PDA

View Full Version : What WVU fans are saying about our team



thespywhozaggedme
03-20-2017, 09:21 AM
Positive assist/turnover rates on Gonzaga's team =) big Karn is even 16% assist 16% TO
Perkins
17% assist
24% turnovers
Matthews
8% assists
9% turnovers
Collins
4% assist
19% turnovers
Williams
6% assist
16% turnovers
They only have a couple capable passers and ball handlers...

http://www.scout.com/college/west-virginia/forums/2509-bgn-basketball/15468991-williams-goss-and-alberts-are-the-only-two


Kenpom rankings of wins- Arizona (18), Iowa St. (19), Florida (3), Tennessee (60), Washington (167), Northwestern (37)

Average Margin of Victory - 9.5 (A 27 point victory against Washington inflates that number a bit, but still impressive.)

Turnovers per game - 13.5 (I like this number a lot. If Tennessee can turn them over 20 times, you would have to think we could do the same.)

Here's the stat that really makes me smile..
In these 6 games Gonzaga on average gave up 17.6 offensive boards. To put that into perspective, WVU is 3rd in the country in offensive rebounding and we average 12.7 per game. They gave up 29 offensive boards to Washington. Northwestern was the ONLY P5 school they beat on the offensive glass. So we struggle on the defensive glass but they're not very good at offensive rebounding and we excel on the offensive boards and they're terrible at defending it.

The Zags are a very good team and we certainly have our hands full, but the more I look at the stats, Im really starting to like this match up. Our strength is their weakness.

http://www.scout.com/college/west-virginia/forums/2509-bgn-basketball/15468688-gonzaga-vs-p5

tinfoilzag
03-20-2017, 11:01 AM
The WV poster is correct in his statement "Our strength is their weakness"

WV pressure turns you over a lot, and they crash the offensive boards. These tactics put other teams on the free throw line a lot and leaves shooters with wide open looks.

To beat WV: take care of the ball, make your free throws, block out, and make open looks. GU CAN do all these things but for whatever reason hasn't done them well in the last 6 games.

ZagLawGrad
03-20-2017, 11:13 AM
The WV poster is correct in his statement "Our strength is their weakness"

WV pressure turns you over a lot, and they crash the offensive boards. These tactics put other teams on the free throw line a lot and leaves shooters with wide open looks.

To beat WV: take care of the ball, make your free throws, block out, and make open looks. GU CAN do all these things but for whatever reason hasn't done them well in the last 6 games.

Yes, make your damn FTs

CDC84
03-20-2017, 12:22 PM
For 6 games? The performance vs. SMC in the WCC title game was great. GU won by 18. They shot 50% from the field, 57% from three, 80% from the foul line. Outrebounded SMC by 3. Just 9 TO's. Held the Gaels to 36.8% shooting and 56 points. They've played better games, but if they play that good against WVU, they will win.

CDC84
03-20-2017, 12:45 PM
I hope they are behaving themselves over there and realize that Few has beaten Huggins and the famous Press Virginia 3x in a row, with two of the games being blow outs. Doesn't mean the Mountaineers can't win this time.

tinfoilzag
03-20-2017, 01:25 PM
For 6 games? The performance vs. SMC in the WCC title game was great. GU won by 18. They shot 50% from the field, 57% from three, 80% from the foul line. Outrebounded SMC by 3. Just 9 TO's. Held the Gaels to 36.8% shooting and 56 points. They've played better games, but if they play that good against WVU, they will win.

I should of said average of 6 games. Over the last 6 games we are averaging

FG 48.35%
3pt 32.22%
FT 67.92%
TO 11.5

Without the excellent St. Mary's game, the numbers are really ugly.

MountaineerLegion
03-20-2017, 01:34 PM
I hope they are behaving themselves over there and realize that Few has beaten Huggins and the famous Press Virginia 3x in a row, with two of the games being blow outs. Doesn't mean the Mountaineers can't win this time.

I looked for the years we played but couldn't find the data. Can you help? When you say your coach has beaten "Press Virginia" you know we've only played this style for the last three years right? Doesn't make the 0-3 any easier to accept.

U Zig, I Zag
03-20-2017, 01:41 PM
I looked for the years we played but couldn't find the data. Can you help? When you say your coach has beaten "Press Virginia" you know we've only played this style for the last three years right? Doesn't make the 0-3 any easier to accept.

For awhile now the Zags will get matched up with a solid P5 program in the first or second game and the idea is that GU won't know what do to when playing 'real athletes', etc. Huggins has always played aggressive and perhaps not this particular defensive format, but Huggy players being in your face isn't a new idea. Not sure how this will play out this time, but I don't think Few will be surprised in any way.

FWIW, Zags have always liked Huggins and his teams. He seems like the type that might rub some the wrong way, but you generally find universal respect around here.

CDC84
03-20-2017, 01:56 PM
I looked for the years we played but couldn't find the data. Can you help? When you say your coach has beaten "Press Virginia" you know we've only played this style for the last three years right? Doesn't make the 0-3 any easier to accept.

Definitely aware of it. I just find Press Virginia to be kind of a cool way of describing your team. Heck, Huggins used to resort to 1-3-1 zone defenses and anything else to get a win. That's part of what completely screwed up Kentucky in the 2010 elite 8 game. It still pains me every time I think of Da'Sean Butler and his injury at the final 4. The scene of Huggins hugging him on the floor was one of the most moving moments in the history of the NCAA tourney. Last I heard Butler was playing in Germany.

My sister is a West Virginia grad. Welcome to the board MountaineerLegion.

MountaineerLegion
03-20-2017, 02:04 PM
For awhile now the Zags will get matched up with a solid P5 program in the first or second game and the idea is that GU won't know what do to when playing 'real athletes', etc. Huggins has always played aggressive and perhaps not this particular defensive format, but Huggy players being in your face isn't a new idea. Not sure how this will play out this time, but I don't think Few will be surprised in any way.

FWIW, Zags have always liked Huggins and his teams. He seems like the type that might rub some the wrong way, but you generally find universal respect around here.

I'd have to have to question the sanity of someone suggesting two Mcdonald's All Americans can't handle "athletes". I can't wait to see the outcome of your guards and our press. If that doesn't get you excited about the game you don't like basketball.

Ya, Huggs makes himself an easy target sometimes. I find him immensely entertaining, of course I'm a little biased.. I do tire of the endless, "the refs are in his pocket" and "he works the refs too much" that we get from our conference mates...most notably KU. They have a hard time dealing with a bunch of 3 star recruits beating their blue blood program.

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-20-2017, 02:14 PM
Ya, Huggs makes himself an easy target sometimes. I find him immensely entertaining, of course I'm a little biased.. I do tire of the endless, "the refs are in his pocket" and "he works the refs too much" that we get from our conference mates...most notably KU. They have a hard time dealing with a bunch of 3 star recruits beating their blue blood program.

Coach Huggins is one of the most entertaining personalities in college basketball. I am really looking forward to this matchup.

U Zig, I Zag
03-20-2017, 02:21 PM
I'd have to have to question the sanity of someone suggesting two Mcdonald's All Americans can't handle "athletes". I can't wait to see the outcome of your guards and our press. If that doesn't get you excited about the game you don't like basketball.

Ya, Huggs makes himself an easy target sometimes. I find him immensely entertaining, of course I'm a little biased.. I do tire of the endless, "the refs are in his pocket" and "he works the refs too much" that we get from our conference mates...most notably KU. They have a hard time dealing with a bunch of 3 star recruits beating their blue blood program.

I am speaking in generalities, going back several tourney appearances. GU gets faced up with a team that is considered 'tough' (and they very well might be) but handles them quite well. The argument being that perhaps GU is a bit too soft, WCC is too easy, GU doesn't have the speed and strength.

Now, you brought up a good point. With some McD AAs and maybe a full on NCAA AA on the team, we'll really take it to the next tough, Big5 team we face. ;)

MountaineerLegion
03-20-2017, 02:24 PM
Definitely aware of it. I just find Press Virginia to be kind of a cool way of describing your team. Heck, Huggins used to resort to 1-3-1 zone defenses and anything else to get a win. That's part of what completely screwed up Kentucky in the 2010 elite 8 game. It still pains me every time I think of Da'Sean Butler and his injury at the final 4. The scene of Huggins hugging him on the floor was one of the most moving moments in the history of the NCAA tourney. Last I heard Butler was playing in Germany.

My sister is a West Virginia grad. Welcome to the board MountaineerLegion.

I too like "Press Virginia". It's tough to recruit when most kids in the country think of WVU as Hillbilly U. It helps that the national "press" mentions it every time they report on WVU.

Interesting note that will probably get mentioned in our game is that Huggs was taught the 1-3-1 by his players. John Beilein ran it a ton but then left for Michigan. Joe Mazzula told Huggs they really liked it and Huggs said, show me, and they did. When an 800 win coach is still learning and isn't afraid to be taught by his own players you can see how he won 800.

I don't even like thinking about the Da'Sean Butler incident. I cringe for him when I think about it. And I found Huggs response awkward...I'm just not wired that way. There is no doubt though that he loves his players and the feeling is reciprocated by his players. That you are familiar with it leads me to believe you watch too much basketball. ;) By the way Huggs has been this way his whole career. When he was at Cinn. and got fired one of his players who was by then in the NBA told Cinn. to take his retired jersey down. He didn't want a school who treated Huggs that way to display it.

Your sister must be smart!

former1dog
03-20-2017, 02:41 PM
agree 100% with you. I have watched a lot of WV games over the years because I love bob huggins as a coach so I am a fan of WV hoops and them and Notre Dame are the only two teams other than Gonzaga that I really make it a point to watch on TV. I have been thinking the last few days to myself = why are many on here thinking Coach Few has figured out the mighty Press Virginia 3 times or whatever it is, because yeah when we beat WV the last time we played in tourney I sure don't remember you guys playing this style of basketball, I don't even remember playing WV two other times but i guess we did (or maybe one of those wins we claim is vs Huggins in NCAA tourney while he was at Cincinnatti, Huggins also beat GU once when he was at Cincy though when he had Kenyon Martin i believe it was 2000). When you guys beat that Kentucky team that had John Wall and Dmarcus Cousins in Elite 8, if i remember correctly you guys packed it in and played a sagging Zone that whole game and Kentucky could not figure out how to play a slow paced methodical half court game vs a sagging zone defense. If i remember your first season employing this high pressure style of full court defense was the season you advanced to the sweet 16 and you had to play vs. Kentucky and Karl Anthony Townes and that team, i remember many announcers that season noting that it was a new style for WV but it was effective et al.


Gonzaga is 3-0 versus WEST Virginia, by an average victory margin of 20 points. The point is correct and well taken, though, that Gonzaga is 0-0 versus PRESS Virginia.

Beyond that, Gonzaga and West Virginia have entirely different teams than they did the last time they played. So the 3-0 record only has relevance as it pertains to Few versus Huggins.

I'm predicting a Gonzaga win, but I still have a lot of respect for WVU.

Zagger
03-20-2017, 02:41 PM
For 6 games? The performance vs. SMC in the WCC title game was great. GU won by 18. They shot 50% from the field, 57% from three, 80% from the foul line. Outrebounded SMC by 3. Just 9 TO's. Held the Gaels to 36.8% shooting and 56 points. They've played better games, but if they play that good against WVU, they will win.

This is how I feel the Zags will play on Thursday - on fire. They are very capable of beating any team. I've a hunch we'll see a fired up Zag team Thursday and Saturday. Why ... I'm feeling that having Collins and Tillie in for big end of game minutes against NU has really fire up everyone. The team is tight. They're good pals. They leaned on Collins and Tillie and they came through. I think the team will be confident that they can all excel and that they have one another's back. They won't be as tentative and will play quite fast and accurately so. Bet it even spills over into their FT shooting. I think we'll see a regular barn burning cuz I still think they have their best game in them yet this season. Go Zags!

demian
03-20-2017, 02:43 PM
Definitely aware of it. I just find Press Virginia to be kind of a cool way of describing your team. Heck, Huggins used to resort to 1-3-1 zone defenses and anything else to get a win. That's part of what completely screwed up Kentucky in the 2010 elite 8 game. It still pains me every time I think of Da'Sean Butler and his injury at the final 4. The scene of Huggins hugging him on the floor was one of the most moving moments in the history of the NCAA tourney. Last I heard Butler was playing in Germany.

My sister is a West Virginia grad. Welcome to the board MountaineerLegion.

CDC84 = I am a huge bob huggins fan. always have been. Since when he had nick van exel and the boys on that team that made final four and played against the Fab 5 Michigan team in final 4. i loved that WV team that you reference with Da'Sean Butler. There run in the Big East tourney was awesome (if my memory serves me correct i think he hit a buzzer beater in Semis or Title game of that Big East Tourney that year to win a game). Then the game you reference vs Kentucky was one of the coolest games i can remember. The moment you speak of Huggins and Butler on the floor was very moving to me as well. WV and Notre Dame are the only two teams i make a point to watch on TV other than Gonzaga

CDC84
03-20-2017, 02:47 PM
I too like "Press Virginia". It's tough to recruit when most kids in the country think of WVU as Hillbilly U. It helps that the national "press" mentions it every time they report on WVU.

Interesting note that will probably get mentioned in our game is that Huggs was taught the 1-3-1 by his players. John Beilein ran it a ton but then left for Michigan. Joe Mazzula told Huggs they really liked it and Huggs said, show me, and they did. When an 800 win coach is still learning and isn't afraid to be taught by his own players you can see how he won 800.

I don't even like thinking about the Da'Sean Butler incident. I cringe for him when I think about it. And I found Huggs response awkward...I'm just not wired that way. There is no doubt though that he loves his players and the feeling is reciprocated by his players. That you are familiar with it leads me to believe you watch too much basketball. ;) By the way Huggs has been this way his whole career. When he was at Cinn. and got fired one of his players who was by then in the NBA told Cinn. to take his retired jersey down. He didn't want a school who treated Huggs that way to display it.

Your sister must be smart!

I do watch too much basketball :) That player loyalty still extends to the players he used to coach at Cincinnati like Kenyon Martin, who stood up for him during that whole ordeal when Huggins was ousted. Martin said that Huggins was basically his father. He's really tough on his kids, but unlike some other guys who are that way, if you give 100%, listen to him, and play intelligently, he's got your back. He will defend his players to no end.

demian
03-20-2017, 02:48 PM
Gonzaga is 3-0 versus WEST Virginia, by an average victory margin of 20 points. The point is correct and well taken, though, that Gonzaga is 0-0 versus PRESS Virginia.

Beyond that, Gonzaga and West Virginia have entirely different teams than they did the last time they played. So the 3-0 record only has relevance as it pertains to Few versus Huggins.

I'm predicting a Gonzaga win, but I still have a lot of respect for WVU.

Ok cool former1dog. if i remember correctly the last time we played WV in tourney wasn't that the game that Ryan Spangler just absolutely ate up WV on the offensive glass and Spangler was far and away the toughest dude in the gym that night and he was only a freshman

former1dog
03-20-2017, 02:50 PM
Ok cool former1dog. if i remember correctly the last time we played WV in tourney wasn't that the game that Ryan Spangler just absolutely ate up WV on the offensive glass and Spangler was far and away the toughest dude in the gym that night and he was only a freshman

I think you may be correct, his best game as a Zag.

Ezag
03-20-2017, 02:51 PM
Saying that we are 3-0 against WV is silly because THIS team has never played THAT team.

gonstu
03-20-2017, 02:58 PM
Saying that we are 3-0 against WV is silly because THIS team has never played THAT team.

Saying it is not silly. Using it as rationale that zags will win this time IS silly.

23zagmd
03-20-2017, 03:00 PM
How do we take the ball out of Perkins hands? he is absolutely killing this team with his lackadaisical passing and ball handling! He literally looked like he was going to turn it every time he touched the ball in the second half of that game!

I'm hanging our hat on <15 TO and FT shooting. If we don't improve on these two areas....no way we make it to Saturday!

scrooner
03-20-2017, 03:29 PM
Turnovers by our guards over the last 5 games, per 40 min:

Jordan 0.53
Josh 0.65
Silas 1.57
Nigel 2.20

Assists by our guards over the last 5 games, per 40 min:

Nigel: 5.05
Josh: 2.26
Jordan: 1.32
Silas: 1.26

[Removed the assist to turnover numbers -- I goofed up something in the calculation]

I'd certainly like to see the assist numbers go up. But Josh has only had 2 turnovers in the last 5 games.

EEzag
03-20-2017, 03:53 PM
Turnovers by our guards over the last 5 games, per 40 min:

Jordan 0.53
Josh 0.65
Silas 1.57
Nigel 2.20

Assists by our guards over the last 5 games, per 40 min:

Nigel: 5.05
Josh: 2.26
Jordan: 1.32
Silas: 1.26

Assist to turnover over the last 5 games, per 40 min:

Nigel: 1.11
Josh: 0.73
Silas: 0.40
Jordan: 0.35


I'd certainly like to see the assist numbers go up. But Josh has only had 2 turnovers in the last 5 games.


Will they double the post? I'm not sure how they have played bigs before. Sometimes elite defenses won't change what made them elite. We like those teams, a lot.

maynard g krebs
03-20-2017, 04:02 PM
Turnovers by our guards over the last 5 games, per 40 min:

Jordan 0.53
Josh 0.65
Silas 1.57
Nigel 2.20

Assists by our guards over the last 5 games, per 40 min:

Nigel: 5.05
Josh: 2.26
Jordan: 1.32
Silas: 1.26

Assist to turnover over the last 5 games, per 40 min:

Nigel: 1.11
Josh: 0.73
Silas: 0.40
Jordan: 0.35


I'd certainly like to see the assist numbers go up. But Josh has only had 2 turnovers in the last 5 games.

Your assist/turnover ratios don't add up/make sense.

Zagricultural
03-20-2017, 04:38 PM
I'm actually more concerned with NWG than Perk this game. Too many misses and to's when he tries to play hero ball.

scrooner
03-20-2017, 05:32 PM
Your assist/turnover ratios don't add up/make sense.

You're right, I goofed something up in my spreadsheet. Removed the ratios.

jwalk
03-20-2017, 06:21 PM
Stats can be misleading. If a player throws the ball out of bounds, he gets credited with a turnover. If a player throws the ball to a player that is being double or triple teamed and the pass gets knocked out of the players hand because you have 6 hands going after the ball, the player that threw the ball does not get charged with the turnover. Not saying any names, but one individual has been doing this a lot lately. Truthfully, a lot of the guards have been forcing the pass into Karno or Collins while they are being double teamed. The guards are not charged with any of these turnovers but should be. You are taught to never throw the ball to a player being actively double teamed. This happened 4 or 5 times at the end of the NU game.

GrizZAG
03-20-2017, 08:17 PM
Of course Nigel is going to have higher number of turnovers, the ball is in his trusted hands more than the others in that same 40 minutes. He carries the burden of go to guy on this team so it is tough duty.

maynard g krebs
03-20-2017, 10:35 PM
I'm actually more concerned with NWG than Perk this game. Too many misses and to's when he tries to play hero ball.

Agree. So far he's shooting 30% in the tourney. Forcing both shots and passes.

bb guy
03-21-2017, 02:28 AM
WVU has a way of successfully playing to its opponents level each game. We play great against good teams and blow against teams that we should beat easily. We beat Iowa State twice during RS. Beating a team as good as IS 3 times in one season is hard. The ND game was statistically the 4th best road game WVU has put together in history. I would say that the only advantage we hold in this game is the caliber of teams played each night during the season in the BIG 12; Although 34-1 is incredible in any conference. The press has been shown vulnerable and GU is a great team! Good Luck Bulldogs, if you win, we pull for you to take it all!!!


Definitely aware of it. I just find Press Virginia to be kind of a cool way of describing your team. Heck, Huggins used to resort to 1-3-1 zone defenses and anything else to get a win. That's part of what completely screwed up Kentucky in the 2010 elite 8 game. It still pains me every time I think of Da'Sean Butler and his injury at the final 4. The scene of Huggins hugging him on the floor was one of the most moving moments in the history of the NCAA tourney. Last I heard Butler was playing in Germany.

My sister is a West Virginia grad. Welcome to the board MountaineerLegion.

Zags_Fanatic
03-21-2017, 08:42 AM
Here's a nice preview from a WVU fan, facts are quite accurate even if the prediction is a bit homerish. Really good insight to be honest. https://www.reddit.com/r/CollegeBasketball/comments/60l144/west_virginia_vs_gonzaga_preview/

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-22-2017, 01:19 PM
This made me laugh.

http://www.scout.com/college/west-virginia/forums/2509-bgn-basketball/15474482-reasons-to-seriously-dislike-gonzaga?page=1


The nation loves them. They’re like a five-year-old beauty pageant winner, they can be America’s darling. Sure, they might grow up to be a neurotic b*tch with a social complex and five or six untrained chihuahuas and no family, but at least they can cling to the fact that they once competed alongside Jon Benet Ramsey. And beat her. When she was four. Face.

Gonzaga, you are a thorn in WVU's side. WVU is Ferris Bueller, you are Principal Rooney. WVU is Superman, you are Kryptonite. WVU is Tiger Woods, you are one of 20 or 30 ex-strippers that keep calling me even though I’ve asked you to stop. You are the dragon that WVU cannot slay.

In a perfect world, the Spokane River would erode at a much faster-than-geologically-possible rate and your little hamlet of a school would get sucked into the bowels of the earth like the puny little blood-sucking mosquito it truly is. It’d be like losing an Abercrombie and Fitch model, or a white supremacist, or Yanni. You know, because the world would really miss you.

To WVU and other P5's, you are a plague, a virus, a disease.

You’re like a tattletale on the playground, a gas grill that won’t light without matches, and rain during a baseball game, all rolled into one.

You’re the teacher’s pet, or skinny jeans, or a fat girl in flip-flops in winter, or a driver that won’t turn right on red.

You’re like a stain on our favorite sweater, or rich people on welfare.

You’re that scratchy feeling we get in our throats right before catching a cold, an Ed Hardy shirt, the fine print on a coupon, or a trip to the DMV.

You’re a customer service call, outsourced to India.

You’re HD TV on a shrunken screen with writing on the sides.

You’re like a crying baby on an airplane. Or an old, naked man in the locker room. Or a bicyclist in the middle of a busy street.

You’re the chick from the Progressive Insurance commercials, you're Gerard Butler doing an American accent, you're the guy who won’t move his checkers from the back row.

You’re a Nicholas Sparks movie that our wives and girlfriends force us to see, a traffic jam on our way to work, and mall kiosk workers who heckle us to try their products as we walk innocently past.

You’re like a Jack Johnson song when I’m expecting Guns ‘N Roses. You keep me grounded when I wish to fly. You bring me down when all I want is up.
You have killed us in the past, Gonzaga. Like a telemarketer, I loathe you.

Ezag
03-22-2017, 01:25 PM
I'm actually more concerned with NWG than Perk this game. Too many misses and to's when he tries to play hero ball.

Ok then what other guard is gonna step up and help the man out?

DixieZag
03-22-2017, 03:10 PM
This made me laugh.

http://www.scout.com/college/west-virginia/forums/2509-bgn-basketball/15474482-reasons-to-seriously-dislike-gonzaga?page=1

Huh.

We must be doing something right.

Last thing I'd want is to be loved by guys like this.

Zagsker
03-22-2017, 05:08 PM
This made me laugh.

http://www.scout.com/college/west-virginia/forums/2509-bgn-basketball/15474482-reasons-to-seriously-dislike-gonzaga?page=1


That is fantastic...kudos to that guy

rennis
03-22-2017, 05:14 PM
One advantage for WVU fans is they aren't in the midst of a potential coach controversy with all these rumors about Few's future flying around.

haha, good one.

Not as good as Wonka's post on the Scout forum though. That was awesome. :laugh:

JPtheBeasta
03-22-2017, 05:36 PM
There's a funny article out there about one of Huggin's guards coming back after surgery and he told him he should play soccer- but stuck with him and the player loved him for it.

Edit: (Here's an excerpt)


Mazzulla is Huggins' little point guard, a kid who anybody else but Huggins would've left on the bench all season. The Mountaineers are in this Final Four because he didn't.

Get this: Huggins stuck with Mazzulla when his shoulder was so useless that he was shooting free throws with the wrong hand. Huggins stuck with Mazzulla even though the kid hadn't made a 3-pointer all season (until the Elite Eight). Huggins stuck with Mazzulla through thin and thin.

Mazzulla is Huggins' little point guard, a kid who anybody else but Huggins would've left on the bench all season. The Mountaineers are in this Final Four because he didn't.
This is a kid who, last February, thought his basketball days were over. He was about to have radical shoulder surgery that doctors said no hoops career had ever survived.

Mazzulla came to him on that day with tears in his eyes. "Coach, you think I'll ever play again?" And Huggins took him by the shoulders, looked him in the eyes and said, "Well, you're always talking about you being the best soccer player in the state of Rhode Island; you can always go play soccer. You don't need arms for that."
See? Lovable!

But Huggins brought back Mazzulla as soon as he could dribble, even though Mazzulla couldn't even shoot a jumper. He even put Mazzulla and his 6-foot-2 frame under the basket in his 1-3-1 zone D. Put a shrimp under the basket when he could raise only one arm!

Sticking with Mazzulla against all sanity proved even smarter when WVU's best guard, Darryl "Truck" Bryant, broke a bone in his foot last week and couldn't play in the Sweet 16 weekend.

So, as reward, Mazzulla went out and beat Kentucky for Huggins on Saturday night in Syracuse. And when he was done making his first 3 of the year and
scoring a season-high 17 points and pestering Kentucky's big men the way mice pester elephants (at one point, Kentucky's huge center, DeMarcus Cousins, looked down at Mazzulla and said, "Are you being serious right now?") and becoming the East Region MVP in a 73-66 win, he went looking to hug one man -- Huggins.

"I had to find him," Mazzulla says, "I never want him to forget that I love him. What he did for me, how he stuck with me, nobody else would've done it."

And he's not the only one on the team. They all talk about "Huggs" like he's their favorite IRS auditor. "We all have one thing in common," says Mazzulla. "We're all trying not to get yelled at by Huggs."

http://www.espn.com/espn/news/story?id=5040010

zaguarxj
03-23-2017, 06:34 AM
Here's a nice preview from a WVU fan, facts are quite accurate even if the prediction is a bit homerish. Really good insight to be honest. https://www.reddit.com/r/CollegeBasketball/comments/60l144/west_virginia_vs_gonzaga_preview/

Their prediction is based on WVU making shots, enabling them to set up the press. Gonzaga is one of the best defensive teams in the country, so I think it's a little optimistic to think WVU is going to keep shooting above their average. Of course, it's called "March Madness" for a reason, so they may all have out-of-body-experience shooting nights.

bartruff1
03-23-2017, 07:57 AM
That is fantastic...kudos to that guy

Great read...terrific imagination....West Virginia and it's Coaches and Players and Fans are the best of any of our opponents ... even the silly guy with his Few to the NBA... :)

scott257
03-23-2017, 08:50 AM
It seems to me that people try to characterize this Gonzaga team and players and toss around negatives like they have forgotten that this team has only lost one game the entire season. They will end this season with the best record and they don't have to apologize to anyone. I have been following the Zags for years and by any real measure this team is the best I have seen. Can WV win this game? Sure, but the Zags will have to beat themselves if WV is going to win. If Gonzaga goes out and plays as a team, that vaunted press will become WV's Achilles heel. They don't have our size, they don't have our depth, and if they don't trap Nigel, he will eat them alive for not making the transition to set up their half court defense. This is going to be a great game and while I think WV is good, they do not match up to us - if we lose, we beat ourselves.

TravelinZag
03-23-2017, 09:21 AM
Welcome the opportunity to play West Virginia and "Huggy Bear" again. Great team, colorful and excellent coach who is a fine man. The fact that their team has a style of play challenges the Zags' recent play is well timed. WVU will force better ball control, rebounding, and shooting free throws and 3-pointers. The Zags can do better, and have done so earlier this season. Without a return to form in these areas, their season would end soon against the level of competition they will face the rest of the way. WVU simply requires the Zags do so now.

Then, the ship righted, the Zags can pursue, and achieve their goals.

Go Zags! Appreciate, but defeat Huggins' lads, and move on to Final Four & beyond. Great season so far; you will regret for a long time if you don't finish it playing your best.