PDA

View Full Version : An Overview of South Carolina basketball (from an SC fan/grad)

USCJeremyinCali
03-28-2017, 01:18 PM
Hi Zags fans! Let me start with an intro here. I am a Gamecocks fan and grad (1997) who has lived in California since 2001. I am very familiar with the west coast and happy to call it home. I have seen more of the Zags than most Gamecock fans. I have admired them for a long time (my brother in law lives in Spokane) and love what Mark Few has done. I've always been a fan of the Zags and feel this is the most complete team you've ever had under Few.

And just an FYI so you know I'm being as objective as I can here - I have the Zags in the championship game of my bracket. If the Zags make the championship game, I win my pool! If the Gamecocks win, I lose. How's that for a bracket?

An overview of South Carolina
Obviously the team had a good season and finished 3rd in the SEC going 12-6 in conference behind Kentucky and Florida. This team is fantastic on defense. They slumped at the end of the season losing 6 of 9. One of our best players, PJ Dozier, was hurt towards the end of the season but continued to play. Younger players were fighting mental fatigue (and some physical) as they grinded their way through the season. Non conference schedule was very good with some solid wins. As the team got ready for the NCAA tournament and had some time off, they started playing like they did at the beginning of the season.

Our team is a beast on defense. We don't pressure and trap like West Virginia. We may occasionally but we are a half court defense that harasses and suffocates you. We were 5th in the nation in TOs forced, 15th in FG percentage, 7th in 3 point FG defense, 31st coring defense, 12th in total steals. We were average in rebound margin (145th), not a great scoring team but balanced using defense to push the offense.