun :)

What I'd like to see is a serious arse whooooping by GU to avenge the home loss last year! I also wanna see 7 Zags in double figures, lots of vocal fans at the game, sensibly sensitive posters on this board, and a huge sale on Tim's potato chips the next time I visit Yoke's :) ......

GU 85, Y-ners 60

caldwellzag
02-02-2018, 06:39 AM
Been a life long Zag fan, but just found out about this board a few months ago. I quietly followed a lot of the post and finally decided to join and this is my first post.

Gonzage 78
BYU 71

From everything I have read there are a lot of you that have a lot of great things to say about our Zags. Thank you for that insight!

Reborn
02-02-2018, 07:09 AM
BYU lost to Loyola Marymount last night. Wow!!! I took a look at their offensive stats and their two post players look pretty good, averaging 18 and 17 respectfully. When looking at their schedule results, it shows they play much better at home. They seem to struggle on the road. This bodes good for the Zags.

I'm hoping to see the Ninja Shooters out in full force for this game. I'd like to see the Zags make than ten three's for this game.
Looking forward to seeing that stifling D I saw last night. Keep it up Zags. I'm enjoying watching our young Zags: Norvell, Kispert, and Rui. Keep it up guys. Finally, I'm enjoying watching our two seniors play lately. I can tell these guys know their careers at GU are winding down. JW3 and Melson continue to play great.

Go Zags!!!

amaronizag
02-02-2018, 07:13 AM
Seems like I'm way off on my predictions so I'll say it's going to be really ugly and hope my prediction is way off as usual. BYU may be short a guy Saturday due to concussion, we'll see. BYU sure looked bad against LMU last night but then GU only scored 69 points last night. What happened to the up tempo play? As Coach Crazy pointed out, this new dribble drive component needs some work. SMC is smokin". Landale passes outside when doubled as well as Karno.
Bottom line.......we're a lot better than BYU this year, but we have to start playing up to our potential.

GU 75-68 BYU. Physical and ugly......hopefully no injuries.

bballbeachbum
02-02-2018, 07:41 AM
think LMU can thank the Zags for helping BYU overlook them last night
hopefully the Kennel is a true home court advantage. after reading the RIP thread doesn't sound like it
BYU gets hyped for this game evidently, so hope Zags play their best game of the year in an season of inconsistent performances

TexasZagFan
02-02-2018, 08:18 AM
think LMU can thank the Zags for helping BYU overlook them last night
hopefully the Kennel is a true home court advantage. after reading the RIP thread doesn't sound like it
BYU gets hyped for this game evidently, so hope Zags play their best game of the year in an season of inconsistent performances

Every conference team gets overly hyped against the Zags, for good reason. USF was a major disappointment last night, their coach should have prepared his team better, when you consider he was an assistant to Bennett for nearly a decade.

bballbeachbum
02-02-2018, 08:29 AM
Every conference team gets overly hyped against the Zags, for good reason. USF was a major disappointment last night, their coach should have prepared his team better, when you consider he was an assistant to Bennett for nearly a decade.

they sure do, and BYU has shown how to win with it in the Kennel
re. Smith, I didn't see the game but know how difficult it can be to coach against a good friend, mentor even. it's tough, got some weird emotional and psychological stuff going on. will be interesting to see how that develops over the years, whether Smith can garner the emotional fire he feels against the Zags and aim it at Bennett

ZagOD7540
02-02-2018, 08:29 AM
Every conference team gets overly hyped against the Zags, for good reason. USF was a major disappointment last night, their coach should have prepared his team better, when you consider he was an assistant to Bennett for nearly a decade.

When these other WCC teams are playing someone other than the Zags, they have zero interest in getting up for these games. Watch SD get pounded by SM on Saturday. Their sites were set on beating the Zags last night.

Zags 87
Cougs 70

All Weather Fan
02-02-2018, 08:59 AM
Zags - 83
Cougars - 74
Redemption !

U Zig, I Zag
02-02-2018, 09:03 AM
Been a life long Zag fan, but just found out about this board a few months ago. I quietly followed a lot of the post and finally decided to join and this is my first post.

Gonzage 78
BYU 71

From everything I have read there are a lot of you that have a lot of great things to say about our Zags. Thank you for that insight!

Thank for joining, though you might have caught us 'at a bad time'. Normally it's a lot more fun - lots of infighting lately. Less basketball, more insults. That sort of thing. We are in therapy though, so hopefully it get's better.

That said, I never do the prediction threads (or rarely do). I'll save mine for Moraga. If the fans and the students don't make some noise tomorrow, Zags may be in trouble....

Coach Crazy
02-02-2018, 10:17 AM
Harder to call this time. Elijah Bryant isn't the type of player that BYU has had lead them in the past. Yes, he gets points, but in the past it was *how* those players got their points that made the difference. Their defense is much improved, but for some reason their offense is now atrocious. Haws never became the PG I thought he would, Seljaas got back from the mish and is now dreadful from 3, and Dastrup is definitely not the Top 100 they signed away from tOSU.

I want to call this one a blowout, but unless our offense gets flowing, BYU will be able to hang around ala-USD, regardless of how well our defense plays.

stevet75
02-02-2018, 10:44 AM
Zags 90 Cougars 86

CdAZagFan
02-02-2018, 10:48 AM
Zags 80
BYU 60

Bogozags
02-02-2018, 11:02 AM
GU 80
BYU 65

Snowkane
02-02-2018, 12:59 PM
Zags 77
BUY 70

bigblahla
02-02-2018, 01:34 PM
Zags 86-75

Go!! Zags!!!

Skimhvn
02-02-2018, 02:00 PM
BYU has many message boards... Which is main
board...

Zaga
02-02-2018, 02:37 PM
85-67 Gonzaga

ZagsGoZags
02-02-2018, 02:43 PM
Hi Skimhvn,
glad you are staying on this board
seems like the more Rui learns Few's system, the more minutes he gets.
If you haven't seen this page listing all the boards for all the WCC teams except zags, try:

http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?166-WCC-Standings-WCC-Message-Boards-WCC-Site-Links

Skimhvn
02-02-2018, 03:01 PM
Hi Skimhvn,
glad you are staying on this board
seems like the more Rui learns Few's system, the more minutes he gets.
If you haven't seen this page listing all the boards for all the WCC teams except zags, try:

http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?166-WCC-Standings-WCC-Message-Boards-WCC-Site-Links

Cool, thx!

mattydog73
02-02-2018, 03:35 PM
Zags 80
Cougars 69

Hope to see more continuity less disjointed play.

LongIslandZagFan
02-02-2018, 04:38 PM
Not bothering to research this one... hasnít been working to this point. Just going to WAG it.


Zags 92
Cougars 78

MontanaCoyote
02-02-2018, 04:52 PM
No injuries. 40 minutes of GU basketball. No naps!

DixieZag
02-02-2018, 05:12 PM
Zags 78
BYU 69

RenoZag
02-02-2018, 05:52 PM
Prediction:

BYU 84
Zags 80

Zags in early foul trouble, Childs too much to handle, outside shooting lets us down, turnovers and free-throw shooting are this year's Achilles Heel. . .Kennel Club doesn't get to show its true colors, blah-blah-blah.

What I Hope to See:

A big plate of crow on my dining table after the Zags prove me wrong. . .

Psychozag
02-02-2018, 06:02 PM
GU-83
BYU-79

ZagzKrak
02-02-2018, 06:06 PM
Zags 95
BYU 76

23dpg
02-02-2018, 06:58 PM
Zags 78
BYU 67

Zag_Dad
02-02-2018, 07:20 PM
GU 81
BYU 70

kitzbuel
02-02-2018, 09:36 PM
https://bustingbrackets.com/2018/02/02/byu-vs-gonzaga-college-basketball-game-preview-tv-schedule/

Seems on target to me. I agree

Zags 78

BYUCougs 71

ZagsGoZags
02-02-2018, 11:41 PM
By the way LongIsland I appreciate that you run these prediction threads for the message community
Zags 89
BYU 81

GrizZAG
02-03-2018, 01:01 AM
Zags finally find the net 94
BY U loses 77

GonzagasaurusFlex
02-03-2018, 04:01 AM
https://bustingbrackets.com/2018/02/02/byu-vs-gonzaga-college-basketball-game-preview-tv-schedule/

Seems on target to me. I agree

Zags 78

BYUCougs 71

Thanks for the link kitzbuel.

I hadn’t realized BYU has defeated Zags in Spokane 3 years in a row! Silas Melson needs to challenge his teammates and declare ‘My Zag career will NOT include 4 losses at home to BYU.’

My prediction & hope: Zags turn the corner and start playing their best ball of the season tonight as they amp up for a postseason run. Perkins gets hot from 3 and scores 20+ to lead the way. The lightbulb goes on, best offensive performance of the year w Zags winning 101-87!

zag67
02-03-2018, 06:44 AM
Gu 90 - 74

Reborn
02-03-2018, 07:16 AM
I'm really hoping to see Josh Perkins have a great game, finally. The Zags need him to make some shots, and score more than ten points and shoot above 33%.

Go Zags!!!

rennis
02-03-2018, 08:05 AM
I want a beat-down. BYU deserves it, and so do the fans

Zags 88
BYU 69

BeachZag
02-03-2018, 08:13 AM
Enough is Enough - not this time, to many shooters for BYU to cover.
Zags 92
Cougars 62

GU69
02-03-2018, 08:20 AM
Love to have a big win, but I'm not seeing it.
GU, but only 75-74

JPW314159
02-03-2018, 08:29 AM
ZAGS 83
BYU 71

GonzaGAW
02-03-2018, 08:37 AM
zags 79
byu 71

BULLDOG#1
02-03-2018, 09:07 AM
BYU has been incredibly inconsistent this year.... so have the zags, but BYU even more so. I guess that translates to 'anything can happen' but for some reason I don't think this cougar team is built to handle the zags. I don't think they have a lot up front beyond Childs, and though he's having a great year, I cannot see him stopping GU's bigs. I'm guessing JW or Tillie or Rui (or any combination of the three) with have a big game(s).

I also think Perk and Melson will contain Haws and Bryant and Norvell with probably give them fits.

As a throw-in... it would be nice to see Kispert continue his comeback. I'd like to see him and the Seljass kid go at it.

In the end, I think the zags will just be too much and win by 15+

BayAreaZagFan
02-03-2018, 10:58 AM
I just want to see a victory for the good guys.

Zags - 80
BYU - 75

TravelinZag
02-03-2018, 11:03 AM
Thank you, LIZ. Moderators need to clampdown hard to save this board from the bored, rude and offensive.

Learning to temper my hopes and expectations for the team and the fans too.

Zags 73
BYU. 65

spike_jr
02-03-2018, 12:30 PM
82-71 zags

get out early and play inspired bb for 40 min

upan8th
02-03-2018, 02:37 PM
Line set at 12 -- hasn't moved. O/U jiggling between 144/45. At this juncture, I wouldn't lay 12 on GU vs the Post Falls CYO. No leadership from either of our upperclassman guards, plays run with no confidence they'll succeed, staff has failed to coach-up Rui, Killian, Corey & Zach to anywhere near their potential, three point D atrocious & the list goes on. BYU does their usual McCarthy thing, but this time, lose on a Casey Calvary-like, last second tip in by JWIII. GU 78 BYUtes 77 in OT.

billbow47
02-03-2018, 03:24 PM
Zags 87 BYU 68.......we owe them

Bocco
02-03-2018, 03:27 PM
Zags 79
BYU. 71

Zag_Dad
02-03-2018, 05:41 PM
I hope to see a convincing victory, Perkins leading the team, Tillie playing with focus and the Kennel Club ďlitĒ

https://twitter.com/kremtony/status/959970413819260928

mtzaga
02-03-2018, 05:50 PM
It’s rockin inside the MAC.

Zags 72 BYU 61

Zag_Dad
02-03-2018, 06:20 PM
Caillou feeling it...but Tillie is playing like the Tillie we love.

RenoZag
02-03-2018, 08:11 PM
What goes well with crow ? Red or White ?

:o

Zags11
02-03-2018, 08:13 PM
What goes well with crow ? Red or White ?

:o

Red

mtzaga
02-03-2018, 08:53 PM
It’s rockin inside the MAC.

Zags 72 BYU 61

I was only 5 points off.

First time in the MAC. Great win for the Zags.