PDA

View Full Version : OT- David Stockton last night v Warriors



maynard g krebs
10-14-2017, 11:24 AM
23 points, 8 assists/1 t.o. and 2 steals on 9/12 shooting and 3/4 on 3 pointers.

Just thought it was worth a mention here before moving to Old Dogs.

Just remarkable, even if a preseason game. I remember seeing him in the state tourney for G Prep and thinking he might develop into a nice D2 point guard somewhere like Central or Seattle Pacific.

Kudos to the poster who said he'd be playing in the NBA some day (I think it might have been Hondo). I thought that was nuts at the time, but it was visionary.

hooter73
10-14-2017, 02:59 PM
When he exploded in the wcc tourny his senior year I finally gave him the credit he deserved. What he's done in the d league is amazing, and now...

Zagdawg
10-14-2017, 03:19 PM
We have one fan who doesn't think he belongs on the court because he is too short. Good to see he is proving the naysayers wrong again.

Coach Crazy
10-14-2017, 05:00 PM
I was definitely not a fan of his. If he keeps even half of that production up...well, can't say I would have put my money it. Credit where credit is due.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mojo13
10-14-2017, 10:47 PM
I was definitely not a fan of his. If he keeps even half of that production up...well, can't say I would have put my money it. Credit where credit is due.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Good game by David, but don't get fooled by the smoke and mirrors here. It's the last preseason game where he is playing mostly with and against scrubs (Kings sat all their starters). It's the same night when a number of other guys you never heard of led their team in scoring and will be cut within a couple days. Last season David was cut from an Adriatic League team after just a few games and then again from a New Zealand team after 10 games. He was signed by Sac to run the Reno Bighorns because he knows their oddball run and gun system. His G league stats are inflated because of the awfully high paced way the BigHorns play. He will be cut and assigned to the BigHorns within a couple days.

Guys like Pangos, Shem, NWG, Bell and many other are playing at a much higher level than Stockton.

Jstock12
10-15-2017, 03:20 AM
Good game by David, but don't get fooled by the smoke and mirrors here. It's the last preseason game where he is playing mostly with and against scrubs (Kings sat all their starters). It's the same night when a number of other guys you never heard of led their team in scoring and will be cut within a couple days. Last season David was cut from an Adriatic League team after just a few games and then again from a New Zealand team after 10 games. He was signed by Sac to run the Reno Bighorns because he knows their oddball run and gun system. His G league stats are inflated because of the awfully high paced way the BigHorns play. He will be cut and assigned to the BigHorns within a couple days.

Guys like Pangos, Shem, NWG, Bell and many other are playing at a much higher level than Stockton.

Hey, I didn't follow David's career. In your opinion what's the biggest thing that makes Stockton inferior to someone like Pangos? Is it the lack of size? Bad defense? Poor basketball IQ?

vandalzag
10-15-2017, 06:56 AM
Good game by David, but don't get fooled by the smoke and mirrors here. It's the last preseason game where he is playing mostly with and against scrubs (Kings sat all their starters). It's the same night when a number of other guys you never heard of led their team in scoring and will be cut within a couple days. Last season David was cut from an Adriatic League team after just a few games and then again from a New Zealand team after 10 games. He was signed by Sac to run the Reno Bighorns because he knows their oddball run and gun system. His G league stats are inflated because of the awfully high paced way the BigHorns play. He will be cut and assigned to the BigHorns within a couple days.

Guys like Pangos, Shem, NWG, Bell and many other are playing at a much higher level than Stockton.

Just curious of the players above has any played anything more than an NBA summer league game? The answer would be none. While I would agree that odds are against him sticking on the roster, but why not celebrate what he has accomplished? Just have never understood the need of posters like yourself to run the kid down at any opportunity. What is not to like about a kid who went from a walk on to playing in the league? Unless you are one of those that believes the only reason he played at GU for 4 years is that his last name is Stockton.

ZagsGoZags
10-15-2017, 07:39 AM
Good game by David, but don't get fooled by the smoke and mirrors here. It's the last preseason game where he is playing mostly with and against scrubs (Kings sat all their starters). It's the same night when a number of other guys you never heard of led their team in scoring and will be cut within a couple days. Last season David was cut from an Adriatic League team after just a few games and then again from a New Zealand team after 10 games. He was signed by Sac to run the Reno Bighorns because he knows their oddball run and gun system. His G league stats are inflated because of the awfully high paced way the BigHorns play. He will be cut and assigned to the BigHorns within a couple days.

Guys like Pangos, Shem, NWG, Bell and many other are playing at a much higher level than Stockton.

Thanks for the post Mojo13, I encourage you to post more often. When I saw the title of the thread I had the impression he was playing in the NBA now. While doubtful when he joined the team as a walk on, I came to respect him more and more as he grew as a player. What a load to aim for a career in basketball when the comparisons with his father were sure to accompany his every move. I was so glad he has been given looks and hope he will continue chasing his own dream and making his own money in the pro leagues even if it is, or is not, in the NBA. I am sure his dad is as proud of him as zag nation. Though a fan of all the old dogs, I appreciate hearing factual statements about them as well as the rosy accounts of their outstanding games. David has grit and deserves the best.

Mojo13
10-15-2017, 09:48 AM
As expected David was waived today by the Kings. The fact he was signed a couple days ago clearly show he is meant for the BigHorns. It was not a legitimate tryout for the Kings. Hanging around the Kings like this for so long he is in position for the odd emergency call up when injuries occur. Just because he's played a game or two in the NBA doesn't mean he is better than those other guys mentioned. It means he has been proximate and available when the opportunity arises.
It sure looks to me that he can't (or doesn't need to) get a better paying job in Europe or Asia. The guys with contracts in Europe or Asia are locked up and unavailable to the NBA. Davids paid about 25k a year in the G - the other guys made a choice to go make 10x that but in doing so give up most of their freedom of mobility to the NBA.
I don't want to bag on the guy, he is a a pretty good player but let's be honest about him. But again, sometimes you just need to be in the right place at the right time for you to get the opportunity of a lifetime. It seems he can afford to hang out in the right place and frankly looks like he might not be good enough to play serious well paid professional ball elsewhere.

zag buddy
10-15-2017, 10:00 AM
mojo, your facts are great but your assumptions suck.

nish_mode
10-15-2017, 12:40 PM
David Stockton is and was a late bloomer and got better every year from the day he landed at gonzaga to his days in the G League.

maynard g krebs
10-15-2017, 01:57 PM
mojo, your facts are great but your assumptions suck.

Exactly. Nobody tried to say he was an NBA player. That wasn't the point of my post. I just thought it was great that he had a game like this against the Warriors, even in an exhibition. Those are still NBA players in the other uniform, for the most part.

That's considering where he came from. I wasn't trying to compare him to the guys you mentioned, either. All of them were high major recruits; top 100 or close, to AA's. David had no D1 offers I know of; probably wasn't even top 1000 and would up being a starter on a tourney team and has seen time on an NBA court.

That's remarkable in itself, and I don't see why you feel the need to diminish him, or his accomplishments. One of the greatest overachievers in the game.

Mojo13
10-15-2017, 10:18 PM
Exactly. Nobody tried to say he was an NBA player. That wasn't the point of my post. I just thought it was great that he had a game like this against the Warriors, even in an exhibition. Those are still NBA players in the other uniform, for the most part.

That's considering where he came from. I wasn't trying to compare him to the guys you mentioned, either. All of them were high major recruits; top 100 or close, to AA's. David had no D1 offers I know of; probably wasn't even top 1000 and would up being a starter on a tourney team and has seen time on an NBA court.

That's remarkable in itself, and I don't see why you feel the need to diminish him, or his accomplishments. One of the greatest overachievers in the game.

Per usual, a bunch of mother hens here protecting their chick. Not trying to diminish the guy, just trying to provide unbiased perspective. If my assumptions "suck" I am very open to hearing why, (they very much may suck) but please provide a valid argument. I am capable of admitting when I am wrong and will continue to provide perspective even if it comes across as critical. And yes, I'm trying to be impartial to his feel good walk on story which most people cant separate an honest assessment from - it becomes an emotional biased view. He is a great story in Zag lore, but separate that out and I'm telling you what I see of him as a 26 year old 4th year pro.

He certainly overachieved no doubt about that, but a boat load here don't seem to understand the NBA/G League relationship well, the quality of the G league and why guys play in the G or decide not to. I'm also pretty certain the vast majority of the posters here have never seen the BigHorns and their ultra unique style play.

maynard g krebs
10-16-2017, 11:55 AM
Per usual, a bunch of mother hens here protecting their chick. Not trying to diminish the guy, just trying to provide unbiased perspective. If my assumptions "suck" I am very open to hearing why, (they very much may suck) but please provide a valid argument. I am capable of admitting when I am wrong and will continue to provide perspective even if it comes across as critical. And yes, I'm trying to be impartial to his feel good walk on story which most people cant separate an honest assessment from - it becomes an emotional biased view. He is a great story in Zag lore, but separate that out and I'm telling you what I see of him as a 26 year old 4th year pro.



He certainly overachieved no doubt about that, but a boat load here don't seem to understand the NBA/G League relationship well, the quality of the G league and why guys play in the G or decide not to. I'm also pretty certain the vast majority of the posters here have never seen the BigHorns and their ultra unique style play.

Mother hen my ass. Of course I know nothing about the G league. I know little about the NBA these days (or the last couple decades for that matter) and don't care.

The point is that you extrapolated a bunch of stuff that wasn't intended, and then gave a critique based on your own extrapolations. (The comparison to former 4 and 5 star recruits who played for the Zags, which no one made, for example). That's why I agreed with the post that said your information is good but your assumptions suck.

The fact that David Stockton was able to get on an NBA floor, at any time, under any circumstances, is simply remarkable to me. There was no need to piss in the Cheerios about it. 23 points, 8 assists and 1 turnover against NBA players. I thought that was worth a compliment. Next time I won't bother.

willandi
10-16-2017, 04:23 PM
Mother hen my ass. Of course I know nothing about the G league. I know little about the NBA these days (or the last couple decades for that matter) and don't care.

The point is that you extrapolated a bunch of stuff that wasn't intended, and then gave a critique based on your own extrapolations. (The comparison to former 4 and 5 star recruits who played for the Zags, which no one made, for example). That's why I agreed with the post that said your information is good but your assumptions suck.

The fact that David Stockton was able to get on an NBA floor, at any time, under any circumstances, is simply remarkable to me. There was no need to piss in the Cheerios about it. 23 points, 8 assists and 1 turnover against NBA players. I thought that was worth a compliment. Next time I won't bother.

Please, do bother. Hasn't DT also played, however briefly, in a regular season game?

For those that dissed him as too small, too slow, only on the team because of Dad, it had to be a filling plate of humble pie...if they chose to eat any!

Mojo13
10-17-2017, 09:13 AM
He did indeed receive two call ups two years ago for 3 games (33 minutes total) when the Kings were struggling with PG depth from injuries and trades (as said being in the G puts you in the right place if the right time hits. That is the purpose of the G). He is too small for the NBA, but he is quick enough (and smart enough), but I'll leave his other weaknesses (and strengths) for another day.

willandi
10-17-2017, 10:06 AM
He did indeed receive two call ups two years ago for 3 games (33 minutes total) when the Kings were struggling with PG depth from injuries and trades (as said being in the G puts you in the right place if the right time hits. That is the purpose of the G). He is too small for the NBA, but he is quick enough (and smart enough), but I'll leave his other weaknesses (and strengths) for another day.

True about the too small, but so are other NBA players. If he can compete, he isn't too small.

Funny how now Shem is too big for the NBA. They seem to want 6'5" guards to 6'9" forwards. The pendulum will swing.

Imagine Shem 'Fosterizing" LeBron, all ball. The NBA would start looking at big again. Just my opinion. Disagree if you want.

Mojo13
10-17-2017, 03:05 PM
True about the too small, but so are other NBA players. If he can compete, he isn't too small.

Funny how now Shem is too big for the NBA. They seem to want 6'5" guards to 6'9" forwards. The pendulum will swing.

Imagine Shem 'Fosterizing" LeBron, all ball. The NBA would start looking at big again. Just my opinion. Disagree if you want.


Well in Shem's case it is less about "too big" and more about "too slow". The NBA today is massively reliant on the PnR and attacking weak defenders relentlessly - over and over and over til they are pulled off the floor. That's why these big guards and quick bigs are so in vogue and why David is just too small (Pangos too for that matter) and Shem / Kyle are just too slow to defend the PnR. Otherwise in by-gone years some of those guys have real NBA skill-sets.

The best argument I heard by Raptor fans for keeping Wiltjer was to use him as a catalyst deep off the bench to unabashedly jack up threes when the Raptors fell far enough behind. A "break in case of emergency" player to see if he could get them back in the game with a quick run of threes. They felt he couldn't be used in a close game because he was too easy to isolate in a PnR and score.

Look at a guy like Isiah Thomas who is near MVP level on offense (seriously look at his stats last season they were better than peak-level MVP season Allen Iverson). But IT2 at 5'8 is very likely the worst defender in the league...he is just plain too small to defend in the NBA and that's why the Celtics were so quick to let him go this off-season (not to mention the Kings and the Suns).

As much as we love the ex-Zags the NBA is a whole new level - a big step up in the athletes that are playing. Most of these ex-Zags, no matter how elite they are in many aspects of the game have a fatal flaw or two that makes it really, really hard for them to break through in the NBA. The Euro leagues are a little different. The game is different. Different skill sets are more in demand based on the play style. Nothing wrong with these kids making a near equivalent salary to the NBA league minimum and actually playing as an important piece on a team and improving their game, rather than sitting on a NBA bench as a 12-15 man...

Anyways... I like following guys like Pangos, NWG, Shem and Bell playing and succeeding and improving all aspects of their game in good European leagues, rather than barely making an NBA team and struggling for minutes or getting pigeonholed into a specialist role. They are better players for it....

Jstock12
10-18-2017, 06:20 AM
Anyways... I like following guys like Pangos, NWG, Shem and Bell playing and succeeding and improving all aspects of their game in good European leagues, rather than barely making an NBA team and struggling for minutes or getting pigeonholed into a specialist role. They are better players for it....

https://78.media.tumblr.com/4e532bff0b587821999031436bf27b16/tumblr_ntojm0L5wv1tq4of6o1_400.gif

webspinnre
10-18-2017, 07:33 AM
Not only better players for it, but also better compensated for it.