PDA

View Full Version : Congratulations to Coach Few & 2016-17 Zags



BobZag
03-25-2017, 04:12 PM
First Final Four in Gonzaga history.

Well done.

uZiGiZaG
03-25-2017, 04:17 PM
First Final Four in Gonzaga history.

Well done.

Honestly never thought I'd ever see my Zags.. or Mark Few more specifically make a Final Four run..

I knew from Day 1 this was the team to do it.. I knew we had all the pieces. But I still thought this team would get into March and choke somehow someway.. esepcially after we choked hard at the chance of a Perfect Season against BYU @ HOME.

But.. that loss really helped IMO.. and we still haven't played as good as we were since, and we've struggled in this tournament .. but I gotta say.. shout out to Mark Few for finally proving me wrong. I'll eat my words, no doubt.

Now, let's hope this team wasn't just focused on getting to a FF Bc that's what "Mark Few couldn't do" and don't sh*t the bed in Phoenix Bc we are clearly gonna be the better team whether it's Florida (who we already beat) or South Carolina..

We made a FF.. now let's go prove that we really are the best team in the country this year and to win the whole thing.

Monkey? What monkey? Zag Up. #JustWin

And yes.. to all of you who said I was too critical of Few.. go ahead .. let me hear it.. I am eating my words.. best words I've ever eaten!!!

MickMick
03-25-2017, 04:18 PM
Woot!!!!!!

seacatfan
03-25-2017, 04:21 PM
Left no doubts today. Williams and Williams-Goss were both fantastic. Congrats to coaching staff, players and everybody else associated w/ GU.

kdaleb
03-25-2017, 04:24 PM
Tears.

Bocco
03-25-2017, 04:25 PM
Congrats Coach, and congrats to the team, Job well done, and we are all proud of what you have done.

GPGUgrad
03-25-2017, 04:25 PM
Congratulations!!!

Final Four!

WBM
03-25-2017, 04:25 PM
Here's hoping Few shows up to the presser with a little monkey figurine in front of him on the table.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

U Zig, I Zag
03-25-2017, 04:25 PM
So awesome.

gonzagafan62
03-25-2017, 04:25 PM
Holy mother of ONIONS!!!!! FINALLY!!!!!!

Go damn zags!!!

Off to Phoenix!!!!

zagcheer78
03-25-2017, 04:26 PM
Tears.

Same here

john montana
03-25-2017, 04:26 PM
Congrats! Go zags!

CdAZagFan
03-25-2017, 04:30 PM
Tears of Joy.... Who would have thought at the beginning of the season. And then late in the season, it was as if they didn't get to the Final Four that this season would be a disappointment. For this group to hold it together and get the job done - just AMAZING!

MBAGael
03-25-2017, 04:30 PM
Great job, very deserving. Only two more games to win, bring it home!!!!!

72Prep
03-25-2017, 04:31 PM
So awesome and happy for all Zags everywhere.

Final Four baby!

MickMick
03-25-2017, 04:32 PM
Several of us have said the following words for well over a decade.

"If you keep consistently punching a ticket, eventually things will fall your way."

I won't take credit for that statement. Many of us have written it here.

jazzdelmar
03-25-2017, 04:34 PM
Josh was GREAT.

DixieZag
03-25-2017, 04:35 PM
Coach always said he only wanted them to bring their best when their best was needed - they did.

Of course they missed bunnies, FTs still trouble. But, in this tournament, they played their best game when needed to go to the big one. That's impressive.

I see no reason why they won't bring their best game to the next one in Phoenix. Hey, gotta make the trip, might as well go down with the idea "why not us?" and win the whole thing? Not many teams get the chance - I don't know what will happen, I do know they will not waste the chance.

Cavebear33
03-25-2017, 04:35 PM
Congrats to Coach Few and the Zags. Into the final four for the first time and their performance was a knockout. Zag Nation is dancing in the streets.

MontanaCoyote
03-25-2017, 04:36 PM
So awesome and happy for all Zags everywhere.

Final Four baby!

So Happy. And got to admit especially for Karno. Going to miss him so much. Five years trying for him. Finally made it!

Just_An_Old_Zag
03-25-2017, 04:37 PM
Gonzaga..The combat boot still fits

DixieZag
03-25-2017, 04:38 PM
Great job, very deserving. Only two more games to win, bring it home!!!!!

Thank you, Gael.

One thing great about the WCC - it wouldn't have mattered which team was in this game (except maybe one), rivalries aside, when your brothers face "bad guys" you cheer for your brother. Only WE get to kick each other around, no one else does!

Birddog
03-25-2017, 04:38 PM
Fr Tony said it best: "To be continued"!

Nevtelen
03-25-2017, 04:38 PM
What a win this was. I honestly never thought I'd see it in my lifetime. Wow. Congrats to the whole team - they really work well together and just keep rolling.

Hoopaholic
03-25-2017, 04:38 PM
Josh was GREAT.

Yep after the 1 minute jitters

Binary Zag
03-25-2017, 04:40 PM
An amazing journey and an outstanding game! I'm literally in tears! Congratulations to Coach Few, his staff, and the amazing Zags! GO ZAGS!

BobZag
03-25-2017, 04:40 PM
Few drew up a master game plan. Nosferatu had no answers.

10 Piece Bucket
03-25-2017, 04:42 PM
A dream within a dream!!!!!

ZagLawGrad
03-25-2017, 04:43 PM
Extraordinary effort. WOW!!

Vanzagger
03-25-2017, 04:44 PM
Great stuff against amazing teams! 2 to go

MTZag03
03-25-2017, 04:47 PM
Gonzaga..The combat boot still fits

Yes it does!

DixieZag
03-25-2017, 04:47 PM
Impressive? We played so hard to be up 10 at the half, and really no reason to believe that we'd stay at that pace, that hot - just hoping to hold off the run.

Instead, we won the second half by an even greater margin. That's new, for this team, and a great sign going into the next weekend.

Huge congrats to Coach - you earned this.

ZagMan in Philly
03-25-2017, 04:48 PM
Tears.

+100000000 tears and tears of joy!
So proud to be a Zag.
Congrats to coach Few and his entire staff. Zagnation is partying!!

Sarenyon
03-25-2017, 04:49 PM
Congrats to Coach Few! Congrats to the best Zag team ever! And, congratulations to ALL of us who believe and cheer for our Zags!

Zag365
03-25-2017, 04:50 PM
You knew this had to happen a some point. So happy for Coach Few, all the assistants, and the current and former players. The tiresome slur by our detractors regarding our supposedly overrated record just disappeared from the conversation. Now let's get to NC game and put the next one to rest as well.

zagfan24
03-25-2017, 04:51 PM
Couldn't be prouder. Couldn't be happier. This group of young men, and the coaches leading then, are as impressive off the court as they are on it. This is so incredibly well deserved.

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-25-2017, 04:51 PM
Finally...

CdAZagFan
03-25-2017, 04:52 PM
Amazing... So happy for this team, Coach Few and GU as a whole (and for GU Nation)

NotoriousZ
03-25-2017, 04:53 PM
https://media.giphy.com/media/Gf3fU0qPtI6uk/giphy.gif

zagbeliever
03-25-2017, 04:53 PM
So proud of this team and the previous teams who helped lead us here!!!������. Go ZAGS!!!

NumberCruncher
03-25-2017, 04:53 PM
Josh was GREAT.

Thanks, jazz.

kitzbuel
03-25-2017, 04:55 PM
Few drew up a master game plan. Nosferatu had no answers.
X had nothing in the last 10 minutes.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

Radbooks
03-25-2017, 04:58 PM
Tears of joy here. Wow, after all these years it is just such a cool, cool thing. Wish I could be there in person!

Bogozags
03-25-2017, 05:04 PM
What a wonderful ride and only two more games!

Two great things happened today...GU goes to its FIRST Final Four and I broke 80 for the first time in 30 years!

Final4Zag
03-25-2017, 05:04 PM
A Great game!!! Congrats to Coach Few and Team!!! Keep it going.....

scrooner
03-25-2017, 05:05 PM
https://scontent-sjc2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-8/17435995_1356816714356585_439507280221826342_o.jpg ?oh=46ed0322339930d726ee4e97b621ebf8&oe=5960E635

Stache
03-25-2017, 05:05 PM
Wow. Wow. Wow.

Well, now we are there, may as well win it?!!!!

So we'll deserved.

Birddog
03-25-2017, 05:07 PM
What a wonderful ride and only two more games!

Two great things happened today...GU goes to its FIRST Final Four and I broke 80 for the first time in 30 years!

Happy Birthday, it always takes 30 or more years to get there!

MickMick
03-25-2017, 05:10 PM
Josh was GREAT.

Love his growth as a player. The most improved player on the team.

strikenowhere
03-25-2017, 05:16 PM
Holy hell this is the best sporting day in my life!

MileHighZag
03-25-2017, 05:17 PM
Players make plays! I've been a doubter, but the Prince of Park Hill played to the name today.

bballbeachbum
03-25-2017, 05:24 PM
Love his growth as a player. The most improved player on the team.

even just his rebuilding since the BYU game, how he's responded to that, his adjusted approach offensively and heart that showed up huge today in the biggest game of his life after a shaky start that might have broken the belief of weaker
Long time coming for Few and Gonzaga basketball. Earned it, deserve it, unique sports story of excellence happening in Spokane
Congratulations

hockeyzag
03-25-2017, 05:27 PM
YOU GUYS! We're going to the Final Four! ahhhhhhhh I'm so happy!!!

TacomaZAG
03-25-2017, 05:30 PM
First off, congrats to Coach Few, the staff, the players, and all of ZAG nation.

I have followed ZAG basketball since 1971, and this is the first year I have been out of the country during March Madness. Coincidence that the team makes it to the FF this year, I think not!!

Maybe the athletic dept. needs to send me away every year.......

Seriously, this is definitely NOT the year to be away, impossible to watch the game live here in NZ.

Go ZAGS

DixieZag
03-25-2017, 05:33 PM
even just his rebuilding since the BYU game, how he's responded to that, his adjusted approach offensively and heart that showed up huge today in the biggest game of his life after a shaky start that might have broken the belief of weaker
Long time coming for Few and Gonzaga basketball. Earned it, deserve it, unique sports story of excellence happening in Spokane
Congratulations

He did something very important. Early in the game, after a frustrating turnover, he turned around a buried 2 threes, which I think set the tone that this was going to be a good shooting game for everyone and they best get aggressive with them. I loved it - couldn't have happened to a more deserving kid, went through every range of emotion this year.

JPtheBeasta
03-25-2017, 05:39 PM
After all of the time we've put in, I'm happy to share this moment with all of you other Zag crazies on the board. What an awesome moment. Josh hasn't hit a 3-pointer since last month, it feels like, and tonight the only one that could slow him down was the broom girl. It's only fitting that NWG had to do some sweeping of his own this year. Karno's now famous barbed-wire beard has more games left in it. Few's monkey, or dog, or cat or whatever it was is finally off his back. JW3 had the game of his life and it couldn't have happened to a better person.

I need tacos.

MDABE80
03-25-2017, 05:40 PM
Josh played his best game. Came of age! Nigel, Karno,......whole team effort.

Zagger
03-25-2017, 05:41 PM
Congrats Zags! Past and Present! Zag Nation too!

ZagLawGrad
03-25-2017, 05:42 PM
After all of the time we've put in, I'm happy to share this moment with all of you other Zag crazies on the board. What an awesome moment. Josh hasn't hit a 3-pointer since last month, it feels like, and tonight the only one that could slow him down was the broom girl. It's only fitting that NWG had to do some sweeping of his own this year. Karno's now famous barbed-wire beard has more games left in it. Few's monkey, or dog, or cat or whatever it was is finally off his back. JW3 had the game of his life and it couldn't have happened to a better person.

I need tacos.

:cheers::cheers:

bballbeachbum
03-25-2017, 05:43 PM
He did something very important. Early in the game, after a frustrating turnover, he turned around a buried 2 threes, which I think set the tone that this was going to be a good shooting game for everyone and they best get aggressive with them. I loved it - couldn't have happened to a more deserving kid, went through every range of emotion this year.

stepped up and drained a couple of shots, big heart. can't just fake that. many here have been noticing he's been playing increasingly well game to game, putting pieces of it back together; limit turnovers at all costs and defend your position seem the top 2 pieces he's focused on since BYU, my opinion, and he's been doing it well, that foundation

JPtheBeasta
03-25-2017, 05:53 PM
:cheers::cheers:

:cheers::cheers::cheers:

ZaggyStardust
03-25-2017, 06:17 PM
So proud of our guys! I too shed some tears!

Go Zags!

former1dog
03-25-2017, 06:30 PM
Josh was GREAT.

Holy cow, it's a cold day in hell tonight! 😀

Congrats the Coach Few and the entire team, as well as all the former players! Congrats to all of us also, we've been rooting on and living and dying with this team forever and this feels so good.

Rosco
03-25-2017, 06:48 PM
Congrats to you Bobzag! Been a long road from the days of ZagsHoops board. Hope to cross paths again one of these days. Great day for Zags Nation. What a wonderful university and community to be a small part of.

sittingon50
03-25-2017, 06:58 PM
A Rosco sighting!

In the Pantheon of Kennel Clubbers!

jazzdelmar
03-25-2017, 07:08 PM
Thanks, jazz.

No POG on the board today I guess,,,,it would be JW of course with Goss in 2d....but after a shaky start, Josh was superb.....even dodging that floor cleaning gal.....

FuManShoes
03-25-2017, 07:23 PM
It's hard to come up with the words. "Congratulations" and "thank you" seem insufficient. The players and coaches present and past deserved this so much, but so did fans who've endured highs and lows and defended our team in the face of haters and no doubt will continue to even when the Zags win it all. But yeah, mostly it's "thank you" - thank you Zags for believing in yourselves, playing your game, developing a perennial contender and delivering on all that promise and hype. Thank you coach Few and Tommy and Brian and Donny and Ken and Roth and maestro Travis and the university and the guy donating the plane and the boosters and all the players who paved the way and trusted the process and program, particularly recruits playing a million miles from home and transfers leaving the familiar for the transformational. This is yours and they can never take it away.

sittingon50
03-25-2017, 07:23 PM
You the MAN, Jazz.

Zagaholic
03-25-2017, 09:35 PM
What a day to be a Zag!

I wasn't sure this day would ever come.

Thank you Coach Few for having the vision to see what is possible...

PNW Zagfan
03-25-2017, 09:52 PM
Been a lurker for a long time, a more recent poster, but I am thrilled that my 100th post is this...

CONGRATULATIONS ZAGS!!!

Thanks for all your hard work and what you bring to Spokane. Good luck in the Final Four!

hoopaddict
03-25-2017, 10:14 PM
I usually prefer to read and rarely post, but I'm taking the time tonight to congratulate Coach Few and his coaching staff, the university and especially the players on making their first Final Four. Couldn't be happier for you guys. We've still got work to do. Go get 'em.

bigblahla
03-25-2017, 10:49 PM
Josh was GREAT.

agree 100%....a TEAM now feared by all....even if they don't show it they know it...the Zags be a hill to steep to climb....the journey just keeps getting better and better...kudos to all, the TEAM, Coach & Staff....all Zag fans... and all those fans now hopping on the train cause it's full speed ahead to Phoenix....thank you too BZ for everything you've given to this forum....

Zags are on a mission and when it's accomplished we're gonna all need shades :cool:

Go!! Zags!!!

rennis
03-25-2017, 11:13 PM
The best team had their best game at the best time possible. The program was over due for this. I have always been a proud Bulldog but this is gratifying beyond words. Thanks to everyone who made this possible.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

MJ777
03-25-2017, 11:26 PM
Congrats to the Zags on your Final Four! Thanks for a fairly stress free victory.

Robzagnut
03-26-2017, 04:50 AM
Congratulations! Absolutely on Cloud 9.

GU played both halves really really well. It was a thing of beauty and it left no doubt in anyone's mind that they deserve to be in the FINAL FOUR (love saying those words).

And congrats to Xavier for a fine season. You owe it to yourself to watch the Xavier press conference. What a classy coach. He had nothing but excellent things to say about GU and Coach Few.

Zaga
03-26-2017, 06:13 AM
So happy for the program and all the players who shared in the success over the years at Gonzaga. What a day to be Zag Fan!

jim77
03-26-2017, 07:38 AM
Congrats to the 2016-2017 ZAGS! To all those that came before this group...enjoy it... your the reason that GU basketball is where its at today. BRAVO!

Zag79
03-26-2017, 10:44 PM
First Final Four in Gonzaga history.

Well done.

They did it the right way, with the right people. Mark Few. The university. The players, past and present. The fans. Spokane. This is for everyone, I'm going to soak it in that's for damn sure... Surreal still, yet I almost expected it with this team early on. Simply an unbelievable job by the fellas, with still more work to do. Go Zags!

CanadianZagsFan
03-27-2017, 01:53 AM
I had more faith about F4 than many basketball fans I know, even Zags fan that used to be my basketball boss. He just would often say I don't see it ever happening.

I had my doubts, but I do a lot of research on GU recruiting/know how to evaluate guys from coaching HS ball up in Canada etc. I was like "this is not a traditional Mark Few recruit class/freshmen class.... this team could translate well to tournament and if all clicks during the season maybe 2-3 losses .. that would lock up 1/2 seed in West etc "

After a couple months or even less of the season... I KNEW this was best GU squad I've seen (fan since 99 1st Rd game). I just finally got Mark Few's answer this week.

Final Four !!!!:000tens:

Side note : I'm so pumped for future of Rui and Norvell after this F4 run. The ONLY , the ONLY part that got me down this year was Norvell not being part of this squad ON the floor :( Knee injury or not, just kinda bummed me out. I think he's F4 calibre talent and will likely be one of my fav Zags of all time. I got Michael Redd vibe out of him (one of my fav NBA players of all time growing up).

siliconzag
03-27-2017, 06:20 AM
I never thought I would see the day. For the most devoted and patient fans I have ever known (with the possible exception of those who were Cub fans), you deserve it. If the Cubs became World Champions, the Zags can be NCAA champs too. I am hoping for an Oregon Gonzaga showdown, an all Northwest final. Another coach who deserves a lot of credit is Dana Altman. As a frequent Few critic, I was happy to see that he let the boys fire away on Xavier. It is the only way to beat a zone like they had, and Mary Mother of Mercy did they ever reward him with their 3 point shooting. I am overjoyed for all of the fans, alumni and most especially the players.

Zags11
03-27-2017, 07:49 AM
This is awesome. Just surreal moment.

Hooray4Daye&Gray
03-27-2017, 08:31 AM
Lifetime's worth of satisfaction. The first one will always be the best one. Although now that we've broke through, I think the stage is set for us to have even more success landing prized transfers and recruits.

Mark Few is the greatest coach of all time. In my eyes, anyway.