PDA

View Full Version : Sweet Sixteen Pre-Game Media: Gonzaga vs. West Virginia



SWZag
03-20-2017, 09:18 AM
Not too much as of yet...

LA Times: Road to Final Four and NCAA title got a little smoother thanks to upsets (http://www.latimes.com/sports/more/la-sp-ncaa-basketball-20170319-story.html)


Sporting News: March Madness 2017 - Gonzaga meets West Virginia in Sweet 16 of NCAA Tournament (http://www.sportingnews.com/ncaa-basketball/news/march-madness-2017-ncaa-basketball-tournament-bracket-tv-schedule-gonzaga-west-virginia/1keofr7ch07o11ie1hgtpr7w84)

I would say WVU has the advantage here, but it's close.

GU famous non-athlete alum: Bing Crosby, singer
WVU famous non-athlete alum: Don Knotts, actor


CBS: NCAA Tournament 2017 - 16 things to know about Sweet 16, including Final Four picks (http://www.cbssports.com/college-basketball/news/ncaa-tournament-2017-16-things-to-know-about-sweet-16-including-final-four-picks/)

10. The West Regional is similar

Bob Huggins has made two Final Fours -- one at Cincinnati, one at West Virginia. But the other three coaches still alive in San Jose -- Gonzaga’s Mark Few, Arizona’s Sean Miller and Xavier’s Chris Mack -- are chasing their first Final Four. So either one of them will get it or Huggins will advance to the final weekend for the third time in what should be a Hall of Fame career.


11. The West Regional winner will be ...

Gonzaga, I think. I’ll take the Zags over Arizona in the Elite Eight.


15. The title game will be ...

Gonzaga vs. UCLA, I think. West Coast stand up!



CBS: NCAA Tournament 2017 - Ranking all eight games in the Sweet 16 (http://www.cbssports.com/college-basketball/news/ncaa-tournament-2017-ranking-all-eight-games-in-the-sweet-16/)


2. No. 1 Gonzaga vs. No. 4 West Virginia (West). WHAT. A. GAME. Millions will tune in to see if Gonzaga can make the third Elite Eight in program history. The Bulldogs are a 3.5-point favorite, which tells you how much Las Vegas respects the Bulldogs after the way they got pushed by Northwestern. West Virginia, which ranks sixth in KenPom, is the title contender no one is taking seriously yet. Taking down Gonzaga would change that. I love the matchup of Gonzaga’s size against West Virginia’s aggressiveness. This stands to be a mighty fine game. Can’t wait to see what Mark Few does, what lineup he throws out there.

Zags11
03-20-2017, 09:54 AM
Let's goooo

Virginia Zags Fan
03-20-2017, 10:15 AM
Reading this definitely gets the blood pumping!!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

ZagNative
03-20-2017, 12:59 PM
Appreciate you putting those links together, SWZag!

CDC84
03-20-2017, 01:48 PM
I find it funny how people say that Gonzaga got pushed by NW and survived NW, and yet UNC gets away with 7 pt. win over Arkansas in their own backyard and it's a regular, solid win.

SWZag
03-21-2017, 06:51 AM
I find it funny how people say that Gonzaga got pushed by NW and survived NW, and yet UNC gets away with 7 pt. win over Arkansas in their own backyard and it's a regular, solid win.

Doesn't that kind of get under your skin? It's amazing how much headlines effect people's opinions. Most people may not even know how the actual game went, but when the headline says "survived" or other similar words, people actually think about the team that way. Same with the first round against SDSU and the difference in headlines for the Villanova game headlines, which was almost an identical game.

TexasZagFan
03-21-2017, 07:11 AM
O/T (didn't deserve its own thread), but it's been awfully quiet in the office the past two days. My Dukie coworker was teleworking yesterday, and hasn't said anything to me today. Had Duke won, I have little doubt the non-goaltending call would be a prime topic of discussion.

Haven't heard from my daughter about her workplace, she also Duke and Syracuse fans in a much larger office. Since the 2015 tournament, she has followed Zag basketball closely, and she's nearly as quick as her old man in responding to slights of the Zags.

It runs in the family, and she's Big D's mom. :lmao:

We should receive the shirts she ordered last week in time for Thursday's game:

https://images.footballfanatics.com/FFImage/thumb.aspx?i=/productimages/_2693000/altimages/ff_2693261alt2_full.jpg&w=600

strikenowhere
03-21-2017, 07:14 AM
O/T (didn't deserve its own thread), but it's been awfully quiet in the office the past two days. My Dukie coworker was teleworking yesterday, and hasn't said anything to me today. Had Duke won, I have little doubt the non-goaltending call would be a prime topic of discussion.

Haven't heard from my daughter about her workplace, she also Duke and Syracuse fans in a much larger office. Since the 2015 tournament, she has followed Zag basketball closely, and she's nearly as quick as her old man in responding to slights of the Zags.

It runs in the family, and she's Big D's mom. :lmao:

We should receive the shirts she ordered last week in time for Thursday's game:

https://images.footballfanatics.com/FFImage/thumb.aspx?i=/productimages/_2693000/altimages/ff_2693261alt2_full.jpg&w=600

Oooo those are nice - where did you order them from?

jazzdelmar
03-21-2017, 07:18 AM
http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/18961166/kentucky-wildcats-ucla-bruins-highlight-best-games-ncaa-tournament-sweet-16



4. Gonzaga will make the Final Four and silence the doubters


Gonzaga's depth is what separates this Bulldogs team from past versions that failed to make the Final Four. Christian Petersen/Getty Images
It's fair to discuss the what-ifs after a horrendous non-call on a goaltending violation during Northwestern's loss to Gonzaga in the second round. But the Bulldogs still managed to demonstrate why they're perhaps Mark Few's greatest team, with depth few teams in the country can match.

The Bulldogs will enter the Sweet 16 as the hunted in the West Region. After they beat an oppressive West Virginia squad and then knock off Arizona at full strength in the rematch -- Allonzo Trier didn't play in Gonzaga's win over the Wildcats earlier this season -- the Zags will secure the program's first trip to the Final Four and arrive in Glendale as a feared team capable of winning a ring.

TexasZagFan
03-21-2017, 07:18 AM
Doesn't that kind of get under your skin? It's amazing how much headlines effect people's opinions. Most people may not even know how the actual game went, but when the headline says "survived" or other similar words, people actually think about the team that way. Same with the first round against SDSU and the difference in headlines for the Villanova game headlines, which was almost an identical game.

SW, I must admit I've shown far more impatience with Zag denigrators over the past few weeks. These yay-hoos are taking away from my enjoyment of the journey we're on. One victory away from our 2nd Elite Eight in three years...yet, too many are in the mode this season's a bust if we don't make it to our first Final Four.

A picture is worth 1000 words (not directed at you, of course):

http://images.memes.com/meme/674786

SWZag
03-21-2017, 07:20 AM
24/7 Sports: Sweet 16 Preview - No. 1 Gonzaga vs. No. 4 West Virginia (http://247sports.com/Article/NCAA-Tournament-Sweet-16-Preview-No-1-Gonzaga-vs-No-4-West-Virgi-51873419)

Spokesman-Review: More to Mountaineers than just pressure defense (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/20/more-to-mountaineers-than-just-pressure-defense/)


West Virginia is the first team in five seasons to beat the No. 1 and No. 2 teams in the same season. The Mountaineers thumped No. 1 Baylor by 21. They handled Kansas by 16 and would have swept the season series but they blew a 14-point lead with less than three minutes remaining in Lawrence, Kansas.


West Virginia Metro News: Gonzaga brings ‘maybe the best starting five in America’ (http://wvmetronews.com/2017/03/20/gonzaga-brings-maybe-the-best-starting-five-in-america/)


From his film evaluation, Martin said the Bulldogs boast “maybe the best starting five in America”


USA Today: Next up for West Virginia's press: Gonzaga (http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaab/2017/03/21/west-virginia-defense-against-gonzaga-march-madness/99445276/)


West Virginia runs on its full-court pressure defense. The Mountaineers have the best turnover margin in major college basketball. They’ve forced 724 turnovers, while committing 442, for a ratio of 7.8 — and nobody else in the country has a ratio better than 4.9.

Plus, pressure from other teams doesn’t seem to bother West Virginia.

“It shouldn’t,” senior forward Nathan Adrian said. “We go against pressure every day (in practice). So I think we’d be pretty good at it.”



Bleacher Report: NCAA Tournament 2017 - Biggest X-Factors in Every Sweet 16 Game (http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2698739-ncaa-tournament-2017-biggest-x-factors-in-every-sweet-16-game)


Gonzaga player: Zach Collins

Although Collins, a freshman, does not start, he is probably the Bulldogs' best pro prospect, sitting at No. 25 in the Draft Express' rankings of the top 100 NBA prospects, ahead of Johnathan Motley of Baylor and T.J. Leaf of UCLA, among others. Collins averages 10.3 points on 65.2 percent shooting and 5.7 rebounds in just 17.3 minutes per game.

He averaged 12.0 points and 5.5 rebounds in the first two tournament games, but his biggest postseason contributions may have been his seven blocks, one of which was the controversial block against Northwestern that the Wildcats thought was goaltending.

In the one game Gonzaga lost, Collins was in foul trouble and scored just six points.


West Virginia player: Esa Ahmad

The Mountaineers' identity is their pressure defense that forces so many turnovers. But a key component of their halfcourt offense is the 6'8" Ahmad, the team's second-leading scorer and No. 3 rebounder. When he is productive in scoring and rebounding, the Mountaineers win. When he isn't, bad things tend to happen to West Virginia.

He has averaged 13.0 points and 7.5 rebounds in the Mountaineers' two tournament wins and needs to match or exceed that against Gonzaga.

Subpar games by Ahmad played a role in each of West Virginia's last five losses. In the back-to-back losses to Oklahoma and Kansas State, Ahmad had just nine points and four rebounds in the two games combined. In the home loss to Oklahoma State, Ahmad had zero points and zero rebounds in 14 minutes. He did not play in the nine-point loss at Baylor, and collected just two rebounds along with 10 points in the defeat to Iowa State in the conference tournament.

Ahmad's two best games came in West Virginia's two impressive performances against Kansas. He had 27 points in the Mountaineers' 16-point home win over the Jayhawks, and he had 20 points and seven boards at Allen Fieldhouse, when West Virginia somehow blew a 14-point lead with less than three minutes left in an overtime loss.


The issue: point-guard battle

Yes, West Virginia point guard Jevon Carter and his Gonzaga counterpart, Nigel Williams-Goss, are their teams' stars and leading scorers, but how they do in terms of controlling the pace of the game will be critical.

Carter, who averages 2.53 steals per game (seventh-best in the country), will try to force turnovers in West Virginia's press. The Mountaineers force an average 20.11 turnovers per game from their opponents, by far the most in the nation.

Williams-Goss must be the point man in managing West Virginia's press. Gonzaga has shown it can be rattled. It cost the Bulldogs their one loss as they let a 12-point lead with less than 14 minutes left get away in a home loss to BYU. The Bulldogs then nearly lost a 20-point lead with less than 13 minutes left in the second-round game against Northwestern, which got within five with more than four minutes remaining.

Hooray4Daye&Gray
03-21-2017, 08:14 AM
This is the week we've all been waiting for.

The tension is running high on GU Boards. The media is asking if this is the year Gonzaga makes the Final Four. And all the while, the actual Zags are preparing to play the biggest games of their lives.

I find it very interesting that the main debate in here seems to be about whether to choose to be positive or point out the negative. I tend to be negative - none of my sports teams ever seem to win the big games - but after reading the Sports Illustrated issue that arrived in my mailbox yesterday, I'm choosing to be positive this year.

Two things stuck out to me. In addition to the article about Gonzaga's efficient post-play offense (which I've seen posted in here), there was also a great article focusing on Nigel Williams-Goss. It was probably posted somewhere in here too but I never saw it. So for those of you that also missed it, here is the must read:

http://www.si.com/college-basketball/2017/03/15/ncaa-tournament-gonzaga-nigel-williams-goss

The other thing that stuck out was an article about the Cubs, which had a picture of Joe Maddon's lineup card from game 7 of the World Series. What I found interesting was that he used a lot of the space on the lineup card to write inspirational acronyms instead of baseball related stats or thoughts. There were some good ones on there, like "B Present, Not Perfect (Know we are not perfect, but can be present)" and "Process! (Stick to the process, don't worry about results)" but my favorite was:

DnPtPtEtP

Do not permit the pressure to exceed the pleasure.

I really hope the players and coaches live by this mantra the next few days, but I also think we as fans would benefit from adopting this mindset. The opportunity we have this week is fantastic. Hurdling over a road block we haven't before is scary, but I truly believe Nigel and the rest of this team is uniquely prepared to do just that.

If we do, I will be in Phoenix, 100% satisfied and fulfilled as a fan, 100% positive in congratulating them on their achievement and cheering for them to have fun and try and win a National Championship. I would forever have my mindset changed from fear of failure to optimism of success. The pressure would never exceed the pleasure of being a Gonzaga fan ever again.

I choose to adopt that mindset starting now instead of waiting for us to win on Saturday. I believe that if we all believe, we will achieve. Have fun and be loose, team. And fans, let's try and do the same.

Zagger
03-21-2017, 08:54 AM
:cool: My guess is that there's more than one Zag on board to kick WV's butt and ready the E8, repeat the butt kicking and make the F4. Coaches too for that matter. Bet the team is hunkered down, focused AND having some fun to loosen themselves up for Thursday. The Zags could get beat Thursday but it'll take a spectacular game by WV to do it. A great season regardless :)

scrooner
03-22-2017, 06:45 AM
http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/18966837/gonzaga-bulldogs-fifth-year-seniors-przemek-karnowski-rem-bakamus-share-bond

IdahoTJR
03-22-2017, 07:00 AM
Shrek and Donkey, that was pretty funny.

SWZag
03-22-2017, 07:37 AM
Great read!!!

But I wonder where Longview High School is that Rem went to. There hasn't been a Longview High School in Longview, WA since about 1957, when Mark Morris High School was built, which Rem went to. Longview High School was renamed to Robert A (R.A.) Long High School.

ETA: Comment is in regards to Rem article.

gueastcoast
03-22-2017, 08:06 AM
http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/18966837/gonzaga-bulldogs-fifth-year-seniors-przemek-karnowski-rem-bakamus-share-bond

this is fantastic

MontanaCoyote
03-22-2017, 08:20 AM
Great Guy's! Love 'um Both!

ZagMan in Philly
03-22-2017, 08:20 AM
I like the possible title matchups for our Zags..Epic.

http://www.sportsonearth.com/article/220295546/best-possible-ncaa-national-title-matchups

Zagceo
03-22-2017, 08:33 AM
I like the possible title matchups for our Zags..Epic.

http://www.sportsonearth.com/article/220295546/best-possible-ncaa-national-title-matchups

4 outta the top 5 include Zags....come on ...am I dreaming.

zagfan24
03-22-2017, 08:39 AM
The Ringer's Six Under the Radar NBA Prospects:
https://theringer.com/six-under-the-radar-nba-prospects-to-watch-in-the-sweet-16-c80bf9c104f#.fsxh5c8dw

If there’s a difference between this year’s Gonzaga team and the previous versions that fell short of the Final Four, it’s the play of Williams-Goss, a McDonald’s All American who transferred from Washington and is now a redshirt junior....

More at the link

TexasZagFan
03-22-2017, 08:46 AM
Oooo those are nice - where did you order them from?

IIRC, my daughter found those shirts on Fans Edge.

ETA: do a search on "United We Zag", multiple companies are selling these shirts.

sittingon50
03-22-2017, 09:17 AM
http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/18966837/gonzaga-bulldogs-fifth-year-seniors-przemek-karnowski-rem-bakamus-share-bond

Nice read.

hockeyzag
03-22-2017, 11:14 AM
What Is As Big As The Mountain, Runs Like a Freight Train, and Passes Like Pistol Pete?
It’s Gonzaga’s Przemek Karnowski

The Ringer with a fantastic article on Big Shem. I'm gonna miss him like crazy when he's gone.

https://theringer.com/2017-ncaa-tournament-przemek-karnowski-gonzaga-728654d4a7e#.jeaxclfcc

RenoZag
03-22-2017, 11:29 AM
What Is As Big As The Mountain, Runs Like a Freight Train, and Passes Like Pistol Pete?
It’s Gonzaga’s Przemek Karnowski

The Ringer with a fantastic article on Big Shem. I'm gonna miss him like crazy when he's gone.

https://theringer.com/2017-ncaa-tournament-przemek-karnowski-gonzaga-728654d4a7e#.jeaxclfcc

Nice find.


Karnowski isn’t Gonzaga’s best player, and he never has been. This year, that distinction goes to Nigel Williams-Goss, the Washington transfer who leads the team in points and assists. (There are three other transfers on the team from power league schools.) Karnowski might not even be its best center, in terms of NBA potential; 7-foot backup Zach Collins is the first actual McDonald’s All American to commit to the Zags out of high school.
However, the Hulking Pole represents Gonzaga better than anyone. Like Karnowski, Gonzaga is a giant that doesn’t necessarily behave like one, a foreigner among college basketball’s elite.

RenoZag
03-22-2017, 11:35 AM
Press Conferences are streaming live this afternoon; don't know the time for the San Jose Regional. . .

LINK: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCKjEtnnXEHsXE9IvCb92V7g?feature=em-lss

Would expect to see the Zags presser archived and available at the same site; can't watch live due to bandwidth issues at work.

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-22-2017, 11:50 AM
What Is As Big As The Mountain, Runs Like a Freight Train, and Passes Like Pistol Pete?
It’s Gonzaga’s Przemek Karnowski

The Ringer with a fantastic article on Big Shem. I'm gonna miss him like crazy when he's gone.

https://theringer.com/2017-ncaa-tournament-przemek-karnowski-gonzaga-728654d4a7e#.jeaxclfcc

Nice.

RenoZag
03-22-2017, 12:22 PM
Zags press conference will begin at the link above shortly; West Virginia just finished.

scrooner
03-22-2017, 12:27 PM
What Is As Big As The Mountain, Runs Like a Freight Train, and Passes Like Pistol Pete?
It’s Gonzaga’s Przemek Karnowski

Here's an old highlight mix.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SQkkmKvLLvQ

allbusiness_zag
03-22-2017, 12:56 PM
Awesome USA Today article about what makes Gonzaga different than other Sweet 16 teams. Hint: Redshirts

http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaab/2017/03/22/gonzaga-basketball-ncaa-tournament-sweet-16/99481738/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

sittingon50
03-22-2017, 01:52 PM
What Is As Big As The Mountain, Runs Like a Freight Train, and Passes Like Pistol Pete?
It’s Gonzaga’s Przemek Karnowski

The Ringer with a fantastic article on Big Shem. I'm gonna miss him like crazy when he's gone.

https://theringer.com/2017-ncaa-tournament-przemek-karnowski-gonzaga-728654d4a7e#.jeaxclfcc

Thanks hockey. Terrific read (save for the part that compares his passing to Pistol Pete).

sittingon50
03-22-2017, 02:01 PM
Awesome USA Today article about what makes Gonzaga different than other Sweet 16 teams. Hint: Redshirts

http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaab/2017/03/22/gonzaga-basketball-ncaa-tournament-sweet-16/99481738/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

Another great one. Thanks, business.

Section 116
03-22-2017, 03:45 PM
A view from Morgantown: http://www.dominionpost.com/Longevity-paying-off-for-WVU-men

ZagsGoZags
03-22-2017, 04:20 PM
Thanks SW for putting this thread together.
lots of good reading

MontanaCoyote
03-22-2017, 05:28 PM
What Is As Big As The Mountain, Runs Like a Freight Train, and Passes Like Pistol Pete?
It’s Gonzaga’s Przemek Karnowski

The Ringer with a fantastic article on Big Shem. I'm gonna miss him like crazy when he's gone.

https://theringer.com/2017-ncaa-tournament-przemek-karnowski-gonzaga-728654d4a7e#.jeaxclfcc

Thanks, hockeyzag! Shem is one of my two all time favorite basketball players, the other is Elgin Baylor. Says a lot about how I feel about Shemmick. I still haven't gotten over Baylor, and it's been 45 years since he last played. I won't live long enough for Shem to equal even Elgin's current record of 45, but as long as I do live I'll never forget him.

Zags_Fanatic
03-22-2017, 06:20 PM
Another USA Today article on Karno: http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaab/2017/03/22/gonzagas-karnowski-relishing-ncaa-run-after-back-injury/99513284/

willandi
03-22-2017, 07:09 PM
GU famous non-athlete alum: Bing Crosby, singer
WVU famous non-athlete alum: Don Knotts, actor

Bing Crosby, the crooner, was a far superior actor to Don Knotts as a winner of an Oscar and nominated for more. As part of the duo, with Bob Hope, on the "Road" movies. He was in at least 50 big screen productions. I think der Binger has Mr Knotts beat like a press on a vat of grapes.



From his film evaluation, Martin said the Bulldogs boast “maybe the best starting five in America”

Obviously they haven't followed the travails of the GU board ala Josh!

adoptedzag
03-22-2017, 07:23 PM
http://wvmetronews.com/2017/03/22/sweet-16-notebook-fishing-beards-and-san-joses-per-diem-boost/

MontanaCoyote
03-22-2017, 07:36 PM
Another USA Today article on Karno: http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaab/2017/03/22/gonzagas-karnowski-relishing-ncaa-run-after-back-injury/99513284/

Thanks, Fanatic! I could read as many Karno stories as writers could write!

MDABE80
03-22-2017, 09:02 PM
All things considered, WVU causes lots of to's per game. I wonder then why their opponents have scored an average of 75.5 ppg against them. This isn't adding up. Any thoughts? That's a lot of points against a tough defense. Zags allow 59.5 ppg.

It's settled on the court I guess and lots depends on match ups. I'm thinking Few has out guys pretty tuned up for this one. One thing is clear, in the videos of Huggins describing his press and his defense, if their opponents do well against them, two things must happen. 1. Their opponents stay in the middle of the court....not to the corners or the sidelines when they can be trapped. The other thing h emphasizes is spacing, Opponents must keep their spacing to 17 or more feet apart. He thinks his guys can cover that space of 17 or less ft. He knows they can't cover 17 or more feet in spacing.
Something to think about.
We do those two things, AND shoot our normal percentages, we should be fine. FT's are a concern. We MUST make them.

ZagNative
03-22-2017, 09:12 PM
From the Spokesman-Review tonight (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/22/gonzagas-josh-perkins-loves-west-virginia-but-not-/): "Gonzaga’s Josh Perkins loves West Virginia, but not the Mountaineers," focusing on his time at Huntington Prep.

ZagNative
03-22-2017, 09:21 PM
John Blanchette: Jordan Mathews ride with Gonzaga was short but sweet (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/22/jordan-mathews-ride-with-gonzaga-was-short-but-swe/)


SALT LAKE CITY – Over the years, Gonzaga basketball has been the ultimate party mix. Charismatic big men, exotic imports from six continents, steady Eddie guards, second-chancers, glue guys, rock-star celebrities.

And Jordan Mathews.

It’s not that he doesn’t fit the mold – there is no mold. He’s a knockdown shooter, but the Bulldogs have had those. He’s blunt and honest and thoughtful – but other Zags have dabbled in those, too – and for a college athlete uncommonly engaged socially and politically.

“As a college athlete, you live in this bubble where everybody loves you, but some people only love you because you wear the jersey,” he said. “They don’t necessarily love you because you’re a human being. So when you take the jersey off, if you’re not socially aware, then what are you? Are you just drifting?”

ZagNative
03-22-2017, 09:33 PM
From the Spokesman-Review, "Bulldogs’ band members carry on Kennel traditions while on road" (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/22/bulldogs-band-members-carry-on-kennel-traditions-w/). Fun piece!

http://media.spokesman.com/photos/2017/03/22/27S_20.JPG_t2500.jpg?6913dd5f0afa17a0b7a91a88b4e80 8d586264d13


A section of Gonzaga’s band, 29 members to be exact, travelled with the team and boosters to San Jose on Tuesday.

Along with their instruments, the band has brought the Kennel’s chants used to distract opponents and support the Zags during home games.

The duty of selecting a specific chant falls on the “Fungineer”, Paul Bickel, who assumed the role via an upperclassmen who held the position before Bickel. The job title fits for the Gonzaga junior, who is also an engineering major.

“I think we definitely contribute to making them miss maybe – I don’t know, I’d say three to five baskets per game. Depending on the level of the team,” Bickel said.

His role is to ensure the band is engaged throughout the game. Recently, Bickel has also striven to engage the Gonzaga fans in attendance by using cheers such as “On Your Feet” or “Go. Gonzaga. G-O-N-Z-A-G-A.”

“I’ve got the whole band looking at me telling them what to do,” Bickel said. “I have to know basketball, I have to know the calls, I have to be able to see over everyone.”

There are chants for turnovers, traveling violations, opponents’ free-throw attempts, and a few more for other various aspects of the game. Bickel says they have 10 to 20 total chants, which are situational dependent and can be used as attempts to distract the opposing team along with others that support the Bulldogs.

One popular chant by the band is to count down the shot clock with the incorrect time to potentially force a shot-clock violation or an errant shot by the Zags’ opponent.

“The younger teams who come in who aren’t as confident, we get them all the time especially with shot violations,” Bickel said. “It’s just really great to see their face because they just look around and they are like ‘ah, better shoot’ and just like (shoot) a super deep three and completely miss.”

amaronizag
03-22-2017, 09:36 PM
In the game discussions before a match-up with WVA, the word "press" conference has on a more ominous meaning.

ZagNative
03-22-2017, 09:44 PM
Spokesman-Review Photo Gallery from open practice (http://www.spokesman.com/galleries/2017/mar/22/ncaa-tournament-gonzaga-prepares-for-sweet-16-game/)

Wow! Here's a keeper:

http://media.spokesman.com/photos/2017/03/22/wvp12_t1140.jpg?abf36d44fcda22a1f7041162086f31df6a 374511

Gonzaga center Przekem Karnowski share a laugh with CBS broadcasters Chris Webber, left, and Steve Smith, far right, during open practice Wednesday, March 22, 2017, in San Jose. (Dan Pelle / The Spokesman-Review)

Zagceo
03-22-2017, 09:55 PM
Don't know if it's been posted....

http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaab/2017/03/22/gonzaga-basketball-ncaa-tournament-sweet-16/99481738/

ZagNative
03-22-2017, 10:10 PM
Wow! What a brilliant piece, especially the focus on the staff presenting potential transfers with a detailed plan to improve their games during the redshirt year. Good, good stuff!


Don't know if it's been posted....

http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaab/2017/03/22/gonzaga-basketball-ncaa-tournament-sweet-16/99481738/

Zagceo
03-22-2017, 10:21 PM
Got get me some


. Because Norvell redshirted, he has a plan for every move and shot, he is learning to play at a faster tempo, and thanks to the use of strobe goggles with Knight, is learning to trust his instincts as a player.

ZagNative
03-22-2017, 10:27 PM
Love me some Shem!


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hEfD8eXFIZA

maynard g krebs
03-22-2017, 10:35 PM
All things considered, WVU causes lots of to's per game. I wonder then why their opponents have scored an average of 75.5 ppg against them. This isn't adding up. Any thoughts? That's a lot of points against a tough defense. Zags allow 59.5 ppg.


Press designed to force turnovers gives up fast break baskets if opponent beats the press; if there is a turnover it usually means WVU gets the ball in an open court situation and usually will take it straight to the basket and attempt a shot within 3-4 seconds of the turnover. In other words, it makes for an uptempo game; once you beat the press it's usually stupid to try to slow it down and try to run clock. So lots of shots quickly on both ends; hence lots of points.

Zagceo
03-22-2017, 10:35 PM
http://i1298.photobucket.com/albums/ag58/Corey_Olson/IMG_5183_zps0mbrctxj.png


http://i1298.photobucket.com/albums/ag58/Corey_Olson/IMG_5182_zpsafdygpon.png

Zagceo
03-23-2017, 01:52 AM
Good article on Zach and Nigel ......road roomies


“I didn’t know Nigel back (in Las Vegas). It’s not like I was best friends with a lot of Findlay guys … But rooming together this season helped a lot. We talked all season about basketball, about life, about helping each other on and off the court. It brought us a lot closer. Now, it’s just about trying to continue advancing in this tournament. All that matters is winning the next game. I knew the college level wouldn’t be easy, but I wouldn’t trade this for anything.”

http://www.reviewjournal.com/sports/columns/ed-graney/las-vegan-zach-collins-holds-his-ground-gonzaga

SWZag
03-23-2017, 06:15 AM
http://i1298.photobucket.com/albums/ag58/Corey_Olson/IMG_5183_zps0mbrctxj.png


http://i1298.photobucket.com/albums/ag58/Corey_Olson/IMG_5182_zpsafdygpon.png

Great photos! Thanks!

Zag4Hire
03-23-2017, 06:19 AM
SJ Merc. Purdy: It’s time for Gonzaga to break through and reach the Final Four

http://www.mercurynews.com/2017/03/23/purdy-its-time-for-gonzaga-to-break-through-and-reach-the-final-four/

Couldn't agree more with title and a quick healthy read for some positive thoughts. A few good quotes from coaches as well.


Gonzaga is going to make it this time. It’s just a feeling I have, after seeing the Bulldogs in person last week in Salt Lake City. They methodically pounded down South Dakota State in the NCAA opener, then held off a rallying Northwestern team for an emotional second-round victory. The Bulldogs are impressive in their scoring balance, with five players averaging in double figures for the season. They have a one-man energy machine in point guard Nigel Williams-Goss. They have a fleet of big guys for the inside game. It’s definitely a Final Four kind of look.

SWZag
03-23-2017, 07:08 AM
Didn't see this posted elsewhere, although I may have missed it.

What Is As Big As The Mountain, Runs Like a Freight Train, and Passes Like Pistol Pete? It’s Gonzaga’s Przemek Karnowski (https://theringer.com/2017-ncaa-tournament-przemek-karnowski-gonzaga-728654d4a7e#.an18mnffo)


Back in February, the gargantuan Pole provided his best sound bite when asked what his favorite pro team was. Having already been asked about his favorite guilty pleasure, whether he liked burgers or burritos, and his preference between In-N-Out and Five Guys, he assumed the puny human questioning him was merely interested in learning how he had attained such mass. She asked his favorite pro team, he heard “protein,” and he confidently reported that his favorite basketball team was chicken.
:lmao:

hockeyzag
03-23-2017, 07:47 AM
Awesome USA Today article about what makes Gonzaga different than other Sweet 16 teams. Hint: Redshirts

http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaab/2017/03/22/gonzaga-basketball-ncaa-tournament-sweet-16/99481738/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

Another fantastic article, thanks biz.

https://www.gannett-cdn.com/-mm-/480397b783e63d496de008dae65210c229dd9c93/c=130-159-2357-3128&r=537&c=0-0-534-712/local/-/media/2017/03/22/USATODAY/USATODAY/636257765609832590-USP-NCAA-BASKETBALL-BRIGHAM-YOUNG-AT-GONZAGA-89072823.JPG

Look at Larsen's arms! The dude is jacked. Can't wait to see "The Machine" in action next year.

Goshzagit
03-23-2017, 08:25 AM
Another fantastic article, thanks biz.

https://www.gannett-cdn.com/-mm-/480397b783e63d496de008dae65210c229dd9c93/c=130-159-2357-3128&r=537&c=0-0-534-712/local/-/media/2017/03/22/USATODAY/USATODAY/636257765609832590-USP-NCAA-BASKETBALL-BRIGHAM-YOUNG-AT-GONZAGA-89072823.JPG

Look at Larsen's arms! The dude is jacked. Can't wait to see "The Machine" in action next year.

as I said in October...

Larsen is natural strength. He hasn't really "pumped iron" in his life, but he was much stronger than anyone thought, including the staff.

His footwork was outstanding for a 18 yr old kid as well.

Nice upside to his game...and body.

He's currently out of shape compared to his usual self.

Rangerzag
03-23-2017, 08:30 AM
And the New York Times weighs in.

"Gonzaga Transfers Help Keep Program on Top"

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/23/sports/ncaabasketball/gonzaga-transfers-help-keep-program-on-top.html?rref=collection%2Fsectioncollection%2Fspo rts

sittingon50
03-23-2017, 09:19 AM
[QUOTE=Zag4Hire;1305289]SJ Merc. Purdy: It’s time for Gonzaga to break through and reach the Final Four

http://www.mercurynews.com/2017/03/23/purdy-its-time-for-gonzaga-to-break-through-and-reach-the-final-four/

Karnowski = "Looks like ZZ Top's backstage bouncer".

:roll:

BBzag
03-23-2017, 10:19 AM
http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/23/grip-sports-perkins-gonzaga-have-respond-positivel/

tinfoilzag
03-23-2017, 10:45 AM
as I said in October...

Larsen is natural strength. He hasn't really "pumped iron" in his life, but he was much stronger than anyone thought, including the staff.

His footwork was outstanding for a 18 yr old kid as well.

Nice upside to his game...and body.

He's currently out of shape compared to his usual self.
https://stevemccutchen.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/rockyiv-dragowater.png?w=468
Here is another picture taken during practice

Poor WCC.

Lewey
03-23-2017, 10:49 AM
Awesome USA Today article about what makes Gonzaga different than other Sweet 16 teams. Hint: Redshirts

http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaab/2017/03/22/gonzaga-basketball-ncaa-tournament-sweet-16/99481738/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

Loved this article. I'm fortunate enough to be sitting in a hotel room near San Jose, and read it in a physical USA Today paper. Got the sports section, and there on the front page was the article. Just a few paragraphs though, the rest on page 4. Open to page 4, and the whole page is Gonzaga. The rest of this article, and the Shem's beard article. Nothing anywhere on West Virginia. Nothing on Arizona. One Michigan and one Oregon. And the Zags with two. LOVE IT!

MontanaCoyote
03-23-2017, 11:32 AM
Loved this article. I'm fortunate enough to be sitting in a hotel room near San Jose, and read it in a physical USA Today paper. Got the sports section, and there on the front page was the article. Just a few paragraphs though, the rest on page 4. Open to page 4, and the whole page is Gonzaga. The rest of this article, and the Shem's beard article. Nothing anywhere on West Virginia. Nothing on Arizona. One Michigan and one Oregon. And the Zags with two. LOVE IT!

Finally! The zag's got attention the old fashioned way. They earned it and many times over!

Zaga
03-23-2017, 11:51 AM
Great USA today article. Thanks for posting...Anxious to see ZN and JL on the court next year. Go Zag's

Beat WVU!

CDC84
03-23-2017, 12:03 PM
I remember this one well. 2003. Not only did Huggy Bear get tossed, but one of the Cincinnati radio guys also got tossed for criticizing the officiating. It was hilarious:

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/mar/22/bob-huggins-broadcaster-ejected-during-previous-ga/

Ezag
03-23-2017, 12:15 PM
Sorry if this has been posted already

http://a4.espncdn.com/combiner/i?img=%2Fphoto%2F2017%2F0321%2Fr192483_623x249_5%2 D2.png&w=1006&h=402&scale=crop&cquality=80&location=origin

SALT LAKE CITY -- The NCAA tournament's odd couple resides in Spokane, Washington.

Przemek Karnowski is Gonzaga's 7-foot-1, 300-pound immovable force, a senior who traveled 5,000 miles from Poland to play for coach Mark Few. Rem Bakamus is a 6-foot, 173-pound senior walk-on who came 280 miles east (from Longview, Washington) to Spokane.

Karnowski is the healthy eater who bakes his chicken with avocado oil, and Bakamus is more likely to get his chicken at Taco Bell (specifically, one chicken quesadilla and two chicken quesaritos per trip).

more....
http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/18966837/gonzaga-bulldogs-fifth-year-seniors-przemek-karnowski-rem-bakamus-share-bond

Zag4Hire
03-23-2017, 12:45 PM
Sorry if this has been posted already

http://a4.espncdn.com/combiner/i?img=%2Fphoto%2F2017%2F0321%2Fr192483_623x249_5%2 D2.png&w=1006&h=402&scale=crop&cquality=80&location=origin

SALT LAKE CITY -- The NCAA tournament's odd couple resides in Spokane, Washington.

Przemek Karnowski is Gonzaga's 7-foot-1, 300-pound immovable force, a senior who traveled 5,000 miles from Poland to play for coach Mark Few. Rem Bakamus is a 6-foot, 173-pound senior walk-on who came 280 miles east (from Longview, Washington) to Spokane.

Karnowski is the healthy eater who bakes his chicken with avocado oil, and Bakamus is more likely to get his chicken at Taco Bell (specifically, one chicken quesadilla and two chicken quesaritos per trip).

more....
http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/18966837/gonzaga-bulldogs-fifth-year-seniors-przemek-karnowski-rem-bakamus-share-bond

More like Master Blaster from MM: Thunderdome.

caduceus
03-23-2017, 02:00 PM
Lurking in enemy territory. Here's one:

We Created Press Virginia: The Origin of WVU's Defense (http://www.wvillustrated.com/story/34969141/we-created-press-virginia-the-origin-of-wvus-defense)


Consider this: Staten, the preseason Big 12 Player of the Year who finished his junior season with a league-best 18.1 points, couldn’t stand it when the Gold Team dialed up the full court onslaught against his Blue Team in practice.

“Being the primary ball handler in practice and having to go against it every day, it was annoying,” Staten admitted. “Facing that defense every day let me know that it was definitely going to be tough for other guards. It wasn’t really that hard to buy in.”

The hope was that the issues this defense caused the Mountaineers in practice would give their opponents the same headaches when the games started in November.

That is precisely what transpired and just as Staten felt annoyed facing the pressure in three-hour training sessions, the guards he lined up against left Morgantown feeling similarly maddened.

“Like Huggs said, you don’t want anybody in your face 24-7. At one point, you’re going to be like, yo, get out of my face, I’m sick of you. So that’s what we would do,” Browne said. “Make you tired physically and mentally.”

More mentally, as it turned out.