PDA

View Full Version : Now That We Know Who's Back



Mr Vulture
04-18-2017, 01:40 PM
With the news that Nigel has decided to enter the draft with an agent, I think we have a pretty clear picture of where we stand right now. We have three open spots for recruits right now so this is how I see things prior to any new additions. What say y'all??

Starting Lineup - Perkins, Melson, Hachimura, JWIII, Tillie
Bench (in order) - Norvell, Larsen, Wade, Kispert, Jones, Edwards

sittingon50
04-18-2017, 01:42 PM
There may still be ?'s about Edwards.

And I'm guessin' Norvell starts instead of Rui.

Mr Vulture
04-18-2017, 01:45 PM
There may still be ?'s about Edwards.

I've heard that as well but I haven't heard anything other than second hand information so I'm not accounting for him stepping away.

bartruff1
04-18-2017, 01:50 PM
I would be amazed if Rui starts....and I would prefer to see Melson as the sixth ....not that sure about Tillie as I have not seen much of the other bigs....and of course there could be a transfer....we shall see..

Zag_Dad
04-18-2017, 01:55 PM
With the news that Nigel has decided to enter the draft with an agent, I think we have a pretty clear picture of where we stand right now. We have three open spots for recruits right now so this is how I see things prior to any new additions. What say y'all??

Starting Lineup - Perkins, Melson, Hachimura, JWIII, Tillie
Bench (in order) - Norvell, Larsen, Wade, Kispert, Jones, Edwards


Don't assume we are done with announcements yet!

MDABE80
04-18-2017, 02:00 PM
With the news that Nigel has decided to enter the draft with an agent, I think we have a pretty clear picture of where we stand right now. We have three open spots for recruits right now so this is how I see things prior to any new additions. What say y'all??

Starting Lineup - Perkins, Melson, Hachimura, JWIII, Tillie
Bench (in order) - Norvell, Larsen, Wade, Kispert, Jones, Edwards

Whoa! First I heard Nigels out! I was on campus this morning and nobody said a thing! This changes everything.

gonzagafan62
04-18-2017, 02:14 PM
Perkins, Melson and JW3 are virtual locks to start (It's FEW people come on ....) the rest, who knows

GonzagasaurusFlex
04-18-2017, 02:58 PM
I think Norvell may well start alongside Perkins and Melson if Zags stick with a three guard lineup. On the other hand, they could offset the sort of undersized starting bigs of Tillie & JWIII by adding size at the 3 and go with this lineup...which I also like:

Perkins / Wade
Melson / Norvell
Rui / Kispert
Tillie /
Williams / Larsen

DixieZag
04-18-2017, 03:03 PM
Totally uninformed. I wonder if Kispert can play a big "1" and slide some guys over to be the 3pt specialists.

If Rui starts, it would be a fantastic sign.

I expect more to come, surprises lurk - good ones, I'm guessing.

As it stands now, just for right now, I wonder if we'd be favored to win the WCC. I say "no" - as it stands now.

But, it won't stand now.

SageOfZagville
04-18-2017, 03:20 PM
I would be very surprised if Norvell didn't start at the three. He doesn't need much room to get off his shot. From what little I saw of him this year, he will be a good one.

ZagOD7540
04-18-2017, 03:26 PM
With the news that Nigel has decided to enter the draft with an agent, I think we have a pretty clear picture of where we stand right now. We have three open spots for recruits right now so this is how I see things prior to any new additions. What say y'all??

Starting Lineup - Perkins, Melson, Hachimura, JWIII, Tillie
Bench (in order) - Norvell, Larsen, Wade, Kispert, Jones, Edwards

Norvell with start instead of Rui. Rui has a lot to figure out on the offensive and defensive ends. Norvell will be the WCC newcomer of the year next season and an eventual WCC POY.
POY

Coach Crazy
04-18-2017, 03:28 PM
Edwards may still call it good. So, we may have 4 spots open.

As far as the lineup? I don't really care as much about who starts, but more so about who gets what playing time.

Perkins
Norvell
Melson
J3
Larsen
~
Tillie
Rui
Kispert
Wade

I'll adjust for incoming players.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Zagceo
04-18-2017, 03:31 PM
I'm gonna go out on a limb.......Corey will be in the hunt for big minutes including starting if he is/stays healthy. Gonna be on campus taking summer classes soon and will be learning offense all summer. Does not look or play like most freshmen IMO

3XaZag
04-18-2017, 03:52 PM
Tillie will light up our world next year. Rebounds and points will pile up. I don't think Tillie or Williams are the best answer as primary defenders for a truly big center in the post, but against most teams their mobility will make them very, very good. We have never had two more aggressive rebounders down low as the two of them combined. Here are our bigs rebound stats from lat year:

Rebounds Minutes Rebounds/ minute Minutes played/ rebound
Collins 230 672 .342/ min 2 m 55 seconds
Tillie 107 406 .264/ min 3 m 47 seconds
Williams 251 946 .265/min 3 m 47 seconds
Karno 228 901 .253/min 3 m 57 seconds

When you consider that fives get a significant number of relatively uncontested defensive rebounds, that is not that big of a difference....Collins could rebound out of area decently, but Williams and Tillie are masters at it. Tillie is so aggressive. He still needs to figure out how to avoid going over the back, but I would argue that about a third of the time he got called for it he was up and over cleanly and it just looked bad so the ref blew the whistle. In short, rebounds won't be our problem next year....at least for the starting front court....now the back ups, that is a story still to be written. Tillie and Williams greatest obstacles next year to being double double machines will be one another.

maynard g krebs
04-18-2017, 04:07 PM
Totally uninformed. I wonder if Kispert can play a big "1" and slide some guys over to be the 3pt specialists.

If Rui starts, it would be a fantastic sign.

I expect more to come, surprises lurk - good ones, I'm guessing.

As it stands now, just for right now, I wonder if we'd be favored to win the WCC. I say "no" - as it stands now.

But, it won't stand now.

Kispert's a wing who could play as a stretch 4 w/ the right matchups. Not a primary ball handler v D1 guards. Perkins/ Wade are the 1's with Silas and then Norvell filling in there in case of injury/foul trouble imo.

Easily favorites to win WCC. Way better than SMC or BYU. Loss of Rahon really hurts SMC imo, as a lot of people think Naar regressed last year. Every year people say BYU's gonna make a leap. I'll believe it when I see it.

maynard g krebs
04-18-2017, 04:09 PM
I'm gonna go out on a limb.......Corey will be in the hunt for big minutes including starting if he is/stays healthy. Gonna be on campus taking summer classes soon and will be learning offense all summer. Does not look or play like most freshmen IMO

Agree that Cory will be a major contributor from day 1. He and Norvell are both so good, though, and there's only 1 starting 3 spot. Assuming Melson starts at the 2 as a sr.

Hoopaholic
04-18-2017, 04:13 PM
Every one ignoring jones. Interesting

maynard g krebs
04-18-2017, 04:15 PM
Every one ignoring jones. Interesting

Probably due to walk on status. Curious to know what you expect of him.

Hoopaholic
04-18-2017, 04:18 PM
Probably due to walk on status. Curious to know what you expect of him.

High impact wing who will provide exceptional perimeter defense on stud 3 players

Hoping to see a pull up midrange game developed

Competing for minutes in the 15-18 allowing Williams to cover backside rebounding without being out there f position

Ruiz and he come the for vital minutes at the 3

VinnyZag
04-18-2017, 04:54 PM
It seems like four guys (Perkins, Melson, JWIII and Tillie) are almost locks to start, and the other wing position could go to any of Hachimura, Norvell or Kispert ... perhaps Jones belongs on the list, too, I don't know.

My hope would be that Hachimura develops to the point where he seizes the job, because if he does that's the best possible Zags team.

Markburn1
04-18-2017, 05:06 PM
Every one ignoring jones. Interesting

Absolutely. Watching Jones in his limited minutes was an eye opener. He would have been the best defender on the team had he played more. Very quick feet. Anticipation skills off the charts. He wasn't aggressive enough on offense in clean up time to make an assessment of his offensive skills. I'll be interested to see what he can do should he get the opportunity.

cggonzaga
04-18-2017, 05:12 PM
High impact wing who will provide exceptional perimeter defense on stud 3 players

Hoping to see a pull up midrange game developed

Competing for minutes in the 15-18 allowing Williams to cover backside rebounding without being out there f position

Ruiz and he come the for vital minutes at the 3

If Kispert doesn't redshirt I just can't see Jones getting many minutes. Even if you slide Rui to sub for our forwards instead of playing the 3, that still leaves Norvell and Kispert ahead of Jones imo. The only way I see Jones getting minutes is as follows (and can't say I would hate it)

PG: Perkins/Wade
SG: Melson/Norvell
SF: Kispert/Jones
PF: J3/Tillie/Rui/Larsen

Can't say I see Few going with a 10 man rotation however. This doesn't even include incoming players, i.e. Elijah Brown, etc...that would take even more perimeter minutes away from somebody like Jones.

Also regarding Kispert, if he ends up starting next year it's because 1 of 2 things imo, 1) Norvell and/or Rui didn't get any better, or 2) Kispert is a one and done because if he's better than Norvell and/or Rui next season, the guy is a pro.

MontanaCoyote
04-18-2017, 05:25 PM
I'm well down the list when it comes to basketball acumen, but something still tells me that we could really use another big, both in the rotation and as a hedge against injury.

Some of this feeling is my inability to picture the Zag's without Przemek in the paint. I think we're really going to miss him and in many different ways. They'll never be another Karno, but I'd feel better about next year if we found a good, solid big to fortify our front court.

Zagceo
04-18-2017, 05:27 PM
Rui has a 7'2" wingspan......scary

U Zig, I Zag
04-18-2017, 05:30 PM
After Rui, Melson is the premier athlete on the team IMHO. He needs to start.

DixieZag
04-18-2017, 05:34 PM
There will be surprises. Always are, always good ones.

SpudDawg
04-18-2017, 06:03 PM
Just curious about Edwards. I get that he could want more minutes. But he could be in line for more minutes at GU next season as a "traditional 5," which the Zags appear to need. And he has already redshirted, so is he eligible to be a graduate transfer? Or would he go to a DII school? Any talk of potential schools for him?

cggonzaga
04-18-2017, 06:14 PM
The last thing I read came from Edwards himself that sounded like he may just be hanging up his bball shoes. It was an article from a kalispel newspaper.

SpudDawg
04-18-2017, 06:24 PM
Ah! OK, thanks!

zagsfanforlife
04-18-2017, 06:50 PM
Whoa! First I heard Nigels out! I was on campus this morning and nobody said a thing! This changes everything.

Abe I told you 3 weeks aGo he was gone. So we have 3 open schollies now? 4 if Ryan bolts?

Reborn
04-18-2017, 06:56 PM
Abe I told you 3 weeks aGo he was gone. So we have 3 open schollies now? 4 if Ryan bolts?

4 already I think. : Karno, Mathews, Collins and now NWG. We are losing 4 really really good players.. We are starting over folks. Losing 4 is a lot.

I feel like a hammer just hit me over the head.. Wow!!!

Go Zags!!!

zagsfanforlife
04-18-2017, 06:57 PM
4 already I think. : Karno, Mathews, Collins and now NWG

No because Kispert and Wade take 2 schollies... add in alberts.. I think we have 3 now.... correct me if wrong?

zagsfanforlife
04-18-2017, 06:59 PM
We all already know at least 1 Graduate transfer will be coming in. Maybe 2.. and maybe 1 sitout transfer like Jeter, Dickerson?

If Edwards leaves i could see 2 grad transfers.

Right now i dont think we are favorite in WCC. But we will be once offseason is over.

I know Few was talking to Mike Brown this morning at warriors practice about his son. Seems like Few wants Elijah brown to start at the 3.

maynard g krebs
04-18-2017, 07:14 PM
We all already know at least 1 Graduate transfer will be coming in. Maybe 2.. and maybe 1 sitout transfer like Jeter, Dickerson?

If Edwards leaves i could see 2 grad transfers.

Right now i dont think we are favorite in WCC. But we will be once offseason is over.

I know Few was talking to Mike Brown this morning at warriors practice about his son. Seems like Few wants Elijah brown to start at the 3.

Duck fans seem the think Brown is a pretty sure thing for Oregon.

I can't imagine that the Zags wouldn't be favored in the WCC as is.

zagsfanforlife
04-18-2017, 07:16 PM
Duck fans seem the think Brown is a pretty sure thing for Oregon.

I can't imagine that the Zags wouldn't be favored in the WCC as is.

Maybe so, but i dont think Few would be at the warriors practice if it was a done deal. The analysts said he was there to talk to Mike Brown.

And I would take SMC at this point... too many unknowns for GU. Do think that changes once we get a grad transfer or two.

Those that know about Brandon Williams--- is he in any position to reclassify to 2017?

thespywhozaggedme
04-18-2017, 08:02 PM
4 already I think. : Karno, Mathews, Collins and now NWG. We are losing 4 really really good players.. We are starting over folks. Losing 4 is a lot.

I feel like a hammer just hit me over the head.. Wow!!!

Go Zags!!!

We never "start over".
Gonzaga doesn't rebuild, we reload!

cggonzaga
04-18-2017, 10:57 PM
Duck fans seem the think Brown is a pretty sure thing for Oregon.

I can't imagine that the Zags wouldn't be favored in the WCC as is.

Very well could be the case but why go to Oregon when there is a pretty good chance they don't make the dance next year?

gonzagafan62
04-18-2017, 11:15 PM
4 already I think. : Karno, Mathews, Collins and now NWG. We are losing 4 really really good players.. We are starting over folks. Losing 4 is a lot.

I feel like a hammer just hit me over the head.. Wow!!!

Go Zags!!!

Starting over? Hardly.

WallaWallaZag
04-19-2017, 12:11 AM
After Rui, Melson is the premier athlete on the team IMHO. He needs to start.

don't forget about jw3...he's not as natural and smooth as rui or melson (a little mechanical, otherwise he'd be an nba prospect) ...but he gets up quicker than either of those two. tillie is also a great athlete, especially for his size and he's a lot more fluid than jw3.

MDABE80
04-19-2017, 12:31 AM
Four of the top 5 scorers and 50 pts gone! Should be an exciting season in many ways. This will test the staff's prowess like few seasons before. I thought it would be a tough nut to crack 2 and 3 years ago. This upcoming one though......

Zagceo
04-19-2017, 04:33 AM
It seems like four guys (Perkins, Melson, JWIII and Tillie) are almost locks to start, and the other wing position could go to any of Hachimura, Norvell or Kispert ... perhaps Jones belongs on the list, too, I don't know.

My hope would be that Hachimura develops to the point where he seizes the job, because if he does that's the best possible Zags team.

Tommy sees Rui as "Centerpiece" ......


Gonzaga assistant coach Tommy Lloyd said after the teamís Sweet 16 win over West Virginia: ďTo be honest with you, the easy decision probably wouldíve been redshirt. But we also felt that maybe getting him a few minutes here and there would be good experience for him for next year and kind of keep him emotionally and mentally engaged. But itís hard for him to stay focused and be ready to play when you havenít played. But itís not his fault.

ďNow heís on the biggest stage, playing in a sold-out arena, it was so much pressure. But this is his first time, heís not ready. But heís seeing it this year.

Our goal for next year is, heís going to be more than ready, and thatís been our plan all along.

ďAnd we would say Rui is going to be a centerpiece for our future.

And we know itís going to take time. Weíve had another player like that in the past. (Senior center Przemek) Karnowski in his freshman year, he played a little bit but not much. It takes time for some of these guys.Ē

bartruff1
04-19-2017, 05:11 AM
Ceo..thanks...good find...

strikenowhere
04-19-2017, 05:39 AM
I've seen a couple of people mention in other threads Reid Travis as a transfer - did I miss something here? Did he declare he was going to transfer out of Stanford or that he graduated early?

Reborn
04-19-2017, 07:10 AM
We never "start over".
Gonzaga doesn't rebuild, we reload!

Sorry for the mistake. I should have better than to say that, but the 'ol brain does't function real well after being hit in the head by a hammer. hahaha

I'm over the shock and my clear thinking has returned. I reread my post on another thread where I said that the team would be very good next year without Goss, I made this statement before I learned that he was going to commit to going pro, but I was thinking about what the team would look like if he did go pro. Gonzaga had a really good bench last year, and these players will be very good next year. I'm thinking about Melson, Tille and Rui. When you combine these 3 players with the two returning starters, JWIII and Perkins the Zags will have a very good foundation to build upon. We know we have Norvell coming aboard next year, and we know he's a very good player, so we actually already have 6 really good players to build on. We know we have a 7' red-shirt freshman, Larson, who will be ready to play next season. He remains unknown for us fans, but Few has said good things about him. So now that gives us 7 players who are already on the team. We have two freshmen, Kispert and Wade, who will be joining the team this summer. That leaves Few with three scholarships, and if Edwards leaves it leaves him with four. Considering how talented and skilled the team already is, the team could move from being very good to being great again depending on who fills those scholarships. I believe that one of those scholarships has to go to a someone who can play in the post, and preferably someone close to 7 foot. 6'10" or 6'11". In my opinion this player could be a grad transfer, if there is one out there this size, or a freshman who is in the top 50 high school seniors in America. Tommy could certainly surprise us because he has so many times. The Zags will need another post player or two in the 2018-19 class; so I wonder if one or two of those will be saved for that year. As you can see, Mark Few has a lot of really good players to deal with next year, to mold into a Zag team. There will be lots of leadership coming from Melson especially and Perkins also.

I feel much better today about the possibilities for the 2017-'18 Zags,

Go Zags!!!

MontanaCoyote
04-19-2017, 07:55 AM
Four of the top 5 scorers and 50 pts gone! Should be an exciting season in many ways. This will test the staff's prowess like few seasons before. I thought it would be a tough nut to crack 2 and 3 years ago. This upcoming one though......

Kind of sounds like this time last year, but, I think, more of a challenge. All things considered, I think we lost more this year than last. How we're stocked for next season compared to what we had in hand about this time last year I'm not
Basketball smart or knowledgable enough to say.

Maybe some vet posters can compare and contrast then and now?

Ezag
04-19-2017, 08:12 AM
Kind of sounds like this time last year, but, I think, more of a challenge. All things considered, I think we lost more this year than last. How we're stocked for next season compared to what we had in hand about this time last year I'm not
Basketball smart or knowledgable enough to say.

Maybe some vet posters can compare and contrast then and now?

Exactly! Last year we had 2 McD's All-Americans ready to step in for Sabonis and Wilt.

seacatfan
04-19-2017, 09:20 AM
Very well could be the case but why go to Oregon when there is a pretty good chance they don't make the dance next year?

I used to doubt Oregon every time they lost 2 or 3 key players. They always reload the next season. I don't think Altman has missed the Tourney since he's been there.


edited--CBI and NIT his first 2 years in Eugene, then 5 straight NCAA Tourney.

Mr Vulture
04-19-2017, 09:51 AM
Without even knowing who we bring in to replace what we lost, I'd take the Zags over anyone else in the WCC. I think that Saint Marys and BYU (w/Mika) will be able to compete with us, as rosters sit now, but highly doubt it when the dust settles. I'd imagine at least one transfer that is eligible now plus another that will have to sit out a year. We will be just fine as I expect that Hachimura and Tillie take big steps next season. I also think Norvell is the real deal, that could have helped this year if he had been 100% healthy to start the year.

cggonzaga
04-19-2017, 10:15 AM
I used to doubt Oregon every time they lost 2 or 3 key players. They always reload the next season. I don't think Altman has missed the Tourney since he's been there.


edited--CBI and NIT his first 2 years in Eugene, then 5 straight NCAA Tourney.

2 or 3 is one thing but I think they're losing like 5 or 6.

MontanaCoyote
04-19-2017, 10:45 AM
2 or 3 is one thing but I think they're losing like 5 or 6.

The kids have to do what they have to do, but I really do miss the ( good? old days) when most kids stayed 3 or 4 years and you could follow their development, get attached to them as more than just players, and enjoy their ride.

I know we still can to some extent, so this year I'm going to really appreciate Perks and "Stylist," if you get what I'm Sayin'.
I think they'll both do great!

Because he was here for 5 years, Karno was my link to the good old days. I guess that's what I'm talking about. And did we get to know him as more than a player or what? Going to really miss The Mountain.

maynard g krebs
04-19-2017, 11:11 AM
why go to Oregon when there is a pretty good chance they don't make the dance next year?

Just since you asked- Based on recent history I'd put the Ducks' chances of making the tourney at better than 90%, barring a rash of injuries. Pritchard will be better. Keith Smith is a top 100 talent who was buried behind Brooks et al. MJ Cage RS'ed due to injury; borderline top 50 big said to be doing ok v Bell/Boucher in practice. Transfer Paul White (Georgetown, Simeon of Chicago hs) is another former borderline top 50 recruit; 6'8 point forward.

Troy Brown is a projected 1 and done lottery pick, and there are a couple more top 100 recruits. They're also finalists for a couple of more top 10 talents in McCoy and ####tu, as well as Brown and several other guys. They reload now like the Zags do, and are developing similar cachet with both hs recruits and transfers due to their player development. And Altman's teams, when picked low, have all finished about 4 spots higher in league than predicted. They're in far better shape than the Joe Young team 3 years ago that made the tourney and won a game before taking Wisconsin to the wire.

ETA- ####tu is Simi S h i t t u, top 10 2018 big they're looking at reclassifying to '17. Autocensor is funny sometimes.

doctorzag
04-19-2017, 11:30 AM
Just since you asked- Based on recent history I'd put the Ducks' chances of making the tourney at better than 90%, barring a rash of injuries. Pritchard will be better. Keith Smith is a top 100 talent who was buried behind Brooks et al. MJ Cage RS'ed due to injury; borderline top 50 big said to be doing ok v Bell/Boucher in practice. Transfer Paul White is another former borderline top 50 recruit; 6'8 point forward.

Troy Brown is a projected 1 and done lottery pick, and there are a couple more top 100 recruits. They're also finalists for a couple of more top 10 talents in McCoy and ####tu, as well as Brown and several other guys. They reload now like the Zags do. And Altman's teams, when picked low, have all finished about 4 spots higher in league than predicted. They're in far better shape than the Joe Young team 3 years ago that made the tourney and won a game before taking Wisconsin to the wire.

ETA- ####tu is Simi S h i t t u, top 10 2018 big they're looking at reclassifying to '17. Autocensor is funny sometimes.

Since you mentioned 90% , its the amount of scoring and rebounding they lose from last years team. The Ducks have been decimated with Payton Pritchard and his huge 7 pts per game as their only significant returnee. As far as reloading,Kentucky they are not. Lots of question marks for this squad. Making the tourney will be tough.

cggonzaga
04-19-2017, 11:40 AM
Just since you asked- Based on recent history I'd put the Ducks' chances of making the tourney at better than 90%, barring a rash of injuries. Pritchard will be better. Keith Smith is a top 100 talent who was buried behind Brooks et al. MJ Cage RS'ed due to injury; borderline top 50 big said to be doing ok v Bell/Boucher in practice. Transfer Paul White (Georgetown, Simeon of Chicago hs) is another former borderline top 50 recruit; 6'8 point forward.

Troy Brown is a projected 1 and done lottery pick, and there are a couple more top 100 recruits. They're also finalists for a couple of more top 10 talents in McCoy and ####tu, as well as Brown and several other guys. They reload now like the Zags do, and are developing similar cachet with both hs recruits and transfers due to their player development. And Altman's teams, when picked low, have all finished about 4 spots higher in league than predicted. They're in far better shape than the Joe Young team 3 years ago that made the tourney and won a game before taking Wisconsin to the wire.

ETA- ####tu is Simi S h i t t u, top 10 2018 big they're looking at reclassifying to '17. Autocensor is funny sometimes.

Thanks maynard. Didn't realize what they had coming in. Sounds much like us in that they'll need guys to gel quickly.

seacatfan
04-19-2017, 11:40 AM
Tough crowd here Maynard. I thought the Ducks were dead in the water a couple times, and then they finished in the upper third of the conference and made the Tourney. I won't write them off again while Altman is there. You and I follow the Pac closer than many here do.

Bogozags
04-19-2017, 11:59 AM
We all already know at least 1 Graduate transfer will be coming in. Maybe 2.. and maybe 1 sitout transfer like Jeter, Dickerson?

If Edwards leaves i could see 2 grad transfers.

Right now i dont think we are favorite in WCC. But we will be once offseason is over.

I know Few was talking to Mike Brown this morning at warriors practice about his son. Seems like Few wants Elijah brown to start at the 3.


Sorry, must have missed something...How do we know that one grad transfer is committed? I have neither seen nor heard someone has signed with us but if you might know who it is please share...THANK YOU

Bogozags
04-19-2017, 12:11 PM
IMHO...Melson needs to be given the proverbial "green light" to go and score...it just seems like he was on a string this past year...I think he is as if not more athletic than NWG (IMO) and WIII should be coached to not wait for the defence to come and just go up...he seems to hesitate and with his ability to get off the floor, it would be to his advantage to just go up! Oh, hire me (free tacos would do it) to work on his FREE THROW SHOOTING, because he should get to the line even more than last season...improving his free throw shooting might well help him find a job at the next level...again JMHO...

maynard g krebs
04-19-2017, 12:27 PM
Tough crowd here Maynard. I thought the Ducks were dead in the water a couple times, and then they finished in the upper third of the conference and made the Tourney. I won't write them off again while Altman is there. You and I follow the Pac closer than many here do.

Way I see it now- Zona 1, UCLA 2, then probably USC, Ducks battling for third. If they get McCoy/Brown and 1 of the others maybe they compete w/ the top 2, but I think Trier puts Zona over the top w/ their incoming class. Surprised he stayed; should be POY next yr.

maynard g krebs
04-19-2017, 12:35 PM
Since you mentioned 90% , its the amount of scoring and rebounding they lose from last years team. The Ducks have been decimated with Payton Pritchard and his huge 7 pts per game as their only significant returnee. As far as reloading,Kentucky they are not. Lots of question marks for this squad. Making the tourney will be tough.

As Dalton said in Roadhouse, opinions vary.

MickMick
04-19-2017, 01:31 PM
Kispert is going to play. He is going to play a lot.

Too skilled offensively to sit for extended periods.

Zagceo
04-19-2017, 01:38 PM
IMHO...Melson needs to be given the proverbial "green light" to go and score...it just seems like he was on a string this past year...I think he is as if not more athletic than NWG (IMO)

Tommy has mentioned Rui as a "centerpiece"......If anyone gets a "green light"....my money's on him. End of half and end of game situations anyway.

DixieZag
04-19-2017, 01:51 PM
Tommy has mentioned Rui as a "centerpiece"......If anyone gets a "green light"....my money's on him. End of half and end of game situations anyway.

I like the thought of that. To me Rui is the great unknown. If he gets fully integrated with his NBA athleticism into the program, that makes the departures (especially Collins) a little bit more palatable.

Coach Crazy
04-19-2017, 03:02 PM
IMHO...Melson needs to be given the proverbial "green light" to go and score...it just seems like he was on a string this past year...I think he is as if not more athletic than NWG (IMO) and WIII should be coached to not wait for the defence to come and just go up...he seems to hesitate and with his ability to get off the floor, it would be to his advantage to just go up! Oh, hire me (free tacos would do it) to work on his FREE THROW SHOOTING, because he should get to the line even more than last season...improving his free throw shooting might well help him find a job at the next level...again JMHO...

I don't think Melson's issue was not having the green light. Melson was close to gone and/or in need of transferring from the perspective of people like me. His issue was mental. We took a kid who got too much hype placed upon him, was not really a Few system guy. Then expected him to live up to some level of hype. Bad combination.

Silas has been successful because he re-invented himself, to some degree. If he can do it again? Great. I'd prefer to see him stay in the glue-guy-ultimate efficiency mold.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

MontanaCoyote
04-19-2017, 06:48 PM
IMHO...Melson needs to be given the proverbial "green light" to go and score...it just seems like he was on a string this past year...I think he is as if not more athletic than NWG (IMO) and WIII should be coached to not wait for the defence to come and just go up...he seems to hesitate and with his ability to get off the floor, it would be to his advantage to just go up! Oh, hire me (free tacos would do it) to work on his FREE THROW SHOOTING, because he should get to the line even more than last season...improving his free throw shooting might well help him find a job at the next level...again JMHO...

Flattest FT since Elgin Baylor. JW III is not Elgin Baylor. Needs more arc. Makes the hole bigger.

TravelinZag
04-19-2017, 11:41 PM
Need immediate help and depth now!! Yes, some talented returnees, but not enough for another deep run (my San Antonio plans are now on hold), and even the bid string is not guaranteed. Loved this season, but now lots of holes and limited players with major minutes playing together. A major addition or two would brighten the outlook, but duplicating last year's quick gel may require a longer camping trip!

Idahozag10
04-20-2017, 12:34 AM
NWG talking with Darnay Tripp about how good zach norvell is gonna be...

https://twitter.com/darnaytripp/status/854843701075386368


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk