PDA

View Full Version : Dear WCC coaches



BobZag
08-10-2017, 10:30 AM
Please vote SMC or BYU first.

Much obliged.

zaguarxj
08-10-2017, 10:49 AM
There's a good chance of that happening this year with the Zags losing so much experience and SMC returning so much. But what really matters is the standings at the end of the season and I think the Zags will win the WCC regular season again. I don't see SMC being much better this year than last and GU's young studs will progress as the season goes on.

sittingon50
08-10-2017, 11:11 AM
I don't think BYU has a chance in hell................o

Zagdawg
08-10-2017, 11:32 AM
Hope they do--- Bulletin board material for the guys-- I like a chip on the shoulder more than a target on the back.

gonzagafan62
08-10-2017, 11:43 AM
There's a good chance of that happening this year with the Zags losing so much experience and SMC returning so much. But what really matters is the standings at the end of the season and I think the Zags will win the WCC regular season again. I don't see SMC being much better this year than last and GU's young studs will progress as the season goes on.

Yeah exactly. Although, I do feel it's annoying that people still pick SMC over GU when in the last 19 years SMC has only won conference regular season 3 times. Yup. 3. And you know what? They shared 2 of those 3 with Gonzaga. So they won it outright ONE TIME. Let me repeat that. ONCE!

So go ahead reporters..... pick SMC. It will probably fail, like it has most of the last 20 years lol

TexasZagFan
08-10-2017, 12:01 PM
There's a good chance of that happening this year with the Zags losing so much experience and SMC returning so much. But what really matters is the standings at the end of the season and I think the Zags will win the WCC regular season again. I don't see SMC being much better this year than last and GU's young studs will progress as the season goes on.

I'm with you. Based on what I saw in Spokane (an admittedly small sample), everyone on this year's roster are basketball players with a level of athleticism that outstrips every Zag team over the past 20 years. I may be exaggerating, but I feel very good about this team.

johno
08-10-2017, 12:36 PM
Any scuttlebutt on new players BZ?

hooter73
08-10-2017, 05:18 PM
Meh, SMC was only where they were in national rankings through attrition at the end of last year and the same goes for the preseason. So yeah, go ahead and vote em wherever, but the truth is in the lack of travel time or a real schedule.

john montana
08-10-2017, 06:40 PM
SMC will be highly ranked all year. They won't play anyone so they will have a gaudy record and will climb the rankings while others lose. Plus, they are pretty good anyway. I bet they are preseason number 1 in the wcc.

bartruff1
08-10-2017, 06:49 PM
I would vote for the Gaels....they have 5 of their top 7 back ....I have seen Naar and Calvin, Fitzer, Hunter and Lansdale play...they have a 7' frosh .....they are consistently ranked in the early top 25 ....

Gonzaga lost a lot and has a lot to prove....those tests will come fairly early and the team.... like most of Mark's teams.... will improve throughout the season.

Ezag
08-11-2017, 02:26 PM
Dear WCC teams #4-10, please step up your game. You are really embarrassing year after year.

75Zag
08-11-2017, 03:05 PM
How wonderful would it be if all WCC coaches could express their true opinions without running those opinions past the Sports Information Officer of their school? Few is the only coach in the WCC that I know of who is not controlled by his school, and even then I respect the fact that coach Few realizes that sometimes it is better to be discrete than to be bold.

Go Bulldogs!

jpn17
08-13-2017, 08:34 PM
There's a good chance of that happening this year with the Zags losing so much experience and SMC returning so much. But what really matters is the standings at the end of the season and I think the Zags will win the WCC regular season again. I don't see SMC being much better this year than last and GU's young studs will progress as the season goes on.

I don't know. It's easy to forget, but last year was supposed to be Saint Mary's year with them having damn near everyone back and GU having a ton of question marks and GU was still voted #1 in the preseason coaches poll.

GU has a ton of question marks again this year, but the guys they have coming are are pretty good and I'm sure the coaches know that. Saint Mary's, while again returning quite a bit, loses more than they did going into last year. It will probably be close, but I kind of expect Gonzaga to be picked first again.

BobZag
08-14-2017, 10:14 AM
Any scuttlebutt on new players BZ?

Arnold Ziffel. He gets his way inside and eats up space in the key.

amaronizag
08-14-2017, 10:17 AM
Arnold Ziffel..........I thought they ate him on the season finale???

kitzbuel
08-14-2017, 10:40 AM
Arnold Ziffel..........I thought they ate him on the season finale???

Not to mention he probably doesn't have any eligibility left.

sittingon50
08-14-2017, 11:00 AM
[QUOTE=BobZag;1327852]Arnold Ziffel. QUOTE]

Not sure he's in game shape. Heard he had gotten a bit chunky.

TheGonzagaFactor
08-14-2017, 11:38 AM
Hope they do--- Bulletin board material for the guys-- I like a chip on the shoulder more than a target on the back.

In the Zags' case they get both, a chip from the preseason WCC coaches' vote and the big dog target on their back that SMC doesn't have (and probably never will).