PDA

View Full Version : OFFICIAL Discussion Thread For NCAA 2nd Round Games, Saturday, 3/18



CDC84
03-16-2017, 09:23 PM
All times PT

9:10am = (5) Notre Dame (4) West Virginia, Buffalo, West Region, CBS
11:40am = (8) Wisconsin (1) Villanova, Buffalo, East Region, CBS
2:15pm = (8) Northwestern (1) Gonzaga, Salt Lake, West Region, CBS
3:15pm = (11) Xavier 3) Florida State, Orlando, West Region, TNT
4:10pm = (12) Middle Tennessee (4) Butler, Milwaukee, South Region, TBS
4:45pm = (7) St. Mary's (2) Arizona, Salt Lake, West Region, CBS
5:40pm = (5) Virginia (4) Florida, Orlando, East Region, TNT
6:40pm = (5) Iowa State (4) Purdue, Milwaukee, Midwest Region, TBS

RenoZag
03-17-2017, 05:46 PM
Thanks for posting this, CDC

seacatfan
03-17-2017, 05:53 PM
Wisconsin seems like a pretty tough out for a #8 seed. The committee did Villanova no favors at all on that one for the allegedly #1 overall seed. Honestly, would you rather face Wisconsin or Northwestern? Same seed. Seems like an absolute no brainer to me.

jazzdelmar
03-17-2017, 05:59 PM
Wisconsin seems like a pretty tough out for a #8 seed. The committee did Villanova no favors at all on that one for the allegedly #1 overall seed. Honestly, would you rather face Wisconsin or Northwestern? Same seed. Seems like an absolute no brainer to me.


Nova will be just fine. Their smoke and mirrors show just goes on.

MJ777
03-17-2017, 08:00 PM
The Zags/NW and Arizona/St Mary's are showcased on the Big Network, Nice.

CDC84
03-17-2017, 10:11 PM
I wouldn't be shocked if Nova loses to Wisconsin. Badgers were misseeded. Buffalo is not that far from Madison, and the Badger fans travel well. Moreover, people don't realize this, but Nova has not beaten anyone in this field higher than a 4 seed, and the Big East became almost a cake walk for them (besides the Butler games) later in the season due to several BE squads suffering injury problems - teams ranging from Xavier, and most notably, Creighton.

Middle Tennessee has a great chance of getting to the sweet 16.

Despite losing their starting center, I wouldn't be shocked if FLA beats UVA

Iowa State/Purdue might be the most entertaining game of the day.

I think Arizona is going to win, but it will be interesting to see how close of a game Randy B's team makes it. If SMC really gives them a game, it makes Gonzaga look better.

caduceus
03-17-2017, 11:30 PM
KenPom point spreads:

WVU -2.5
Nova -6.0
FSU -6.0
Butler -4.0
Arizona -5.0
Florida -2.0
ISU/Purdue even
Zags -11.0

spike_jr
03-18-2017, 06:08 AM
I am really surprised as well as impressed that SMC is only a 5 to 5.5 point underdog. I'll be there cheering for them to win. Watching AZ and SMC play the other night, I think Rahon and Naar are going to be pressured all night long. Jock has to stay out of foul trouble. I just don't see how SMC is going to deal with the size and athleticism that Zona brings. As an aside, I wonder if Few and Miller had any discussions regarding SMC?

bartruff1
03-18-2017, 06:13 AM
Thanks a bunch CD...Charter just can't keep up....their guide is more than worthless this week...

I didn't think I would ever see the day when Gonzaga Fans would find the NCAA Tourney boring....I have found all the games interesting but that probably says more about me than them..

As soon as this is over, I have to get a life...:D

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-18-2017, 07:35 AM
I am really surprised as well as impressed that SMC is only a 5 to 5.5 point underdog. I'll be there cheering for them to win. Watching AZ and SMC play the other night, I think Rahon and Naar are going to be pressured all night long. Jock has to stay out of foul trouble. I just don't see how SMC is going to deal with the size and athleticism that Zona brings. As an aside, I wonder if Few and Miller had any discussions regarding SMC?

I suspect that Coach Few and Coach Bennett have chatted more about 'Zona.

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-18-2017, 07:43 AM
Also, the Lady Zags play Oklahoma this afternoon. That one's on ESPN2 and should be getting started when the Gonzaga men are winding diwn.

Hoopaholic
03-18-2017, 07:55 AM
I suspect that Coach Few and Coach Bennett have chatted more about 'Zona.
Not sure about this
Few and Miller are very good friends

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 07:58 AM
Also, the Lady Zags play Oklahoma this afternoon. That one's on ESPN2 and should be getting started when the Gonzaga men are winding diwn.

Should be some overlap. Women's game is scheduled at 3:30. I'm attending the women's games in Seattle. Will have to record and watch later GU and Arizona men.

DixieZag
03-18-2017, 08:17 AM
WVU is maybe our biggest match-up nightmare. Pressing our already struggling guards, negates our bigs - some. Trapping defense, like BYU only 100x better.

And up 10-0 over ND.

Ugh.

MickMick
03-18-2017, 08:43 AM
WVU is maybe our biggest match-up nightmare. Pressing our already struggling guards, negates our bigs - some. Trapping defense, like BYU only 100x better.

And up 10-0 over ND.

Ugh.

Ugh is right. Can't think of a worse matchup for two of our four rotation guards.

gmo
03-18-2017, 08:51 AM
Let's go Fighting Irish. WVU is a tougher matchup than Arizona in my opinion

Hoopaholic
03-18-2017, 09:00 AM
WVU is maybe our biggest match-up nightmare. Pressing our already struggling guards, negates our bigs - some. Trapping defense, like BYU only 100x better.

And up 10-0 over ND.

Ugh.

Pressing does not negate our bigs. Actually our bigs would play critical role in relieving pressure in half court that would result in easy buckets

Notice Irish has no big relief valves to post up against half court traps thus allowing extension of traps

As to our guards the ability to drive off quick reversal knowing we have bigs setup would compliment our guards well IM O

DixieZag
03-18-2017, 09:06 AM
Pressing does not negate our bigs. Actually our bigs would play critical role in relieving pressure in half court that would result in easy buckets

Notice Irish has no big relief valves to post up against half court traps thus allowing extension of traps

As to our guards the ability to drive off quick reversal knowing we have bigs setup would compliment our guards well IM O

We can always count on you to never say thing less than glowing. I love you for that, even when you're wrong. :)

Hoopaholic
03-18-2017, 09:09 AM
We can always count on you to never say thing less than glowing. I love you for that, even when you're wrong. :)

It's not glowing it is basketball tactics to counter a pressing team.....still have to execute

But I do have confidence our players can absorb and execute good game planning to counter the pressure and this type of game creates less thinking and more playing than a Irish game would

MJ777
03-18-2017, 09:23 AM
If the Zags get past NU and WVU wins there will be 5 days to prepare for the press.

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-18-2017, 09:24 AM
Pressing does not negate our bigs. Actually our bigs would play critical role in relieving pressure in half court that would result in easy buckets

Notice Irish has no big relief valves to post up against half court traps thus allowing extension of traps

As to our guards the ability to drive off quick reversal knowing we have bigs setup would compliment our guards well IM O

Exactly. Remember that St. John's team from 2011? They were heavily favored against our team. Their pressure defense was among the best in the country. Few used the superior size of Sacre and Olynyk in the center of the press break as safety valves for the guards. We had the luxury of throwing the ball OVER the defense to big guys who could catch the ball and advance it with crisp passing. Harris was bigger than their center and a skilled ball handler as the power forward. He could attack the edges of the press and advance the ball with the dribble or the pass.

West Virginia is not a big team. We have a significant size advantage in the front court. Our bigs are excellent passers who can punish this type of defense if we don't get careless.

MickMick
03-18-2017, 09:28 AM
You can talk about tactics to beat the press all you want to.

This is about execution. This is about stage fright. This is about being cool under pressure.

All this "Spock logic" on how to beat the press does not address the emotional aspect.


I was a sonar technician in the Navy. I often looked at the other well trained technicians in sonar control and pondered which ones would "crack" if put in the position of tracking an incoming torpedo.

hooter73
03-18-2017, 09:32 AM
WVU is maybe our biggest match-up nightmare. Pressing our already struggling guards, negates our bigs - some. Trapping defense, like BYU only 100x better.

And up 10-0 over ND.

Ugh.

Yeah wvu scares me

Angelo Roncalli
03-18-2017, 09:34 AM
Those Notre Dame uniforms...Gah! The last time I something that color was while I was changing a diaper.

MJ777
03-18-2017, 09:34 AM
Yeah wvu scares me

If GU guards are elite then Zags should win.

MickMick
03-18-2017, 09:45 AM
If GU guards are elite then Zags should win.

One GU guard is elite.

TexasZagFan
03-18-2017, 09:53 AM
Yeah wvu scares me

Why? We've thumped Huggy Bear's teams the last four or five times we've played them.

ZagLawGrad
03-18-2017, 09:54 AM
On the bright side, if it's Zags and WVU, then there will be several days to get ready for their pressure D.

TexasZagFan
03-18-2017, 09:54 AM
If ND's going to keep misfiring on open 3's when they break the press, their season is over in roughly 8 minutes.

MJ777
03-18-2017, 09:57 AM
The mighty ACC.

jazzdelmar
03-18-2017, 10:01 AM
One GU guard is elite.

Yup, just one.

Stache
03-18-2017, 10:05 AM
I'm impressed and a bit threatened by WVU's 3 PY shooting.

Stache
03-18-2017, 10:09 AM
I think Melson and Matthews will go off today. Going to be great.

MJ777
03-18-2017, 10:16 AM
The Domers are DOOMED.

BobZag
03-18-2017, 10:17 AM
Thanks a bunch CD...Charter just can't keep up....their guide is more than worthless this week...

I didn't think I would ever see the day when Gonzaga Fans would find the NCAA Tourney boring....I have found all the games interesting but that probably says more about me than them..

As soon as this is over, I have to get a life...:D

Go see "Kong: Skull Island!" A great, fun diversion.

Zagceo
03-18-2017, 10:22 AM
Beachem 2-14 ouch

gonzagafan62
03-18-2017, 10:23 AM
Temple Oklahoma and Texas tech don't have elite guards

MJ777
03-18-2017, 10:23 AM
So it is WVU. Go Zags, Beat Nortwestern!

bartruff1
03-18-2017, 10:29 AM
Well that was what I was hoping for ....did not want to play ND...

gonzagafan62
03-18-2017, 10:33 AM
Well that was what I was hoping for ....did not want to play ND...

Me either.

sittingon50
03-18-2017, 10:41 AM
Those Notre Dame uniforms...Gah! The last time I something that color was while I was changing a diaper.

You changed a diaper?

I'll bet your wife gave you a nice plaque for that!

:roll:

MJ777
03-18-2017, 11:26 AM
The Big 10 has been a bit of a surprise so far in the tourney. Wisconsin is giving Villanova a good game so far. Perhaps their teams have improved a lot since the beginning of the season. I know Wisconsin was under seeded by getting an 8. It will soon be time to take out the purple clad Wildcats and crush their dreams.

Hoopaholic
03-18-2017, 11:37 AM
Well that was what I was hoping for ....did not want to play ND...

Between those two options I agree

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 11:44 AM
Nova will be just fine. Their smoke and mirrors show just goes on.

Not looking fine so far. I bet this one goes down to the wire. I'll stand by my implication that Wisconsin is a much, much better team than Northwestern, but both are #8 seeds.

jazzdelmar
03-18-2017, 11:44 AM
First Elaine story of many today.

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 11:45 AM
The Big 10 has been a bit of a surprise so far in the tourney. Wisconsin is giving Villanova a good game so far. Perhaps their teams have improved a lot since the beginning of the season. I know Wisconsin was under seeded by getting an 8. It will soon be time to take out the purple clad Wildcats and crush their dreams.

Definitely. They seemed to be down this year but are showing well in the Tourney.

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 11:46 AM
First Elaine story of many today.

Wait til the Gonzaga game starts, there will be dozens more. Can't wait.

Hoopaholic
03-18-2017, 11:47 AM
Feel foolish but who the heck is this Elaine person?

jazzdelmar
03-18-2017, 11:48 AM
Jay needs an inch or 2 on those trousers, ya think?

Hoopaholic
03-18-2017, 11:48 AM
See wcc ref doing Wisconsin nova game

maynard g krebs
03-18-2017, 11:50 AM
Feel foolish but who the heck is this Elaine person?

Julia Louis-Dreyfus' character on Seinfeld.

jazzdelmar
03-18-2017, 11:51 AM
Julia Louis-Dreyfus' character on Seinfeld.

Not that there's anything wrong with that

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 11:51 AM
Feel foolish but who the heck is this Elaine person?

Julia Louis-Dreyfus, actress, has a son from Northwestern. Elaine was her character on Seinfeld. TV camera was obsessed w/ her during their 1st round game.

Hoopaholic
03-18-2017, 11:52 AM
Julia Louis-Dreyfus, actress, has a son from Northwestern. Elaine was her character on Seinfeld. TV camera was obsessed w/ her during their 1st round game.

Oh. Don't watch tv unless sport history or news

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 11:55 AM
Oh. Don't watch tv unless sport history or news

You will see her about 327 times during the broadcast today.

Rangerzag
03-18-2017, 11:55 AM
Feel foolish but who the heck is this Elaine person?


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elaine_Benes

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Julia_Louis-Dreyfus

http://abcnews.go.com/Entertainment/julia-louis-dreyfus-celebrating-sons-ncaa-win-today/story?id=46200122

jazzdelmar
03-18-2017, 12:04 PM
Unfortunately the kid has the personality of his doofus dad and not Lanie.

scrooner
03-18-2017, 12:09 PM
Unfortunately the kid has the personality of his doofus dad and not Lanie.

Well, at least you're consistent.

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 12:30 PM
Koenig from Wisconsin picked up foul #4 and will be sitting for quite a while. Villanova seizing momentum now. I like Brunson, nice player.

jazzdelmar
03-18-2017, 12:32 PM
Nova has one basic play. Drive from the elbow and get every call.

jazzdelmar
03-18-2017, 12:33 PM
Koenig from Wisconsin picked up foul #4 and will be sitting for quite a while. Villanova seizing momentum now. I like Brunson, nice player.

BS call, even Nova homer Spanarkel admitted as much.

Hoopaholic
03-18-2017, 12:40 PM
Wisconsins ball screen defense is non existent

jazzdelmar
03-18-2017, 12:44 PM
Don't think I can stand to watch Divincenzo 3 more years. Just a system player, thinks he's a star.

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 12:49 PM
Don't think I can stand to watch Divincenzo 3 more years. Just a system player, thinks he's a star.

I've been fairly impressed with him this year. He's got hops, that's for sure. He'll take on a bigger role next year w/ Hart and Jenkins graduating, would be surprising if Brunson stays for 4 years.

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 12:53 PM
7 point Nova lead down to 4 in a hurry. Strap in for the last 4 minutes!

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 12:58 PM
Badgers tie it up on a corner 3. Nova kinda choking down the stretch.

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 12:59 PM
Wisconsin up 1, 2 1/2 min. left. Some poor shot selection by Nova.

Radbooks
03-18-2017, 12:59 PM
No way Wisc. should be an 8 seed.

Zag4Hire
03-18-2017, 12:59 PM
Just remember: The same rules don't apply to Gonzaga. If GU losses, it will be 'told you so'. If GU wins by <10 points, it will be they struggled and showed true colors. If GU wins by > 10 points, it will be so what, they can't handle WVU. In my convos with other Power 5 friends, I embraced the bad guy role.

"You hate GU because you are not GU. Cinderella had a few cocktails, took off those *($&$ glass slippers, and is taking the pumpkin carriage for a joy ride. Got a problem. Too bad. Go *$(*$ yourself."

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/u01Dk8O53JQ/maxresdefault.jpg

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 01:00 PM
No way Wisc. should be an 8 seed.

That's what I keep saying, ridiculous. They should've been switched w/ Minnesota, no idea how they got a #5.

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 01:01 PM
GU shouldn't lose Northwestern, they aren't nearly as good as Wisconsin.

Bogozags
03-18-2017, 01:02 PM
I am really surprised as well as impressed that SMC is only a 5 to 5.5 point underdog. I'll be there cheering for them to win. Watching AZ and SMC play the other night, I think Rahon and Naar are going to be pressured all night long. Jock has to stay out of foul trouble. I just don't see how SMC is going to deal with the size and athleticism that Zona brings. As an aside, I wonder if Few and Miller had any discussions regarding SMC?

Professionally, Coach Few would never discuss, give video or anything that might help AZ BUT MORE importantly, Coach Miller would never ask and neither would Coach Bennet have a "pre-game" talk about AZ. It just wouldn't be ethical to share a conference school with an none conference school.

caduceus
03-18-2017, 01:03 PM
Nearly the entire arena cheering against Nova. Expected, I guess.

DixieZag
03-18-2017, 01:03 PM
A Villanova loss or very near loss should motivate the hell out of Zags. I hope it doesn't scare the hell out of them into thinking Big "10" seeds are all that.

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 01:04 PM
Another wasted possession for Nova. Shaky.

DixieZag
03-18-2017, 01:05 PM
SO AWFUL Stop one foot over the line!!! Horrible.!

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 01:05 PM
bonehead foul by Nigel Hayes

Sarenyon
03-18-2017, 01:06 PM
Intentional, or should be, was not going for the ball

Zag4Hire
03-18-2017, 01:06 PM
Does NCAA have clear path foul or no? I think no but that would be it there. No point to reaching out there but more instinctive.

Radbooks
03-18-2017, 01:08 PM
I hope our game isn't close like this!

Sarenyon
03-18-2017, 01:09 PM
No kidding

Zag4Hire
03-18-2017, 01:09 PM
Free up a drive and kick to Koenig. Do it.

Akzag
03-18-2017, 01:09 PM
Nigel ! ( Hayes ... not our guy .. )

CdAZagFan
03-18-2017, 01:10 PM
Wow... what a game.

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 01:10 PM
I really don't like Wisconsin. On the verge of reaching the Sweet 16 for the 4th year in a row, all in alone in that department. Again, absolutely horrible job by the committee on this seeding.

Zag4Hire
03-18-2017, 01:10 PM
Don't know if Jazz pointed it out yet but Nova's bigs are soft. Hayes is more savvy than athletic but c'mon right there.

scrooner
03-18-2017, 01:10 PM
538 says 77% Wisconson.

caduceus
03-18-2017, 01:11 PM
Just no OT please.

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 01:11 PM
Hart flat out sucked down the stretch.

Akzag
03-18-2017, 01:12 PM
free.throws.

Zag4Hire
03-18-2017, 01:12 PM
Terrible play set. No idea what that was.

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 01:12 PM
one more FT, stick a fork in the Champions

Akzag
03-18-2017, 01:12 PM
our start is now :25

DixieZag
03-18-2017, 01:13 PM
Does the Villanova loss take some pressure away from our guys?

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 01:14 PM
did the Nova guy get hacked there? down three so it wouldn't have mattered but that looked like quite a bit of contact after the rebound

thespywhozaggedme
03-18-2017, 01:14 PM
Down goes the first number one. Let's hope history doesn't repeat itself in the next game.

SWZag
03-18-2017, 01:15 PM
First #1 goes down!

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 01:15 PM
Terrible execution down the stretch for Nova. 15-5 run for Wisconsin.

bballbeachbum
03-18-2017, 01:15 PM
yowza

hooter73
03-18-2017, 01:15 PM
Well... crap. My bracket is hurtin but I think GU can take out Wisconsin if it comes to that

thespywhozaggedme
03-18-2017, 01:15 PM
did the Nova guy get hacked there? down three so it wouldn't have mattered but that looked like quite a bit of contact after the rebound

No, I just watched the replay. He was shocked to see a double team as he turned around and when he threw his arms he thrown right into the upright arms of the defender. It was actually a great plan by Wisconsin.

U Zig, I Zag
03-18-2017, 01:15 PM
Good.

Play loose Zags.

drvenkman05
03-18-2017, 01:16 PM
No, but as ol' Vinny Mac would say, "You sell that sh**!"


did the Nova guy get hacked there? down three so it wouldn't have mattered but that looked like quite a bit of contact after the rebound

CdAZagFan
03-18-2017, 01:19 PM
No, I just watched the replay. He was shocked to see a double team as he turned around and when he threw his arms he thrown right into the upright arms of the defender. It was actually a great plan by Wisconsin.

Great play to double team the rebounder there... No way to get a shot off.

jazzdelmar
03-18-2017, 01:20 PM
Nigel far and away best player on the court.

scrooner
03-18-2017, 01:21 PM
We've performed at least as well as overall number 1 Villanova.

Bogozags
03-18-2017, 01:21 PM
Let's hope GU CARRIES THE DAY!

jazzdelmar
03-18-2017, 01:22 PM
The slipper fell off Josh's foot. With a thud.

gmo
03-18-2017, 01:22 PM
no way Wisconsin comes out of the East, IMO... Duke rolls through even easier than I thought they were going to.

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 01:23 PM
Agreed, no foul. Looked worse in real time, replay shows good no call by refs. Both defenders with arms straight up and no downward movement.

scrooner
03-18-2017, 01:27 PM
So that's 3 out of the last 4 years that Villanova has been bounced before the Sweet 16, all as a 1 or 2 seed.

CDC84
03-18-2017, 01:28 PM
I wouldn't be shocked if Nova loses to Wisconsin. Badgers were misseeded. Buffalo is not that far from Madison, and the Badger fans travel well. Moreover, people don't realize this, but Nova has not beaten anyone in this field higher than a 4 seed, and the Big East became almost a cake walk for them (besides the Butler games) later in the season due to several BE squads suffering injury problems - teams ranging from Xavier, and most notably, Creighton.

Picked this one off. But there is larger point. I have very little faith in 98% of all teams to repeat as champions. I think it requires a transcendent level team.....the Duke and Vegas teams on the early 90's, the great Florida team, Wooden's teams at UCLA. Villanova wasn't a transcendent team last year, and they especially weren't this year. Less size, less depth. And even last year's team didn't have much size. However, the biggest issue with Villanova - and it's one of the reasons why one college basketball analyst I know calls them the most mentally tough group of players on a college team in the last 25 years - is their simple lack of pro talent. Last year's team didn't have a player drafted. Hart is looking like he has worked his way into the 2nd round. Mikal Bridges has a chance to be a first rounder one day, but it is just not a team that is overflowing in talent, and again, their lack of size was an issue this year.

Terrific team, and one that will continue so long as Jay Wright keeps coaching there.

CDC84
03-18-2017, 02:24 PM
More on the Big East's issues:

http://www.sportingnews.com/ncaa-basketball/news/ncaa-tournament-2017-big-east-conference-losses-results-march-madness-marquette-seton-hall-creighton-xavier/1d09d01ds8sfl1b3d0c1fu0ibb

BayAreaZagFan
03-18-2017, 02:30 PM
Granted, Wisconsin was underseeded, but I think Villanova was also overseeded. Wisconsin is tougher than most people give them credit for.

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

CDC84
03-18-2017, 02:35 PM
I know some people may feel otherwise, but West VA is a better matchup for GU. GU has way more talent. Few has beaten WVU's press 3x in a row. They just need to avoid turnovers and to get them into a halfcourt game.

3zagda
03-18-2017, 02:45 PM
I am worried about the West Virginia press, have we had much experience against a good press this year?

MickMick
03-18-2017, 02:45 PM
Is this a replay of the BYU game?

18 point lead and then play like complete crap?

MickMick
03-18-2017, 02:47 PM
lazy.

There is no other way to describe it and there is no worse thing you can say about an athlete.

LAZY.

They are going to lose.

BYU part 2

MickMick
03-18-2017, 02:51 PM
I know some people may feel otherwise, but West VA is a better matchup for GU. GU has way more talent. Few has beaten WVU's press 3x in a row. They just need to avoid turnovers and to get them into a halfcourt game.

HAHAHAHAHA

Good one :)

I'm glad Lappas called out the lazy, telegraphed pass so I didn't have to.

The Mountaineers will chew him up and spit him out.

Plainsman
03-18-2017, 02:59 PM
Was yelling for subs as certain starters began their lackadaisical big lead play. Few actually listened and look what happens - we put it to them again!

MickMick
03-18-2017, 03:23 PM
Good.......four fouls. Hope he fouls out so he isn't on the floor at the end.

3zagda
03-18-2017, 03:44 PM
2 intentional fouls in a row with out a call!

MickMick
03-18-2017, 03:47 PM
The only reason they won is because the correct personnel were on the floor in the final 3 minutes.

That is the ONLY reason they won.

CDC84
03-18-2017, 03:54 PM
HAHAHAHAHA

Good one :)

I'm glad Lappas called out the lazy, telegraphed pass so I didn't have to.

The Mountaineers will chew him up and spit him out.

Don't agree unless they are fast and loose with the ball like they were with the ball in the second half. They have a week to prepare. WVU will be playing a zillion miles from campus. Few has beaten this WVU press 3x in a row. Mountaineers will be least talented team in S-16. Just have to get them in a halfcourt game.

CDC84
03-18-2017, 03:56 PM
There will be tons of talk about the blown goaltending call, but again, when was the last time GU caught a break in the NCAA's. Never. And there is no 100% certainty that a correct would've cost GU the game. It wasn't like the game winning basket.

jazzdelmar
03-18-2017, 04:17 PM
Zags have hung FOUR losses on teams in the next game. Lappas no doubt will mention///hhhaaa

Hoopaholic
03-18-2017, 04:32 PM
The only reason they won is because the correct personnel were on the floor in the final 3 minutes.

That is the ONLY reason they won.
Thank God they call this a team game

U Zig, I Zag
03-18-2017, 04:33 PM
Find myself cheering for the Gaels with some passion. No offense to Seacat, but hoping for SMC knocks off AZ.

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-18-2017, 04:36 PM
Lady Zags fall to Oklahoma. 62-75,

Kong-Kool-Aid
03-18-2017, 04:42 PM
Find myself cheering for the Gaels with some passion. No offense to Seacat, but hoping for SMC knocks off AZ.

Let's go saint marys!

mtzaga
03-18-2017, 04:49 PM
Up 10 over Az.

jazzdelmar
03-18-2017, 04:49 PM
Looking fabulous.

Kong-Kool-Aid
03-18-2017, 04:50 PM
I remember when Gonzaga was struggling in the first half of the first game SeaCat popped in the game thread to ask if the stats supported the result....

Should I ask the same?

The game isn't over, Arizona will come back and it will be close but... hmmm

MJ777
03-18-2017, 04:57 PM
Let's go Gaels!!

Zagceo
03-18-2017, 05:00 PM
Cheap foul on Landale

jazzdelmar
03-18-2017, 05:09 PM
Zona getting lotta calls.

MJ777
03-18-2017, 05:10 PM
The U of A chant is as dated and annoying as the Tomahawk Chop.

hooter73
03-18-2017, 05:13 PM
As soon as Az got into the 20s SMC got intimidated and started plying tight

jazzdelmar
03-18-2017, 05:20 PM
The U of A chant is as dated and annoying as the Tomahawk Chop.

Great call. It's Mesozoic.

jazzdelmar
03-18-2017, 05:22 PM
Clark Kellogg is a master of the obvious. What a dullard

MJ777
03-18-2017, 05:30 PM
Great call. It's Mesozoic.

Not quite that old but still...

MJ777
03-18-2017, 05:34 PM
While I am rooting for SMC the nightmare scenario would be losing to them in the E8 if both teams could get there. As someone wrote on another thread some of us would find it hard to get out of bed for weeks.

jazzdelmar
03-18-2017, 05:37 PM
Alkins is Zonas most lethal player.

jazzdelmar
03-18-2017, 05:41 PM
Why does Miller get a private audience with a ref every time out?

CdAZagFan
03-18-2017, 05:41 PM
While I am rooting for SMC the nightmare scenario would be losing to them in the E8 if both teams could get there. As someone wrote on another thread some of us would find it hard to get out of bed for weeks.

That would be a nightmare scenario...

MJ777
03-18-2017, 05:46 PM
Bogus call on Pinto or Pinneau.

jazzdelmar
03-18-2017, 05:47 PM
Bogus call on Pinto or Pinneau.

Sure was. U of A ...U of A

DixieZag
03-18-2017, 05:50 PM
I hope Dan Dackich is watching and explaining to everyone that the game is obviously fixed b/c SMC - as a mid-major - is the most overrated team in America.

They're hanging tighter than UCLA or Oregon at the moment.

My nightmare, SMC plays Xavier (11 seed) and wins to E8, we lose to WVU and SMC ends up in Final Four. I am an SMC fan when we're not playing them, but if Randy got to the FF on THAT schedule, having done nothing this year in regular season, it would be the crime of the century.

gonzagafan62
03-18-2017, 05:52 PM
Maybe SeaCat will finally give SMC credit

MJ777
03-18-2017, 05:55 PM
And another iffy call. I guess you can't give ground and have the dribbler run into you if you are SMC.

MJ777
03-18-2017, 05:57 PM
Ugh, blown 3 on 1....

hooter73
03-18-2017, 05:58 PM
Well either one will be beatable...

MJ777
03-18-2017, 06:00 PM
Well either one will be beatable...

Not "The Conference of Champions" team.

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-18-2017, 06:01 PM
Florida is running UVA out of the gym on another network. They are riding a 21-0 run.

MJ777
03-18-2017, 06:02 PM
Awakening the Ghost of Omar Samham as I heard one analyst say on Thursday.

thespywhozaggedme
03-18-2017, 06:04 PM
He broke his freaking nose how was that not a flagrant?

Kong-Kool-Aid
03-18-2017, 06:05 PM
Jock commits a foul with his nose?

Terrible call

MJ777
03-18-2017, 06:05 PM
SMC needs to hit some 3s.

MJ777
03-18-2017, 06:07 PM
Florida is running UVA out of the gym on another network. They are riding a 21-0 run.

The Mighty ACC......

Kong-Kool-Aid
03-18-2017, 06:08 PM
Apparently Arizona doesn't commit fouls either

Zagceo
03-18-2017, 06:08 PM
Landale getting gassed

jpn17
03-18-2017, 06:09 PM
Jock commits a foul with his nose?

Terrible call

That call was every bit as bad as the non call on the Collins goaltend, and you will never hear one word about it.

MJ777
03-18-2017, 06:12 PM
Pinto fouled out, should sub in Flounder.

Kong-Kool-Aid
03-18-2017, 06:13 PM
That call was every bit as bad as the non call on the Collins goaltend, and you will never hear one word about it.

What does that have to do with anything?

thickman1
03-18-2017, 06:14 PM
What does that have to do with anything?

Uh, minimum of a 3-PT swing...

Zagceo
03-18-2017, 06:14 PM
Landale just rolled his ankle....will play but

MJ777
03-18-2017, 06:16 PM
Down 8 with 2:12 to go. They need a near miracle now, great season regardless SMC.

Zagceo
03-18-2017, 06:18 PM
I'm dialing up 1 .......miracle

MJ777
03-18-2017, 06:20 PM
Push in the back by AZ and they get to shoot FTs. Nice call Zebra.

Zagceo
03-18-2017, 06:21 PM
Refs had control of this ending

MJ777
03-18-2017, 06:21 PM
Tainted win by AZ. One sided blind and crooked refereeing.

Kong-Kool-Aid
03-18-2017, 06:22 PM
Arizona is fortunate.. I don't see anything in this game that makes me think we can't beat them again.

MJ777
03-18-2017, 06:23 PM
U of Referees U of Referees..,..

DixieZag
03-18-2017, 06:23 PM
Arizona 16-17 from FT line. Give them our average and they're in a tie game. Give us their shooting (and we've had games like that) and we win by 12 and it never gets all that close.

jpn17
03-18-2017, 06:24 PM
U of Referees U of Referees..,..

Yeah, I feel bad for Saint Mary's. Played toe to toe with Arizona and was on the bad end of several terrible calls.

MJ777
03-18-2017, 06:26 PM
Arizona is fortunate.. I don't see anything in this game that makes me think we can't beat them again.

Their fans are probably saying the same thing regarding the Zag's second half performance against NU.

DixieZag
03-18-2017, 06:27 PM
Their fans are probably saying the same thing regarding the Zag's second half performance against NU.

Absolutely.

Kong-Kool-Aid
03-18-2017, 06:28 PM
Their fans are probably saying the same thing regarding the Zag's second half performance against NU.


Good stuff, the difference is we are better than them.

jazzdelmar
03-18-2017, 06:29 PM
Zona covers. Thanks, Zebras.

ZagLawGrad
03-18-2017, 06:29 PM
No surprise in the outcome of the AZ game

sideshow06
03-18-2017, 06:31 PM
I appreciate you guys doing the ref complaining for us. Not our style. Tough to take down the stretch. We'll miss Rahon and Pineau, but the rest of the gang will be back. Go rep the WCC.

jazzdelmar
03-18-2017, 06:31 PM
If any game was, that one was fixed.

CarolinaZagFan
03-18-2017, 06:32 PM
Another ACC team down by 20. Maybe tomorrow the bestest conference ever can finally beat a single digit seed.

TexasZagFan
03-18-2017, 06:34 PM
Another ACC team down by 20. Maybe tomorrow the bestest conference ever can finally beat a single digit seed.

Not a very good day at all for the vaunted ACC. And now Duke has an easy path to the Final Four.

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-18-2017, 06:36 PM
I appreciate you guys doing the ref complaining for us. Not our style. Tough to take down the stretch. We'll miss Rahon and Pineau, but the rest of the gang will be back. Go rep the WCC.

Your team was really good this year. I was really hoping to see them take out 'Zona.

TexasZagFan
03-18-2017, 06:39 PM
What is it with Bennett's teams, i.e. the complete lack of offense?

MJ777
03-18-2017, 06:41 PM
I appreciate you guys doing the ref complaining for us. Not our style. Tough to take down the stretch. We'll miss Rahon and Pineau, but the rest of the gang will be back. Go rep the WCC.

The refs ruined what could have been a great finish. Maybe SMC would have lost regardless, but I would have liked to have seen it play out without the crap calls I saw.

MJ777
03-18-2017, 06:45 PM
Purdue is taking it to ISU. Strong showing by the big 10-14 so far.

MJ777
03-18-2017, 06:50 PM
What is it with Bennett's teams, i.e. the complete lack of offense?

His last two teams at WSU with Lowe, Weaver, Cowgill and Baynes were fun to watch and very competitive. They steamrolled ND on the way to the Sweet 16 in 08.

bartruff1
03-18-2017, 07:19 PM
X is moving thru the field....scary...it is like I am hearing the sound track for a shark....

Zagceo
03-18-2017, 07:20 PM
here comes a cyclone

TexasZagFan
03-18-2017, 07:23 PM
here comes a cyclone

Deja vu all over again

MJ777
03-18-2017, 07:26 PM
ISU is trying to pull a full Northwestern.

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-18-2017, 07:31 PM
ISU is trying to pull a full Northwestern.

Iowa State came back hard in their game against us. That team has a lot of grit. They just might pull out a win.

TexasZagFan
03-18-2017, 07:31 PM
Big 10 and Big 12 have acquitted themselves well so far.

MJ777
03-18-2017, 07:37 PM
Big 10 and Big 12 have acquitted themselves well so far.

True. Hopefully the refs will not be involved in the outcome and ruin a potential great finish.

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 08:46 PM
I remember when Gonzaga was struggling in the first half of the first game SeaCat popped in the game thread to ask if the stats supported the result....

Should I ask the same?

The game isn't over, Arizona will come back and it will be close but... hmmm

I was merely pointing out that I don't put any stock in KenPom. You obviously took it another way and seem to have a grudge against me now. Do you actually think I want Gonzaga to lose?

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 08:53 PM
Wow, I was popular here while I was out. Thanks for thinking about me guys.

Haven't watched the game yet, have it recorded. Glad it's a win, even it it's "tainted" in your minds. I'm really worried about Xavier now. Gave Arizona all they could handle a couple years ago. Don't like the dynamic about Miller's former school and their head coach was one of his assistant coaches. Not loving this match up.

MJ777
03-18-2017, 09:14 PM
Wow, I was popular here while I was out. Thanks for thinking about me guys.

Haven't watched the game yet, have it recorded. Glad it's a win, even it it's "tainted" in your minds. I'm really worried about Xavier now. Gave Arizona all they could handle a couple years ago. Don't like the dynamic about Miller's former school and their head coach was one of his assistant coaches. Not loving this match up.

It's March, just about every win is tainted. I'm sure I missed the bad calls that went against AZ. I wanted to see a great finish, but there were too many blown calls against SMC IMO. I haven't watched the Zag game yet to witness Zach's "amazing block."

seacatfan
03-18-2017, 10:27 PM
OK, I watched the game. You guys are crazy. There is no conspiracy, no fix, and St. Mary's didn't get cheated. A few calls went Arizona's way, a few calls went SMC's way. That's it. Arizona had a 5 minute scoring drought in the first half that allowed SMC to take a 10 point lead. Outside of those 5 minutes, Arizona was the better team. Not by a lot, but they were better. KenPom stats can suck it.

MJ777
03-18-2017, 11:26 PM
I especially liked the one when the SM player was called for a foul after he was pushed out of bounds. But that's college basketball. The refs missed the goal tending by Collins. Oh well, Play on.

ProVeeZag
03-18-2017, 11:29 PM
Clark Kellogg is a master of the obvious. What a dullard

Clark Kellogg is a surefire cure for insomnia. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz-city

ProVeeZag
03-18-2017, 11:31 PM
Bogus call on Pinto or Pinneau.

I call him Pinot Noir.

ProVeeZag
03-18-2017, 11:35 PM
I appreciate you guys doing the ref complaining for us. Not our style. Tough to take down the stretch. We'll miss Rahon and Pineau, but the rest of the gang will be back. Go rep the WCC.

Gaels got hosed by Zeebs...I stopped counting the bad calls when it reached 10. Great effort by SMC playing 5 against 8.

seacatfan
03-19-2017, 12:14 AM
The BS continues. How about when Landale was backing down Markannen, knocked him over, no call, Landale gets an uncontested layup. Immediately after that Alkins drove into the lane, Landale CLOBBERED him, no call. Could've easily been 2 fouls on Landale (and I think that would've fouled him out of the game), take one bucket away from SMC and give Arizona a pair of FTs. Why are none of you crying about those no calls? Because it doesn't fit your blinded narrative, that's why.

There was not any calls in the Arizona game that had more of an impact than the no call on the goal tend by Collins and then pair of FTs on the technical foul, 4 point turnaround in the GU game. You all know this if you're being honest.

I can't tell w/ some of you guys. I don't know if it's because you hate all Power 5 teams, hate all Pac 12 teams, hate Arizona, or somehow see SMC as an extension of GU since they're both from the WCC, but you're being irrational and are not seeing things clearly.

Whatever. Arizona outscored SMC by 19 over the last 27 or 28 minutes of the game. Better team won.

jazzdelmar
03-19-2017, 03:13 AM
The BS continues. How about when Landale was backing down Markannen, knocked him over, no call, Landale gets an uncontested layup. Immediately after that Alkins drove into the lane, Landale CLOBBERED him, no call. Could've easily been 2 fouls on Landale (and I think that would've fouled him out of the game), take one bucket away from SMC and give Arizona a pair of FTs. Why are none of you crying about those no calls? Because it doesn't fit your blinded narrative, that's why.

There was not any calls in the Arizona game that had more of an impact than the no call on the goal tend by Collins and then pair of FTs on the technical foul, 4 point turnaround in the GU game. You all know this if you're being honest.

I can't tell w/ some of you guys. I don't know if it's because you hate all Power 5 teams, hate all Pac 12 teams, hate Arizona, or somehow see SMC as an extension of GU since they're both from the WCC, but you're being irrational and are not seeing things clearly.

Whatever. Arizona outscored SMC by 19 over the last 27 or 28 minutes of the game. Better team won.

Again, why are you here and why are you so SHOCKED at these comments? Isn't there a Cats board you can celebrate on, seriously?

TexasZagFan
03-19-2017, 05:46 AM
Again, why are you here and why are you so SHOCKED at these comments? Isn't there a Cats board you can celebrate on, seriously?

I've often asked myself the same question about seacat.

bartruff1
03-19-2017, 06:20 AM
Seacat brings a refreshing and informative opinion to the board and I hope he stays.

MJ777
03-19-2017, 06:28 AM
Seacat brings a refreshing and informative opinion to the board and I hope he stays.

I like his opinions too, but his thinking that SMC wasn't screwed by the Refs in crunch time against AZ is Wrong....IMO of course.

seacatfan
03-19-2017, 09:08 AM
Again, why are you here and why are you so SHOCKED at these comments? Isn't there a Cats board you can celebrate on, seriously?

Why do you keep bringing this up periodically? Give it a rest already. You talk about various nobody schools from New York, nobody tells you that you can't do that. I don't give a crap about Manhattan or Iona or whatever, but I don't throw a fit about it.

Do you tell Maynard he can't be on this board since he's an Oregon fan? No, you don't. How 'bout some consistency Jazz.

MJ777
03-19-2017, 09:24 AM
Bottom line, both UA and the Zags survived and advanced. Now it's on to X and Press Virginia.
Go Zags!

bartruff1
03-19-2017, 09:54 AM
Why do you keep bringing this up periodically? Give it a rest already. You talk about various nobody schools from New York, nobody tells you that you can't do that. I don't give a crap about Manhattan or Iona or whatever, but I don't throw a fit about it.

Do you tell Maynard he can't be on this board since he's an Oregon fan? No, you don't. How 'bout some consistency Jazz.


Hey, now wait a minute, if he is nothing else, Jazz is consistent to the point of being predictable...:)

NEC26
03-19-2017, 10:13 AM
Seacatfan, I appreciate your input here so I don't echo some of the sentiment being expressed here and I was surprised as well that Landale did not get called for a foul on the possession after the Arizona flop on the landale layup your were refering to. However Markanen lived on the line all day long and SMC was not allowed to breathe on him for most of that game. Especially the first half when SMC was pulling away.
The calls were pretty one sided for Arizona the entire game imo. I don't expect you to agree with me. As a fan most times you won't see it that way its the natural response in all of us.
I do not share your opinion that Arizona is the clearly superior team that you expressed before the game. I think they are actually pretty close overall.

jazzdelmar
03-19-2017, 10:16 AM
Why do you keep bringing this up periodically? Give it a rest already. You talk about various nobody schools from New York, nobody tells you that you can't do that. I don't give a crap about Manhattan or Iona or whatever, but I don't throw a fit about it.

Do you tell Maynard he can't be on this board since he's an Oregon fan? No, you don't. How 'bout some consistency Jazz.

I happen to love the U of A and I know many more ex players than you do and they are super fellas. NOT the point and you know it. Now listen carefully, get the saguaro out of your ears. Most here were pulling for SMC, our sister school and they were hosed as per usual vs a blue blood. It happens and GU was a victim in years past. The point is how do you express shock/surprise when most here were making those statements? WTF were you expecting. Larger issue, what are you doing here, indeed? Surely you would be happy on some Cats board where you can overpraise whining Miller and raise tequila to the memory of Lute. And by they way, I will actually be IN Tucson next weekend..........