PDA

View Full Version : GU vs SDSU - Predictions/What you hope to see



LongIslandZagFan
12-18-2017, 08:50 PM
Another short window... then we get a Christmas break.

What do you hope to see against the Aztecs? Thoughts? Predictions? Have at it boys and girls.

Zags11
12-18-2017, 10:23 PM
Zags 84
Sdsu 78

75Zag
12-18-2017, 10:36 PM
Bulldogs lose by 3.
Hope I am wrong, but my wagers are set.

Go Bulldogs!

Zagger
12-19-2017, 05:15 AM
Zags rise to occasion :)
Zags 90 - SDSU 70

Hope to see a couple 3s by Wade & great D/hustle by all.
Also hope they encounter smoke free skies!

DixieZag
12-19-2017, 05:38 AM
All I hope to see is maximum effort, that's it. If we play we max effort and shots don't fall, or bounces go wrong way, SDSU shoots lights out, okay.

But, this team is all about getting up and down, rebounding, etc. and scoring 90 points. When we're doing that, we're likely to win, even if we're having defensive lapses, other teams shooting unwordly (Silas makes one FT - shooting 90% - and we beat FLA). We we don't, we can't stay within single digits, whether it's Villanova or North Dakota.

I think they learned their lesson at the perfect time to finish out OOC with a true test.

Zags 88
SDSU 78

FlyZag
12-19-2017, 05:42 AM
Bulldogs 81
Aztecs 77

We hit our FTs down the stretch.

bartruff1
12-19-2017, 05:49 AM
Gonzaga 81-73

willandi
12-19-2017, 05:53 AM
89-81 Zags

gueastcoast
12-19-2017, 05:57 AM
Globetrotters 75
Generals 68

bigblahla
12-19-2017, 06:01 AM
Zags 89-73....

Go!! Zags!!!

Zagdawg
12-19-2017, 06:10 AM
75-70 Zags

TexasZagFan
12-19-2017, 06:26 AM
Coach delivered a message to the entire team last night. Not starting J3 & KT, more minutes for JJ albeit in a 30 point win. Jeremy's focus has been on "doing what the coaches want", always a good move.

Zags 89
Aztecs 81

stevet75
12-19-2017, 06:44 AM
ZAGS 88-80

bartruff1
12-19-2017, 07:15 AM
There is a game preview on YouTube with coach Dutcher an player Hemsley ......they expect a zone, Gonzaga zoned them last year and Cal just beat them with a Zone....Devin Watson is now on their team....

jazzdelmar
12-19-2017, 07:17 AM
There is a game preview on YouTube with coach Dutcher an player Hemsley ......they expect a zone, Gonzaga zoned them last year and Cal just beat them with a Zone....Devin Watson is now on their team....

Devin don't play no D but he was a thorn while at USF.....

hegotit!
12-19-2017, 08:14 AM
Zags win 93-79

amaronizag
12-19-2017, 08:23 AM
GU 88---SDS 76
Tough environment but the home team can't match the superior GU offense. GU has too many offensive weapons.

TravelinZag
12-19-2017, 08:50 AM
Zags 87
Aztecs 76

Go Zags!

DixieZag
12-19-2017, 09:25 AM
Devin don't play no D but he was a thorn while at USF.....

You in town down there to go to the game? I am just betting that you have the right contacts to have a very nice seat if you're wanting to go.

Zaga
12-19-2017, 09:41 AM
87-71 Gonzaga

Mr Vulture
12-19-2017, 10:16 AM
Gonzaga 83
Aztecs 61

San Diego State is just not that good IMO....

MontanaCoyote
12-19-2017, 11:00 AM
Half the turnovers, cut way down on the drive penetrations and open uncontested 3's.

mattydog73
12-19-2017, 11:13 AM
Zags: 88
Team comprised almost exclusively of kids once recruited by GU: 74

Josh to stop with the out of control pinball routine and just run the team, pick his spots and hunt his shot. Silas to give them more on the offensive side of the ball. Continued minutes for Larsen and Jones.

BayAreaZagFan
12-19-2017, 11:19 AM
A solid performance on both sides of the ball - a good offensive and defensive outing. Clean up on the sloppy play / frustrating turnovers. A nice, complete momentum-building game that will carry this team into conference play on a high note. Aztecs get some late baskets to make the score semi-respectable.

Good guys - 85
SDSU - 72 (in honor of Steve Fisher - hope I'm still able to work, but long-since retired, when I reach that age)

jazzdelmar
12-19-2017, 11:22 AM
You in town down there to go to the game? I am just betting that you have the right contacts to have a very nice seat if you're wanting to go.


Naa. In laws in town, tough parking down there and it’s holiday time. Don’t expect a sellout. Kids are gone, football is king again, and team underachieving under new coach who’s under media fire already. Still, SDSU has athletes to give slow- footed Zags fits. Watch Watson and old friend Pope

jazzdelmar
12-19-2017, 11:26 AM
Zags: 88
Team comprised almost exclusively of kids once recruited by GU: 74

Josh to stop with the out of control pinball routine and just run the team, pick his spots and hunt his shot. Silas to give them more on the offensive side of the ball. Continued minutes for Larsen and Jones.


Josh the Pinball Wizard, love it, great gloss.

Goshzagit
12-19-2017, 11:35 AM
By the time we play on Thursday, it'd be 12 days since SDSU played.

Game shape could be a concern for them, and early sloppy play. Practice ain't games.

Jump on them early, quiet the crowd, and maintain smart bball -- confuses Aztecs.

We should beat these guys by 11 or 12 points, but 17 or 18 TO's gives almost any reasonably talented team a chance.

Should still win by 4 or 5 even with that many TO's.

LongIslandZagFan
12-19-2017, 12:02 PM
SDSU lost to a mediocre to poor Cal team. If it comes down to FTs... they are toward the bottom on that stat.

Going to go with

Zags 81
Aztecs 68

ZagzKrak
12-19-2017, 12:05 PM
Zags 83
SDSU 68

ZagsObserver
12-19-2017, 12:19 PM
GU 82
The other guys 67

RenoZag
12-19-2017, 01:22 PM
Aztecs 82
Bulldogs 88

All Weather Fan
12-19-2017, 01:42 PM
86 - 81 Zags

Bocco
12-19-2017, 02:58 PM
Gonzaga 84
San Diego State 72

zag67
12-19-2017, 03:39 PM
GU 87 - 67

23dpg
12-19-2017, 04:43 PM
Zags 77
Aztecs 71

Hoopaholic
12-19-2017, 06:25 PM
Zags 78
Sdstate 71

The509sfinest
12-19-2017, 07:07 PM
ZAGS 76
Aztecs 62
Malik Pope will get a glimpse of what could have been if he just would have committed sooner and before Zags backs off. Hope to see him and Rui go at it, will be fun to watch.

slickguser
12-20-2017, 11:10 AM
I want to see some hard nose defense. I want fewer turnovers.

Zags 85
SDSU 72

77Zag
12-20-2017, 11:20 AM
Zags 87
Aztecs 76

Go Zags - Beat the Aztecs!!

buenaparkzag
12-20-2017, 11:25 AM
Mighty Zags 93
Aztecs 70

Go Zags!

CdAZagFan
12-20-2017, 11:50 AM
Hope to see hustle - not lethargy. And would love to see them clamp down and improve that 3-pt percentage defense. But controlling the boards will probably determine this one.

SD 90
GU 75

(just trying to move out of the middle of the pack somehow!)

Zagricultural
12-20-2017, 12:10 PM
91-78 Zags. Want to see more run for Larsen and less for Jones.

Reborn
12-20-2017, 03:39 PM
I would like to watch a good game from the beginning til the end. I'm tired of seeing come out with lackluster effort at the beginning of games. I'd love to see Josh look like an elite point guard and stop making mistakes that good high school players wouldn't make. Quit trying to impress, Josh. I hope to see Tillie and Williams play up to their capability and to STOP taking it easy. Get in shape boys.

I hope to see Rui and Larsen play more, especially Larsen. He's the best post player imo. For sure the best passer.
Let's not see tillie and Williams and Perkins making stupid fouls at the beginning of the game. Use your heads, guys. Come on. Play smart for a change.

Hope to see more good passing and less one on one basketball. Let's run the offense. Play GU ball.
I don't have much confidence in our man to man defense any more. Maybe use the full court press. Worst Gonzaga defensive team in a long time. Where's the toughness. I saw some the last game. But still not enough. If guys aren't ready to play I'd like to see Few bench them. Play Rui, Larsen, Jones. Maybe play Wade. He seems to be ready to play now.

Good luck Zags. It's a huge game imo. This is one we can't lose. Get your heads ready to FIGHT. Expect a heavy weight match instead of a pillow fight with your girlfriend.

Zags come ready to play and win by more than 15.

Go Zags

Zagdawg
12-20-2017, 03:41 PM
Tillie seems to pick up the first foul of the game more often than not-- would like to see him avoid this as we will need him to help defend Pope.

raise the zag
12-20-2017, 05:04 PM
It's a huge game imo. This is one we can't lose. Get your heads ready to FIGHT. Expect a heavy weight match instead of a pillow fight with your girlfriend.

Go Zags

This is great, Rebes, thank u for the chuckle and good post.

DixieZag
12-20-2017, 05:48 PM
Tillie seems to pick up the first foul of the game more often than not-- would like to see him avoid this as we will need him to help defend Pope.

We could game plan that. Have Melson slap someone's forearm on the jump. Problem solved.


Sorry, in a goofy mood. By tomorrow night I expect the Board to be talking protected seeds and winning out, or in total meltdown talking needing to win the WCC

thespywhozaggedme
12-20-2017, 06:34 PM
88-72 us

Zagger
12-20-2017, 07:08 PM
.....Sorry, in a goofy mood. By tomorrow night I expect the Board to be talking protected seeds and winning out, or in total meltdown talking needing to win the WCC

Good one :)

upan8th
12-20-2017, 07:21 PM
It shouldn't be close. Watched Aztecs in several games & inconsistency is the team's hallmark. But, essentially this is their game of the year, a win possibly earning them a ticket to the Dance. With a packed, crazed house behind them & in view of GU's lethargic recent play, I think SDSU gets inside the 4 point spread in a low scoring affair. Don't think they can win a shoot out, but with both teams playing homely ball: GU 69 SDSU 67.

U Zig, I Zag
12-20-2017, 08:01 PM
Zags turn it over 15+ times and they lose.

TexasZagFan
12-20-2017, 08:16 PM
Zags turn it over 15+ times and they lose.

This is an area where JP needs to exert his leadership. Many of these turnovers come from plain carelessness and inattention. IIRC, we averaged 11-12 a game last year, but the ball was in Nigel's hands much of the time.

willandi
12-20-2017, 08:28 PM
This is an area where JP needs to exert his leadership. Many of these turnovers come from plain carelessness and inattention. IIRC, we averaged 11-12 a game last year, but the ball was in Nigel's hands much of the time.

It would really delay the game if it was in Nigel's hands this year!

Psychozag
12-20-2017, 09:35 PM
GU-80
SDSU - 76

amaronizag
12-20-2017, 10:32 PM
We won't have a size advantage, but they can't match our offensive production. Our defense isn't poor enough to let them run up a big score on us. It's true that we're off to a relatively slow start defensively, but we always start out that way. Once the team gels in conference play, our offensive efficiency gets a lot better. Last year some here were panicking about our defensive efficiency on KenPom. I predicted we would get down to about 92 which would get us into the top 15, and be good enough to take us deep in the dance. I never had any idea we would end up #1 in the country at about 87 IIRC. We'll get down to 92 again this year, which will also be top 15 and good enough for a deep run in the dance. Anything below 93 puts us in the top 3 GU defensive teams of the last 10+ years. Once Larsen starts playing more in the middle, we get everybody healed up, the numbers will tighten up against the WCC. When our defensive efficiency numbers drop, at least we'll look good on paper, but how good is that really??? Several of the teams ranked above us will drop a couple more games in their tough conferences and we'll start climbing in the rating polls. I'm still thinking a 2 seed if we win tomorrow night. I think our offense is just too good to drop more than 1 more game.

Martin Centre Mad Man
12-21-2017, 01:25 AM
Zags in a close one. 79-75.

kitzbuel
12-21-2017, 03:15 AM
The Zags should really win this game. If they have their collective head in the game, they are a much better team.

Zags 81

Aztecs 75

Sent from my XT1710-02 using Tapatalk

GonzagasaurusFlex
12-21-2017, 04:22 AM
I’d like to see Norvell and Kispert both play well and make the 3 position an offensive asset for this team.

avid-zag-fan
12-21-2017, 05:51 AM
our offensive efficiency is good, except for turnovers: less turnovers!
our defense is the big problem with our defensive efficiency dropping steadily over the last 6 weeks. Better defense.

Goshzagit
12-21-2017, 05:58 AM
I’d like to see Norvell and Kispert both play well and make the 3 position an offensive asset for this team.

Monday was first time in the past 4 games I saw Kispert somewhat trust his ability to cut or jump off his ankle.

I have a feeling his ankle is 100% or close to it, yet his trust/mind is still at 75% of his ankle. He is subconsciously protecting it, which can be quite noticeable at this level where thinking often comes second to reacting.

I was happy to see him shoot with the same elevation he was prior to injury. Kispert is the type of shooter who requires a ton of elevation, and certainly two healthy ankles.

It'd be nice to see him return with a scoring punch in his 15 mins tonight. Maybe more if he's mentally ready.

JPW314159
12-21-2017, 08:07 AM
GU 86
SDSU 76

Kong-Kool-Aid
12-21-2017, 08:21 AM
Tonight is JPs night, Zags win and JP does what JP does. Zags 88 - SDSU 72

Zagceo
12-21-2017, 08:21 AM
I look forward to seeing intensity, hustle, control and defensive continuity.

Please don't show up with unemotional to cool for school NBA regular season attitudes

Zags 82
Aztecs 72

ZagsGoZags
12-21-2017, 08:30 AM
zags 79
sd 74
I'd like to see JW look for passing out of it more often when he is double and triple teamed,
Zach N. think more about what else he can do when he is driving the lane and about to crash into a stationary defensive player,
Few return to a more traditional offense based partly on a big man on top of key, to wit, more Larson,
Josh to be more careful with the ball,
Kispert take another step toward being more assertive and less tentative,
Melson keep doing what he is doing
and Rui to keep thinking his way through what the team needs him for on offense and defense where opponents drive right past him,
and coaching staff to tell our players to not seek immediate revenge (often leading to a senseless foul) when they make a bonehead play.

CDC84
12-21-2017, 09:27 AM
That my mute button works when Steve Lappas starts speaking. One of the worst analysts in the world. In addition to sounding as if he is drooling while he is speaking, he constantly questions the judgment and thinking of coaches who are and will always vastly superior to him.

Zag_Dad
12-21-2017, 09:28 AM
GU 78
Aztecs 73

TravelinZag
12-21-2017, 10:56 AM
Zags 85
Aztecs 76

GonzaGAW
12-21-2017, 11:53 AM
less than 15 turnovers, please!

zags 82
other guys 70

GU69
12-21-2017, 01:30 PM
GU 80-75
Kids in the school Christmas program tonight; maybe I'll be back by the end of the game.

bballbeachbum
12-21-2017, 01:45 PM
hope to see a win, don't care what it looks like, just get the result and get out of Dodge

Bogozags
12-21-2017, 02:19 PM
GU-80
SDSU-70

This is going to be SDSU's first game back after exams and I believe they will be a little sluggish as we were against NDSU...their defence should be up to par but still feel we will be in control of the game and win going away.

I'd like to see:

No INJURIES

Kispert and Zach play together as both are very aggressive in going to the hoop and excellent 3pt shooters...in addition, would like to see them play with Josh, Jacob and Tillie.

See us press much more as that has stimulated offence.

See Rui be more aggressive in the paint.

See Josh continue to drive to the hoop on breaks as well as in the half-court offence.

raise the zag
12-21-2017, 02:28 PM
If I was Coach, I'd tell the guys,

"If we win, we can stay an extra day and hit up the beach."

"If we lose, we fly home tonight to cold, snowy, gray Spokane."

It'd motivate me this time of year, no doubt.

Reborn
12-21-2017, 05:40 PM
I just rewatched the game with Villanova. When I rewatch games I always see it more clearly and am not as critical of the Zags. I put rewatching this game off until tonight, and honestly, outside of TURNOVERS, THE Zags played good. Played evenly with Villinova the second half. And at times, we outplaying them. Larsen play GREAT. He IS our post player. PERIOD. IMO. Also Norvell played great.

I'm glad I watched the game again. The Zags are really good. They just need to keep going forward one game at a time. Keep their focus on NOW. I feel good about my forecast for a victory over 15 points.