PDA

View Full Version : GU vs UW - Predictions/What you hope to see



LongIslandZagFan
12-05-2017, 08:54 PM
In-state rivalry game. Tell us your thoughts, what you hope to see, and of course if you are so inclined... your score predictions.

Have at it boys and girls!

seacatfan
12-05-2017, 10:21 PM
Zags w/ another convincing win over UW. Up to 10 out of 11 now isn't it? Keep it rolling.

Zags11
12-05-2017, 10:41 PM
Zags 84

Uw 78

Tied at half.

bigblahla
12-06-2017, 04:36 AM
Zags 89-75

Go!! Zags!!!

bartruff1
12-06-2017, 06:05 AM
I would like to see the game.....hopefully the tired, jet lagged Zags will summon enough energy to win a shoot out at 85 to 80...

stevet75
12-06-2017, 06:09 AM
Zags 91 - 72

Zaga
12-06-2017, 06:47 AM
95-69 Gonzaga!

ZagzKrak
12-06-2017, 06:56 AM
I actually feel a little bad for UW...they are going to be getting a pissed off Zags team that will want to prove the Nova game was a fluke.

Zags 99
UW 72

thebigsmoove
12-06-2017, 07:22 AM
Zags 92
Fuskies 75

Zagdawg
12-06-2017, 07:26 AM
93-74 Zags

willandi
12-06-2017, 07:43 AM
95-65 Zags. They are embarrassed and take it out on the hairy dogs.

thespywhozaggedme
12-06-2017, 07:44 AM
89-70

seacatfan
12-06-2017, 11:18 AM
UW is playing Kansas in Kansas City tonight. They will have traveled most of the way across the country more recently than GU heading into Sunday's game.

Mr Vulture
12-06-2017, 11:54 AM
Zags in a blowout...win by 20pts+

vandalzag
12-06-2017, 12:24 PM
Zags 84

Uw 78

Tied at half.

I like it. It's not that the Huskies are good, just the Zags are so bad.

strikenowhere
12-06-2017, 12:28 PM
Let's see - a dispirited team returning home from a thorough butt-whoopin' going away to a detested in-state rival with a new head coach and defensive philosophy? This has all the makings of an upset.

Huskies 77
Zags 64

ZagsGoZags
12-06-2017, 03:13 PM
Hopkins has the pieces (nowell, dickerson, thybulle, and crisp are good), and the players like his system,
but it will take at least another year for the players to learn the Syracuse zone and gel.
zags 89
huskies 72

Goshzagit
12-06-2017, 04:03 PM
value every possession

show up and stay locked in

less sticky ball

team basketball wins, forcing shots do not

composure, leadership, and want-to

execute the game plan

jimmycarter
12-06-2017, 05:03 PM
Zags 88
Fuskies 58

...an absolute pounding, made possible by a laser-focused defensive effort. It won’t be close.

A to Zags
12-06-2017, 05:57 PM
Hopkins has the pieces (nowell, dickerson, thybulle, and crisp are good), and the players like his system,
but it will take at least another year for the players to learn the Syracuse zone and gel.
zags 89
huskies 72

These Huskies are leading Kansas at the half tonight on ESPN. Their zone is frustrating Kansas

zag67
12-06-2017, 05:58 PM
GU - 82 - 63

Zagceo
12-06-2017, 06:00 PM
This is not your Romar Huskies anymore.....

Huskies 70
Zags 67

seacatfan
12-06-2017, 06:11 PM
You can bash Romar's coaching all you want, but his early teams finished 1st or 2nd in the Pac several times and made it as far as the Sweet 16. There's no way this edition of the Huskies is even remotely as good as the teams w/ B Roy, Nate, Bobby Jones, Tre Simmons etc. Zags have beaten some good Husky squads in the past. This group has nothing on the Brockman/IT/Dentmon/Pondexter group either.

Zagceo
12-06-2017, 06:27 PM
You can bash Romar's coaching all you want, but his early teams finished 1st or 2nd in the Pac several times and made it as far as the Sweet 16. There's no way this edition of the Huskies is even remotely as good as the teams w/ B Roy, Nate, Bobby Jones, Tre Simmons etc. Zags have beaten some good Husky squads in the past. This group has nothing on the Brockman/IT/Dentmon/Pondexter group either.

Joke to have to reach back 10+ years to defend a coach paid millions....just my personal opinion ...

seacatfan
12-06-2017, 06:30 PM
Joke to have to reach back 10+ years to defend a coach paid millions....just my personal opinion ...

I'm merely pointing out that GU has beaten much better UW squads than the one they will face this week.

ZagsObserver
12-06-2017, 06:34 PM
With Romar gone it will become more difficult to beat UW every year.

They should still win this year and next.

GU 87
UW 74

seacatfan
12-06-2017, 06:49 PM
Was it hard beating Nance/Russo/Bender coached teams? I know people love to hate him but Romar was by far the most successful coach UW has ever had. It went south on him the last 5 years or so, it was definitely time for a change, but he did a lot for the Huskies.

strikenowhere
12-06-2017, 07:01 PM
Huskies take down Kansas in Kansas City - Zags better get their heads screwed back on

Zagceo
12-06-2017, 07:12 PM
Have Zags ever defeated Syracuse?

CdAZagFan
12-06-2017, 07:16 PM
Was feeling a little more confident before watching the Kansas game this evening... I hope Few and the boys get back on track, focus, play good D, dominate the boards and it will be nice to have Kispert back for a little more firepower.

GU 82
UW 70

seacatfan
12-06-2017, 07:23 PM
Have Zags ever defeated Syracuse?

I can only think of two meetings in Tourney games. GU might not have ever beaten Syracuse but I don't think they've had very many opportunities.

bartruff1
12-06-2017, 07:25 PM
It is hilarious to read this thread knowing that the UW just beat the #2 team in the Country in Kansas City...

Zagceo
12-06-2017, 07:30 PM
It is hilarious to read this thread knowing that the UW just beat the #2 team in the Country in Kansas City...

not as big a win for Huskies as I thought...being a neutral site game and all :-d

bartruff1
12-06-2017, 07:35 PM
That is even more hilarious...

RenoZag
12-06-2017, 08:34 PM
Washington 82
Gonzaga 76

CDC84
12-06-2017, 08:41 PM
If you look at how UW performed prior to the win tonight vs. Kansas tonight, the result is truly shocking. The wacky world of college basketball. As a Zag fan I would like to hope for an emotional let down after such a monster win.

Zagricultural
12-06-2017, 11:05 PM
86-72 Zags.

Kansas game a fluke.

MDABE80
12-06-2017, 11:25 PM
Defense , defense , defense.
Rebounding like crazy.
TO's must be reduced. UW has a very grabby defense.

LongIslandZagFan
12-07-2017, 04:05 AM
After watching that UW-Kansas game... Zags playing on Huskies home floor....


UW 80
Zags 72


Really hope I am wrong and that Kansas game was UW playing above their ability.

GonzagasaurusFlex
12-07-2017, 04:21 AM
UW averaging 9 steals per game.....

Shameless pasting of my comment from other games thread:


Dawgs w an opportunity to get that program exorcised of Romar in a hurry if they follow up this Kansas win with a win vs Zags. They’d likely make their debut in the polls at #15 or so and gain lots of recruiting momentum in one week. Hopkins sounded very cool, down to earth and much more likable than Boeheim during his SportsCenter interview.

When schedule came out this was a notable game with an old “rival” but it’s now much bigger than that. Zags need this away game victory to get their mojo back and build their confidence... and to b**** slap this suddenly resurgent UW program immediately!

Really hope Kispert is able to play and has a huge game.

Bogozags
12-07-2017, 05:49 AM
UW averaging 9 steals per game.....

Shameless pasting of my comment from other games thread:



When schedule came out this was a notable game with an old ďrivalĒ but itís now much bigger than that. Zags need this away game victory to get their mojo back and build their confidence... and to b**** slap this suddenly resurgent UW program immediately!

Really hope Kispert is able to play and has a huge game.

With the way we took care of the ball vs Villanova and playing at UW, this game looks so much more closer than it did a week ago. UW beating KU on a neutral site says a lot about their transition from Romar...

UW is pretty high right now and this might well be the push that propels them in 2017 and GU getting slammed by Villanova brings doubt to the psyche of GU players, especially to ZN and Rui...

I think we desperately need a win vs UW...this is a watershed moment and I hope Coach Few is able to put the VU game behind us and for the players not to have any lingering thoughts about that loss. We have not lost two in a row in just about a decade...

IMO post play and free throws will be the difference in this game...

In a close one GU 84 UW 77...

TexasZagFan
12-07-2017, 06:23 AM
We certainly need to have a better first half than we've had the last two games. That's on Perk, Silas, and J3...our leaders. They're the ones that need to set the tone from the opening tip. JP and J3 have had mediocre (or worse) games against the last two opponents. Have to get that turned around.

GoZags
12-07-2017, 07:42 AM
Was it hard beating Nance/Russo/Bender coached teams? I know people love to hate him but Romar was by far the most successful coach UW has ever had. It went south on him the last 5 years or so, it was definitely time for a change, but he did a lot for the Huskies.

Not against Gonzaga

Romar had a Portland, LMU-esque record against the Zags.

amaronizag
12-07-2017, 07:50 AM
Kansas has one of these disasters every year. The UW win was a fluke. GU 86--UW 78

WallaWallaZag
12-07-2017, 08:02 AM
all about the turnovers...zags have been horrible. under 10 and zags win by double digits...under 15 and it will be a tight game...over 15 = loss

Zagceo
12-07-2017, 08:19 AM
all about the turnovers...zags have been horrible. under 10 and zags win by double digits...under 15 and it will be a tight game...over 15 = loss

Zags 13 TO against Ohio State ...14 against Florida ....24 against Texas...15 against Creighton ..Nova 19

Zags have been a TO machine lately ....and yet won 3 of 5..

Kansas had 13 against Huskies

Zag_Dad
12-07-2017, 08:32 AM
Zags 82
Huskies 79

Focus on rebounding and turnovers. Offense will be there

SWZag
12-07-2017, 09:09 AM
The happenings last night with the UW win against Kansas just made this matchup a little bit more interesting.

The Huskies will have quite a bit of confidence coming in, but will ultimately have a letdown and GU should win this walking away. Even without the Kansas win, UW doesn't have enough to make it a game. If GU plays like they did up until the Villanova game, it's sure notch in our cap. If we play like we did against Villanova, it will be a close game.

Prior to the Kansas game:
- Saint Martins, W 91 - 87
- Belmont, W 86 - 82 (currently 5-5)
- Eastern Washington, W 79 - 69 (currently 3-5)
- Providence, L 70 - 77 (currently 7-2)
- Virginia Tech, L 79 - 103 (currently 8-1)
- Seattle U, W 89 - 84 (currently 6-4)
- UC Davis, W 77 - 70 (currently 6-2)
- Kennesaw State, W 85 - 71 (currently 1-7)
- Omaha, W 86 - 73 (currently 1 - 9)

GU 92
UW 75

mattydog73
12-07-2017, 09:29 AM
Zags 89
UW 74

Value possessions and execute. JW3 actually show up to play. Put the Nova game behind them.

All Weather Fan
12-07-2017, 10:35 AM
Zags recover their mojo.
Zags - 85
UW - 74

seacatfan
12-07-2017, 10:46 AM
KU only has 1 legit big man and he was in foul trouble last night. Had 10 points on 5-6 shooting and 9 rebounds in limited minutes. Need to pound the Huskies in the interior w/ Tillie, JWIII and Larsen.

KU had beaten Syracuse recently. Hopkins watched game film and tweaked his zone, extended it further to contest all 3's. It worked out fairly well. They willingly gave up shots in the middle of the zone to Vick all game (28 points), but shut down everybody else.

bballbeachbum
12-07-2017, 11:08 AM
KU only has 1 legit big man and he was in foul trouble last night. Had 10 points on 5-6 shooting and 9 rebounds in limited minutes. Need to pound the Huskies in the interior w/ Tillie, JWIII and Larsen.

KU had beaten Syracuse recently. Hopkins watched game film and tweaked his zone, extended it further to contest all 3's. It worked out fairly well. They willingly gave up shots in the middle of the zone to Vick all game (28 points), but shut down everybody else.

yep, wonder how Hopkins will do it vs. Zags. Would think he'd go to this at least at some point given the success they had vs. KU, but Zags have some nice options in the Vick role and will have seen the tape already to help prepare.

KU another team that relies on the 3 without inside production getting exposed. the whole idea of the defense forcing the ball into the paint is so counter to what we were doing way back when, fun evolutionary wave to ride as it's crested. Hamilton down at FSU has been playing like this for as long as I can remember defensively, not necessarily the zone but the perimeter pressure with rim protectors forcing dribble

want to see the Zags show up focused and locked in and ready for action from jump for 40

DixieZag
12-07-2017, 11:47 AM
Been a long time since a game this early carried with it this much pressure. The UW beats Seattle U by only 5, but then goes and beats Kansas on a neutral floor (across the river from Kansas)?

Our guys better get their lips off the floor.

Zags 85
Dogs 75

Only because I can't pick against the Zags against the UW, and hopefully the crowd is still 50% Zag fans.

BayAreaZagFan
12-07-2017, 11:51 AM
5-6 days will have been enough time to get the stench of the Villanova loss out of the air and will be more than enough time for the Huskies to read their press clippings and think they're better than they really are. It will be a tougher game than it would have been in the past few years, but the good guys will still prevail.

Zags - 80
That team from the wrong side of the state - 72

bartruff1
12-07-2017, 12:43 PM
I would like to see the game.....hopefully the tired, jet lagged Zags will summon enough energy to win a shoot out at 85 to 80...

The Kansas game changed my mind....the Huskies are on a roll and at home...Gonzaga is in a funk and in a true road game...

I think the UW will win 82-75.....

FlyZag
12-07-2017, 04:14 PM
Close game through 3qtrs... Zags pull away late.

Zags 85
Dawgs 75

GU69
12-07-2017, 04:47 PM
Wow. The Kansas game is hard to process.
I'd like this one to be around 110 to 25, but unfortunately that's not going to happen.
GU 85
UW 84

Kemo 1966
12-07-2017, 05:19 PM
GU's defensive interior...JWIII and Larsen will wear the dogs down. GU 90 to Washington's 78 (last minute 3 makes game seem closer)...... Offensively, Norville, Tillie, JWIII and Perkins too much....and Melson gets a double double (points and assists) to boot. IMO

Martin Centre Mad Man
12-07-2017, 06:07 PM
https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/6c3d783f98515f89dc4e6b0dd064b2815541511b09085cd1b5 f3e762286bbfbc.gif

Zags lead for most of the game. Late turnovers doom the good guys. The Evil Empire wins. 78-76.

JPtheBeasta
12-07-2017, 07:03 PM
GU should methodically take down UW on offense, assuming the turnover issue improves.
Bill Self said his team is not particularly fast or big, and doesn’t execute anyone plays in offense. They have been winning via individual efforts. KU looks like a team in need of an identity. That said, KU isn’t as bad as they looked in the loss and US isn’t as good as they looked in the win, in my opinion.

Zags by 10.

75Zag
12-07-2017, 09:52 PM
GU by 3.

Is there any sort of Alumni event prior to the Husky game? I checked the Alumni Association web site and could not find anything.

Go Bulldogs!

hoopaddict
12-08-2017, 03:19 AM
I canít see the game in the high 80ís or 90ís so letís go 81-75. Winner will be the team that keeps there top two players out of foul trouble. Oh, and of course the team that keeps their turnovers under a dozen.

vandalzag
12-08-2017, 05:13 AM
This board is the HQ for overreaction. Based on most posts this team needs to book a place in the CBI. One game for either team does not make a season. UW is still the same team that was boat raced by VTech, and struggled with the likes of Eastern and Seattle U. Granted this is not the Romar let it roll version of the Huskies, but they did not beat Kansas as much as Kansas crapped the bed. Zags are not in a funk, they played a terrible first half against Nova.

Zags 79 Mutss 65

CanadZag
12-08-2017, 06:31 AM
Don't see how the boys aren't up for this game in a big way.

Zags 82
Huskies 71

hegotit!
12-08-2017, 07:12 AM
GU 86
UW 68

gu03alum
12-08-2017, 08:31 AM
Anyone know the line for this game? I can't seem to find it.

Baseline
12-08-2017, 10:36 AM
Gu 84
UW 79

I watched the KU/UW game and was impressed by their point guard. Fast and drives very well.

23dpg
12-08-2017, 12:42 PM
Zags 76
UW 61

Mantua
12-08-2017, 02:37 PM
Perimeter defense remains a concern.

raise the zag
12-08-2017, 02:58 PM
Perimeter defense remains a concern.

agreed. an under-mentioned issue this season.

In EVERY single game we give up the easy dribble-drive. Fortunate Tillie, Larsen, and sometimes J3 have bailed us out.

any team with a decent guard has burnt us in the paint, often leading to foul trouble for our bigs. Its kind of cause and effect.

Its also the reason we've zone so frequently this season, the coaches recognize the shortcomings.

I think Zags will be ready for this one. I predicted a 9 pt loss to Nova. Zags win this one by 6.

Our guys intensity will show up, makes a huge difference.

Hoopaholic
12-08-2017, 04:49 PM
agreed. an under-mentioned issue this season.

In EVERY single game we give up the easy dribble-drive. Fortunate Tillie, Larsen, and sometimes J3 have bailed us out.

any team with a decent guard has burnt us in the paint, often leading to foul trouble for our bigs. Its kind of cause and effect.

Its also the reason we've zone so frequently this season, the coaches recognize the shortcomings.

I think Zags will be ready for this one. I predicted a 9 pt loss to Nova. Zags win this one by 6.

Our guys intensity will show up, makes a huge difference.

The dribble defense philosophy had to take a major philosophy change from last year where gambling and mistakes were covered up by karnowski and we funneled players to him

Can't do that this year and we are adjusting

DixieZag
12-08-2017, 05:15 PM
agreed. an under-mentioned issue this season.

In EVERY single game we give up the easy dribble-drive. Fortunate Tillie, Larsen, and sometimes J3 have bailed us out.

any team with a decent guard has burnt us in the paint, often leading to foul trouble for our bigs. Its kind of cause and effect.

Its also the reason we've zone so frequently this season, the coaches recognize the shortcomings.

I think Zags will be ready for this one. I predicted a 9 pt loss to Nova. Zags win this one by 6.

Our guys intensity will show up, makes a huge difference.

The single most disappointing thing about the Nova game was the lack of urgency or intensity from the very beginning. Didn't seem to want to play. I hope to see the huge difference it makes.

raise the zag
12-08-2017, 05:41 PM
The single most disappointing thing about the Nova game was the lack of urgency or intensity from the very beginning. Didn't seem to want to play. I hope to see the huge difference it makes.

I'm not certain the guys thought they could win, or were simply intimidated by the venue, city, etc?

they just weren't ready to play. Not just one guy, either. Happens to every team.

I saw Melson hustling, Norvell after the early TO's, and of course Larsen. The rest weren't really playing hard at all. They made a play here and there, but even their expressions, body language, etc was off.

Maybe too used to the coziness of the Kennel, which Portland was very pro-Gonzaga, close to home, etc.

Something was off.

Again, yes Nova is an awesome team, but not THAT awesome. We were off our game and we were exposed as a result.

Playing team ball, how we played in scrimmage, exhibition, first few games is where and how these team needs to play. Share the ball, quick passes, all average 9 or 10 ppg.

If they get back to basics, value every possession, play with intensity (as we've seen), they can play with ANYONE, including Nova.

bballbeachbum
12-08-2017, 05:42 PM
The dribble defense philosophy had to take a major philosophy change from last year where gambling and mistakes were covered up by karnowski and we funneled players to him

Can't do that this year and we are adjusting

was it really gambling and mistakes? those could also be covered, yes, but the D philosophy and execution seemed more like tactical acumen done by design knowing there was rim protection

Zagceo
12-08-2017, 06:09 PM
was it really gambling and mistakes? those could also be covered, yes, but the D philosophy and execution seemed more like tactical acumen done by design knowing there was rim protection


could gambling and mistakes allow Zags to have a top rated defense at the end of last year? doubtful

Hoopaholic
12-08-2017, 10:09 PM
was it really gambling and mistakes? those could also be covered, yes, but the D philosophy and execution seemed more like tactical acumen done by design knowing there was rim protection
I felt last year it was both

Can't do either this year Simply different concepts basedpon the skill set you have available

Hoopaholic
12-08-2017, 10:11 PM
could gambling and mistakes allow Zags to have a top rated defense at the end of last year? doubtful

With big time rim protectors I submitt it allowed us to gamble and live on edge for steals and getting in the grill pushing off the three line with contributed to the solid overall d stats

ZAGduck
12-08-2017, 11:37 PM
Just want a win. And also to wash off the dirtiness that I feel for having attended 4 Gonzaga games and 4 North Carolina games in the last 9 months. Okay that's dramatic- last 10 months it was Gonzaga 7 games; NC 4. Plus Softy easting sh*t is always an added bonus.

Zagdawg
12-09-2017, 07:17 AM
A look back at five classic Gonzaga-Washington games

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/dec/09/a-look-back-at-five-gonzaga-washington-games/

Zagger
12-09-2017, 10:20 AM
Before UW win over Kansas Iíd have given the Zags a 20 pt win. Now only 10 pt win.

Zags 90, Dawgs 80

I hope to see a much better game by GU than MSG. I really wanna see .....
Kispert playing, J3 back to old self, FEW TOs & FEW STOOPID FOULS, Melson w/ a least 10 pts, Santa, continued spiffy play by Larsen, Norvell w/ a few assists and Tillie with some mega swats/blocks.

Happy Holidays!

Zagdawg
12-09-2017, 01:32 PM
Gonzaga hopes to zero in on Washington’s zone

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/dec/09/gonzaga-hopes-to-zero-in-on-washingtons-zone/

Radbooks
12-09-2017, 05:41 PM
Zags 85
Dawgs - 78

spike_jr
12-09-2017, 06:04 PM
83-74 Zags

I hope to see 40 minutes of energy on D. Play team ball and limit the turnovers.

bartruff1
12-09-2017, 07:38 PM
Anyone know the line for this game? I can't seem to find it.

Gonzaga by 9...

bartruff1
12-09-2017, 07:43 PM
The Kansas game changed my mind....the Huskies are on a roll and at home...Gonzaga is in a funk and in a true road game...

I think the UW will win 82-75.....

Well, I changed my mind.....again...apparently the professional odds makers see Gonzaga winning....so...what they hay... I will go with my hopes..... GONZAGA 82-75

willandi
12-09-2017, 07:59 PM
I've given my prediction, what I hope to see is the game!

GonzaGAW
12-09-2017, 09:17 PM
- hope to see better ball handling and passing...............fewer turnovers!!!
- if we do not turn the ball over 18 times with a few run out dunks by the huskies, I do not see the zags losing.

- zags 82
- huskies 71

amaronizag
12-09-2017, 09:47 PM
Against NOVA we only got 52 shots in the air if I remember right. We need to put at least 10 more shots in the air to beat teams because we're so thin in the front court. I predict we struggle against the zone, but keep firing 3's, and put 65 shots in the air to win this one.

Goshzagit
12-09-2017, 09:54 PM
I suspect David Crisp to play well, and make 3's. I mean who doesn't vs us lately? Noah Dickerson is a handful in the paint, much stronger now. Thybulle is a veteran and versatile. A couple Top-100 recruits and forwards abound. UW has talent, more disciplined, and their zone is a feisty.

I expect it will be a good game, yet we pull away down the stretch in this one.

Zags by 8.

If Tillie and J3 start racking up the fouls before the first TV timeout, well, the outcome could be very different.

Kispert plays on ankle (75%), and scores 12.

MDABE80
12-09-2017, 10:16 PM
I'd use this game as well as the rest of the OOC to focus on defense. UW included. Our defense is just not where it should be. Defense always allows a team to go deep in the NCAA tournament. For our purposes though, when the offense gets shaky ( including 3 pt shooting) we must have a well thought out defense for man and zone. Every Zag team that's gone deep has been one where defense came first. McClellan's last year with us and last year (both come to mind as recent examples) we had very strong defense. Not sure why it's sputtering this year.

tummydoc
12-09-2017, 10:56 PM
Zags 84, huskies 76

kitzbuel
12-10-2017, 02:40 AM
Zags 78

Huskies 69

Reborn
12-10-2017, 05:50 AM
I'd like to see JWIII playing the 4, his old position, and start Larsen and have Tillie come in off the bench. Let Tillie sit and prepare himself to come into the game and not foul in the first few minutes that he plays. When JW3 plays center I hope he doesn't hold the ball for ten seconds before he makes his move, and I'd love to see him pass more when he is being double teamed. Need to see this team stop playing sloppy and turning the ball over 20 times a game. Get those TO's down to 12. Hope to see our guys hitting three's on the road. Our inability to do so played a big part in our loss to Villanoa.

Finally, I hope to see the guys play defense tonight. Hope to see the kind of hustle that we've grown accustomed to seeing.
Hope to see a great game. A COMPLETE game of 40 minutes of Zag basketball.

Do I expect the Zags to win? Hell yes. Do I expect them to win by more than ten points. You betcha, brother.

TravelinZag
12-10-2017, 05:55 AM
[QUOTE=DixieZag;1343951
Zags 85
Dogs 75

hopefully the crowd is still 50% Zag fans.[/QUOTE]

UW ticket allocation to Zags not only cheap seats, but consciously scattered to preclude any semblance of a Zag section. So, next to no Zag section live, plus no tv. Did UW also make efforts to reinforce that as well? Only if they could!

What do I want to see? A Zags win. Pretty or ugly, just W. Kispert’s return. No more injuries. A return to Zags team ball and will to win. Zags desperately need this. Hoping more than predicting:

Zags 84
Huskies 77

Go Zags!

Goshzagit
12-10-2017, 06:50 AM
I'd like to see JWIII playing the 4, his old position, and start Larsen and have Tillie come in off the bench. Let Tillie sit and prepare himself to come into the game and not foul in the first few minutes that he plays.

I do agree Zags play better as a PF/C frontcourt, than a PF/PF frontcourt.

Both sides of the court improve, and so does the passing. I concur with Killian off the bench. At least for now, until he proves otherwise.

Even Coach Few is beyond himself at the ridiculous fouls Tillie is committing early on. I recall the last game, or maybe vs Creighton, Tillie commits a dumb ticky-tack foul in the first 60 seconds and Coach just shakes his head and mouths,

"What are you doing?"

Besides he has shown he is so much better after he gets yanked and sits for a bit. Interestingly enough, Tillie has never impacted the game until AFTER the first TV timeout, or after Rui or Larsen subs for him.

Zagnailler
12-10-2017, 06:52 AM
Zags 92
dogs. 78

Zags on fire over the zone. ��

Kong-Kool-Aid
12-10-2017, 07:05 AM
Gonzaga 96 - Washington 71

slickguser
12-10-2017, 07:11 AM
Zags 93
UW - 74

I want to see JW3 control the paint.

ZenZag
12-10-2017, 07:37 AM
Zags - 81
Udub- 78

GrizZAG
12-10-2017, 09:46 AM
agreed. an under-mentioned issue this season.

In EVERY single game we give up the easy dribble-drive. Fortunate Tillie, Larsen, and sometimes J3 have bailed us out.

any team with a decent guard has burnt us in the paint, often leading to foul trouble for our bigs. Its kind of cause and effect.

Its also the reason we've zone so frequently this season, the coaches recognize the shortcomings.

I think Zags will be ready for this one. I predicted a 9 pt loss to Nova. Zags win this one by 6.

Our guys intensity will show up, makes a huge difference.


Once we are in foul trouble it is terribly hard to defend aggressively inside. Spot on...

RenoZag
12-10-2017, 10:56 AM
Will watch the Husky - GU match-up with friends this afternoon. Take and bake pizza, a couple of brews, eazy peazy way to end the weekend.

If a GUnit thread is needed, somebody else will need to do it. Good luck, Zags !

seacatfan
12-10-2017, 11:08 AM
No need for conspiracy theories about game coverage. ESPN, Fox, CBS, NBC, EVERYBODY else gets a crack at it. I guess they all passed. Pac 12 Network only gets games after all the other networks pass on it. Kinda surprising ESPN didn't want this one, but UW has no ability to prevent this game from being broadcast on a network that most GU fans have access to.

upan8th
12-10-2017, 12:47 PM
GU connects on less than 35% of three attempts, trail at the half. Find seams in zone latter part of the game for JWIII & Larsen. Ugly, low scoring affair. Too many foul calls and FT's. UDub sinks just 60% of theirs, preventing a W. Silas atones for FLA miss, knocking down game winner with five seconds left on the clock. GU 68 Fusskies 66.

Psychozag
12-10-2017, 01:37 PM
Zags - 83
UW - 72

Bocco
12-10-2017, 01:55 PM
GU 82
UW 76

JPW314159
12-10-2017, 02:45 PM
GU 83
UW 68

seacatfan
12-10-2017, 06:29 PM
Ha ha. Some of you were worried about nothing...again. Looked about the same as usual. So...is a Mike Hopkins coached Husky team harder to beat than a Romar coached Husky team?

bartruff1
12-10-2017, 06:35 PM
I am having a few crow wings here.....

TexasZagFan
12-10-2017, 08:06 PM
I am having a few crow wings here.....

I had pizza...out of necessity. Went to a place to get a pizza to help feed the kids at our Live Nativity tonight. Stopped at a nearby pizza place near our church, only to discover that they only prepare the pizza...you have to take it home to bake it!

Fortunately, there was plenty of food for everyone.

JPtheBeasta
12-10-2017, 08:16 PM
I had pizza...out of necessity. Went to a place to get a pizza to help feed the kids at our Live Nativity tonight. Stopped at a nearby pizza place near our church, only to discover that they only prepare the pizza...you have to take it home to bake it!

Fortunately, there was plenty of food for everyone.

You need to find a crow take-and-bake for Bart.

TexasZagFan
12-10-2017, 08:28 PM
You need to find a crow take-and-bake for Bart.

It sure had enough salt in the sauce to drown out the taste of crow.

Skimhvn
12-10-2017, 08:45 PM
Aren't Rui and JW3 compatible?