PDA

View Full Version : The Final Four: Pre-Game Media Thread



RenoZag
03-28-2017, 04:52 AM
From the NCAA web site, Mike Lopresti does a nice job of touching all the bases from a human interest angle. Good, quick read:

Videos also included at the link : http://www.ncaa.com/news/basketball-men/article/2017-03-26/march-madness-final-four-presents-teams-chance-redemption


It is a Final Four of successful coaches who have been finally made it up the ladder. Gonzaga’s Mark Few, South Carolina’s Frank Martin, Oregon’s Dana Altman all there for the first time, with legacies now more brightly lit than ever.

Except Few said going to the Final Four is not what he envisions as a proper legacy, but pointed toward his father, the Presbyterian minister for 54 years.

“He’s saved thousands of souls. He’s helped hundreds and thousands of people though all their tough times, and that’s the kind of legacy that I’m looking at. I’ve got a long ways to go to get to first base living up to that guy’s standard.”

RenoZag
03-28-2017, 05:26 AM
Link: http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/27/five-reasons-for-success-of-gonzaga-basketball/



The castle

Spitzer has his own story – how on a trip with Few to Salt Lake City to approach brothers Phil and Tom McCarthey for money to build up GU’s athletic endowment, the coach pressed him to float a new basketball arena instead. And that when the school had come up $2.3 million short of the 80 percent that had to be raised to start the $26 million project, Spitzer had to go back to the McCartheys – which he did, after the Zags’ 2003 NCAA Tournament loss to Arizona.

Not that it was a surprise to the McCartheys.

“They had intel from somebody,” Spitzer said back in 2009. “All they wanted to do was make me make the ask, but I’m sure they knew every penny I needed.”

The 6,000-seat McCarthey Athletic Center opened for the 2004-05 season, and only once – against Montana that year – has attendance not been announced as a sellout.

“It changed our program,” said Roth, “not just visually on TV or in the stands, but more importantly in the eyes of recruits. They no longer came into a gym and saw a gym.”

RenoZag
03-28-2017, 07:15 AM
Final Four Attire Flying Off the Shelves : http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/27/gonzaga-final-four-gear-quickly-sells-out-at-campu/


On Sunday, the Zag Shop at Gonzaga welcomed a shipment of more than 1,000 new shirts that celebrated the Zags going to the Final Four.

On Monday, the new shirts were completely sold out.

“It’s quiet now, but it’s been crazy,” one employee said Monday afternoon.

Zag shop employees said during the first two hours of opening their doors Monday morning, the store was flooded with Zag fans wanting the shirt that commemorated Gonzaga’s historical achievement in the NCAA Tournament.

former1dog
03-28-2017, 08:34 AM
Dan Dickau interview.

http://www.midmajormadness.com/2017/3/28/15081510/interview-dan-dickau-gonzaga-bulldogs-zags-final-four-nba


CS: One more question before you go. What’s your prediction for this weekend? Are they cutting down the nets?
DD: Yes they are! I don’t have plans to come back to Spokane until Tuesday when they’re National Champs. I’m going to be getting down there on Friday and I’m pretty excited about it.

thespywhozaggedme
03-28-2017, 09:04 AM
With Rick Neuheisel and Chris Childers. I had never heard Withers before, but he was amazing, they gave him 20 minutes of airtime and it was basically a North American infomercial for Gonzaga and Few, it was awesome. The publicity that the FF has garnered us is invaluable. Great interview!

Zagger
03-28-2017, 09:09 AM
Started a separate thread on some FF news before seeing this one ..... Here are a couple of links from it:

"Gonzaga is a huge favorite to win the Final Four"
http://www.businessinsider.com/gonza...al-four-2017-3

And one from Philly ....
Makes sense
"Why you can put the NCAA Championship in the book now"
http://nypost.com/2017/03/28/why-you...-the-book-now/

I'm leery of reading about much that references anything past Saturday. My mind is on how the Zags will handle South Carolina. Sure hope the Zags are having fun week! Can't wait to see more TV news on the whole FF affair :)

RenoZag
03-28-2017, 09:16 AM
From the Slipper Still Fits: http://www.slipperstillfits.com/2017/3/28/15083580/2017-ncaa-tournament-gonzaga-bulldogs-title-run-luckiest-shut-the-hell-up


Gonzaga may have played the No. 11 seed in the Elite Eight, but Xavier had to earn its way there by beating “better” teams. By picking such a generic argument and lobbying all your hatred behind it really detracts from the teams that Gonzaga has, and maybe will, beat.

If Gonzaga lands in the NCAA Tournament title game by beating South Carolina, be my guest and lob your complaints. You can go ahead and tell Frank Martin and the rest of the Gamecocks they aren’t a good team. You can tell Chris Mack and the rest of the Musketeers they shouldn’t have been in the Elite 8. Hell, while you are at it, tell Huggy Bear and the Mountaineers they are a pile of garbage for merely being a No. 4 seed. Then report back to me with all your bruises.

Zags_Fanatic
03-28-2017, 09:18 AM
Withers is our retired Seattle Media Mole who has been fantastic for the program from the beginning. If you haven't heard of him you absolutely owe it to yourself to read his new book, Glory Hounds. His blog is linked on here as well every time he makes a new post.

DixieZag
03-28-2017, 09:22 AM
It is very hard for me to wrap my mind around why we'd be heavy favorites to win it all when UNC is out there.

I suspect that part of it is others' (not us) disrespect for South Carolina, they feel like we have a fairly easy game to the Final, whereas they expect UNC and Oregon to be more of a 50-50 game. Therefore, if the "belief" is that the Zags WILL BE in the final and others "might be" - it makes us favorites. That's my best explanation.

That and we're pretty damn good.

Hoopaholic
03-28-2017, 09:33 AM
It is very hard for me to wrap my mind around why we'd be heavy favorites to win it all when UNC is out there.

I suspect that part of it is others' (not us) disrespect for South Carolina, they feel like we have a fairly easy game to the Final, whereas they expect UNC and Oregon to be more of a 50-50 game. Therefore, if the "belief" is that the Zags WILL BE in the final and others "might be" - it makes us favorites. That's my best explanation.

That and we're pretty damn good.

Its because we are very very good, very balanced, have one of the best offense and the best defense in nation

Zagger
03-28-2017, 09:37 AM
Final Four Preview ....
http://www.sbnation.com/a/2017-ncaa-final-four-oregon-gonzaga-north-carolina-south-carolina

What I 'like' about a lot of the stuff I'm reading on the Zags is what I don't read. In many of the pieces they mention this Zag and that Zag but they often do not mention Zags who have, and will be making a difference on Saturday. It may all lead up to many, especially those E of the Mississippi River, who are pretty darn surprised at how well GU can play and who they see on the floor. Even South Carolina could be caught off guard by Zag depth and defense - as well as offense. Guess it all depends on how the Zags play in Phoenix ..... April Madness? ..... I personally feel the Zags are on a roll and now also have a bit of a burden lifted by reaching the FF. Saturday can't come soon enough for me :)

TexasZagFan
03-28-2017, 09:47 AM
Final Four Preview ....
http://www.sbnation.com/a/2017-ncaa-final-four-oregon-gonzaga-north-carolina-south-carolina

What I 'like' about a lot of the stuff I'm reading on the Zags is what I don't read. In many of the pieces they mention this Zag and that Zag but they often do not mention Zags who have, and will be making a difference on Saturday. It may all lead up to many, especially those E of the Mississippi River, who are pretty darn surprised at how well GU can play and who they see on the floor. Even South Carolina could be caught off guard by Zag depth and defense - as well as offense. Guess it all depends on how the Zags play in Phoenix ..... April Madness? ..... I personally feel the Zags are on a roll and now also have a bit of a burden lifted by reaching the FF. Saturday can't come soon enough for me :)

I'm getting a case of the jaws over the plaudits given to SC for their #2 ranked defense in the country. No mention of the Zags defense, and how Xavier was shut DOWN in the second half, specifically being limited to SIX points in the final ten minutes of the game.

sittingon50
03-28-2017, 10:59 AM
With Rick Neuheisel and Chris Childers. I had never heard Withers before, but he was amazing, they gave him 20 minutes of airtime and it was basically a North American infomercial for Gonzaga and Few, it was awesome. The publicity that the FF has garnered us is invaluable. Great interview!

Bud is a good dude. He had a son run cross country @ GU, so he's a bit invested.

RenoZag
03-28-2017, 11:04 AM
Withers is our retired Seattle Media Mole who has been fantastic for the program from the beginning. If you haven't heard of him you absolutely owe it to yourself to read his new book, Glory Hounds. His blog is linked on here as well every time he makes a new post.

His first Zags book: BraveHearts is a must read also.

zagzilla
03-28-2017, 11:07 AM
Withers is our retired Seattle Media Mole who has been fantastic for the program from the beginning. If you haven't heard of him you absolutely owe it to yourself to read his new book, Glory Hounds. His blog is linked on here as well every time he makes a new post.

Bud Withers also wrote the original Zags history, "Bravehearts". Equally essential for all Zags fans. Withers is a treasure and I miss his writing for the Seattle Times all the more when I see his replacement Matt Calkins offer up junk basketball coverage like he did today.

"Why Huskies fans should root for a Gonzaga-Oregon NCAA tournament final"
http://www.seattletimes.com/sports/gonzaga-bulldogs/huskies-fans-should-root-for-a-gonzaga-oregon-ncaa-tournament-final/

Go Zags!

ZZ

RenoZag
03-28-2017, 11:12 AM
From The Ringer: https://theringer.com/the-three-most-important-matchups-to-watch-in-each-final-four-game-e88c881dc7a (Videos Embedded in Story )



1. How will Gonzaga guard South Carolina’s perimeter stars?
Frank Martin’s team is led by two perimeter players with imposing physical maturity in senior Sindarius Thornwell (6-foot-5, 211 pounds) and sophomore PJ Dozier (6-foot-6, 205 pounds). South Carolina is a defensive-minded team that counts on the one-on-one abilities of its best players to carry it on offense. Thornwell’s and Dozier’s length means they can create shots when the offense breaks down, and they have the passing ability to find the open man if a double-team comes.

Gonzaga’s lack of length on the perimeter is its biggest weakness on defense. None of their four main guards — Nigel Williams-Goss, Jordan Mathews, Josh Perkins, and Silas Melson — is taller than 6-foot-4. The Bulldogs got around that problem against Xavier by putting Johnathan Williams, their hyper-athletic 6-foot-9 power forward, on the 6-foot-6 Trevon Bluiett, but the Musketeers started four perimeter players, which meant Gonzaga could cross-switch Williams on Bluiett without giving up size anywhere else. If Williams guards Thornwell, that leaves Perkins or Mathews at a disadvantage guarding one of South Carolina’s big men, not to mention Dozier still towering over whoever guards him.

What Gonzaga coach Mark Few could do to minimize those matchups is pack the paint and dare the Gamecocks to shoot, since neither of their big men (sophomore Chris Silva and freshman Maik Kotsar) has made a 3-pointer this season, and Dozier is a 29.7 percent shooter from deep. In order to get more shooting on the floor, Martin often slides Thornwell (who boasts a 6-foot-9 wingspan) to power forward and brings in another guard (either senior Justin McKie or freshman Rakym Felder). Expect South Carolina to go small on Saturday to open up the floor against Gonzaga.

RenoZag
03-28-2017, 11:21 AM
http://news.gonzaga.edu/2017/canadas-dustin-triano-enjoys-role-helping-gonzaga-basketball-team-win


For Triano, the international experience at GU has revolved largely around teammates. This season, he is playing alongside athletes from Poland, France, Denmark, Japan and, of course, the United States.

“Gonzaga has been doing this for so long that they really have it down,” he said. “They help you with all of the paperwork. Once you’re here, you feel welcome. Everyone’s included right away – you’re part of the team, part of the community.”

Along with basketball, Gonzaga’s international players also get coaching on adjusting to the rigors of college-level course work and life in a small American city, as well as language help when needed.

“They’re all unique individuals coming from different backgrounds with different goals, but when they first get here they’re also all wide-eyed 18-year-olds who have never been away from home,” said Steffany Galbraith, director of academic support services for GU athletics.

“For someone … from western Canada, it’s much less of an adjustment to come to Spokane for college than it was for Przemek or Rui (Hachimura, a freshman on this year’s team who is from Japan),” Galbraith said. “Along with all of the other demands of coming here to play basketball, Przemek and Rui faced the challenges of a new culture and language.”

tinfoilzag
03-28-2017, 01:02 PM
Front page of Reddit! (https://www.reddit.com/r/sports/comments/620u88/gonzaga_basketball_players_and_the_news_anchor/?st=j0u0xk6v&sh=b3a25451)

https://i.redd.it/99lu2y3jn6oy.png

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-28-2017, 01:19 PM
Front page of Reddit! (https://www.reddit.com/r/sports/comments/620u88/gonzaga_basketball_players_and_the_news_anchor/?st=j0u0xk6v&sh=b3a25451)

https://i.redd.it/99lu2y3jn6oy.png

To be fair, the shoes add a half inch to the big guys.

RenoZag
03-28-2017, 03:51 PM
http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/insider/story/_/id/19016349/ranking-top-25-players-north-carolina-tar-heels-gonzaga-bulldogs-south-carolina-gamecocks-oregon-ducks-ncaa-tournament-final-four

Hoops writer John Gasaway ranked 'em in reverse order; the Zags rank & comments are excerpted below:


#25 Silas Melson: Melson gives Mark Few an additional 3-point threat on the floor. The junior is also the Bulldogs' second-best shooter at the line behind Nigel Williams-Goss.

#21 Josh Perkins: Perkins achieved fame in the Xavier game when his steal for what was sure to be a breakaway score was interrupted -- at least visually -- by a young woman who seconds before had been mopping that end of the floor. She beat a hasty retreat, and Perkins was able to complete his lay-in, though the hesitation caused by his momentary confusion did cost the sophomore what would have been his first official dunk.

#17 Jordan Mathews: The hero of the Bulldogs' Sweet 16 game against West Virginia, Mathews hit a 3 with less than a minute remaining to provide what was ultimately the winning margin against the Mountaineers. Nor was that shot a blip, as the Cal transfer led the Zags in made 3-pointers this season. Also, I don't know if this is in the South Carolina scouting report, but Mathews was once on "Teletubbies."

#15 Zach Collins: Understandably lost in the furor over Collins' inside-the-rim shot block against Northwestern was the fact that he had a great game: 14 points, including 6-of-8 shooting at the line. The freshman has been less consequential in his past two outings, and against Xavier he fouled out in just 13 minutes. That said, Collins will almost certainly be needed in the game or games that await the Bulldogs. He's an outstanding shot-blocker who this season has shot 68 percent on a relatively high volume of 2s.

#10 Przemek Karnowski: As always, Karnowski is connecting about 60 percent of the time on his shots (all 2s) in the tournament. He and Mark Few might want to up the volume, however. The senior has scored 37 points across four games, and a Gonzaga offense that (uncharacteristically) has recorded just 1.03 points per possession in that span could use larger contributions from the big guy.

#8 Nigel Williams-Goss: This has not been the best stretch of four games we've seen this season from Williams-Goss. The junior's missed 42 shots from the field in the tournament, and the West Virginia game in particular, were rough sledding for the WCC Player of the Year. Then again, Williams-Goss hit four 3s and scored 23 points in the Bulldogs' win over Xavier. On paper, this offense has a good deal of performance blue sky above it once its star point guard plays to the level he showed in the regular season.

#4 Johnathan Williams: In the Bulldogs' breakthrough win against Xavier in the Elite Eight, Williams scored 19 points on 8-of-12 shooting from the floor. The junior could have easily hung up an even more impressive number if he had done better than 2-of-8 from the line. The 6-foot-9 Williams is shooting 63 percent on his 2s this season, he's a dependable presence for Mark Few on the defensive glass, and his work on the offensive boards has been even more impressive than "dependable" in the tournament. He was named the West region MOP.

FWIW: Thornwell rates at the top of Gasaway's list. 5 Gamecocks, 5 Ducks, and 8 Tar Heels make up the rest of the 25

Zagger
03-28-2017, 04:06 PM
Final Four 2017: Ranking each team's projected starters, from No. 20 to No. 1
http://www.cbssports.com/college-basketball/news/final-four-2017-ranking-each-teams-projected-starters-from-no-20-to-no-1/
by Matt Norlander

They probably have these rankings close .... But, if you tossed in Collins, Melson and Tillie they'd be bumping some of these guys out of the top 20 (from other teams).
Go Zags!

Norlander has Perkins #18, Mathews #13, Williams #8, Mt. K #7 and NWG #4. Overall, ya gotta factor in the synergy + the bench + the coaches. I think that kicks up each guy 2-3 notches - at least.

RenoZag
03-28-2017, 04:12 PM
Zagger, it looks like the writers are all drinking from the same well of inspiration, doesn't it ? Not much in the way of new angles to cull from the coverage so far. . .I'm looking forward to listening to the ESPN Podcast with the coaches when I get home from work.

http://www.espn.com/espnradio/play?id=19022002

Zagger
03-28-2017, 04:22 PM
Zagger, it looks like the writers are all drinking from the same well of inspiration, doesn't it ? Not much in the way of new angles to cull from the coverage so far. . .I'm looking forward to listening to the ESPN Podcast linked above with the coaches when I get home from work.

I'm home now too and will listen. Found another top 20 ranking by Yahoo Sports where ....
Nigel #3, Karnowski #9, Williams #10, Mathews #13 & Perks #17.
http://sports.yahoo.com/news/ranking-the-20-final-four-starters-from-most-to-least-valuable-135112459.html
Wonder how much thought is put into the D side on these rankings?
Of the 4 F4 teams I've only watched the Zags and Oregon play this year. I did see a bit of the SC/Dook game. I wasn't overly impressed with SC's offense but their D was solid. The only thing I like about waiting until Saturday to see how things shake out is that the players sure get to have some quality time soaking up F4 fame. It's torture on the fans ;-)

BBzag
03-28-2017, 04:45 PM
From The Ringer: https://theringer.com/the-three-most-important-matchups-to-watch-in-each-final-four-game-e88c881dc7a (Videos Embedded in Story )

Gonzaga’s lack of length on the perimeter is its biggest weakness on defense. None of their four main guards — Nigel Williams-Goss, Jordan Mathews, Josh Perkins, and Silas Melson — is taller than 6-foot-4.

So we're back to having small-guard issues again? That didn't last long.

Zagceo
03-28-2017, 06:51 PM
http://www.cougcenter.com/2017/3/28/15077466/gonzaga-basketball-final-four

Zagceo
03-28-2017, 06:57 PM
http://www.oregonlive.com/sports/oregonian/john_canzano/index.ssf/2017/03/dan_dickau_says_gonzaga_oregon.html

DixieZag
03-28-2017, 06:59 PM
This is my favorite thread, thx to all contributors

Radbooks
03-28-2017, 07:06 PM
A really cool look at what is going on behind the scenes:

Zag Logistics this week by Bud Withers (http://en.bloguru.com/GloryHounds/295542/zag-logistics-this-week-a-labor-a-lot-of)


Gonzaga serviced about 750 boosters for the regional in San Jose. For this weekend, there are more than 3,000, all taken care of via the athletic department’s priority-points system based on annual giving. Hotel space for boosters is partly funneled through travel packages, but the athletic department has a finger on that pulse and must provide continual updates to hotels to hold or release rooms.

Players’ families also score this weekend. For the third straight year, the NCAA has in place a pilot program that allows for $3,000 per player family to attend the Final Four, $4,000 for the teams making the final game.

Zagceo
03-28-2017, 07:41 PM
Love to see the parents get some love

RenoZag
03-28-2017, 08:00 PM
With Rick Neuheisel and Chris Childers. I had never heard Withers before, but he was amazing, they gave him 20 minutes of airtime and it was basically a North American infomercial for Gonzaga and Few, it was awesome. The publicity that the FF has garnered us is invaluable. Great interview!

Here's a link to an XM interview (excerpt) done with Coach Few where he acknowledges turning to his coacjing friends for Final Four week prep advice: Jay Wright and Billy Donovan.

https://soundcloud.com/siriusxmcollege/mark-few-playing-wvu-helped-prepare-them-for-s-carolina-has-leaned-on-bill-donovan-for-advice

He was on the Packer & Cremins Show

sittingon50
03-28-2017, 08:01 PM
http://en.bloguru.com/GloryHounds/295542/zag-logistics-this-week-a-labor-a-lot-of

RenoZag
03-28-2017, 08:59 PM
Mathews Brothers Keeping Tabs on Each Other: Spokesman-Review

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/28/mathews-brothers-jordan-and-jonah-keeping-tabs-on-/


When Gonzaga’s Jordan Mathews looked behind him last week, he saw one familiar face he doesn’t ever see in the stands – his younger brother, Jonah. It’s not often that Jonah gets to watch Jordan play in a Zags uniform. Last week, however, Jonah was able to get to San Jose from his home in Los Angeles for his brother’s historical run through the NCAA Tournament, almost two weeks after Jonah’s first run in the tournament ended.

Jonah followed his brother’s footsteps this year to college basketball and is now a guard for USC’s basketball team. The Trojans earned an at-large bid to the tournament this season and fell to Baylor in the round of 32.

“It’s been kind of crazy, making the tournament your freshman year and winning two games,” Jonah said on Thursday. “It’s been kind of hectic, but it was so fun. I want to go back the next year.”

RenoZag
03-28-2017, 09:03 PM
Jim Meehan feature on SC's Thornwell: http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/28/sindarius-thornwells-arrival-triggered-south-carol/



“I convinced him to wrap his heart with two names, the state he comes from and his family name to help us build something special. (Former South Carolina football standouts) Marcus Lattimore and Jadeveon Clowney, I told him you can be what they were to our basketball program.”

After a few lean seasons, that’s essentially what has happened, though there was bitter disappointment last year when South Carolina’s 25-win team didn’t land an NCAA tournament berth.

Thornwell has been the cornerstone of the Gamecocks’ turnaround. The senior guard averaged in double figures in his first three seasons before elevating his points to 21.6 and rebounds to 7.2 to earn SEC player of the year, a program first.

Thornwell has been even better in the tournament at 25.7 points and 7.5 boards. He’s also a two-time SEC All-Defensive team selection.

“He’s going to be a really hard guard,” said Gonzaga coach Mark Few, whose Zags face the Gamecocks in a national semifinal Saturday.

RenoZag
03-28-2017, 09:19 PM
https://www.wsj.com/articles/south-carolina-the-angriest-team-in-college-basketball-1490738205


South Carolina head coach Frank Martin has earned a reputation as one of the angriest coaches in college basketball with a repertoire of gesticulations and outbursts that can turn his cheeks the color of his garnet jackets.

Now he has taken his No. 7 seed Gamecocks on a furious run to the Final Four—the first in school history. And this surprising run happened because Martin somehow found players who are even angrier than he is.

“If you’re not matching his intensity, you’re not going to be on the floor,” said freshman guard Tommy Corchiani. Adds sophomore guard Hassani Gravett: “That anger, that aggressiveness, that passion, that’s how we bring it.”


South Carolina’s unbridled ferocity is most obvious when the other team has the ball. The Gamecocks play physically and push the limits of how much contact referees will let them get away with before calling a foul.

This style has produced one of the most impenetrable defenses in the country, a unit that ranks second nationally, according to KenPom.com and a vast improvement over a year ago. The only team that ranks better happens to be their opponent on Saturday: No. 1 Gonzaga.


There are moments where the team’s intensity simply isn’t enough or can backfire—the Gamecocks, after all, lost 10 games this season. Because of their aggression, they also frequently send opponents to the foul line. No team that made the NCAA tournament yielded a higher percentage of its points on free throws. But the players say that’s a trade off they’re comfortable with because that same physicality is why their defense is so stingy the rest of the time.

MDABE80
03-28-2017, 09:26 PM
I hope nobody's buying into all this. Reality bites. We've won nothing yet even though this FF is our first. It's a big deal but my superstitious self thinks all this adulation ( Love Bud's piece) doesn't mean much come Saturday/Monday. It's asking for trouble.

BBzag
03-28-2017, 09:35 PM
Win or lose, at least the Zags are most likable by far: http://sports.yahoo.com/news/this-likeability-index-will-help-you-decide-who-to-root-for-in-the-final-four-185546221.html

ZagLawGrad
03-28-2017, 09:37 PM
I hope nobody's buying into all this. Reality bites. We've won nothing yet even though this FF is our first. It's a big deal but my superstitious self thinks all this adulation ( Love Bud's piece) doesn't mean much come Saturday/Monday. It's asking for trouble.

Our guys on the court will be ready. No way do they underestimate or look past S. Carolina.

Zagger
03-29-2017, 01:53 AM
Our guys on the court will be ready. No way do they underestimate or look past S. Carolina.
:agreed:

GoZags84
03-29-2017, 02:19 AM
Matt comes on at the 4:47 mark talking all things Zags and even looking ahead to a potential Championship matchup!


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q8DOthwrH_I&t=3s

GonzagasaurusFlex
03-29-2017, 02:39 AM
Great interview. Thanks for posting.

Santangelo mentioned a lot of his fellow former Zag players are going to Phoenix. Hope we see some pics and who's who list of former Zags there.

Rangerzag
03-29-2017, 03:42 AM
This from Boling in the News Tribune. Credits Few plus adds some known history:

http://www.thenewstribune.com/sports/spt-columns-blogs/dave-boling/article141113913.html

RenoZag
03-29-2017, 03:52 AM
http://www.si.com/college-basketball/2017/03/26/south-carolina-gamecocks-advance-final-four


Frank Martin, who left Kansas State in 2012 to coach a program that had not reached the NCAA tournament since 2004 and had not won a game in it since 1973, embraced his mother, whom he later called the strongest woman he’d ever met. On the other end of the floor his wife, Anya, told reporters about how even she had questioned Martin’s move to South Carolina but that she had never known him to steer clear of a challenge. The country singer Darius Rucker, an alumnus, meandered the court with moist eyes and recounted his comments to a friend in the stands during the game. “We’re in the Garden watching the Gamecocks play to go to the Final Four,” Rucker said. “If you’d have told me that 10 years ago, I’d have told you that you were on crack.”

Zagdawg
03-29-2017, 07:51 AM
http://sports.yahoo.com/news/the-unsung-secret-to-gonzagas-success-is-something-nobody-really-wants-152315953.html ( Nigel-Williams Goss' Recruitment )

http://www.wccsports.com/news/no-1-gonzaga-ready-for-final-four-debut-03-28-2017 (WCC Press Release )

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/28/gonzagas-williams-goss-adds-to-all-america-collect/ ( NWG 2nd Team AA Selection )

http://collegebasketball.nbcsports.com/2017/03/29/the-seven-biggest-final-four-storylines/ ( 7 Final Four Storylines )

RenoZag
03-29-2017, 08:00 AM
USA Today Sports: Oregon's Courtship of Few, Hiring of Altman

http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaab/2017/03/28/oregon-wanted-mark-few-got-dana-altman-everyone-happy-and-final-four/99740336/


Kilkenny finally met with Altman and realized he was in important ways a lot like Few. Altman had also built a powerhouse program at a small Jesuit school, this one in Omaha. Unlike Few, though, after 16 years Altman was ready to leave for the right opportunity. (Three years earlier, he’d taken the Arkansas job, only to back out a day later.)

When Kilkenny asked Altman why he would leave Omaha — noting both the Arkansas reversal and how similar Altman’s situation was to Few’s — Altman responded with an anecdote. Over a couple of years, Creighton’s coaches had built a very good relationship with a player in Florida. He was a perfect fit for Creighton. And then a Power Five school jumped in late and signed him.

“He said, ‘How do we compete?’ ” Kilkenny said, adding that Altman said Oregon provided a platform to compete at the highest levels. It was a very different message than he’d heard from so many others — including a close friend the year before.

***

CdAZagFan
03-29-2017, 08:32 AM
Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Bill Murray... And now Darius Rucker. Let's send em all home sad!

Zagger
03-29-2017, 08:59 AM
https://www.fanragsports.com/cbb/old-school-post-players-shape-2017-final-four-field/


Gonzaga returning Karnowski for a fifth season marked one of the key victories for Mark Few’s Zags in the 2016 offseason. The NCAA granting him a redshirt after career-threatening injury the season prior gave Gonzaga a central building block to this historic run.

Karnowski creates space for the Zags offense to operate, then takes away space on the other end of the floor by clogging the lane. South Carolina’s Silva can neutralize Karnowski’s size advantage by following the Roy Williams game plan for bigs: Make the opponent sit.

Getting to the free-throw line is a vital component of Silva’s interior game. He scores primarily at the rim with a variety of rim-rattling dunks, which begs opposing defenses to stop him. That leads to fouls, and foul shots.

Silva has shot 29 free throws in the NCAA Tournament. When he goes to the charity stripe for at least seven attempts, the Gamecocks are 7-2 on the season, and 6-0 since the calendar turned to 2017.

South Carolina can also throw multiple big-man looks at Karnowski with Kotsar. The 7-foot freshman came up huge against Florida with 12 points on 6-of-10 shooting. He showed off a mid-range jumper that can be used to pull the lane-eating Karnowski away from the rim.

Sounds a bit SC centered --- I'm itching to see some better reporting on the Zags.

Zagger
03-29-2017, 09:06 AM
Four X-Factor players in the Final Four who could spearhead championships
http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaab/2017/03/29/ncaa-tournament-final-four-march-madness-x-factor-players/99775130/


► Jordan Mathews, Gonzaga: Coach Mark Few said he'll use a handful of players to try to limit Thornwell's explosiveness against South Carolina on Saturday. Mathews will be one of those guys. His offense could be crucial as well. He's scored in double figures every game of the tournament, including 11 three-pointers. Any production he has takes the pressure off Williams-Goss and other catalysts.

Yes, or maybe Perkins or Melson :) .... or all 3 :)

Zagdawg
03-29-2017, 09:33 AM
What Gonzaga's first Final Four means to Mark Few's legacy: ESPN's Eamonn Brennan


http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/19022386/for-gonzaga-bulldogs-coach-mark-pressure-reach-final-four-was-never-there


Sure, sure, but really: Deep down, how much did Coach Few crave this?

"I think what he says, he means," Williams-Goss said. "He's a very straightforward guy. I honestly don't think, if we wouldn't have gotten there, that it would have killed him. It would have killed him as a competitor, but it wouldn't have killed him for any of the reasons that the outside world would made have made a big deal of about him not getting to the Final Four."

Zagdawg
03-29-2017, 09:36 AM
Gonzaga leads lucrative year for WCC hoops

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/28/gonzaga-leads-lucrative-year-for-wcc-hoops/

Zagdawg
03-29-2017, 09:39 AM
Enrollment, endowment soar with Gonzaga hoops success

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/29/enrollment-endowment-soar-with-gonzaga-hoops-succe/

Zags_Fanatic
03-29-2017, 10:05 AM
http://www.espn.com/blog/collegebasketballnation/post/_/id/119205/how-the-basketball-program-helped-gonzaga-university-flourish

Dana O' Neil: How basketball helped GU flourish

DixieZag
03-29-2017, 10:15 AM
http://www.espn.com/blog/collegebasketballnation/post/_/id/119205/how-the-basketball-program-helped-gonzaga-university-flourish

The value of all our degrees has risen exponentially.

One can go anywhere in the country and that "Gonzaga" on the resume or the diploma on the wall "means" something to anyone who sees it, and I am speaking academically as much as notoriety.

ZionZag
03-29-2017, 11:23 AM
http://www.msn.com/en-us/sports/ncaabk/gonzagas-twin-towers-dwarf-local-tv-reporter/ar-BByZ9cT?li=BBmkt5R&ocid=spartandhp

Zags_Fanatic
03-29-2017, 11:50 AM
Mike Roth Co-Architect of Hoops Success: http://collegebasketball.ap.org/article/gonzaga-athletic-director-co-architect-hoops-success

zag buddy
03-29-2017, 12:00 PM
https://www.si.com/college-basketball/2017/03/29/final-four-preview-north-carolina-oregon-gonzaga-south-carolina

Seth davis video final 4

RenoZag
03-29-2017, 01:00 PM
Thanks to all contributors for the great combination of stories & sources in this thread.

Zagdawg
03-29-2017, 03:14 PM
Don't Let No. 1 Seeding Fool You: Gonzaga Is America's Cinderella

Here is a good story around Gonzagas basketball history.

"Jeff Eisenberg: "Players would sign out sweats and jerseys at the beginning of every school year and turn them back in nine months later. Sneakers were the only gear players received new, but obtaining a fresh pair typically required proving the old ones had a hole in the bottom."

http://www.thepostgame.com/gonzaga-americas-cinderella-despite-no-1-seed

SLOZag
03-29-2017, 03:21 PM
http://sports.yahoo.com/photos/10-highest-paid-college-basketball-slideshow-wp-200455204/

DixieZag
03-29-2017, 03:45 PM
https://www.si.com/college-basketball/2017/03/29/final-four-preview-north-carolina-oregon-gonzaga-south-carolina

Seth davis video final 4

You know things are getting insane when Seth Davis picks us to win it all.

Thanks for posting

Zagceo
03-29-2017, 05:21 PM
How many remember or know Gino?

http://www.krem.com/sports/gonzaga/the-tale-of-gino-how-a-redshirt-sophomore-won-the-hearts-of-gonzaga-fans-in-1984/425365312

I do.

Zagdawg
03-29-2017, 05:46 PM
Przemek Karnowski’s biggest fan wished him luck on his way to the Final Four

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/29/przemek-karnowskis-biggest-fan-wished-him-luck-on-/

Zagdawg
03-29-2017, 06:02 PM
Gonzaga’s Mark Few reaching Final Four popular among coaching colleagues


http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/29/gonzagas-mark-few-reaching-final-four-popular-amon/

Zagdawg
03-29-2017, 06:07 PM
John Blanchette: Gonzaga assistant Donny Daniels knows not to take Final Four for granted

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/29/john-blanchette-gonzaga-assistant-donny-daniels-kn/

GonzagasaurusFlex
03-30-2017, 02:22 AM
Article posted today on ESPN.com "What Gonzaga's First Final Four Means to Mark Few's Legacy"
Nothing new but a nice read nonetheless:

http://http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/19022386 (http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/19022386)

Zagger
03-30-2017, 02:59 AM
This one will help quench the thirst of the Zag Koolaid drinkers among us. I'm now going to need some Kettle Corn :)
http://herosports.com/ncaa-tournament/gonzaga-championship-final-four-prediction-a7a7
Final Four Prediction: Gonzaga Wins it All

But they're not stopping at the Final Four. Here's why Gonzaga will go 2-0 this weekend and win the first championship in program history.
If ya need a 'feel good' kick in the posterior .... read on :)

TexasZagFan
03-30-2017, 05:11 AM
Caught most of the segment with Bilas on Mike & Mike this morning. Jay says Karno's definitely NBA ready, though he had concerns about Shem's back and the 82 game schedule.

He said the sure NBA prospect is Zach, and he wasn't sure that Zach's coming or going this year. I got the distinct impression that Jay thinks another year in college would be better for Zach's development.

Birddog
03-30-2017, 05:33 AM
This one will help quench the thirst of the Zag Koolaid drinkers among us. I'm now going to need some Kettle Corn :)
http://herosports.com/ncaa-tournament/gonzaga-championship-final-four-prediction-a7a7
Final Four Prediction: Gonzaga Wins it All

If ya need a 'feel good' kick in the posterior .... read on :)

A little perspective on that positive piece................
http://herosports.com/contributor/colt-kesselring

Birddog
03-30-2017, 05:48 AM
From Blanchettes piece.............

a gentleman in need worked his turf with a swatch of cardboard that read “Anything Helps” with the sign-off, “Go Zags.”
Priceless!

Zagger
03-30-2017, 05:50 AM
A little perspective on that positive piece................
http://herosports.com/contributor/colt-kesselring
:000tens:

Zags_Fanatic
03-30-2017, 07:23 AM
Bilas on Zags and Oregon:

http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/19034333/jay-bilas-gives-some-advice-need-know-gonzaga-oregon

Zags_Fanatic
03-30-2017, 07:24 AM
Stewart Mandel showing some love to Rui, sounds like a Japanese media circus at the tourney for him. http://www.foxsports.com/college-basketball/story/gonzaga-rui-hachimura-ncaa-tournament-final-four-japan-033017

Zags_Fanatic
03-30-2017, 07:28 AM
How Gonzaga Retooled on the Fly and has its Best Team Ever: http://www.ncaa.com/news/basketball-men/article/2017-03-27/final-four-how-gonzaga-retooled-fly-and-has-its-best-team

Zags_Fanatic
03-30-2017, 07:36 AM
Beautiful Sports Illustrated piece written by a reporter/fan: https://www.si.com/college-basketball/2017/03/30/gonzaga-basketball-final-four

RenoZag
03-30-2017, 07:44 AM
USA Today has a piece on the compensation perks some coaches receive for making the post-season, including travel packages for their family members ( Altman is highlighted )

http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaab/2017/03/29/final-four-college-basketball-coach-contract-perks-oregon-dana-altman/99733392/

The one that made my jaw drop a little related to KU coach Bill Self:

Self gets all of the athletics department’s royalty payments from the sale of in-store retail merchandise by KUStore.com during every June, including dorm sales during basketball camps.

Zags_Fanatic
03-30-2017, 08:05 AM
SI's final Power Rankings. Zags come in at #1 but there is some amazing analysis by Luke Winn (as always) of how tourney teams are defending Karnowski. Also gives Zags a 45% chance of winning the whole damn thing which is nice :)

https://www.si.com/college-basketball/2017/03/30/final-four-power-rankings-gonzaga-unc-oregon-south-carolina

Birddog
03-30-2017, 08:15 AM
Bilas on Zags and Oregon:

http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/19034333/jay-bilas-gives-some-advice-need-know-gonzaga-oregon

From the Bilastrator

. Enjoy Bill Walton: In addition to some fabulous basketball, you will hear the dulcet tones and delusional side trips of the great Bill Walton. In addition to wonderful insight into the complex strategy of the beautiful game, Walton will take you on a magic ride through his odd world, which borders on hallucination. You will gain a greater appreciation for all things West Coast, including basketball, and you will begin eating kale and liking it.

Zagger
03-30-2017, 09:12 AM
Bilas on Zags and Oregon:

http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/19034333/jay-bilas-gives-some-advice-need-know-gonzaga-oregon

That was really good. A must read :) It's good to see the full 8 rotation getting some press.

DixieZag
03-30-2017, 09:48 AM
That was really good. A must read :) It's good to see the full 8 rotation getting some press.

Ok - that really is a must read.

Bilas actually found some things that might even be new to us to consider (drag screens?) about our team, and definitely had some funny stuff - very complimentary - of Spokane and the backstory.

Nice work.

MDABE80
03-30-2017, 10:44 AM
http://www.foxsports.com/college-basketball/story/gonzaga-rui-hachimura-ncaa-tournament-final-four-japan-033017

I didn't know some of this info. He'll be a good one for us. Great kid.

Zagdawg
03-30-2017, 10:52 AM
Message to Students from President McCulloh – NCAA Tournament

http://www.gonzaga.edu/About/mcculloh/messages/2017/message_033017.asp

Zagdawg
03-30-2017, 11:04 AM
Lindsay Joy‏ @SWXLindsayJoy 2m2 minutes ago
Leon Rice & Bill Grier used to go to Final Fours w/Mark Few & sit in the nosebleeds. Few will have a much better view this year #GUFinalFour pic.twitter.com/0I6V4YolVS

https://twitter.com/SWXLindsayJoy/status/847524410693046272

SWZag
03-30-2017, 11:16 AM
Excellent article. Thanks for sharing!

The future is bright. It's refreshing a bit to have a player that is naïve about how big the NCAA tourney (college basketball) is. In my mind, they'd have a different perspective on basketball and their pursuits in life, even while being a basketball star. Not sure if that makes sense, or how it means to me.

Glad we have Rui!!

hockeyzag
03-30-2017, 11:31 AM
Alumni take pride in Gonzaga's rise.

http://www.sportsonearth.com/article/221544910/gonzaga-history-final-four-former-players-ncaa

TexasZagFan
03-30-2017, 11:57 AM
Message to Students from President McCulloh – NCAA Tournament

http://www.gonzaga.edu/About/mcculloh/messages/2017/message_033017.asp

Try as I might, I couldn't locate the part where he asks the students not to send death threats to referees. :cheers:

TexasZagFan
03-30-2017, 12:02 PM
http://www.foxsports.com/college-basketball/story/gonzaga-rui-hachimura-ncaa-tournament-final-four-japan-033017

I didn't know some of this info. He'll be a good one for us. Great kid.

Rui will play a large role next year. I don't follow mock draft charts much, but I've seen him as high as #8 for 2018. I love his enthusiasm and attitude (not to mention his silky smooth moves on the court).

VinnyZag
03-30-2017, 12:06 PM
Alumni take pride in Gonzaga's rise.

http://www.sportsonearth.com/article/221544910/gonzaga-history-final-four-former-players-ncaa

Jeremy Pargo is now just like the rest of us. He said this about the Xavier game:


"My fingers were still crossed with 30 seconds left," Pargo said.

RenoZag
03-30-2017, 12:09 PM
ESPN Profile of Coach Martin: http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/19034606/south-carolina-gamecocks-coach-frank-martin-even-sure-all-frank-martin-stories


"Yeah, this guy I keep reading and hearing about, he sounds like a really great guy, doesn't he?" Martin said Tuesday. "They're referring to this guy as 'passionate' and 'a master motivator.' Well, I know this can't possibly be about me, because a month ago what I was reading about me was what I've always read about me, that I was a yeller and a screamer and way too over the top. This guy here, though, he's really got it together, doesn't he? He sounds great. I want to read all I can about that guy."

RenoZag
03-30-2017, 12:15 PM
Alumni take pride in Gonzaga's rise.

http://www.sportsonearth.com/article/221544910/gonzaga-history-final-four-former-players-ncaa

That's one of the best reads in this thread, hockeyzag. Thanks. I loved this quote from Pargo:


"No matter what we do as Gonzaga, we just don't get the respect we deserve," Pargo said. "After we beat Xavier to the Final Four, you hear people talking about how our road was too easy. That's not our f---ing fault. We didn't help Xavier beat Arizona."

hockeyzag
03-30-2017, 12:52 PM
That's one of the best reads in this thread, hockeyzag. Thanks. I loved this quote from Pargo:

Glad you enjoyed it Reno!

Here's another from perhaps our most famous basketball alum from the past 20 seasons, Adam Morrison.

From one my favorites, Luke Winn: https://www.si.com/college-basketball/2017/03/30/adam-morrison-gonzaga-bulldogs-final-four?xid=socialflow_twitter_si

Zagger
03-30-2017, 02:03 PM
News Conference: Gonzaga Final Four Preview ....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FH1dLchx9-s&t=370s
Hope I got that link right ???

zagfan24
03-30-2017, 02:18 PM
Glad you enjoyed it Reno!

Here's another from perhaps our most famous basketball alum from the past 20 seasons, Adam Morrison.

From one my favorites, Luke Winn: https://www.si.com/college-basketball/2017/03/30/adam-morrison-gonzaga-bulldogs-final-four?xid=socialflow_twitter_si

That's about as great of an interview with Adam as I've seen. Without reading too deep into it, he sounds very happy both for the Zags and at a personal level. Thanks for sharing.

Birddog
03-30-2017, 02:38 PM
Good interview while it lasted but I felt like Toonces the cat took control and drove the car over a cliff to end it.

Zagdawg
03-30-2017, 02:54 PM
Kobe Bryant surprise appearance thrills Gonzaga players at Final Four

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/30/kobe-bryant-surprise-appearance-thrills-gonzaga-pl/

Zagdawg
03-30-2017, 03:43 PM
Sen. Maria Cantwell‏Verified account @SenatorCantwell 1h1 hour ago
In case anyone was still confused where Gonzaga @ZagMBB hails from, I took a moment today to set the record straight #UnitedWeZag #FinalFour

https://twitter.com/SenatorCantwell/status/847574763497304064

TheZagPhish
03-30-2017, 04:08 PM
Spokane’s D. Lish Hamburgers debuts new Karnowski burger (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/30/spokanes-d-lish-hamburgers-debuts-new-karnowski-bu/)


After seven patties layered with melty cheese and piled atop lettuce, tomato and special sauce – all of which is sandwiched between two buns – you just might not have room for the rest of the whiskers, or the skirt of crispy onions that surrounds the base of this one very serious burger.

The Karnowski is not for the faint of heart.

http://media.spokesman.com/photos/2017/03/30/dlish2_t1140.jpg

http://media.spokesman.com/photos/2017/03/30/dlish3_t1140.jpg

RenoZag
03-30-2017, 04:20 PM
Wasn't it Pargo who famously said you can always trust a cheeseburger ?

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-30-2017, 04:33 PM
Spokane’s D. Lish Hamburgers debuts new Karnowski burger (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/30/spokanes-d-lish-hamburgers-debuts-new-karnowski-bu/)



http://media.spokesman.com/photos/2017/03/30/dlish2_t1140.jpg

http://media.spokesman.com/photos/2017/03/30/dlish3_t1140.jpg

Not his favorite protein...needs chicken...just sayin'...

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-30-2017, 04:37 PM
Wasn't it Pargo who famously said you can always trust a cheeseburger ?

I thought that was Kobe Bryant?

http://www.foxnews.com/story/2002/05/22/episode-ii-attack-cowbells.html

This thread is coming full circle.

Radbooks
03-30-2017, 04:39 PM
Another former player... Lennie Parham weighs in from NJ

http://www.app.com/story/sports/college/2017/03/30/gonzaga-madness-nj-coach-loving-his-former-teams-rise/99729444/

Hoopaholic
03-30-2017, 04:41 PM
[QUOTE=Zagger;1309856]Four X-Factor players in the Final Four who could spearhead championships
http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaab/2017/03/29/ncaa-tournament-final-four-march-madness-x-factor-players/99775130/

AND contributions from Perkins and melson

Driving lanes will be open for weakside attack against SC.

Zagdawg
03-30-2017, 04:47 PM
Memory lane filled for ex-Gonzaga players, assistant coach

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/30/memory-lane-filled-for-ex-gonzaga-players-assistan/

Zagdawg
03-30-2017, 04:55 PM
Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers bets Congressman Joe Wilson a bottle of Merlot that Zags will win

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/30/rep-cathy-mcmorris-rodgers-bets-congressman-joe-wi/

Radbooks
03-30-2017, 05:51 PM
From Mike DeCourcy at The Sporting News and article about a longtime Zag fan:

http://www.sportingnews.com/ncaa-basketball/news/final-four-2017-ncaa-tournament-march-madness-gonzaga-bulldogs-mark-few-breakthrough/114rg4xo2503x17sqvhg5k29nx

RenoZag
03-30-2017, 05:54 PM
From Mike DeCourcy at The Sporting News and article about a longtime Zag fan:

http://www.sportingnews.com/ncaa-basketball/news/final-four-2017-ncaa-tournament-march-madness-gonzaga-bulldogs-mark-few-breakthrough/114rg4xo2503x17sqvhg5k29nx

Gee, I wonder who that mystery fan could be. . .

Zagdawg
03-30-2017, 06:05 PM
Gonzaga merch rolling off shelves as Bulldogs extend run

http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/19041160/2017-ncaa-final-four-gonzaga-bulldogs-triumphs-extend-purse-strings

Zagdawg
03-30-2017, 06:12 PM
Rem Bakamus‏Verified account @RemFifteen 3m3 minutes ago
Check out my Capital One Cam photo from the Final Four Fan Fest. @louis_8mura #FinalFour http://capitalonecam.com/finalfour2017/033017B210533 …

https://twitter.com/RemFifteen/status/847631730127142912

RenoZag
03-30-2017, 06:13 PM
Gonzaga merch rolling off shelves as Bulldogs extend run

http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/19041160/2017-ncaa-final-four-gonzaga-bulldogs-triumphs-extend-purse-strings


"Over the years, Gonzaga has become a perennial college basketball powerhouse," said Jack Boyle, Fanatics' president of merchandising.

Boyle said the school has seen an 800 percent spike in merchandise sales this week, the best among Final Four schools, and Washington has become the best-selling state overall for college basketball gear since the team clinched its berth Saturday.

I ordered HOW MANY Final Four key rings. . .?

Zagdawg
03-30-2017, 06:25 PM
NCAA March Madness‏Verified account @marchmadness 5m5 minutes ago
“We just feel really confident and at peace going in to these two games.”

#UnitedWeZag

https://twitter.com/marchmadness/status/847634575677308929

MontanaCoyote
03-30-2017, 06:25 PM
Spokane’s D. Lish Hamburgers debuts new Karnowski burger (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/30/spokanes-d-lish-hamburgers-debuts-new-karnowski-bu/)



http://media.spokesman.com/photos/2017/03/30/dlish2_t1140.jpg

http://media.spokesman.com/photos/2017/03/30/dlish3_t1140.jpg


Man, D 'Lish better go with The Karno Burger and The Rem Burger, 1/2 The Karno. Not everyone can eat a Mountain.

Zagdawg
03-30-2017, 06:28 PM
NCAA Tournament: Gonzaga first day in Phoenix

http://www.spokesman.com/galleries/2017/mar/30/ncaa-tournament-gonzaga-first-day-in-phoenix/

Zagdawg
03-30-2017, 07:17 PM
Former Gonzaga greats prepare you for the Zags FIRST #FinalFour

http://q13fox.com/2017/03/30/former-gonzaga-greats-prepare-you-for-the-zags-first-finalfour/

NumberCruncher
03-30-2017, 07:19 PM
Man, D 'Lish better go with The Karno Burger and The Rem Burger, 1/2 The Karno. Not everyone can eat a Mountain.

The Rem Burger would be on a man-bun, right?

Zagdawg
03-30-2017, 07:29 PM
Former Zags from Clark County to converge on Final Four

http://www.columbian.com/news/2017/mar/30/former-zags-from-clark-county-set-to-converge/

Zagdawg
03-30-2017, 07:31 PM
ryan.edwards Caption this...

https://www.instagram.com/p/BSSZQQhgJgx/

CDC84
03-30-2017, 07:38 PM
NCAA Tournament: Gonzaga first day in Phoenix

http://www.spokesman.com/galleries/2017/mar/30/ncaa-tournament-gonzaga-first-day-in-phoenix/

They even paint the locker room walls with Gonzaga logos and everything. What a mammoth production to put this thing on.

DixieZag
03-30-2017, 07:41 PM
It was inevitable that some kind of burger came out of this - and that Carno, I mean "Karno" looks pretty meaty. D-Lish doesn't mess around.

Now, if one of the taco places could step up, we'd really be cookin' with gas.

MontanaCoyote
03-30-2017, 07:56 PM
Man, D 'Lish better go with The Karno Burger and The Rem Burger, 1/2 The Karno. Not everyone can eat a Mountain.


The Rem Burger would be on a man-bun, right?

Of course!

Zagdawg
03-30-2017, 08:06 PM
Przemek Karnowski’s father making trip from Poland to watch son, Final Four

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/30/karnowskis-father-making-trip-from-poland-to-watch/

Zagdawg
03-30-2017, 08:08 PM
Gonzaga’s blueprint, from the WCC cellar to the Final Four, is incredible and irreplicable


http://collegebasketball.nbcsports.com/2017/03/30/gonzagas-blueprint-from-the-wcc-cellar-to-the-final-four-is-incredible-and-irreplicable/

Zagdawg
03-30-2017, 08:10 PM
John Blanchette: Final Four coaches Mark Few, Frank Martin rooted in humility

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/30/semifinal-coaches-mark-few-frank-martin-rooted-in-/

RenoZag
03-30-2017, 08:20 PM
ryan.edwards Caption this...

https://www.instagram.com/p/BSSZQQhgJgx/

Edwards and REM look like they are re-enacting a scene from the first Star Wars movie, with Ryan subbing for Darth Vader and REM portraying Death Star flunky. . .

Zagdawg
03-30-2017, 08:21 PM
Killian Tillie’s mom, brother travel to Phoenix to attend Final Four

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/30/tillies-mom-brother-travel-to-phoenix-to-attend-fi/

RenoZag
03-30-2017, 08:23 PM
They even paint the locker room walls with Gonzaga logos and everything. What a mammoth production to put this thing on.

High speed, wide width digital printing has come a long way in the last few years. Very cool

Goshzagit
03-30-2017, 08:29 PM
Gee, I wonder who that mystery fan could be. . .

Hint?

caduceus
03-30-2017, 10:18 PM
From Mike DeCourcy at The Sporting News and article about a longtime Zag fan:

http://www.sportingnews.com/ncaa-basketball/news/final-four-2017-ncaa-tournament-march-madness-gonzaga-bulldogs-mark-few-breakthrough/114rg4xo2503x17sqvhg5k29nx

OK, I might as well do this here after reading this article. You'll thank me later if you don't have a similar setup. The Sporting News has 4... yes FOUR sticky headers (and footers) obscuring the actual article at both the top and bottom. Sticky headers are those immovable areas (usually at the top) on a web page when you scroll through an article. This has been the trend with sports and news sites in the past year and it is absolutely ANNOYING because it obscures the article with a bunch of irrelevant stuff. They sometimes take up a third of the screen! Sticky videos in the sidebar as well that don't scroll is another example -- and so on.

Well, pals, here's your antidote to this crap. It's called "Kill Sticky Headers"! A simple bookmarklet that will disappear all that garbage while you're reading an article. It's super easy (just one click) once you set it up. Here's the code and instructions:



1. Highlight and copy the following text in the box below (drag your mouse to the right if you can't see it all, or triple click on the text, then copy):


javascript:(function()%7B(function%20()%20%7Bvar%2 0i%2C%20elements%20%3D%20document.querySelectorAll ('body%20*')%3Bfor%20(i%20%3D%200%3B%20i%20%3C%20e lements.length%3B%20i%2B%2B)%20%7Bif%20(getCompute dStyle(elements%5Bi%5D).position%20%3D%3D%3D%20'fi xed')%20%7Belements%5Bi%5D.parentNode.removeChild( elements%5Bi%5D)%3B%7D%7D%7D)()%7D)()

2. Create a new bookmark in your browser (any browser). Name it "Kill Sticky Headers" in the title.

3. Paste the copied text above into the the URL (web location) of the bookmark. For easy access, you can put this bookmark on the bookmarks bar at the top of your browser, so it's always visible.



Done!

When you see a news article that's covered in crappy sticky headers that don't move when you scroll, just click on that bookmarklet, and watch them instantly disappear. If you reload the page, they'll come back. It's only temporary!

Best browser configuration item I've ever had. I hate that stuff. Hope it helps somebody. PM me or post here if you need help.

If you want to just test it out first, just copy the above code text, and paste it in the URL (web location) area of your browser, and hit return while you're viewing a news site with sticky headers.

TheZagPhish
03-30-2017, 10:31 PM
Best browser configuration item I've ever had. I hate that stuff. Hope it helps somebody.

Ha, ha! Nice. Thank you!

Zagceo
03-31-2017, 01:22 AM
https://www.theplayerstribune.com/frank-martin-university-of-south-carolina-basketball/

Frank Martin's Letter to Gamecocks nation

Zagger
03-31-2017, 03:14 AM
http://www.espn.com/espn/feature/story/_/id/18985386/from-tree-tipoff
Wow! That's really cool. Quite the production - the floor and the Web feature about it. I'd want to be reading this if I were playing on that floor. Thanks ESPN for making this story!

Zagger
03-31-2017, 03:50 AM
A good one, with video clips, on the results of the Zags recruiting ....
http://www.ncaa.com/news/basketball-men/article/2017-03-27/final-four-how-gonzaga-retooled-fly-and-has-its-best-team

The Vegas connection ....
https://lasvegassun.com/news/2017/mar/30/gonzaga-basketballs-run-to-final-four-fueled-by-tw/

A 99 year old fan ....
http://komonews.com/news/local/99-year-old-gonzaga-fan-gearing-up-for-final-four

Olynyk's recruiting impact ....
http://nesn.com/2017/03/how-celtics-kelly-olynyk-helped-gonzaga-reach-first-ever-final-four/

Collins and the NBA, or not ....
http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2701014-final-four-is-gonzaga-freshmans-big-chance-to-show-hes-nba-ready-or-not

Western mettle ....
http://tucson.com/sports/arizonawildcats/basketball/oregon-gonzaga-ready-to-show-western-mettle-at-phoenix-s/article_9019aaa3-1c11-55d5-89a0-02fc02f64bfb.html

Dang! So much news and so little time to read it all. I've learned a few things this week about these Zags that I didn't know though - worth the time spent. One more day until GU and O get to show their stuff!

RenoZag
03-31-2017, 04:42 AM
Hint?

He wanted to remain anonymous in the linked article. I respect his wishes. It's up to him to spill the beans. Or not.

RenoZag
03-31-2017, 05:05 AM
Zagger, thanks for those links. They went well with the first cup of coffee,

The B/R article on Collins was my favorite. Fresh quotes, so to speak. Sounds like he's really focused on the present. That bodes well for the Zags on Saturday.

RenoZag
03-31-2017, 05:18 AM
Dakich picked GU to beat SC on Sportscenter this morning. . .bandwagon is getting pretty full.

TexasZagFan
03-31-2017, 05:38 AM
It was inevitable that some kind of burger came out of this - and that Carno, I mean "Karno" looks pretty meaty. D-Lish doesn't mess around.

Now, if one of the taco places could step up, we'd really be cookin' with gas.

I thought Karno's favorite protein was chicken. These guys aren't happy about it:

http://thefw.com/files/2012/05/evil-cows-21.jpg?w=600&h=0&zc=1&s=0&a=t&q=89

Zagdawg
03-31-2017, 05:55 AM
East Central-ex’s hoop transformation has him Final Four bound ( Nice feature write up on Jeremy Jones )

http://www.expressnews.com/sports/colleges/article/East-Central-ex-s-hoop-transformation-has-him-11039539.php?t=ab024357da0ca81438&cmpid=twitter-premium

Zagdawg
03-31-2017, 05:57 AM
Final Four: Experienced teams make up the field in Phoenix


http://www.ncaa.com/news/basketball-men/article/2017-03-30/final-four-experienced-teams-make-field-phoenix?cid=ncaammsocial_tw_sf66895660

Zagdawg
03-31-2017, 06:01 AM
Gonzaga center Przemek Karnowski, ‘a 7-foot mountain,’ a big reason for Bulldogs’ success

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/31/paul-turner-przemek-karnowski-a-7-foot-mountain-a-/

Zagdawg
03-31-2017, 06:29 AM
To know Gonzaga's Mark Few is to know 'Fewy'

http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaab/2017/03/30/gonzaga-mark-few-coach-final-four/99832088/

RenoZag
03-31-2017, 06:45 AM
Mornin', Zagdawg

From the Spokesman-Review: A feature w/ Ken Pomeroy and why he likes the Zags:

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/30/ken-pomeroy-explains-why-his-stats-model-likes-gon/


“They’re a tough team to rate,” Pomeroy noted. “Any team that kind of dominates a lower-level league is difficult to rate because what we know is that they’re much better than those teams in the league, but how they compare to top level teams is more difficult to ascertain.”

The schedule structure of college basketball also makes high-performing midmajors like GU difficult for statistical models to profile. GU began the year ranked No. 22 in Pomeroy’s rankings, based on its returning players, what his models knew about transfers like Nigel Williams-Goss and Johnathan Williams’ past performances, and the expectations for recruits like Zach Collins.

“I don’t go in and tweak the system at all,” Pomeroy said. “It’s based on what similar situations have happened previously. It assesses the value of a transfer based on where they played before, and recruits based on the impact they had coming in. All those evaluations are based on history.”

Despite a 23-point win in the opener, the Zags actually fell to No. 28 in Pomeroy’s model after their first game because the model expected a larger win against Utah Valley.

The Zags quickly rose in Pomeroy’s model by beating highly regarded teams like Arizona, Florida and Saint Mary’s, attaining the top spot after pasting Santa Clara on Jan. 19.

The trouble for Pomeroy’s is that those teams have improved – Arizona was without star player Allonzo Trier – but the level of GU’s competition waned significantly once the Zags rose to the top.

RenoZag
03-31-2017, 06:53 AM
To know Gonzaga's Mark Few is to know 'Fewy'

http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaab/2017/03/30/gonzaga-mark-few-coach-final-four/99832088/

This account from Turiaf was heart-warming. Old news to our fans, but special nonetheless:


The night before the procedure, Few arrived with his entire staff and took Turiaf and Turiaf’s mother to dinner. He said their relationship continued to develop after Turiaf's 10-year NBA career ended in 2015 and that they’ve stayed in regular contact as Gonzaga has made its run to the Final Four.

“I realized the depth of the love he had for me when they came to see me the day prior to my surgery,’’ said Turiaf, a 6-10 center and French native. “That was a powerful moment when I saw all of the coaching staff.’’

Suddenly, Turiaf said, he had an epiphany about Few and Gonzaga basketball. The coach had created a culture that embodied the one-for-all, all-for-one motto — one final Fewy good story.

“That’s the secret sauce of what Gonzaga is all about,’’ he said. “That’s what makes us a special place.’’

DixieZag
03-31-2017, 06:56 AM
Dakich picked GU to beat SC on Sportscenter this morning. . .bandwagon is getting pretty full.

That cheap suit balloon head. He had nothing good to say about us, nothing, and our easy path through "no power 5 conferences" (yes, he specifically referenced conferences) prior to the start of the tournament. Now, he has us up against a "power 5 conference" but says we'll win????

Weak man.

TexasZagFan
03-31-2017, 07:45 AM
That cheap suit balloon head. He had nothing good to say about us, nothing, and our easy path through "no power 5 conferences" (yes, he specifically referenced conferences) prior to the start of the tournament. Now, he has us up against a "power 5 conference" but says we'll win????

Weak man.

I can only imagine the twitter jibes these East Coast/Power 5 "analysts" have received over the past couple of weeks. At least one gentleman on TBS was honest after the Xavier game, admitting he was wrong about the Zags.

Especially Dakich, I wonder how he reacted when IU made Archie Miller their next coach, and not an "Indiana guy" like Steve Alford?

Zag4Hire
03-31-2017, 07:56 AM
That is so cool Shem's dad is flying in for FF. Let's go to the live feed of father and son.

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/30/karnowskis-father-making-trip-from-poland-to-watch/

http://www.indiewire.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/game-of-thrones-season-4-the-mountain-and-the-viper.png?w=681

http://images.hellogiggles.com/uploads/2016/06/20053624/giant.jpg

Birddog
03-31-2017, 08:09 AM
I can only imagine the twitter jibes these East Coast/Power 5 "analysts" have received over the past couple of weeks. At least one gentleman on TBS was honest after the Xavier game, admitting he was wrong about the Zags.

Especially Dakich, I wonder how he reacted when IU made Archie Miller their next coach, and not an "Indiana guy" like Steve Alford?

I know Jay Williams on ESPN did that.

RenoZag
03-31-2017, 08:16 AM
Adam Morrison posted an essay on The Player's Tribune:

https://www.theplayerstribune.com/adam-morrison-gonzaga-basketball-final-four/

Chunks of it are quotes from the Luke Winn SI article, but he expands quite a bit on some of his thoughts. Thought it was a good read

GonzagasaurusFlex
03-31-2017, 08:21 AM
Adam Morrison posted an essay on The Player's Tribune:

https://www.theplayerstribune.com/adam-morrison-gonzaga-basketball-final-four/

Chunks of it are quotes from the Luke Winn SI article, but he expands quite a bit on some of his thoughts. Thought it was a good read

Thanks Reno. I thought it was the best hoops article I've ever read. Love Ammo

RenoZag
03-31-2017, 08:25 AM
Thanks Reno. I thought it was the best hoops article I've ever read. Love Ammo

Nothing like ten years of living to add perspective. He was Gonzaga's first "rock star" and no one else has come close IMO, to that since.

TexasZagFan
03-31-2017, 08:36 AM
Nothing like ten years of living to add perspective. He was Gonzaga's first "rock star" and no one else has come close IMO, to that since.

Simply awesome, Reno!

Zagdawg
03-31-2017, 08:38 AM
Finally, Sindarius Thornwell is known outside of South Carolina

http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/19023814/south-carolina-gamecocks-ncaa-tournament-final-four-run-fueled-state-star-sindarius-thornwell

former1dog
03-31-2017, 08:39 AM
Dakich picked GU to beat SC on Sportscenter this morning. . .bandwagon is getting pretty full.

OH crap, how do we get teh Dakich stench off of us now... :vomit-smiley-007:

Zagger
03-31-2017, 08:55 AM
Thanks Reno. I thought it was the best hoops article I've ever read. Love Ammo

Wow. Just Wow! And of course, Go Zags!
Thanks Adam!

CDC84
03-31-2017, 09:04 AM
TSN: Final Four 2017: Mark Few's Gonzaga miracle won't make him a saint, but maybe a Hall of Famer

http://www.sportingnews.com/ncaa-basketball/news/gonzaga-final-four-mark-few-march-madness-ncaa-tournament-spokane-washington-oregon/1cxayjkt994dt102ti1xovqf9l


Thing is, everyone knows Gonzaga is here now. The Zags are a big deal. They represent the single most remarkable transformation of a college athletic program since Knute Rockne turned a Catholic college in Northern Indiana into one of sports’ most recognizable names. No one saw Notre Dame coming, either.

Zagdawg
03-31-2017, 11:42 AM
Keith Osso‏ @OssoKXLY 28m28 minutes ago
Dennis Patchin interview with @msantangelo13 on the eve of @ZagMBB first Final Four. #GoZags #kxly

https://twitter.com/OssoKXLY/status/847889762111209472

RenoZag
03-31-2017, 11:43 AM
ESPN scribe Myron Medcalf does some keyboard daydreaming and paints a scenario for the game tomorrow:

http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/19040703/what-see-happen-gonzaga-bulldogs-south-carolina-gamecocks-oregon-ducks-north-carolina-tar-heels-final-four-happens

Zagdawg
03-31-2017, 12:11 PM
https://twitter.com/CBSSportsNet/status/847898167655800832

coolhandzag
03-31-2017, 12:15 PM
Cool video I found on the Bellingham Herald. Media rep asks some of the team what a "Gamecock" is. I suppose it might change from region to region, but if you spend any reasonable volume of time on Molokai you know that Matthews is pretty close to dead on the money.

Took my wife a couple weeks to accept the rationale as to why our the house behind where we were staying had a couple hundred roosters caged up. "Roosters don't lay eggs. That's dumb." She says. My response. They sure as hell don't . Hahaha. She figured it out after a while.

My apologizes if the link does not work.......

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9XS-0mOZVJo

CDC84
03-31-2017, 12:23 PM
It's truly amazing the amount of attention and hype that surrounds the final four. And all it really is are four teams who were lucky enough to win four straight games in a basketball tournament. I mean, for me its the greatest sporting event on the planet, but the whole thing is beyond crazy when you really think about it.

Birddog
03-31-2017, 12:53 PM
It's truly amazing the amount of attention and hype that surrounds the final four. And all it really is are four teams who were lucky enough to win four straight games in a basketball tournament. I mean, for me its the greatest sporting event on the planet, but the whole thing is beyond crazy when you really think about it.

Yepper, my feeling too. Our team is savoring the moment though while remaining dialed in.

sittingon50
03-31-2017, 01:03 PM
Adam Morrison posted an essay on The Player's Tribune:

https://www.theplayerstribune.com/adam-morrison-gonzaga-basketball-final-four/

Chunks of it are quotes from the Luke Winn SI article, but he expands quite a bit on some of his thoughts. Thought it was a good read

Thanks for that, Reno. Really enjoyed it.

Zagger
03-31-2017, 01:58 PM
Not quite sure how new this story is (when it went to 'press'). I knew a bit about Karnowski's back ordeal but not this much ....

http://www.cbssports.com/college-basketball/news/gonzaga-big-mans-presence-is-bigger-than-his-big-beard-or-big-game-and-theyre-large/

Birddog
03-31-2017, 02:46 PM
Not quite sure how new this story is (when it went to 'press'). I knew a bit about Karnowski's back ordeal but not this much ....

http://www.cbssports.com/college-basketball/news/gonzaga-big-mans-presence-is-bigger-than-his-big-beard-or-big-game-and-theyre-large/

Wow, i didn't know those details either, that was bizarre. What a story.

RenoZag
03-31-2017, 03:04 PM
https://twitter.com/CBSSportsNet/status/847898167655800832

Some very well-known names on those rosters

CDC84
03-31-2017, 03:06 PM
Final Four 2017: South Carolina, most shocking NCAA champion ever? For Gamecocks, it's game on

An article about why, if SC wins the title, it could be the most shocking surprise in the history of the NCAA tournament....even greater than the Villanova/Georgetown upset in the 80's:

http://www.sportingnews.com/ncaa-basketball/news/final-four-south-carolina-basketball-gonzaga-ncaa-history-sindarius-thornwell-frank-martin/xmtzw64iloia1idev6rf88cxo


•The Gamecocks almost certainly would have the worst KenPom team ranking of any champion since 2002. The lowest to date was Connecticut in 2014, at No. 15. USC is ranked 25th. Eight of the past 15 champions finished ranked No. 1.
•The Gamecocks would have the worst ranking in either offensive or defensive efficiency since Ken Pomeroy began gathering stats on teams’ points per possession. Every champion since then but one has ranked in the top 20 in both offense and defense. The exception is, again, the 2014 Connecticut team, which was 39th in offensive efficiency. South Carolina would have to play and win two more games to fulfill this hypothetical, so their offensive ranking could rise some, but it’s currently 103rd.
•The Gamecocks would become only the fourth champion ever with double-digit losses on the season. Kansas in 1988 (27-11), Villanova in 1985 (25-10) and N.C. State in 1983 (26-10) are the others. USC would be 28-10, and at least would have the best winning percentage of that quartet.
•The Gamecocks, who were the East Region No. 7 seed, would have one of the lowest tournament seeds of any champion in the expanded bracket era. Villanova was a No. 8 in 1985. Connecticut was a No. 7 in 2014.


Why would South Carolina be a bigger shock than Kansas ’88? Two words: Danny Manning. Bigger than Villanova ’85? The Wildcats had two first-round picks on that team, Eddie Pinckney and Harold Pressley. N.C. State ’83? After Dereck Whittenburg’s injured wrist healed, the Wolfpack won the ACC Tournament that year over Ralph Sampson’s Virginia and Michael Jordan’s North Carolina. The Gamecocks lost their first SEC Tournament game to an 18-13 Alabama team. By 11 points.

MontanaCoyote
03-31-2017, 03:49 PM
Wow, i didn't know those details either, that was bizarre. What a story.

"Without him, Gonzaga's not in Arizona." And Karno has to be Comeback Player of the Year, don't ya think?

Maybe Gonzaga won't retire his jersey (I know there are lots of opinions on that) but if they don't, they need to do something just short of that to honor and remember him. Like, duplicating that life sized image of Karno inside the Zag's locker room in AZ (picture with Spokesman Review story, Zag's 1st Day in Arizona) and put it where everyone can see it and take pictures of The Mountain.

ZagNative
03-31-2017, 05:01 PM
Andy Katz video interview of Karnowski (http://www.espn.com/video/clip?id=19047300), followed by interview of SC's Thornwell.

ZagNative
03-31-2017, 05:10 PM
Zags vs. Gamecocks ESPN video (http://www.espn.com/video/clip/_/id/19042916)

Zagdawg
03-31-2017, 06:09 PM
Mark Few and Andy Katz take a hike

http://www.espn.com/video/clip?id=19048906

Zagdawg
03-31-2017, 06:18 PM
Gonzaga defense faces another tall order in stopping South Carolina’s Sindarius Thornwell

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/31/gonzaga-defense-faces-another-tall-task-in-stoppin/

Zagdawg
03-31-2017, 06:35 PM
https://twitter.com/SWXSamAdams/status/848000387407724544

Sam Adams with a feature on the "Red" Squad

Zagdawg
03-31-2017, 06:37 PM
Gonzaga’s Przemek Karnowski overcame staph infection in a bulging disk that threatened his life


http://collegebasketball.nbcsports.com/2017/03/31/gonzagas-przemek-karnowski-overcame-staph-infection-in-a-bulging-disk-that-threatened-his-life/

Zags_Fanatic
03-31-2017, 07:21 PM
Nigel Williams-Goss wins the Elite 90 award for the player with the top GPA in the Final Four

http://www.ncaa.org/about/resources/media-center/news/gonzaga-s-williams-goss-earns-elite-90-award

RenoZag
03-31-2017, 07:52 PM
http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/31/jerry-krause-has-watched-gonzagas-quest-for-excell/

Jim Meehan feature story on former Zags Coach (and Director of Basketball Ops ) Jerry Krause

RenoZag
03-31-2017, 07:55 PM
http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/31/john-blanchette-bulldogs-can-count-on-nigel-willia/

John Blanchette on the reliable Nigel Williams-Goss


When the Gonzaga season began, the most remarkable aspect of the Zags was their uncanny balance – seven different leading scorers in the first six games, and a new cumulative leader after each. Five players would score 20 points or more at least once; two more in GU’s eight-man rotation had games of 17 or better.

It’s still what makes solving the Zags like finishing a 1,000-piece picture puzzle of Dalmatians – that and a premier wheelman.

So while the Bulldogs were taking their early, sometimes halting steps in the tournament, the one real red flag was the struggle Williams-Goss was having on the offensive end. He was 12 of 42 those first three games. Turnovers were up; assists were down.

But his confidence?

“Sky high,” Williams-Goss insisted. “As long as we’re winning games, I feel I’m doing something right.”

This is very alpha-doggish, too – and the reason why Gonzaga’s coaching staff deflected those numbers as no great concern.

“If that’s all he brought to the game, maybe you’d worry about it,” assistant Brian Michaelson said. “If he’s a specialist who has to make shots to be successful and he’s not making shots, then it can be hard to play him. But he’s an elite defensive player, a guy who gets you into your offense, who plays with toughness and competitiveness. You’re not going to worry about one phase of his game.”

RenoZag
03-31-2017, 08:44 PM
Adam Kilgore, Washington Post: https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/sports/wp/2017/03/30/with-the-final-four-finally-here-gonzaga-looks-back-on-an-amazing-journey/?tid=magnet&utm_term=.d458aae5091d


Few helms a program with every trapping of a powerhouse. Players gathered Wednesday night for what was ostensibly a film session, with a Nike representative as a guest speaker. The Nike official said a few words, and then informed the Bulldogs somebody else had come and wished to say a few words. Into the room walked Kobe Bryant.

“It was probably the best time I ever had in my life,” junior guard Silas Melson said.

Former Gonzaga players and coaches starting pouring into Greater Phoenix later in the evening. Roth schmoozed with them. When he saw Monson, he told him, “Dan, thanks for helping us get this started.”

Nobody could have envisioned what Gonzaga has become, back when the players flew commercial and the bulldog wore a funny hat.

“For some people, that was a really long time ago,” Roth said. “For some others of us, it seems just like yesterday.”

Kilgore also wrote a feature on Dan Monson: https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/sports/wp/2017/03/31/dan-monson-the-man-who-built-gonzaga-basketball-still-has-no-regrets-about-leaving/?tid=magnet&utm_term=.c65163950b28


“It hasn’t been with any regret,” Monson said. “I know I made the right decision for my family. I was going to make as much money in two years at Minnesota as I would in 15 years at Gonzaga. You don’t ever look back. To me, it’s been a tremendous sense of pride to see what Gonzaga has done.”

When Monson arrived at Gonzaga, the program showed no inkling of ascension. Dan Fitzgerald, the coach Monson and Few worked under together, would tell them to stop wasting the school’s time and money when they recruited a player whom Pac-10 schools also showed interest in. Monson saw his point. It only made Few want to recruit those players more.

“He wouldn’t accept where it was at and expected it to be better,” Monson said. “Mark would talk kids into coming we had no business getting. He had a way of making people feel, ‘You’re crazy to go to the University of Washington when you could go to Gonzaga.’ ”

After Monson took over for Fitzgerald, Gonzaga dominated the West Coast Conference for two seasons. In the second, they finally broke through and won the league tournament. And then, magic: The Bulldogs, as a 10 seed, toppled Minnesota, Stanford and Florida to reach the Elite Eight. Opportunity rushed at Monson. He saw a program at its peak, and worried he may not have a better chance to improve his career.

RenoZag
03-31-2017, 08:56 PM
Sindarius Thornwell: "I think Gonzaga is really nervous right now."

Per Jeff Goodman, via Twitter

Zags11
03-31-2017, 11:00 PM
It was splendid. Anyone know how to link it here if on YouTube?

ZagNative
03-31-2017, 11:04 PM
I saw that too. It was great.

Transcript: http://www.espnfrontrow.com/2017/03/oregongonzaga-title-game-possibility-presents-conundrum-sportscenters-everett/

Zags11
03-31-2017, 11:22 PM
I saw that too. It was great.

Transcript: http://www.espnfrontrow.com/2017/03/oregongonzaga-title-game-possibility-presents-conundrum-sportscenters-everett/

Thank you!

TheZagPhish
03-31-2017, 11:49 PM
Sindarius Thornwell: "I think Gonzaga is really nervous right now."

Per Jeff Goodman, via Twitter

New York Post, Zach Braziller
Gonzaga not buying Gamecocks star’s ‘really nervous’ dig (http://nypost.com/2017/04/01/gonzaga-not-buying-gamecocks-stars-really-nervous-dig/)


The comment drew mostly eye rolls from Gonzaga, which didn’t lash out in response. The closest to a retort came from junior forward Johnathan Williams, the Bulldogs’ defensive stopper who likely will see a lot of Thornwell.

“I’m not nervous at all,” Williams said. “I’ve been sleeping like a baby. We all have our own opinions. I guess that’s what motivates them.”

Akzag
03-31-2017, 11:56 PM
Not to break the flow of the thread, but I just had a few comments;

First, thanks for all that contributed to this thread by tracking down all of the articles and clips. All very much appreciated.

Second, we have seen over the years how the media coverage increases round by round and this first, Final Four has not disappointed. Which segues to ...

Third, for many on this board, including myself, the school Gonzaga means more to me than the team Gonzaga. It is not lost on me what the success of the basketball program has meant to the well-being of the school. So thank you ... to all that support the board, that support the team, that supports the school.

Akzag
04-01-2017, 12:03 AM
I can't find a link to it ( yet ) but Neil Everett ( of SportsCenter's "Gonzaga - America's Team" ) just had a great piece on Friday's SC LA version. We've known he grew up in Spokane, and went to Oregon, but the piece showed his even deeper roots at both schools.


Found it from the other thread ...

http://www.espnfrontrow.com/2017/03/oregongonzaga-title-game-possibility-presents-conundrum-sportscenters-everett/

Akzag
04-01-2017, 12:08 AM
The "Camping Trip" - http://www.espn.com/blog/collegebasketballnation/post/_/id/119216/how-a-bad-camping-trip-turned-gonzaga-into-a-final-four-team

Zagger
04-01-2017, 02:11 AM
Wow. I hope it's a win-win situation for Neil tonight so that it can be a win-win situation for him on Monday too :)

12 hours to go!

IdahoTJR
04-01-2017, 04:27 AM
For those of us who don't live in the Spokane broadcast area I have been watching these all week on YouTube.

March 27

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-xNEfv2nLoE

March 28

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FgOv1KlaXCE

March 29

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yS8c0wc-IaU

March 30

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_8xcB7ZveCU

March 31

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1se1jSrny_M

Zagcity
04-01-2017, 05:07 AM
Thanks, much appreciated

RenoZag
04-01-2017, 05:50 AM
http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/apr/01/gonzaga-chaplain-keeps-spiritual-perspective-and-v/

Short feature on Team Chaplain, Fr. Case.


He thinks GU will prevail Saturday. “You know what the saying is, ‘Go Zags!’ It’s not ‘Go home, Zags!’ ”

Though officially retired and known to call himself a “vice president with nothing to do,” Case has a few other duties at Gonzaga. But right now, he’s focused on cheering for some talented young men he has come to admire.

After the interview was over and the photos had been taken, I asked him if he had any nicknames.

He cracked a thin smile and said, “None that you could print.”

DixieZag
04-01-2017, 06:34 AM
All times PDST

On CBS:

11:00 - Noon: Bill Raftery & Friends Talking Hoops ( Overview of 2016-17 Season )
Noon - 1:00: At The Final Four ( Gumbel, Davis, Smith Preview the FF )
1:00 - 3:00: The Final Four Show

Wow, rivals the Super Bowl in pre-game hype.

Zagdawg
04-01-2017, 07:23 AM
Gonzaga, South Carolina try to find shooting range inside football stadium

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/31/gonzaga-south-carolina-try-to-find-shooting-range-/

Zagdawg
04-01-2017, 07:26 AM
Gonzaga chaplain keeps spiritual perspective – and vows no technical foul

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/apr/01/gonzaga-chaplain-keeps-spiritual-perspective-and-v/

Zagdawg
04-01-2017, 07:32 AM
NCAA TOURNAMENT NBA DRAFT PROSPECT GUIDE: FINAL FOUR

http://www.draftexpress.com/article/ncaa-tournament-nba-draft-prospect-guide-final-four-5846/

Zagdawg
04-01-2017, 07:45 AM
Shout out to former Kennel Board President Sara Wendland for this awesome video!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vFlm-T8ZYw0&feature=youtu.be

DixieZag
04-01-2017, 07:53 AM
Gonzaga, South Carolina try to find shooting range inside football stadium

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/31/gonzaga-south-carolina-try-to-find-shooting-range-/

Ugg, hate seeing those 3pt numbers from Houston.

Good thing this team doesn't need to hit a single three to win. Worry about FTs

Zagger
04-01-2017, 08:10 AM
I love this line in ..... http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/19040865/viewer-guide-saturday-ncaa-tournament-final-four-national-semifinals


Gonzaga went from cute and cuddly mid-major team to: Oh my goodness! They're all 8-feet tall and dunking!

6 hours until game time! :)

Zagdawg
04-01-2017, 08:13 AM
Gonzaga’s bench players put in the work, wait for their opportunity

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/31/gonzagas-bench-players-put-in-the-work-wait-for-th/

RenoZag
04-01-2017, 08:16 AM
http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/31/gonzaga-knows-they-can-rely-on-johnathan-williams-/

Jim Meehan: Gonzaga knows it can rely on JWIII. . .


The Zags have had a number of defensive stoppers over the years. Eric McClellan (2016), Gary Bell Jr. (2015), Mike Hart (2013), Robert Sacre (2012), Erroll Knight (2005), Mark Spink (2001) and Mike Nilson (2000) were WCC defensive players of the year.

“Mike is probably the only thing comparable, but he didn’t have quite the versatility as J3,” Few said.

Williams limited South Dakota State’s Mike Daum, the nation’s second-leading scorer, to 17 points, eight less than his average. Williams also played a key role in holding Bluiett, who averaged 25 points in three NCAA games, to 10.

“I just tried to make life hard for him, just like the South Dakota State kid,” Williams said. “You can’t stop everything but if you make life hard for them, that’s even better.”

DixieZag
04-01-2017, 08:28 AM
I love this line in ..... http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/19040865/viewer-guide-saturday-ncaa-tournament-final-four-national-semifinals



6 hours until game time! :)


At Gonzaga, Few's critics often cited his team's postseason struggles, although many exaggerate how many times he actually had a real chance to pursue a national title. Well, now he's in the Final Four, where his team is favored.

So, now, if we don't win it all, they'll say he choked. So, might as well win it all.

Zagdawg
04-01-2017, 08:39 AM
After 18 years, Gonzaga—and one longtime follower—can finally celebrate a Final Four berth

https://www.si.com/college-basketball/2017/03/30/gonzaga-basketball-final-four

Martin Centre Mad Man
04-01-2017, 08:46 AM
So, now, if we don't win it all, they'll say he choked. So, might as well win it all.

And if we win, they'll say our path was too easy...so it doesn't count as much as a North Carolina or Duke championship.

;)

CdAZagFan
04-01-2017, 09:20 AM
Interesting interview with Ken Pomeroy about the Zags. He mentioned that his defensive statistics do take into account the strength of schedule, but Zags have been beating people by so many (especially in conference) that at some point his logarithms break - so it is hard to tell if they really are the best defense in the country. Either way, he said they are definitely one of the top teams.

RenoZag
04-01-2017, 09:26 AM
All times PDST

On CBS:

11:00 - Noon: Bill Raftery & Friends Talking Hoops ( Overview of 2016-17 Season )
Noon - 1:00: At The Final Four ( Gumbel, Davis, Smith Preview the FF )
1:00 - 3:00: The Final Four Show

Maybe the mystery feature on Karnowski will be one of the canned pieces we see today. Fingers crossed.

On ESPNews:

11:00 - 1:00 : "Road To the Championship" 30 minute highlight capsules of the Final Four Teams. The Zags will be featured in the 11:30 - Noon time slot.

Beat the Gamecocks !

RenoZag
04-01-2017, 09:28 AM
After 18 years, Gonzaga—and one longtime follower—can finally celebrate a Final Four berth

https://www.si.com/college-basketball/2017/03/30/gonzaga-basketball-final-four

Good read, Zagdawg.


Through it all, the Zags have remained remarkably down to the earth. Spokane is a big (OK, good-sized) city with a small town feel, full of some of the friendliest people you can imagine. Sometimes Few & Co. are comically laid back. In 2013, when Gonzaga finally ascended to the top of the Associated Press poll for the first time in program history, Few was unavailable for comment. He was busy fly-fishing.

And yet, the haters still came out, talking all that nonsense about Gonzaga being in a weak conference (clearly those people do not ever watch Saint Mary’s play) and making snide comments about GU never getting to the Final Four (that they should have gone only once, according to seeds, doesn’t seem to matter). I’ve been convinced since December that this could finally be the Zags’ year, a belief that was reinforced after a gritty win over West “Press” Virginia in the Sweet 16.

Zagdawg
04-01-2017, 09:41 AM
David Worlock‏ @DavidWorlock 1h1 hour ago
Tonight's #FinalFour games will be played with an open roof at University of Phoenix Stadium.

Zagdawg
04-01-2017, 09:49 AM
https://twitter.com/SWXRightNow/status/847953239467151360

Zagdawg
04-01-2017, 09:54 AM
https://twitter.com/patrickerickson/status/847912022125576193

Zagdawg
04-01-2017, 09:56 AM
https://twitter.com/TheWtv/status/847930298008350722

RenoZag
04-01-2017, 10:34 AM
David Worlock‏ @DavidWorlock 1h1 hour ago
Tonight's #FinalFour games will be played with an open roof at University of Phoenix Stadium.

April Fooools

Zagdawg
04-01-2017, 10:40 AM
NBA legend John Stockton discusses Gonzaga's rise to the Final Four

https://www.si.com/college-basketball/2017/03/30/john-stockton-gonzaga-final-four

Zags_Fanatic
04-01-2017, 10:50 AM
I saw the transcript but not the video for Neil Everett piece, here it is in case you missed it:

http://www.espn.com/video/clip?id=19052257

katman50
04-01-2017, 11:02 AM
I cut the cable cord years ago. But just signed up for CBS-All Access. $5.95 for a free one week trial. Can cancel before the week is up. Watching CBS Live, at the Final Four, which started just now at noon time. Am able to watch all of this on my big Mac desk top. A good way to go. Great quality.

Zagdawg
04-01-2017, 11:31 AM
Not Throwing Away Their Shot: Hype video for Gonzaga’s Historic 2016-2017 Championship Quest

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/31/hype-video-gonzaga-is-not-throwing-away-its-shot/

Zagdawg
04-01-2017, 12:01 PM
Saint Mary's College‏ @stmarysca 57s58 seconds ago
We can't believe we're saying this but... good luck to @ZagMBB today. We've got your back. #omgsmc #WCCHoops #FinalFour

Zags_Fanatic
04-01-2017, 12:27 PM
The Ringer on Nigel Williams-Goss: https://theringer.com/nigel-williams-goss-gonzaga-bulldogs-final-four-5d9dff1c0dca

Zag4Hire
04-01-2017, 01:05 PM
Just another reason GU is blessed with Few:


Evan Closky‏Verified account @KREMEvan Mar 29
More
It was important for Few to have Leon Rice and Bill Grier in town for the Final Four. The assistants reunion is only so many people! #Zags

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C8IM5x3UMAAHGlL.jpg

Zagdawg
04-01-2017, 01:06 PM
https://twitter.com/SWXLindsayJoy/status/848279897436962816

Zagdawg
04-01-2017, 01:10 PM
John Blanchette: Bulldogs can count on Nigel Williams-Goss, big numbers or not

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/31/john-blanchette-bulldogs-can-count-on-nigel-willia/

MJ777
04-01-2017, 01:40 PM
I saw the transcript but not the video for Neil Everett piece, here it is in case you missed it:

http://www.espn.com/video/clip?id=19052257

That was Awesome.

RenoZag
04-01-2017, 05:03 PM
Eammon Brennan, ESPN http://www.espn.com/blog/collegebasketballnation/post/_/id/119229/survival-of-south-carolina-proves-again-nothing-gonzaga-cant-do




Gonzaga's first Final Four in program history will be followed by its first national championship game on Monday, the product of a 77-73 win over the Gamecocks that proved, yet again, there is nothing this team can't do.

The Zags scored their 77 points in 69 possessions, a tidy rate in and of itself but one made all the more impressive given they faced college basketball's stingiest non-Zags defense this season. Gonzaga had more paint points in the first 30 minutes of the game than Carolina had allowed per game (22.5) in the tournament to date.

caduceus
04-02-2017, 01:57 AM
How a ‘reasonable, mitigated’ risk and Gonzaga’s Rockne led the Zags to the Final Four « IUPUI Sports Capital Journalism Program (http://liberalarts.iupui.edu/sportsjournalism/how-a-reasonable-mitigated-risk-and-gonzagas-rockne-led-the-zags-to-the-final-four/)


Spitzer and Few met at a coffee house outside the McCarthey’s office to lay out the details for the meeting.

“Okay, Mark,” Spitzer remembered saying. “What we’re asking for is a million dollars for this athletic endowment…”

Spitzer heard a response he did not expect.

“I’m not so sure about the athletic endowment,” he remembered hearing Few say.

“Well, what do you want?”

“An arena.”

“An arena? Like a brand new arena?”

“Yeah…”

“Well, that could cost like $30 million. Why do you need that?”

Few, understanding the enormity of his request, shared his vision for Gonzaga basketball.

Birddog
04-03-2017, 07:15 AM
This will likely piss you off a little.
http://www.foxsports.com/college-basketball/gallery/north-carolina-gonzaga-predictions-picks-tar-heels-bulldogs-time-odds-040317


Seemingly every time Gonzaga meets up with a blue blood, a loss follows. The Zags have dropped tourney games to Michigan State, Arizona (x2), UCLA, North Carolina, Syracuse, Ohio State, Duke and Syracuse. Their best wins are against St. John's (No. 2 seed), Virginia (No. 5 seed), Indiana (No. 6 seed), UCLA (No. 11 seed) and Utah (No. 3 seed). It's a good thing this year's draw was almost as simple as can be. Other than having to face No. 4 West Virginia in the Sweet 16, Gonzaga's other opponents were seeded No. 16, No. 8, No. 11 and No. 7. The only thing Gonzaga has proved thus far is that it can avoid the tournament upsets that have plagued them. Beating a top team is next on the list.

He conveniently forgot the victory over #2 seed Stanford in '99

TexasZagFan
04-03-2017, 08:40 AM
This will likely piss you off a little.
http://www.foxsports.com/college-basketball/gallery/north-carolina-gonzaga-predictions-picks-tar-heels-bulldogs-time-odds-040317



He conveniently forgot the victory over #2 seed Stanford in '99

When I saw the author's name, I just started laughing.

sittingon50
04-03-2017, 02:30 PM
Should the Zags prevail, we need to be all over this ####ole tomorrow.

MDABE80
04-03-2017, 02:43 PM
Latest and last computer prediction from Las Vegas.
https://www.aol.com/article/news/2017/04/03/vegas-computer-score-prediction-ncaa-championship-gonzaga-unc/22024167/

caduceus
04-03-2017, 02:54 PM
Empire State building lit up with both teams' colors:

http://www.newsobserver.com/sports/college/acc/unc/k16trx/picture142455834/ALTERNATES/FREE_960/image003


http://www.newsobserver.com/sports/college/acc/unc/article142455844.html