PDA

View Full Version : Pre NBA Draft Travels and Workouts



Zagdawg
06-05-2017, 08:54 AM
Przemek Karnowski‏Verified account @PKarnowski 1h1 hour ago
More
Starting team workouts tomorrow, busy couple of weeks ahead but couldn't be more excited! First stop D.C. ✈️

Zagdawg
06-05-2017, 09:50 AM
Chase Hughes‏Verified account
@chasehughesCSN
The Wizards will host Gonzaga big man Przemek Karnowski in a predraft workout tomorrow.


Darren Wolfson‏Verified account @DWolfsonKSTP 5h5 hours ago
Zach Collins day at Mayo Square. As of now, he's the only visitor on the books for this week. But draft workouts are always fluid. #Twolves


Nigel Williams-Goss‏Verified account @NigelWG5 4h4 hours ago
Today I start my 16 day road trip. First stop Brooklyn... ✈️

Zagdawg
06-06-2017, 11:04 AM
Fit: Karnowski became of the NCAA’s most recognizable big men after Gonzaga’s deep run in the NCAA Tournament. The 7’1” Pole was one of the NCAA’s top passing centers during his career at Gonzaga and can score at the post consistently. Scouts will be interested to see how his rebounding and defense will translate to the modern NBA. We know one thing for sure, Marcin Gortat will be rooting for his fellow countryman.

https://washingtonwizardsblog.monumentalsportsnetwork.com/2017/06/05/wizards-draft-workouts-6-6-17

MDABE80
06-06-2017, 11:22 AM
This close to the draft date, I suspect the Wiz aren't happy with their bigs. Probably not happy with their options too. Obviously , he wouldn't hurt their cap. I do think Karno will go to Europe but you just never know. I've/we've seen a lot worse than him in the NBA over the years. God it'd be great to see him in the NBA. He's got skill but his athleticism just isn't quite there.

webspinnre
06-06-2017, 12:15 PM
I'm not sure if he'll be drafted, but he'll definitely get invites to the summer league and have a shot at making a roster.

kitzbuel
06-06-2017, 01:17 PM
Fit: Karnowski became of the NCAA’s most recognizable big men after Gonzaga’s deep run in the NCAA Tournament. The 7’1” Pole was one of the NCAA’s top passing centers during his career at Gonzaga and can score at the post consistently. Scouts will be interested to see how his rebounding and defense will translate to the modern NBA. We know one thing for sure, Marcin Gortat will be rooting for his fellow countryman.

https://washingtonwizardsblog.monumentalsportsnetwork.com/2017/06/05/wizards-draft-workouts-6-6-17

I have no idea how he would fit in to a John Wall centered team.

Mojo13
06-06-2017, 03:18 PM
Does Shem have other invites than the Wiz? Gortat is a personal friend and mentor to Shem so I'd discount this as an indication the Wiz are truly interested in him. It is more than likely Gortat is pulling some strings here. Regardless, it is better than no workout at all and hopefully he shows them something they like.

I think Shem is a poor fit for the modern NBA and am not optimistic about his chances to catch on with an NBA team. Perhaps he can land a new D-league 2-way contract, but I would bet some beers he won't be drafted (I'll be darn surprised on draft night to see his name called). I think he'd be better off heading back to Poland for his rookie year and working he way up to a decent bigger market European team.

CdAZagFan
06-06-2017, 03:54 PM
I think Shem is a poor fit for the modern NBA and am not optimistic about his chances to catch on with an NBA team. Perhaps he can land a new D-league 2-way contract, but I would bet some beers he won't be drafted (I'll be darn surprised on draft night to see his name called). I think he'd be better off heading back to Poland for his rookie year and working he way up to a decent bigger market European team.

If Aron Baynes from WSU can make it to the NBA (after a stint overseas), so can Shem.

kitzbuel
06-06-2017, 05:54 PM
Does Shem have other invites than the Wiz? Gortat is a personal friend and mentor to Shem so I'd discount this as an indication the Wiz are truly interested in him. It is more than likely Gortat is pulling some strings here. Regardless, it is better than no workout at all and hopefully he shows them something they like.

I think Shem is a poor fit for the modern NBA and am not optimistic about his chances to catch on with an NBA team. Perhaps he can land a new D-league 2-way contract, but I would bet some beers he won't be drafted (I'll be darn surprised on draft night to see his name called). I think he'd be better off heading back to Poland for his rookie year and working he way up to a decent bigger market European team.
He said he was sick and missed a couple.

https://twitter.com/WashWizards/status/872174762314747904

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

Zagdawg
06-07-2017, 07:57 AM
Charlotte Hornets‏Verified account
@hornets
Przemek Karnowski (Gonzaga) on today's #HornetsSummer draft workout. #BuzzCity

Zagdawg
06-07-2017, 09:59 AM
Jordan Mathews working out with the Raptors

Toronto Raptors‏Verified account
@Raptors
Back at it today with six more pre-draft workouts at BioSteel Centre.

stretch
06-07-2017, 11:54 AM
Found this post Charlotte workout interview of Jack Gibson and PK.

http://www.charlotteobserver.com/sports/nba/charlotte-hornets/article154840169.html

Zagdawg
06-08-2017, 09:51 AM
Not sure who the guy is that he is shooting with-- but I am sure he wishes Zach would miss one ;)

https://twitter.com/STACKMedia/status/872844224303169538

https://twitter.com/STACKMedia/status/872833958278508545

https://twitter.com/STACKMedia/status/872827601886339074

Zagdawg
06-08-2017, 03:25 PM
Charlotte Hornets‏Verified account @hornets 3h3 hours ago
�� A look at Przemek Karnowski (Gonzaga) in his #HornetsSummer draft workout. #BuzzCity

https://twitter.com/hornets/status/872906097295675392

Zagdawg
06-08-2017, 03:27 PM
Phoenix Suns‏Verified account @Suns Jun 7
More
[ Prospect Profile 📝 : Zach Collins ]

"Zach Collins has the potential to be a stretch-five in the NBA if he actually gets the opportunity. He shot 47.6% from deep in college, although it was only on 21 attempts. In his one year at Gonzaga, Collins was looked at more as a post player where he was able to back defenders down to get to the rim. Defensively he has a high motor and can control the paint as he averaged 1.8 blocks per game. He had one of his most impressive games in the national semifinal against South Carolina where he put up 14 points, 13 rebounds and had six blocks to help lead Gonzaga to the National Championship game."


http://www.nba.com/suns/draft/zach-collins-draft-profile-and-stats

DixieZag
06-08-2017, 03:56 PM
It would be nice to have an ex-GU player blow up in Charlotte. I think they contributed to Ammo not able to get back. Already had a reputation as not living up to promise, might have colored chances to get back.

Anyway, I cheer for all ex-GU players to do well.

MontanaCoyote
06-08-2017, 08:52 PM
Charlotte Hornets‏Verified account @hornets 3h3 hours ago
�� A look at Przemek Karnowski (Gonzaga) in his #HornetsSummer draft workout. #BuzzCity

https://twitter.com/hornets/status/872906097295675392

Karno popping jumpers, even from 3 land. Damn, I hope he catches on with a NBA team. I've read all the reasons why he won't, but I want to dream! Give The Mountain a shot!

kitzbuel
06-09-2017, 03:57 AM
Charlotte Hornets‏Verified account @hornets 3h3 hours ago
👀 A look at Przemek Karnowski (Gonzaga) in his #HornetsSummer draft workout. #BuzzCity

https://twitter.com/hornets/status/872906097295675392
That defense he showed at the end is something that teams are going to look at twice.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

Zagdawg
06-09-2017, 08:06 AM
Charlotte Hornets‏Verified account
@hornets
�� Take a look at who’s coming in for tomorrow’s #HornetsSummer draft workouts. #BuzzCity

"Nigel Williams-Goss | Guard | 6-3 | 195 | Gonzaga

Nigel Williams-Goss was the only player in the nation last season to total at least 600 points, 200 rebounds, 150 assists and 50 steals. Williams-Goss is one of just 11 different NCAA players overall to hit these thresholds in a single season since the start of the 1992-93 NCAA campaign, a list that includes Penny Hardaway, Evan Turner, Kemba Walker and Ben Simmons. Recently named the 2017 West Coast Conference Player of the Year and a Consensus Second-Team All-American, Williams-Goss led Gonzaga in scoring, assists and steals last year and was also instrumental in helping the program make its first-ever National Championship Game appearance as well."

http://www.nba.com/hornets/hornets-host-2nd-draft-workout-2017

MontanaCoyote
06-09-2017, 08:42 AM
That defense he showed at the end is something that teams are going to look at twice.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

I sure hope so! He can sure get in the way, can't he? They say "slow feet." Maybe, but just how fast do those feet have to be?

TexasZagFan
06-09-2017, 09:38 AM
I sure hope so! He can sure get in the way, can't he? They say "slow feet." Maybe, but just how fast do those feet have to be?

Those feet were fast enough to beat more than one team on a fast break.

BigZagFan
06-09-2017, 10:11 AM
Those feet were fast enough to beat more than one team on a fast break.

He may have slow feet, but he has seven of them,,,,

Zagdawg
06-09-2017, 10:34 AM
Lol.....Well played!

dezag
06-09-2017, 11:14 AM
Does Shem have other invites than the Wiz? Gortat is a personal friend and mentor to Shem so I'd discount this as an indication the Wiz are truly interested in him. It is more than likely Gortat is pulling some strings here. Regardless, it is better than no workout at all and hopefully he shows them something they like.

I think Shem is a poor fit for the modern NBA and am not optimistic about his chances to catch on with an NBA team. Perhaps he can land a new D-league 2-way contract, but I would bet some beers he won't be drafted (I'll be darn surprised on draft night to see his name called). I think he'd be better off heading back to Poland for his rookie year and working he way up to a decent bigger market European team. Would those be draft beers?

Outraged
06-09-2017, 06:39 PM
Does Shem have other invites than the Wiz? Gortat is a personal friend and mentor to Shem so I'd discount this as an indication the Wiz are truly interested in him. It is more than likely Gortat is pulling some strings here. Regardless, it is better than no workout at all and hopefully he shows them something they like.

I think Shem is a poor fit for the modern NBA and am not optimistic about his chances to catch on with an NBA team. Perhaps he can land a new D-league 2-way contract, but I would bet some beers he won't be drafted (I'll be darn surprised on draft night to see his name called). I think he'd be better off heading back to Poland for his rookie year and working he way up to a decent bigger market European team.

Okay who do you want sitting at the end of your bench? Another three point shooter or a mountain? I think he can disrupt things enough and still hit the the three better than any other bench ender. I think he is a steal in the second round and can redistribute to wing with ease. He has value more value than the value than current value of the flavor of the day. Most winningest college player ever. Who wouldn't want this lucky charm?

ZagNative
06-09-2017, 06:41 PM
Jordan Mathews to work out for the Jazz tomorrow: https://twitter.com/utahjazz/status/873281605980143617
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DB6Ep-GUMAAlWno.jpg

MontanaCoyote
06-10-2017, 07:15 AM
Okay who do you want sitting at the end of your bench? Another three point shooter or a mountain? I think he can disrupt things enough and still hit the the three better than any other bench ender. I think he is a steal in the second round and can redistribute to wing with ease. He has value more value than the value than current value of the flavor of the day. Most winningest college player ever. Who wouldn't want this lucky charm?

The first thing I read today MADE MY DAY! Man, do I agree and hope you are right........OR WHAT!

ZagNative
06-10-2017, 09:27 AM
First 13 invites to the NBA draft are out, per Draft Express (http://www.draftexpress.com/article/nba-draft-green-room-invites-begin-to-trickle-out-5988/http://)

The invited players, in alphabetical order:
Lonzo Ball
Zach Collins
De'Aaron Fox
Markelle Fultz
Jonathan
Josh Jackson
Lauri Markkanen
Malik Monk
Dennis Smith
Jayson Tatum

The group of green room prospects is expected to reach up to 20 when ten more invites go out in the next few days, a challenging process for the NBA League office to undertake reflecting the uncertainty revolving around the draft. The likes of Frank Ntilikina, Donovan Mitchell, Luke Kennard, John Collins, Justin Jackson, OG Anunoby are expected to make up that group. - Source: http://www.draftexpress.com/article/nba-draft-green-room-invites-begin-to-trickle-out-5988/ ©DraftExpress

Zagdawg
06-10-2017, 02:23 PM
Sacramento Kings‏Verified account
@SacramentoKings
Learn more about @zcollins_33 before his pre-Draft workout tomorrow in Sactown ��

Zagdawg
06-10-2017, 06:12 PM
http://www.krem.com/sports/gonzaga-bulldogs/zags-lean-on-each-other-throughout-nba-pre-draft-process/447713872

ZagNative
06-10-2017, 06:16 PM
http://www.krem.com/sports/gonzaga-bulldogs/zags-lean-on-each-other-throughout-nba-pre-draft-process/447713872Love Nigel. Thanks for posting that.

Sure he finds a good NBA home!

Zagdawg
06-11-2017, 06:44 AM
http://www.tmz.com/2017/06/11/przemek-karnowski-nba-gonzaga/

MontanaCoyote
06-11-2017, 07:09 AM
http://www.tmz.com/2017/06/11/przemek-karnowski-nba-gonzaga/

I was on a flight once where the cabin crew was instructed to re-seat passengers so the plane could be balanced and actually fly. 15 or so had to move. With Karno, just takes one. Hey, bump him to first class anyway. He deserves it!

Zags_Fanatic
06-11-2017, 09:42 AM
http://www.tmz.com/2017/06/11/przemek-karnowski-nba-gonzaga/

Scared me to see a link to TMZ, glad to see it's for a fun little interaction.

Zagdawg
06-11-2017, 12:46 PM
https://twitter.com/SacramentoKings/status/873996310583558148

ZagNative
06-11-2017, 12:56 PM
https://twitter.com/SacramentoKings/status/873996310583558148

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jYk-kOCcxME

ZagNative
06-11-2017, 01:25 PM
More on Nigel's workout for the Hornets:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fhqopoVoRdk

ZagNative
06-12-2017, 09:33 AM
Darnay Tripp podcast with Jordan Mathews: https://soundcloud.com/darnay-tripp/episode-5-jordan-mathews

Zags_Fanatic
06-12-2017, 11:38 AM
Darnay Tripp podcast with Jordan Mathews: https://soundcloud.com/darnay-tripp/episode-5-jordan-mathews

So many great insights in this interview. Thanks for sharing. Honestly this one is probably worthy of a dedicated thread.

Mojo13
06-12-2017, 11:59 AM
Here is Seth Davis's always interesting annual interview with anonymous scouts with direct quotes on the draft prospects. Included some interesting ones below.
https://sethsdrafthouse.com/finch-returns-to-dish-on-nba-prospects-fa57b7c494ef

Zach Collins, 6’11” freshman center, Gonzaga
“It seems everyone is really high on him right now. He’s a guy with size and athleticism and he showed some rim protection. He doesn’t have ideal frame and length you’d like for a dominating big man. He’s going to have to be high level skilled. He’s probably helped by the fact that he didn’t play a ton and finished with such a flourish. Got a little nasty streak to him. He’s probably back of the lottery. He’ll be able to shoot corner threes.”

Nigel Williams-Goss, 6’3” junior point guard, Gonzaga
“He’s just a nice college player. He’s gonna have serious challenges in our league athletically. He’s a smart point guard and he can pass, but he can’t get by anybody. He can’t break you down and create havoc. He’s got big balls, though. He’s a winner. He’s in that 50 to 60 range, so he probably plays in the D League and maybe comes up and down. I want to like him better than I do.”


Nothing on Shem which should give you guys some guidance and here are blurbs on some other players we may be more familiar with:


Tony Bradley, 6’10” freshman center, North Carolina
“Should have gone back to North Carolina. He’s very young, emotionally and as a player. A good kid but I don’t think he understands what it’s all about right now. I love his length. I think he’s a little more skilled offensively than you realize. Not quite athletic enough to be a four, little too small to be a five. He doesn’t have any bounce or explosion around the rim. He could struggle in pick-and-roll coverage because he’s a little heavy-footed. If you’re taking him end of the first round, and he becomes your backup center, then he’s a good pick.”

P.J. Dozier, 6’6” sophomore guard, South Carolina
“I want to like him but he’s erratic. You love his size, solid athlete, been gaining strength. Being at South Carolina has helped him improve as a defensive player. He really struggles to finish at the basket. He’s a decent athlete so that’s probably a toughness issue more than anything else. He seems to be more worried about contact than finishing the shot. I worry about him physically because the NBA is much more physical than the college game. His shot is broken. I don’t think he can make free throws.”

Justin Jackson, 6’8” junior forward, North Carolina
“Love his ability to come off screens and knock down midrange shots. Great kid. The main concern is what kind of defender he’s going to be and whether he can get open looks because of his slow foot speed. Is he going to be a consistent worker? He’s got a great floater game and I thought he tried hard on defense. If that carries over, he’ll be a good piece. I wonder if he’s too nice. He’s not the toughest kid.”

Kennedy Meeks, 6’10” senior forward, North Carolina
“I don’t see it. I don’t think he’s athletic enough. He certainly rebounds the ball well, but I don’t think he played with enough energy. Nice college career. Pick and roll defense is a question. He had some trouble finishing around length and athleticism.”

Eric Mika, 6’10” sophomore forward, BYU
“I don’t think he’s a pro. He’s not good enough at any one thing. He’s just okay. He’s 23 years old. Hard-playing dude, he’s a grinder, I like that about him. I didn’t think he was great at the combine. He’s a little undersized to be a five but he doesn’t shoot it past 15 feet. Interior defense is a bit of a question. Probably a bubble second rounder.”

Sindarius Thornwell, 6’5” senior guard, South Carolina
“He’s a tough competitor. Can knock down the three point shot. I’m just not sure he has the size and athleticism to be an NBA player. I don’t know if he has the lateral quickness and elusiveness off the dribble to score in the NBA. He’s a pit bull. He was one of the best interviews we did. I could talk to that dude and have beers with him all night. He’s not an above the rim guy. I watched him at a workout, he didn’t make any shots.”

jazzdelmar
06-12-2017, 12:34 PM
From major D1 to NBA is a high bar indeed. None of these should surprise. Even Ball is showing flaws.

Zagdawg
06-12-2017, 12:36 PM
Some "flaws" are blood related.

ZagNative
06-12-2017, 02:29 PM
From Twitter:

Darnay Tripp‏Verified account @DarnayTripp

Zach Collins will work out for the Suns Tuesday. Phoenix has the No. 4 pick in next week's draft. ��

Zagdawg
06-12-2017, 02:35 PM
http://www.brightsideofthesun.com/2017/6/2/15730476/bright-side-prospect-preview-zach-collins-nba-draft-phoenix-suns

Zagdawg
06-13-2017, 07:56 AM
Nigel Williams-Goss‏Verified account @NigelWG5 3m3 minutes ago
More
Busy, busy week. 6 cities in 8 days! ✈️

ZagNative
06-14-2017, 09:25 AM
Shem working out for the Hawks today: http://www.nba.com/hawks/news/draft-prospects-working-out-hawks-june-14?cid=hawks_17draft_s_061417_t_draftworkouts0614#

ZagNative
06-14-2017, 12:55 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K4ODc2oN5VY

ZagNative
06-14-2017, 01:18 PM
Nigel with the Nuggets on Thursday:

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/Screenshot%2022.png_zpsg2pyzsgw.jpg

gonstu
06-14-2017, 03:51 PM
Nigel with the Nuggets on Thursday:

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/Screenshot%2022.png_zpsg2pyzsgw.jpg

Oh man, I'm at a conference today literally across street from where nuggets play! Do you think NWG wants to go to dinner with me?!?

Zagdawg
06-14-2017, 05:13 PM
Nigel Williams-Goss‏Verified account @NigelWG5 34m34 minutes ago
Indy was great. Next stop Denver (home of the GOAT @JoshPerk13)

Josh Perkins‏ @JoshPerk13 32m32 minutes ago
Good luck g. Say waddup to pops for me!!

ZagNative
06-15-2017, 10:59 AM
Highlight video of Nigel putting up shots in Denver: https://twitter.com/chrisadempsey/status/875389842351427586

ZagNative
06-15-2017, 12:40 PM
http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/Screenshot%2023.png_zpstjzrjxu2.jpg

Zagdawg
06-15-2017, 12:46 PM
Zag Nation Retweeted
Boston Celtics‏Verified account @celtics 26m26 minutes ago
"He could be the very first big man taken," says @franfraschilla. Next up in our @PutnamToday Draft Profile Series is Zach Collins.

https://twitter.com/celtics/status/875447804054908928

ZagNative
06-15-2017, 03:48 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KOnc0q5WrWM

ZagNative
06-15-2017, 04:45 PM
Wow! Nigel is super, super busy!

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/Screenshot%2025.png_zpsm1o0ymra.jpg

ZagNative
06-15-2017, 06:12 PM
http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/Screenshot%2027.png_zps4mfigovm.jpg

CDC84
06-15-2017, 08:31 PM
From major D1 to NBA is a high bar indeed. None of these should surprise. Even Ball is showing flaws.

It's a high bar, but I think the NBA sets their "own" bar by the way their teams "want to" play basketball. A style that is appealing to fans and has a 24 second shot clock and stuff like that. I don't feel that players are always selected because they are truly better basketball players or truly have more upside. They just fit the league's model better. In other words, the best basketball players in the world aren't always NBA players. I am convinced of that. They are the best for what the NBA WANTS to showcase as its product. I'm not talking about the superstars....they would thrive in any set up. But the possible backups like Nigel. There will be players selected in this draft who are simply not as good as him. I don't care what the scouts say.

BTW - since when is a 6-5 shooting guard short for the NBA? Good grief.

Zagdawg
06-16-2017, 06:36 AM
Gonzaga Basketball Retweeted
Denver Nuggets‏Verified account @nuggets 38m38 minutes ago
Listed at 7'1" and 300 pounds, Przemek Karnowski was a huge presence during Gonzaga's run to the National Title Game.

Zagdawg
06-16-2017, 06:49 AM
A Big Man with Huge Upside

https://sethsdrafthouse.com/a-big-man-with-huge-upside-d5a4127d592c

jazzdelmar
06-16-2017, 06:56 AM
A Big Man with Huge Upside

https://sethsdrafthouse.com/a-big-man-with-huge-upside-d5a4127d592c

Thank you, Seth......

MontanaCoyote
06-16-2017, 07:26 AM
It's a high bar, but I think the NBA sets their "own" bar by the way their teams "want to" play basketball. A style that is appealing to fans and has a 24 second shot clock and stuff like that. I don't feel that players are always selected because they are truly better basketball players or truly have more upside. They just fit the league's model better. In other words, the best basketball players in the world aren't always NBA players. I am convinced of that. They are the best for what the NBA WANTS to showcase as its product. I'm not talking about the superstars....they would thrive in any set up. But the possible backups like Nigel. There will be players selected in this draft who are simply not as good as him. I don't care what the scouts say.

BTW - since when is a 6-5 shooting guard short for the NBA? Good grief.

Old Elgin Baylor fan here. Elgin was a 6' 5" forward. Video has him dunking over both Chamberlin and Russell. Sure, he was an exceptional player and, according to Oscar Robertson, the greatest all around, do it all player in NBA history. But I mean,
if he walked on today as a 6' 5" forward would the keep him there? Probably because he was so very good, but?

sittingon50
06-16-2017, 08:29 AM
Thank you, Seth......

Wow. Pretty good pub!

Zagdawg
06-16-2017, 08:51 AM
Denver Nuggets‏Verified account
@nuggets
National Championship Game rematch.

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/Rematch.png (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/Rematch.png.html)

sittingon50
06-16-2017, 10:59 AM
Denver Nuggets‏Verified account
@nuggets
National Championship Game rematch.

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/Rematch.png (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/Rematch.png.html)

Hopefully some went down for Shem this time.

ZagNative
06-16-2017, 11:12 AM
Draft Express Scouting Report for Nigel (http://www.draftexpress.com/article/nigel-williams-goss-nba-draft-scouting-report-6025/?utm_content=buffer0a7c9&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)

http://content.draftexpress.com/gallery/NigelWilliams-Goss/1497615787.jpeg

ZagNative
06-16-2017, 11:29 AM
Nice Pacers take on Nigel, "Pacers Draft Prep: Could Nigel Williams-Goss be a second-round option?" (http://8points9seconds.com/2017/06/16/pacers-draft-prep-nigel-williams-goss/)

Strengths

Spending four seasons in college, including one under Mark Few only elevates Williams-Goss’ game. He played for a great coach and took his team to the NCAA championship game. Experience in big games goes a long way.

maynard g krebs
06-16-2017, 11:31 AM
"If it wasn't for an abundance of ghost fouls that he (Collins) was charged with against the Tar Heels, the Zags would be the ones cutting down the nets".

I like Davis a lot more than I did for saying that. Went about as close to saying "rigged game" as a media figure can.

jazzdelmar
06-16-2017, 12:22 PM
Hopefully some went down for Shem this time.

Just one would have done the trick. Shem looks a tad bigger.

jazzdelmar
06-16-2017, 12:22 PM
"If it wasn't for an abundance of ghost fouls that he (Collins) was charged with against the Tar Heels, the Zags would be the ones cutting down the nets".

I like Davis a lot more than I did for saying that. Went about as close to saying "rigged game" as a media figure can.


Um, he's a Dookie.

ZagNative
06-16-2017, 12:57 PM
Jeff Goodman's mock draft of first rounders has Collins at #10 to the Kings. http://insider.espn.com/nba/insider/story/_/id/19574077/2017-grade-nba-mock-draft-best-first-round-picks-every-team

asoc
06-16-2017, 01:06 PM
Um, he's a Dookie.

You guys read who wrote the article? It was Jordan Cornette who played at Notre Dame

MDABE80
06-16-2017, 01:10 PM
As much as we'd wish Collins would stay with us, truth be known? He may be the best big GU has sent to the NBA. Maybe the best big ever. It's gratifying that someone sees it. Still though , it'll take a few years for him to develop as he's not a finished product. Love to see him on the All Rookie team. He's a made for TV kid. Lakers would do well to grab him quickly.

As for Nigel, I do think he'll stick somewhere in the NBA. Just from his videos, he's developed quite a bit in his 2.5 months away from us. His foot speed is impressive. Ankle looks good. He really understands the game. He does need to focus on his 3 pt shooting as his accuracy decreased in the last 10-15 games of the season.

We might get 2 in. Karno is looking better and better too. If he sticks, he'll like be on the "Nicest Rookie" team!

ZagNative
06-16-2017, 01:24 PM
Denver Nuggets workout video for Shem: http://www.nba.com/nuggets/video/workout-interview/przemek-karnowski

maynard g krebs
06-16-2017, 02:02 PM
Um, he's a Dookie.

Good point. Still like that he said that.

MontanaCoyote
06-16-2017, 07:18 PM
[QUOTE=MDABE80;1322635]As much as we'd wish Collins would stay with us, truth be known? He may be the best big GU has sent to the NBA. Maybe the best big ever. It's gratifying that someone sees it. Still though , it'll take a few years for him to develop as he's not a finished product. Love to see him on the All Rookie team. He's a made for TV kid. Lakers would do well to grab him quickly.

As for Nigel, I do think he'll stick somewhere in the NBA. Just from his videos, he's developed quite a bit in his 2.5 months away from us. His foot speed is impressive. Ankle looks good. He really understands the game. He does need to focus on his 3 pt shooting as his accuracy decreased in the last 10-15 games of the season.

We might get 2 in. Karno is looking better and better too. If he sticks, he'll like be on the "Nicest Rookie" team![/QUOTE

Pulling for Karno just as hard as I can. I know he's not pro typical NBA center, but I've just got to believe he can be a "giant
cog" in the right machine.

Markburn1
06-16-2017, 08:19 PM
Good point. Still like that he said that.

Seth Davis didn't write the article.

ZagNative
06-17-2017, 12:45 PM
Nigel post-workout video for the Jazz (http://www.nba.com/jazz/video/teams/jazz/2017/06/17/1497725599464-aa517201-1483096)

jazzdelmar
06-17-2017, 01:09 PM
Seth Davis didn't write the article.

Ok ok ok. The point was well taken, that's the point.

Zagdawg
06-17-2017, 04:06 PM
Nigel Williams-Goss‏Verified account @NigelWG5 46m46 minutes ago
Next stop San Antonio! ✈️

kitzbuel
06-18-2017, 05:06 AM
Some NWG highlights.
http://www.espn.com/video/clip/_/id/19663995

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

ZagNative
06-18-2017, 12:21 PM
From Twitter:

Cowbell Kingdom‏ @Cowbell_Kingdom 2h2 hours ago

Matt Jones (F – 6’5” 204 lbs) Duke
Przemek Karnowski (C – 7’1” 294 lbs.) Gonzaga will work out for the Kings tomorrow morning #2017NBADraft

75Zag
06-19-2017, 07:19 AM
Lots of "talking heads" predicting that as many as 5 of the first 10 picks in the NBA draft will be guards. What an amazing change in the NBA game over the past 10 years or so. This appears to be a very good time to be Markelle Fultz (Washington), Lonzo Ball (U.C.L.A.), De’Aaron Fox (Kentucky), Dennis Smith (North Carolina State) and Frank Ntilikina (France).

It would be nice of NWG could fit in there somewhere. Good luck to him and the rest of the former Zags.

Go Bulldogs!

hooter73
06-19-2017, 08:08 AM
Lots of "talking heads" predicting that as many as 5 of the first 10 picks in the NBA draft will be guards. What an amazing change in the NBA game over the past 10 years or so. This appears to be a very good time to be Markelle Fultz (Washington), Lonzo Ball (U.C.L.A.), De’Aaron Fox (Kentucky), Dennis Smith (North Carolina State) and Frank Ntilikina (France).

It would be nice of NWG could fit in there somewhere. Good luck to him and the rest of the former Zags.

Go Bulldogs!

I disagree, its never a good time to be Lonzo Ball ;)

Mr Vulture
06-19-2017, 12:18 PM
I'm calling it now:

Zach Collins to the Kings, NWG to the Spurs, Karno gets a UDFA deal, and Mathews gets a summer league invite. Unfortunately Rem doesn't get a deal... :roll:

ZagNative
06-19-2017, 03:39 PM
Zach Collins video after Lakers workout. (http://www.nba.com/lakers/video/teams/lakers/2017/06/19/1497896801338-170619_Collins--Zach-1485318)

Wow. Zach sounding so mature and poised...

ZagNative
06-19-2017, 09:17 PM
From Jim Meehan: Ex-Zag Jordan Mathews hoping to find alternative path to NBA (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/jun/19/ex-zag-jordan-mathews-hoping-to-find-alternative-p/)

https://pbs.twimg.com/card_img/877020871113793538/BphxAqu2?format=jpg&name=600x314

ZagNative
06-19-2017, 09:22 PM
From Jim Meehan, "Ex-Zag Przemek Karnowski trying to beat the odds again in NBA pursuit" (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/jun/19/ex-zag-przemek-karnowski-trying-to-beat-the-odds-a/)

http://media.spokesman.com/photos/2017/06/19/UNC_GONZAGA_13.JPG_t2500.jpg?6913dd5f0afa17a0b7a91 a88b4e808d586264d13

ZagNative
06-19-2017, 09:44 PM
Nigel now at #60 in Draft Express Mock draft, which surprises me as I think he's been at about #57. http://www.draftexpress.com/nba-mock-draft/2017/

I would have thought all his workouts would have moved him up a bit...

Zagdawg
06-20-2017, 09:20 AM
http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/jun/19/ex-zag-jordan-mathews-hoping-to-find-alternative-p/

Zagdawg
06-20-2017, 11:59 AM
https://twitter.com/NBADraft/status/877244487881437187

ZagNative
06-20-2017, 12:08 PM
https://twitter.com/NBADraft/status/877244487881437187
Very cool. We're so lucky to have such an articulate spokesman!

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/Screenshot%2030.png_zps4xxphm3h.jpg

Zags11
06-20-2017, 12:41 PM
Former well known zag said we will miss karno and nwg more then Collins.

MDABE80
06-20-2017, 02:47 PM
Former well known zag said we will miss karno and nwg more then Collins.

Likely true.

jazzdelmar
06-20-2017, 03:06 PM
Former well known zag said we will miss karno and nwg more then Collins.

16 minutes, what's there to miss?

TexasZagFan
06-20-2017, 03:17 PM
Former well known zag said we will miss karno and nwg more then Collins.

Lets not go there...Zach gave us his all, and played a major role in getting us to the title game.

Dammit, I'be been found...lol

zag67
06-20-2017, 03:28 PM
I feel that I will miss Karno, Collins, and NWG all during the coming season. All of them (including Jordan and all our players) gave their all to bring us a fantastic season. If we are getting beat on the boards and in the middle, I will miss Karno. If we need blocks and rebounds, I will miss Collins. If we need a drive to control the middle, then I will miss NWG. If we all of them at different times.

ZagNative
06-20-2017, 05:10 PM
Jim Meehan: "Williams-Goss determined to make NBA dream become reality"

http://media.spokesman.com/photos/2017/06/20/UNC_GONZAGA_31.JPG_t2500.jpg?6913dd5f0afa17a0b7a91 a88b4e808d586264d13

Ekrub
06-20-2017, 06:17 PM
16 minutes, what's there to miss?

An extremely efficient 16 minutes.

Zagdawg
06-21-2017, 05:21 AM
http://www.krem.com/sports/gonzaga-bulldogs/karnowski-hopes-for-nba-call-after-busy-two-weeks/450840075

gueastcoast
06-21-2017, 07:04 AM
A little OT, but was at dinner last night in midtown Manhattan (Quality Italian -- great place if anyone here makes it out to NYC!) and Zach was sitting at the next table; it looked like he was with his agent, his dad and maybe a GM (could be wrong). I introduced myself and got a smile when I said "I think I may know why you're in town" :)

jazzdelmar
06-21-2017, 08:25 AM
A little OT, but was at dinner last night in midtown Manhattan (Quality Italian -- great place if anyone here makes it out to NYC!) and Zach was sitting at the next table; it looked like he was with his agent, his dad and maybe a GM (could be wrong). I introduced myself and got a smile when I said "I think I may know why you're in town" :)

Which joint? Angelo's on Mulberry St? Eataly?

gueastcoast
06-21-2017, 09:54 AM
That's the name, Quality Italian (it's also "quality Italian", but that's actually the name!). Same guys as Quality Meats around the corner. 57th/6th Ave.

basketballzag
06-21-2017, 11:56 AM
That's the name, Quality Italian (it's also "quality Italian", but that's actually the name!). Same guys as Quality Meats around the corner. 57th/6th Ave.

So far Zach has only worked out individually with 5 teams: the #6 Magic, #7 T-Wolves, #5 Kings, #9 Mavs, and #4 Suns picks in the draft. Lakers worked him out in a group. The fact he has only worked out for the #4, #5, #6, #7, & #9 teams tells me he has a silent commitment from a team between 4 & 7 otherwise he would have been working out with teams with the #10 and lower picks. In other words he is going to get picked before Markkanen and Isaac. Knicks pick #8 but he didn't work out for them.

MDABE80
06-21-2017, 12:24 PM
I feel that I will miss Karno, Collins, and NWG all during the coming season. All of them (including Jordan and all our players) gave their all to bring us a fantastic season. If we are getting beat on the boards and in the middle, I will miss Karno. If we need blocks and rebounds, I will miss Collins. If we need a drive to control the middle, then I will miss NWG. If we all of them at different times.

If Collins had stayed, I truly believe we'd be back in the FF and HE WOULD have a very good chance to be POY and Wooden winner. We will miss this kid. His 16 mpg were valuable. Think if he had done 30 mpg. Same with Nigel. I've heard more than one very good writers say the POY was his to lose had he stayed. BUT we did a FF and there's nothing better in college BBall. I would have like to repeat. I still think we did ourselves in but had huge help from the refs. Always remember those kids broke their asses for us.

raise the zag
06-21-2017, 12:58 PM
So far Zach has only worked out individually with 5 teams: the #6 Magic, #7 T-Wolves, #5 Kings, #9 Mavs, and #4 Suns picks in the draft. Lakers worked him out in a group. The fact he has only worked out for the #4, #5, #6, #7, & #9 teams tells me he has a silent commitment from a team between 4 & 7 otherwise he would have been working out with teams with the #10 and lower picks. In other words he is going to get picked before Markkanen and Isaac. Knicks pick #8 but he didn't work out for them.

there is a scout who believes Collins has the potential to be considered the best prospect out of this record-deep draft in 5 years time.

could be hyperbole, as I feel Fultz is, indeed, a future superstar talent (boston made a mistake, although I like Jackson/Tatum as well), but was interesting to hear this about Collins...

behind the scenes, he has also put on one of the best shooting performances -- kinda makes me wish he would have shot more 3's at GU. He was nearly 50%.

jazzdelmar
06-21-2017, 02:28 PM
They both should have stayed. There, I said it. Now the best they can hope for is fighting for Pt on an NBA backwater squad and lots of plane rides. The run next year would have been majestic.

ZagNut08
06-21-2017, 03:07 PM
Kings also have the #10 pick

Coach Crazy
06-21-2017, 06:23 PM
So far Zach has only worked out individually with 5 teams: the #6 Magic, #7 T-Wolves, #5 Kings, #9 Mavs, and #4 Suns picks in the draft. Lakers worked him out in a group. The fact he has only worked out for the #4, #5, #6, #7, & #9 teams tells me he has a silent commitment from a team between 4 & 7 otherwise he would have been working out with teams with the #10 and lower picks. In other words he is going to get picked before Markkanen and Isaac. Knicks pick #8 but he didn't work out for them.

I want to see him get picked 2nd just to see the twitter sphere explode and LaVar Ball lose
his mind.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

basketballzag
06-21-2017, 06:56 PM
I want to see him get picked 2nd just to see the twitter sphere explode and LaVar Ball lose
his mind.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm hearing the Lakers will not select Ball #2.

kitzbuel
06-21-2017, 07:08 PM
They both should have stayed. There, I said it. Now the best they can hope for is fighting for Pt on an NBA backwater squad and lots of plane rides. The run next year would have been majestic.
That and a paycheck with a lot of zeros in it.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

Coach Crazy
06-21-2017, 08:40 PM
I'm hearing the Lakers will not select Ball #2.

Good. They need a lot of help. They've been drafting like the Clips of old. Lonzo is not the answer. And I would not want LaVar around.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Coach Crazy
06-21-2017, 08:46 PM
I'm hearing the Lakers will not select Ball #2.

Do you think they will trade down, or go with Tatum/Jackson? I'm not a fan of Tatum, and while I think Jackson has the tools to be a solid 1a/#2 at some point, there is just as much an opportunity to gain some nice talent with multiple picks in the lottery...like SacTo.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Zagdawg
06-22-2017, 06:29 AM
Rem Bakamus‏Verified account @RemFifteen 30s30 seconds ago
Today's the day I've been waiting for my whole life. Looking forward to hearing my name get called #2017NBADraft

Zagdawg
06-22-2017, 07:22 AM
http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/jun/22/former-zag-zach-collins-could-hit-the-lottery-in-n/

Zagdawg
06-22-2017, 07:39 AM
Nigel Williams-Goss‏Verified account @NigelWG5 4m4 minutes ago
No matter what happens today this is only one day and another step in my journey. Good or bad my marathon is far from over. �� #GodSpeed

johno
06-22-2017, 08:27 AM
If Collins had stayed, I truly believe we'd be back in the FF and HE WOULD have a very good chance to be POY and Wooden winner. We will miss this kid. His 16 mpg were valuable. Think if he had done 30 mpg. Same with Nigel. I've heard more than one very good writers say the POY was his to lose had he stayed.

Yes, as most of us older folks know what you remember most is the glory and not the paycheck. I wish the young man only the best.

basketballzag
06-22-2017, 01:01 PM
Do you think they will trade down, or go with Tatum/Jackson? I'm not a fan of Tatum, and while I think Jackson has the tools to be a solid 1a/#2 at some point, there is just as much an opportunity to gain some nice talent with multiple picks in the lottery...like SacTo.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Wouldn't surprise me if they traded down to pick up Rem. Would be a logical choice for the Lakers. Every Lottery Pick needs their wingman.

Kong-Kool-Aid
06-22-2017, 04:31 PM
So far Zach has only worked out individually with 5 teams: the #6 Magic, #7 T-Wolves, #5 Kings, #9 Mavs, and #4 Suns picks in the draft. Lakers worked him out in a group. The fact he has only worked out for the #4, #5, #6, #7, & #9 teams tells me he has a silent commitment from a team between 4 & 7 otherwise he would have been working out with teams with the #10 and lower picks. In other words he is going to get picked before Markkanen and Isaac. Knicks pick #8 but he didn't work out for them.

Or he could drop?

Coach Crazy
06-22-2017, 04:45 PM
Wouldn't surprise me if they traded down to pick up Rem. Would be a logical choice for the Lakers. Every Lottery Pick needs their wingman.

It sounds like there isn't much respect for the Lakers in certain league circles. That sounds correct.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Zagger
06-23-2017, 02:10 PM
Nigel Williams-Goss‏Verified account @NigelWG5 4m4 minutes ago
No matter what happens today this is only one day and another step in my journey. Good or bad my marathon is far from over. �� #GodSpeed

I've been gone camping but the Mrs got this info on her phone. Didn't see it elsewhere on the GU board:
http://www.oregonlive.com/beavers/index.ssf/2017/06/nigel_williams-goss_former_gon.html
NWG to Utah Jazz ...... Is there a separate thread on this?

MontanaCoyote
06-24-2017, 08:36 PM
Just read that Karno was added to Charolette Hornets summer league roster. Hoping he does well and earns a spot as an UFA. Anyone know if/what undrafted summer league players get paid? Doesn't really matter, I guess. They get their chance and that's what matters.

Good Luck, Karno!

Bogozags
06-25-2017, 06:15 AM
Just read that Karno was added to Charolette Hornets summer league roster. Hoping he does well and earns a spot as an UFA. Anyone know if/what undrafted summer league players get paid? Doesn't really matter, I guess. They get their chance and that's what matters.

Good Luck, Karno!

This is great news! Just getting the opportunity is fantastic...I hope his teammates feed him the ball so he can either score or pass out to someone who is open...

Pray that he has a wonderful summer!

MontanaCoyote
06-25-2017, 07:20 AM
This is great news! Just getting the opportunity is fantastic...I hope his teammates feed him the ball so he can either score or pass out to someone who is open...

Pray that he has a wonderful summer!.

I'm praying with you. I do think The Mountain has some D in him that's going to get some close looks, too.

God gave him the body he has without consulting the NBA, so he's fighting the NBA's preference for Zach Collins like
centers. Shem will give it everything he has. Love that "kid"!

bartruff1
06-25-2017, 11:01 PM
Mika to Miami for the summer league....good luck Erik...