PDA

View Full Version : I saw Brock Ravet play last night.



Reborn
12-29-2017, 07:22 AM
I am really amazed at how good he is. I mean totally amazed. He's a really different kind of player than I had seen from his videos. He was really cold from behind the arc (which surprised me) but he has a beautiful shot and most of the misses where half-way through the hoop. They are playing in the Sun Dome here in Yakima and it's hard for kids to shoot in that kind of arena. However the kid can really play the game, and I have never seen a high school player who can play like Ravet. I've seen Pendo and Steven Gray play here, as well Riddnaur who went on to play at Oregon. Steven Gray is one of my all time favorite Zags and Rivet is better. He's a GREAT point guard. He's the best ball handler and passer I've ever seen, by far. Zillah is a great High School team and presses a lot. Rivet beat the press time after time with three-quarter length passes that reminded me of Wilson's passes to Baldwin for TD's. I mean his passing is beautiful, a piece of art. You all know I love passing, and he can do it.

He's by far the best dribbler I've ever seen. Zillah double teamed him the whole first half, and they weren't even close to stopping him from attacking the hoop time after time. The only way they had a chance to control him was to tripple team at half court. However, the never really controlled him because he shredded that 3 against one game with pin perfect passes to team mates. However, Kittitas was really a very very bad team, and his team mates time after time couldn't score when they had a 4 on 2 game. I felt sorry for Rivet because he really wanted to beat Zillah. Back to his dribbling. He keeps the ball so low, and has such great control of his body, and he's really fast. He's athletic as heck and really gets high up when he get's to the basket. It was amazing to watch him go 1 on 5 and score inside many many times. He'd just dribble his way through the whole team.

It's rare to see a player this good. He's a crowd pleaser for sure. Even Zillah's fans were oooing and ahhhhhing. He's like watching a beautiful sunset on the ocean. Just incredible. He's playing again at noon today. Of course I'll be there. It's a fantastic experience to see a game played as well as Brock can play it.

I know you all want to know about him. I had doubts too because he's only 6'1" and comes from a B school. You need to no longer doubt. Pendo was from a B school, and Gray from an A. Ravet, as I said is better, and is much better than Pendo was. And we all know how much he meant to Gonzaga basketball.

Go Zags!

My son saw Watson play and I wasn't aware he was in Yakima so I was out doing something else. I missed seeing him play. DANG IT. However Demian said that the kid is GREAT. 6' 9". i DIDN'T know he was that tall. Demian was thinking that he had not signed with the Zags, and fears that teams like UCLA, Washington, even the big boys like Duke ect will be all over him later on in his career. Dame said he only committed to play. Is that true? I looked at Zag Native's scholly chart and it shows he's on scholarship. Any way. I guess these two local kids are going to be really great Zags in a couple of years.

Zagdawg
12-29-2017, 07:46 AM
Ravet

Thanks for taking the time to share-- it is good to hear.

Goshzagit
12-29-2017, 07:54 AM
Nice post and thanks for the report, Reebs.

I've been a Ravet supporter from the beginning. He could be a star at this level. He is 2" away from being all-american type talent one day.

Hope he continues to grow and fill out more.

As I said in an earlier post, he has extremely advanced moves and wiggle 99% players don't have at the same stage. His use of hesitation, pick n pop, spins usually take years to develop. He gets it. Very savvy with the ball, quick, & can shoot from anywhere.

Has some Raivio and McNamara to his game.

His competition has been questioned and deservdely so, yet when you watch Brock, he has it. Once he gains experience vs better talent, he will match it. High motor too. Tireless worker on the court, not just off it. His handles are terrific.

When I first watched him, I thought he looked like Jesse Wade yet with wayyyyy more advanced repertoire to his game, and nearly as good of shooter. Not as much elevation or pure shot, but just more of a baller all around.

As much as I've backed Brock, it's Greg Foster I see little to no Gonzaga level talent, UNLESS he keeps growing into a wing type player with good handles and smart play.

NEC26
12-29-2017, 07:56 AM
Thanks for sharing!

JPtheBeasta
12-29-2017, 08:10 AM
Was the kid from Oregon Luke Ridnour?

He was a great college player and a good NBA one. If Ravet is showing glimpses of Ridnour that would be high praise.

Comparing Ravet to a sunset is a nice one. I’ll bet even Jazz likes a good sunset, even the 2 and 3 star ones.

Reborn
12-29-2017, 08:12 AM
Nice post and thanks for the report, Reebs.

I've been a Ravet supporter from the beginning. He could be a star at this level. He is 2" away from being all-american type talent one day.

Hope he continues to grow and fill out more.

As I said in an earlier post, he has extremely advanced moves and wiggle 99% players don't have at the same stage. His use of hesitation, pick n pop, spins usually take years to develop. He gets it. Very savvy with the ball, quick, & can shoot from anywhere.

Has some Raivio and McNamara to his game.

His competition has been questioned and deservdely so, yet when you watch Brock, he has it. Once he gains experience vs better talent, he will match it. High motor too. Tireless worker on the court, not just off it. His handles are terrific.

When I first watched him, I thought he looked like Jesse Wade yet with wayyyyy more advanced repertoire to his game, and nearly as good of shooter. Not as much elevation or pure shot, but just more of a baller all around.

As much as I've backed Brock, it's Greg Foster I see little to no Gonzaga level talent, UNLESS he keeps growing into a wing type player with good handles and smart play.

Foster sounds great. Where'd you see him play? Thanks for your report on Ravet, and I apologize for the misspelling of his name. I'll fix it.

thespywhozaggedme
12-29-2017, 08:24 AM
I am really amazed at how good he is. I mean totally amazed. He's a really different kind of player than I had seen from his videos. He was really cold from behind the arc (which surprised me) but he has a beautiful shot and most of the misses where half-way through the hoop. They are playing in the Sun Dome here in Yakima and it's hard for kids to shoot in that kind of arena. However the kid can really play the game, and I have never seen a high school player who can play like Ravet. I've seen Pendo and Steven Gray play here, as well Riddnaur who went on to play at Oregon. Steven Gray is one of my all time favorite Zags and Rivet is better. He's a GREAT point guard. He's the best ball handler and passer I've ever seen, by far. Zillah is a great High School team and presses a lot. Rivet beat the press time after time with three-quarter length passes that reminded me of Wilson's passes to Baldwin for TD's. I mean his passing is beautiful, a piece of art. You all know I love passing, and he can do it.

He's by far the best dribbler I've ever seen. Zillah double teamed him the whole first half, and they weren't even close to stopping him from attacking the hoop time after time. The only way they had a chance to control him was to tripple team at half court. However, the never really controlled him because he shredded that 3 against one game with pin perfect passes to team mates. However, Kittitas was really a very very bad team, and his team mates time after time couldn't score when they had a 4 on 2 game. I felt sorry for Rivet because he really wanted to beat Zillah. Back to his dribbling. He keeps the ball so low, and has such great control of his body, and he's really fast. He's athletic as heck and really gets high up when he get's to the basket. It was amazing to watch him go 1 on 5 and score inside many many times. He'd just dribble his way through the whole team.

It's rare to see a player this good. He's a crowd pleaser for sure. Even Zillah's fans were oooing and ahhhhhing. He's like watching a beautiful sunset on the ocean. Just incredible. He's playing again at noon today. Of course I'll be there. It's a fantastic experience to see a game played as well as Brock can play it.

I know you all want to know about him. I had doubts too because he's only 6'1" and comes from a B school. You need to no longer doubt. Pendo was from a B school, and Gray from an A. Ravet, as I said is better, and is much better than Pendo was. And we all know how much he meant to Gonzaga basketball.

Go Zags!

My son saw Watson play and I wasn't aware he was in Yakima so I was out doing something else. I missed seeing him play. DANG IT. However Demian said that the kid is GREAT. 6' 9". i DIDN'T know he was that tall. Demian was thinking that he had not signed with the Zags, and fears that teams like UCLA, Washington, even the big boys like Duke ect will be all over him later on in his career. Dame said he only committed to play. Is that true? I looked at Zag Native's scholly chart and it shows he's on scholarship. Any way. I guess these two local kids are going to be really great Zags in a couple of years.

Watson and Ravet are both commits, but neither have signed yet, because they can't, they're both juniors. Thanks for the review, btw.

Worthington
12-29-2017, 08:41 AM
Love hearing these kinds of reports, thanks for sharing! Would love to hear your assessment of his performance in the second game, as well.

scrooner
12-29-2017, 08:41 AM
Game story:

http://www.yakimaherald.com/sports/prep_sports/zillah-overwhelms-ravet-kittitas-to-snap--game-win-streak/article_a8a44596-ec6a-11e7-b53d-6737b7851842.html

scrooner
12-29-2017, 08:47 AM
There are a couple of new highlights on his Hudl page as well, from Dec 15 and Dec 19:

http://www.hudl.com/profile/7112190/brock-ravet

hooter73
12-29-2017, 09:22 AM
I'm behind Ravet and hope Watson advances some more, but I dont get Foster from the reports.

CDC84
12-29-2017, 09:30 AM
Pendergraft's competition was questioned as well. The way I look at it, if 247 can put any kid from the middle of Washington in its top 70, he's got to be talented. Either that or talent scouts are catching on to the fact that if Mark Few hands out and gets one of the first 2019 commits, it's probably because the guy is super good.

TexasZagFan
12-29-2017, 09:30 AM
I'm behind Ravet and hope Watson advances some more, but I dont get Foster from the reports.

Hidden gem? His dad knows the value of a great coaching staff. Greg improved greatly under the watchful eye of The Bear.

hooter73
12-29-2017, 09:51 AM
Pendergraft's competition was questioned as well. The way I look at it, if 247 can put any kid from the middle of Washington in its top 70, he's got to be talented. Either that or talent scouts are catching on to the fact that if Mark Few hands out and gets one of the first 2019 commits, it's probably because the guy is super good.

I hope its that and not jumping in too fast after getting skunked in target recruits a few too many times in the last year or two.

hooter73
12-29-2017, 09:54 AM
Hidden gem? His dad knows the value of a great coaching staff. Greg improved greatly under the watchful eye of The Bear.

You have to figure thats the case but then I think about the coaches kids or nba players kids that never did crack the line ups. I dont know, maybe save some walk on spots for those players who have the pedigree and the smarts but havent fully developed teh high level skills or speed or whatever just yet. I freely admit I havent followed Foster much, mostly because there isnt much press out there to follow, so if the staff likes him, there has to be something there. I think some of my hang up is that we are a national championship caliber program and dont seem to be high level recruiting like one. But again, fans dont know dink about the insides of program recruiting so I may be way off base.

Proudzagmom
12-29-2017, 10:30 AM
I didn’t know you were there or I would’ve said hello! It’s been a while.

thespywhozaggedme
12-29-2017, 10:39 AM
I've gotta be honest, I've been hearing forever that he's really an undersized sg, but I'll tell you after watching the highlights, he's an excellent passer with great court vision. he's a true pg that happens to also be a prolific scorer. I'm now totally sold and can't wait to see him as a Zag.

cggonzaga
12-29-2017, 10:48 AM
I've gotta be honest, I've been hearing forever that he's really an undersized sg, but I'll tell you after watching the highlights, he's an excellent passer with great court vision. he's a true pg that happens to also be a prolific scorer. I'm now totally sold and can't wait to see him as a Zag.

Questions have never been about his offense. For those complaining about the defense this year, Ravet makes Wade look like a good defender.

Also, I’m a little gun shy on Ravet after seeing Wade this year. Jesse put up similar numbers against better competition in Utah.

cggonzaga
12-29-2017, 10:54 AM
I think some of my hang up is that we are a national championship caliber program and dont seem to be high level recruiting like one.

I hear this hooter however 2019 is shaping up to be a top 15 or higher class. Besides current commits we’re also supposedly in good position with numbers 39, 68 and 91. We were recruiting Cassius Stanley at one point but don’t know about that anymore.

ZagMan in Philly
12-29-2017, 10:55 AM
Better than Gray, that is very promising.
Thanks for the report.

ZagNative
12-29-2017, 11:19 AM
That was a fun report to read! Thanks, Reborn!

bballbeachbum
12-29-2017, 12:54 PM
enjoyed it too Reborn, thanks!

MDABE80
12-29-2017, 12:54 PM
My friend Reborn knows of which he speaks! Great report. Jazz will love the Zag version of Ernie DeGregorio!!

thespywhozaggedme
12-29-2017, 01:02 PM
Questions have never been about his offense. For those complaining about the defense this year, Ravet makes Wade look like a good defender.

Also, I’m a little gun shy on Ravet after seeing Wade this year. Jesse put up similar numbers against better competition in Utah.

Their builds are totally different, Wade is wispy, Ravet is built like a linebacker.

bartruff1
12-29-2017, 01:22 PM
Gray carried his team into the NCAA....I will believe Brock is that good when I see it....

cggonzaga
12-29-2017, 01:23 PM
Their builds are totally different, Wade is wispy, Ravet is built like a linebacker.

Which is another concern especially considering his current quickness. We certainly don’t want him getting much bigger. Taller yes, bigger no.

The Gray comparison couldn’t be further off. You’re talking about one of the great all around Zags. If Ravet becomes anything more than a serious scoring threat off the bench I’ll be happy.

Like many before him, let’s not build a kid up so much that he can’t possibly live up to the expectations. No offense to reborn but he’s seen him once and is ready to king him the next Dickau. Some on this board have seen him multiple times and against good AAU competition. He can score against anybody but certainly has some inconsistencies and inefficiencies that will be magnified at the next level.

sittingon50
12-29-2017, 01:44 PM
Their builds are totally different, Wade is wispy, Ravet is built like a linebacker.


Wispy? Guess I need a definition.

bigblahla
12-29-2017, 01:59 PM
Wispy? Guess I need a definition.

Think Jack Skeleton with skin....;)

Happy New Year to All!!!

DixieZag
12-29-2017, 02:03 PM
It is hard to figure on some of this.

We built the program on guys like Pendo, Gray, Ravio, guys that weren't 4-5 star recruits, but ended up being amazing Zags.

OTOH, we didn't get to the E8 without a 5 star Wiltjer combined with an All-Time duet of guards in Pangos and Bell.

We didn't get to the Final Four without a 5 star Collins paired with a 10 star in life NWG and a hungry Pac 12 monster shooter.

It's difficult to conceive how we could get to the Final Four again without some of those 4-5 star kids, going back to underrated WA kid.

But, it's probably right to mention that we've only had one player of the year and he was some socialist from Spokane with either no or tiny national recognition in Morrison.

I don't hear that any of these kids are Morrison (though Morrison wasn't Morrison at Mead), nor Dickau - another D1 All-American, and that leaves me hoping that Few's WA dice come up 7s, and/or our kid coming from Europe (I never remember his name) is another Sabonis, and there is reason to hope this kid is the real Euro deal, amirite?

Or the real long shot, that some of these kids that committed to programs that are going to be sanctioned to the level of traveling in a bus eating peanut butter and jelly and not allowed to see the NCAA tournament even on TV will take a second look at us.


Oh, and LAST, our Board's coach whisperer, the guy who is a time traveler (and likely shape-shifter), seemed to promise us a Christmas present in the form of a BCS 4-5 star transfer for next year, at least I recall something like that. Getting late, possible there was a rip in time, too. Haven't seen much of him lately.

Zagricultural
12-29-2017, 02:30 PM
Think Jack Skeleton with skin....;)

Happy New Year to All!!!

Wade isn't wispy at all.

hooter73
12-29-2017, 02:53 PM
It is hard to figure on some of this.

We built the program on guys like Pendo, Gray, Ravio, guys that weren't 4-5 star recruits, but ended up being amazing Zags.

OTOH, we didn't get to the E8 without a 5 star Wiltjer combined with an All-Time duet of guards in Pangos and Bell.

We didn't get to the Final Four without a 5 star Collins paired with a 10 star in life NWG and a hungry Pac 12 monster shooter.

It's difficult to conceive how we could get to the Final Four again without some of those 4-5 star kids, going back to underrated WA kid.



Exactly. Exactly exactly exactly. I tried to say just this a week or so ago and it either didnt register or didnt come out right, but yes, this is my hang up as well. Not to knock ANY of the recruits or commits, just... exactly.

cjm720
12-29-2017, 06:41 PM
Thanks, Reborn! Exciting to hear!!!

sittingon50
12-29-2017, 07:30 PM
OTOH, we didn't get to the E8 without a 5 star
.

Hall, Santangelo, Frahm, Calvary, Eaton....

Reborn
12-29-2017, 10:07 PM
I saw Ravet again today. He scored 40 against a very good and very tall White Pass team. He had a really good player guarding him today who is 6'6" tall and tough. the six foot six kid is a dunking machine. Kittitas took them by about ten. A few of their players did play better today. Kispert had to be on from the outside today to win because White Pass was so tall. They were 6'6" and 6' 5" inside and they had a really good 6'4 guard who was impressive. Yet Ravet held him pretty well. So yes. I got to see Ravet hitting from outside and outside the arc. The kid can shoot. Was more impressive today because he had taller guys playing against him. It was nice to see his outside shot falling. I'd say he's a 90% from the foul shooter. And he gets there a lot.

I told you about this Elijiah Pepper kid. He's for sure Ravet's equal. Pepper was also outstanding today hitting 80% of his shots and 7 for ten from behind the arc. When Pepper is on like he was today no one can beat Selah. Selah has a lot of help for Pepper. They have 4 really good guards. They're small, but tough. They have 3 guards who are 6' 3" though. ALL GOOD, I do wish few would offer Pepper.

I guarantee you that these two kids from Central Washington can play, and could play against anyone. You would need to see them play in order to believe me. These guys are both much better than Pendo because they can do so much more with the basketball. They are like magicians with the ball. Ravet is THIS. However, I'm sure he lifts. He is not linebacker material at all. That's Kispert. These two guys don't play like Kispert because Kispert is more of a set shooter. These two guys can create any kind of shot you can imagine that a guard could shoot, and can they ever handle the ball and pass. Pepper deserves a look imo.

Selah played Lynden today. One of the best AA schools in the state every year. Selah beat them by 20 and Pepper must have gotten 30 or close to it.

bigblahla
12-30-2017, 04:26 AM
Pepper looks interesting, a 6'3" PG/SG...interest from The Don's and offers from the Grizz and Rainbow Warriors...

Nice info bornie...

Go!! Zags!!!

raise the zag
12-30-2017, 04:59 AM
Wade isn't wispy at all.

Oh no, now someone is bound to post that shirtless pic of our team in the weight room.

The one that makes J3 look huge (skinniest faux center in NCAA), Perkins ripped (lankiest PG of any P5 team), Wade a monster (is there any definition w/out flexing?). The only guy with natural strength and not mirror muscles is/was Norvell...and Larsen.

When I was 160lbs, I had a 6-pack too, and my arm muscles were ripped....but I was still 160lbs and could barely bench my own weight.

I've wondered for years why our guys never really bulk up during their 4 yrs here...referring to the guards rather than the bigs.

Our guards stay the same size, while I notice our opponents often gain more and more muscle.

thespywhozaggedme
12-30-2017, 06:01 AM
I saw Ravet again today. He scored 40 against a very good and very tall White Pass team. He had a really good player guarding him today who is 6'6" tall and tough. the six foot six kid is a dunking machine. Kittitas took them by about ten. A few of their players did play better today. Kispert had to be on from the outside today to win because White Pass was so tall. They were 6'6" and 6' 5" inside and they had a really good 6'4 guard who was impressive. Yet Ravet held him pretty well. So yes. I got to see Ravet hitting from outside and outside the arc. The kid can shoot. Was more impressive today because he had taller guys playing against him. It was nice to see his outside shot falling. I'd say he's a 90% from the foul shooter. And he gets there a lot.

I told you about this Elijiah Pepper kid. He's for sure Ravet's equal. Pepper was also outstanding today hitting 80% of his shots and 7 for ten from behind the arc. When Pepper is on like he was today no one can beat Selah. Selah has a lot of help for Pepper. They have 4 really good guards. They're small, but tough. They have 3 guards who are 6' 3" though. ALL GOOD, I do wish few would offer Pepper.

I guarantee you that these two kids from Central Washington can play, and could play against anyone. You would need to see them play in order to believe me. These guys are both much better than Pendo because they can do so much more with the basketball. They are like magicians with the ball. Ravet is THIS. However, I'm sure he lifts. He is not linebacker material at all. That's Kispert. These two guys don't play like Kispert because Kispert is more of a set shooter. These two guys can create any kind of shot you can imagine that a guard could shoot, and can they ever handle the ball and pass. Pepper deserves a look imo.

Selah played Lynden today. One of the best AA schools in the state every year. Selah beat them by 20 and Pepper must have gotten 30 or close to it.

Uh..........................:doh:

Reborn
12-30-2017, 07:21 AM
I don't blame some of you for not believing me. I couldn't believe it myself when I saw him play. He's unbelievable.

I was talking to Pepper's grand father last night, and he said that he hasn't really gotten any offers. He said Oregon is showing interest.Pepper is also a great defensive player. And I do mean great. If you want to see someone who goes all out every game, watch Eliziah Pepper play.

DixieZag
12-30-2017, 07:23 AM
Oh no, now someone is bound to post that shirtless pic of our team in the weight room.

The one that makes J3 look huge (skinniest faux center in NCAA), Perkins ripped (lankiest PG of any P5 team), Wade a monster (is there any definition w/out flexing?). The only guy with natural strength and not mirror muscles is/was Norvell...and Larsen.

When I was 160lbs, I had a 6-pack too, and my arm muscles were ripped....but I was still 160lbs and could barely bench my own weight.

I've wondered for years why our guys never really bulk up during their 4 yrs here...referring to the guards rather than the bigs.

Our guards stay the same size, while I notice our opponents often gain more and more muscle.

I don't know if you're just referring to the picture, nor do I know if Rui was in it. But, Rui is most definitely a guy with natural strength and muscle.

Guy could play middle linebacker at a BCS school, if he knew how to tackle.

FuManShoes
12-30-2017, 07:36 AM
I am really amazed at how good he is. I mean totally amazed. He's a really different kind of player than I had seen from his videos. He was really cold from behind the arc (which surprised me) but he has a beautiful shot and most of the misses where half-way through the hoop. They are playing in the Sun Dome here in Yakima and it's hard for kids to shoot in that kind of arena. However the kid can really play the game, and I have never seen a high school player who can play like Ravet. I've seen Pendo and Steven Gray play here, as well Riddnaur who went on to play at Oregon. Steven Gray is one of my all time favorite Zags and Rivet is better. He's a GREAT point guard. He's the best ball handler and passer I've ever seen, by far. Zillah is a great High School team and presses a lot. Rivet beat the press time after time with three-quarter length passes that reminded me of Wilson's passes to Baldwin for TD's. I mean his passing is beautiful, a piece of art. You all know I love passing, and he can do it.

He's by far the best dribbler I've ever seen. Zillah double teamed him the whole first half, and they weren't even close to stopping him from attacking the hoop time after time. The only way they had a chance to control him was to tripple team at half court. However, the never really controlled him because he shredded that 3 against one game with pin perfect passes to team mates. However, Kittitas was really a very very bad team, and his team mates time after time couldn't score when they had a 4 on 2 game. I felt sorry for Rivet because he really wanted to beat Zillah. Back to his dribbling. He keeps the ball so low, and has such great control of his body, and he's really fast. He's athletic as heck and really gets high up when he get's to the basket. It was amazing to watch him go 1 on 5 and score inside many many times. He'd just dribble his way through the whole team.

It's rare to see a player this good. He's a crowd pleaser for sure. Even Zillah's fans were oooing and ahhhhhing. He's like watching a beautiful sunset on the ocean. Just incredible. He's playing again at noon today. Of course I'll be there. It's a fantastic experience to see a game played as well as Brock can play it.

I know you all want to know about him. I had doubts too because he's only 6'1" and comes from a B school. You need to no longer doubt. Pendo was from a B school, and Gray from an A. Ravet, as I said is better, and is much better than Pendo was. And we all know how much he meant to Gonzaga basketball.

Go Zags!

My son saw Watson play and I wasn't aware he was in Yakima so I was out doing something else. I missed seeing him play. DANG IT. However Demian said that the kid is GREAT. 6' 9". i DIDN'T know he was that tall. Demian was thinking that he had not signed with the Zags, and fears that teams like UCLA, Washington, even the big boys like Duke ect will be all over him later on in his career. Dame said he only committed to play. Is that true? I looked at Zag Native's scholly chart and it shows he's on scholarship. Any way. I guess these two local kids are going to be really great Zags in a couple of years.

That's some dream!

509er
12-30-2017, 07:38 AM
I don't blame some of you for not believing me. I couldn't believe it myself when I saw him play. He's unbelievable.

I was talking to Pepper's grand father last night, and he said that he hasn't really gotten any offers. He said Oregon is showing interest.Pepper is also a great defensive player. And I do mean great. If you want to see someone who goes all out every game, watch Eliziah Pepper play.

Is Pepper a Jr or Sr?

bartruff1
12-30-2017, 07:46 AM
I just keep thinking that if you want to play with the Big Boys....you have to have Big Boys.... like those guards at Villanova ....like 75 ( I think ) would say...." Think Big....no Bigger than that....".....unless of course you have a NBA quality shorter guards...but perhaps Gonzaga is not at that level yet....

WallaWallaZag
12-30-2017, 08:56 AM
It is hard to figure on some of this. We built the program on guys like Pendo, Gray, Ravio, guys that weren't 4-5 star recruits, but ended up being amazing Zags.

i've seen a lot of gray mentioned on this thread and there seems to be some serious memory loss...

gray might have been an in-state kid but please, he was 4 star consensus top 100 kid who had a composite (247 average) ranking of #63
reborn is also comparing ravet's skills to gray, which is fine...but gray was/is 6'5 205 with a vertical over 3 feet...also, any comparisons to gray needs to be taken in context...gray played in the seattle 3a metro league, by far the best in the state, so he was going against div 1 guys every week, not "b" guys like ravet (i do get that ravet has also played well against better comp during aau)

doctorzag
12-30-2017, 11:31 AM
I saw Ravet again today. He scored 40 against a very good and very tall White Pass team. He had a really good player guarding him today who is 6'6" tall and tough. the six foot six kid is a dunking machine. Kittitas took them by about ten. A few of their players did play better today. Kispert had to be on from the outside today to win because White Pass was so tall. They were 6'6" and 6' 5" inside and they had a really good 6'4 guard who was impressive. Yet Ravet held him pretty well. So yes. I got to see Ravet hitting from outside and outside the arc. The kid can shoot. Was more impressive today because he had taller guys playing against him. It was nice to see his outside shot falling. I'd say he's a 90% from the foul shooter. And he gets there a lot.

I told you about this Elijiah Pepper kid. He's for sure Ravet's equal. Pepper was also outstanding today hitting 80% of his shots and 7 for ten from behind the arc. When Pepper is on like he was today no one can beat Selah. Selah has a lot of help for Pepper. They have 4 really good guards. They're small, but tough. They have 3 guards who are 6' 3" though. ALL GOOD, I do wish few would offer Pepper.

I guarantee you that these two kids from Central Washington can play, and could play against anyone. You would need to see them play in order to believe me. These guys are both much better than Pendo because they can do so much more with the basketball. They are like magicians with the ball. Ravet is THIS. However, I'm sure he lifts. He is not linebacker material at all. That's Kispert. These two guys don't play like Kispert because Kispert is more of a set shooter. These two guys can create any kind of shot you can imagine that a guard could shoot, and can they ever handle the ball and pass. Pepper deserves a look imo.

Selah played Lynden today. One of the best AA schools in the state every year. Selah beat them by 20 and Pepper must have gotten 30 or close to it.

He actually scored 33 Reborn. Broke the tournament scoring record.
Brock is the real deal. Thanks for the report Reborn.

jazzdelmar
12-30-2017, 11:37 AM
He actually scored 33 Reborn. Broke the tournament scoring record.
Brock is the real deal. Thanks for the report Reborn.

Reborn was exaggerating? Nooooooo.......

Reborn
12-30-2017, 11:43 AM
Reborn was exaggerating? Nooooooo.......

seemed like 40 he's good trust me I know he had a tough 6'6" defender guarding him. I do understand though....it's hard to believe

jazzdelmar
12-30-2017, 11:46 AM
seemed like 40 he's good trust me I know he had a tough 6'6" defender guarding him. I do understand though....it's hard to believe

Luv ya, R-man. Happy NY to u and D-man.

demian
12-30-2017, 12:49 PM
Luv ya, R-man. Happy NY to u and D-man.

Thanks Jazz, happy new year to you and your family as well.

cggonzaga
12-30-2017, 12:56 PM
seemed like 40 he's good trust me I know he had a tough 6'6" defender guarding him. I do understand though....it's hard to believe

There’s nothing hard to believe reborn. He’s great offensively, everybody knows that. Hopefully it translates to the next level and hopefully he improves in other areas.

scrooner
12-30-2017, 01:33 PM
As a 17-year-old high school junior, Ravet is 6'1" 174lbs according to 247 Sports. As a 23-year-old college senior, Dickau was 6'0" 190. Just sayin'.

bartruff1
12-30-2017, 01:45 PM
As I recall, Dan was a First Team All American......First Round Draft Choice.... and played for several years in the NBA....

jazzdelmar
12-30-2017, 01:45 PM
As a 17-year-old high school junior, Ravet is 6'1" 174lbs according to 247 Sports. As a 23-year-old college senior, Dickau was 6'0" 190. Just sayin'.

Please. That’s sacrilege at this point. DD was a fireplug. Unmatched leadership. Just saying.

Reborn
12-30-2017, 02:53 PM
Luv ya, R-man. Happy NY to u and D-man.

Happy New Year's Jazz.....and many more.......

scrooner
12-30-2017, 05:12 PM
Ravet is similar in size and build to your favorite player, that's all I'm saying. I'd guess they are similar in other ways too. How good was DD in high school?

23dpg
12-30-2017, 06:33 PM
Ravet is similar in size and build to your favorite player, that's all I'm saying. I'd guess they are similar in other ways too. How good was DD in high school?

Real good. He played at Prarie HS in Washington just north of Portland. His team was pretty good his senior year and he might have been the player of the year for his class. Went to UW with some fanfare. The rest is history.

katman50
12-30-2017, 06:50 PM
Real good. He played at Prarie HS in Washington just north of Portland. His team was pretty good his senior year and he might have been the player of the year for his class. Went to UW with some fanfare. The rest is history.

I remember watching Dan in the State Tourney. He was small, but one could tell that he was a D1 player. Just the way he carried himself on the court. Am excited about Ravet. Who knows? He could pan out and be very good or just a good role player. Love getting these hometown boys from Eastern Washington, regardless of their schools classification.

scrooner
12-31-2017, 07:22 AM
Ah, here we go. From the GoZags site, but it sure wasn't easy to find:

HIGH SCHOOL: Attended Prairie High in Vancouver, playing with current Gonzaga forward Zach Gourde...averaged 20.0 ppg, 5.0 rpg and 7.0 assists/game as a senior...Prairie went 22-4 and advanced to the Washington State Class AAA semifinals, losing to eventual champion Mercer Island...honorable mention Greater St. Helen's League selection as a sophomore, first-team all-league as junior and senior...scored 47 points in 80-47 win over Camas...as a junior averaged 19.7 ppg, and 16.0 ppg as a sophomore...state of Washington Class AAA Player of the Year as selected by the Associated Press, Seattle Post-Intelligencer and Tacoma News Tribune...named to the Seattle Times All-State team...attended Nike Camp during the summer of 1996, and was listed as 20th overall among recruits on the Long Beach Press-Telegram Best in the West poll of coaches...selected as the No. 15 point guard prospect by Basketball Times magazine...also lettered two years in golf.

WallaWallaZag
12-31-2017, 08:43 AM
I remember watching Dan in the State Tourney. He was small, but one could tell that he was a D1 player. Just the way he carried himself on the court.
Am excited about Ravet. Who knows? He could pan out and be very good or just a good role player. Love getting these hometown boys from Eastern Washington, regardless of their schools classification.

the problem with guys like ravet is that it is increasingly difficult for them to become role players as the zags up the talent level and build teams to compete against the p5...he needs to either be a star or he'll be buried on the bench because he will probably always be a defensive liability and your role players really can't be that. if he's not a star, then his best case scenario is probably 5-10 minutes a game as a backup pg. in other words, i think the zags have evolved to the point where there may not exist a bankhead-type role anymore or a stockton-type role either...and if there is, it would mean that the staff massively failed from a recruiting standpoint.

willandi
12-31-2017, 09:25 AM
the problem with guys like ravet is that it is increasingly difficult for them to become role players as the zags up the talent level and build teams to compete against the p5...he needs to either be a star or he'll be buried on the bench because he will probably always be a defensive liability and your role players really can't be that. if he's not a star, then his best case scenario is probably 5-10 minutes a game as a backup pg. in other words, i think the zags have evolved to the point where there may not exist a bankhead-type role anymore or a stockton-type role either...and if there is, it would mean that the staff massively failed from a recruiting standpoint.

You are, of course, entitled to your opinion. I also believe that it is possible that Few has made mistakes.

However...I think the balance swings heavily to the one that has the highest winning percentage of any active college basketball coach, the one that made the championship game last year.

I don't know what your credentials are but imagine they pale compared to Few's.

Still, you are entitled to your opinion.

bartruff1
12-31-2017, 09:29 AM
You are, of course, entitled to your opinion. I also believe that it is possible that Few has made mistakes.

However...I think the balance swings heavily to the one that has the highest winning percentage of any active college basketball coach, the one that made the championship game last year.

I don't know what your credentials are but imagine they pale compared to Few's.

Still, you are entitled to your opinion.

Will, have you forgot....Few won a huge majority of National Coach of the Year Awards.....no small achievement....

willandi
12-31-2017, 12:17 PM
Will, have you forgot....Few won a huge majority of National Coach of the Year Awards.....no small achievement....

Honestly, yes. I did forget. One more weight on the Few side of the scales.

DixieZag
12-31-2017, 02:28 PM
i've seen a lot of gray mentioned on this thread and there seems to be some serious memory loss...

gray might have been an in-state kid but please, he was 4 star consensus top 100 kid who had a composite (247 average) ranking of #63
reborn is also comparing ravet's skills to gray, which is fine...but gray was/is 6'5 205 with a vertical over 3 feet...also, any comparisons to gray needs to be taken in context...gray played in the seattle 3a metro league, by far the best in the state, so he was going against div 1 guys every week, not "b" guys like ravet (i do get that ravet has also played well against better comp during aau)

Gray is one of my all-time favorite Zags, he and Gary Bell.

To the extent that I sold him short in how he rated coming out of high school, it's precisely bc of some serious memory loss, not in any way to put him down at all. He needed more guys like him.

Steven Gray was both a grounded and well-rounded student and almost always the best player on the floor. My mistake.

My intention was to convey that we were not in the E8 (other than magical first year of run) until we had Wiltjer, Karno and Sabonis; it doesn't seem like a reach to say that Karno and Sabonis might well have been 5 stars, 4 minimum, coming out of an American H.S. And we went to the championship game with 2 five stars in Collins and Nigel, Karno still, and some proven D-1 beasts in Williams and Mathews.

We really bumped up the recruiting 2012-2016 and it really paid off. It is very hard to not feel uneasy about not having a Collins, Sabonis, Wiltjer or Nigel on the horizon. To be fair, though, we DO have a tx red#### sitting on the bench that may well be ready to be All-American quality, and we have many 4 star guys that are frosh/sophs in Norvelle, Kispert, Larsen, Tillie (who seems to be playing himself into a junior year) so it's not like I'm terrified of next year

EEzag
12-31-2017, 07:01 PM
When coaches offer this early they know something. When coaches offer this early to a guy in ravet's league they really see something.

We have to take the gems any way we can. We don't win straight up recruiting battles with the blue bloods very often.

WallaWallaZag
12-31-2017, 08:04 PM
You are, of course, entitled to your opinion. I also believe that it is possible that Few has made mistakes.
However...I think the balance swings heavily to the one that has the highest winning percentage of any active college basketball coach, the one that made the championship game last year.
I don't know what your credentials are but imagine they pale compared to Few's.
Still, you are entitled to your opinion.

i don't see where i differ from few...i am not against ravet in any way...i'm just simply indicating that if he isn't able to become a pangos/dickau he is likely to have a very small role because the zags can't afford to have someone with his physical profile as a secondary guard if they want to compete at the highest level, which means if he's not a star pg then he's a 5-10 minute backup to hopefully a nwg-type. i'm saying if he ends up in a role like bankhead or stockton it will mean the zags have regressed. i am saying i'm not a big fan of the possible wade/ravet redundancy because i don't think you can play guys like them together and compete at the highest level.

willandi
12-31-2017, 08:39 PM
i don't see where i differ from few...i am not against ravet in any way...i'm just simply indicating that if he isn't able to become a pangos/dickau he is likely to have a very small role because the zags can't afford to have someone with his physical profile as a secondary guard if they want to compete at the highest level, which means if he's not a star pg then he's a 5-10 minute backup to hopefully a nwg-type. i'm saying if he ends up in a role like bankhead or stockton it will mean the zags have regressed. i am saying i'm not a big fan of the possible wade/ravet redundancy because i don't think you can play guys like them together and compete at the highest level.

If you can't see the difference, sorry I can't help you. Have a great New Year.

WallaWallaZag
12-31-2017, 08:46 PM
If you can't see the difference, sorry I can't help you. Have a great New Year.

unless you know what the coaching staff is thinking, you can't possibly know what differences, if any, there are...

willandi
12-31-2017, 08:59 PM
unless you know what the coaching staff is thinking, you can't possibly know what differences, if any, there are...

They offered both. Your comments are questioning the wisdom of that. THEY ARE NOT THE SAME.

WallaWallaZag
12-31-2017, 09:09 PM
They offered both. Your comments are questioning the wisdom of that. THEY ARE NOT THE SAME.

i didn't realize you were part of the never question few camp...in that case, peace.

otherwise, the coaching staff has to take calculated risks in recruiting, i do not...i also never suggested i was against bringing in ravet or wade, far from it in fact (actually feel ravet has a decent chance to be dickau 2.0)...but i don't think that doesn't mean we can't discuss their possible shortcomings and potential issues that might be created.

upan8th
12-31-2017, 09:21 PM
Looking at his unstoppable step back jumper & handles, not seeing, at this point, why he couldn't be another Dickau, Pangos type. Zags survived/thrived despite that pair's limited defensive skills. Obviously looking at limited game tape, but the young man still has years of development ahead. AND, he yearns to be a Zag. At this point, WWZ, seems SHORT-sighted, doesn't it, to cap his potential as a part-time, end of bench, cheer leader. Is it just me, or is there an echo in here?

Reborn
01-01-2018, 07:28 AM
I've seen Ravet play twice this past week. He can play defense, and he dives for loose balls.

Every player who signs to play with GU has a chance to start and to be a star. The thing is, when you go to college to play basketball, it's a whole new thing. Everyone starts over. You are now playing with guys who were all stars in high school. Playing for a large high school or a small one, or playing in a metro league or a A or B league has nothing to do with it. It has to do with confidence, and whether you're willing to put in the hard work to play at the next level. I believe that any player that Few goes after has a chance to start at Gonzaga. If you're a bench player, and your time comes to play, be ready and when you go in do positive things. If you're open hit your shots, play tough D, make some good passes. Never, ever let a guy from a bigger school psych you out.

jazzdelmar
01-01-2018, 08:19 AM
I've seen Ravet play twice this past week. He can play defense, and he dives for loose balls.

Every player who signs to play with GU has a chance to start and to be a star. The thing is, when you go to college to play basketball, it's a whole new thing. Everyone starts over. You are now playing with guys who were all stars in high school. Playing for a large high school or a small one, or playing in a metro league or a A or B league has nothing to do with it. It has to do with confidence, and whether you're willing to put in the hard work to play at the next level. I believe that any player that Few goes after has a chance to start at Gonzaga. If you're a bench player, and your time comes to play, be ready and when you go in do positive things. If you're open hit your shots, play tough D, make some good passes. Never, ever let a guy from a bigger school psych you out.

Horse's mouth. Thx Ree.

WallaWallaZag
01-01-2018, 08:49 AM
Looking at his unstoppable step back jumper & handles, not seeing, at this point, why he couldn't be another Dickau, Pangos type. Zags survived/thrived despite that pair's limited defensive skills. Obviously looking at limited game tape, but the young man still has years of development ahead. AND, he yearns to be a Zag. At this point, WWZ, seems SHORT-sighted, doesn't it, to cap his potential as a part-time, end of bench, cheer leader. Is it just me, or is there an echo in here?

good grief, i'm not capping his potential at all...how does saying he has a decent chance to be dickau 2.0 cap his potential in anyway whatsoever???...i'm suggesting that recruits like ravet/wade are higher risk and have very little middle ground because of their physical profile and inability to play multiple positions (if you want to compete at the highest level, which means imo you can sweep the wcc playing a pangos/stockton backcourt but you can't get far in march).

let me put it another way...i know for a fact that the staff essentially stopped pursuing additional pg recruits immediately after landing perkins, but right now are still very aggressively going after additional high level pg's...that says something to me

jazzdelmar
01-01-2018, 08:53 AM
let me put it another way...i know for a fact that the staff essentially stopped pursuing additional pg recruits immediately after landing perkins, but right now are still very aggressively going after additional high level pg's...that says something to me

After they landed Perkins they signed plenty of PGs: McClellan, NWG, Wade. That says something as well....

WallaWallaZag
01-01-2018, 09:09 AM
After they landed Perkins they signed plenty of PGs: McClellan, NWG, Wade. That says something as well....

different scenarios...they viewed emac as combo guard / potential defensive stopper and also a bit of a wildcard...(i think the ayayi pickup is a little similar)
they weren't actively looking for another pg when nwg dropped in their laps, which has been well documented.
wade was recruited along the same strategy timeline as perkins, as a guy who could ideally learn from pangos/perkins, be the backup pg and then take over...

MileHigh
01-01-2018, 10:47 AM
. I believe that any player that Few goes after has a chance t

This absolutely true, especially at the high major level where Gonzaga sits. In my years of coaching AAU I have had many convos with head coaches about this, and one thing for sure, they dont recruit kids to be career back ups. One coach told me his general question he asks his assistants when evaluating a guard is "will he help us by the time he is a soph and start by the time he is junior" I f the answer is "yes" they recruit him, if the answer is "no" they dont. And similarly, if the kids dont develop at that pace once they are in the program they flat get recruited over. Recruiting is the lifeblood of big time college basketball and these high paid coaches cannot afford to make mistakes.

MileHigh
01-01-2018, 10:53 AM
After they landed Perkins they signed plenty of PGs: McClellan, NWG, Wade. That says something as well....

Most coaches are comfortable recruiting a high level lead guard every other year, which will give them 2-3 on the roster at all times.

doctorzag
01-14-2018, 05:27 PM
Last night against Walla Walla Brock went for 21 pts, 7 rbs, 11 assts and 4 steals

JPtheBeasta
01-14-2018, 05:53 PM
I’ve been impressed with his rebounding numbers. It means to me that he has a decent motor, good athleticism, or both.

sittingon50
01-14-2018, 08:26 PM
Last night against Walla Walla Brock went for 21 pts, 7 rbs, 11 assts and 4 steals

Was that 4A Wa-Hi, famous for producing Kyle Bankhead & Drew Bledsoe?

doctorzag
01-14-2018, 08:58 PM
Was that 4A Wa-Hi, famous for producing Kyle Bankhead & Drew Bledsoe?

Walla Walla Valley

WallaWallaZag
01-14-2018, 10:00 PM
Walla Walla Valley

ha, there's pretty decent sized gap in talent level between the two...i've mentioned before, but i played pickup a couple times with/against bankhead and never thought he was div-1 material, but he proved me wrong. wa-hi also wasn't all that talented when they won state with bankhead leading, but they played great team ball and shot the three extremely well.

i think when looking at gaudy stats against inferior competition, it's pretty important to know efficiency...is ravet getting his numbers because he's putting up all the shots on his team? ...or is he truly dominating? he's so much better than most of the comp, he needs to be shooting over 40% from three and well over 50% from two...

sittingon50
01-14-2018, 10:11 PM
Walla Walla Valley

That's why I asked. Seemed a bit odd. Curious though doctor or Walla Walla; is that a private school? It's one I've not heard of before & I've usually got a pretty good handle on the schools out there.

WallaWallaZag
01-14-2018, 10:20 PM
That's why I asked. Seemed a bit odd. Curious though doctor or Walla Walla; is that a private school? It's one I've not heard of before & I've usually got a pretty good handle on the schools out there.

i remember basically nothing about them except that they aren't actually in walla walla technically...they're in college place and i thought they had like 100 students total, hahaha...pretty sure it's a private church school.

only reason i know they even exist is because i scrimmaged against walla walla college, which i think the wwv high school is affiliated to...

thespywhozaggedme
01-15-2018, 05:52 AM
That's why I asked. Seemed a bit odd. Curious though doctor or Walla Walla; is that a private school? It's one I've not heard of before & I've usually got a pretty good handle on the schools out there.

Took 5 seconds:

https://wwva.org/

jazzdelmar
01-15-2018, 06:07 AM
Most coaches are comfortable recruiting a high level lead guard every other year, which will give them 2-3 on the roster at all times.

When does GU start that clock going forward?

sittingon50
01-15-2018, 11:14 AM
Took 5 seconds:

https://wwva.org/

Takes me much longer spy, what with typing with one finger.

:o

(thanks for the "legwork" BTW)

Mr Vulture
01-15-2018, 12:48 PM
I'm not worried about the couch coach evaluators that say Brock Ravet isn't a GU level player. Some of these are the same ones that said Corey Kispert wasn't a GU level recruit last year. I personally don't know whether he is or isn't going to be a good player at GU, what I do know is that I trust the evaluation abilities of the coaches who say he can. I am also, while not a thread about it, not convinced that Jesse Wade isn't just working thru typical Freshman type stuff. The guy had two full years out of basketbal and also has had the shoulder issue. Just because he's not an elite athlete doesn't mean he can't help this team thru the coming years.

zag67
01-15-2018, 12:53 PM
Thanks Vulture. I agree. And even then, not every player needs to be a super star. Wade will need time. And not every freshman is going to be all league. Let them learn and grow.

thespywhozaggedme
01-15-2018, 02:25 PM
Takes me much longer spy, what with typing with one finger.

:o

(thanks for the "legwork" BTW)

No problem

doctorzag
01-17-2018, 10:25 PM
Mark Few in attendance at Kittitas as Brock goes for 21 pts 16 assts aned 7 rebounds tonight

Reborn
01-18-2018, 06:07 AM
I told you he can pass. If you haven't seen Ravet play believe me, he can pass. And his passes are a beautiful thing to see. Oh, and he can dribble too. His dribbling skills are certainly a side show for all to see. Please don't say I'm putting too much pressure on him. He thrives on pressure.

JPtheBeasta
01-18-2018, 07:10 AM
I told you he can pass. If you haven't seen Ravet play believe me, he can pass. And his passes are a beautiful thing to see. Oh, and he can dribble too. His dribbling skills are certainly a side show for all to see. Please don't say I'm putting too much pressure on him. He thrives on pressure.

You’ve gotten me excited to see what this guy is all about. I saw Dranginis against lesser competition in a high school/AAU tournament and you could just tell that he had the tools to be a good ball player.

NontradZag
01-18-2018, 09:01 AM
I told you he can pass. If you haven't seen Ravet play believe me, he can pass. And his passes are a beautiful thing to see. Oh, and he can dribble too. His dribbling skills are certainly a side show for all to see. Please don't say I'm putting too much pressure on him. He thrives on pressure.

I hear Brock regularly beats Chuck Norris at horse...without even shooting.

thespywhozaggedme
01-18-2018, 09:09 AM
Mark Few in attendance at Kittitas as Brock goes for 21 pts 16 assts aned 7 rebounds tonight

16 assists, that's impressive regardless of the competition.

Zagceo
01-18-2018, 09:22 AM
I hear Brock regularly beats Chuck Norris at horse...without even shooting.

I hear Ravet ...Brock Ravet built the hospital he was born in and drove his Mom home the same day.

katman50
01-18-2018, 09:24 AM
I hear Ravet ...Brock Ravet built the hospital he was born in and drove his Mom home the same day.

Keep 'em coming!

sittingon50
01-18-2018, 10:07 AM
I hear Ravet ...Brock Ravet built the hospital he was born in and drove his Mom home the same day.

Hadn't heard that one before, ceo. I like it!

:lmao:

sittingon50
01-18-2018, 10:09 AM
Keep 'em coming!

Really. This kid could be more of an icon than even Biggs McGee by the time he arrives on campus!!

scrooner
01-18-2018, 10:38 AM
Mabton had an interesting way of "face guarding" Brock. Check out the highlight posted on January 16, called "Mabton High School":

http://www.hudl.com/profile/7112190/brock-ravet

cggonzaga
01-18-2018, 10:45 AM
I heard Brock Ravet threw a grenade and killed 50 people. And then the grenade exploded.

SLOZag
01-18-2018, 03:19 PM
Mabton had an interesting way of "face guarding" Brock. Check out the highlight posted on January 16, called "Mabton High School":

http://www.hudl.com/profile/7112190/brock-ravet

That is a pretty awesome collection of Ravet clips on the URL above -- regardless of who he was playing against at the time.

doctorzag
01-18-2018, 03:26 PM
Mabton had an interesting way of "face guarding" Brock. Check out the highlight posted on January 16, called "Mabton High School":

http://www.hudl.com/profile/7112190/brock-ravet

Brock with a couple of laser passes in those highlights. That Mabton team were trying to mug poor Brock all night but he just kept his cool and shredded them with 16 dimes. He is the real deal.

sittingon50
01-18-2018, 10:12 PM
Those were some pretty pathetic officials.

basketballzag
01-19-2018, 11:11 AM
Brock with a couple of laser passes in those highlights. That Mabton team were trying to mug poor Brock all night but he just kept his cool and shredded them with 16 dimes. He is the real deal.

This kid has some attitude on the court. He doesn't back down and commands leadership on the court with his teammates. All very good qualities but what really stands out is his high level IQ on the court at such a young age. I can see why he is ranked in the top #100.

doctorzag
01-22-2018, 10:51 AM
Brock with 27 pts on Saturday night as Kittitas beat Dayton 83-13. Not a typo.

Hogan
01-22-2018, 02:04 PM
Sorry, but from the video clips available I just don't see the requisite quickness.

jazzdelmar
01-22-2018, 02:26 PM
Sorry, but from the video clips available I just don't see the requisite quickness.

They look like above average 8th graders.

MDABE80
01-22-2018, 02:31 PM
He'd win a HS "HORSE" contest! I have no doubt. Needs work. Has some time to do just that.

Mr Vulture
01-22-2018, 02:32 PM
I'm not sure what all the handwringing is about on Ravet and Watson. These kids both appear, from the highlights I've seen, as kids with great potential. Both clearly need to add strength and continue to grow as players but we won't even see them on a court for nearly 2yrs. Both seem to be legit as far as the national rankings are concerned to me. I think there is a stark difference if you just watch video of Brock at the state tournament last year to his play this year...just a kid that is maturing physically.

MDABE80
01-22-2018, 02:41 PM
Key word "potential" Mr Vulture;) They both put the ball in the hoop. That's obvious. D1 ball is a lot more than that though especially at GU's level. It would be fabulous to have a 25 ppg player who had the other skills to go along with. Brock needs to get those skills. He's a "Jimmer" in shooting but the rest needs to be brought along at least from what I see. Get this kid some convincing competition.

jazzdelmar
01-22-2018, 03:15 PM
I'm not sure what all the handwringing is about on Ravet and Watson. These kids both appear, from the highlights I've seen, as kids with great potential. Both clearly need to add strength and continue to grow as players but we won't even see them on a court for nearly 2yrs. Both seem to be legit as far as the national rankings are concerned to me. I think there is a stark difference if you just watch video of Brock at the state tournament last year to his play this year...just a kid that is maturing physically.

Not the kids, the weak comp they’re running up numbers on.

Mr Vulture
01-22-2018, 03:51 PM
All kids are potential when in HS except for your one and done guys, even then, a large majority are drafted on potential. They need to continue to physically mature but I think they are guys that will play major roles at Gonzaga. I really don't know what you guys expect, we aren't going to get classes like Duke or Kentucky ever. We could win the National Title this year and we still won't. I don't doubt that the competition isn't the greatest for Ravet, but the same was said about Joe Harris when he was in High School. I don't think Kyle Dranginis played spectacular competition in HS either. The only guy I can see there being valid questions on is Greg Foster Jr. Last year I read on here how Corey Kispert wasn't a "Gonzaga level player" and yet I find that to be ludicrous after watching him play. Is he elite as a freshman, no, but was he affected by the ankle injury..absolutely. Will he be a star by the time he graduates, I would be yes he will.

doctorzag
01-22-2018, 05:28 PM
Not the kids, the weak comp they’re running up numbers on.

Dickau ran up his numbers against weak comp. So what?

JPtheBeasta
01-26-2018, 06:04 PM
It may have been mentioned before, but Ravet is ranked 77th in the nation on 247 Sports. This includes every position, so I’m not sure where he ranks at his position.

scrooner
01-26-2018, 06:28 PM
#9 PG.

https://247sports.com/Season/2019-Basketball/RecruitRankings?InstitutionGroup=HighSchool&Position=PG

ZagNative
01-26-2018, 09:04 PM
From twitter:


Luke Thompson Verified account @LukeTScribe
6m6 minutes ago

Gonzaga commit Brock Ravet went off tonight with 37 points, 19 assists and 6 rebounds as Kittitas hit triple digits (101) in a win over Liberty Christian

MDABE80
01-26-2018, 09:21 PM
Go Brock!! Lotsa points for 8 min quarters. Lotsa assists too!

hooter73
01-26-2018, 10:43 PM
Holy crap. Nice work young man!

demian
01-27-2018, 12:18 AM
They look like above average 8th graders.

Jazz, I agree with you. This class B level, in conference competition is pathetic. There are numerous 7th grade AAU teams that would kill these Class B conference teams that Ravet is playing against in conference. I live in this region where Ravet plays and these varsity teams he is playing against are horrible. The class 2A conference (CWAC) here in central Washington is absolutely pathetic. I watched Selah who was #1 in State at class 2A level play against East Valley HS and it was absolutely pathetic. Selah has a kid in the same class as Ravet, the Selah kid is Elijah Pepper and there has been mention on this board over the last year of GU hopefully offering him. The east valley HS team was so lousy. I can’t even describe how bad they were for a high school varsity team AT ANY LEVEL. I left the gym thinking to myself that that game was a complete waste of time. I don’t know what to think of Ravet, I will certainly not base my opinion on anything he does in his high school schedule or his state tourney. I will say that 3 people who I trust in there basketball knowledge here in the central Washington region who have nothing to do with Kittittas high school have told me = “Ravet is the real deal.” They say he plays with a higher motor than anybody they have seen, and he has counter moves already in play if you stop his first move he just rolls right into his counter move.” For me I don’t really care about any new GU recruits offensive ability, I am sure that anybody GU recruits now is talented offensively, but they have to be able to defend in my opinion (yes I know my opinion means nothing in comparison to the gu staff). That was the only reason last years team was so different from any GU team before, they could all defend at an elite level at any position. I have not ever heard in any discussion of Ravet what his defensive abilities are. Until I get that report on him OR ANY ZAG RECRUIT, I will not feel too pumped up about any recruit

cggonzaga
01-27-2018, 01:43 AM
I have not ever heard in any discussion of Ravet what his defensive abilities are.

It’s not good. Think Wade but maybe worse.

TexasZagFan
01-27-2018, 03:12 AM
It’s not good. Think Wade but maybe worse.

How many HS juniors play elite defense? Give the kid a chance...he'll get plenty of experience when he arrives on campus.

thespywhozaggedme
01-27-2018, 05:35 AM
From twitter:

Holy Cow! But being objective, I agree with other posters that wish he played in a tougher league. He;s to his league, like GU is to the WCC.

Goshzagit
01-27-2018, 05:39 AM
Ravet is the real deal.

The only reason he rec an offer was during a pick-up game at a GU camp, he schooled our current guys pretty good.

Could he defend them, no.

But he had no problem scoring on them.

jazzdelmar
01-27-2018, 05:44 AM
Ravet is the real deal.

The only reason he rec an offer was during a pick-up game at a GU camp, he schooled our current guys pretty good.

Could he defend them, no.

But he had no problem scoring on them.

That's it? That's the sum and substance of his recruitment? Speechless.

JPtheBeasta
01-27-2018, 06:39 AM
I can remember a few Zag greats that didn’t play defense, so I’m willing to be optimistic. That said, I do agree with the sentiments that the next step in the growth of the program is players who can guard. If he can even be an average defender he could be serviceable because of his scoring.

thespywhozaggedme
01-27-2018, 07:08 AM
That's it? That's the sum and substance of his recruitment? Speechless.

Why exactly? if our coaches saw a high school kid playing better than current Zags players that are currently on scholarship, why would it shock you that said coaches offered a schollie? I'm baffled by why your baffled. Also, he's the 9th rated pg in the nation. You get so worked up over such trivial matters sometimes.

zaguarxj
01-27-2018, 07:14 AM
That's it? That's the sum and substance of his recruitment? Speechless.

That was why Ammo was recruited. He was unstoppable in scrimmages against current and former Zags when he was just a HS kid.

TexasZagFan
01-27-2018, 07:17 AM
Why exactly? if our coaches saw a high school kid playing better than current Zags players that are currently on scholarship, why would it shock you that said coaches offered a schollie? I'm baffled by why your baffled. Also, he's the 9th rated pg in the nation. You get so worked up over such trivial matters sometimes.

He's only 9th in the rankings? Sure sign our recruiting is slipping. :lmao:

thespywhozaggedme
01-27-2018, 07:18 AM
He's only 9th in the rankings? Sure sign our recruiting is slipping. :lmao:

lol

We have 2 kids for 2019 that are top 75 in the nation and Jazz still finds a reason to complain. lol

Reborn
01-27-2018, 07:23 AM
The quality to look for on defense is toughness and a willingness to learn. Gonzaga plays a very different kind of defense, where guards need to be able to defend 6'10" inside players, and I seriously doubt that only a few high school guards have that kind of experience. Gonzaga's has one of the most complex defenses I've ever seen and everyone has to have a high basketball IQ. It's even hard for me to explain how they play it, but it is extremely fluid. What I mean is that in some sense no one is always guarding the same player like you would find in high school and even in many or even most college teams. Bigs guard guards and guards guard bigs. Everyone needs to be a good defender against wings.

Ravet is tough Demian. I've seen him play. He's mentally tough too which is important when you're on a great team. His IQ is very high. As high as I've ever seen. If he has a great asset it is his basketball IQ. I know he's dedicated as heck because if you've seen him play you will know what he can do with a basketball, in all aspects, dribbling, passing and shooting. He can do more with the basketball than I've seen in players in Central Washington and beyond because I'd include the kids from other areas who come in for the tournaments here in Yakima.

I agree with Goshzagit. I've always felt that Few has seen him play against Zag players who are there in the summer helping out with camps. I also believe that Ravet could have been better than many of them. He posses court vision that only a few players have. He sees things, and then can deliver the ball, in so many ways it's mind blowing.

When recruiting a player, a coach must consider offensive skills as much as defensive. When you talk about elite basketball players they MUST be able to score. They must be able to pass, and dribble at elite levels. I believe Gonzaga recruits kids who are tough. And then THEY teach them how to play tough Gonzaga defense. Watch Gonzaga's defense, and watch how everyone is switching players constantly. They move so much on D, and they MUST be as fluid on D as they are on offense. It takes a lot more than just toughness to play D like Gonzaga does. I don't underrate toughness. If you know me you know I don't. But you need other skills on defense today in the way GU plays it.

There is only one player who I've ever seen get tripped teamed for an entire half by a very good team. Yes. there were three players waiting for Ravet at half court the entire second half by the only team who beat them this year. They took away his dribble and penetrating ability, but oh my God did he shred them to pieces by his passing. The only problem Kittitas had is that the other four players who played for Kittitas could not score. Zillah, state champs at A1 level, double teamed him the first half, and the two guards defending him could not contain him at all. His dribbling skills are just unbelievable unless you've seen him play. I'm not talking about the bouncing of the ball on the court, or dribbling through your legs with ease. All good guards can do that. What I'm talking about is how he is able to use his body in so many ways that no one can guard him. He has so many different speeds and so many fakes it's just hard to defend him. It's a gift in my opinion, as much as it's a result of how much time he spends on developing that kind of body control. Ravet not only has a plan B to get to the basket to score, but he has a plan C and D and E.

The only doubt that I have about Ravet is his size.

Go Zags!!!

TexasZagFan
01-27-2018, 07:30 AM
lol

We have 2 kids for 2019 that are top 75 in the nation and Jazz still finds a reason to complain. lol

To each his (or her) own. That's what I love about this board. Lots of smart people with strong opinions. You, jazz, Abe, Bornie, etc. One big happy family! lol

I'd sure love it if/when Drew Timme signs on with the Zags. All I need to know is that he's averaging 15+ boards and 4-5 assists per game. You don't grab 15 boards a game without one heckuva motor that runs 24/7.

I don't know what his current ppg is, but I'm sure it's 20+.

jazzdelmar
01-27-2018, 08:52 AM
Why exactly? if our coaches saw a high school kid playing better than current Zags players that are currently on scholarship, why would it shock you that said coaches offered a schollie? I'm baffled by why your baffled. Also, he's the 9th rated pg in the nation. You get so worked up over such trivial matters sometimes.

Which current Zag players?

jazzdelmar
01-27-2018, 08:54 AM
That was why Ammo was recruited. He was unstoppable in scrimmages against current and former Zags when he was just a HS kid.

Oh sure, that's gonna happen again in our lifetime.

willandi
01-27-2018, 08:58 AM
It amazes me that some on this forum diss a HS player because he is too short, can't shoot, doesn't pass the ball, and then a kid comes along with a line of 37 pts and 19 assists and 6 rebounds, IN A 32 MINUTE GAME, and they fault him for no defense.

Come on. At least be consistent!

Zagdawg
01-27-2018, 09:17 AM
https://twitter.com/RobJesselson/status/957162212447027201

JPtheBeasta
01-27-2018, 09:27 AM
It amazes me that some on this forum diss a HS player because he is too short, can't shoot, doesn't pass the ball, and then a kid comes along with a line of 37 pts and 19 assists and 6 rebounds, IN A 32 MINUTE GAME, and they fault him for no defense.

Come on. At least be consistent!

I continue to be impressed by his rebounding numbers.

thespywhozaggedme
01-27-2018, 09:30 AM
Which current Zag players?

I dunno, ask Goshzagit, he's the one that mentioned it. But lemme throw it back to you, if a highschool kid is playing better than your current college players who are already on a full scholarship and said kid is dominating high school basketball, why wouldn't you offer him a schollie? Especially at a position that we will be in need of come 2019. Oh, and did I mention that said kid is the 9th rated pg in the entire nation?

thespywhozaggedme
01-27-2018, 09:32 AM
https://twitter.com/RobJesselson/status/957162212447027201

Thanks for posting that. The kid is a flat out stud, despite and in spite of his competition. Plus, I like his new clean cut haircut.

jazzdelmar
01-27-2018, 09:33 AM
I dunno, ask Goshzagit, he's the one that mentioned it. But lemme throw it back to you, if a highschool kid is playing better than your current college players who are already on a full scholarship and said kid is dominating high school basketball, why wouldn't you offer him a schollie? Especially at a position that we will be in need of come 2019. Oh, and did I mention that said kid is the 9th rated pg in the entire nation?

Again, which current Zag player?

thespywhozaggedme
01-27-2018, 09:34 AM
Again, which current Zag player?

Why are you quoting me, Goshzagit it posted that.

MDABE80
01-27-2018, 10:10 AM
lolololol I think it's possible Few found a kid out in the hinterlands who shoots the lights out, is a great kid, from a great family AND who will make everyone else of his team better. Might be just the magic of what we see at Gonzaga every few years. Love his data....videos look superior ( no big feat)so I guess his size and maybe speed is the issue I'll wait and see this Summer. I wish his team would come to the State "B" championship in march at the Arena.

sittingon50
01-27-2018, 10:11 AM
Cmon guys, think about it a little.

Can a kid (anywhere) improve his offense all by himself practicing on a court? Yep.
Can a kid (anywhere) improve his defense all by himself practicing on a court? Yep, but not very much.

Where do most kids spend most of their time all week during the season? On the PRACTICE floor. I've never seen Kittitas play, but how good do you suppose their 2nd best player is? How much better can Brock get guarding him?

So, he can play better competition on the summer AAU circuit. They very structured there? They play a lot of D there?

It's going to be a process, IMHO.

doctorzag
01-27-2018, 10:19 AM
Again, which current Zag player?

Again . How was Dickau`s defence.

Reborn
01-27-2018, 10:33 AM
I'm watching the Virginia vs Duke game right now, and as good as Virginia is on D, I think #1 in the country, their players can certainly score. Now a days, a great team must have players who can do both. So far Virginia is being successful scoring, and Duke isn't. Virginia is just so good defeensively. Duke also is known for having good defenders, but it has so many freshmen this year, I tend to think they are not quite up to what Coach K expects. Afterall. As Sittington50 says, "It's a process."

jazzdelmar
01-27-2018, 10:35 AM
Again . How was Dickau`s defence.

Heresy.

vandalzag
01-27-2018, 10:46 AM
That's it? That's the sum and substance of his recruitment? Speechless.

That plus the base their offers on astrological charts and the which player can play the pan flute. I mean these coaches are clueless they and they will never have a team that plays for a national championship or a program that sends players to the NBA. What are they thinking?

jazzdelmar
01-27-2018, 11:09 AM
That plus the base their offers on astrological charts and the which player can play the pan flute. I mean these coaches are clueless they and they will never have a team that plays for a national championship or a program that sends players to the NBA. What are they thinking?

And they NEVER miss on a recruit?

Birddog
01-27-2018, 11:13 AM
lolololol I think it's possible Few found a kid out in the hinterlands who shoots the lights out, is a great kid, from a great family AND who will make everyone else of his team better. Might be just the magic of what we see at Gonzaga every few years. Love his data....videos look superior ( no big feat)so I guess his size and maybe speed is the issue I'll wait and see this Summer. I wish his team would come to the State "B" championship in march at the Arena.

Isn't he also a coach's kid? That usually bodes well for future Zags.

kitzbuel
01-27-2018, 12:12 PM
That's it? That's the sum and substance of his recruitment? Speechless.Yes, Jazz. That is it. That is all the rigor our staff puts into recruiting. How did you guess?

Sent from my XT1710-02 using Tapatalk

thespywhozaggedme
01-27-2018, 12:12 PM
And they NEVER miss on a recruit?

but your weeping and gnashing of teeth in your prognostication about them missing on him a year before he even sets foot on the court for GU, despite being the #9 pg in the nation just reeks of absurdity. Sometimes I wonder if you're just putting us all on, because you're almost becoming a caricature of yourself.

Hogan
01-27-2018, 12:21 PM
I think many posters are missing the point of people's concerns. Of course as a high school junior he can improve on his defense. Of course it is great that he is tough minded, a great passer, and has a high basketball IQ. But go watch Whitworth play. You'll see tough minded players who are good passers and possess a high basketball IQ. They are also pretty darn good athletes. Even more so at Montana, and even more so at San Diego. We are at a whole new level. I think the question is whether he is quick and athletic enough to allow these other skills to shine. Dickau was very quick. From my review of the videos, I'm not seeing it. ( Although if he impressed our coaches in scrimmaging against our players that says alot.)

jazzdelmar
01-27-2018, 12:34 PM
I think many posters are missing the point of people's concerns. Of course as a high school junior he can improve on his defense. Of course it is great that he is tough minded, a great passer, and has a high basketball IQ. But go watch Whitworth play. You'll see tough minded players who are good passers and possess a high basketball IQ. They are also pretty darn good athletes. Even more so at Montana, and even more so at San Diego. We are at a whole new level. I think the question is whether he is quick and athletic enough to allow these other skills to shine. Dickau was very quick. From my review of the videos, I'm not seeing it. ( Although if he impressed our coaches in scrimmaging against our players that says alot.)

Right down the middle, Hogan.

thespywhozaggedme
01-27-2018, 12:44 PM
I think many posters are missing the point of people's concerns. Of course as a high school junior he can improve on his defense. Of course it is great that he is tough minded, a great passer, and has a high basketball IQ. But go watch Whitworth play. You'll see tough minded players who are good passers and possess a high basketball IQ. They are also pretty darn good athletes. Even more so at Montana, and even more so at San Diego. We are at a whole new level. I think the question is whether he is quick and athletic enough to allow these other skills to shine. Dickau was very quick. From my review of the videos, I'm not seeing it. ( Although if he impressed our coaches in scrimmaging against our players that says alot.)

Quick question: Was any player at Withworth ranked top 65 in the nation and the number 9 pg in the entire country for their year? Because Brock Ravet is.

https://247sports.com/Season/2019-Basketball/RecruitRankings?InstitutionGroup=HighSchool&Position=PG

vandalzag
01-27-2018, 01:25 PM
And they NEVER miss on a recruit?

Are you being serious or just adding some extra spice to your trolling efforts today? Of course they have missed on recruits just like every other coach and every rating service the country. Usually we wait until the player actually graduates high school and participates in a NCAA game before deciding the kid can't play or should not have been recruited. I would put this staffs eye for talent up against any other in the country. If you think playing in the national championship game would result in the immediate influx of 5 star recruits then you have no idea of what happens in the process of recruiting. Few does not have a Sam Gilbert in the background, nor does he have an assistant like Jeff Capel dropping bags of cash on recruits doorstep. Just like the Few said recently they can now get in most living rooms, but the key is figuring out which ones are interested and which ones are just wasting their time. They will continue to identify kids that fit in their program, as in the past there will be misses and surprises but I am confident that they will be successful more times than not.

cggonzaga
01-27-2018, 04:27 PM
Quick question: Was any player at Withworth ranked top 65 in the nation and the number 9 pg in the entire country for their year? Because Brock Ravet is.

https://247sports.com/Season/2019-Basketball/RecruitRankings?InstitutionGroup=HighSchool&Position=PG

Very good post Hogan.

Let’s face it spy. The rankings are based on offense and potential. Ravet is close to elite offensively.

maynard g krebs
01-28-2018, 12:17 AM
I think many posters are missing the point of people's concerns. Of course as a high school junior he can improve on his defense. Of course it is great that he is tough minded, a great passer, and has a high basketball IQ. But go watch Whitworth play. You'll see tough minded players who are good passers and possess a high basketball IQ. They are also pretty darn good athletes. Even more so at Montana, and even more so at San Diego. We are at a whole new level. I think the question is whether he is quick and athletic enough to allow these other skills to shine. Dickau was very quick. From my review of the videos, I'm not seeing it. ( Although if he impressed our coaches in scrimmaging against our players that says alot.)

I had a season ticket at UW Dickau's fr year. He only played about 10 min a game until the last 10 or so games, when his time went up to about 20 and he was a major factor in UW getting into the NCAA's as an 11 seed, winning 2 games and getting beaten by a point by UCONN on a Rip Hamilton falling down backwards prayer of a shot at the buzzer.

Bender said the reason DD didn't play more for most of the season was his defense. But to get to the point of the post: DD was #14 overall player on the Press-Telegram's best in the west team, #25 pg nationally by (I think) Sporting News, so in the 100-150 range nationally, about where most had Pangos.

I think UW and Stanford were DD's pac level offers. He was quoted once as saying that a number of people advised him to play at the mid major level because he wasn't big or athletic enough to compete with high major guards physically, but that he chose UW to challenge himself at the highest level he could.

Freshman Dickau looked like a little kid out there, but a little kid who was a savant at basketball. He had all the skills then, but physically he was nothing like the player Zag fans discovered three years later.

Reborn
01-28-2018, 07:52 AM
I had a season ticket at UW Dickau's fr year. He only played about 10 min a game until the last 10 or so games, when his time went up to about 20 and he was a major factor in UW getting into the NCAA's as an 11 seed, winning 2 games and getting beaten by a point by UCONN on a Rip Hamilton falling down backwards prayer of a shot at the buzzer.

Bender said the reason DD didn't play more for most of the season was his defense. But to get to the point of the post: DD was #14 overall player on the Press-Telegram's best in the west team, #25 pg nationally by (I think) Sporting News, so in the 100-150 range nationally, about where most had Pangos.

I think UW and Stanford were DD's pac level offers. He was quoted once as saying that a number of people advised him to play at the mid major level because he wasn't big or athletic enough to compete with high major guards physically, but that he chose UW to challenge himself at the highest level he could.

Freshman Dickau looked like a little kid out there, but a little kid who was a savant at basketball. He had all the skills then, but physically he was nothing like the player Zag fans discovered three years later.

Great post. Thanks for helping me explain what I saw. Savant is a great description.

doctorzag
01-28-2018, 09:27 AM
Brock with 35 last night

Birddog
01-28-2018, 11:28 AM
Brock with 35 last night

That's more than a point a minute!

thespywhozaggedme
01-28-2018, 12:01 PM
I do wonder if a bug has been out in his ear to transfer to Prep for his senior year. He's already committed to us, so there's no issue with collusion, plus AW transferred in, so there is precedence for it.

cggonzaga
01-28-2018, 12:17 PM
I do wonder if a bug has been out in his ear to transfer to Prep for his senior year. He's already committed to us, so there's no issue with collusion, plus AW transferred in, so there is precedence for it.

Anton didn’t “transfer” in. He chose to come to Prep as a freshman.

doctorzag
01-28-2018, 12:34 PM
I do wonder if a bug has been out in his ear to transfer to Prep for his senior year. He's already committed to us, so there's no issue with collusion, plus AW transferred in, so there is precedence for it.

I noticed on his twitter account that he has retweeted some tweets concerning him transferring to G-prep so he is well aware of the talk about his transfer.

thespywhozaggedme
01-28-2018, 12:44 PM
Anton didn’t “transfer” in. He chose to come to Prep as a freshman.

Are you sure? I read that he transferred in from a high school in Idaho

thespywhozaggedme
01-28-2018, 12:45 PM
I noticed on his twitter account that he has retweeted some tweets concerning him transferring to G-prep so he is well aware of the talk about his transfer.

Wow, that's an interesting development. If he's actively acknowledging it then he must be at least considering it.

vandalzag
01-28-2018, 12:56 PM
Are you sure? I read that he transferred in from a high school in Idaho

Nope he has been there since day 1 his freshman year. The only person who has said that he transferred is the former Prep writer for the Spokesman who is from Idaho and was not a fan of the fact that Anton chose to go Prep.

vandalzag
01-28-2018, 01:01 PM
Wow, that's an interesting development. If he's actively acknowledging it then he must be at least considering it.

One problem is he lives 3 hours away. The second is he has the scholly in hand so relocating really offers nothing to gain. That being said as a Prep alum it would be fun seeing him in the blue and white.

Birddog
01-28-2018, 01:13 PM
Ravet's dad is his coach. Any talk of a transfer is probably premature.
Here is the story about his commitment to GU.


Ravet put on a show while leading Kittitas to the State 2B championship at the Spokane Arena in March. The 6-foot-1 guard scored 46 points in the Coyotes’ 72-69 win over Liberty in the title game, capping a 24-0 season. Ravet had 40 points in a 67-59 semifinal victory over St. George’s.

Ravet is an accomplished shooter, passer and ball-handler. Tim estimated his son has averaged approximately 31 points per game in two seasons.

Ravet is a two-time Eastern Washington Athletic Conference MVP and was named the 2017 2B player of the year by the Associated Press.

Ravet said he’s been a longtime follower of the Zags and he’s attended numerous games at the McCarthey Athletic Center. He went to the Final Four in Glendale and watched Gonzaga defeat South Carolina before falling to North Carolina in the championship game.
http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/jun/24/kittitas-guard-brock-ravet-commits-to-gonzaga-bask/#/0

webspinnre
01-28-2018, 01:34 PM
He went to the Final Four?! Nice!

zaguarxj
01-28-2018, 01:36 PM
Oh sure, that's gonna happen again in our lifetime.

Probably not but that's beside the point. The point is that one of the best players in Zags history was recruited because he took Zags schollie players to the cleaners, and you were just scoffing at that very notion, with regards to Ravet.

509er
01-28-2018, 02:09 PM
Are you sure? I read that he transferred in from a high school in Idaho

He verbally committed to Prep before he started HS. :roll:

cggonzaga
01-28-2018, 02:37 PM
Probably not but that's beside the point. The point is that one of the best players in Zags history was recruited because he took Zags schollie players to the cleaners, and you were just scoffing at that very notion, with regards to Ravet.

I can assure you he didn’t take our players to the cleaners like Morrison did. He did play well though.

doctorzag
01-28-2018, 02:40 PM
One problem is he lives 3 hours away. The second is he has the scholly in hand so relocating really offers nothing to gain. That being said as a Prep alum it would be fun seeing him in the blue and white.

A step up in competition is what is to gain. I am sure it would help his development as a player to play against better competition and get acclimated to Spokane and acquire some chemistry with Anton. I think he would move to Spokane and commute home on the weekends if this was to develop.

thespywhozaggedme
01-28-2018, 02:56 PM
Nope he has been there since day 1 his freshman year. The only person who has said that he transferred is the former Prep writer for the Spokesman who is from Idaho and was not a fan of the fact that Anton chose to go Prep.

Oh OK, thank you for the correction

demian
01-28-2018, 04:42 PM
Ravet could FLY to G-Prep every morning for school and then FLY home after practice back to Kittittas. His dad owns a private Jet. His dad is a self made millionaire. Which I got to give a guy credit for that. He started his own company to cover hay stacks with tarps.

Zagceo
01-28-2018, 05:14 PM
Ravet could FLY to G-Prep every morning for school and then FLY home after practice back to Kittittas. His dad owns a private Jet. His dad is a self made millionaire. Which I got to give a guy credit for that. He started his own company to cover hay stacks with tarps.

Why not Findlay?

demian
01-28-2018, 05:30 PM
Why not Findlay?

Is Findlay that prep school in Nevada that zach Collins attended?

Zagceo
01-28-2018, 05:36 PM
Is Findlay that prep school in Nevada that zach Collins attended?

Nigel went to Findlay...Zach went to Bishop Gorman both in Vegas

demian
01-28-2018, 06:26 PM
Nigel went to Findlay...Zach went to Bishop Gorman both in Vegas

Oh that’s right.

JPtheBeasta
01-28-2018, 07:57 PM
If I was Brock I would move to planet with a different colored sun and stronger gravity so that he can improve his athleticism and shooting range. Or maybe he could just enjoy his family and hometown friends before moving away to college if our current technology doesn't make the whole different planet thing feasible.

upan8th
01-28-2018, 08:09 PM
JPB. Man, I like the way you think.

JPtheBeasta
01-29-2018, 09:05 AM
JPB. Man, I like the way you think.

:cheers:

TexasZagFan
01-29-2018, 10:38 AM
If I was Brock I would move to planet with a different colored sun and stronger gravity so that he can improve his athleticism and shooting range. Or maybe he could just enjoy his family and hometown friends before moving away to college if our current technology doesn't make the whole different planet thing feasible.

Europa would have been a good choice. He could have attached a hoop to the Monolith.

https://vignette.wikia.nocookie.net/2001/images/7/7f/User_them_together_use_them_in_peace.jpg/revision/latest?cb=20120114200024

Samiam
01-29-2018, 02:30 PM
All his friends live in Kittitas.

doctorzag
01-29-2018, 02:35 PM
All his friends live in Kittitas.

I guess he can`t go away to college then.

Samiam
01-29-2018, 05:03 PM
In another year they all will. Maybe he likes playing for his dad?

SunDevilGolfZag
01-29-2018, 06:10 PM
In another year they all will. Maybe he likes playing for his dad?

+1
And Ryan Floyd didnt need to leave little Sprague to later become a really good Zag.

cggonzaga
01-29-2018, 08:29 PM
+1
And Ryan Floyd didnt need to leave little Sprague to later become a really good Zag.

A really good backup.

Samiam
01-29-2018, 09:00 PM
Maybe his dad likes coaching him? We’ve already heard from local “experts” that he has no future as a Zag let alone a pro. Why not go with the flow and celebrate one of the best years of your life.

Samiam
01-29-2018, 09:37 PM
A step up in competition is what is to gain. I am sure it would help his development as a player to play against better competition and get acclimated to Spokane and acquire some chemistry with Anton. I think he would move to Spokane and commute home on the weekends if this was to develop.

Wouldn’t he improve even more if he transferred to a lesser program like Rogers or North Central. Then his step up would include playing against those, already loaded, Bullpups too.

MDABE80
01-29-2018, 09:49 PM
Wouldn't get everyday practice with the best team in the league. Nice try Sam!;) lol

Zagdawg
01-30-2018, 05:53 AM
https://twitter.com/KREMEvan/status/958246041232355328

a13coach
01-30-2018, 08:24 AM
A step up in competition is what is to gain. I am sure it would help his development as a player to play against better competition and get acclimated to Spokane and acquire some chemistry with Anton. I think he would move to Spokane and commute home on the weekends if this was to develop.

At what cost to the G-Prep team chemistry? Bring in a guy for one year just so he could get playing/practice time with a future college teammate? While I am sure that the coaches at G-Prep are very supportive of their students and their aspirations, I highly doubt that they are actively seeking to be the minor league club of GU. Prep, just like almost all higher end GSL programs , have a system that starts even before the kids hit the school with HS-specific AAU clubs for pre-HS kids. From a coaching stand point it does not make much sense.
You would probably spend too much time "acclimating" Brock to the new system that would not benefit the team overall.

thespywhozaggedme
01-30-2018, 09:53 AM
At what cost to the G-Prep team chemistry? Bring in a guy for one year just so he could get playing/practice time with a future college teammate? While I am sure that the coaches at G-Prep are very supportive of their students and their aspirations, I highly doubt that they are actively seeking to be the minor league club of GU. Prep, just like almost all higher end GSL programs , have a system that starts even before the kids hit the school with HS-specific AAU clubs for pre-HS kids. From a coaching stand point it does not make much sense.
You would probably spend too much time "acclimating" Brock to the new system that would not benefit the team overall.

Soooooo....the number 9 pg in the entire nation wouldn't help GPrep? I don't think you thought this entirely through.

maynard g krebs
01-30-2018, 10:11 AM
Sounds like he's doing fine where he is. If he was gonna move several hours away for better basketball competition, the best destination would be the metro league in Seattle, O'dea or Seattle Prep. Far superior to playing in the GSL.

Agree w/ Samiam. Stay at your hs if you like it. Worked for Pendo, Joe Harris, Phil Cullen, etc etc. Plenty of time to face better competition in spring, summer seasons, and when he gets to campus in the summer of "19.

Goshzagit
01-30-2018, 10:44 AM
https://twitter.com/KREMEvan/status/958246041232355328

realistically, half of those passes would be picked off at D1 level, but still....great FEEL.

He's going to be special in a couple years.

I don't see the comparisons with Wade, at all. Both good shooters, but take a moment to review Wade's highlight tapes/reels.

Jesse is pure finesse, smooth shooter, one dribble crossovers for open looks. Tremendous shooter, beautiful form, sound basketball, but lacks moxy, or edge.

Ravet is gritty, nasty, wiggle, & really pushes the ball and finds open spots in the teeth of the defense. His competition isn't great, but he has something.

While Wade did ONE dribble crossovers, Brock does THREE dribble crossovers and sacrifices his body for the shot. Just a different mentality.

Jesse is the type of player who wins HORSE in shiny, fancy gym, Brock wins 1 on 1 games on an asphalt court with a chainlink net.

Mr Vulture
01-30-2018, 12:02 PM
realistically, half of those passes would be picked off at D1 level, but still....great FEEL.

He's going to be special in a couple years.

I don't see the comparisons with Wade, at all. Both good shooters, but take a moment to review Wade's highlight tapes/reels.

Jesse is pure finesse, smooth shooter, one dribble crossovers for open looks. Tremendous shooter, beautiful form, sound basketball, but lacks moxy, or edge.

Ravet is gritty, nasty, wiggle, & really pushes the ball and finds open spots in the teeth of the defense. His competition isn't great, but he has something.

While Wade did ONE dribble crossovers, Brock does THREE dribble crossovers and sacrifices his body for the shot. Just a different mentality.

Jesse is the type of player who wins HORSE in shiny, fancy gym, Brock wins 1 on 1 games on an asphalt court with a chainlink net.

Well said...this is what I feel as well. I still think Jesse can play a role for the team down the road but Ravet is simply better overall (particularly at this point of his maturation).

cggonzaga
01-30-2018, 04:01 PM
Sounds like he's doing fine where he is. If he was gonna move several hours away for better basketball competition, the best destination would be the metro league in Seattle, O'dea or Seattle Prep. Far superior to playing in the GSL.

Got into this with somebody else as well. I think if you're looking past 10 years or so then sure. While I wouldn't argue the GSL is better than the Metro it certainly isn't that far off anymore. Especially top to bottom. There has just been too much success at the state tournament to suggest otherwise.

Zagdawg
01-30-2018, 08:26 PM
LeftCoastRecruiting‏
@LC_Recruiting
Follow Follow @LC_Recruiting
More
Final: Kittitas 95, White Swan 39. Brock Ravet out scores the whole White Swan team with 42 pts.

thespywhozaggedme
01-31-2018, 05:25 AM
LeftCoastRecruiting‏
@LC_Recruiting
Follow Follow @LC_Recruiting
More
Final: Kittitas 95, White Swan 39. Brock Ravet out scores the whole White Swan team with 42 pts.

Ravet 42,White Swan (sounds like an off brand wine) 39

hooter73
01-31-2018, 08:04 AM
hahahah that is a peg to hang your hat on right there, out scoring an entire team. My guilty pleasure is a good player who has some edge and can back it up.

JPtheBeasta
01-31-2018, 09:06 AM
I saw that recent video and I’m questioning his assist numbers; one of his team mates should have been called for a travel. :enraged: [/sarcasm]

Zagdawg
02-01-2018, 11:28 AM
Scorebook Live NW‏
@SBLiveNW
Follow Follow @SBLiveNW
More
The Week 8 Northwest Player of the Week » @Brock3ravet

The future Gonzaga Bulldog scored 40 points and 38 points, which helped Kittitas win 2 games last week. In those two games he poured in 17 threes!

Player Profile » http://bit.ly/Ravet32